User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    7
    I bought this at a grocery store for about fifteen bucks. The gameplay is enjoyable, and it is always fun shooting down the Luftwaffe over Normandy. The campaign has no cutscenes, and the voice acting is only at the beginning of each mission when your commander gives you your objectives. The graphics are not very pleasing to the eye, and unless you know your history, you might get lost during the story. The replay value is mainly unlocking new planes and completing each mission on all the difficulty. Co-op mode is awesome during the story, and I would recommend giving it a try. Multiplayer is good, but there is no online mode, which is unfortunate, so unless you have a friend or family member available, you won't stay for long. If you find this game at a discounted price, give it a go. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    3
    This game is impossibly difficult. Even at the easiest setting on the first level, the game is punishingly difficult. The awkward Wii controls and lack of mission variety really are a let down. That's not to say there isn't a lot to do, because there is with over 60 missions, but many of them are just the same objective in a different setting. It's way too repetitive. This game seems like it was almost half-assed and the fact that it is so unapproachable by all but the most skilled person with a wiimote and an infinite amount of patience. Collapse
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    It's not the best world war 2 video game, but it's good enough to enjoy. The game has exciting combat and okay graphics, but kind of lacks a storyline. You should probably rent it before you buy it to see if you like it/
  4. Jan 15, 2012
    7
    Inaccurate user scores, IGN still sucks... yep, everything is still normal...
    This game is actually quite fun, very challenging and interesting. I love the controlles, hate IGN, and find the graphics decent. Some parts are frustrating and somewhat feel glitchy, but I recommend this to any gamer that enjoys flying games.
  5. GYm
    Dec 25, 2011
    0
    INterface is okay, but the missions are impossible. There are always swarms of enemy fighters behind you, making it pointless to use a bomber since it will just be cut to pieces. I like a challenge, but I was unable to make any meaningful headway in the game with the setting on EASY! Too bad, it had a lot of potential, but just doesn't reach it.
  6. Dec 24, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed this game / simulation for many many hours! I think one needs to be an aviation enthusiast or pilot to enjoy WWII Aces. If you stick with it and learn the basics in Dogfight mode, it will help a lot.

    Note the "lead time" on shooting a moving target is critical, especially in the X axis (left-right). Note that your cross-hairs turn red only after a bullet hits the enemy,
    indicating that you're in the correct bank and/or rudder input.

    Utilizing the following two tips helped a ton. Tip #1: there are 3 "control schemes" from which to choose. I found number two to be good, thus utilizing the nunchuk for everything (except the A button to switch between bombs and missiles, later in the campaigns). Tip #2: for beginner to intermediate play, I found a large rubber band to be helpful in holding the B button. You see, there are 2 speeds of game play. The default one is at least DOUBLE real-world. Holding the B button reduces it to what seems to be a bit slower than real-world (being a pilot, I know approximately how these planes should respond.) I guess they figured hard-core gamers would be quickly bored by the slow (real-world) speed.

    As for the V symbols pointing to primary and secondary targets, the choice of two colors was a great idea. Too bad they are red and dark red. Yellow would have been better. Watch them carefully. The program Loop and Roll maneuvers were worthless to me because you can't modify it mid-stream or do an Immelmann. But you can out-turn the enemy most of the time using bank and rudder. Last note: reading the instruction booklet helped. There are a couple of useful items in there.
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    It may not be a standard setting game for graphix but when an 8 year old plays it, the game play is what makes it fun. For me, I got the game cuz I thought my son wouldn't be interested but I was totally surprised. He has been playing it for a week now and so have his friends with the co operative mode. It is a blast. It is simple. It is fun. It was $14 bucks at Best Buy. I think it is just fine. I actually do enjoy playing it. Expand
  8. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    This game is impossibly difficult. Even at the easiest setting on the first level, the game is punishingly difficult. The awkward Wii controls and lack of mission variety really are a let down. That's not to say there isn't a lot to do, because there is with over 60 missions, but many of them are just the same objective in a different setting. It's way too repetitive. This game seems like it was almost half-assed and the fact that it is so unapproachable by all but the most skilled person with a wiimote and an infinite amount of patience. Collapse
Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Yet more proof that slapping motion controls on a lousy game doesn't magically make it worthwhile. [Mar 2008, p.87]
  2. The levels are unorganized, ugly, and totally unsatisfying. [Apr 2008, p.60]
  3. WWII Aces is a decent title that is meant to be played cooperatively. So long as you have another friend close by, the $40 shouldn't sting your wallet too much.