Wii Play: Motion Wii

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
Buy On
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    There is absolutely no reason to buy this game. The only potential reason would be if you somehow don't have a single Wii Motion Plus controller. Then again, I already gave you four better options to solve that problem. Move along.
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    33
    One more thing that just twists the knife a little more is that Nintendo of America decided to bring this wonderful compilation of mediocre games over to our shores, but refuses to release games that would actually propel the Wii's game library to new heights.
  3. Jun 15, 2011
    40
    Wii Play: Motion offers a better balance of quality to questionable content than the original release, with more total games and play variations in the package, but in this day and age the experience feels very insignificant. Along with Mario Sports Mix, Nintendo's Wii offerings to date in 2011 seem content to mine past concepts with middling success, which may be fine to the dwindling number of new console owners -- but it's tough to believe existing Wii owners will feel the urge to rush out for another unremarkable mini-game medley.
  4. Jun 30, 2011
    40
    Yet another Party Game from Nintendo. With Wii Play Motion like with other games of this type, solo play is dispensable: the fun comes from multiplayer. But for this one, even multiplayer won't cut it; we're desperately waiting for the spark, the one mini-game that will capture us. This time around, the spark doesn't come. This follow-up to Wii Play will only convince the youngest of gamers during birthday parties.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    44
    Either wait for a further price drop on the peripheral (from the current $30-$40 you can find it for on Amazon) or hope that Nintendo will bundle one with the one game that everyone is still looking forward to on the Wii: Zelda.
  6. Jun 25, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2011
#26 Most Shared Wii Game of 2011
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    The idea behind this game is to features the Wii MotionPlus controller's new capabilities. Unfortunately, Wii Play: Motion does not evenThe idea behind this game is to features the Wii MotionPlus controller's new capabilities. Unfortunately, Wii Play: Motion does not even entirely deliver in that department. Noticed a few annoying glitches while playing 3 or 4 games out of the 12 included. Having played all Wii Sports, Wii Sports Resort and it's younger brother, Wii Play, I can say without a doubt that this sequel is the weakest of all four. I got a "been there, done that" feeling when playing the first time and none of the games made me want to come back for more. Despite the fact that you'll probably get bored of solo play within the first hour of gaming, if you can find a group of friends to play along, there's still a good amount of fun you can get with this bundle. In a nutshell, buy this bundle for the remote, not the game and enjoy whatever fun it gives you but don't expect to be amazed this time around. Full Review »
  2. Mar 18, 2017
    5
    Much better then the first game I think it's been years seen I played itMuch better then the first game I think it's been years seen I played it . Full Review »
  3. Jul 25, 2016
    4
    Wii Play the original WAS flawed but it was fine but this one acts like the wii doesn't HAVE motion controls when it does. The game lacks aWii Play the original WAS flawed but it was fine but this one acts like the wii doesn't HAVE motion controls when it does. The game lacks a lot and the games are bland and repetitive. Wii Play is better than this. Full Review »