Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    94
    Definitely the apex of the Assassin's Creed series thus far. The story does a great job of furthering both the historical plot as well as the overarching sci-fi elements of the story (Desmond has a much larger role here), and the game's new structure is refreshing for those who may have found the back-and-forth structure of last year's title to be a bit tedious.
  2. Nov 13, 2010
    93
    The moment you finish the game, you'll be chomping at the bit for the inevitable Assassin's Creed III. [Dec 2010, p.112]
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    What makes the multiplayer so much fun is the constant balance between being the hunter and the prey. Stalking enemies around the map is a lot of fun (even when I end up on the business end of a blade before I can make my kill), and patience has never been so important.
  4. Nov 16, 2010
    100
    A masterful combination of the many things that have striven to define the series in the past, each presented at its best and accentuated by considered design.
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    With a campaign worthy of sequel status and a multiplayer mode full of fresh, entertaining ideas, there isn't enough praise I can lay on AC: Brotherhood.
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    91
    The multiplayer aspects aren't that engaging for me -- there's just not enough to do to balance out the frustration of not being able to defend myself in a fight. However, I love how deep the team has managed to make the single-player portion of the game (again).
  7. Dec 29, 2010
    94
    Extraordinary in sheer scope, breadth and execution. [Jan 2011, p.72]
  8. Jan 1, 2011
    97
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood isn't as much a sequel as a completion to the second game, and while this is certainly the best game of the three so far, you probably don't want to jump into the story without having played at least the second game first.
  9. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    While its story falls short of the bar set by Assassin's Creed II, Brotherhood packs in more than enough new content and improvements to make up for it. It's not the best of the series, but it's still an essential piece of the ever-expanding AC puzzle.
  10. Nov 16, 2010
    91
    If you didn't like Assassin's Creed 2, Brotherhood will hardly convince you, but if you are one of the series followers, this game is a great sequel to the previous one. It polishes its mechanics and includes many things to do in the city, and it adds a very enjoyable multiplayer mode which brings some freshness to PS Network and Xbox Live.
  11. Nov 16, 2010
    100
    It amazes me that a game of this caliber – that is to say, a game that is ridiculously good in spite of its missteps – comes just one year after its predecessor. It improves a lot, adds even more, and changes nothing I already adored. It's a shorter game than Assassin's Creed 2, if that matters, but aside from the storyline it's better in almost every way.
  12. Dec 16, 2010
    95
    The game may have the odd technical flaw, but it still stands out as the best in the franchise so far. Oodles of fun with an epic campaign and slick multiplayer, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a serious contender for Game of the Year.
  13. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    Hitting the mark in just about every area, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a stunningly considered improvement on its predecessor. Essential for fans of the series, it's also an adventure of tremendous substance and beauty in its own right.
  14. Nov 16, 2010
    93
    Its new gameplay elements and other additions like the multiplayer modes makes this one the most complete Assassin's Creed thus far. Brotherhood is an amazing follow-up to the sequel and an amazing way to conclude Ezio Auditore's adventures.
  15. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    It's an exercise in perfecting what you've already got working; you're not going to find much in the way of completely new material, but this is a superior game to its predecessor and a solid bridge to the next entry in the series.
  16. Nov 16, 2010
    88
    Ezio's new adventure is an intermediate chapter the fans of the series will certainly like. Unfortunately, it offers a shorter single player campaign, and a fun yet not so deep multiplayer mode.
  17. Dec 13, 2010
    91
    With new gameplay mechanics, improved combat, exciting new online multiplayer options and a brand new storyline, Brotherhood is packed with an overwhelming amount of content!
  18. Nov 16, 2010
    95
    Against all odds, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood exists in 2010, and it not only lives up to the hype, but it manages to completely outclass its predecessor. Brotherhood is a game that Assassin's Creed fans simply cannot afford to miss, and one of best games this year.
  19. Nov 17, 2010
    91
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood has everything you loved and hated about AC2, but it has shined up the positives to a sheen I didn't expect. Toss in the fantastic multiplayer with its persistent experience and leveling system and you have a solid and worthy successor to an already great series.
  20. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    Brotherhood is another great chapter of the most thrilling series of this generation. The plot is mature and interesting, and even if some issues with the battle system are still there to bother, the beauty of the landscape and the amount of quests are impressive.
  21. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a great way to finish the storyline of Ezio Auditore. The game is a better version of Assassin's Creed 2, and offers a solid adventure with loads of missions and a great variety. The multiplayer needs some improvements and could become really addictive in Assassin's Creed 3, but as for now it looks just like a minor extra.
  22. Nov 22, 2010
    90
    Nobody could have predicted this. Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is fan service of the highest order, all the while breaking new ground with a terrific multiplayer experience.
  23. Nov 21, 2010
    90
    The game features a whole bunch of additions, of which the main innovation is the new multiplayer mode. This new game in the franchise is once again a top shelf production, but it's not for people who like quick action, because the use of stealth is always needed.
  24. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    The multiplayer component definitely has its moments, but serious players will be turned off by how random it can be. For the series to remain elite it will need to evolve, but for now, its unique premise and core gameplay are more than enough to make this brotherhood one worth joining.
  25. Jan 5, 2011
    100
    It's hard for me to find a bad thing to say about Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, it's just an amazing game. I remember thinking last year before we knew there was even going to be an AC: Brotherhood that it was going to be hard for Ubisoft to top AC2, but I am happy to say Brotherhood does in every single way. This is flat out a great game.
  26. Nov 16, 2010
    88
    The real game changer is the Multiplayer experience which brings a tense battle of paranoia to the forefront and rewards stealth over open-attacks. There are subtle techniques to be learned and to succeed you need to play smart.
  27. Dec 23, 2010
    90
    Not only the best Assassin's Creed yet, but one of the meatiest, most engaging games of this generation. [Issue#66, p.78]
  28. 90
    Back again in the assassin's role this time we got some help from "business associates". Story, atmosphere of Rome, historical aspects and combat system – everything fits the puzzle that makes new Assassin an excellent game. [Dec 2010]
  29. Nov 22, 2010
    95
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is one of this year's finest releases, and improves on everything we loved about the previous title, while adding plenty of its own excellent features.
  30. Nov 19, 2010
    90
    While the core mechanics of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood are largely familiar, the game still brings fresh ideas to the table with some inspired secondary missions and meta-games. It's in the multiplayer that Brotherhood really beats its wings though, presenting what's arguably the best competitive stealth experience anywhere in gaming.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 614 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 134
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    6
    I keep giving the AC series a shot, as there is much to appreciate, but based on my experience with these games and my own preferences, thisI keep giving the AC series a shot, as there is much to appreciate, but based on my experience with these games and my own preferences, this may be the last AC game I bother with. I seem to be in the minority, but I find these games rather dull and extremely repetitive, regardless of the pretty environments. This game in particular (as hinted at by the title) does not feel like a standalone game, it feels like more of the same of the last installment, sort of a glorified expansion pack. For people who love the series I guess this is more than enough, for me it is more of the same and a very narrow experience. I am also quite surprised that more people don't dislike the Animus stuff as much as I do, which has always felt awkward and tacked on since the first game (it doesn't help that our hero looks like a douche) - half baked sci fi elements used to make a very simple game appear complicated. With the addition of "Da Vinci Code" type conspiracy and "secrets" which were greatly expanded in AC2, I find the game comes off as just plain silly, and not in any way profound which it seems to insist that it is. I gave this a shot, but I think I am done with AC for good at this point. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for theThis is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for the first time that the gamers will get their hands on the multiplayer component of a pure action adventure game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    4
    I've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recentlyI've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recently picking up AC2, beating it within 2 days and enjoying it somewhat I decided to get Brotherhood. I wasn't expecting a whole new game as even from the box art you can see it's just going to be a Assassin's Creed 2.5 reskin. You play, again, as Ezio, or more a cardboard cut out of him. He lacks the charm and immersive dialogue of the Ezio you play as in AC2. In fact, all the characters recycled from AC2 are bland and uninteresting. The funny and likeable Leonardo is now a wooden shopkeeper. As for the gameplay, frustrating is the word I would definitely describe this with. The free-running (something you do for the majority of the game) is as bad as previous Assassin's Creed titles and you'll often find yourself leaping off buildings to your death or climbing when you just don't want to. You CAN pull off some really good runs, leaping from building to building and swinging from poles and looks great if it works. Unfortunately, that would only be about half of the time. Combat has improved from AC2, with new weapons and combos and insane kill animations that make you feel like a badass. In reality, all you're doing is a very simple series of button presses. This isn't a bad thing, however, as you could take on several enemies at once. The graphics are, as the previous titles, great. I didn't notice any texture pop-in or buffering as you would in most other current gen console games. The textures are nice and sharp and Rome looks pretty in both night and day. Onto the actual tasks of the game, the missions. Frankly, I have never been more frustrated at some of the missions in this game than I have in all my years of playing video games. The new "full sync" feature will give you a 100% complete in a mission by performing a certain task, for example killing the target in a certain way, or beating the mission in a time limit. This sounds like a good, challenging feature, however if you try to fully sync every mission on your first play through, you're going to be tearing your hair out in frustration. The terrible AI and awful controls will be more of an annoyance than the badly thought out missions. In all, it has nice graphics and a nice setting, the sci-fi and historical cross over is cheesy but welcomed. The controls and gameplay are awful, the voice acting is wooden, the music is pretty nice, and then theres the fact it's a reskin and has early DLC. 4/10 Full Review »