Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 594 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by WB Games Montreal, Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two critically acclaimed games of the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City's most dangerous criminals, the game showcases a young and unrefined Batman as he faces a defining moment in his early career as a crime fighter that sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. As the story unfolds, players will meet many important characters for the first time and forge key relationships. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. 92
    A brilliant prequel story that retains the high standards of the series to date, Batman: Arkham Origins is a superlative third instalment that perfectly embodies the spirit of DC's darkest and most enduring hero. The Dark Knight rises once again, and he kicks ass.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    86
    Arkham Origins is a fantastic game, and one that is worthy of the Arkham legacy, but that being said, one can’t help but feel that WB Games Montreal played this one safe. They relied on the strength of Rocksteady’s rock-solid foundation, and simply applied new coats of paint and some extra decorations that weren’t there before.
  3. 80
    It's a case of more of the same, but with such good source material this isn't a bad thing. [Issue#105, p.87]
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    However, in the midst of solving crimes while exploring Gotham, it's impossible to ignore some annoying issues. Firstly, there are bugs.
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    Arkham Origins isn't the next great Batman game but rather a competent rehash of Rocksteady's two entries. While it's filled with more flaws and familiarity than I'd like, it's still the third best Batman game the medium's ever seen.
  6. 70
    Batman: Arkham Origins doesn’t seem to realize its true potential, and because of it, falls short.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    20
    I really can’t figure out why this game exists other than the desire to cash in on the work done by Rocksteady. The combat isn’t as good, the story is weak and meaningless, all tension drained from it because we know that nothing bad happens to anyone as they’re all around in Arkham Asylum, and the gadgets are either exactly the same or have the barest of cosmetic differences to distinguish them from previous games’ gadgets.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 179
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    This game is great. Sure it didnt break new ground or redefine the genre but i think it set out to do what it was made for. That is treat its source material with respect and deliver quality gameplay at par with its predecessor. Well if the user scores are any indication, its seems batman fans are pretty satisfied. Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Lets be honest Arkham origins isn't as good as Arkham asylum or Arkham city but did anyone expect it to be, Rocksteady made the first ever good Batman game with AA and then made a masterpiece with AC so WB montreal had HUGE shoes to fill and for the most part they they did a very good job, i feel the only real negative is the open world, when out on the streets it feels lifeless there's nothing to do basically but fight thugs and destroy riddlers stuff (no question marks in this game cause he isn't known as riddler yet) but once your back on the critical path following the story it's right on par with AA & AC plus the story itself is extremely good at times surpassing AC in the setup, if i were to just rate this based on the story aspect i would give it a 10 but to review a game u need the whole package so based AO as a whole i give it a 9... it's not rocksteady but even when we get only half a Batman game it's still awesome. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Batman: Arkham Origins, the game has a beautiful old style feel with amazing cut scenes and brilliant voice acting. It gives a powerful feeling like you are in control of every situation and he crime scene investigation is breathe taking, the well designed mode gives a almost Sherlock Holmes affect with narrated description of what is happening and I don't think I could possibly love it any more than I do. The similar controls to Batman: Arkham City means that if you had the old game it still flows nicely but if this is your first game you can pick it up quickly. I have personally found a few bugs such as a slightly glitching cape and occasionally the combat will collide with solid objects surrounding it, saying that the type of game it is I can understand a small glitch like that and it doesn't put me off at all. I think if you love the genre or the Batman games then this game will be perfect for you, if your not really into either of those then watch a couple of YouTube reviews because I definitely would say this game is worth looking into. I think this game has done the series proud with its new flashy menu and clever story line I don't think there is much they could do to improve. (Bar the really dodgy voice acting for Penguin and Tracy's English accents) Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    While it is fun to once again play as Batman, Origins is lacking compared to the other games in the series. It is great to see how people react to Batman when no one knows who he is but it is not so fun when your game crashes 4 times, a boss battle bugs out and becomes impossible to complete and to put the frosting on the cake, corrupted save file, forcing me to start all over again. Which I am not going to do. I wish I could have enjoyed this game more but when I spent a large amount of time turning it off because it crashed, I simply cannot. Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    6
    why does deathstroke have to have so much freaking life he is by far the most irritating aggravating complicated villain ever... fighting him makes me want to take my controller and throw straight through my tv in hopes of killing him!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  7. Ape
    Feb 26, 2014
    0
    Trash. Game is a blatant copy of Arkham City while limiting your essential game play mechanics in an artificial attempt at making the city feel bigger than you. Hopefully rocksteady comes back for the next installment otherwise the series is dead to me. Expand

See all 179 User Reviews