User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1477 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    I really like the direction that they went with this game. I mean it looks and feels just like the original. The only problem with it is there really is nothing new here. The playing field just got larger, there are more weapons, more bosses, more Riddler trophies. The game just got bigger. That is really my only gripe with the game though
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Sweet, improves on most everything from the first game. There is so much to do if you choose. Game play is smooth voice acting is great and the presentation is awesome.
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is easily the best game of 2011 thus far, and a contender for the greatest game of the generation. Unmissable for fans of Batman and essentially everyone else. Those who claim the open world is too small should consider that every square centimetre of Arkham City is memorable and packed with hundreds of mini-puzzles and a dozen deep side-missions. The attention toBatman: Arkham City is easily the best game of 2011 thus far, and a contender for the greatest game of the generation. Unmissable for fans of Batman and essentially everyone else. Those who claim the open world is too small should consider that every square centimetre of Arkham City is memorable and packed with hundreds of mini-puzzles and a dozen deep side-missions. The attention to detail is incredible, and each and every villain is effortlessly compelling despite their impressive numbers. Multiple playable characters, a tonne of combat and predator challenges (along with 400 Riddler puzzles hidden in the campaign), and a fantastic, thrilling story will keep me coming back to Arkham City for years. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    This is the perfect game. You have classic beat em' up batman style with an "Open World" style game including side missions and minigames. To those complaining about the movement if you had taken the time to master the movement and do the AR trainings you would not be so disappointed.
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    It's better than it's predecessor in every way. And if you played the first you k ow that is no easy task. Quite simply, Arkham City is one of the best games this generation. And I'm far from an avid Batman fan. I never read the comics and only enjoyed two of the movies. Sandbox style is similar to Assissans Creed and Infamous. Both those games are great, but Arkham City has even moreIt's better than it's predecessor in every way. And if you played the first you k ow that is no easy task. Quite simply, Arkham City is one of the best games this generation. And I'm far from an avid Batman fan. I never read the comics and only enjoyed two of the movies. Sandbox style is similar to Assissans Creed and Infamous. Both those games are great, but Arkham City has even more polish. Consider all that with an excellent story and top notch voice acting, you have one very special game. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Arkham City is a bigger and better game than its already excellent predecessor.The game is absolutely filled with things to do and the new open world nature of AC is a blessing.There are almost too many upgrades,gadgets and secrets in the game and trying to remember combos is a challenging,but welcome,exercise in hand-eye coordination at times.Adding to a decent length campaign areArkham City is a bigger and better game than its already excellent predecessor.The game is absolutely filled with things to do and the new open world nature of AC is a blessing.There are almost too many upgrades,gadgets and secrets in the game and trying to remember combos is a challenging,but welcome,exercise in hand-eye coordination at times.Adding to a decent length campaign are hundreds of Riddler challenges,numerous side missions,balloon popping,dive bombing,challenge maps and a short,fun stint as Catwoman.Amazing... Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    An immediate GOTY contender and the best open world action game since Red Dead, Rocksteady game's Batman: Arkham City sees Arkham Asylum's already perfect mechanics and expands upon them while keeping the same polish seen in 2009's surprise hit. Don't listen the review on here saying the voice acting is bad. That rules out the fact he's played the game right there. The scripting and voiceAn immediate GOTY contender and the best open world action game since Red Dead, Rocksteady game's Batman: Arkham City sees Arkham Asylum's already perfect mechanics and expands upon them while keeping the same polish seen in 2009's surprise hit. Don't listen the review on here saying the voice acting is bad. That rules out the fact he's played the game right there. The scripting and voice acting is amongst the best the in the business and the freeflow combat system is better than ever. When you're gliding through Gotham, go ahead and watch the snow realistically hit Batmans suit. The city is lavishly detailed and the new gliding/ batclaw mechanics make for one of the best modes of transportation seen in a game ever. The score is pitch perfect and the amount of content stuffed into Arkham City it's staggering. GOTY contender? I think so. Where will Rocksteady go from here? Expand
  8. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    The controls for this game are very good, the Graphics are very good, the Voice acting is VERY good, Mark Hamill and Kevin Conroy lead the voice acting on this game, and the other voice acting is very good as well, next of all the sound effects are very good, plus there is a ton of stuff to do in game, you got your main quests, side missions, and tons of Riddler trophies to collect, ifThe controls for this game are very good, the Graphics are very good, the Voice acting is VERY good, Mark Hamill and Kevin Conroy lead the voice acting on this game, and the other voice acting is very good as well, next of all the sound effects are very good, plus there is a ton of stuff to do in game, you got your main quests, side missions, and tons of Riddler trophies to collect, if anyone gives this game a score below an 8 they are obviously looking for attention or trolling. Expand
  9. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Rocksteady has not only one-upped Arkham Asylum, they obliterated it. The story is excellent and starts off with an extremely intense arrest. The voice acting is absolutely flawless for the most part. Kevin Conroy knocked it out of the park as Batman (as always), this is easily one of his best performances. Mark Hamill was fantastic as Joker, andOne of the greatest games of all time. Rocksteady has not only one-upped Arkham Asylum, they obliterated it. The story is excellent and starts off with an extremely intense arrest. The voice acting is absolutely flawless for the most part. Kevin Conroy knocked it out of the park as Batman (as always), this is easily one of his best performances. Mark Hamill was fantastic as Joker, and Corey Burton was amazing as Strange. Tara had some big shoes to fill by playing Harley Quinn, but she did it, and boy was she good. The weakest voice in the game is the Penguin's. It's not terrible, but it doesn't match the rest of the game's quality voices. Nolan North is very talented, but someone like Ray Winstone would have been better. The gameplay is amazing and extremely fine-tuned, the story is interesting and engaging, the dialogue is insanely awesome and there's just so much content in the game! A definite 10/10 from me. Expand
  10. Nov 12, 2011
    6
    I had a lot of fun with this game. The reason I am giving it a 6 out of 10 is because I am getting really tired of game developers charging money for DLC content that should have been a part of the original game. I'm not paying for the Nightwing Bundle Pack - that should have been part of the game. Same thing with the upcoming Robin Bundle Pack. ALL of these should have been part ofI had a lot of fun with this game. The reason I am giving it a 6 out of 10 is because I am getting really tired of game developers charging money for DLC content that should have been a part of the original game. I'm not paying for the Nightwing Bundle Pack - that should have been part of the game. Same thing with the upcoming Robin Bundle Pack. ALL of these should have been part of the game we're paying $60 for. Arkham City was a decent game - but the developers are getting way too greedy. Waaaay too greedy. People need to start pushing back against these developers who hold back content and then release it as DLC less than two weeks after the game comes out. Ridiculous. Expand
  11. Oct 19, 2011
    6
    This game is pretty much exactly like the last game but with crappy new gadgets, it's harder to get around and they rip you off before you even open the box. They cut out an important part of the game (all of catwoman's story) and put an online pass to download in the game, this was never mentioned in any of the trailers or magazine articles. they did so people would buy it new but theyThis game is pretty much exactly like the last game but with crappy new gadgets, it's harder to get around and they rip you off before you even open the box. They cut out an important part of the game (all of catwoman's story) and put an online pass to download in the game, this was never mentioned in any of the trailers or magazine articles. they did so people would buy it new but they didn't that not everyone has access to x-box live, and to top that off the pre-order bonus where you can play as robin is also dlc even though that was never mentioned, the videogame industry should not be aloud to gyp it's customers like this. Expand
  12. Oct 21, 2011
    3
    I don't quite understand all the 10/10 reviews. Asylum as a good combination of free roam and directed gameplay. Objectives were clear, as was the story. City is a sandbox game, with a story that is confusing from the get go, and I have no investment in. I've played 3 hours of the game, and I'm selling it off tomorrow. I don't see any point to playing this. It's just he Asylum gameplayI don't quite understand all the 10/10 reviews. Asylum as a good combination of free roam and directed gameplay. Objectives were clear, as was the story. City is a sandbox game, with a story that is confusing from the get go, and I have no investment in. I've played 3 hours of the game, and I'm selling it off tomorrow. I don't see any point to playing this. It's just he Asylum gameplay with a sandbox thrown on to it. Woo friggen hoo. You might as well go play Just Cause 2. Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Game of the year for me, as with all games a few problems occur but ill get to them. Overall this game is very linear and simple except for the riddler challenges but it is very simple to play. This is what makes it great. Amazing graphics and physics, brilliant story and pacing and the best combat in a game yet. It is a thouroughly enjoying game and is definatly worth getting. All youGame of the year for me, as with all games a few problems occur but ill get to them. Overall this game is very linear and simple except for the riddler challenges but it is very simple to play. This is what makes it great. Amazing graphics and physics, brilliant story and pacing and the best combat in a game yet. It is a thouroughly enjoying game and is definatly worth getting. All you have to do is defeat penguin and the fun really does begin. Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt the most entertaining and rewarding game I have ever played. For a comicbook and videogame nerd, this game hit all the right marks and left me wanting more.
  15. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    I loved Batman Arkham Asylum, but my only problem with the game was the story was just to short, and I'm afraid to say that Arkham City is exactly the same. With the game being bigger the story is a little longer but not as long as I would of liked. Side Missions are great fun and are a welcome distraction to the main story, Catwoman's story blends nicely into the game making it seamless,I loved Batman Arkham Asylum, but my only problem with the game was the story was just to short, and I'm afraid to say that Arkham City is exactly the same. With the game being bigger the story is a little longer but not as long as I would of liked. Side Missions are great fun and are a welcome distraction to the main story, Catwoman's story blends nicely into the game making it seamless, sometimes DLC can be a little cut and paste and doesn't make much sense. I would highly recommend this game to anyone who loved Arkham Asylum and players new to the franchise.... Good work Rocksteady when's the next one :-) Expand
  16. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This is how you make a sequel to the best game of the decade. Everything that made Arkham Asylum great has made its way to Arkham City. Everything's been expanded upon: The combat system and the opponents are better and more varied than ever, as are the environments. The boss fights are top notch and have also seen considerable improvement over the original. Few games offer experiences asThis is how you make a sequel to the best game of the decade. Everything that made Arkham Asylum great has made its way to Arkham City. Everything's been expanded upon: The combat system and the opponents are better and more varied than ever, as are the environments. The boss fights are top notch and have also seen considerable improvement over the original. Few games offer experiences as satisfying as disassembling an opponent's machine gun, doing the knife dodge takedown or diving from a skyscraper and pulling up at the last minute. The Catwoman side character is well done, and I hope to see much more of that in the third installment of the series. Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Finally......I get to be batman! This is the game you have been waiting for ever since you saw your first batman movie. Great story, amazing game play, and you will never get bored.
  18. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Their is no question arkham city is one of the best games of all time for me it was the game of the year in 2011 and the story is one of the best stories i have played in recent memory and the joker voiced by mark hamill is an incredible villian and he kept me entertained the entire game
  19. May 8, 2013
    5
    I just downloaded this recently when it hit Xbox live market; I am already at 100% and working on the "harder" replay of the game you unlock. I can see already that this game has very little replay value other than occasionally trolling around beating up thugs and fantasizing that I am, in reality, capable of being like Batman. As a fan of the character, I expect better.

    This game isn't
    I just downloaded this recently when it hit Xbox live market; I am already at 100% and working on the "harder" replay of the game you unlock. I can see already that this game has very little replay value other than occasionally trolling around beating up thugs and fantasizing that I am, in reality, capable of being like Batman. As a fan of the character, I expect better.

    This game isn't terrible, and I can tell a lot of work went into it. However, it seems like they couldn't decide whether they were making a game for adults or for children, and tried to split hairs. It's like like they went half "dark knight" and half cartoony Batman... The story-writing and clever humor throughout the game are pretty good, but the combat mechanics are often unresponsive or too impractical; the camera angles make precise control difficult no matter what setting you use; the enemies take unrealistic amounts of damage. The game uses high health enemies and sheer numbers to make it "hard", and it feels stupid to be fighting a large crowd of "common thugs" who can apparently take 20 or 30 Batman punches before going night-night. (I understand the game wants you to master combos, but seriously?) Sometimes the game forces a certain action or gadget use when other more obvious routes should have been available to batman (having to use a zipline or remote control batarang by being prevented from gliding, grappling, swimming, climbing, or any other action Batman is normally capable of).

    Everything is hidden, even stupid simple objectives like payphones are deliberately placed in hard to reach spots so as to run down any timers associated with a mission. The supporting characters play very minor roles- why does Catwoman make more of an appearance than Robin? Why is Nightwing nowhere in the campaign? Why are there 50 thousand ridler trophies; all I know is if I find them all the Riddler had best show up as a secret fight or I will be angry.

    The biggest killer is that there is little to do at endgame other than to fight and collect trophies. The challenge modes are ok, but I would rather play Special Ops in that case if anyone knows what I am saying. It is too late now to worry about any major expansions, but I hope the developers work on these things for the next Arkham game; it is too common to see developers getting comfortable with subpar output when they know the game has a dedicated fanbase that largely supports anything with the logo on it. This game is in no way a 10.
    Expand
  20. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    I don't often dish out praise like this, but this game is phenomenal. Everything that was good about Arkham Asylum is back and, somehow, even better. Like it's predecessor, AC's core gameplay balances combat, stealth, exploration, and detective skills perfectly. In addition, Arkham City offers a lot of cool new gadgets, tougher enemies, and a way bigger sandbox to play in. I've beenI don't often dish out praise like this, but this game is phenomenal. Everything that was good about Arkham Asylum is back and, somehow, even better. Like it's predecessor, AC's core gameplay balances combat, stealth, exploration, and detective skills perfectly. In addition, Arkham City offers a lot of cool new gadgets, tougher enemies, and a way bigger sandbox to play in. I've been playing this game for over a month, and I'm still enjoying it (an extreme rarity, due in part to the lack of original ideas new games offer, and in part to my own short attention span). I'm actually finding it hard to find anything to complain about. The only thing that comes to mind is that Rocksteady may have gone a bit overboard on the Riddler challenges this time (440?!), as I'm still not done finding them all. I do wish that the refresh rate on the smoke pellet was a bit quicker, and that it had it's own quick-button combination (when under fire, you can simply hit Y, but when facing any other enemies you have to manually select it and hit LT+RB to drop it). Other reviews I've read have complained about the boss battles being too easy, but I actually had a tough time with both Mr. Freeze and Two-Face (for the latter, the endlessly spawning henchmen is a bit of a cop-out, Rocksteady). Other than that, it would have been nice to free-roam as Robin or Nightwing, but this is not a big deal.

    I recommend Arkham City for anyone who likes action-adventure games, stealth-based combat games, or games based on comic books. If you enjoyed Arkham Asylum, you will absolutely love Arkham City. If you never played AA, you missed out on an awesome game, but AC is great place to jump back in. The only question now is where will Rocksteady take Batman next...?
    Expand
  21. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    In 2009, Rocksteady Studios released the critically acclaimed hit Batman: Arkham Asylum and in doing so set the gold standard by which all superhero games hence forth would be compared to.

    Now, just over two years later, the developer has released the next chapter in their Batman saga, Batman: Arkham City. After promising to improve an already impressive first effort, does Arkham City
    In 2009, Rocksteady Studios released the critically acclaimed hit Batman: Arkham Asylum and in doing so set the gold standard by which all superhero games hence forth would be compared to.

    Now, just over two years later, the developer has released the next chapter in their Batman saga, Batman: Arkham City. After promising to improve an already impressive first effort, does Arkham City deliver high-flying thrills and a gripping tale, or would it fall victim to the dreaded sophomore slump syndrome?

    Taking place six months after the events which occurred in Arkham Asylum, Arkham City drops you in the middle of a city-turned-prison on the brink of total chaos. Donning the legendary cape and cowl, you, playing as Batman, are immediately thrown into the turmoil and tasked with getting to the bottom of whatâ
    Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Just completed 100% the game and Riddler challenges and WOW.. Such a fantastic game! Easily as good as Arkham Asylum if not better. I kinda thought there was less stealth and gadget progression this time around, seemed to be a tad more fighting, but honestly the quotas between stealth, combat, exploration and puzzle solving were about the same. Wished the main story and side missions hadJust completed 100% the game and Riddler challenges and WOW.. Such a fantastic game! Easily as good as Arkham Asylum if not better. I kinda thought there was less stealth and gadget progression this time around, seemed to be a tad more fighting, but honestly the quotas between stealth, combat, exploration and puzzle solving were about the same. Wished the main story and side missions had been a bit longer too. Some of the side story villain missions seemed to cut a bit short. Also I have to say how unhappy I am with the Catwoman content unlock pass. I think that really wasn't necessary and it annoyed me a lot that I couldn't share the full content of this game with family members, or that in the future if my profile ever becomes compromised, I may not be able to access the Catwoman content at all. At the very least a PC style revoke tool should have been implemented so that we can move the content to different profiles and xboxs if we encounter problems. And don't believe it doesn't happen, my brother lost his profile to hackers and lost all of his GS and purchased DLC. But apart from that I thoroughly I enjoyed this game and would recommend it to any gamer, even if they aren't a Bats fan. Fantastic game. Congrats to the developers. Expand
  23. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    There aren't too many words to say about this game apart from, BUY THIS GAME!!! THE GREATEST BATMAN GAME EVER MADE!!! Just you wait till next summer, we might just have the greatest Batman movie ever made, the way things are shaping up anyway!!!
  24. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    This was a fun, single player game that retained all the best from Arkham Asylum and added a few new tricks!. This game sports a much bigger world to explore and a great environment that make the game seem endless. The riddler trophies are much harder to acquire and there are no riddler maps (you interrogate informants instead). If you are an achievement hunter, you will be in for theThis was a fun, single player game that retained all the best from Arkham Asylum and added a few new tricks!. This game sports a much bigger world to explore and a great environment that make the game seem endless. The riddler trophies are much harder to acquire and there are no riddler maps (you interrogate informants instead). If you are an achievement hunter, you will be in for the long haul!! There are 440 riddler trophies/challenges in the game to complete plus over 150 riddler challenges that stand alone outside the game. Further, to get 100% complete you must play through the game twice and complete all the side missions (some of which are incredibly annoying to find). For all casual gamers and fans of the batman comics this is a must play! Numerous villains, catwoman, and robin all make appearances in the game! Expand
  25. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This game is one or maybe the best game for this generation that I've played.

    Why? Easy answer, I can´t stop playing and playing and playing again. The most games that I've played on this generation, are worst or better, but I can play for more than 1 o 2 hours. I can´t leave my pad playing batman. The graphics, the voices, the sound, the story, the alternative
    This game is one or maybe the best game for this generation that I've played.

    Why? Easy answer, I can´t stop playing and playing and playing again. The most games that I've played on this generation, are worst or better, but I can play for more than 1 o 2 hours.

    I can´t leave my pad playing batman. The graphics, the voices, the sound, the story, the alternative missions, all the entire game its really nice.

    You can´t get bored because all of the missions and alternative missions are spectacular, not like other games that are silly alternative missions.

    Playing this game, you are Batman, you can fell yourself as Batman!.
    Expand
  26. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    Like the Uncharted series, these games aren't just video games, they're almost interactive films, with fantastic voice acting, graphics and an engaging story. I find the direction they have gone with the depiction of Batman in these games to be even grittier and perhaps more mentally unstable than the Christopher Nolan films, which are well known for their dark approach to the dark knight.Like the Uncharted series, these games aren't just video games, they're almost interactive films, with fantastic voice acting, graphics and an engaging story. I find the direction they have gone with the depiction of Batman in these games to be even grittier and perhaps more mentally unstable than the Christopher Nolan films, which are well known for their dark approach to the dark knight. The single player campaign is well paced with the catwoman missions and interesting side missions and when the game comes to an end you will have also collected a number of collectibles and arena missions that can be attempted with batman and also catwoman and robin depending on what DLC you have. Which leads me to the negatives, apart from the short single player and the surprisingly small city, the catwoman and robin DLC not being included on the disc is just a huge annoyance and it is becoming ridiculous, although I know its not the fault of the developer. At the end of the game, a hardcore mode is unlocked, however i didn't particularly want to play it again, as the gameplay can become somewhat repetitive at the end and as the game is story driven and once all of the secrets have been told they don't have the same impact. The arena mode was a nice time waster, but overall i felt that i'd payed £40 for a very enjoyable but very short adventure. For this reason i just couldn't stretch to giving the game a 9 and i'll award it a very high 8/10 Expand
  27. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    I love this game! I can't even begin to think of how much time I have put into Arkham City already, and there is plenty more to do! The open environment, great storyline, rich content. This game has it all, and is so much fun. The only gripe I have is that if I am downloading something and start this game, when the download is finished in the background, you will get bounced back to theI love this game! I can't even begin to think of how much time I have put into Arkham City already, and there is plenty more to do! The open environment, great storyline, rich content. This game has it all, and is so much fun. The only gripe I have is that if I am downloading something and start this game, when the download is finished in the background, you will get bounced back to the main menu. Other than that it rocks! Possibly Game of the Year in my book. Expand
  28. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham City doesn't just do Batman justice, it does him perfection. From the incredible story, to the fully realized open world of Arkham City, Batman has never looked nor played so well, and this game truly shows it. Rocksteady Studios has once again outdone themselves, best they move on to Superman now.
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    It's Batman. In Gotham City (At least a large part of it) And it has Mark Hamill's swan song (seemingly) of the Clown Prince of Crime. If you love video games, if you love comic video games, and most of all, if you love the goddam batman, than I don't need to explain why this game is so damn good, just see for yourself. BUY IT.
  30. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    As a huge Batman fan, it's possible to say I am a little biased into liking this game more than I should, but it should help to know the only reason I am a Batman fan is Batman: Arkham Asylum. Before that game I had a lingering curiosity for Batman comics and like everyone else enjoyed the old movies as a kid and now greatly enjoy the Chris Nolan Batman movies.

    After Arkham Asyulm I was
    As a huge Batman fan, it's possible to say I am a little biased into liking this game more than I should, but it should help to know the only reason I am a Batman fan is Batman: Arkham Asylum. Before that game I had a lingering curiosity for Batman comics and like everyone else enjoyed the old movies as a kid and now greatly enjoy the Chris Nolan Batman movies.

    After Arkham Asyulm I was hooked. So when Arkham City was announced, there was very little to keep me from squealing like a school girl. The few weeks before it's release the sinking feeling crept into me, what if its not good? What if it contains a similar lack luster ending? Well now that it here and I have played it for a week I can safely say, This is single handedly the best game I have played all year and a glorious follow up to 2009's Arkham Asylum.

    Every aspect has been improved upon. Combat now flawlessly incorporates gadgets and new combo moves while feeling as fluid as ever. The player starts with just about every gadget from the first game and is able to upgrade them throughout. By the end, every gadget has multiple functions and juggling which way to tackle a new objective or puzzle is dependent on your knowledge of your equipment.

    Stealth action is back and can now be even more challenging than the extreme challenge maps from the first game without feeling frustrating. A player could get through the entire game relying on tactics from the first game, but new gadgets and moves make combat and stealth much more exciting and diverse.

    While the story missions are the primary draw and are given a great deal of effort and detail, its the side missions that really shine. Anyone who blows through the main game and skips the side missions are really missing out. They encompass everything from investigating a serial killer, to tracking an assassin, and working with former enemies. Fans of the comics will get the most out of these missions as they contain debuts of lesser known Batman villains. But non-comic readers will also enjoy these as they may also contain hints about possible sequels.

    On to the story. While the side missions tend to focus on one Bat-villain each, the story is packed so full of foes you would think they would be stepping on each others toes. But each villain has a purpose. Some might find these cameos not as fleshed out as they should be. A few well known villains are given very little screen time, But I think each character is handled expertly. Only being involved in the story in a natural way, never feeling jammed in or forced.

    What really pulls it all together is the voice acting. As usual Mark Hamill's Joker steals the show. But other voice actors from the Animated Series make their way in. Kevin Conroy continues to prove that he is the greatest actor to don the cape and cowl. Even the original Mr. Freeze voice actor returns adding a chilling calmness to my personal favorite villain in the game. The 5000 character limit isn't enough to go into detail about how great every character featured in the game is, but if there is one more worth mentioning it is the Riddler. After his defeat in Arkham Asylum Edward Nigma is back with a vendetta against the Bat. He now less resembles Jim Carrey's Riddler from the movies and is more reminiscent of Jigsaw.

    The first game contained Riddler trophies and riddles adding up to a whoping 240 collectibles. Well Rocksteady upped the ante with a staggering 460 trophies, riddles, and breakable objects. And each trophy is no easy snatch-and-grab affair. They are all part of some puzzle that needs to be solved before claiming your prize. Each trophy I came across felt like a portal puzzle only instead of only orange or blue, I had a utility belt full of possible solutions. Not to take into account that I may not have acquired the necessary gadget to solve the puzzle.

    The climax of the game is where words cease to be able to convey its quality. If the ending was the first games greatest shortcoming, then the ending is the sequel's crowning achievement. It would be unfair for me to try to explain, as words fall short of how to describe the final minutes before the credits roll. So I won't, but I urge every single person who calls themselves a gamer or a Batman fan to play this game.

    So far Batman: Arkham City is easily my top choice for game of the year. It encompasses the best aspects of every other GOTY contenders. Portal 2's puzzles, Uncharted 3's action adventure and great story telling, L.A. Noire's character detail and voice performance all while tying it up in a neat Batman bow. Don't mistake my meaning for this being some kind of Frankenstein monster of gaming. These are just the best aspects of the great games this year, just all done in one game.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    95
    Improved gameplay, new mechanics, and an even stronger story denote whether you care about Batman or not, it's still a game worthy of your time. With some easter eggs possibly hinting at plots for a third game, let's hope Rocksteady isn't quite done with the Dark Knight.
  2. games(TM)
    Dec 1, 2011
    90
    Arkham City handles its side-stories gloriously. [Christmas 2011, p.102]
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.