Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 690 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    Without a doubt the best game in the series in a while. It could very well do without assassins and the story has a few hiccups, but a true pirate won't mind! [Issue#236]
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    92
    While some core mechanics could still be improved, Black Flag's story, world, and systems come together to form a markedly better and more cohesive game than Assassin's Creed III. It's not only the best Assassin's Creed game to date, but also one of the best games for pirate fans to embark on as well.
  3. 90
    After weathering the somewhat diminishing returns of Revelations and ACIII, Black Flag is exactly the shot in the arm Assassin’s Creed needed. It’s dependably fun, endlessly engrossing, and filled with tons of ready distractions everywhere you look, all while bringing to life a fascinating period of history with an engaging story and memorable characters. And if that isn’t enough, it’s the best game about pirates we’ve ever played.
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    90
    The freshness of Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag puts any concerns of sequel fatigue to rest.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    If a great adventure is what you’re looking for, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag can be easily recommended. It’s a pleasure to discover troubled waters and bays by ship, and it’s easy to get lost in the many things to do. All the while, the returning sneaking and fighting still manages to captivate. Getting somewhat annoyed by the excessive hand-holding, the limited artificial intelligence and during climbing it isn’t uncommon.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    80
    Despite having huge shoes to fill and obstacles to overcome, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is definitely the best Assassin’s Creed game to date.
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    60
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is probably the weakest in the series, yet it’s not a bad game. It gives you just about what you’d expect, but not so much more than that. The dynamic sailing experience is one of the highlights, and the naval battles with the subsequent boarding of enemy ships will stick to your mind.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 170
  1. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    I put a lot of money in this game including paying for the $120 version, so I took a high risk and I don't regret it. I thought the game wasI put a lot of money in this game including paying for the $120 version, so I took a high risk and I don't regret it. I thought the game was really fun and made me want to explore the world and the ship mechanics were better than the last game, and this game had a lot of feel to it. even though I was disappointed in Edwards origin story I still enjoyed it and I will play it again and again. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    This is everything you want out of an Assassin's Creed game. The visuals are stunning plus the gameplay is flawless. From exploring the highThis is everything you want out of an Assassin's Creed game. The visuals are stunning plus the gameplay is flawless. From exploring the high Caribbean seas to hunting the many islands for treasure. The depth of the game is almost unmatched and the freedom of being able to just go on your ship and plunder anything that flies by is one of the things you will love the most about this game. Not to mention constantly taking down waves of Spanish soldiers one by one in Havana. Truly the best game in the series and one of the greatest of the year. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Easily the best entry in the franchise. The scope and depth is unmatched by most games to date. Sunning visuals and and interesting characterEasily the best entry in the franchise. The scope and depth is unmatched by most games to date. Sunning visuals and and interesting character and engaging if sometimes shaky story make this one of the best games of the year. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    Assassins Creed 4 is a great addition to the series, the revamp of the game play gives it a new feel but the story keeps the game's identity.Assassins Creed 4 is a great addition to the series, the revamp of the game play gives it a new feel but the story keeps the game's identity. Black flag is the best in the series since AC2 Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2015
    8
    I liked it... its the first assasins creed title I play.. I played it cause it was free on xbox live gold on the 360. Smart move cause now I'mI liked it... its the first assasins creed title I play.. I played it cause it was free on xbox live gold on the 360. Smart move cause now I'm definitly byuing more games of this franchise. Great game. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great game...But I cant seem to get the elite barrel plan? It says i've only found 20/22 chests even though when I go on my map and search all the different islands, everything has been done including chests. I've went to the place where the plan is but the chest is already opened? even though I apparently havent got it? Pisses me off as I cant complete the game now, the only other thing I can do is start again but i shouldnt have to do this! but is it going to happen again?? I dont know...but I'm not willing to play the whole game again just for them two chests...Needs sorting out!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    0
    Complete and utter **** The story sucks, multiplayer is no different from ''Cawadoody'' or whatever the **** the only good thing to do isComplete and utter **** The story sucks, multiplayer is no different from ''Cawadoody'' or whatever the **** the only good thing to do is piss around. Worse than that, for this game it pivots entirely on naval free roam and pretending like you're some kind of Blackbeard wannabe. But that gets boring really fast, too; after you beat the legendary ships (which provide ZERO tactical challenge), you learn a ram attack that pretty much turns you into Jesus. When the Man o' War ships start going down faster than your mother on a Saturday night and you easily gain massive profits on a regular basis, upgrading your ship to 100%, that's when you need to think about snapping your disk. No, seriously.

    Plotline? Utter nonsense. Some linear **** regarding pirates partaking in their usual antics, before getting hanged and then what's left of the Assassins **** and whining about how Edward is so much better than all of them put together. Incidentally, they still haven't adjusted this game to reality, so whilst every NPC in-game is a total **** the man character is still supernaturally overpowered by comparison.

    Even small features such as combat- which really gave a bonus to all the other games in the franchise, except Revelations, of course- are completely massacred in this pile of poo. Why the **** did they even bring back the multiple- counter- option feature if every enemy it works on can be counter-killed? The only other one you'd ever need to use is the ''disarm'' feature if you need to take some guy's rifle off him so you can shoot when you're out of ammo, but otherwise pointless. We've also apparently gone back to relying heavily on kicking someone in the balls like a coward, since in this game ''Officer'' class enemies can't be defeated in melee combat without doing so.

    In conclusion, this is the worst game I have ever played in my entire life and if you disagree you're wrong, sorry. Now I'm off to pwn some noobs in Modern Warfare 3.
    Expand

See all 170 User Reviews