User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 134

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2011
    6
    This game was fun for the first 10 games, but it got old fast. There's no depth. It's just the same game type over and over and tanks are over powered.
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    This game is a great deal, a low priced game with unlimited fun and great multiplayer it brings back the 1942 formula and makes a great game with destructible environments and modified graphics. Before buying this game though, consider the fact that there is a lot of lag, screen tearing, and team balancing issues that may make your experience less fun. Despite that, Battlefield 1943 is a very good game and something that will deliver hours of fun and entertainment. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    People are still playing the online multiplayer DEMO for this arcade game to this day... that alone should tell you this is a smart purchase, lol. You can easily sink hours upons hours into this game. Definitely good bang for your buck.
  4. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    By no means, by me giving this game an 8 does it mean it's incomplete, bad, or it couldn't require a fix. My biggest complaints are snipers are semi useless aside from using C4 as traps, which is like always in a BF game, fun, but the sniper rifles are next to useless all thanks to the Rifleman's stellar accuracy. But the worst complaint of all that halts me from rewarding this game with a 9 or even better is the lag. I realize this is an arcade game and it shouldn't be held to a AAA titles standards, but for me paying about $15 every 3 months for XBox LIVE and the amount of deaths I've had over lag (not shooting each other at the same time, I'm talking about the lag where your jumping around everywhere/the enemies jumping around everywhere, or your retracing your steps about 3 times before the lag corrects your movement). If this game had lag spikes once every few 2-4 games, once a round I wouldn't have no complaints. But the fact that I have at least 1 spike every spawn (and no it's not my connection/just my connection). But once you brush your way through the lag, and learn the mechanics you can see the full potential of this game, which is anything but a bad. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    In my opinion, this game is a great multiplayer game that is definitely worth the microsoft points. It is not to violent, and is a game that you could play for hours on. This is an arcade game that is a definite buy.
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    This is the sort of game that I can truly respect, a completely multiplayer game with a low but very fair price tag, after forking out $90 for Battlefield 3 and finding out only about $40 of it was money well spent (multiplayer was good) it's really good to come across this gem of a game, three maps from the world war II era, a well-balanced three classes and ace vehicular combat, and Battlefield's brilliant engine, all for under $20, if you have any integrity at all, you'd scoff at the **** that is Battlefield 3 and but this instead, I guarantee the legs on this baby will take you much farther than BF3 ever will Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    This game is a remake of the old game, battlefield 1942. There is a level progression but only 3 classes. This game is good but gets boring fast. whicg is why if you are reading this at this point you should get battlefield bad company 2. Much better game.
  8. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    Not a bad game for the money. I would get BF BC2 instead since its really cheap these days. This game is ok, I had alot of fun playing it before I got BC2. I still play it ever now and then but the controls are a little different so I dont play it much. I would recommend this maybe, but BC2 is better and not much higher in price.
  9. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    One of the best value Xbox Live arcade games available in the marketplace. The large open maps are perfect for warfare on the land, sea or air. I have never had to wait more than 10 seconds to join a game which impressed me as waiting can be one of the most annoying things in multiplayer gaming.
  10. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    This game was great and definitely worth the cheap price tag. I've gotten many hours of enjoyment out of this game. The only complaints were that the game was EXTREMELY laggy online when I first played. It since seems to have been fixed however, so that's not an issue anymore. Another complaint is that there are not enough maps to choose from. Overall though, a most enjoyable game available for a low price. Worth a purchase. Expand
  11. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    The gaming gods truly blessed us with this amazing piece of craftsmanship! Great graphics, fun gameplay, and excellent maps. I just wish there were more maps. The 3 available are great but can get repetitive.
  12. Feb 26, 2012
    3
    This is like a horrible Battlefield clone, except it is actually called Battlefield. Guns aim like bricks, there's zero to unlock/change, and to top it all off, it is no where near the quality you expect with the Battlefield name. Don't bother.
  13. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Great game can't believe only 14 pounds so much fun only problem is that eventually it gets boring with only 3 maps and 3 classes although that is only eventually I mean after AGES
    Also you sometimes get some really annoying people and it is quite hard to mute people as you have to join a squad and if they are then in your squad you are COMPLETELY screwed
  14. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    Battlefield 1943 is one of my personal all time favourite games on the 360 and my favourite game in the Battlefield series. For the price this is an astounding game and is almost impossible to differentiate from any regular retail game. The graphics are sharp and the sound is excellent. However, the gamplay is where Battlefield 1943 exceeds. It's the same formula found in any Battlefield game. You're placed on one of two opposing teams, in this case the Americans or the Japanese. You win by capturing flags and reducing the opposing teams tickets to zero. Battlefield 1943 is a must buy for any XBOX Live member. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. What you get, really, is Battlefield at its most pure. [Aug 2009, p.71]
  2. 90
    With satisfaction always within reach, Battlefield 1943 makes for an addictive online experience. [Aug 2009, p.79]
  3. A perfectly sized, expertly-crafted romp, Pacific gives other download games their marching orders. [Aug 2009, p.97]