User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 879 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 879
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. UnFair
    Mar 29, 2010
    0
    Upon reading this hopefully many will realize something. BattleField Bad Company 2 is the Worst Game I have Never Played! I am giving this a zero because Bayonetta is Way Cooler! FPS fun? Good Online MultiPlayer? The graphics are not to my liking either! Yes This game should really get a minus 10 if I could! If you have gotten this far you Must surely realize that this is similar to All Upon reading this hopefully many will realize something. BattleField Bad Company 2 is the Worst Game I have Never Played! I am giving this a zero because Bayonetta is Way Cooler! FPS fun? Good Online MultiPlayer? The graphics are not to my liking either! Yes This game should really get a minus 10 if I could! If you have gotten this far you Must surely realize that this is similar to All Too Many BS posts by gamers that either buy without researching first or are too foolish to consider whether a title is from a genre they love or hate. I happen to Not like FPS very much but if I were to give this game a Fair review, which I did by the way, it was a 8 out of 10 based on Quality NOT what I personally like or dislike! Band together. When you see ridiculous reviews like this example please respond to the rubbish as MOST of those gamers Truly Believe that they are giving an honest score> Why do I care? What if these fools made up the Majority of the early posts & you miss a Great game or they Pump Up a turd & You buy it? That is why! Be well Amigos! Expand
  2. MartinL
    Mar 13, 2010
    4
    The game is beautiful, plays well and the different missions in single-player is very varied and cool. The only thins is that the single-player is, well, single. The three computer controlled team-mates doesn't do anything to help. No way to lead them (a la Mass Effect 2). No easy take cover/shoot from cover system. This makes easy difficulty (or "content tourist" as the game calls The game is beautiful, plays well and the different missions in single-player is very varied and cool. The only thins is that the single-player is, well, single. The three computer controlled team-mates doesn't do anything to help. No way to lead them (a la Mass Effect 2). No easy take cover/shoot from cover system. This makes easy difficulty (or "content tourist" as the game calls me) pretty difficult. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    Great game completely ruined by the greed of the corporation that put it out. It's a fun mosh-pit of doom in Multiplayer matches and features bullet drop and delay along with destruction mechanics. However there is little to no explanation as how to use things in Multiplayer. People can also BUY the unlocks which is downright disgusting. Another crippling feature is the squads. The squadsGreat game completely ruined by the greed of the corporation that put it out. It's a fun mosh-pit of doom in Multiplayer matches and features bullet drop and delay along with destruction mechanics. However there is little to no explanation as how to use things in Multiplayer. People can also BUY the unlocks which is downright disgusting. Another crippling feature is the squads. The squads can only communicate with other squad members, and coincidentally NO SQUAD I HAVE EVER JOINED IN A SOLID WEEK OF PLAY HAD A SINGLE PERSON WITH A MICROPHONE. As a result, the Multiplayer is like a silent single-player with a cowboys and Indians feel to it with everyone rushing about aimlessly due to an inability to properly communicate. It's a game that's built around teamwork that allows one or two crippling features to break the game... Like not being able to talk. Wait does that even make sence? A teamwork game where you CANT TALK?! Don't these idiots go to COLLAGE to get a degree for this kind of work? I'm sorry, the only logic I can find behind such features would be to intentionally sabotage the game in order to fix the issues in a sequel, which is both disgusting and insulting to the gaming community and the creators should be ashamed of themselves. Expand
  4. aa
    Mar 12, 2010
    1
    Full of bugs. Multiplayer a joke if you can connect. Trie the other night to connect for age when I finally did got into a game with 2 others who were there to boost (cheat). Wasn't going to have "perks" like MW2 but instead got the equivalent of juggernaut, stopping power etc. which encourages the cheating. AVOID.
  5. ShakilF
    Mar 7, 2010
    4
    This is not a game i wud reccomend, MW2 is way better, the only thing better compared to MW2 is u can drive vehicles, but everything from there is downhill, the story is pretty decent and the servers but the gameplay is horrible, it is not suppose to be realistic, MW2 is realistic and made up so it cud be fun, sure MW2 can be a little easy but that depends who u r playin with and Wat This is not a game i wud reccomend, MW2 is way better, the only thing better compared to MW2 is u can drive vehicles, but everything from there is downhill, the story is pretty decent and the servers but the gameplay is horrible, it is not suppose to be realistic, MW2 is realistic and made up so it cud be fun, sure MW2 can be a little easy but that depends who u r playin with and Wat difficultly ur plain on, of course u can kill newbies or people that just go rushing out, but the point is that it is just tryin to copy MW2 the servers r good but the type of mode isnt, i reccomed MW2 over this anyday. Expand
  6. SatanNYC
    Mar 10, 2010
    4
    OK, for real, I am giving this game a 4. The problem here is that I love this game, so much that I have all of the previous ones that came out for the Xbox, to this day it's the only game I ever pre-ordered in my entire gaming life. Okay, now on to the reason I rated this game so poorly. To start, I have been waiting forever for them to include more then 12 players per team on the OK, for real, I am giving this game a 4. The problem here is that I love this game, so much that I have all of the previous ones that came out for the Xbox, to this day it's the only game I ever pre-ordered in my entire gaming life. Okay, now on to the reason I rated this game so poorly. To start, I have been waiting forever for them to include more then 12 players per team on the consoles, and maybe some jets, like the PC version. But that isn't what's got me angry, what has me really PO'd is the fact that the servers are consistently plagued with problems, if you can even get on to one. I have had the game since launch, and I cannot get online but for a couple of times, and even then I was constantly losing the connection to the server. This may have been excusable if EA hadn't already had their "beta" out weeks before launch of the actual game, or had the previous versions of this game (all very popular) not been plagued with the very same issues as they are today, years later. they have had many years of making tons of cash off this game not to have at the very least insured us, the people giving them the money, that their commitment to our satisfaction was first and foremost in their mind. I mean c'mon already, how long do we have to wait. Think I am just ranting, search the net, everyone is complaining about it, it's insane that EA isn't brought under a class action lawsuit for selling a product that in reality, they can't get to work the way it's advertised! And what's up with all the high ratings from these magazines? Did they not play it online, or is that what EA is doing with OUR money, buying ratings in exchange for purchasing advertising space? Yeah, I know how it works... Be warned, this is primarily an online game, without online capability! Expand
  7. Steve
    Mar 6, 2010
    4
    This game is riddled with bugs, glitches, and other general software problems. Their forums are up in arms about how bad of a game this is. The release was obviously rushed, as the Beta client was actually performing BETTER than the released client. Graphics are nice, if you can look around with a framerate over 5 fps. There have been reports of people with dual GTX260s and i7-920s that This game is riddled with bugs, glitches, and other general software problems. Their forums are up in arms about how bad of a game this is. The release was obviously rushed, as the Beta client was actually performing BETTER than the released client. Graphics are nice, if you can look around with a framerate over 5 fps. There have been reports of people with dual GTX260s and i7-920s that get an FPS of about on average... 30. You don't shell out the cash for that hardware and expect that kind of performance. The gameplay is no better, as snipers litter the battlefield, and you mysteriously die while walking through what would seem a complete flat. On the flipside, assault rifles can outsnipe the sniper rifles. Helicopters are nigh invulnerable, with no quick means of taking them out. There is no prone either, and that is really unacceptable. There are massive connection problems for nearly all users across all platforms. Server browsers that do not display ping, and search functions that lock up and crash, with no error message afterward. I haven't played the single player, and nobody buys this game for the single player, so that is not important. I'll give it a 4 for at least having single player though. The publisher's name sold the game this time, and everyone fell for the hype. Don't buy this game, it's nothing but a headache for the majority of users that purchased it. The reviewers that gave it a 10 obviously didn't encounter these issues, and are part of the lucky few that actually got their money's worth. Expand
  8. Nov 4, 2011
    4
    This game may have been worthwhile when it came out, but now days there is no reason to buy it anymore, the reason being multiplayer is dead nobody is online anymore, I was able to play two or three matches during my time with it which is probably do to the fact that Battlefield 3 is out, or maybe because of the limited modes and maps, but what I played of the multiplayer I really enjoyedThis game may have been worthwhile when it came out, but now days there is no reason to buy it anymore, the reason being multiplayer is dead nobody is online anymore, I was able to play two or three matches during my time with it which is probably do to the fact that Battlefield 3 is out, or maybe because of the limited modes and maps, but what I played of the multiplayer I really enjoyed and I would love to play more but sadly I can't because no one plays it anymore, and the campaign sucks, it's no fun at all, the story seems tacked on just to have one, ditches the sense of freedom that gave the originals its charm, and suffers from cheap deaths, one good thing about it is Marlowe and the crew of Bad Company are as likable as ever, it's just sad there mission isn't, it really pains me to have to give it this score because I can see from what little I was able to play that when multiplayer was popular it was the bomb, but now its dead, I guess like all good things, it had to come to an end. Collapse
  9. Nov 4, 2011
    4
    This game may have been worthwhile when it came out, but now days there is no reason to buy it anymore, the reason being multiplayer is dead nobody is online anymore, I was able to play two or three matches during my time with it which is probably do to the fact that Battlefield 3 is out, or maybe because of the limited modes and maps, but what I played of the multiplayer I really enjoyedThis game may have been worthwhile when it came out, but now days there is no reason to buy it anymore, the reason being multiplayer is dead nobody is online anymore, I was able to play two or three matches during my time with it which is probably do to the fact that Battlefield 3 is out, or maybe because of the limited modes and maps, but what I played of the multiplayer I really enjoyed and I would love to play more but sadly I can't because no one plays it anymore, and the campaign sucks, it's no fun at all, the story seems tacked on just to have one, ditches the sense of freedom that gave the originals its charm, and suffers from cheap deaths, one good thing about it is Marlowe and the crew of Bad Company are as likable as ever, it's just sad there mission isn't, it really pains me to have to give it this score because I can see from what little I was able to play that when multiplayer was popular it was the bomb, but now its dead, I guess like all good things, it had to come to an end. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Not content to settle for second place, DICE throws down the gauntlet with Bad Company 2, delivering its best multiplayer package since Battlefield 2 and a remarkably improved single-player campaign that openly mocks its rival while cribbing from them at the same time. [Issue#203, p.84]
  2. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is one of the best shooters of this generation. The game has steel-solid mechanics, top gen graphics and an incredible multiplayer. Call of Duty has a new rival.
  3. 89
    Bad Company 2 as an online shooter is flexible and engaging, offering several features that the competition can only dream of. If you're looking for a more strategic and team-based change of pace, look no further. This is the game for you.