User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdrianV.
    Jan 4, 2007
    5
    I agree with Magnus G. Amped 1 & 2 were so much better! Why did they have to go and mess it all up by ruining the presentation and dumbing down the gameplay to appease the casual mainstream SSX crowd? By trying to please everybody with its attempt at a balance between arcade and realism it just ends up pleasing nobody by being too easy and unrealistic! Now where am I supposed to get my I agree with Magnus G. Amped 1 & 2 were so much better! Why did they have to go and mess it all up by ruining the presentation and dumbing down the gameplay to appease the casual mainstream SSX crowd? By trying to please everybody with its attempt at a balance between arcade and realism it just ends up pleasing nobody by being too easy and unrealistic! Now where am I supposed to get my simulation fix of snowboarding? Ahhh I guess I'll have to go back to playing Amped 2. I'm hoping now that Indie Built have gone bust that Ubisoft are going to come through with Shaun White Snowboarding. Expand
  2. AdultGamer
    Dec 19, 2005
    2
    Amped 3 was naff when it was released on the xbox but now its £20 more exspencive and still naff.
  3. MaxJ.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    this game is so awsome it is well designed and keeps you entertained for hours. I really wish they had it for X Box.
  4. MagnusG.
    Apr 5, 2006
    5
    I was really really disappointed by this game because I really love the first two amped games. They just completely ruined the laid back snowboardfeeling that the other games had. In Amped 2 , if you wanted to do a certain jib trick, you would just pop of the kicker press the rail button.. tweak the trick to satisfaction and easily just tweak a 180 off. With Amped 3, this simply I was really really disappointed by this game because I really love the first two amped games. They just completely ruined the laid back snowboardfeeling that the other games had. In Amped 2 , if you wanted to do a certain jib trick, you would just pop of the kicker press the rail button.. tweak the trick to satisfaction and easily just tweak a 180 off. With Amped 3, this simply isn't possible. Instead when you try to do a smooth move, you'll end up making a overrotaded spin, land sketchy on the rail, see the game suck the board onto the rail and then finally press x,x,y to do a super nosepress tweak. I just think the depth in the control is completely gone. As far as the story and all those wacky, "extreme-ish" things. They feel just wrong. You can't make a game which story is purely based on some estethic collage. If you would separate the game from it's predecessors, it would be quite a okay game. But if you compare it with the first two games, it's purely something wrapped in a colorful box. The music and sounds are solid as always but that dont make up for the double backflip method's that are done in the bunny suit. I just think that they should re-release amped 2 on xbox 360, with all the levels of amped 1, 2 .. and make a real snowboarding game, for the snowboarders. Peace ut! Expand
  5. SweetDeal
    Nov 30, 2005
    9
    This game is pretty darn sweet. I was almost scared off by the poor reviews, but I have been pleasantly surprised by this game. I am a fan of the amped series and this game builds on the franchise, fixing many of the problems with the previous 2 games and without detracting any of the fun or playability.
  6. Pmyz
    Jan 14, 2006
    9
    As Jason K says, it's so *serene* - which for me captures what it's actually like on the slopes. I sometimes wonder if the people who slag off Amped's laid back gameplay have ever actually been on a snowboard. I don't want power-ups or nitro boosts or whatever, just realistic mountains and good design. Amped 3 has all that and much more.
  7. ACE5
    Dec 10, 2006
    9
    I hated the first two amped games, because the controls were stupid and the presentation wasn't that exciting. But Amped 3 changed all of that, which is why I liked this game. Q. Why is there a review for this game from a computer games magazine... We know they are all jaded towards console games, and think the greatest thing to play games on is a PC. Which in my opinion is not true I hated the first two amped games, because the controls were stupid and the presentation wasn't that exciting. But Amped 3 changed all of that, which is why I liked this game. Q. Why is there a review for this game from a computer games magazine... We know they are all jaded towards console games, and think the greatest thing to play games on is a PC. Which in my opinion is not true cause it makes my hands hurt. Not to mention all the extra time and money you have to invest just to play a game on a PC. Collapse
  8. [Anonymous]
    Feb 22, 2006
    9
    fun game with a lot of whacky stuff going on.
  9. MattW.
    Aug 31, 2007
    8
    Satirical, nonsensical storyline and very fun game play, have played through twice, enjoyed it immensely both times.
  10. JasonK.
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Ok, this is an awesome game. The snowboarding is fantastic, no other franchise makes you feel *serene* while you play. The mini games are fun, the cutscenes are genuine and occasionally hilarious. Watch closely, you'll see a million jokes that you didn't catch the first time through. As for beating SSX? Amped, while still a fantasy, has always been more realistic than SSX. If Ok, this is an awesome game. The snowboarding is fantastic, no other franchise makes you feel *serene* while you play. The mini games are fun, the cutscenes are genuine and occasionally hilarious. Watch closely, you'll see a million jokes that you didn't catch the first time through. As for beating SSX? Amped, while still a fantasy, has always been more realistic than SSX. If you were looking for SSX 360, you were looking in the wrong place. Compared to the miserable, calculated, 'tude of THAW, Amped is three feet of powdery joy. Expand
  11. OwabajayM.
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    Sweet game but somwhat boring after 3 hours and challenges start getting progressuvly harder ... a great game for all ages.
  12. AndresM.
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    this game is great! some people complain about the new art style, but i think it adds more flavour to the experence, id adds a soul to the game, unlike amped 2.
  13. TheTruth
    Nov 18, 2005
    2
    I was exspecting a SSX beater and all i got was a egg beater
  14. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    this game got me. I did not played any games like this neither did i wanted to, but just for a try I got it and thats where the love began. The story cutscenes are original, incredibly funny and stylish from head to toe. The controls are pretty good, the graphics is just awesome for a 2005 sport title and everything in this game is just fun! If you dont play sport titles , let this be anthis game got me. I did not played any games like this neither did i wanted to, but just for a try I got it and thats where the love began. The story cutscenes are original, incredibly funny and stylish from head to toe. The controls are pretty good, the graphics is just awesome for a 2005 sport title and everything in this game is just fun! If you dont play sport titles , let this be an exception. The rap song in one of the first mission will give you a good idea how fun this game is! Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. 70
    Underneath the show there's still a snowboarding game that's fun to hang out with, but only in doses.
  2. 70
    For me, the biggest shortcoming of Amped 3 was the lack of any decent multiplayer gameplay. There's nothing happening with Xbox Live -- save for some cool, but basic score tracking -- and the offline multiplayer is limited to the rather disappointing co-op two-player sledding events.
  3. The wholly original cut-and-paste visual style of Amped 3--combined with the manic, increasingly crazy energy of the story mode--make it easier to forgive the oft-repetitive and occasionally plain gameplay.