Assassin's Creed Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1072 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HectorS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    No doubt that the visuals are remarkable and the scope of the environment is incredible, but the depth of the game is so poor that I couldn't possibly rate it any higher.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    Poor and repetitive mission objectives, A confusing story, and no replay value take a huge chunk out of the value of this game. While it has a ton of promise, This game sucks.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    A true joy of originality for the first few hours, but past that, you'll soon begin to feel the repetitive nature of the gameplay grinding against your brain with every second of play, coupled with a fairly standard plot that doesn't really answer any questions at all paving the way for a sequel, but not in a good way. If you can get past that, a beautiful interpretation of 12th centuryA true joy of originality for the first few hours, but past that, you'll soon begin to feel the repetitive nature of the gameplay grinding against your brain with every second of play, coupled with a fairly standard plot that doesn't really answer any questions at all paving the way for a sequel, but not in a good way. If you can get past that, a beautiful interpretation of 12th century holy land with an astonishing amount of detail, a very suiting soundtrack coupled with some truly awe-insiring moments (synchronising at the peek of the tallest tower in Jerusalem, :O OH MY GOD, BONER-TIME). The combat is intuitive but leaves much to be desired, the actual assassination bits had a lot of potential but amount to no more than drawn out sword fights with multiple guards + your target no matter how well you plot them. The free-running, however, which essentially allows you to kick back and simply direct Altair across the many rooftops with simple ease, is among the greatest inventions in gaming history, and it makes sense, how many rooftops are there in Assassin's Creed, thousands you say? Well I don't want to press "jump" every **** time I jump from rooftop to rooftop, so in short, Ubisoft, I love you :D All in all, Assassin's Creed is a brilliant premise, if Ubisoft can tweak the gameplay so it isn't so monotonous, give a bit of spice and variety to the pre-assassination "intel-gathering" missions and spice up the plot dramatically, then Assassin's Creed II could be one of the greatest games ever made, fingers crossed b!tches Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2010
    5
    its certinly looks preatty and controls very well but thats about it . the gameplay gets repititive really fast . you basically do the same thing over and over again with little feeling of any variation between missions . theres no custimisation on your charicters wepons and gear or look . its just this huge world with nothing really that fun to do. you can look for flags in citys...its certinly looks preatty and controls very well but thats about it . the gameplay gets repititive really fast . you basically do the same thing over and over again with little feeling of any variation between missions . theres no custimisation on your charicters wepons and gear or look . its just this huge world with nothing really that fun to do. you can look for flags in citys... whoopie just what i want to do in a game play hide and go seek ... this game was very overhyped . the story was pretty entertaining but the boringness in the missions made it hard to push through. thankfully the sequel was much much better. if you have never played the assassin's creed games the second one is deffinitly worth playing id say just rent this one so you can get more of the story. Expand
  5. Dan
    Nov 27, 2007
    6
    Very fun and immersive gameplay. Extremely detailed world and realistic. However, the storyline was unconvincing and incohesive, and the finale was dissapointing. The artificial intelligence was very lacking in the "intelligence" department, and many of the features that you would think are really cool just end up being clunky or too inconvenient to ever use.
  6. BillM.
    Jul 5, 2008
    6
    All the comments about graphics are valid. Easily the best-looking game for the 360 that I've seen, with the possible exception of COD4. Battle mechanics are also pretty good, if not superior. The story, even if you consider it a Matrix rip-off, isn't all that bad, especially given the glut of outright crap that's out there today. What ends up dragging the game down, All the comments about graphics are valid. Easily the best-looking game for the 360 that I've seen, with the possible exception of COD4. Battle mechanics are also pretty good, if not superior. The story, even if you consider it a Matrix rip-off, isn't all that bad, especially given the glut of outright crap that's out there today. What ends up dragging the game down, however, are the repetitive elements, graphics glitches, poor AI, and beyond-useless side quests. Repetitive: I go to four or five cities and hear the same people saying the same things. They went to all this trouble to create beautiful environments, but they couldn't find more than three (literally!) things for street merchants, town criers, bullies, and other city dwellers to say? Hard to believe, but that's exactly what happened. Graphics glitches: Can't tell you how many times I had a horse half in and half out of a hillside, ditto for guards and/or soldiers. A game that looks this good should not have this problem. Poor AI: The only time I was frustrated from being killed was when I knew I should have known better, because any enemies you fight have a standard way of fighting...and nothing else. Truly predictable to the point of being just a button-mashing exercise, and this game looks too good to resort to being a Mortal Kombat clone. Side-quests: This basically consists of collecting flags. That's it. In Jerusalem alone there are 100 of them, and I found 20. As nice as the scenery was, the AI and and repetitive dialogue completely removed any compulsion I might have had to continue looking for the other 80. Ditto for all the other flags and the 60 Knights Templar. I only blew $26 for this game on eBay, counting shipping. I'd be pretty unhappy if I'd paid $60. You can be sure I won't pay more than that for a sequel. Shame on any professional reviewer who gave this game more than a 7 on a 10-scale. Expand
  7. JustinK
    Apr 7, 2009
    6
    Awesome graphics, interesting storyline, initially fun gameplay. Too bad I got bored after the first two missions. I can think of a dozen ways for them to change things up to add replay-ability and more complex, rewarding side missions. It borders between a game you want to own because of the landmark graphics and "parkour done right", and a game you want to rent because of the extremely Awesome graphics, interesting storyline, initially fun gameplay. Too bad I got bored after the first two missions. I can think of a dozen ways for them to change things up to add replay-ability and more complex, rewarding side missions. It borders between a game you want to own because of the landmark graphics and "parkour done right", and a game you want to rent because of the extremely repetitive game play and zero replay value. Expand
  8. JosephE.
    Dec 2, 2007
    3
    The graphics are outstanding. But the gameplay is repetitive and designed to be slow. Imagine playing a game where you're supposed to walk around at a crawl to "hide" - this is that game. Oh and when you can't crawl anymore there are random piles of hay for you to jump into to in case you're not an accomplished slow walker. With graphics like these, hopefully the engine The graphics are outstanding. But the gameplay is repetitive and designed to be slow. Imagine playing a game where you're supposed to walk around at a crawl to "hide" - this is that game. Oh and when you can't crawl anymore there are random piles of hay for you to jump into to in case you're not an accomplished slow walker. With graphics like these, hopefully the engine will be used for a more immersive, compelling game. Expand
  9. JayD.
    Feb 9, 2008
    2
    I really don't know where all the high rating are coming from. This game is a con. ive never know such a repetitive game, its just the same pointless little missions over and over again. pick pocket - evesdrop - intimidate - kill - YAWN!!! the free roaming is good and the graphics are excellent, but once GTA 4 is released I wouldn't see the point of even thinking about getting I really don't know where all the high rating are coming from. This game is a con. ive never know such a repetitive game, its just the same pointless little missions over and over again. pick pocket - evesdrop - intimidate - kill - YAWN!!! the free roaming is good and the graphics are excellent, but once GTA 4 is released I wouldn't see the point of even thinking about getting this game. Expand
  10. JamesL.
    Jul 1, 2008
    4
    Considering the hype...very dissapointing.
  11. AnonymousMC
    Jan 1, 2009
    2
    The things I didn't like about this game are too numerous to mention. Luckily they can be summed up by explaining one aspect of the game.

    You're forced to travel from city to city manually. The distance you have to cover is large and the route is peppered liberally with enemy soldiers. For some unfathomable reason, failure to slow to an absolute crawl by holding down a button
    The things I didn't like about this game are too numerous to mention. Luckily they can be summed up by explaining one aspect of the game.

    You're forced to travel from city to city manually. The distance you have to cover is large and the route is peppered liberally with enemy soldiers. For some unfathomable reason, failure to slow to an absolute crawl by holding down a button (whether on foot or horseback) when passing within metres of these soldiers will result in them chasing and attacking you. This obviously results in the choice between sprinting from area to area in an attempt to outrun them and therefore missing out on a good chunk of the game, or moving at a snails pace and struggling to stay awake. To sum it up you can play this game in one of two way, both of which suck.

    This game falls squarely within a new category of games I have christened "boredom simulators". Games which eschew the most important (in my opinion) element of a game, fun, in favour of "realism".
    Expand
  12. MatthewReeves
    Nov 17, 2007
    6
    I wouldn't say it's terrible, but it's not good. Seemed like it was slopped together and got old very quickly. My opinion is that this is what happens when you try to make a game for more than one platform. Stick to the exclusives devs out there! I don't care what system. Just do it. You're obviously too spread thin or not talented enough to do more than one console.
  13. AnonymousMC
    Nov 18, 2007
    5
    I have played this game half way through and I will not finish it by the end of this week. Not because it's too hard it's because the game gets me so mad I have to put it down for a while. First of all it's very repetitive. If I wanted to go assassinate 3 guards pickpocket someone evesdrop then go all out fight then I'm all for it. But then again would I want to do it aI have played this game half way through and I will not finish it by the end of this week. Not because it's too hard it's because the game gets me so mad I have to put it down for a while. First of all it's very repetitive. If I wanted to go assassinate 3 guards pickpocket someone evesdrop then go all out fight then I'm all for it. But then again would I want to do it a hundred and 1 times in a row. Also there's too many glitches. No not the cutscene glitches but actual gameplay glitches. I'm jumping around and all of a sudden I catch onto a basket laid on the floor. Dangling from it....The only problem is it's like 2 inches from the floor so my legs are in the building. 2nd, When I knock a boss off a wall (Which I've done twice now) They usually die, but then Altair follows them, and does that annoying after death speech. IN MID AIR. I just did it now and I fell through an invisible barrier and ended up in the computer simulator/loading screen Permanently. So first of all, fix these glitches. Make a new twist so I'm not repeating myself. and finally add a multiplayer mode. First one to assassinate the other. Collapse
  14. DonJ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    5
    Great visuals and climbing mechanic. I enjoyed the intensity of some of the story elements (when the crazy doctor breaks the guy's legs). I do have to agree though, the game was sooo repeditive. And did anyone else notice that there was NO reason to save civilians? It was stupid, if you try to save a civ by killing the baddies, all of a sudden guards start fighting you too. WTF? Great visuals and climbing mechanic. I enjoyed the intensity of some of the story elements (when the crazy doctor breaks the guy's legs). I do have to agree though, the game was sooo repeditive. And did anyone else notice that there was NO reason to save civilians? It was stupid, if you try to save a civ by killing the baddies, all of a sudden guards start fighting you too. WTF? Also, one of the game's tips was that if you start a fist fight the guards won't attack, but when I started punching the bullies, they drew swords so what the hell am I supposed to do? Saving civilians should have been cut. I feel like there was a lot of ideas that just didn't get fleshed out enough. The whole blending in with the crowd idea was useless except for getting past the guards at the gates of the city. The constant yellow alert that made the annoying sound until you hid in haystack was freaking annoying. I thought the controls were adequte, but while running I noticed that I was holding down A and the right trigger. It shouldn't be that hard. Some game designer was probably tasked with coming up with "innovative controls" and so they made this system for the sake of innovation. I mainly gave the game a 5 because of the huge bug that was preventing me from finishing the game. I would ride to kill your arch nemesis and then all of a sudden I would fall through the level. When I respawned, there were two Altair's and both moved corresponding to my controls. When this happened, none of the scripted events would fire so I couldn't progress. I read on a forum that the solution was to unplug my player 2 controller. What the F? Expand
  15. PensiveNinja
    Dec 16, 2007
    3
    If you are one of those people who like to play Grand Theft Auto just so you can run around beat people up, steal cars, shoot police, and not follow the story line at all then this is a game for you. While I do agree that the graphics are amazing and the world in which you play is vast and beautiful, the storyline is repetitive. Pickpocket for information, eavesdrop for inormation, punch If you are one of those people who like to play Grand Theft Auto just so you can run around beat people up, steal cars, shoot police, and not follow the story line at all then this is a game for you. While I do agree that the graphics are amazing and the world in which you play is vast and beautiful, the storyline is repetitive. Pickpocket for information, eavesdrop for inormation, punch beggars in the face, assaniate the target, repeat....9 times!!! After the third assassin I lost interest and just started running through the environment, scaling walls and picking fights with the guards just to see how long i could fight continuosly before dying. By the time I actually decided to complete the fourth assassination I was just plain bored, so i started my 4th campaign in Halo 3... Needless to say, I traded the game in. Word of advice. Don't get this game. Expand
  16. PeteZ.
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    Fails to deliver on immense potential Repetitious, requires no skill whatsoever, boring at times This is an interactive movie (with non-skippable cutscenes) not a game.
  17. kvan33
    Apr 15, 2008
    6
    Seriously disappointing. Do you like assassinations carried out in Splinter Cell like stealth and finesse? Well, don't play Assassin's Creed then. That is unless you like pick pocketing random people, sitting on benches and eavesdropping, or collecting flags. After you do those tasks enough, you are rewarded with an assassination mission...which is typically just as shallow. Seriously disappointing. Do you like assassinations carried out in Splinter Cell like stealth and finesse? Well, don't play Assassin's Creed then. That is unless you like pick pocketing random people, sitting on benches and eavesdropping, or collecting flags. After you do those tasks enough, you are rewarded with an assassination mission...which is typically just as shallow. Repeat nine times, and you're at the end of the game. Seriously that's it. If this game was a girl, it would be a bimbo with all looks and no brains. Rent or buy it from the bargain bin. Expand
  18. DaveM.
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    Beautiful at first, but the tediousness will prevent you from seeing the end.
  19. TaraldW.
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    What could have been a great game is let down by repetitive, boring gameplay, slow driven storyline which does not engage you in any way, and a shalow fighting system. Disappointment of the year.
  20. Matt
    Nov 15, 2007
    6
    I was really disappointed by this game. It gets repetitve fast and seems to try to do new things for the sake of someone's ego and not for the gamer. Seems the luster has left Ubisoft.
  21. Zachary
    Nov 19, 2007
    3
    This game is utterly one of the greatest disappointments of all times. Do not judge this game off of the high ratings because they are false. Trust me. To even say this game deserves a 10 amazes me. This game deserves nothing more than a 5. I BARELY made my self finish this repetitive nightmare. After the 4th assassination it really goes down hill and there are 9 or 10 or maybe 11 more. I This game is utterly one of the greatest disappointments of all times. Do not judge this game off of the high ratings because they are false. Trust me. To even say this game deserves a 10 amazes me. This game deserves nothing more than a 5. I BARELY made my self finish this repetitive nightmare. After the 4th assassination it really goes down hill and there are 9 or 10 or maybe 11 more. I am not sure of the specific value, because you don't count. You just want to get to the next assassination to be done with it, but no, you have to do side missions. There are 3 side missions, eavesdropping, informant, and interrogation. Eavesdropping is sitting on a bench and listening to 2 guys talk in which they say generally the same thing every time. Informant either makes you kill people, or makes you go and capture flags. Wait, capture flags? Are you serious? You are capturing flags in an assassination game? The A.I. is horrendous. The villagers mindlessly roam around the city. The guards attack you one at a time, and can do exactly the same acrobatic jumps across buildings as you can. You can't swim, an elite assassin, that is a master of the Olympics. Don't worry, the guards can't swim either. No one can swim. Did I mention the pick pocketing mission? You listen to do guys talk for 5 minutes, than you wait 2 seconds for the future pick pocket victim to look left and then right, than you press a button to pick pocket him. But in order to even find these missions, you will spend HOURS climbing the same looking tower, pressing Y on the amazingly convenient wooden planks on EVERY single Birds Eye View Location. When you fail on the Informant missions, which you will a lot because the timed ones are extremely hard, and the flag ones are just ridiculous. If you decide to re-do the mission, you will have to listen to the SAME cut scene, because if you didn't already know, you cannot skip ANY cuts scenes. There are some cut scenes in the game, that are 10 minutes long, and they are completely boring and unexciting. I would never replay this game for that reason alone much less all of the other reasons. Did I even mention it is buggy to the point to where some players can't even play it? This game tries NOTHING new, sure great graphics, but I can name lots of games that blow this game out of the water. Don't reward this under class game by buying it. I suggest renting something else, but if you really want to try and stay awake through this game in which I didn't even go through the mass x and x + right trigger combat system. Go right ahead....oh my gosh this game is bad. Expand
  22. PaulC.
    Nov 21, 2007
    5
    Great graphics, but average game play.
  23. Bender
    Nov 23, 2007
    1
    Don't beleive the hype. Assassins Creed is great for the first hour, but any longer it becomes very repetitive and boring. So boring I was compelled to play other games instead of finishing it. I suggest renting AC first.
  24. C.Q.
    Dec 10, 2007
    5
    Great graphics, great visuals, seemingly interesting story and premise - combat is very stiff, world feels a bit constrained, entertaining for a while - not entertaining enough to actually finish however.
  25. Shane
    Dec 18, 2007
    3
    Pretty pictures, great controls but boooooring repetitive game play. WTH is up with all these great reviews? If you play the game for more then 3 hours, you realize what a scam it is. People need to demand more from games and with reviews like this, we'll never get it.
  26. PabloG.
    Feb 16, 2008
    2
    An embarrassment. The game looks beautiful and the roof jumping is great.... and that's it. You pick-pocket, interrogate, collect flags, and other boring things NINE TIMES just to get to the actual fun part of the game. And don't get me started on the cut scenes. You can't skip them and they go on forever as the characters speak and speak about nothing. One of the biggest An embarrassment. The game looks beautiful and the roof jumping is great.... and that's it. You pick-pocket, interrogate, collect flags, and other boring things NINE TIMES just to get to the actual fun part of the game. And don't get me started on the cut scenes. You can't skip them and they go on forever as the characters speak and speak about nothing. One of the biggest disappointments in video game history. I'm on the 4th mission and I can't take doing the same thing over and over again. Expand
  27. ApocalypseB.
    Feb 22, 2008
    1
    Seriously pissed waiting for this crap, only for it to turn out one of the most over-rated games of all time, next to COD4! I mean forget the Matrix rip-off storyline, the gameplay is broken from the get go. Slash, spy, kill, climb buildings, all in this sequence for the next 15 hours will drive you insane. And the A.I.? I think its an insult to call it A.I., as brain dead cows would have Seriously pissed waiting for this crap, only for it to turn out one of the most over-rated games of all time, next to COD4! I mean forget the Matrix rip-off storyline, the gameplay is broken from the get go. Slash, spy, kill, climb buildings, all in this sequence for the next 15 hours will drive you insane. And the A.I.? I think its an insult to call it A.I., as brain dead cows would have better responses than those clowns. Avoid at all costs! Expand
  28. AbrahamL.
    Nov 19, 2007
    1
    Pathetic. It does look great but it is supposed to be a fun GAME! Not a stupid boring tech demo. You can't even pick up and throw objects like Sam Fisher with his bottles and cans for distraction or just for fun to see the reaction of the bad guys when you hit them with it. This could have been better then the Splinter Cell series, but this is so boring and falls flat on it's Pathetic. It does look great but it is supposed to be a fun GAME! Not a stupid boring tech demo. You can't even pick up and throw objects like Sam Fisher with his bottles and cans for distraction or just for fun to see the reaction of the bad guys when you hit them with it. This could have been better then the Splinter Cell series, but this is so boring and falls flat on it's face. Only three basic weapons? That's it? Where is the crossbow? An axe or spear would have been nice too. And no character or weapons upgrades? It would have been perfect for a game like this. The gameplay developers and testers should be fired for this piece of crap. It's totally not interactive or fun at all. Looks are deceiving and this game is unfortunately the perfect example. Beautiful to look at, very boring to play. Save your money for Devil May Cry 4 or Ninja Gaiden 2. Expand
  29. MikeB.
    Nov 26, 2007
    6
    People should seriously assess what it is that supposedly makes this game so outstanding. Granted, it looks VERY pretty - the cities and landscapes are great to look at and seem full of life. But, take that away and there's no way this game would have gotten the scores it has. I bought it a week agao and here's just a few things that I've picked up on: - Repetitive. And I People should seriously assess what it is that supposedly makes this game so outstanding. Granted, it looks VERY pretty - the cities and landscapes are great to look at and seem full of life. But, take that away and there's no way this game would have gotten the scores it has. I bought it a week agao and here's just a few things that I've picked up on: - Repetitive. And I mean VERY repetitive. Countless assassinations to drive the story... all completed in simlir manner, and all clues leading to them gained in identical ways... listen to this person, pickpocket that person... Even the side missions like saving civilians get tired very quickly. - Camera. If it's not getting in the way of a fight it's often moving at awkward angles just as you try to pull off some speedy free-running... resulting in a long drop in the wrong direction. - Save system. An option to go to spots to save in a game this large would have been a godsend. Instead you only get to save after particular events. - Stealth system. So... I'm out of the line of site of gueards... the indicator says they are still looking for me. I can wait out of site for hours (e.g. atop a tower or behind a wall)... but they'll still be 'looking' until I hide in a specific hiding spot like a random bale of hay. Logical. Also people will become suspicious of you for no apparent reason. Sometimes just for walking. This is hugely annoying when you might have a time limit of 2 or 3 mins to get somewhere without alerting anyone. Basically I'd say it's a very graphically impressive game, but the gameplay itself needs a hell of a lot of thought before they come up with a sequel. The free running needs a polish to make it more fluid, and the whole stealth aspect has been done better in games like the Hitman series. I'm now nearly through it all (final mission), and once it's done I'll be trading it in since in all honesty I don't know why I'd want to go back to it for a few hundred identical side missions. Beware of the hype. Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2011
    3
    Assassin's Creed starts out very promising, but ultimately disappoints. At first, you think you're embarking on what looks to be an engrossing, open-ended, fantastically rendered epic. Quickly, however, you realize that this adventure consists of doing the exact. same. thing. over and over and over again. Now, the same can be said about any open-ended game, to an extent. In Oblivion,Assassin's Creed starts out very promising, but ultimately disappoints. At first, you think you're embarking on what looks to be an engrossing, open-ended, fantastically rendered epic. Quickly, however, you realize that this adventure consists of doing the exact. same. thing. over and over and over again. Now, the same can be said about any open-ended game, to an extent. In Oblivion, Fallout, Mass Effect, etc., the missions all follow the same general arch, but they are least make the missions look and feel different. In Assassin's Creed, there is literally no variation in the actual tasks you have to accomplish in order to complete each mission. If you've done one mission, you've done them all. The game does have some fun elements, to be sure. Stealth kills never get old, nor do Leaps of Faith. But you simply can't play the game for extended periods of time without feeling like you're treading water, even if you're making significant progress. It gets boring fairly quickly, unless you are an achievement-driven completionist who lives for scouring every inch of the a game world for obscure and hidden objects. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.