Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When a disaster of epic proportions strikes Shanghai, China, Rios and Salem find themselves right in the middle of it all - the wrong place, the wrong time, but the right team. A carefully orchestrated series of mysterious catastrophes is dragging Shanghai to the brink of ruin, and now the Army of Two must fight their way through ravaged city districts as they try to beat the odds and uncover the secret of the 40th Day. ARMY OF TWO: THE 40th DAY features a bigger playbook of new co-op moves that either player can use at any time, opening up new strategies and countless choices for both players. The result is a bigger, better, more organic and immersive co-op experience that lets gamers put their best two-man tactics to use whenever and wherever they want. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. The feature-rich, action-packed gameplay—co-op and solo—is a blast, but it’s the explosive presentation, that literally sees Shanghai falling to flaming pieces all around you, that steals the show and will have you watching your—and your buddy’s—back.
  2. Army of Two: The 40th Day has taken past criticism on the chin. Salem and Rios have evolved from disagreeable meatheads into entertaining anti-heroes while the setting is now much more befitting to the gameplay. If you're looking for an intense but concentrated gaming experience, we think the masked mercs deliver. [Jan 2010, p.68]
  3. While we can't ding EA for extra content, we wish that content had come in the form of more co-op! [Feb 2010, p.80]
  4. If you have anyone to play it with, either online or at home then Army of Two: The 40th Day is a great purchase but if you only play single player you won't get the most out of it.
  5. The real saving grace though for The 40th day is the multiplayer options.
  6. Army of Two: The 40th Day has improved, although it feels a little rushed as a number of glitches become unavoidable. The design also feels a little lazy with little all around variation.
  7. Army of Two: The 40th Day is a big disappointment in so many ways. The first game had it's flaws, but was a good game for it's time. These days we expect more from a game, and this just doesn't cut it. An all to short campaign still feels repetitive, an multi player-component that lacks a distinctive feel. But worst of all is the controls, which will give you headache for a very long time. A swing and a miss, EA Montreal.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. May 4, 2011
    10
    This game is so much underrated, its sadning. Army of Two: The 40th Day is my favorite shooter and one of my favorite game ever. I really loved the first game, put this second installment is a great improvement Army of Two. The disaster setting is great and the gameplay is just fantastic and thrilling, and it controls very well. The characters are interesting, fleshy, and funny at times. I kinda miss the first game's humour. Playing this game alone is amazing, put playing with a friend is a real blast, the best fun I had playing a videogame! Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    i think it is good i like how it is in the 1st person view also i like how u can add attachment to your weapons i really do not like how it is on co-op. i wish that on co-op that u and your friends/friend can face each other one be on the enemies side and one be on the good side Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A supremely good game that has the ability to be a game without selling itself out with being overloaded with faults or quizzical motives. Though as a person who loves both guns and customization, I found myself in the menus more then I was in a game, simply because the customization is fun to mess around with. Me and my friend were able to have fun with this and enjoy quality time together. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    excellent game here, very very good campaign that is even better to play through in coop. i actually preffered the campaign to gears 3's. Theres lots of neat game-play ideas that really work, i don't really have any complaints regarding the sp, i must have played it right through 4 or 5 times. If you like games like gears of war, you will no doubt love this. I played through this first then i played through the original game and i thought this was miles better, tho some disagree. I thought the multiplayer was very decent too, apart from that i didnt stick it out and continue playing it for as long as i have done with other games like gears or cod. brilliant effort and i hope they do a sequel. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2010
    7
    Army of two : TFD is a very very fun game. The graffics are smooth and the co-op capability is immense. The custimization of the guns is insane and generally the game as a whole is worth a buy. thier isn't really a game were the review has been so short but their you go! Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    It was good, but it was also disappointing. The customization was a bit pointless and your choices had the impact of a rats ass. If you like Army of Two, you'll like it, but I can't recommend it. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2011
    3
    If you played the first AOT, you will most likely HATE this version! It truly seems as if this one should have been the first one. It plays more like an arcade whereas the first one was more true to life. The enemies are all darkly clothed and most of the backgrounds in this game are dark, so, you have a hard time even seeing what you should be shooting at. The graphics are so much less realistic, at least in single player mode (I haven't done multiplayer yet). Then, there are the endless staircases... why have you waste time on traversing staircases if nothing surprising ever happens? Plus, you can't skip the storyline cutaways... a complaint I have about the first one, too. Very disappointed in this game. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews