User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 136

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SteveR
    Jul 28, 2009
    1
    After an abortive attempt to play BF1943 on the day of release, (where I ended up playing the tutorial all night), I went back to it this evening and invested a few hours. I can only say that I bitterly regret wasting those hours of my life as I found it to be the worst experience I've had on an Xbox 360 - the controls felt like I was trying to run up a down escalator...through glue After an abortive attempt to play BF1943 on the day of release, (where I ended up playing the tutorial all night), I went back to it this evening and invested a few hours. I can only say that I bitterly regret wasting those hours of my life as I found it to be the worst experience I've had on an Xbox 360 - the controls felt like I was trying to run up a down escalator...through glue and the targeting / hit recognition was terrible. Unless I've been extraordinarily unlucky on around 50 or so consectutive headshot attempts, I've sniped people directly in the face from mid to long range, only for them to shrug it off like I was flicking them with a wet towel / handful of daisies / a stick of candy floss. And then they brutally machine gun me to death / snipe me once in my little toe and kill me outright. I thought that was bad, but then decided to have a try at flying again after darkly muttering my way through the tutorial on the night of release. Let me just say that I can't adequately express how fucking atrocious these controls are. I've you've ever played any kind of flight sim or have been lucky enough to fly a real plane, the controls are totally counter-intuitive and suck any element of fun you might have expected out of the experience. Regardless of how you set up the controls for flight you're lucky if you manage to find the fucking island the action is unfolding upon before you're blown of of the sky... I can't see me ever returning to this steaming pile of shite and really feel as though EA have violated me in some perverse and dirty way. To think I spunked 1200 MS points on this pile of tripe makes me feel physically ill. I knew there was a valid reason why I usually wait for demos before spending my MS points... I'd just like to add that I played BF1942 and BF2 to death on the PC and whilst the controls were never the best, I could live with them. This on the other hand is unbelievably bad. What I can't understand is why there are so many people out there who apparently love the game... On a happier note, I downloaded Monkey Island and Worms for my iPhone this evening and loved them. And the pair cost less than this pile of dung. Expand
  2. NathanW
    Jul 8, 2009
    4
    Poor game play, unbearable controls and the frostbite engine is nothing to be impressed about and average graphics.
  3. IanC
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    Flawless online experience??? Says who? Matchmaking with friends? Proof perfect that 'anonymous' hasn't actually played this, the matchmaking with friends hasn't worked since day one and still doesn't. $15 only it may be, but I've had $0 dollars worth of play out of it as NOTHING WORKS. I can't join a game on my own for more than a few minutes, I Flawless online experience??? Says who? Matchmaking with friends? Proof perfect that 'anonymous' hasn't actually played this, the matchmaking with friends hasn't worked since day one and still doesn't. $15 only it may be, but I've had $0 dollars worth of play out of it as NOTHING WORKS. I can't join a game on my own for more than a few minutes, I can't join with friends, I can't join friends who are in a game... Seriously, until this thing works I'd rather like my money back. Avoid until the issues are fixed, I'm sure there's a great game in there but I sure as hell can't see it yet. Expand
  4. NextelH
    Jul 24, 2009
    2
    This game is utter trash, in which every feature sounds great, but in practise turns out to be a long drawn out borefest. There are only three classes in which you'll find soon enough that only one of them is worth playing. This game got old after about two hours. Arcade game or not, I want my money back.
  5. FredSanford
    Jul 9, 2009
    4
    Far too many bugs for a console game, Can hardly get connected with friends and this is with friends trying to find a server with open space while i am on one with 7 open slots. Extream lag (and none of the other 5 games I am currently playing have lag). Shoot someone in the head 5 times and they hit you 1 time and you die.
  6. DissapointedBattelfieldfan
    Jul 17, 2009
    0
    When I shell out money for something, I expect it to work. if I buy a TV at Best Buy, I take it home and it doesn't work, I can return it for a refund. This is how xbox live should work. What may have been a good quality game now does not matter, as I am completely unable to access this game. It "cannot connect to ea", so therefore my money is wated. This problem persists, I cannot When I shell out money for something, I expect it to work. if I buy a TV at Best Buy, I take it home and it doesn't work, I can return it for a refund. This is how xbox live should work. What may have been a good quality game now does not matter, as I am completely unable to access this game. It "cannot connect to ea", so therefore my money is wated. This problem persists, I cannot play at all seeing as there is no singleplayer, and therefore warrants a refund. If EA hadn't instisted upon using their own crappy servers for this game instead of XBL's servers, this problem would not exist. However, EA is a terrible publisher, and I will now cease to purchase games from them, especially ones that are $15 interactive menus. This "game" is a stinking, festering turd only taking up room on my hardrive. Said from someone who owns and plays every Battlefield game made. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2012
    3
    This is like a horrible Battlefield clone, except it is actually called Battlefield. Guns aim like bricks, there's zero to unlock/change, and to top it all off, it is no where near the quality you expect with the Battlefield name. Don't bother.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. What you get, really, is Battlefield at its most pure. [Aug 2009, p.71]
  2. 90
    With satisfaction always within reach, Battlefield 1943 makes for an addictive online experience. [Aug 2009, p.79]
  3. A perfectly sized, expertly-crafted romp, Pacific gives other download games their marching orders. [Aug 2009, p.97]