User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 304 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 304
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    4
    Seeing how beautiful the game world looks but being unable to platform in it and having to build stupid vehicles breaks my heart. It could of been an AMAZING platformer.
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    1
    positives:town can be fun to navigate, designing your own vehicles is lots of fun,
    negatives: worlds are barren of EVERYTHING. seriously theres nothing in them. what your supposed to do isn't made immediately clear, the worlds look horrible and fake, the 'game master' is annoying, the characters are represented very poorly, for what reason did they make banjo and kazooie fat?. a trolley.
    positives:town can be fun to navigate, designing your own vehicles is lots of fun,
    negatives: worlds are barren of EVERYTHING. seriously theres nothing in them. what your supposed to do isn't made immediately clear, the worlds look horrible and fake, the 'game master' is annoying, the characters are represented very poorly, for what reason did they make banjo and kazooie fat?. a trolley. really? a trolley? WHY?its horrible!, inability to change the trolley at all despite being able to in the demo, inability to use anything but the trolley in town, stop and swap eggs do nothing but unlock useless parts,weapons can be hard to aim. as if there was anything to aim at. the whole game just feels like something else should have been there, but isn't(this game should have been banjo threeie before some idiotic decision making backstage and an engine change)the whole game feels like an alpha stage game, and unfinished at that.
    Expand
  3. BanjoK
    Aug 7, 2009
    2
    Ever since Rare moved to Microsoft they have gone into the shadows and their games have gone by unnoticed. This game is another example of the once brilliant developer that has gone downhill. I absolutely loved the first 2 banjo games and have fond memories of playing them when I was a kid. This game however is nothing like those 2 and so I can't relate with it
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    0
    This game got score 79 for what it this game not good game i mean racing flying making cars and plane meh what the point.....

    Oh yes i am banjo kazooie fan only first 2 where best ones i said nuts and bolt game i said why not got it free with xbox but when i stuck it on i was so disappoint this not like first 2 pathetic of course u cant die which stupid
  5. Nov 2, 2014
    2
    i was expecting more from a racing game were you get to make your own cars but you cannot race with other people online what madness is that a racing game with no online pathitic WORST XBOX RACING GAME EVER
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    3
    Betrayals to their predecessors

    the game was formerly gamecube that was postponed to xbox 360, the game that "supposedly" is the direct sequel to Banjo-tooie much betrayed his predecessors in large part because of the following, you have to see the vehicles with banjo and kazooie?, you have to see the improvements and demases with banjo?, no movement, no attacks together or separately,
    Betrayals to their predecessors

    the game was formerly gamecube that was postponed to xbox 360, the game that "supposedly" is the direct sequel to Banjo-tooie much betrayed his predecessors in large part because of the following, you have to see the vehicles with banjo and kazooie?, you have to see the improvements and demases with banjo?, no movement, no attacks together or separately, realemnte happened with banjo-theerie ie us analyze the points

    - Supposedly the saga banjo kazooie is of platforms, but not vehicles, ie considering the whole vehicle is pure jeugo are few times when you do it on foot.

    - The characters are not what they were like before, each character once had a job but not matched, each head in a wrong position to the extreme.

    - The music is the only thing for people who actually played the game or two anteriomente deliveries will know that the legendary composer Grant Kirkhope will know it is their talent in the melodies in Rareware games were glorious and they still are but not with pint the game that was born in their roots fed back

    - Maybe for some eprsoans gameplay that did not play the two deliveries would say that this would be good but not haci, for my car is using looks good, you can give to the car arta creativity among other things, but profane much that was really banjo-kazooie....
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2013
    1
    God... do I even need a reason to give this game a 1/10? I'd just be beating a dead horse to go over what this game did wrong. Long story short, Microsoft forced Rare to cancel BK: Threeie for this betrayal of the IP. I don't think microsoft understands the concept of games franchises being tied to their gameplay genre. You can make innovations sure, but you can't release Starcraft III andGod... do I even need a reason to give this game a 1/10? I'd just be beating a dead horse to go over what this game did wrong. Long story short, Microsoft forced Rare to cancel BK: Threeie for this betrayal of the IP. I don't think microsoft understands the concept of games franchises being tied to their gameplay genre. You can make innovations sure, but you can't release Starcraft III and have it be an FPS. It's just absurd to even try to justify what they did. Expand
  8. Nov 21, 2015
    0
    WHY WOULD RARE, A COMPANY THAT MADE CLASSICS LIKE GOLDENEYE 007, DONKEY KONG 64 AND PERFECT DARK, AND OF COURSE BANJO-KAZOOIE, MAKE A BANJO-KAZOOIE GAME BASED ON LEGO CARS!?!?!
  9. Aug 1, 2016
    0
    cars.... cars..... cars cars...., cars????? CARS?????????? cars!? cars??! cars... cars..?!?!?!!? CARS CARS CARS CARS CAAAAAARSSSS!?!?!?!?!!??!!?!?!?!?!?!?
  10. Jan 2, 2014
    2
    If we look at all the things that made Banjo Kazooie, we quickly see that there is none of that in Nuts & Bolts.
    The basic idea of Nuts & Bolts is to turn a platformer like Mario 64 into a Lego cars racer. And if anyone says that it`s genius, fun and good as a Xbox game, thats because he/she never played the original, most of the time play or watch stupid and overrated games or just
    If we look at all the things that made Banjo Kazooie, we quickly see that there is none of that in Nuts & Bolts.
    The basic idea of Nuts & Bolts is to turn a platformer like Mario 64 into a Lego cars racer. And if anyone says that it`s genius, fun and good as a Xbox game, thats because he/she never played the original, most of the time play or watch stupid and overrated games or just simply don`t really know what is a good game.
    Don`t get me wrong there can be smart gamer that like this game, but Banjo Kazooie: not at all.
    The huge world is empty, you have to talk to someone to do missions WWWWHHHHHYYYYY?) ect.

    Besides that I apologize for that the graphics are wonderful, the controls of Banjo are better then ever and overall it looks great. "The real part is boring" -Jontron
    Expand
  11. Mar 22, 2015
    4
    4/10 (Disappointing, Rare used to be so good) ...........................................................................................................
  12. MathieuC
    Feb 9, 2009
    3
    This game's a big big mistake by Rare. They should have made a classic platform game with some new stuff, instead of a crappy lego grand theft auto version with an absolute shitty scenario. I grew up playing old banjo games, and I'm sure every true fans of BK and BT will understand my frustration.
  13. LoganPredy
    Nov 13, 2008
    4
    The game fails to recapture the magic from the sublime first game in the series. Platforming has been mostly eliminated and levels made too big to just walk around in. The old Rare that used to make spectacular games really doesn't exist anymore and this game proves that even further.
  14. AndrewL
    Dec 5, 2008
    2
    While fun on its own, why call it a Banjo-Kazooie game? It would've been more suitable to be called Banjo-Kazooie Racing. When did they decide that forcing lovers of the past titles to fall asleep creating machines to fly and speed through extremely boring and linear levels. It was shameless for them to take such a great name (that most of us gamers grew up on nonetheless) and spitWhile fun on its own, why call it a Banjo-Kazooie game? It would've been more suitable to be called Banjo-Kazooie Racing. When did they decide that forcing lovers of the past titles to fall asleep creating machines to fly and speed through extremely boring and linear levels. It was shameless for them to take such a great name (that most of us gamers grew up on nonetheless) and spit all over it. Expand
  15. DavidC
    May 24, 2009
    2
    One of the most tedious games I have ever played. This is really nothing new from the criminally overpraised developer Rare. Appropriately enough the new Banjo now focuses on vehicle creation, including aeroplanes. Let me say now that you would sooner learn to fly a real 747 before you make sense of this boring, convoluted mess of a sandbox game. Yes, you heard right. This is a sandbox One of the most tedious games I have ever played. This is really nothing new from the criminally overpraised developer Rare. Appropriately enough the new Banjo now focuses on vehicle creation, including aeroplanes. Let me say now that you would sooner learn to fly a real 747 before you make sense of this boring, convoluted mess of a sandbox game. Yes, you heard right. This is a sandbox game with a vehicle creation mode or we can only hope as I would be frankly embarrassed to call this a platformer. The graphics aren't bad, they're gorgeous in fact. The characters and worlds are extremely well designed and these are probably among the best graphics I've ever seen on the Xbox 360, but it's all window dressing. Expand
  16. AlexD
    Aug 12, 2009
    0
    The text is so small and goes by so fast I can't read it. While I'm trying to read it, I miss the graphical action. It's impossible to know what you're supposed to do. I've never played a Banjo-Kazzoie game before and appreciate that it's part of a long-running franchise, but I'm not gonna play this annoying shit. Why didn't the developers catch The text is so small and goes by so fast I can't read it. While I'm trying to read it, I miss the graphical action. It's impossible to know what you're supposed to do. I've never played a Banjo-Kazzoie game before and appreciate that it's part of a long-running franchise, but I'm not gonna play this annoying shit. Why didn't the developers catch this aweful design flaw? I started off playing it optimistically, looking forward to getting to know what BK is all about, but after 5 minutes I gave up in frustration. Fortunately I got the game as part of a 360 Pro bundle so I didn't really pay for it. A zero may seem harsh because graphically it didn't seem too bad, but if the game turns me off, I turn it off and a zero is all it deserves. Tomorrow I'm taking it to Cash Converters and see if I can swap it for something good. Expand
  17. Brandon96
    May 2, 2009
    3
    Way to go for Rare to rape my childhood. Everyone looks so retarded. I mean, Humba doesn't even look like an Indian anymore! But I think the worse redesign is the Jinjos. They now look like girly dwarfs. The Missions are the most boring missions I've ever seen in my life. All it is is Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Way to go for Rare to rape my childhood. Everyone looks so retarded. I mean, Humba doesn't even look like an Indian anymore! But I think the worse redesign is the Jinjos. They now look like girly dwarfs. The Missions are the most boring missions I've ever seen in my life. All it is is Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Fetch, Defend, Race, Fetch, Defend, god. Oh, and there is only FIVE worlds...The only interesting world in the game is Banjo-Land, and even that's too small. Expand
  18. Mar 30, 2016
    4
    Banjo kazooie nuts and bolts is not what we banjo fans wanted.

    This game isn't about exploring which kills the purpose of banjo and the game feels like mission and mission level completed. Banjo kazooie nuts and bolts is a boring and not fun banjo game but hey it's a good game right? right? actually no Doing only missons and getting to the next world is not fun atleast not in
    Banjo kazooie nuts and bolts is not what we banjo fans wanted.

    This game isn't about exploring which kills the purpose of banjo and the game feels like mission and mission level completed.

    Banjo kazooie nuts and bolts is a boring and not fun banjo game but hey it's a good game right? right?

    actually no

    Doing only missons and getting to the next world is not fun atleast not in my opinion.

    4/10
    Expand
  19. Jul 2, 2016
    3
    Yay new Banjo game! I played this game and I can completely say WTF. The story is not really cliche. But the controls are really complex at some parts. The graphics are good but they don't seem..right. I think also the game is boring. The characters now are really bland. Just like superman he was a good character at start but went downhill. Overall this game is not the worst but this gameYay new Banjo game! I played this game and I can completely say WTF. The story is not really cliche. But the controls are really complex at some parts. The graphics are good but they don't seem..right. I think also the game is boring. The characters now are really bland. Just like superman he was a good character at start but went downhill. Overall this game is not the worst but this game I just don't like most of the time. One more thing.....the controls.....they suck. Expand
  20. Aug 5, 2017
    0
    Completely irrelevant to previous titles in the series and tries to be a standalone type of entry by exploiting nostalgia while completely ignoring any potential improvements for a standalone. Basically, it's a money grab with no incentive to explore and no real platforming.

    Some of the developers themselves were disappointed with this entry and went on to attempt to faithfully
    Completely irrelevant to previous titles in the series and tries to be a standalone type of entry by exploiting nostalgia while completely ignoring any potential improvements for a standalone. Basically, it's a money grab with no incentive to explore and no real platforming.

    Some of the developers themselves were disappointed with this entry and went on to attempt to faithfully replicate the real Banjo-Kazooie experience in another game. Just play the first two, as Nintendo appears to be the only company capable of delivering sequels to main franchises with consistent quality, e.g. Mario and Zelda.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. 90
    With so many vehicle parts, places to go and people to see, Nuts & Bolts is going to be a game you keep going back to. Just getting to the end will require hours of commitment, but, it’s not like you need an excuse, right? Apart from a confusing premise (the story is a little bit weak) and the small text, this game is a massive success.
  2. GamePro
    80
    The game's new vehicle-based emphasis will probably turn off some long-time fans, but I really enjoyed the game's premise. [Dec 2008, p.95]
  3. Banjo is back. A whole new adventure featuring several old friends and some new characters, but in a completely new world. It's great to see Banjo this well, as Nuts & Bolts is really funny, but the new gameplay is something users must get used to. Vehicles are fun, but not as much fun as they should be.