Wii Sports Wii

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 315
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    "Wii Sports" is decent at it's best. All of the sports might help you to understand basic knowledge of sports such as tennis or basketball, but that's how far this game can take you.
  2. Aug 14, 2010
    6
    Considering this game is free with the wii, i think it's a generous offering. The Baseball isn't great, nor is the boxing, and compared to Wii Sports Resort, it's a bit lame, but its good as a starter into the world of wii!!!!
  3. Aug 12, 2011
    7
    Good because:
    + Free
    + Innovative, at least for the time it was released - no one can deny that!
    + Fun
    + Good multiplayer value

    Bad stuff:
    > Cheap graphics, especially the mii characters during boxing
    > Gets too repetitive after a while, especially bowling
  4. SimonG.
    Sep 4, 2007
    6
    The beauties of Wii Sports are that it's accessible and FREE (hard to complain about this isn
  5. AndrewG.
    Dec 17, 2006
    7
    What is great about Wii Sports is that my non-gaming friends (especially girls) love to play it because it's so simple to pick up. But, when you play it for a while most of the games get really boring. Golf is terrible. Baseball is bad (the only reason it isn't terrible is because of homerun derby). Boxing is mediocre because the controls seem inconsistent when trying to pull What is great about Wii Sports is that my non-gaming friends (especially girls) love to play it because it's so simple to pick up. But, when you play it for a while most of the games get really boring. Golf is terrible. Baseball is bad (the only reason it isn't terrible is because of homerun derby). Boxing is mediocre because the controls seem inconsistent when trying to pull off anything but the jabs. Strangely enough, boxing is the game that everyone that has played with me loves the most - one person even said that it was a good workout! Tennis is good, but it's also pretty easy. Bowling is really really fun, basically because it's just like real bowling. Since I only have one wii-mote it's the only game that I can play multiplayer with my friends (golf too, but... no). But what is giving me the most replay value is the fitness test. Strangely enough, the fact that you're limited to do it once a day entices me to do it even more! All in all, single player value comes from the tennis regular game, the fitness test, and a few of the training games. Multiplayer replay value comes from bowling and perhaps boxing. Expand
  6. JesseR.
    Nov 19, 2006
    7
    I had a lot of fun with this game. I wish I would have had 2 more wiimotes so all of my friends could play.
  7. JackH.
    May 24, 2008
    7
    I must admit, the bowling is fun, but I mean, come on! Only 5 sports? I suppose that's the best you can get with a game that came with the console. Tennis is sort of fun, baseball wears my arms out, golf is alright (I guess), and boxing is a bit short in my opinion. This could have been a great game if only it had some more content.
  8. RoverT
    Dec 27, 2008
    6
    They do a good job with what appears to be a low budget game. I think it's actually pretty realistic for a sports videogame. I cant say dont buy it because it comes with the Wii, but if you lose it under the couch I dont think its worth more than $15 to buy another.
  9. JohnM
    Dec 29, 2008
    7
    Good game to get used to the wiis control system, the games are fun, especially with a group of people, but the sports are very limited (is bowling actually a sport??). Overall a decent package that every wii owner gets for free anyway
  10. Mar 22, 2011
    7
    pretty much looking at this as a free game and a game that is made to showcase the wiimote it does a fairly good job . you get 5 games on it . bowling, tennis , golf , baseball , and boxing . now the bowling and golf are pretty solid and work well with the wiimote . the tennis and boxing are a joke and the baseball game is ok although its only 3 innings and not 9 with no option to set itpretty much looking at this as a free game and a game that is made to showcase the wiimote it does a fairly good job . you get 5 games on it . bowling, tennis , golf , baseball , and boxing . now the bowling and golf are pretty solid and work well with the wiimote . the tennis and boxing are a joke and the baseball game is ok although its only 3 innings and not 9 with no option to set it the way you would like too and no control on any thing but the pitching and hitting . if you are mainly a solo gamer this will not provide you with to much fun as playing this by yourself gets old fast but playing with a group of people makes it much more entertaining . its a good party game and does a ok job of showing off what the wiimote can do. Expand
  11. Sep 6, 2010
    5
    A good game to come with the wii, fun for about an hour or two then starts to get a bit boring just playing the same 5 games one after the other, making you play another game on the wii, its an entertainer but can get repetitive, the golf handling is all over the place making it the worst game on wii sports however the bowling for me is the best out of the lot closely followed by tennis.A good game to come with the wii, fun for about an hour or two then starts to get a bit boring just playing the same 5 games one after the other, making you play another game on the wii, its an entertainer but can get repetitive, the golf handling is all over the place making it the worst game on wii sports however the bowling for me is the best out of the lot closely followed by tennis. Finally the boxing game gets you too sweaty after one game. It may sound harsh but im giving it a very average 5. Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    It's hard to review a free game. If you had to pay for Wii Sport it would be about a 6, but you will be surprised just how addicted you can get to Wii Sport
  13. Jul 16, 2012
    6
    Wii Sports is clearly a technology demonstration of what the Nintendo Wii had to offer. It came free with the Nintendo Wii so they obviously wanted to state something. Looking on the positive side, it is an excellent choice for a party game and should be played with more than one person. It could easily be a replacement for a board game on game night with your family. Basically, it was funWii Sports is clearly a technology demonstration of what the Nintendo Wii had to offer. It came free with the Nintendo Wii so they obviously wanted to state something. Looking on the positive side, it is an excellent choice for a party game and should be played with more than one person. It could easily be a replacement for a board game on game night with your family. Basically, it was fun with friends while it lasted. Now, we look at the negative side. The biggest problem is the fact that you are made fully aware you are playing a video game, as opposed to an actual sport. For example, in tennis, you frequently miss balls that got past you because the computer didn't move you fast enough across the court. My sister and I found a what we call "cheat spot" in tennis where when you get served on the right side of the court, if you aim for the far left side the other player cannot reach the ball in time. What a flaw! Couldn't they just let you be able to override your character's movement with the D-pad? Furthermore, every game is based solely on timing and placement and not on any type of physics. It feels broken and unresponsive. The best sports being tennis, bowling, and baseball (in that order); and the worst being golf and boxing (in that order). The best of sports are that way because they at least feel slightly more real than the worst of sports. Also, playing for a while can make your hands sweat. Sweaty hands equal slippage of the Wii remote. That can obviously equal broken plasmas (trust me, just Google "wii remote tv damage"). This happens often in tennis and baseball. I was lucky I missed my flat screen and created a crater in the wall to the side of it, instead. It is not totally the game's fault, I am just warning you. Although, there was always the option of wearing the handcuff of the awkward wriststrap they give you. Overall, great multiplayer party game, but horrible single player because of unrealistic, repetitive gameplay and controls that respond whenever; but, hey, it was free. So, I paid what it was worth. Expand
  14. Aug 22, 2011
    7
    A family based game, or party game since is free it will be played a ton of time when you get a visit, goof around with your friends, and simply yourself alone hidden in your room. So nothing more i can say because it's free. So do whatever you please with it.
  15. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    Well its a good game for beginners. Although it gets boring very quick since its all just mini games. They are all very repetitive and they get frustrating sometimes when you reach harder points. The multiplayer isn't much more fun either. The graphics sometimes just get on my nerves in general. The control scheme was kind of stupid at some points and annoying to repeatedly do as well. AllWell its a good game for beginners. Although it gets boring very quick since its all just mini games. They are all very repetitive and they get frustrating sometimes when you reach harder points. The multiplayer isn't much more fun either. The graphics sometimes just get on my nerves in general. The control scheme was kind of stupid at some points and annoying to repeatedly do as well. All the wrist action will make you feel like you have exercised a lot when really you just have been moving around your wrist getting tired. In general the game is presented a bit lame as well and even more lame when your grandparents take interest to the game. But for people who are new to the wii, this will be a fun little experience. Expand
  16. Jan 9, 2012
    7
    Nice to begin with the Wii. It's easy to play and fun, but after some time you might just fet other multiplayer game. Wii Sports becomes boring after some days. For the first days: awesome. after some weeks: boring.
  17. May 12, 2012
    7
    It's the best-selling home console video game of all time, but of course this is entirely because it came packed in with the best-selling console of its generation. Wii Sports is loads of fun with friends, especially non-gamers; it's not so great when playing alone. As with most Wii games, online play is not offered; this would have made a huge difference. Makes a good party / familyIt's the best-selling home console video game of all time, but of course this is entirely because it came packed in with the best-selling console of its generation. Wii Sports is loads of fun with friends, especially non-gamers; it's not so great when playing alone. As with most Wii games, online play is not offered; this would have made a huge difference. Makes a good party / family game for all ages. Expand
  18. Oct 31, 2012
    5
    If you want a game that everyone in your family will know how to play to waste some time at Christmas, I would 100% recommend this game. To anyone who wants a simple party game for some fun, could do better but its still fun. Anyone who wants a proper sports game, don't use this. And anyone who wants a fun one player game, try balancing a potato on your head for hour. It's just as good.
  19. May 3, 2013
    7
    My favourite sports are tennis and bowling. This is a great game to learn how to use the controllers. It is really cool when you hit a home run or the ball out of the park with cool writing on the screen. Golf is good fun, boxing needs a nunchuck but is really good fun especially when I beat up my Dad (he was really bad if you want to know).
  20. Oct 21, 2013
    6
    Its fun and its addicting at times but after a month it gets old, since there are only five sports and only three are fun which are tennis, baseball, and golf. Boxing is okay but I didn't like baseball but overall its a good family game and does a decent job showing what the Wii can do.
  21. Jul 24, 2013
    7
    Wii Sports shows off the potential of the wii remote. It's a compilation of five sports, each showcasing what the wiimote has to offer. You use your miis in each of these. The first is bowling- swinging the remote as if you were playing it in real life. This is always responsive, and something anyone can dip into. For that reason, bowling is in my opinion the best game in Wii Sports. NextWii Sports shows off the potential of the wii remote. It's a compilation of five sports, each showcasing what the wiimote has to offer. You use your miis in each of these. The first is bowling- swinging the remote as if you were playing it in real life. This is always responsive, and something anyone can dip into. For that reason, bowling is in my opinion the best game in Wii Sports. Next is tennis. This should be amazing but instead, it's just shaking the wiimote at the right time. It doesn't matter how you swing or shake it- the way it aims is due to your timing. Still, this is a great game, though matches are too short, even at the highest settings. There's a baseball game, which responds accurately to how you hold and swing the wiimote. In the same way, when bowling, the controls are fast and responsive. Depending on how you swing, you can put a spin on the ball. Golf and boxing is where it all goes haywire. Golf works how you'd imagine, with the wiimote being the golf club. The controls respond well when hitting the ball long distance. But when you're close to the hole, on the fairway, the wii remote's sensing can't pick up gentle hits. So you're forced to hit the ball harder, and then it zips over the hole. Golf is more frustrating than it is fun. Boxing, meanwhile, responds accurately- just a second after you do something. This lag stops it from being enjoyable. As well as these sports, there are training minigames for each of them, which adds to the fun, plus improves your skill. There is also a fitness test which is useless as it tells you nothing about your fitness. The better you become at sports, the higher your 'level' becomes. At 1000, you become 'pro level'. And that's far from easy to do. Wii Sports is the first game to get for your wii simply because it showcases what that remote can do. But bad boxing and golf bring it down. Expand
  22. Sep 8, 2013
    7
    Wii Sports is a nice, decent starter for the Wii. Despite it's lack of depth, it makes a nice pack-in for the Wii console. The more first-time Wii owners play this, the more used they get to the Wii. However, not all of the five sports are unique as you would expect. Before I go through all of the sports in this game, I should say something about the graphics. They are half simple, halfWii Sports is a nice, decent starter for the Wii. Despite it's lack of depth, it makes a nice pack-in for the Wii console. The more first-time Wii owners play this, the more used they get to the Wii. However, not all of the five sports are unique as you would expect. Before I go through all of the sports in this game, I should say something about the graphics. They are half simple, half realistic. Now onto the sports. Tennis is really good. Controls are well-functioned, but some of your swings may have the ball hit the net or out of the court. One dissapointment was that all you ever play is DOUBLES and ONLY doubles. No singles. That would be dissapointing, nonetheless still fun. Baseball was MEH. While the piching contols work really well, Batting controls were kinda bad. Most of my hits were fouls. Bowling was pretty fun. Controls work pretty well, however, the spin controls work properly at a precentage of 49%. Sometimes when you release the ball by swinging and twisting at the same time with your remote as you release B, your ball will either go slow and go on the side or twist slowly no matter how you twist your remote. Golf was OK. The courses looked pretty nice, but the controls When you swing your remote slowly as if you were putting, you can't hit the ball. You have to swing it a little more fast enough so the ball can land at a distance you want it to be at. And Boxing was a Hit. Controls work pretty well. Sometimes the game won't read your jabs correctly, nonetheless a great sport. The Training games work well as the 5 sports. The Wii Fitness was good as well, and puts a nice alternative to Wii Fit. Overall, Wii Sports is a Great game for you, your family and friends to play. It makes a nice starter to the Wii Console. I would recommend this especially for first-time Wii Owners. Metacritic roundup score: 8. My Score: 7.8 out of 10. Grade: B+. Expand
  23. Apr 1, 2014
    6
    Wii Sports is overall good, but it's really not my type of game and it's not just because I'm not a big sports fan. Overall I do think this is a fun multiplayer game, I do like playing Tennis, Baseball and Bowling however I wasn't crazy about Golf or Boxing. There were also side versions of each games but I didn't really find too much greatness in them, I think some of them may have justWii Sports is overall good, but it's really not my type of game and it's not just because I'm not a big sports fan. Overall I do think this is a fun multiplayer game, I do like playing Tennis, Baseball and Bowling however I wasn't crazy about Golf or Boxing. There were also side versions of each games but I didn't really find too much greatness in them, I think some of them may have just been there to help players be healthy. Overall I guess Wii Sports is a good game for the pack-in title it was, but since later Wii boxes now also include Wii Sports Resort as well, I guess it probably makes it's "special-ness" go down a bit; I'm sure once I get a Wii U that I will find Nintendo Land to be a lot Superior as a pack in title, but for now, Wii Sports is an okay game, just pretty boring overall. I will give Wii Sports credit though, the game was actually good though and usually I think sports game suck mainly because of how repetitive each new entry can be in a sports game series (I'm talking about you Madden). Expand
  24. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    A good launch title that helps you understand the basics of the motion control technology.

    You can sum this game in just that sentence. It is simple and fun. But that doesn't change the fact that it's good. But I wished of a few more minigames

    P.S That does come with a far more better wii game in fact
  25. Dec 9, 2014
    6
    Wii Sports was my very first Wii game, and I liked it a lot. But then something happened after I played it again, it wasn't that fun. Wii Sports is a game that is best enjoyed with friends and family, but when you play alone by yourself you can't help but get bored by the inferior A.I. (except for Boxing, that one is tough) and because of that you can beat any sport with enough experience.Wii Sports was my very first Wii game, and I liked it a lot. But then something happened after I played it again, it wasn't that fun. Wii Sports is a game that is best enjoyed with friends and family, but when you play alone by yourself you can't help but get bored by the inferior A.I. (except for Boxing, that one is tough) and because of that you can beat any sport with enough experience. So yeah, my recommendation is: Rent it, and if you like it, buy it. Expand
  26. Nov 12, 2015
    7
    ótimo jogo, ele é muito bom pra jogar com a família e amigos, porém não di nota maxima por dois motivos.
    1 - não da pra jogar online, um jogo de esporte, lançado em 2006 não da pra jogar online chega a ser absurdo.
    2 - trilha sonora fraca.
    porém de resto ele foi muito bem, ótima jogabilidade e trás muita diversão.
  27. Sep 27, 2015
    6
    Not sure what the point of reviewing is since this game comes with the Wii. If you got a Wii secondhand and don't have it then I guess it's worth buying for a dollar, but it pales in comparison to Wii Sports Resort. Resort improves upon bowling and golf, changes tennis to table tennis, and has a ton more sports to play. I think boxing and baseball are the only reasons to have Wii Sports ifNot sure what the point of reviewing is since this game comes with the Wii. If you got a Wii secondhand and don't have it then I guess it's worth buying for a dollar, but it pales in comparison to Wii Sports Resort. Resort improves upon bowling and golf, changes tennis to table tennis, and has a ton more sports to play. I think boxing and baseball are the only reasons to have Wii Sports if you already have Wii Sports Resort, and boxing and baseball are pretty limited minigames. Expand
  28. Nov 25, 2015
    7
    Its pretty fun! but you only play FIVE games and thats it. but overall it's really good if you're new to the wii! I played this with my cousins and we all had fun
  29. Feb 19, 2016
    7
    o jogo wii sports, foi um jogo totalmente inovador pra industria de consoles, ele é o jogo que reúne a família e os amigos pra jogar. tem 5 esportes divertidos e com uma ótima jogabilidade. porém, a Nintendo deu ruim em algumas coisas. 1 - não da pra jogar online. eu gosto muito de jogar online, o wii sports ficaria show, mas, não sei o que deu na cabeça da Nintendo em criar um jogo emo jogo wii sports, foi um jogo totalmente inovador pra industria de consoles, ele é o jogo que reúne a família e os amigos pra jogar. tem 5 esportes divertidos e com uma ótima jogabilidade. porém, a Nintendo deu ruim em algumas coisas. 1 - não da pra jogar online. eu gosto muito de jogar online, o wii sports ficaria show, mas, não sei o que deu na cabeça da Nintendo em criar um jogo em pleno 2006 pra 7 geração de consoles, e não colocar um modo online. 2 - bonecos mal feitos. os personagens no wii sports, além de ter uma cabeça em forma de balão, eles não tem braços, po Nintendo. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2011
#4 Most Shared Wii Game of 2011
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 75
    Your non-gamer friends will be dazzled by the immediately intuitive controls and the imported Miis. But the title sacrifices incredible depth and visuals for an immediately accessible experience.
  2. 75
    The bottom line, really, is that Wii Sports, as a multiplayer game, is downright fun. Whether your thing is tennis, baseball, golf, bowling or boxing, you’re bound to be smiling - at least for a few seconds - while playing Wii Sports.
  3. For the hardcore there’s not much here that you’ll be playing for more than an hour other than the training mode which gives you a lot of challenges but ultimately falls flat.