Battlefield 1943 Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 142

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveLeverton
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    This is basically a cut down version of a full battlefield title, with the full frostbite engine which was used for Bad Company without a single player campaign. It may only have 3 maps (4 when 43 million kills have been registered) but the ranking system will keep the game fresh for months to come for me.
    For the price you can't argue... i think its around £9 which is a
    This is basically a cut down version of a full battlefield title, with the full frostbite engine which was used for Bad Company without a single player campaign. It may only have 3 maps (4 when 43 million kills have been registered) but the ranking system will keep the game fresh for months to come for me.
    For the price you can't argue... i think its around £9 which is a steal! If you liked any of the battlefields before this then it is just as good only without the campaign.
    Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    This game is a remake of the old game, battlefield 1942. There is a level progression but only 3 classes. This game is good but gets boring fast. whicg is why if you are reading this at this point you should get battlefield bad company 2. Much better game.
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    This game was great and definitely worth the cheap price tag. I've gotten many hours of enjoyment out of this game. The only complaints were that the game was EXTREMELY laggy online when I first played. It since seems to have been fixed however, so that's not an issue anymore. Another complaint is that there are not enough maps to choose from. Overall though, a most enjoyable gameThis game was great and definitely worth the cheap price tag. I've gotten many hours of enjoyment out of this game. The only complaints were that the game was EXTREMELY laggy online when I first played. It since seems to have been fixed however, so that's not an issue anymore. Another complaint is that there are not enough maps to choose from. Overall though, a most enjoyable game available for a low price. Worth a purchase. Expand
  4. DustinG
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Best game on 360. Hands Down. Blows away Call of Duty games.
  5. SteveR
    Jul 28, 2009
    1
    After an abortive attempt to play BF1943 on the day of release, (where I ended up playing the tutorial all night), I went back to it this evening and invested a few hours. I can only say that I bitterly regret wasting those hours of my life as I found it to be the worst experience I've had on an Xbox 360 - the controls felt like I was trying to run up a down escalator...through glue After an abortive attempt to play BF1943 on the day of release, (where I ended up playing the tutorial all night), I went back to it this evening and invested a few hours. I can only say that I bitterly regret wasting those hours of my life as I found it to be the worst experience I've had on an Xbox 360 - the controls felt like I was trying to run up a down escalator...through glue and the targeting / hit recognition was terrible. Unless I've been extraordinarily unlucky on around 50 or so consectutive headshot attempts, I've sniped people directly in the face from mid to long range, only for them to shrug it off like I was flicking them with a wet towel / handful of daisies / a stick of candy floss. And then they brutally machine gun me to death / snipe me once in my little toe and kill me outright. I thought that was bad, but then decided to have a try at flying again after darkly muttering my way through the tutorial on the night of release. Let me just say that I can't adequately express how fucking atrocious these controls are. I've you've ever played any kind of flight sim or have been lucky enough to fly a real plane, the controls are totally counter-intuitive and suck any element of fun you might have expected out of the experience. Regardless of how you set up the controls for flight you're lucky if you manage to find the fucking island the action is unfolding upon before you're blown of of the sky... I can't see me ever returning to this steaming pile of shite and really feel as though EA have violated me in some perverse and dirty way. To think I spunked 1200 MS points on this pile of tripe makes me feel physically ill. I knew there was a valid reason why I usually wait for demos before spending my MS points... I'd just like to add that I played BF1942 and BF2 to death on the PC and whilst the controls were never the best, I could live with them. This on the other hand is unbelievably bad. What I can't understand is why there are so many people out there who apparently love the game... On a happier note, I downloaded Monkey Island and Worms for my iPhone this evening and loved them. And the pair cost less than this pile of dung. Expand
  6. NathanW
    Jul 8, 2009
    4
    Poor game play, unbearable controls and the frostbite engine is nothing to be impressed about and average graphics.
  7. IanC
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    Flawless online experience??? Says who? Matchmaking with friends? Proof perfect that 'anonymous' hasn't actually played this, the matchmaking with friends hasn't worked since day one and still doesn't. $15 only it may be, but I've had $0 dollars worth of play out of it as NOTHING WORKS. I can't join a game on my own for more than a few minutes, I Flawless online experience??? Says who? Matchmaking with friends? Proof perfect that 'anonymous' hasn't actually played this, the matchmaking with friends hasn't worked since day one and still doesn't. $15 only it may be, but I've had $0 dollars worth of play out of it as NOTHING WORKS. I can't join a game on my own for more than a few minutes, I can't join with friends, I can't join friends who are in a game... Seriously, until this thing works I'd rather like my money back. Avoid until the issues are fixed, I'm sure there's a great game in there but I sure as hell can't see it yet. Expand
  8. NextelH
    Jul 24, 2009
    2
    This game is utter trash, in which every feature sounds great, but in practise turns out to be a long drawn out borefest. There are only three classes in which you'll find soon enough that only one of them is worth playing. This game got old after about two hours. Arcade game or not, I want my money back.
  9. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    People are still playing the online multiplayer DEMO for this arcade game to this day... that alone should tell you this is a smart purchase, lol. You can easily sink hours upons hours into this game. Definitely good bang for your buck.
  10. ConnorP.
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    all of the animations are breathtaking and really makes you feel like you are there. the scream of the planes and the bombing runs intensifies the battles. however when lag strikes you want to be nowhere near it. also with only 3 classes gameplay may feel limited to older battlefield fans.
  11. EvanT
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    This game is by far one of the best values for my money ive ever seen in a game. Fallout 3 expansions cost $10 but only provide 5-6 more hours of play while this $15 game has already provided me with 34 hours of fun nonstop entertainment. The very first time you start a match and launch in off the aircraft carrier was an experience ive never felt from a game before. If you like shooters, This game is by far one of the best values for my money ive ever seen in a game. Fallout 3 expansions cost $10 but only provide 5-6 more hours of play while this $15 game has already provided me with 34 hours of fun nonstop entertainment. The very first time you start a match and launch in off the aircraft carrier was an experience ive never felt from a game before. If you like shooters, you will like this game. Expand
  12. AnttiL
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    Best XBLA game so far. It's a great idea to make online-only game, because everyone who gets a XBLA game, has Live too. Great graphics, better than in most full priced games. It's simplified in many ways, but it's extremely well balanced. No class or vehicle is overpowered. The destruction is great, I was worried that the battlefield would be totally flat in the end of the Best XBLA game so far. It's a great idea to make online-only game, because everyone who gets a XBLA game, has Live too. Great graphics, better than in most full priced games. It's simplified in many ways, but it's extremely well balanced. No class or vehicle is overpowered. The destruction is great, I was worried that the battlefield would be totally flat in the end of the round, but that never happens. You're too busy shooting the enemy to level down terrain. It's really a great game and I hope they release a few DLC extra maps, I would definitely biy them. Expand
  13. BrandonF
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    The server problems seemed to be fixed. I've had no problem connecting to a match. BF:1943 is simply the best XBLA release to date. With enough interest EA will release DLC which can only extend the playability of an already good use of your 15$. When it comes down to price per hour of play this title will smoke most full retail games. A must buy.
  14. SeanC.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Much better than BF:BC. Even though there is a lack of a campaign or many maps, the great value and replayability is worth it.
  15. LiamW.
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    Fantastic. easily the best arcade game ever. this game provides are very satisfying and complete experience even though its an arcade game and for only 1200 ms points. love the air superiority game mode especially now matchmaking speed has been massively increased.
  16. TheSaltAustralia
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    Those of you preaching about how this game isnt a proper BF experience etc. You are tripping. This is a combination between BF2MC & BadCompany, with all the frustrating elements of BadCompany no longer present. I hated BadCompany, and was not overly impressed with my first impressions of this game, was not impressed by the tanks lack of splash damage, struggled with the SMG - but then Those of you preaching about how this game isnt a proper BF experience etc. You are tripping. This is a combination between BF2MC & BadCompany, with all the frustrating elements of BadCompany no longer present. I hated BadCompany, and was not overly impressed with my first impressions of this game, was not impressed by the tanks lack of splash damage, struggled with the SMG - but then made a switch to the RIFLEMAN class which is one of the best BF classes ever made. The game's depth & charm has grown on me constantly. I'm a seasoned BF player on consoles, and regarded as one of the best tankers in the game - not many games have been able to compare to BF2 Modern Combat - but this one does in its own unique way. Its the hottest game on the xbox right now. If anyone says any different they dont know games or gaming at all. Give the game more time, and rewarded it for what it does. All the major BF console clans are taking this game very seriously. This game is big...and fantastic signs for whats to come with BadCompany 2. GO BUY THIS GAME NOW! Expand
  17. mikesid
    Jul 8, 2009
    6
    its pretty good, but bad company is cheaper than this now, has many more maps, including 2 extra free map packs, better weapons, better vehicles, & is more fun. the graphics may look cleaner now, but are actually less detailed. i do like the idea of releasing what DICE admitted is basically a tech demo on live arcade, but i kinda wish id saved my cash to put towards bad company 2, which isits pretty good, but bad company is cheaper than this now, has many more maps, including 2 extra free map packs, better weapons, better vehicles, & is more fun. the graphics may look cleaner now, but are actually less detailed. i do like the idea of releasing what DICE admitted is basically a tech demo on live arcade, but i kinda wish id saved my cash to put towards bad company 2, which is out in a few months, & should offer something fresher (i hope!) Expand
  18. danielb.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    This game is a masterpiece and shouldn't be missed out on. the graphics rival retail games and the vehicles do a lot to enhance the game.
  19. AnthonyW
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    An impressive looking game that is loads of fun to play, for a mere 15 bucks!? Almost too good to be true!
  20. FredSanford
    Jul 9, 2009
    4
    Far too many bugs for a console game, Can hardly get connected with friends and this is with friends trying to find a server with open space while i am on one with 7 open slots. Extream lag (and none of the other 5 games I am currently playing have lag). Shoot someone in the head 5 times and they hit you 1 time and you die.
  21. AnonymousMC
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Imersive gameplay and quick fire action. Battlefield sticks to what it knows best based around thier engine and FX, although it appears missed out slightly on blowing up objects/building's with a player in, can be annoying when looking for kills. Good download for the money and a online shooter to be proud of.
  22. MartinR
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    Online FPS at it's best!
    Anyone who see's this game won't believe it's an arcade title for a mere 1200 points! The graphics look great, the new engine adds a whole new tactical element to the game and the ability to control planes, tanks and boats s always a crowd pleaser.
    I'd be very surprised if this didn't win XBLA game of the year.
  23. DanyCBM
    Sep 20, 2009
    7
    Ero molto curioso, dopo aver provato la demo, di comprare il gioco e buttarmi in battaglia. Così ho fatto.
    Le prime ore di gioco le ho passate cercando di capire chi fossi, contro chi dovessi combattere, a chi sparare e a chi no... poi ho capito chi ero e a chi sparare, ma non quali fossero i miei obiettivi! Dopo molte ore di gioco ho inquadrato la situazione iniziando a
    Ero molto curioso, dopo aver provato la demo, di comprare il gioco e buttarmi in battaglia. Così ho fatto.
    Le prime ore di gioco le ho passate cercando di capire chi fossi, contro chi dovessi combattere, a chi sparare e a chi no... poi ho capito chi ero e a chi sparare, ma non quali fossero i miei obiettivi! Dopo molte ore di gioco ho inquadrato la situazione iniziando a divertirmi, ma non levandomi dalla testa che qualche "cheater" (sperando si scriva così) stia infestando i campi di battaglia.
    Insomma, tanto caos ma anche del divertimento con la costante sensazione che io, in questa battaglia, che ci sia o meno, potrò far poco per la mia fazione.
    Expand
  24. [Anonymous]
    Jul 10, 2009
    8
    Pretty entertaining game, and certainly worth the 1200 points. It is not a masterpiece. It is not Battlefield 1942 with better graphics. It is also *not* terrible. Battlefield 1943 is a simplified Battlefield game. Ammo reloads on a timer. To get you into the action immediately, the game will automatically spawn you at the flag closest to the action, though you can still choose where you Pretty entertaining game, and certainly worth the 1200 points. It is not a masterpiece. It is not Battlefield 1942 with better graphics. It is also *not* terrible. Battlefield 1943 is a simplified Battlefield game. Ammo reloads on a timer. To get you into the action immediately, the game will automatically spawn you at the flag closest to the action, though you can still choose where you want to spawn. Vehicles are still there, but don't dominate infantry despite the lower player counts; while they are very useful they're also not impossible for infantry to defeat. AA turrets are scattered about, and the infantry class doubles as an AT class. The maps' layouts have been modified, mostly to take advantage of the greater graphical prowess and destructible environments that the engine affords over 1942's. For instance, water towers and additional structures and trees on Wake. There are also changes which are definitely meant to affect gameplay, such as adding boats to the Wake island to allow people to traverse it more easily, or adding tank traps (Czech hedgehogs) along the beaches to slow down anyone attempting to skirt around a flag without conflict. These changes lend themselves to the game's apparent policy of constant action, with little downtime. They help funnel players into conflicts, so despite the lower player count of this against BF 1942, it never feels like there is a lack of people to shoot. As with almost any Xbox Live game, this is better with friends rather than purely strangers. And with the squad mechanism this is doubly so. As in BF2, you can chat amongst squad members, or spawn off of them. And you can start matchmaking with friends, similar to Halo 3's system, and so join the same game and the same squad right away. There are weird things. Grenades can be thrown a good hundred metres. The reload timer is also far too brief for grenades, though due to the game's hectic pace this actually doesn't end up being as big a problem as it could be. The servers are still completely overloaded right now, so it takes far too long actually get into a game. If you can actually get in a server (hopefully they'll get that fixed soon), this is definitely a game worthy of the $15 price tag. It's great to have a fun, light FPS that can be started right from the console without any discs. Expand
  25. AaronC.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    Excellent game, good pacing, good graphics, great price. The game is loads of fun, and there's no end to the action. The vehicles are well balanced; you never feel like a tank is impossible to destroy, or that an aircraft is too powerful.
  26. DissapointedBattelfieldfan
    Jul 17, 2009
    0
    When I shell out money for something, I expect it to work. if I buy a TV at Best Buy, I take it home and it doesn't work, I can return it for a refund. This is how xbox live should work. What may have been a good quality game now does not matter, as I am completely unable to access this game. It "cannot connect to ea", so therefore my money is wated. This problem persists, I cannot When I shell out money for something, I expect it to work. if I buy a TV at Best Buy, I take it home and it doesn't work, I can return it for a refund. This is how xbox live should work. What may have been a good quality game now does not matter, as I am completely unable to access this game. It "cannot connect to ea", so therefore my money is wated. This problem persists, I cannot play at all seeing as there is no singleplayer, and therefore warrants a refund. If EA hadn't instisted upon using their own crappy servers for this game instead of XBL's servers, this problem would not exist. However, EA is a terrible publisher, and I will now cease to purchase games from them, especially ones that are $15 interactive menus. This "game" is a stinking, festering turd only taking up room on my hardrive. Said from someone who owns and plays every Battlefield game made. Expand
  27. GeorgeJ.
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    For about 15 dollars(1200 microsoft fun points whatever) you can own a great multiplayer experience in which almost no other arcade game can offer. Although to some there might be some few faults with the game like the one only mode conquest and 4 maps 1 of them airplanes only, there is a limitless amount of ways in which you can achieve your goal with the varying 3 classes you have. The For about 15 dollars(1200 microsoft fun points whatever) you can own a great multiplayer experience in which almost no other arcade game can offer. Although to some there might be some few faults with the game like the one only mode conquest and 4 maps 1 of them airplanes only, there is a limitless amount of ways in which you can achieve your goal with the varying 3 classes you have. The graphics are great for an arcade game not to mention 90% of the battlefield is destroyable and deformable. Also you have the fast jeep, powerful tank, airplanes, aa guns, and the bombers all to control, I just wish it had submarines, and controllable battleships like 1942 did. Any way you should at least check out the demo, and if you like it and buy the game your gonna get a lot of bang for your buck. Expand
  28. BrendanM
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    As far as downloadable games go, Battlefield 1943 is near perfect. The game takes the series' signature game-play, and focuses it like a laser. The three available classes are nearly perfectly balanced, and the vehicles are powerful while not seeming to godly. The maps on hand are all great, and each presents unique threats, challenges and strategies. I always found the Battlefield As far as downloadable games go, Battlefield 1943 is near perfect. The game takes the series' signature game-play, and focuses it like a laser. The three available classes are nearly perfectly balanced, and the vehicles are powerful while not seeming to godly. The maps on hand are all great, and each presents unique threats, challenges and strategies. I always found the Battlefield series to be a battle of attrition for n00bs, but 1943 totally rewrites that sentiment for me. I highly recommend this game to shooter fans as well as anyone looking for a game that can easily be picked up, but also has surprising depth. Buy this mofo! Expand
  29. DonnyD.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    An awesome game. High quality at a low price. Let's hope they release more packages like this. Love the destructibility.
  30. PPBB
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    This is a great 15 dollar game. Everyone who is comparing this game to COD4 and COD5 should realize that this game is about one quarter the price, and you get MORE than what you pay for. If you have frineds to play with this game is amazing, a littel less when playing alone, but still good fun.
    Great value , great visuals, great fun FOR ITS 15 dollar price tag.
  31. ChrisN
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    I've never had as many great gaming moments, and hours of entertainment from any other $15 game. So many ways to kill and be killed. I can't think of any arcade game with more bang for your buck.
  32. OliverH
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    1 of the best online experiences on the 360. A really outstanding achievement by DICE. This game was fantastic on the PC and on the 360 there is no exception. If you love a squad/team based fps then i cant recommend this enough and at only 1200points its a steal!
  33. KrassG
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    This game was simply amazing, i have spent hours playing it, why? Because of its simple addictive game play that keeps me coming back for more. And of course im going to compare it to L4D, L4D has great graphics, great sound, but it only has 4 characters and is extremely linear. Whereas Killing Floor as about 10 or so characters, it has several levels that are not linear, both made by the This game was simply amazing, i have spent hours playing it, why? Because of its simple addictive game play that keeps me coming back for more. And of course im going to compare it to L4D, L4D has great graphics, great sound, but it only has 4 characters and is extremely linear. Whereas Killing Floor as about 10 or so characters, it has several levels that are not linear, both made by the developers and made by the players. L4D only has about 8 weapons total, Killing Floor has so many weapons, but im to lazy to name them all, hah. KIlling Floor is a great game, and for the $20 price tag, it is just a better buy for anyone looking for some good ol' co-op shooting action. Expand
  34. BrandynP
    Jul 11, 2009
    7
    I have played every BF game that has ever come out since the original 1942 inception, I just recently picked up BF1943 on my 360 and I am honestly slightly disappointed. I have always been a fan of Battlefield games in general because I love the freedom of play they offer and I also like the variety of maps, classes and vehicles. BF1943 pails in comparison to its granddaddy, as it lacks I have played every BF game that has ever come out since the original 1942 inception, I just recently picked up BF1943 on my 360 and I am honestly slightly disappointed. I have always been a fan of Battlefield games in general because I love the freedom of play they offer and I also like the variety of maps, classes and vehicles. BF1943 pails in comparison to its granddaddy, as it lacks some key elements that made the original and its successors so great. Bf1943 does not have APC's, Submarines, Battleships or the ability to pilot any of the aircraft carriers. The game does however have Tanks, Jeeps, AA guns, Machine gun posts and a barely controllable Air Raid component. I know that ship control is not a necessary component but it was an awesome feature in regards to the original. I loved coordinating the ships around the islands and it was great fun being on a ship someone else was driving and manning the cannons. Nothing was sweeter than sneaking up to a ship with the sub and shoving a torpedo up its butt. The greatest thing about the original idea was there were battles at Land, Air and Sea. BF1943 offers us the ability to fight in the air and on land but the battles at sea have been limited to pea shooter fights with the available patrol boats. The airplanes don't even double up anymore, the free Battlefield Heroes at least lets 2 people sit on the wings! Bf1943 only comes with 3 maps and one mode of play, this is a serious misstep as many fans didn't even play the conquest mode let alone for the whole time they played the game. If you are a fan of CTF, TDM or Objective, you are out of luck because this game will not satisfy your multiple mode needs. There is a new map that will be unlocked shortly after the community reaches 43 million kills but even that map is airplanes only. I keep thinking that we are all being sold short in regards to BF1943 only because there should be more modes, more content at least for 15 bucks! Everyone states it is such a great deal. Sure, this new BF is one of the best arcade offerings to date but the COD:WAW beta only had 3 maps and that was free, at least for a few months. SO in short, I feel like I am playing an online demo or a beta, but instead I have paid for this product and I somehow feel like I did not get my moneys worth. This game should have come with at least 5 maps, that sounds reasonable for an arcade title as the original BF1942 came with 18 maps and I only paid 59.99 for that title. The thing I do not like about this game is the fact that everyone is stating that this is a "Full Battlefield Experience". I consider this a misrepresentation of this title as it is NOT a full BF experience. If this game was a true BF experience, it would have come with much more options, vehicle control and at least a few more maps and modes. I know we will be seeing more DLC in the future, but I still feel like we have all been had. Hopefully Bad Company 2 will satiate my need for some TRUE BF goodness. Expand
  35. DanJ.
    Jul 17, 2009
    6
    The game feels like it was rushed to be put on Xbox Live. There are a ton of obvious bugs that anyone would find after playing the game for more than 5 minutes. Planes blow up if their wing brushes against the leaf of a tree, tanks explode after being hit by enemy rifles, players easily survive explosions and missiles- there's just too much crap to list. If you can somehow look past The game feels like it was rushed to be put on Xbox Live. There are a ton of obvious bugs that anyone would find after playing the game for more than 5 minutes. Planes blow up if their wing brushes against the leaf of a tree, tanks explode after being hit by enemy rifles, players easily survive explosions and missiles- there's just too much crap to list. If you can somehow look past all of the bugs (which, to me, would be impossible), the rest of the game is moderately fun. The different classes don't seem to have any distinct roles for themselves- it's pretty much just kill people and stand at a flag, but that part is still fun if you work with your team. All in all, this game would be MUCH better if the developers had taken the time to fix up the game before releasing it in this nearly-crippled state. There are better uses for $15, but this game can be fun if you try hard enough to make it fun. Expand
  36. jasongarnham
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    i was cursing this game when i first bought it as i hadent managed to connect to any games for a few days then lo and behold all the issues were sorted out great fun not perfect for for 1200 points is well worth the money while the graphics are not exeptional the gameplay is more like this please.
  37. AlexV.
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    This is a great little gem on the Xbox Live Arcade and for only $15 it's a great value as well. It is a online-only game and is very addicting. Not only is the game fun to play, it looks incredible. While playing it I kept forgetting I was even playing an XBLA game and not an actual disc game. The buildings and terrain is destroyable due to the Frostbite Engine which was used in This is a great little gem on the Xbox Live Arcade and for only $15 it's a great value as well. It is a online-only game and is very addicting. Not only is the game fun to play, it looks incredible. While playing it I kept forgetting I was even playing an XBLA game and not an actual disc game. The buildings and terrain is destroyable due to the Frostbite Engine which was used in Battlefield: Bad Company and that helps when driving vehicles or trying to get to people camping out in buildings. The game is definitely worth the money and I can see it having great replay value especially if DICE releases downloadable content down the road. Expand
  38. AnonymousMC
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Battlefield 1943 is a game that delivers on the most essential element of any quality video game experience: the fun factor. It is not something that should be judged in comparison to previous installments in the long running series. That would be unfair, and entirely contrary to the developers intentions. BF 1943 is an arcade game, and it never attempts to argue otherwise. InfiniteBattlefield 1943 is a game that delivers on the most essential element of any quality video game experience: the fun factor. It is not something that should be judged in comparison to previous installments in the long running series. That would be unfair, and entirely contrary to the developers intentions. BF 1943 is an arcade game, and it never attempts to argue otherwise. Infinite health, ammo, sprint- they're all present. This is not a "hardcore" fps, and I realize how that may disappoint fans of the series. However, if they would only judge the game purely on its own merits, then perhaps they would see the light. And oh what a beautiful, luminescent light it is. The premise of the game is beautifully simple. Set in the chaotic Pacific theater of 1943, two teams (the Americans and Japanese, obviously) duke it out in the ultimate hopes of conquering, or defending, a piece of land. This is accomplished through the capturing of flags, dispersed evenly throughout the three islands (Iwo Jima, Guadalcanal and Wake Island.) A meter at the top of the screen clearly displays the progress of both teams; the side that captures more flags and kills more soldiers will ultimately emerge victorious. That is, however, a boring synopsis of the game. The real fun lies in the methods of killing the enemy, of which there are numerous options. Tanks, planes, rifles, machine guns, snipers, grenade launchers, swords, wrenches; if it was used in WW2, it will most likely be found in BF 1943. The presentation is also superb, especially for an arcade game. The bright sun illuminates the colorful islands and sparkling Pacific waters of Wake Island and Guadalcanal, while the setting sun presents an eery backdrop for Iwo Jima. Bombs, grenades and tank shells explode around you in deadly showers of dirt, gravel and fire while you marvel at their beauty. The quality of audio is unmatched; as planes fly over you, you almost feel an instinctive impulse to duck. The sound of discharged rifle rounds changes when you step into interior settings. As buildings explode near you, you can hear the dirt and stone raining down upon you. It all makes for one hell of an immersive experience. If one fault can be attributed to BF 1943, it is that the three maps eventually begin to lose their initial appeal and ultimately wear on you. I sincerely hope that DICE fully supports this title post-release, for it has the potential to blossom into a thriving online community, with the proper developer support, of course. BF 1943 is beautiful, immersive, addictive, and above all, fun. For the insane price of $15, it cannot, must not, be ignored. This is the future of gaming, my friends. Enjoy. Expand
  39. JohnGO
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    Great game well worth the 1200 points. It's a bit dumbed down but At thesame time it's very fast paced and fun
  40. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    Battlefield 1943 is one of my personal all time favourite games on the 360 and my favourite game in the Battlefield series. For the price this is an astounding game and is almost impossible to differentiate from any regular retail game. The graphics are sharp and the sound is excellent. However, the gamplay is where Battlefield 1943 exceeds. It's the same formula found in any BattlefieldBattlefield 1943 is one of my personal all time favourite games on the 360 and my favourite game in the Battlefield series. For the price this is an astounding game and is almost impossible to differentiate from any regular retail game. The graphics are sharp and the sound is excellent. However, the gamplay is where Battlefield 1943 exceeds. It's the same formula found in any Battlefield game. You're placed on one of two opposing teams, in this case the Americans or the Japanese. You win by capturing flags and reducing the opposing teams tickets to zero. Battlefield 1943 is a must buy for any XBOX Live member. Expand
  41. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    One of the best value Xbox Live arcade games available in the marketplace. The large open maps are perfect for warfare on the land, sea or air. I have never had to wait more than 10 seconds to join a game which impressed me as waiting can be one of the most annoying things in multiplayer gaming.
  42. Mar 19, 2011
    6
    This game was fun for the first 10 games, but it got old fast. There's no depth. It's just the same game type over and over and tanks are over powered.
  43. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    By no means, by me giving this game an 8 does it mean it's incomplete, bad, or it couldn't require a fix. My biggest complaints are snipers are semi useless aside from using C4 as traps, which is like always in a BF game, fun, but the sniper rifles are next to useless all thanks to the Rifleman's stellar accuracy. But the worst complaint of all that halts me from rewarding this game withBy no means, by me giving this game an 8 does it mean it's incomplete, bad, or it couldn't require a fix. My biggest complaints are snipers are semi useless aside from using C4 as traps, which is like always in a BF game, fun, but the sniper rifles are next to useless all thanks to the Rifleman's stellar accuracy. But the worst complaint of all that halts me from rewarding this game with a 9 or even better is the lag. I realize this is an arcade game and it shouldn't be held to a AAA titles standards, but for me paying about $15 every 3 months for XBox LIVE and the amount of deaths I've had over lag (not shooting each other at the same time, I'm talking about the lag where your jumping around everywhere/the enemies jumping around everywhere, or your retracing your steps about 3 times before the lag corrects your movement). If this game had lag spikes once every few 2-4 games, once a round I wouldn't have no complaints. But the fact that I have at least 1 spike every spawn (and no it's not my connection/just my connection). But once you brush your way through the lag, and learn the mechanics you can see the full potential of this game, which is anything but a bad. Expand
  44. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    In my opinion, this game is a great multiplayer game that is definitely worth the microsoft points. It is not to violent, and is a game that you could play for hours on. This is an arcade game that is a definite buy.
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    This is the sort of game that I can truly respect, a completely multiplayer game with a low but very fair price tag, after forking out $90 for Battlefield 3 and finding out only about $40 of it was money well spent (multiplayer was good) it's really good to come across this gem of a game, three maps from the world war II era, a well-balanced three classes and ace vehicular combat, andThis is the sort of game that I can truly respect, a completely multiplayer game with a low but very fair price tag, after forking out $90 for Battlefield 3 and finding out only about $40 of it was money well spent (multiplayer was good) it's really good to come across this gem of a game, three maps from the world war II era, a well-balanced three classes and ace vehicular combat, and Battlefield's brilliant engine, all for under $20, if you have any integrity at all, you'd scoff at the **** that is Battlefield 3 and but this instead, I guarantee the legs on this baby will take you much farther than BF3 ever will Expand
  46. Feb 26, 2012
    3
    This is like a horrible Battlefield clone, except it is actually called Battlefield. Guns aim like bricks, there's zero to unlock/change, and to top it all off, it is no where near the quality you expect with the Battlefield name. Don't bother.
  47. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    This game is a great deal, a low priced game with unlimited fun and great multiplayer it brings back the 1942 formula and makes a great game with destructible environments and modified graphics. Before buying this game though, consider the fact that there is a lot of lag, screen tearing, and team balancing issues that may make your experience less fun. Despite that, Battlefield 1943 is aThis game is a great deal, a low priced game with unlimited fun and great multiplayer it brings back the 1942 formula and makes a great game with destructible environments and modified graphics. Before buying this game though, consider the fact that there is a lot of lag, screen tearing, and team balancing issues that may make your experience less fun. Despite that, Battlefield 1943 is a very good game and something that will deliver hours of fun and entertainment. Expand
  48. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    Not a bad game for the money. I would get BF BC2 instead since its really cheap these days. This game is ok, I had alot of fun playing it before I got BC2. I still play it ever now and then but the controls are a little different so I dont play it much. I would recommend this maybe, but BC2 is better and not much higher in price.
  49. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Great game can't believe only 14 pounds so much fun only problem is that eventually it gets boring with only 3 maps and 3 classes although that is only eventually I mean after AGES
    Also you sometimes get some really annoying people and it is quite hard to mute people as you have to join a squad and if they are then in your squad you are COMPLETELY screwed
  50. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    The gaming gods truly blessed us with this amazing piece of craftsmanship! Great graphics, fun gameplay, and excellent maps. I just wish there were more maps. The 3 available are great but can get repetitive.
  51. Aug 4, 2017
    9
    Battlefield 1943 is a great game. Taking the best parts from the classic BF titles, and from Bad Company that came out a year prior to this, and combining it into a new WWII Battlefield experience on the Frostbite engine. Allowing you to pilot vehicles like Jeeps, Tanks, and Spitfires to destroy buildings, or send the opposing team to the respawn screen. Sure, the gunplay is unrefined andBattlefield 1943 is a great game. Taking the best parts from the classic BF titles, and from Bad Company that came out a year prior to this, and combining it into a new WWII Battlefield experience on the Frostbite engine. Allowing you to pilot vehicles like Jeeps, Tanks, and Spitfires to destroy buildings, or send the opposing team to the respawn screen. Sure, the gunplay is unrefined and looks the same as it does in Bad Company, but it still does the job. If you are struggling to scrape together cash to pick up Battlefield 3 or Bad Company 2, get this game. It's fairly cheap and provides a hugely fun online experience. Expand
  52. Oct 20, 2015
    7
    Fun little game. Not too much to it. Kind of confusing air combat but it was fun to just goof around in. Definitely a game where playing with friends is necessary.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. What you get, really, is Battlefield at its most pure. [Aug 2009, p.71]
  2. GamePro
    90
    With satisfaction always within reach, Battlefield 1943 makes for an addictive online experience. [Aug 2009, p.79]
  3. A perfectly sized, expertly-crafted romp, Pacific gives other download games their marching orders. [Aug 2009, p.97]