Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alien Spidy is a challenging platform adventure game set in a visually stunning 2D/3D environment.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    72
    The extraterrestrial arachnid follows the tradition of easy to pick up, but difficult to master games like Angry Birds or The Splatters. With more accurate controls it would even be able to give them a serious run for their money.
  2. 65
    Tight controls are a must for such a platformer and from my perspective the controls in Alien Spidy are not as tight as they should be. Sure there are some addictive elements and I did enjoy the games vibrant visuals; however, I just expected a much more refined experience.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    65
    Alien Spidy is a great premise for a game but the extreme difficulty, inaccurate controls, and ridiculous level advancement requirements really hinder what could have been a great game.
  4. May 9, 2013
    55
    It's certainly not worth losing weeks to. [June 2013, p.75]
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    50
    Alien Spidy tries to present the player with a platformer that's both fun and challenging. There is absolutely no balance to be found between those two elements, however. The result is an unforgiving title that hardly ever becomes even slightly addictive.
  6. 50
    Decent idea, but far too fussy to be fun. [May 2013, p.85]
  7. Mar 20, 2013
    40
    Alien Spidy's environmental aesthetic, cute characters, and charming music are alluring, but beneath those features is an unbalanced platforming adventure that can drive you mad. The controls are unreliable, and the difficulty spikes are incredibly harsh--especially when mixed the the game's environments, which can often become muddled as you try to discern interactive object with pretty set piece.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    I think american videogame critics have become wimps when the play true games... It is not surprising the same press is responsible for crucifying a game in fact is not a sissy walk...

    http://tinyurl.com/cbhajxz
    Collapse
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    4
    great premise, levels are difficult but not overly so, lots of fun to shoot webs and swing. what truly kills this game is the controls, AlienSpidy feels floaty and slippery, and in a game like this that needs tight responsive controls this game falls short. if the controls were fixed i would change my score to a 7 and buy the game. Expand