User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 48
  2. Negative: 27 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    1
    Coming from a true fan of the show this pains me greatly to say...But this game was a waste of money and energy.
    Essentially a top-down Arcade game gone full retail. Not what fans deserve.
    The Land of OOO begs to be explored and here were limited to a hole in the ground and an incredibly tiny portion of the Candy Kingdom to explore.

    The absolute worst part about this game is the fact
    that ANY unspent money or "treasures" earned within "checkpoints" will be forfeited if you do not spend OR WORSE CANT AFFORD TO PURCHASE UPGRADES!!!! the FUH!!! Prepare to throw your money away time and time again!

    We deserve a 3rd person, Open World style game. Not this poor excuse for a Retail game.

    ...I feel like the biggest sucker in the world right now. Im gonna go sulk in a corner

    **UPDATE** Thankfully Gamestop had a fair trade in price!!! Im going to stick to renting this game in the future after the initial dissatisfaction goes away.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    This game made with only one wish make easy money. Ok, fans buy any trash if we put they favorite characters in our weird creature. Poor graphic, primitive gameplay, even cutscenes looks like askew slideshow. AT deserv more more serious treatment.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    3
    Why did they make this game "i DONT KNOW!" After playing adventure times first game for the ds, i was excited when i heard about this release. But sadly only after an hour of play, i was very bored and turned the game off. You get to play as one of four main charters, as you explore under ground dungeons, as you hack and slash your way through lame enemies. The games graphics are like a 16 bit snes style, and the game resembles a gauntlet like style of game play. but way worse. its hard to upgrade your player. and does not have a great story, if any. I would pass on buying this game, its definitely not worth the buy. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    1
    Could have made such a good third person slasher with a great storyline and stuff with the proper budget, but it seems that this has been a really awful and dumb waste of license. Btw the name is dumber than the game itself
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    2
    As a huge fan of Adventure Time, I was excited there was a videogame and even more excited they had some additional characters for purchase (i.e. Peppermint Butler! yay!). My boyfriend and I sat down to play the co-op and quickly learned that after a few charming conversations between characters - this is the most formulaic game imaginable. Every level is the same; the controls are very clunky (ranged weapons can only deal damage if you are directly horizontal or directly vertical to an on-screen villain despite having full 360 degree movement). The characters aren't very customizable either, having the same few categories of gifts between them... each character has a special attack, but it becomes old news quick. There are a few charming bits of dialogue (I laughed at being addressed by villains as "hello one or more players!") but beyond that, it was a huge waste of money. I even bought it on Xbox's 50% deal and I still feel robbed. I don't even think my 8 and 6 year old will enjoy playing it. Frown. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has to be the worst game i have ever played. I am a big fan of the show, so when I heard that there was a AT game for X-Box 360 I was so excited. Then I played it. The game-play is repetitive and boring, all you do is run around a dungeon killing things. Do not by this game! Expand
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. 30
    This parasitic barnacle seeks only to corrode and cash in on joy. [Feb 2014, p.89]
  2. 45
    Ultra die-hard series addicts will find some reward in a handful of lively but short cutscenes, but overall this licensed title lacks the joy and entertainment of its source material.
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    60
    A mediocre experience made a little better with co-op play. Possibly a good weekend game with a friend or two, especially during a new game release lull often seen in December and January.