Alan Wake's American Nightmare Xbox 360

Alan Wake's American Nightmare Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After the events of Alan Wake, our eponymous hero finds himself embroiled in a new adventure in Arizona, where his own words again hold the key to defeating his evil twin, the malevolent Mr. Scratch, who spreads darkness where he goes. Now more experienced at dealing with the weird andAfter the events of Alan Wake, our eponymous hero finds himself embroiled in a new adventure in Arizona, where his own words again hold the key to defeating his evil twin, the malevolent Mr. Scratch, who spreads darkness where he goes. Now more experienced at dealing with the weird and horrific, Wake is determined to turn the tide. [Microsoft] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    95
    This is what I hope the future of downloadable games will be; top notch AAA production values in the form of small $12-$15 packages. Alan Wake's American Nightmare is an excellent game, which will surely whet the appetite of fans of the original for the sequel.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 13, 2012
    86
    Interesting and understandable plot, less running in a dark forest but more action. New Alan shows how XBLA games should be done. [Feb 2012]
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    83
    Fans of Alan Wake and the paranormal should immediately add American Nightmare to their download queue.
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    A bite-size chunk of great downloadable action and horror.
  5. Mar 1, 2012
    75
    Alan Wake's American Nightmare provides us with a new story and an arcade mode. It is the arcade mode that stands out and makes us want to play the game over and over. It is however to bad there isn't a multiplayer included. The story is short and it repeats itself but remains worthwhile. American Nightmare is quite enjoyable, but we'd rather play a proper sequel.
  6. Mar 1, 2012
    70
    This is a game for the fans, featuring an appreciative amount of exposition even if it's fairly inconsequential in the grand scheme of things.
  7. Feb 23, 2012
    50
    A downloadable spin-off that, while reasonably good value for money, manages only to underline how shallow and repetitive the combat was from the first game.

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    A great direction for the franchise, although I do I hope that we get to see Bright Falls again! The story was amazing and I was veryA great direction for the franchise, although I do I hope that we get to see Bright Falls again! The story was amazing and I was very satisfied with the ending. Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    After, playing the campaign I can honestly say BUY IT. The story gives Alan Wake fans the high they been looking for, but also offer a veryAfter, playing the campaign I can honestly say BUY IT. The story gives Alan Wake fans the high they been looking for, but also offer a very high tense, fast pace horde mode that really gets you at the edge of your seat. All I can say is get it......... Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Well, it makes a lot of fun and the Horde Mode as well as the Story is pretty cool. Especially the weapons are much more better than in AlanWell, it makes a lot of fun and the Horde Mode as well as the Story is pretty cool. Especially the weapons are much more better than in Alan Wake and the atmosphere is just amazing; as it used to be in an Alan Wake title. Makes much fun, looks fantastic, feels awesome and a 100% recommendation. Fair Price!

    If you like Alan Wake you will love the Nightmare!
    Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    The Remedy is right to say that Alan Wake's American Nightmare is not the sequel to the first game of the franchise. After all, much more thanThe Remedy is right to say that Alan Wake's American Nightmare is not the sequel to the first game of the franchise. After all, much more than a new scenario, the game offers a style of play fairly different from the original experience. Fans should not be afraid of changes, because American Nightmare offers a plot of quality in the midst of action sequences and an exquisite ambiance. Something that not all titles for download are able to offer. All this, along with loyalist graphics and Arcade mode experience, makes American Nightmare one of the main titles of LIVE Arcade. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    A top notch game. Although I would of loved a REAL sequel, this is still a worthy of your money and time. The story is more of the same, aA top notch game. Although I would of loved a REAL sequel, this is still a worthy of your money and time. The story is more of the same, a nice side story which expands on what you originally learn in the original game. Combat in this is absolutely fantastic. I've always loved the original feel of the combat, and it's still there in this game. Using the light to your advantage, lots of tension and action fueled combat is always entertaining and moreish. It's satisfying using a vast array of guns and equipment like flares to your advantage. Collectables aren't varied, but there's a lot of them and they're scattered to force you to explore the game, which is only a good thing. Atmosphere in this game is brilliant, sucking you in to a dark and slightly eery place. Voicing acting is slightly disappointing. Although the main character was well acted, the rest feel rushed and poorly executed. All together, a worthy experience for most gamers. Expand
  6. May 22, 2012
    8
    I liked the actions and gameplay elements .. i don't liked the plot of it .. but its nice to play ... It doesn't have to do anything with AlanI liked the actions and gameplay elements .. i don't liked the plot of it .. but its nice to play ... It doesn't have to do anything with Alan wake .... its just like an add-on .. but gameplay is yet entertaining .. 8/10 from my side Expand
  7. May 24, 2012
    2
    Nothing of value was experienced, the first game was cheapened, and generally this was one of the most tasteless and vapid games I have everNothing of value was experienced, the first game was cheapened, and generally this was one of the most tasteless and vapid games I have ever played. It was like eating a bread sandwich. The gameplay mechanics offer no challenge, the story goes nowhere, there are no characters to speak of, the delivery is nonsense and it feels nothing like the original. The main villain is like Jason Vaughees if he was played by Eddie Murphy.


    If you enjoyed the original, avoid this game. It is a complete betrayal and even taken on its own principles the story is terribly executed, the design is lazy and the combat is somehow even more boring the original. At least there you felt threatened. It also makes you play through the same three levels three times before you can finish the game. You thought Bioware took the piss recycling the same map over and over again? Try recycling your entire GAME. I award you a great, big, round fail, and may the deity of your choice offer pity, for I have none. Remedy, you have been moved off my 'must buy' list, and into the 'avoid unless world sequels with delight at passing' list. I made it just for you.
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews