Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Army of Two The Devil’s Cartel is third-person co-op action-shooter that utilizes the new Frostbite 2 engine for maximum destruction. You and your partner have to shoot and destroy everything in your path to bring down a violent drug cartel that’s taken control of Mexico. In partner-basedArmy of Two The Devil’s Cartel is third-person co-op action-shooter that utilizes the new Frostbite 2 engine for maximum destruction. You and your partner have to shoot and destroy everything in your path to bring down a violent drug cartel that’s taken control of Mexico. In partner-based missions, each player has to take on and meet individual objectives to achieve a common goal. The more effective your teamwork, the greater your reward as the new Overkill mode thrusts devastating power upon you for truly grandiose mass destruction. Play in 2-player local split-screen or online co-op. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 55
  2. Negative: 11 out of 55
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    84
    The Devil's Cartel, developed by Visceral Games, offers a frenetic, arcade style coop experience. The inclusion of the Frostbite 2 engine takes the destruction to a whole new level, especially when combined with the use of Overkill, an ability that will make you an unstoppable killing machine.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    68
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is a simple shooter that's made to play with a friend. You'll compose your own weapons, converse about tactics and do this for eight hours or so until you've finished the campaign. It's a wonderful co-op game that falls short, mostly due to the annoying variation between dumb action and emotional moments. The lack of polish and modes make this a game that is truly only fit for those who only play co-op games.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    62
    Army of Two is still pure action 100%, without any sort of character depth but full of intensity and destruction.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    50
    There's nothing here to make a mark: no creativity on display, no clever competitive modes, no sense of accomplishment. There's only a seven-hour campaign, optional missions in which you try to keep the overkill meter consistently replenished, and the knowledge that in a month, you won't remember having played Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel.
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    All in all, Devil's Cartel just differs too much from the winning formula for those fans of the first two games, and for the newcomers, there are better co-operative games on the market for your dollar.
  6. 50
    It's short, not particularly easy on the eyes and loses elements you'd expect from a new Army of Two game. There being only a meager handful of 'Contracts' missions to keep you busy after you beat the campaign, speaks volumes about the expectations EA had for this going in. It was always going to be a dumb, dirty – and ultimately one-off – weekend affair. As such, The Devil's Cartel is just about passable.
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    30
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an underwhelming third-person shooter that is a clearly a half-hearted cash-grab by Electronic Arts. If you're looking for a game in this genre, I suggest you turn to Gears of War or any number other titles of this ilk. Seriously, this game isn't worth your time. It isn't broken, it just isn't good either.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 57
  2. Negative: 8 out of 57
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an amazing edition to the series. The graphics are gorgeous on the Frostbite 2 engine from the developersArmy of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an amazing edition to the series. The graphics are gorgeous on the Frostbite 2 engine from the developers of Battlefield 3. The overkill mode you get from performing co-op maneuvers adds a great edition to fights and helps you eliminate tougher enemies like nothing so save up overkill for when you really need it. This game is by far the best in the series and probablly the best shooter of this year. Amazing 10/10 Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Nothing wrong except occasional sound glitches. Really enjoy the destructible environment, the allowed dismemberment ofAbsolutely amazing. Nothing wrong except occasional sound glitches. Really enjoy the destructible environment, the allowed dismemberment of people. All around a amazing game. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    The best AoT yet! This is a true co-op game. Don't bother playing if you don't have a co-op buddy. The game wont be the same. The use ofThe best AoT yet! This is a true co-op game. Don't bother playing if you don't have a co-op buddy. The game wont be the same. The use of Frostbite 2 takes the series to another level. It's the best looking AoT by far. Weapons customization is great and so is the mask editor. The voice over work is marvellous too. The only weak aspect is the story, but who cares when you are shooting up! Recommended. Expand
  4. May 5, 2013
    8
    I've seen a lot of reviewers on Youtube who gave this game 6-7. But i have played the game with a friend and it's amazing, the co-op is greatI've seen a lot of reviewers on Youtube who gave this game 6-7. But i have played the game with a friend and it's amazing, the co-op is great (like always), the masks and gear customizations are great, but i feel like it needed more weapon customization, im not saying it's bad but it needs more. The story is not that good, Alpha and Bravo are great in my opinion and they make pretty funny jokes. Army of Two The Devil's Cartel is amazing and it's a most buy game That's why i gave it an 8 Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    On the surface, Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel may appear to be an inferior facsimile of the previous two games. Alpha and bravo have genericOn the surface, Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel may appear to be an inferior facsimile of the previous two games. Alpha and bravo have generic names, and their personalities are blunt. But the potential for co-op fun is immediately recognised. Most of its merit is afforded to by the Frostbite engine, rendering great destructive environments and dynamic lighting. You may be shooting for eight or so hours, with a few weird AI bugs, but The Devil's Cartel is a great co-op shooter for a perfect weekend of blasting with a pal. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    Story: 3; Who doesn't even bother to name their main characters?! Alpha & Bravo, when EVERYONE else in the game gets a name, even theStory: 3; Who doesn't even bother to name their main characters?! Alpha & Bravo, when EVERYONE else in the game gets a name, even the throwaway NPCs that die after 1 mission. Everything else about the story is hackneyed and tired.
    Graphics (with install): 8;
    Looks great, requires 1.5GB HD space for the pretty.
    Gameplay: 7;
    Does nothing new from the previous games and takes away some of my favorite bits. No Back-To-Back, no Aggro Meter, and the Overkill mechanic isn't well executed or explained.

    TL;DR, play it for the co-op shooter fun, but don't expect a lot.
    Collapse
  7. May 5, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I got completely disappointed in this game. They killed the whole relationship between Rios and Salem. Maybe the game developers thought they gave a nice twist in the story, but it was the stupidest thing ever. And it did lose its soul despite what other people say.
    Video games are not just about killing the enemies. OK, we like action, guns, good graphics, but there should be a story behind. And Army of Two had one. The first two games were great. But the third one ruined the franchise. I played only once, and I did it just to get to the end and be able to speak about something I really experienced. Thank God I didn't buy it, just rented it.
    I wish the developers could do something about the disaster they created and fix everything. I'd be great if we could have a real Army of Two 3.
    Expand

See all 57 User Reviews