Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1040 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed byAssassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed by the rival ruling families of Italy. Ezio's subsequent quest for vengeance plunges players into an epic story that offers more variety in missions, surprising and engaging new gameplay elements, diverse weapons and a profound character progression that appeal to fans of the original Assassin's Creed as well as entice players new to the brand. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82
  1. A huge improvement over the first game, Assassin’s Creed II offers up an enormous, beautiful open world that’s easy to get lost in, an epic storyline and all the fun that comes from creatively killing villains and tearing across 15th-century rooftops at ridiculous speeds.
  2. In conclusion, Assassin's Creed II is a worthy successor and goes beyond the original game with a very interesting story and some almost perfect gameplay.
  3. Assassin’s Creed 2 does exactly what we want a sequel to do. It improves on the original vastly and corrects all the errors, it adds a ton more depth and content, yet it still manages to encapsulate the charm of the original.
  4. By being better in almost every department than its predecessor, Assassin’s Creed 2 does exactly what a sequel should.
  5. The storyline is intricate, there's depth beyond the main quest, the presentation is wonderful, and the action is incredible at times. We've had some stunning single-player experiences this year, and Ubisoft has given us another gem to add to the list.
  6. 90
    It is not, however, a flawless experience by any means – and we think the series' finest hour is still coming – but for fans of the original, it's the step forward we were rooting for and just tempting enough for new players to savour.
  7. The game's variety and length come across as nothing more than smoke and mirrors, the endless, grinding busywork that contributes nothing to the overall gameplay is inexcusably plentiful and mind-numbingly repetitive, and to top it all off, the game can't even compete in the visuals department and somehow looks worse than the original.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 183
  1. reepermanx
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Unbeleivable scope and ambition by the dev team. just about pulled off. Only critisism is that is goes on a bit too long and there is too Unbeleivable scope and ambition by the dev team. just about pulled off. Only critisism is that is goes on a bit too long and there is too much to do. This may be a good thing though for many palyers. Expand
  2. LongHaired
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Unlike a lot of people i loved the first game so eagerly i bought this game, if there was any flaws in the last game, they're not there Unlike a lot of people i loved the first game so eagerly i bought this game, if there was any flaws in the last game, they're not there now. The new Italian theme really works and the fact that there are loads of twists and turns in the long and interesting storyline, if you don't like this, please go and seek help from a doctor. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    One of my top ten favorite games ever. Blows the first game out of the water and that was a good game.
    Rebuilding Monticello is clever and
    One of my top ten favorite games ever. Blows the first game out of the water and that was a good game.
    Rebuilding Monticello is clever and lots of fun and makes you feel like your accomplishing something.

    The cities are beautiful and the game's gimmick (climbing high places) is tons of fun in this game because of the unique spots and the crazy high places you can reach. Assassinations are more fun because the targets have back stories that make them more intriguing to chase.

    The quests are fun and revealing them from high points is a great way to do things. Enemies are more fun to fight because they wield different weapons, armor, and fighting styles.

    Upgrading gear and having a room to strut your weapons off is fun. The side mission platforming is a great distraction from the main quest line and bears a great reward at its end,

    Being Desmond no longer sucks and his part in all of this is more interesting.

    The lame video searches and puzzles are really lame but you don't have to do them, and from what I understand, Having all that video reveals almost nothing anyway.

    Ezio is a really great character and following him from 17 years old to his early 40's is a real treat. He matures mentally as well as in his skills.

    Great Game
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    AC2 is a pretty good game. It has good graphics but I still think that it lacks something. Like a better control system. When I played it IAC2 is a pretty good game. It has good graphics but I still think that it lacks something. Like a better control system. When I played it I got frustrated. Instead of climbing the wall sometimes Ezio decided to jump to the water and so on. And the music. I thought that i didn't fit to the game. The game has improved from AC1 but it still has a lot to go on. Fighting is way too easy. Few counter kills and you're done. The story is good first but to the end it got really weird. Just when it got interesting ti ended. I hope that AC: Brotherhood completes the story. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    great game epic story. but afterward there not to much to do. the game combat is pretty legit with plenty of weapon other good thing of thatgreat game epic story. but afterward there not to much to do. the game combat is pretty legit with plenty of weapon other good thing of that nature. Leap of Faith is a neat idea. Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed II is an all-around very solid game. The free-running is great and seamless, except sometimes Ezio has a mind of his own. YouAssassin's Creed II is an all-around very solid game. The free-running is great and seamless, except sometimes Ezio has a mind of his own. You will be running and all of a sudden he will jump on a fruit stall or in a hay cart. The weapons are amazing. The statistics (speed and damage) really make a difference between being able to injure an enemy NPC after a counterattack or not. I got the DLC version so I got the amazing Flying Machine. What a great time waster and mission! The game is still gorgeous in 2013 so don't worry about graphics. The missions are very good, and there are a TON of side missions. Most gamers won't want to beat up 40 cheating husbands, IMO. The plot is good, but the end was weird. The Conspirators graph is VERY useful. The DNA and Animus are very interesting concepts that they implemented into this game. There were some parts of the game I found to be very frustrating and stupid, like the race in the beginning, the Capture the Flag during Carnavale, the Merchant Lieutenant mission, and the mission where you practice blending with the crowd. My only advice is don't run into people with boxes!! The guards can end missions easily when they aren't supposed to (stealing ribbons). The combat system is great. The blades, gun, poison blade, smoke bombs and butcher knife are my favorite weapons. Did I mention there is a free-combat arena in one of the towns? You can turn parts of the HUD off for awesome screenshots too. Awesome! Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2010
    0
    Honestly, it's the worst game I have ever played. The difficulty level is way too high and even e of the first missions, "Sibling Rivalry" theHonestly, it's the worst game I have ever played. The difficulty level is way too high and even e of the first missions, "Sibling Rivalry" the difficulty is to great for someone not familiar with the series or these type games. An epic failure. Collapse

See all 183 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.