User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 342

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Schtef
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Entertaining puzzle game which is different everything else I've been able to find. Multiplayer with more than 2 people can be frustrating but I believe that's due to communication, not game design. The goo balls are pretty cute in a static way and best of all, the humour on the signboards leaves you to figure out the level yourself, making it more challenging. Great game.
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    World of Goo is an amazing game. There are plenty of levels to keep you busy, they are often quite challenging, and the graphics, sounds and signboards are awesome. You can go up against people across the country to build the highest goo tower, or you can play through the seven areas, each with some 20 strategic, hard as hell but really fun levels. (that is actually an overstatement, someWorld of Goo is an amazing game. There are plenty of levels to keep you busy, they are often quite challenging, and the graphics, sounds and signboards are awesome. You can go up against people across the country to build the highest goo tower, or you can play through the seven areas, each with some 20 strategic, hard as hell but really fun levels. (that is actually an overstatement, some are quite hard while others are really relaxing) This game is hilarious, and is very rewarding when you finally beat that one level. Go and get it. I would give it a ten, but it's more of a 9.5 because of all the frustration. You have been warned. Expand
  3. JohnF.
    Dec 8, 2008
    9
    A wonderful game. It's more than just your typical puzzle game as 2D Boy went the extra mile by creating great artwork and a superb soundtrack. It's the best downloadable title available on consoles. It's short, but you're only paying $15 for it, and the amount of high quality you get for $15 is much more than you get in most $60 games. This game deserves to be playedA wonderful game. It's more than just your typical puzzle game as 2D Boy went the extra mile by creating great artwork and a superb soundtrack. It's the best downloadable title available on consoles. It's short, but you're only paying $15 for it, and the amount of high quality you get for $15 is much more than you get in most $60 games. This game deserves to be played and deserves your support. Expand
  4. ArquimedesQuintero
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    This is the best experience i've had with any wiiware title and even better than a bunch of retail ones. It is a must have.
    This really shows that you can make great things in Wiiware, if this 3-man team could pull this off, other development studios can do wonders in this platform. they are just not trying hard enough.
  5. YourselfHimself
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    Easily the best puzzle game since, and possibly including, Portal, this game is overflowing with charm, style, and polish. The music is shockingly beautiful (looking at this game, who would have thought?), the art style... well, you can judge that on your own, but it's very unique, and I personally love it. And as for the puzzles - sheer brilliance. Never frustrating, always Easily the best puzzle game since, and possibly including, Portal, this game is overflowing with charm, style, and polish. The music is shockingly beautiful (looking at this game, who would have thought?), the art style... well, you can judge that on your own, but it's very unique, and I personally love it. And as for the puzzles - sheer brilliance. Never frustrating, always engaging, 2D Boy has struck the perfect balance between difficulty and flow, creating a game that is immensely satisfying but still accessible to everyone. Expand
  6. AndrewL
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    It doesn't get any better than this. I had heard people mention it on the various videogame podcasts and was kind of curious, but I didn't seek it out, because I don't have a Wii at home and I didn't realize there was a Mac version. Anyhow, I was at a friend's house, and he put on World of Goo, and everyone in the room was blown away by how cool it was. It's It doesn't get any better than this. I had heard people mention it on the various videogame podcasts and was kind of curious, but I didn't seek it out, because I don't have a Wii at home and I didn't realize there was a Mac version. Anyhow, I was at a friend's house, and he put on World of Goo, and everyone in the room was blown away by how cool it was. It's actually almost as fun to watch as it is to play. Upon returning home, I immediately bought the Mac version and I've been loving it. Everyone should own this game. Expand
  7. TimW
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    Every once in a while a game comes along that is truly innovative and refreshing. World of Goo is such a game. It is sure to spawn a host of (inferior) clones. Game play if fun from the first try. The music and setting lends itself to a casual gaming experience, but don't assume casual mean shallow and boring. World of Goo drew me in. Not did that, but my wife wanted me to play it Every once in a while a game comes along that is truly innovative and refreshing. World of Goo is such a game. It is sure to spawn a host of (inferior) clones. Game play if fun from the first try. The music and setting lends itself to a casual gaming experience, but don't assume casual mean shallow and boring. World of Goo drew me in. Not did that, but my wife wanted me to play it because she became enamored of all the little goo balls. World of Goo is also one of those games that you can't just stop playing. 2DBoy proved that even the small guy can produce a blockbuster. This is Hall of Fame material. If you only buy one Wii Ware game make it this one. Collapse
  8. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Proof that monumental things can come for even simple style games. This is probably the most addictive, challenging and easiest to learn games I've ever played in my life. I can't say enough good things.
  9. Esposch.
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    From time to time, a random game you stumble across impresses you a lot (65 Million and 1 BC, Clean Asia! etc.) This is one of them. If you don't buy this game, you are missing out on the best download of 2008, and we wouldn't want that, would we?
  10. [anonymous]
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This is a truly amazing game, full of addicting puzzles and a very original way of building towards your goal. And all that was made by just 2 people and $10,000.00. This is really worth your money, and it's only $15.
  11. DaveP.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    I was a bit skeptical about this game at first. Then I played the PC demo. The music is amazing, the phisics perfect and the puzzles creative and challenging. If you have a PC and a credit card, or a wii, there is no reason this game should not be on your HD. At $20 or $15 this game is a steal.
  12. ShawnLaib
    Dec 7, 2008
    9
    I'm not really into puzzle games that much but I tried this game out because everyone said that it was so good. I found out that it is an awesome puzzle game that has great graphics and sound and great game play. The only flaw is that the game is quite difficult later on in the game but that's just me. Still a great game!!!!!!!
  13. BlakeD.
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    Absolutely great. This game is much better than many full-release titles being injected into the market, let alone all the crap that gets put out through download services like WiiWare and Xbox Live Arcade. This came is the best physics puzzler I've played (up there with Linerider in gameplay and replay value), and the "downbeat" theme is fun. Like Braid on the 360, this game has Absolutely great. This game is much better than many full-release titles being injected into the market, let alone all the crap that gets put out through download services like WiiWare and Xbox Live Arcade. This came is the best physics puzzler I've played (up there with Linerider in gameplay and replay value), and the "downbeat" theme is fun. Like Braid on the 360, this game has given me hope for little games like this. Well worth the $15. Expand
  14. MikeT
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    This game puts big developers to shame!! Considering it was made by a team of only 2 people! This game goes beyond expectations and should be a slap on the face for "hardcore" gamers. This game is very accessible to players of all ages and tastes. The music, puzzles, humor, and graphics all consume you into a deep BEAUTIFUL fantasy-like world where living goo and odd stick figure-like This game puts big developers to shame!! Considering it was made by a team of only 2 people! This game goes beyond expectations and should be a slap on the face for "hardcore" gamers. This game is very accessible to players of all ages and tastes. The music, puzzles, humor, and graphics all consume you into a deep BEAUTIFUL fantasy-like world where living goo and odd stick figure-like characters dwell. Expand
  15. AlC
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    When I first heard all of the hype surrounding World of Goo, I was definitely skeptical. Generally someone who does not enjoy puzzle games quite as much, I bought it anyways... and found myself playing the single best game available for Wii. The soundtrack is phenominal. The physics are tight and accurate. The gameplay? I haven't found a flaw. Even the storyline is gripping, quite a When I first heard all of the hype surrounding World of Goo, I was definitely skeptical. Generally someone who does not enjoy puzzle games quite as much, I bought it anyways... and found myself playing the single best game available for Wii. The soundtrack is phenominal. The physics are tight and accurate. The gameplay? I haven't found a flaw. Even the storyline is gripping, quite a feat in a puzzle game... heck, ANY game, period. Please buy this game if you have a Wii... these are the games that need to be played and supported by the entire community. Trust me, trust the "Universal Acclaim" status, and trust pretty much everyone else that has given this game a review. A must have. Expand
  16. ScottW
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    At a time when realistic 3-D violence seems to be the mantra, this is a refreshing and long overdue game. World of Goo is so addictive; we lost track of time and ran the Wii remote out of batteries! This is not another repackaged platforming or shooting game. It is so unique; it might create an entire new genre. Along with such titles as Pong, Tetris, Donkey Kong and Asteroids, this is At a time when realistic 3-D violence seems to be the mantra, this is a refreshing and long overdue game. World of Goo is so addictive; we lost track of time and ran the Wii remote out of batteries! This is not another repackaged platforming or shooting game. It is so unique; it might create an entire new genre. Along with such titles as Pong, Tetris, Donkey Kong and Asteroids, this is destined to become a landmark game. Expand
  17. ChrisMankin
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    Amazing -- So simple to play it doesn't even need a tutorial, but kept me playing for several hours on end. The music is great quality and always appropriate for the atmosphere of the levels, and every level has a unique feel. I honestly can't come up with any complaint except "I need a sequel already"!
  18. PhilM
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    2 people did most of the work for this game and yet it's several times better than a lot of half-baked $50 retail titles that get slapped together and put on shelves. The presentation is top-notch from the memorable music to the unique art-style and polished visuals. Not to mention the game play which is incredibly addicting and cleverly designed with an impressive physics engine 2 people did most of the work for this game and yet it's several times better than a lot of half-baked $50 retail titles that get slapped together and put on shelves. The presentation is top-notch from the memorable music to the unique art-style and polished visuals. Not to mention the game play which is incredibly addicting and cleverly designed with an impressive physics engine behind it. I can only hope this game gets the attention and sales it deserves, so 2d Boy can bring us another gem. And if you let a $15 or $20 price tag stop you from getting this game, you're an idiot. Buy it. Expand
  19. BrockJ.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    A great, HIGHLY addictive puzzle game. I spent 4 hours playing it the first day. There hasn't been a puzzle game this good since Tetris. Proof that WiiWare can produce GREAT games that would otherwise not be widely available.
  20. ChrisJ.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing, if you liked portal or braid this is definately a must buy. Artistic graphics look wonderful. Music is stellar. Physics based gameplay is top notch. There is no reason not to purchase this game.
  21. AaronS
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This has been an excellent game to play. Fun physics and puzzles and new gameplay are a breath of fresh air in the flood of all the other standard genres that have been done over and over again to the point of ultimate redundancy. Those genres can only one up themselves with better graphics, but this game takes a whole new gameplay into account and does it well. Best WiiWare title ever. A This has been an excellent game to play. Fun physics and puzzles and new gameplay are a breath of fresh air in the flood of all the other standard genres that have been done over and over again to the point of ultimate redundancy. Those genres can only one up themselves with better graphics, but this game takes a whole new gameplay into account and does it well. Best WiiWare title ever. A must-get-right-now game. Expand
  22. NickG.
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Kind of like a cross between Lemmings, Jenga and plumbing! A refereshing game that's very easy to get into and yet you won't bore of it before you've finished it. Great gameplay, great graphics, great levels and great value! Probably the best game for the Wii after Super Mario. If you're at all into puzzle games, buy it now.
  23. WhyNot?
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    When I read through the user comments up to this point, it was no surprise to me that every single person who had the sense to comment gave this game a 10. Even though I only got this masterpiece yesterday (and haven't yet cleared Chapter 1), I can already see why so many people thought this was one of the best games of 2008. The gameplay is top-notch, and it's made even better When I read through the user comments up to this point, it was no surprise to me that every single person who had the sense to comment gave this game a 10. Even though I only got this masterpiece yesterday (and haven't yet cleared Chapter 1), I can already see why so many people thought this was one of the best games of 2008. The gameplay is top-notch, and it's made even better when you consider that only two people developed the game. The graphics are simple but beautiful, and the sound effects? I love the things that the Goo Balls say, even if I can't decipher it. The music is excellent, the puzzles have just the right amount of difficulty, and at $15 or $20 (depending on the version), you're getting a great game for a minuscule price. What can I say about this game other than "Unbelievable"? When I first started reviewing games on here, I made a promise to myself to never give a perfect score. I'm willing to break that promise for this beautiful masterpiece of a game. I give World of Goo a perfect 100 out of 100. Expand
  24. TitaniumDragon
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    A very good game for $15, World of Goo is an enjoyable puzzle game. Some complain about the length, but I think that's somewhat unjustified; you get 1 hour of gameplay per $1-2, and that's not bad. The puzzles are challenging enough to be interesting, but not so hard as to be frustrating; the OCDs (the achievements, more or less) are tougher and fun enough to try for to bring A very good game for $15, World of Goo is an enjoyable puzzle game. Some complain about the length, but I think that's somewhat unjustified; you get 1 hour of gameplay per $1-2, and that's not bad. The puzzles are challenging enough to be interesting, but not so hard as to be frustrating; the OCDs (the achievements, more or less) are tougher and fun enough to try for to bring you some amount of addition fun out of the game. It is true that it has little replay value, but that's okay - you get good enough value for your dollar already. The music is quite decent, and the humor in the game is amusing. The overall look and feel is quite good as well. The game really has only three flaws. Firstly, the freeform tower is limited to only three hundred goo balls for no apparent reason. While I'm sure it has something to do with engine limitations, it is disappointing. Secondly, there is no reward for getting the OCDs - you get them, you get a little flag, but that's it. I was hoping for an unlockable level or something. Thirdly, sometimes it is troublesome to grab the goo ball you want, which is frustrating when it happens. Overall though, the game is very good, and it is worth the $15 it costs. Expand
  25. EvanB.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game! I have never seen a game on Metacritic where every single user review has been a "10"! I am hooked on this game. My brother got this as well and he says it is the "Game of the Year"! I completely agree! Buy it - you won't regret it!
  26. MatthewM.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    A truly amazing game. Elsewhere it has been likened to an old-school arcade game and this is quite true: it's initially tricky, but not impossible, to complete the entire game in a few hours. But that's really just "unlocking" all of the levels and viewing the wonderfully bizarre story. The real game is about rescuing more and more goo from each level, refining and perfecting A truly amazing game. Elsewhere it has been likened to an old-school arcade game and this is quite true: it's initially tricky, but not impossible, to complete the entire game in a few hours. But that's really just "unlocking" all of the levels and viewing the wonderfully bizarre story. The real game is about rescuing more and more goo from each level, refining and perfecting your efforts each time. Getting "Obsession Completion Distinction" for every level will take quite some time, even for the hardcore. The demo is finally available from 2DBoy.com, so anyone can try it out. Be aware, though: The first chapter (the whole first chapter is in the demo) is mostly laid-back tutorial levels. The weirdness proper begins in Chapter 2 and Chapter 4 is outright INSANE (in a good way). Nevertheless, it's one of the best demos out there. Plenty of levels to try out, and much fun to be had. Expand
  27. NikS
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    I've been playing this game almost non-stop for a couple days now... It's addicting and awesome in every sense! Art style, music, gameplay, puzzles, game length, challenging-replayability. May not be the best Wii game overall, since it is relatively simple, when compared to disc games... But it is certainly the best WiiWare game to date! I wonder if Cave Story will be able to I've been playing this game almost non-stop for a couple days now... It's addicting and awesome in every sense! Art style, music, gameplay, puzzles, game length, challenging-replayability. May not be the best Wii game overall, since it is relatively simple, when compared to disc games... But it is certainly the best WiiWare game to date! I wonder if Cave Story will be able to top this one, when it's released on WiiWare. Expand
  28. JarvisH.
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    Two people have made a game that is better than anything before it. Better than Halo, better than Zelda, better than Resident Evil 4, better than Super Mario Bros. 3. This is BY FAR the best game ever made and If you don't buy it you can hardly call yourself a gamer.
  29. [Anonymous]
    Mar 28, 2009
    9
    This is an excellent game with very few flaws. It runs smoothly, looks nice, and has very solid gameplay. However, the controls can be a bit off at times (more than once, I was unable to select a gooball that I needed in a certain time frame and failed the level), and it's rather short, but that's made up for by the fun and replayability. Just get it. Now. What are you waiting This is an excellent game with very few flaws. It runs smoothly, looks nice, and has very solid gameplay. However, the controls can be a bit off at times (more than once, I was unable to select a gooball that I needed in a certain time frame and failed the level), and it's rather short, but that's made up for by the fun and replayability. Just get it. Now. What are you waiting for? Do it! Expand
  30. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Once I said in a review that Portal 2 is the best puzzle game ever. This is the best puzzle game ever. Fantastic story, amazing physics engine, and great graphics and magic! Edit: music. I meant music. But I suppose there is magic too.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 95
    It's packed full of brilliant, challenging levels. It's gorgeous. It's got beautiful music. And it controls really well. So if you value any or all of these qualities, and hopefully you do, you should be delighted to know that Nintendo's downloadable service is about to rock your world, goo style.
  2. Not only is World of Goo easily the best WiiWare release to date, it's also proof that you don't need a large development team or millions of dollars to create an outstanding video game. In an era of video gaming where style is often emphasized over substance, it's refreshing to see a title like World of Goo that somehow manages to feature an abundance of both.
  3. 100
    It's the atmosphere that transforms World of Goo from a great concept to a fantastic game, with production values well above what you'd expect from a tiny indie developer. The crisp, hand-drawn visuals burst with care and creativity, recalling the wonderfully distinct approach of another recent downloadable favorite, Castle Crashers. And the music -- who would've expected such intense anthems from a physics-based puzzler?