Batman: Arkham Origins Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 670 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by WB Games Montreal, Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two critically acclaimed games of the franchise. Taking placeDeveloped by WB Games Montreal, Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two critically acclaimed games of the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City's most dangerous criminals, the game showcases a young and unrefined Batman as he faces a defining moment in his early career as a crime fighter that sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. As the story unfolds, players will meet many important characters for the first time and forge key relationships. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    92
    A brilliant prequel story that retains the high standards of the series to date, Batman: Arkham Origins is a superlative third instalment that perfectly embodies the spirit of DC's darkest and most enduring hero. The Dark Knight rises once again, and he kicks ass.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    86
    Arkham Origins is a fantastic game, and one that is worthy of the Arkham legacy, but that being said, one can’t help but feel that WB Games Montreal played this one safe. They relied on the strength of Rocksteady’s rock-solid foundation, and simply applied new coats of paint and some extra decorations that weren’t there before.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 7, 2013
    80
    It's a case of more of the same, but with such good source material this isn't a bad thing. [Issue#105, p.87]
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    However, in the midst of solving crimes while exploring Gotham, it's impossible to ignore some annoying issues. Firstly, there are bugs.
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    Arkham Origins isn't the next great Batman game but rather a competent rehash of Rocksteady's two entries. While it's filled with more flaws and familiarity than I'd like, it's still the third best Batman game the medium's ever seen.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    70
    Batman: Arkham Origins doesn’t seem to realize its true potential, and because of it, falls short.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    20
    I really can’t figure out why this game exists other than the desire to cash in on the work done by Rocksteady. The combat isn’t as good, the story is weak and meaningless, all tension drained from it because we know that nothing bad happens to anyone as they’re all around in Arkham Asylum, and the gadgets are either exactly the same or have the barest of cosmetic differences to distinguish them from previous games’ gadgets.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 193
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it mayPlayed 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This might be the most underrated game of 2013.
    Better than Arkham City in story and Combat and Arkham Asylum with the incredible new
    This might be the most underrated game of 2013.
    Better than Arkham City in story and Combat and Arkham Asylum with the incredible new gameplay.
    Simply one of the best Superhero games of all time.
    Expand
  3. May 19, 2015
    9
    While it's not quite the origin story the name implies we get to see Batman in his earlier years as a hero. Relationships are just beingWhile it's not quite the origin story the name implies we get to see Batman in his earlier years as a hero. Relationships are just being formed between allies, villains, and the city itself. It seems weird that Batman knows so much about certain villains that he is meeting for the first time, and he's not quite as inexperienced as you might expect, but there are moments of growth for the character here. Elements of the world that made up the previous games that take place later on down the timeline are just starting to come to fruition. It's a pretty satisfying prequel story.

    From a gameplay standpoint not much is new. The same great combat and traversal are present. It's not much new, but the excellent main and side content means that it's still a lot of fun. There are some new items in Batman's arsenal. Shock gloves beef up combat making you feel like an even more unstoppable crime fighting machine. Detective vision now allows Batman to recreate crime scenes in order to tell what happened. They are both really cool new additions, but it seems odd that Batman wouldn't be using these tools later on in his career. I get that this is a sequel and that new tools are to be expected, but it is kind of odd that this prequel story uses tech that isn't seen later on. Oh well, I'm not complaining too much. They just make the game more fun.

    Another new addition is that this is the first Arkham game with multiplayer. It's basically just two groups of villains going head to head while Batman and Robin stalk from the shadows. Playing as a superhero is exactly like the campaign and playing a goon is your standard 3rd person shooter. It never really hooked me, but the only real issue I have with it is that it seems a bit unbalanced. Playing as one of the very mortal heroes against other players with guns isn't quite fair. Still there are ways to win as a hero by using stealth and quick thinking, but you are going to have your work cut out for you. I personally don't think the multiplayer mode is worth much.

    The single-player content more than makes up for that though. It's a welcome return to the "Arkham" universe. While the developers don't do much to expand on Rocksteady's work they make another rfine game in the series. There's plenty of content to keep you coming back to the story mode thanks to a lot of side-content and the new game + and "I Am the Night" modes. There are plenty of reasons to step back into Batman's cowl.

    I give "Batman: Arkham Origins" a 9.4/10.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    This game is good for a prequel. Could it have done more? Yes. Is it better than Arkham Asylum or Arkham City? No. But it gets the job done.This game is good for a prequel. Could it have done more? Yes. Is it better than Arkham Asylum or Arkham City? No. But it gets the job done. Graphics are good but when two characters are talking their lips don't really match what they say. Thats the only problem i had. Pretty decent campaign and the multiplayer is actually pretty fun. Overall good game. Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    7
    Having played and enjoyed Arkham Asylum for its mood and great character presentation I felt that Arkham City was an unfocused let down inHaving played and enjoyed Arkham Asylum for its mood and great character presentation I felt that Arkham City was an unfocused let down in comparison. And unfortunately I have to say the same thing about Arkham Origins. The concept no longer fresh or expanded upon, they're still doing the exact same things that was done in Arkham Asylum. But this team lacks the intricate understanding of the characters, and how to create atmosphere that made AA so great. It is a harsh verdict but I can't bring myself to see this as anything but a "casual cash-in". Go and replay Arkham Asylum instead, by far the best game in the series. Collapse
  6. emw
    Nov 30, 2015
    6
    I am a huge fan of the Batman games - Arkham Asylum and Arkham City. This game fell short. I have never played a video game that had as manyI am a huge fan of the Batman games - Arkham Asylum and Arkham City. This game fell short. I have never played a video game that had as many glitches as this game. After finishing the main story, I encountered a corrupt save issue. This was annoying given that I wanted to finish a few of the side quests. Now I am forced to put the game on the shelf (unless I want to play through the game again). That's a frightening thought. While reading a few of the forums, it sounds like the corrupt save is a common problem. WB released this game far too soon. Enemies would get stuck in walls. Save points didn't always bring you back to the most recent save. Other times it would bring you back but not allow you to activate a switch that you needed to activate to progress. Oh the list goes on. Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    This game is a waste of time and money. I am sick of hearing my gf go on and on and on about absolute Enigma this Enigma that just shhhhht.This game is a waste of time and money. I am sick of hearing my gf go on and on and on about absolute Enigma this Enigma that just shhhhht. I usually don't mind watching the Batman games but this one is a crock of crap!! I would prefer playing in feces. Expand

See all 193 User Reviews