User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 237
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisAronchick
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    Terrific overall game-play.

    The campaign mode was very enjoyable, with both good game-play and great storytelling. I did find some similarity to the Gears of War game-play in terms of teamwork, but you are given the ability to control your partner in much more specific ways. The aggro function is pretty cool, and the way you and your partner interact in that regard provides a unique
    Terrific overall game-play.

    The campaign mode was very enjoyable, with both good game-play and great storytelling. I did find some similarity to the Gears of War game-play in terms of teamwork, but you are given the ability to control your partner in much more specific ways. The aggro function is pretty cool, and the way you and your partner interact in that regard provides a unique challenge.

    The AI was a little too basic at times, as occasionally I would be firing at an enemy and another enemy would run from behind me and just keep running until it was in front of me. Overall, though, the AI provided a good challenge.

    The achievements were very rewarding as well, and I think it might be the best collection of achievements since Halo 3.

    I have not had the opportunity to try the online game-play, but overall, it exceeded my expectations.
    Expand
  2. joe
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!!! If you have a 360 go go right now, i dont care what your doing, go out find a friend and buy it as quickly as possible! This is the most amazing coop game i have ever played! It has but a few flaws but when you have a goddamed gold RPG it stops mattering. :D
  3. JoseS.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Great game, detail is amazing, hope more mp maps coming soon. I recommend it to everyone who likes co-op!
  4. AlexR.
    Mar 4, 2008
    9
    Excellent coop shooter. Although people are complaining, I found the AI quite good in the single person mode. Well done. Story as excellent part and some cheap one also. Worth every penny.
  5. KimV.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Despite some flaws here and there, Army of Two manages to get one of the best coop experiences across ever created. Definitely worth a purchase!
  6. Kyle
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Definitely a game for coop... however a very fun game nonetheless.
  7. MatthewL.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    This is what Gears of War could have been. The UI is handy and anything but cumbersome (paying attention Mr Cliffy B?) Graphically, AOT shines is some place (character models) and falls away in others (explosions, enemy detailing). Audio might be another strong point for some, with spot-on voice-acting and great production values. Combine this with an inventive, clever take on multiplayer This is what Gears of War could have been. The UI is handy and anything but cumbersome (paying attention Mr Cliffy B?) Graphically, AOT shines is some place (character models) and falls away in others (explosions, enemy detailing). Audio might be another strong point for some, with spot-on voice-acting and great production values. Combine this with an inventive, clever take on multiplayer and this title is anything but a mediocre shooter in an overcrowded market. EA should be commended for adding the obvious layers of gloss durnig this game's production and release delay. Expand
  8. Ron
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    Excellent Graphics, and it is fun on single player. If Online is as good as SP, I would give it a 9!
  9. BDub
    Mar 6, 2008
    8
    The game has to bear comparison to Gears of War. It is basically a GoW with more realistic human characters and human enemies. It is slightly harder to learn because of the teamwork moves. The game doesn't feel very innovative or new, but it is good fun. I've only played co-op so i've only really experienced the best aspect of the game.
  10. AdamR.
    Mar 6, 2008
    9
    The game is simply fantastic, fun to play off and online, great for single and co-op (if you can with stand the occasional mental instability of your brother in arms). It's like Chaos Theory's Co-op play for the Gung-Ho/LEEROY JENKINS types, as well as the more strategic kind. Definitely worth every penny.
  11. RodneyD.
    Mar 6, 2008
    8
    Great graphics, great sound, cool weapons customization and a great new idea with the Aggrometer. All the pieces work great and I imagine will be even better in co-op with another live player. Intuitive controls and lots of fun to play.
  12. ReggieC.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    this game is amazing!!!!! I haven't stopped playing it since I bought it! IT's so cool, and I love the coop gameplay!! I can't wait for some DLC weapons and stuff for it!
  13. MattI.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    Wow thats it just wow...if you like co-op play this.
  14. AntH.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game, the aggro system is awesome.
  15. KieranE.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    What a game. Superb cover system . Graphics are out of this world and the sound is top notch. Multiplayer and co op is superb and adds something different . My only flaw would be the length of the game. It could have been a long longer.
  16. GrantH.
    Mar 8, 2008
    8
    I must say I've been a little astounded by the main critics opinion of this game. Their was a lot of hype and personally I didn't believe it would help, although the game was above my own expectations and i found it highly enjoyable. If your into any form of co-op and FPS this game will certainly not disappoint.
  17. KelanO.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    This game is an engaging single, co-op, and multiplayer experience. The game is extremely fun especially with a friend. The story is great as well. Could be a movie script. Graphics 10/10 hands down. It will also give you a pretty good challenge. The customization options are plentiful. Plus, the two characters just look so badass!
  18. ChrisB.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Graphics are amazing and the back to back feature is really awesome.
  19. SeniorS.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Anyone who dislikes this game should be shot end of story.
  20. FPSMaster
    Mar 8, 2008
    8
    Fun game for the most part. Great graphics, decent sounds, average controls. The A.I. is a little spotty but works better than the friendly A.I. in Gears. Co-op can be fun but the whole agrro thing goes out the window since you can't figure out who will do what and no one sticks to the plan anyway. Multiplayer sucks balls. It makes no sense and was toned down to PS2 graphics and Fun game for the most part. Great graphics, decent sounds, average controls. The A.I. is a little spotty but works better than the friendly A.I. in Gears. Co-op can be fun but the whole agrro thing goes out the window since you can't figure out who will do what and no one sticks to the plan anyway. Multiplayer sucks balls. It makes no sense and was toned down to PS2 graphics and disconnects constantly. Seems like a better game alone actually which goes against the entire point of the game existing. Rent since you can go through all 3 difficulties and unlock everything in about 3 days. Expand
  21. MarkW.
    Mar 9, 2008
    9
    Very enjoyable coop game. It does not deserve a score lower than 8.
  22. PhilipC.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Incredibly good coop game. The last I had this much fun playing coop was with Duke Nukem 3D.
  23. JitoM.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    This game is sick. I picked this game up on a fluke and me and my brother cant put it down. Theres nothing like shaking my brothers hand then punchin him the nuts in the middle of a firefight. My whole family got a kick out of that. Yes the game holds your hand a little (i'd like to pull off back to back on my own please) but its not nearly as bad as many critics make it out to be. This game is sick. I picked this game up on a fluke and me and my brother cant put it down. Theres nothing like shaking my brothers hand then punchin him the nuts in the middle of a firefight. My whole family got a kick out of that. Yes the game holds your hand a little (i'd like to pull off back to back on my own please) but its not nearly as bad as many critics make it out to be. Lots of Action, lots of jokes (ladies lift yo' shirts), lots of weapon customization. It may have some hiccups but this game is definitely worth a try. Expand
  24. TanN.
    Mar 12, 2008
    9
    This game is ot perfect, but the fun factor and the coop gameplay is awesome. If you liked gears of war style youll even prefer this one for sure. So if you like coop games this is an absolute must!!!
  25. WulfW.
    Mar 13, 2008
    8
    I have to say it did have alot of hype suppose to be this new tag buddy in combat....yeah it's funny doing the team jokes in battle but the controls were very empty...what I mean is if you played rb6 vegas, gears of war, graw 2 you know what i mean your able to put your team member were you want him to be...the back to back well thats just selected no control over that....I kept I have to say it did have alot of hype suppose to be this new tag buddy in combat....yeah it's funny doing the team jokes in battle but the controls were very empty...what I mean is if you played rb6 vegas, gears of war, graw 2 you know what i mean your able to put your team member were you want him to be...the back to back well thats just selected no control over that....I kept wanting to jump up on my own or hide and move around the cover if ea put a but more effort then probably would have scored higher....come on ppl its next gen consoles lets start making games the next level up and stop being lazy and being concerned about making money......the gamers are the critics if they dont like it then it wont sell but if they do you have one hot title eg call of duty 4.... Expand
  26. Nate
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    This game is excellent. Get a friend and go for split screen and its the most fun you can have with a shooter. Gears of War was great but for great co-op, you can't beat this!
  27. [Anonymous]
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    A very enjoyable game. Fast and furious with tons of replay value.
  28. IanS.
    Mar 14, 2008
    8
    Really great Coop title. Weapon modifications are good, levels have a fair difficulty, and lots of unique gameplay extras. If you like doing coop with a buddy then you'll like it.
  29. K.Norman
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    The single-player part of the game is hindered by your AI partner but when you play it with a friend the game really shines. This is one of the few games that after I finished it I was ready to start over and play through it again.
  30. BoatyM.
    Mar 17, 2008
    8
    Although its a fairly short game, I like how this game has taken shoot-ums with a new angle, where previously there was a huge focus on just single player modes with optional second player, this time its the other way around. I wouldn't try this game by myself again, I did it once and it was quite boring and the bot they pair you up with is fairly lame, making the game really hard. Although its a fairly short game, I like how this game has taken shoot-ums with a new angle, where previously there was a huge focus on just single player modes with optional second player, this time its the other way around. I wouldn't try this game by myself again, I did it once and it was quite boring and the bot they pair you up with is fairly lame, making the game really hard. The only issues I can think of are: 1) Co-op is only avail on one screen or online: No lan session possible with this game in story mode. Split screen sucks! 2)Took a friend of mine and I about 12 hours to finish. Felt it was quite short but done very well. Give it a go if you are a fan of the "gears of war" type shoot-ums. Expand
  31. DirtyCat79
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    This game is fantastic. People that dislike it are the people who are expecting a gears of war clone, but this game dares to try something new and succeeds. The co-op is campaign is quite simply beautiful. Its full of replay value since each person you play with will give a new experience and new weapon upgrades make lots of difference to how aggressively you approach the enemy. The This game is fantastic. People that dislike it are the people who are expecting a gears of war clone, but this game dares to try something new and succeeds. The co-op is campaign is quite simply beautiful. Its full of replay value since each person you play with will give a new experience and new weapon upgrades make lots of difference to how aggressively you approach the enemy. The graphics are beautiful and some of the levels are the best i have seen in a long time. There may only be six 'missions' but think of these as chapters, as each is broken into smaller segments and take quite a while to complete on harder settings. The versus mode online is something quite fresh and original. Its focus is still on two man team play which works REALLY well. Its much easier to get one other random player to work along side you than it is to get a whole team of xbox live strangers to co-operate and thats why the two vs two mode is a real gem. Each map has multiple objectives and many different approaches and this mode alone offers hours and hours of gameplay. I was very quickly hooked and encourage you to give it a go. Expand
  32. ElliotS.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    quick and dirty, but extremely fun--MADE for co-op play. wonderfully entertaining characters. basic plot enhanced by features of character, cash money, and pimping out guns.
  33. JD
    Mar 22, 2008
    9
    Fun! Controls are growing on me, but campaign is a little short.
  34. SeanD.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    This was a awesome game. It has many new features and does not lack any action. The only flaw was that it has an ending. All of my friends can't wait for a sequel.
  35. Will
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    I loved it...maybe cause it feels kinda like a "gears of war clone" (yes, it definitely does). This is by NO MEANS a bad thing, though: co-op is campaign good (better with friend than with AI) and weapon upgrades make things interesting. The graphics are good, sound is excellent (although I'd like the sniper rifles to be a bit more "resounding") and this game has got some of THE BEST I loved it...maybe cause it feels kinda like a "gears of war clone" (yes, it definitely does). This is by NO MEANS a bad thing, though: co-op is campaign good (better with friend than with AI) and weapon upgrades make things interesting. The graphics are good, sound is excellent (although I'd like the sniper rifles to be a bit more "resounding") and this game has got some of THE BEST video sequences I've see EVER (see video scene at start of final MAIMI campaign !!) Highly recommended. Expand
  36. DaveJ.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Loved it. Wasn't expecting to - infact I was all ready to hate it after seeing some of the rather negative reviews. But when my friend brought it round and we popped it in.. well I went out and bought my own copy the very next day! Good, solid action, great set pieces and level design, and buying/upgrading weapons is fab. The single player is definitely a tad too short, but I loved Loved it. Wasn't expecting to - infact I was all ready to hate it after seeing some of the rather negative reviews. But when my friend brought it round and we popped it in.. well I went out and bought my own copy the very next day! Good, solid action, great set pieces and level design, and buying/upgrading weapons is fab. The single player is definitely a tad too short, but I loved every second of it, and while it is a little derivative of GoW in some respects, the way it handles cover, and the concept of aggro are unique. I never thought I'd say this, being one of EA's biggest cynics, but man, I loved it. Expand
  37. DanF.
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    This is an excellent co-op game with an excellent storyline and graphics as well as tight customization. overall this is a shining example of good original fun.
  38. MW
    Apr 27, 2008
    8
    Great Game, great idea and great graphics! This is a great title and the single player does stand well on it's own (despite more focus on this aspect in the future). Easily recommended and a great new property to be excited about!
  39. ChrisW.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Best Damn Video game I played. it just passed up halo...can`t wait for the sequel. There going to be a sequel right!.
  40. BrentB.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    Its a cool game. I hope that 3rd person shooters are the way of the future. Like gears of war that was a good game to.
  41. RyanM.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    I played this game only in co-op mode, so I can't speak for the partner AI. However, with a human teammate this game is pretty fun. The aiming is horrible and the hit detection is weak, but those are the only real complaints I have. The cover system is pretty nice, as is the revive system, and the weapon upgrades are pretty cool. I played through it both on normal and professional, I played this game only in co-op mode, so I can't speak for the partner AI. However, with a human teammate this game is pretty fun. The aiming is horrible and the hit detection is weak, but those are the only real complaints I have. The cover system is pretty nice, as is the revive system, and the weapon upgrades are pretty cool. I played through it both on normal and professional, and I don't usually play through games more than once. Also, there are two free campaign missions released as DLC bringing the mission total to 8. I found this game to be of pretty good length for a shooter, maybe even a little long, but I tend to like my shooters a little shorter than most people (I thought Bioshock was too long). All in all, a solid, very fun game with a teammate. Butting heads and giving out kidney punches to your teammate never gets old and neither does giving high fives and air guitaring with them. Oh, and it's the best teabagging/humping game out there. A solid 8/10 strictly because of the co-op. Without that I'd probably rate it a 6/10 or so. Expand
  42. JohnP
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    Army of Two was a pretty fun game. The cooperative mode is something I have yet to see surpassed by anything outside of the Gears of War series and the multiplayer mode is addicting. My favorite part of the gun is the various guns and the add-ons you can buy for them, giving the replay value a few kicks up when wanting the powerful sniper rifle or the P-90. Single player can be rather Army of Two was a pretty fun game. The cooperative mode is something I have yet to see surpassed by anything outside of the Gears of War series and the multiplayer mode is addicting. My favorite part of the gun is the various guns and the add-ons you can buy for them, giving the replay value a few kicks up when wanting the powerful sniper rifle or the P-90. Single player can be rather tedious when you're injured or when trying to get your team mate to listen to your commands, but if you're good enough, you can easily compensate for your team's AI faults. Expand
  43. T.Daily
    Mar 7, 2008
    8
    Co-op play is fun. There are parts of it that need to be improved but this is a solid B+ game.
  44. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    The game's a really fun GoW knockoff. The graphics are nice and the gameplay awesome! But your A.I. teammate is just plain stupid. Certain points he just runs at the enemy guns blazing only to get gunned down by the bad guy holding a minigun and I have to save him over and over again, same thing with him. Good news: There's online co-op, so you don't need to worry about the idiot A.I. yourThe game's a really fun GoW knockoff. The graphics are nice and the gameplay awesome! But your A.I. teammate is just plain stupid. Certain points he just runs at the enemy guns blazing only to get gunned down by the bad guy holding a minigun and I have to save him over and over again, same thing with him. Good news: There's online co-op, so you don't need to worry about the idiot A.I. your partner is being controlled by. Expand
  45. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Its story might not present anything that revolutionary, but the incredibly entertaining "Army Of Two" still brings an immensely fun co-op experience and a pretty bold weapons system to the proverbial table.
  46. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    This was one of my earliest Xbox 360 games that I enjoyed in co-op and I thought was really fun to beat. Anyway I gave this game an 8,8 out of 10 it was good.
  47. Aug 1, 2016
    9
    I have really enjoyed this game . What I love about the Army of two series is that the AI parnter is very useful . He makes lots of kills and his ability of having unlimted ammo makes him a valueable asset when it comes to attracting aggro . This was a very nice game . I still play all entries when I let my xbox one rest
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 76
  2. Negative: 3 out of 76
  1. AceGamez
    70
    It has plenty of redeeming and rewarding features to offset its linear limitations, but it was designed to be played with a friend, so approach with caution if you don't have Xbox Live or a friend to partner up with.
  2. Calling Army of Two a poor mans Gears of War may be unfair, but the comparison is a reality as the game falls short on so many levels.
  3. Army of Two’s solo mission doesn’t match the firepower of its two-person co-op play, either in the offline game or online. But it does have plenty enough gun-filled action to satiate any violence-fans fill, and if the online gameplay is functionally free of lag or connectivity issues, Army of Two is one of the better recently released titles in regards to Xbox Live gaming.