Xenoblade Chronicles Wii

Xenoblade Chronicles Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 739 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Xenoblade Chronicles throws you into a universe bursting with imagination. Take hold of an ancient sword that offers glimpses of the future, customise your characters extensively and discover a world where your relationships with others matter.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    What makes Monolith's game such a stellar experience is the fact that everything it does dramatically improves and innovates the RPG genre. Xenoblade gives the player a whole world to interact with and explore, removing boundaries and convenient game design choices for the sake of fun and immersion.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    99
    A huge world that makes the most of the Wii with hundres of missions which provide tons of hours of play. Probably the best Japanese RPG in years, and hands down the best of this generation.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    91
    The best JRPG of this generation. A great new start for everyone looking for many entertaing hours of deep gameplay. Probably the Wii's swan song, don't miss it.
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    Although its visuals aren't surely groundbreaking, Xenoblade Chronicles proves to be an excellent jRPG that demonstrates just how much this genre has still to offer to its loyal fans.
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    It's a potent return to form for Takahashi, then, a glowing comeback for the Japanese RPG, and an injection of creativity for some tired hardware. Xenoblade Chronicles manages to impress, enrich and, best of all, inspire wonder.
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    65
    Many are calling this the Japanese RPG of this console generation-if not of all time-but it's simply got too many glaring warts for me to embrace the experience on that level. Instead, I see it as a deeply flawed, tantalizing glimpse of what the Japanese RPG can potentially become in the coming generation.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 159
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one ofAn amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Best RPG of all the seventh generation, not ha notthing better than his game believe me, if you rave a wii or wiiu, you need to play xenobladeBest RPG of all the seventh generation, not ha notthing better than his game believe me, if you rave a wii or wiiu, you need to play xenoblade cronicles. this is the uniq game.
    final fantasy, dark souls, ni no kuni, tales of xilia will not have more fun after you play xenoblade
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    THE GOOD: This is (as of now) the best rpg game i've ever played. It has an intense original story full of plot twists and emotion. The endingTHE GOOD: This is (as of now) the best rpg game i've ever played. It has an intense original story full of plot twists and emotion. The ending was absolutely perfect. The characters are a memorable bunch. Voice acting is fantastic. The world is extremely large, full of wide open spaces with a high amount of variety, from grasslands to jungles, snowy mountains, cliffsides, and countless others. The game truely takes advantage of the wii's power and the scope is insane. Its not the best visually, but the character models and environments are still noticeably detailed in such a large open-world game. Battle system is innovative and completely upgradeable. Characters are completely upgradeable. You can change any one of the 7 character's clothing any way you see fit while adjusting their stats. The game has a seemingly unlimited amount of sidequests to do. The replay value is large and a single playthrough can often take a minimum of 70 hours for the average player. The soundtrack is one of the best i've ever heard. Every piece of music is memorable.

    THE BAD: This isn't a big deal but it would have been cool to see online multiplayer options. It also would have been good if sidequests had cutscenes or voice acting.

    This is literally about as perfect as a game can possibly be in my opinion. Absolutely phenomenal title. The best game ever released for wii. PERIOD. MUST BUY!
    Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest wii games and an automatic classic gem. This game hands down is one of the most creative,fun,interesting rpgs in a while.One of the greatest wii games and an automatic classic gem. This game hands down is one of the most creative,fun,interesting rpgs in a while. I wont go into to much detail but if you love rpg games or want a reason to boot up your wii again this is it. Buy this game to show Japanese Game Companies that we want more things localized. We almost didn't get this game and that would have been a shame for people to miss out on such an amazing title. Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2014
    9
    There's a reason (or many) for ALWAYS owning the nintendo console of the moment, and this is one of them, alright ps3 had more rpgs (which iThere's a reason (or many) for ALWAYS owning the nintendo console of the moment, and this is one of them, alright ps3 had more rpgs (which i loved) but wii got the best one of its generation!

    The main point of this game is the story, specially the ending which is mind blowing, the soundtrack is also epic and a must have on cd. Battles are incredible too, never got bored of them after 90 hours of playing!

    The only downside i see to this incredible game is that it gets repetitive a little bit after a while, the dungeons have no imagination, you just walk and battle thats ALL you're going to do in them, no puzzle element at all. So why did they made them SO big! So many in this game is big for the sake of being big!

    Both the organic world and the machine world are a joy to behold, and the game's filled with amazing characters, LOVE the choice of british voices for the characters, they should do that always, american dubbing has ruined great games like the tales series (which i rather put in mute!).

    You cannot go wrong with xenoblade chronicles, is the rpg fan wet dream.
    Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    A fantastic game. The environments are stunning even though the graphics are pretty awful even for Wii. The gameplay is interesting and willA fantastic game. The environments are stunning even though the graphics are pretty awful even for Wii. The gameplay is interesting and will keep you occupied for a long time in its length. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    this overrated tittle... The story isn't any special to me , good music , good graphic but worst fighting system in this kind of game ... itthis overrated tittle... The story isn't any special to me , good music , good graphic but worst fighting system in this kind of game ... it isn't worst game i ever played , but it just disappointed me because the game play really somehow boring and isn't fun to me Expand

See all 159 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Wii.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012