User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 114
  2. Negative: 16 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Anonymousreader
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    I think this game rocks and BTW @ the other "anonymous" poster who rates this game a 4. With at least 2 references to "I heard" what makes you qualified to give such a score? so you played the demo and didn't like it that much, fine but you cannot give a bad score based on something you haven't even played more than the tutorial. Thats like looking at a car on a lot and just I think this game rocks and BTW @ the other "anonymous" poster who rates this game a 4. With at least 2 references to "I heard" what makes you qualified to give such a score? so you played the demo and didn't like it that much, fine but you cannot give a bad score based on something you haven't even played more than the tutorial. Thats like looking at a car on a lot and just sitting in the seat and saying it drove like crap..Yet another instance of the inexperienced professional in their basement waiting for mom to cook their supper. Expand
  2. FoolsGold
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    A truly terrific game. If you love high energy action, this is the game for you - a great disaster setting, fresh lead characters and great combat make this a better game than Gears in a lot of ways. I also liked the fact that the moral decisions you make in the game don't have a clear good or bad outcome - really makes a difference, especially if you're playing with another A truly terrific game. If you love high energy action, this is the game for you - a great disaster setting, fresh lead characters and great combat make this a better game than Gears in a lot of ways. I also liked the fact that the moral decisions you make in the game don't have a clear good or bad outcome - really makes a difference, especially if you're playing with another human being and not the AI. Expand
  3. DenisG
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    This game is great...Play alone and play with a friend...great improvement over the first! A must buy for gamers with friends ;)
  4. JesusD
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Army of two is a really good game. I got it a few days ago and have beat it about 4 times. The story line is a bit on the weird side, bit a great game overall. Its a blast to play with a friend or sibling,and I like the custom masks and the different difficulty settings for each character, letting newbies play with professionals. Controls were pretty confusing, but I got used to them.
  5. Cromie
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Great game the two player is awsome if you get the game with some one. The story is great and changing your mask is funny. The only downside is you have to play with some one which can be annoying
  6. BillyD
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    This is a excellent game, the graphic are very good the custonmization of weapons is fantastic.
  7. Travis
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    Truly a treat cover-to-cover shooter. I feel very strongly that many critics like gamepro and gamespy are massively underating this game. The graphics are amazing as you watch building and planes crash to the ground around you. The gunplay is fluid and satifying. To make it better the weapon customization is one of the best I've ever seen in a game. Overall this game is incredbly Truly a treat cover-to-cover shooter. I feel very strongly that many critics like gamepro and gamespy are massively underating this game. The graphics are amazing as you watch building and planes crash to the ground around you. The gunplay is fluid and satifying. To make it better the weapon customization is one of the best I've ever seen in a game. Overall this game is incredbly fun, addicting and in my opinion not getting the credit it deserves from some critics. Collapse
  8. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Kyle is a fatretawd, now that thats outta da way you kill Rios dies and shanhai or however you spell in gets blown up and the main guys kyle obeace sinister 9 citrus of hell diarioa poopie dom dumn
  9. May 4, 2011
    10
    This game is so much underrated, its sadning. Army of Two: The 40th Day is my favorite shooter and one of my favorite game ever. I really loved the first game, put this second installment is a great improvement Army of Two. The disaster setting is great and the gameplay is just fantastic and thrilling, and it controls very well. The characters are interesting, fleshy, and funny at times. IThis game is so much underrated, its sadning. Army of Two: The 40th Day is my favorite shooter and one of my favorite game ever. I really loved the first game, put this second installment is a great improvement Army of Two. The disaster setting is great and the gameplay is just fantastic and thrilling, and it controls very well. The characters are interesting, fleshy, and funny at times. I kinda miss the first game's humour. Playing this game alone is amazing, put playing with a friend is a real blast, the best fun I had playing a videogame! Expand
  10. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    excellent game here, very very good campaign that is even better to play through in coop. i actually preffered the campaign to gears 3's. Theres lots of neat game-play ideas that really work, i don't really have any complaints regarding the sp, i must have played it right through 4 or 5 times. If you like games like gears of war, you will no doubt love this. I played through this firstexcellent game here, very very good campaign that is even better to play through in coop. i actually preffered the campaign to gears 3's. Theres lots of neat game-play ideas that really work, i don't really have any complaints regarding the sp, i must have played it right through 4 or 5 times. If you like games like gears of war, you will no doubt love this. I played through this first then i played through the original game and i thought this was miles better, tho some disagree. I thought the multiplayer was very decent too, apart from that i didnt stick it out and continue playing it for as long as i have done with other games like gears or cod. brilliant effort and i hope they do a sequel. Expand
  11. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    i think it is good i like how it is in the 1st person view also i like how u can add attachment to your weapons i really do not like how it is on co-op. i wish that on co-op that u and your friends/friend can face each other one be on the enemies side and one be on the good side
  12. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A supremely good game that has the ability to be a game without selling itself out with being overloaded with faults or quizzical motives. Though as a person who loves both guns and customization, I found myself in the menus more then I was in a game, simply because the customization is fun to mess around with. Me and my friend were able to have fun with this and enjoy quality time together.
  13. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    this is the first AOT i played don't know whether its preceedors were better or not but this is one hell fo an action powerpacked game with intense moments, tension building up. playing alone is really pain in the ass as everyone focuses on you!! best to be played in co-op mode this is how a shooter game should be. another awesome part of this game story angles can be chosen everythis is the first AOT i played don't know whether its preceedors were better or not but this is one hell fo an action powerpacked game with intense moments, tension building up. playing alone is really pain in the ass as everyone focuses on you!! best to be played in co-op mode this is how a shooter game should be. another awesome part of this game story angles can be chosen every decision takes you to a different direction and weapon customization and the increase in opponent weaponry damage as the story progresses adds a challenging theme during gameplay Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Army of Two: The 40th Day has taken past criticism on the chin. Salem and Rios have evolved from disagreeable meatheads into entertaining anti-heroes while the setting is now much more befitting to the gameplay. If you're looking for an intense but concentrated gaming experience, we think the masked mercs deliver. [Jan 2010, p.68]
  2. 85
    A disaster movie in a game package, Army of Two: The 40th Day capitalizes on its co-op play to deliver an awesome action experience that's incredibly fun to play. Co-op moments feel more natural.
  3. The interaction between the two main characters extends beyond the trivial buddy moves from the first game and becomes an integral part of the journey. Marry that to some satisfyingly chunky gunplay and the odd spectacular, building-levelling explosion and you have an action game that is far more fun than it has any right to be.