User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 436 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 436

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest wii games and an automatic classic gem. This game hands down is one of the most creative,fun,interesting rpgs in a while. I wont go into to much detail but if you love rpg games or want a reason to boot up your wii again this is it. Buy this game to show Japanese Game Companies that we want more things localized. We almost didn't get this game and that would have been a shame for people to miss out on such an amazing title. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    I have to agree with almost everyone: this game is simply amazing. The music, game play, locations and story are all very good. One of the best game on the Wii.
  3. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    How does this masterpiece as of this writing have a 7.8 user score? It's these Xbot and Sony drone fanboys coming in and rating every Nintendo exclusive a 0 to try and make it so the morons who rely on Metacritic user scores don't buy the game. It's sickening. There isn't a single flaw I can think of in this game that isn't just nitpicking. It's the best JRPG ever made and a big-budget hardcore Wii game, the kind you haters SUPPOSEDLY wanted. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Worth the hype. This game is absolutely a blast and an impressive technical achievement on the Wii. The game features a solid dub and excellent cast of characters. The combat system is strong and the story is excellent. Buy it, love it.
  5. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker.
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Awesome game and I hope the US get this game. Have not finished it yet but I see that there are many hours ahead of me with this game!!! RPG mechanics are awesome and story is pretty good so far. Tons of sidequests as well.
  7. May 14, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The story is engaging, the voice acting is top notch, there a million sidequests and the battle system is unique. I love this game and this will be my summer.
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Huge landscapes, lots of side quests, beautiful music and graphics, party members' affinities. Took me about 120 hours to do a good amount of side quests and reach the ending, and there was still a lot I didn't complete. Still hoping Nintendo of America decides to release this gem of a game, which is specially a triumph for Japan-developed RPGs often criticized for being stagnant. Congratulations Monolithsoft, you did a damn well job developing this game, LOVED IT! Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Xenoblade is one of the greatest JRPGs ever made. It takes everything that we love in JRPGs, the epic stories, crazy characters, and unique art and merges it with all the latest positive aspects of modern RPGs and MMOs. Gone is the tedium and grinding of old-school RPGs, rather, the combat puts you in control, and the travel system helps keep things moving. Plus this game is open-world, so you get a fantastic story combined with free roaming. ++++ It's just a dang shame so few people will play this game, because at the risk of speaking blasphemy, it's superior to Xenogears and just about any other JRPG. A must-play if you like RPGs. Expand
  10. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles can go toe-to-toe with such JRPG classics as Chrono Trigger, Suikoden, and Lunar: Silver Star Story Complete, and there's no denying that it fills a major role-playing void on the Wii. But to get my one and only gripe out of the way, let me just say this - by no fault of the game itself, players won't be able to shake the feeling that Xenoblade should have been made on an HD-capable console. While Xenoblade Chronicles is an astounding technical achievement that makes use of every ounce of processing power it can squaeeze out of Wii's hardware, it still doesn't look much better than a decade-old PS2 RPG. As jaw-dropping as some of its environments and sweeping set pieces may be, the game's blurry textures and low-polygon models are a constant reminder of the platform's limitations. That being said, good gameplay should always trump graphical prowess, especially in the RPG genre, and Xenoblade delivers some major innovations in that department. The game successfully mixes the best parts of Japanese and Western development while bringing a few new concepts to the table. At first, it may strike the player as an offline MMO, with its real-time auto-attacks and a skill bar that lines the bottom of the screen during combat, but it's not that simple. There are a ton of ways to interact with enemies, whether it's instigating a battle, evading more aggressive mobs, dodging attacks that would automatically land in a typical MMO setup, or strategically positioning characters to exploit enemy weaknesses and distractions. Aside from combat, exploration and party management features are equally impressive. Equipment changes are visualized, enhancement slots allow you to constantly evolve the armor and weapons you like, crafting is deep yet intuitive, and even questing has been drastically streamlined over the MMO contemporaries that inspired its basic structure. The world itself is massive and very original in its design, as sweeping landscapes are interwoven in a way that makes every vista and cliff face recognizable, thus eliminating a constant reliance on maps and objective pointers. I also thoroughly enjoy the addition of social elements, which allow for relationships between party members, unlock special scenes, and even track the interpersonal connections of NPCs. Xenoblade impresses on a lot of fronts, and it's all highly intuitive. Also, unlike a majority of JRPGs that have been released in recent years, the story is almost immediately engaging and enjoyable, and despite the strength of its narrative, the entire experience remains non-linear and highly customizable. Japanese development has seemed reluctant to let go of its past conventions and typically linear storytelling techniques, so Xenoblade is solid proof that innovation is not only still possible, but now highly encouraged by the instantly classic and commercially successful precedent of Xenoblade Chronicles. While I could certainly go into greater depth with the game's individual systems, the points I have already made should be more than enough to convince RPG fans to buy the game as soon as possible. Play it for yourself, and as long as you can get over the fact that the game only exists on the technically limited and aging Wii, Xenoblade will almost certainly gain a permanent place in your RPG collection. Expand
  11. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    The best jRPG in years, maybe the best RPG of this generation (still haven't played Last Story and Skryim is too different for comparison), and one of the best Wii games to date. 'nuff said.
  12. May 23, 2012
    10
    after much time and consideration, i am going to say this has to be one of my favorite games. for the first 100 hours, but since i like to 100 percent everything not gonna lie a few things are a real pain in the ass about this game. BUT if you are not going for 100 percent i promise this game will satisfy you in every way, its completely epic the way they did this game. with the story when you think you understand it, it smacks you in the face, with a curve ball. great story, epic way of playing, simply amazing. i have recommended this game to all who i know play games. Expand
  13. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles is one of the best RPGs I have ever played. Monolith Soft created a wonderful gameplay environment that is one of the best I've ever experienced. The story was good but not great but when added to the wonderful gameplay, massive environments, fun characters and interesting settings of the game it definitely deserves a 10/10.
  14. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I was severely disappointed when Nintendo initially ignored the fans who wanted this game so I paid a premium to import it from the United Kingdom and soft-modded my Wii to play it last year. And I did not regret it one bit. Now that it's available in America (via Nintendo's online store or exclusively at Gamestop), everyone has a chance to try it out. For anyone who's disappointed with the cookie-cutter dribble that's considered JRPGs these days, you need to try Xenoblade. It's the next evolution of the JRPG genre. You'll get a grand adventure, engaging and creative story, lovable characters and great music you've come to expect but what sets this game apart is the gameplay. It's very similar to a MMORPG. There's a huge, open world for you to explore (with a fantastic quick travel option) and there are tons of sidequests. The standard attacks during combat is automated (if you're close enough to an enemy). Special attacks are used by player commands and can have different effects depending on where the player is standing or what you're allies are doing, and rely on a cooldown feature rather than MP (or something similar). There are numerous other gameplay elements which provide a lot of depth to the gameplay. Unfortunately, because the combat is so similar to MMORPGs, it's nothing new or unique though it does work surprisingly well in an offline game. This is a long adventure and will take at least 60 hours to beat if you avoid doing any sidequests. But this is one of those games where it's very easy to get sidetracked so expect to spend a lot of time with this game. Visually, the game looks fantastic and in my opinion, is the best looking Wii game overall (yes, better than Mario Galaxy 2 or Skyward Sword). Not only is the art direction amazingly unique and imaginative but the scale of areas are simply breathtaking. Ultimately, if you own a Wii and regardless of whether or not you like JRPGs, you should give this game a try. I've been a fan of RPGs since the SNES days and this is simply one of the best games ever! Expand
  15. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    I have played so many Rpgs in this 7th generation era but I will have to say one thing that this game is certainly one of my top 5 game and 3rd best Jrpg after Ninokuni and The last story.

    Story: Story and character is just to fantastic for any game..I cared about main character and his Band of mercenaries.Characters have deep emotional touch with beautiful stories and the main
    protagonist is one of the best i the RPG genere.

    Graphics: Even though frame rate issue was there i was always wondering how did the old Wii manage to produce such a beautiful game.

    Gameplay: Just 10 out of 10. Blend of RPG strategy and action
    Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the best (j)RPG within this century and one of the best RPGs ever created. The game offers great graphics, a wonderful soundtrack, top-notch gameplay, a huge and very well designed world and finally a superb story. It clealry takes the jRPG genre to the next level with lots of great features like real time combat and a 'save everywhere' function. Gamer heart, what do you want more? Expand
  17. May 9, 2012
    10
    Xenoblade is THE best JRPG of this generation. Jam packed of content, you are looking at 80+ hours of gameplay, assuming you are only doing the main story. The visuals are good, though some of the animations are a bit awkward. The music is absolutely fantastic; one of my favorite soundtracks of all time. The gameplay is solid and the combat system is addicting.
  18. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    What a fantastic experience! This game set's itself apart from other contemporary RPG's by one major thing: game play. There's so much to find, so much to vary in terms of equipment and customization, that makes you wonder why it all went missing in other current generation games. Even the presentation looks vivid and uses the capabilities of the Wii, which is technically sub par with other platforms, to it's limits.
    Everything moves, changes, the world comes alive in a vast continuous stream. Day and night cycles included. Personally, I found the british speakers refreshing and the dialogue well written, not what you'd expect from a japanese RPG.
    Last but ultimately the most rewarding is the actual combat and rpg battle system: you'll feel at home if you've played either WoW or Final Fantasy XII, the combat just flows in realtime, tactical options always more important than hack n slash tactics. Make no mistake though: this game urges you to pay attention to the moment-to-moment proceedings, in order to maximize your attacks. Tons of monsters with different weaknesses and tactics, sub-bosses and challenges on the way make combat worthwhile.
    Expand
  19. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    Easily the best JRPG of this gen. The game shines by its great story, rhythm and huge content. The gameplay is deep and really different with each character, so if you get tired of it mid-game, you just have to change your team to try something different. The best thing in the game is probably how hassle free the progression is, so you get 80+ hours of game, not 80 hours of leveling and wandering.
  20. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This game makes is the best JRPG to be released ever. Look no further, it is the ultimate JRPG game. This game has some stunning environments; it even makes the environments in Final fantasy HD games seem generic and boring. The combat system is genius, but it may require some patience to fully understand it. The story is very well written, and you will fall in love with the British voice overs. The game also features one of the best (if not the best) game music.

    This Game Is definitely the best JRPG of all time. It was worth buying a Wii just for this game.
    Expand
  21. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games of the 2010's so far. Its advanced combat system, gameplay, music, story, visuals, and sidequests can keep you entertained for 100+ hours. Its the best wii game available.
  22. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Wish they would bring this to the US.. all i hear is how great this game is and we in the US are screwed because it wont be released here. I really think Nintendo is sabotaging the Wii this year here because they are focusing on the 3DS and the WiiU
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Easily the best jrpg this generation, anyone with a wii should get this game. Huge expansive enviroments that look gorgeous, decent story with great battle system. You will easily get 60 hours out of this game and more if you do all the sidequests. It's a shame it's not out in the US because this is a game that should be enjoyed by everyone.
  24. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    I admit, I wanted to hate this game. I think Nintendo Exclusives are HIGHLY overrated as a whole. But this game is amazing. Character Design strongly reminiscent of tactics ogre and FF tactics. World Design that reminds me of Final Fantasy XI. Mech Designs straight from Xenogears. A wonderful and eclectic musical score. A gripping story... seriously, play for an hour or two and tell me you weren't surprised and a little heartbroken when a certain character meets a terrible fate. This game is amazing, in spite of the technical limitations imposed by the wii. Xenoblade chronicles has transcended it's medium to become a beautiful and engaging piece of art. Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Its one of the goty on all plataforms: he innoves in gameplay, is very long with NOT DLCS, greats and big scenaries... i hope this game have been released to america o htey can play this wonderfull game :D
  26. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Hands down one of the best if not the best RPG i've played this generation. Tons of content, great characters and a storyline that gets you hooked right from the very start and never lets up all the way to its epic conclusion.
  27. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    AWESOME. best rpg in years. sure the graphics let it down, but not to the point that after a few hours of gameplay you will still notice. once you are used to the look you get to the absolutely compelling story... better than any movie i've watched this year, and i am 115 hours in and sure i've done over 300 of the side missions, but still 115 hours of gameplay and more to come. quality gaming.
  28. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Easily the best rpg this generation, maybe the best one ever.

    xenoblade tells an extremely engrossing story, with 7 main characters, and for a change, they are all likable. The world of xenoblade is extremely beautiful, made even better with stunning music,and there are some extremely pretty hidden area's to find, all of them giving you a large xp boost when you do. this leads into my
    only real problem, the game throws xp at you; if, like me, you enjoy doing a few, but not all of the side quests you will still find yourself feeling over powered for the majority of the game. The real challenge of the game is found in the unique enemies (i can't actually remember what the game calls them) scattered around the HUGE world, these monsters are a lot more challenging than the majority of the games bosses and reward you with rarer weapons and armour. all in all this is an excellent game, and even if the difficulty is slightly low, it still felt fulfilling once i completed my first play through which took 100 hours and 18 minutes, i will be playing a new game plus and intend to do everything, after finishing i could have picked it up and started again from the beginning, and i only didn't because i had already bought a new game to play after it. A must buy. Expand
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best JRPGs of this generation, with a compelling story, great characters, an amazing soundtrack and over 100 hours of gameplay, this is definitely a must have.
  30. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Everything is in place to make you play one of the best rpg of all time. Monolith soft has done everything right The story is amazing, it drives you into it from the start. The soundtrack is astounding, one of the best music I've heard in my entire life. The gameplay mechanics are marvelous . The game lets you discover and reach everything you see even if it is a far little small island you can swim to it . Overall I give this game a 10 because this is a masterpiece bar none Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. May 24, 2012
    80
    Xenoblade may not be the greatest JRPG ever, but it's certainly one of the best games on the Nintendo Wii.
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the sort of precious jRPG that this recent console generation has sorely lacked. Despite some missteps and over-complication, the game stands out as one of the best in recent years. Xenoblade creates a world simply begging to be explored.