User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 249

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    I've owned this game for a long, long time now, but never wrote a review. Anyway, I use this game as a measuring stick for all other online FPSs. I'll compare COD and Crysis 2 to this game. Obviously, both fall WAY short of the mark. It confounds me. I've been playing online FPSs since Medal of Honor: Allied Assault. When that game came out (like 11 years ago), I thought theI've owned this game for a long, long time now, but never wrote a review. Anyway, I use this game as a measuring stick for all other online FPSs. I'll compare COD and Crysis 2 to this game. Obviously, both fall WAY short of the mark. It confounds me. I've been playing online FPSs since Medal of Honor: Allied Assault. When that game came out (like 11 years ago), I thought the multiplayer was really cool. It's not so great, however, when COD releases a contemporary multiplayer FPS that mirrors those from over a decade ago. Anyway, tl;dr - Bad Company (and its successor, Bad Company 2) are far superior to all other online FPSs. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    THIS IS MY SH!T. HOW ARE YOU INSULTING A CLASSIC? YOU SCRUBS CLEARLY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT BATTLEFIELD IF YOU ARE GOING TO WHINE AND BI7CH ABOUT EVERY FLAW THIS GAME POSSESSES. YES THE MULTIPLAYER IS BAD, BUT THE CAMPAIGN IS BETTER THAN EVERY SINGLE COD GAME FROM MW1-BO2 COMBINED
  3. JohnS.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    How in the world do games like this keep getting made? Doesn't anyone playtest them first, outside of the designers that is? Dialogue is horrible, the field of view seems smashed and flat, and the player's movement is not very realistic. This is no better than the previous Battlefields, although they did do their best to rip off Call of Duty. I also find it amusing that the How in the world do games like this keep getting made? Doesn't anyone playtest them first, outside of the designers that is? Dialogue is horrible, the field of view seems smashed and flat, and the player's movement is not very realistic. This is no better than the previous Battlefields, although they did do their best to rip off Call of Duty. I also find it amusing that the design team and associates are posting good reviews under various aliases here. Just read the highest-rated comments, and notice the similarities in grammar and writing style. Nice try boys. And your a spastic Expand
  4. DesO.
    Jun 30, 2008
    9
    The single player game is fun but flawed. It tells an original enough story with likable and interesting characters. The objectives are varied and there is huge scope for diversity in your approach to them (you could walk, drive, snipe, sneak, full frontal etc..). Its flaws are that it's not hugely challenging and the AI can be a bit "duh?" at times. It is worth playing however and The single player game is fun but flawed. It tells an original enough story with likable and interesting characters. The objectives are varied and there is huge scope for diversity in your approach to them (you could walk, drive, snipe, sneak, full frontal etc..). Its flaws are that it's not hugely challenging and the AI can be a bit "duh?" at times. It is worth playing however and is a great way to kick back after a hardcore multiplayer session. The multiplayer experience is where bad company really shines. It brings all the good from the single player mode and none of the bad. Gold rush is an incredible way of focusing the combat on a map that is otherwise so large that even 24 players would have a hard time finding someone to kill. Vehicles and classes are well balanced and although there are only eight maps the amount of diversity within each map is staggering - they tend to start very vehicle oriented and then slowly move to close quarters infantry battles or vise versa. they also change dynamically as players take advantage of their amazing destruction abilities. Personally I think this is better than COD4 because COD had extremely repetitive multiplayer and single player (I'm sure I'll be ridiculed for saying that). Anyway this game is well worth getting but only if you have online, because the single player is less than a third of the package in my opinion. See you on the battlefield hopefully. Expand
  5. TommyN
    Jun 30, 2008
    9
    Good, solid fps. Addicting online play.
  6. WaldoP.
    Jul 2, 2008
    9
    Good god this game is fun. Had a stressfull busy day? Get yourself home and play Battlefield Bad Company online - it's so much fun just blowing everything up in the huge levels. Whilst not as technically accurate as COD4, the descructability adds a lot of new tactics to this genre - breaching defenses by blowing holes in building walls to get the target, running tanks through fences Good god this game is fun. Had a stressfull busy day? Get yourself home and play Battlefield Bad Company online - it's so much fun just blowing everything up in the huge levels. Whilst not as technically accurate as COD4, the descructability adds a lot of new tactics to this genre - breaching defenses by blowing holes in building walls to get the target, running tanks through fences etc. It's just so much fun that you'll find it hard to quit. This game fixes all the annoyances of the first Battlefield2 (tanks stuck on barrels anyone?) and continues much further to provide the basis of hours and hours of hard-fought multiplayer matches won through sheer attrition. Expand
  7. AndyA.
    Jul 4, 2008
    9
    this is a great game, and it hasn't disappointed like Kane & Lynch did, solo is good fun with a better story than most recent releases, going into summer this is essential, theres nothing coming out until Sep/Nov!!!!!! Criticism is rife, but the amount of online games/players tells the real story, I'm a new player to LIVE and the friends list i have from playing Vegas2 are all this is a great game, and it hasn't disappointed like Kane & Lynch did, solo is good fun with a better story than most recent releases, going into summer this is essential, theres nothing coming out until Sep/Nov!!!!!! Criticism is rife, but the amount of online games/players tells the real story, I'm a new player to LIVE and the friends list i have from playing Vegas2 are all playing and enjoying this, even now theres new content for it !!!!! Dogtags & the 10002 kills achievement will keep people busy for a long, long time. Expand
  8. KevinR
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    This game is very good. I prefer it over Call of Duty 4 mainly because of the destruction and the gameplay is overall fun. The storyline is pretty good but there are a few things missing from it. The multiplayer mode: Gold Rush is very intense whether you are the Attackers or the Defenders. The multiplayer mode: Conquest is a classic in the Battlefield series. It brings some variety to This game is very good. I prefer it over Call of Duty 4 mainly because of the destruction and the gameplay is overall fun. The storyline is pretty good but there are a few things missing from it. The multiplayer mode: Gold Rush is very intense whether you are the Attackers or the Defenders. The multiplayer mode: Conquest is a classic in the Battlefield series. It brings some variety to Bad Company but it does need more maps. Overall, it's very fun to play and it's even more fun to play with friends. Expand
  9. JohnnyG
    Mar 22, 2009
    10
    People whining about realism obviously haven't played a Battlefield game before. And what's the deal with you realism freaks anyway, REALISM PLAYS WORSE gameplay wise. Proning would not contribute anything extra to this game as it would only benefit the campers/snipers. This game plays like a dream online, I'd say it's a lot better than COD4s constant grenade spamming. People whining about realism obviously haven't played a Battlefield game before. And what's the deal with you realism freaks anyway, REALISM PLAYS WORSE gameplay wise. Proning would not contribute anything extra to this game as it would only benefit the campers/snipers. This game plays like a dream online, I'd say it's a lot better than COD4s constant grenade spamming. COD4 is for people who like to shoot people in the back, as you're constantly spawned behind the enemy. BF:BC is for people who enjoy good gameplay and team tactics. Expand
  10. RolandS.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome. From the destructible environments to the graphics and sound - everything is just top notch. The MP is great, though I'd want to see Conquest-mode in there in addition to the awesome fun of Gold Rush. Great game!
  11. MischaB.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    Great game! very cinematic in gameplay. Extremely intense in battle sequences.
  12. BfbccRAzythebestever
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Probably the best fps out there right now. Call of duty 4 comes in a close 2nd with it tho with halo right behind it.
  13. JonasH.
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    Steven L is wrong. The game is fantastic!!! Single player is fun and multiplayer is fast and furious!
  14. SenioerS.
    Jun 30, 2008
    9
    In response to Steven L, you really think developers are posting positive reviews in the user section to boost their score? really? maybe they have similar grammar because people who like this game aren't retarded. An example being you.
  15. ??
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    First of all, this is a brilliant game. The audio is amazing, the special effects are ace, the destruction is breath-taking, the campaign is loads of fun and multiplayer mode is a blast. Sadly, anybody can rate games on Metacritic. Even half-witts. 1) this game is not CoD4. 2) This game is not an expansion of CoD4. 3) This also isnt an exact port of BF 2. So please use your head and First of all, this is a brilliant game. The audio is amazing, the special effects are ace, the destruction is breath-taking, the campaign is loads of fun and multiplayer mode is a blast. Sadly, anybody can rate games on Metacritic. Even half-witts. 1) this game is not CoD4. 2) This game is not an expansion of CoD4. 3) This also isnt an exact port of BF 2. So please use your head and realize that giving this game a lower score because it is not like CoD4 is non-sense. Hell CoD4 wasnt even the best in the series. I bet some of you idiots didnt even play or hear about the other Call of Duty games before CoD4. In all honesty, CoD4 is a peice of over-hyped shit. It is actually a pretty awsome game. But it's not the best game ever made. Shunning other games because they arent as good as CoD4 is simply stupid. How is this game a rip-off of Call of Duty Steven? Are you that dumb that you dont realize that Call of Duty wasnt the first FPS game ever made? What about you Nick? You only die because you are a noob. How could you even be complaining about cover being blown up? That's one of this game's selling points! Expand
  16. DougJ.
    Jul 29, 2008
    9
    This game is great. The single player is funny (albeit easy) and the destructible environments in the game will change the way you play against other people!
  17. DanN.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    What can I say about this game other than it is one of the best all around FPS experiences I have played in a long time. The single player is fun and funny. However the multiplayer is where the game truly shines. Though there is only one type of game mode at this point (they are working on more) the simplicity of the mode allows for so many option. With Jeeps, Armored vehicles, boats, What can I say about this game other than it is one of the best all around FPS experiences I have played in a long time. The single player is fun and funny. However the multiplayer is where the game truly shines. Though there is only one type of game mode at this point (they are working on more) the simplicity of the mode allows for so many option. With Jeeps, Armored vehicles, boats, tanks, helicopters, destructible environments, unlockable weapons and items, Laser guided missiles, air strikes, and mortar fire, you never really have the same experience. The game truly brings out the feel of the battle and mass chaos can and generally always does ensue. With five different classes and more weapons to come in the future, with its one game mode, Battlefield Bad Company is truly a great experience. Expand
  18. S.A.CITIZENU
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    Um........ I like the um........ Game.... it is fun and also HELLO IM AMERICAN!
  19. JackF.
    Jul 9, 2008
    9
    I have always hated the BF series ever since Modern Combat. Vehicles dominated multiplayer and the single player was nothing short of embarrassing. However, Bad Company has fixed these issues by creating a clever and interesting single player that's actually worth playing, and vehicles are nowhere near as strong as they were in Modern Combat, which creates an enjoyable multiplayer I have always hated the BF series ever since Modern Combat. Vehicles dominated multiplayer and the single player was nothing short of embarrassing. However, Bad Company has fixed these issues by creating a clever and interesting single player that's actually worth playing, and vehicles are nowhere near as strong as they were in Modern Combat, which creates an enjoyable multiplayer that will keep you playing for its ranking system. The only minor issues are the AI having X-Ray vision and the targetting. It's always frustrating sneaking up on an enemy only for him to turn around and gun you down instantly, and the aiming will sometimes leave you thinking "I swear I shot that guy..." Apart from that, BF is a truly enjoyable experience and definately worth buying. Expand
  20. BenjaminW
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    Having played both Call of Duty and Bad Company I only wish they could bring the best of both together. The destructability of battlefield's landscapes and buildings with the unlocks available on COD. For me Bad Company wins hands down though, rather than just a death match, it has more strategy, much greater scope of vechles and better sqad play than COD. My favourite game ever!
  21. Sasha
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Great game that shouldn't be missed. first time i rented it i thought it sucked, but when i played it at my friends house later, i gave it another try and loved it. CoD 4 got boring and WaW sucked @$$ cheese so i played this all the F**king time! yay! buy it
  22. MikeM.
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    I'm rating this game only on the single player aspect, as I don't play console first person shooters online due to the lack of decent control options compared to PC. Therefore my score doesn't take into account all the bugs that have apparently gone unfixed since release, which I agree is inexcusable. I bought COD4 about a week before Bad Company. Even though I was really I'm rating this game only on the single player aspect, as I don't play console first person shooters online due to the lack of decent control options compared to PC. Therefore my score doesn't take into account all the bugs that have apparently gone unfixed since release, which I agree is inexcusable. I bought COD4 about a week before Bad Company. Even though I was really enjoying COD 4, as soon as I started Bad Company, I didn't pick COD4 back up until finishing it. Solid voice acting and amusing characters in your squad, a simple but adequate story, enormous maps, all the drivable vehicles, almost everything can be destroyed or damaged structurally, even roads and ground get cratered...very impressive. Not up to par with other single player masterpieces like Bioshock or HL2 (or Deus Ex & System Shock 2 from way back), but not bad at all coming from a developer who has made a name for itself creating online-only games. Definitely worth the 20 bucks I spent for the single player experience. I'm looking forward to the sequel...I just hope it lasts longer, and that length won't just be due to backtracking or some other padding. Some urban environments, as already mentioned, would be a good idea also. Expand
  23. ImajinS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game! The multiplayer is by far the best I have played on X360 bar none. Definitely a must have.
  24. LanceM.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Demo is great! Vehicles Are solid fun, as are the different classes.
  25. MattS.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Not only are the physics and destruction perfect, but the graphics are amazing. The classes add extreme depth to the game.
  26. Geofft
    Jun 2, 2008
    9
    Based off of the demo it is extremely similar to Battlefield 2 with some differences. No airplanes, an altered leveling system, and now the new destructible environment. Overall all the only thing I am missing from BF2 is the airplanes. The destructive environment adds a beautiful variation to the gameplay and really can create an intense battle. Another wonderful aspect to it are the Based off of the demo it is extremely similar to Battlefield 2 with some differences. No airplanes, an altered leveling system, and now the new destructible environment. Overall all the only thing I am missing from BF2 is the airplanes. The destructive environment adds a beautiful variation to the gameplay and really can create an intense battle. Another wonderful aspect to it are the "battle noises." Crank your stereo up and bask in it, it sounds simply amazing. One thing that I feel is bad that this game follows along with BF2, tank whores. That however cant be completely helped. Expand
  27. ConnorB.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    It seems lacking at first, but as you play you slowly realize the huge amounts of strategic depth this game offers. The multiplayer, while I've only played the demo, is incredibly deep. The level(s) is MASSIVE, and play more like a series of levels than single levels, since they're broken into objectives. I'm a battlefield vet, one of the few out there that is focused on It seems lacking at first, but as you play you slowly realize the huge amounts of strategic depth this game offers. The multiplayer, while I've only played the demo, is incredibly deep. The level(s) is MASSIVE, and play more like a series of levels than single levels, since they're broken into objectives. I'm a battlefield vet, one of the few out there that is focused on the fun and the teamplay instead of the "realism." although this may not match the realism offered by other battlefield titles, it completely trumps previous titles in terms of fun. Expand
  28. AlexM
    Jun 24, 2008
    9
    This game is most certainly one of the best games out on the Xbox 360 right now. I am familiar with the battlefield experience, as an owner of bf2 this game is something fresh for me and I liked it right from the start. The graphics are outstanding, the gameplay is so fun, map sizes are relatively huge, there is so much depth in the multiplayer it will keep you coming back for more. I This game is most certainly one of the best games out on the Xbox 360 right now. I am familiar with the battlefield experience, as an owner of bf2 this game is something fresh for me and I liked it right from the start. The graphics are outstanding, the gameplay is so fun, map sizes are relatively huge, there is so much depth in the multiplayer it will keep you coming back for more. I also own COD4 and I did eventually get bored of playing that, but now I have something new to focus my gaming pleasure on and I would have to say I rate this over COD4. Reasons why I gave this game a 9 and not a 10 is a few minor drawbacks but nothing to lose sleep over: you cannot parachute, you cannot prone and you cannot completely destroy buildings down to its first brick. All in all I recommend this game to anyone and everyone even if your not a fps fan it is still a good game to pick up on and it may even influence you to enjoy fps! Expand
  29. TomL
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Welcome back, Battlefield.
  30. ReyM.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    The game is very immersive and feels very organic as far as environment. One of the things that bothered me about COD4 is that in the background you hear mock bombs going off in the BAD COMPANY when it is quiet it is because no one is blasting now when there are explosions it is because some is blowing something up, not just a recording that plays in the background that tries to immerse The game is very immersive and feels very organic as far as environment. One of the things that bothered me about COD4 is that in the background you hear mock bombs going off in the BAD COMPANY when it is quiet it is because no one is blasting now when there are explosions it is because some is blowing something up, not just a recording that plays in the background that tries to immerse you. Now COD4 is my favorite game it is like my CounterStrike for the 360, while the the Bad Company is my BF2 for th e360. I think Bad Company has a lot more to offer in the long run. COD4 just gets too repetitive Expand
  31. BrianS.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    I've played Call of Duty , Everything Call of Duty is missing battlefield makes up for. I just can't stop blowing things up!! Buy this and you will throw out your COD and GTA.
  32. AnttiA.
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    Great game. Single player is surprisingly good. The only bad part is the respawning system, which sometimes respawns you quite far from action. Enemies that have been shot once stay dead, even if you die. This makes the game a bit easier, and not so much frustrating as some parts in Cod4. The multiplayer is where the game really shines. Eight great maps, lots of guns, lots of vehicles, Great game. Single player is surprisingly good. The only bad part is the respawning system, which sometimes respawns you quite far from action. Enemies that have been shot once stay dead, even if you die. This makes the game a bit easier, and not so much frustrating as some parts in Cod4. The multiplayer is where the game really shines. Eight great maps, lots of guns, lots of vehicles, lots of things blowing up. The destruction is really unique and changes how you play the FPS genre. I wish there will be DLC pack of new maps, it´s definitely something I will buy right away.. Expand
  33. GordonC
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    Battlefield Bad company is a true masterpiece, online is addicting and the single player surprises and comes out as a good road movie esque adventure. The amount of polish put in by the devs is truly outstanding. StevenL; Alright so you like call of Duty 4 and it hurts your feelings to see another game get recognition for it´s qualities. Get over it.
  34. EvanH.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    To be honest, this has to be one of the best shooters I've ever played, and up there with the Halo games and Half-Life 2. The only thing that I could have wished for is maybe some weapon customization in the multiplayer like in CoD4. Otherwise, this game blows CoD4 into the water and then back out. Come on, the only innovative thing that CoD4 did was let you shoot through walls, and To be honest, this has to be one of the best shooters I've ever played, and up there with the Halo games and Half-Life 2. The only thing that I could have wished for is maybe some weapon customization in the multiplayer like in CoD4. Otherwise, this game blows CoD4 into the water and then back out. Come on, the only innovative thing that CoD4 did was let you shoot through walls, and not let you blow a hole in them. Also, the single player has a good story that's extremely funny with an awesome ending. Also, by the way... Did I mention that the single-player was pretty much nonlinear? Expand
  35. PaulS
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Excellent game (well multiplayer anyway - this is so addictive I have not even tried the single player yet). Lag can be a bit of a problem down here in NZ - but also the case with COD4. Steve L - come on - get a life. Do you really believe that crap you're spouting???
  36. FrankK.
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    This game is just plain fun. The personalities of your squadmates in single player mode were well thought out. It's like your play part of the cool story line. I like the overall feel of this game compared to any in the COD series. Multiplayer is great as well. On any given map, anything and everything can be destroyed. Very therapeutic!
  37. JohnB.
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    Only two problems mar an otherwise explosive online experience, the inability to go prone and the fact that it takes in some cases an entire clip to drop someone. Admittedly though it could be just the gun walking up on me from full auto fire. Burst fire is more accurate to be sure, but don't expect the instant kills you've come to know in COD4. Those gripes aside, this game Only two problems mar an otherwise explosive online experience, the inability to go prone and the fact that it takes in some cases an entire clip to drop someone. Admittedly though it could be just the gun walking up on me from full auto fire. Burst fire is more accurate to be sure, but don't expect the instant kills you've come to know in COD4. Those gripes aside, this game plays the way I always wanted COD4 to play, that is everything can be blown to bits. If the enemy takes cover in a building, blow the Sh@^ out of it. Need armor, artillery, or air support? Got it here. The symphony of destruction happening online should be music to any gamer's ears. The graphics are as good or better than COD4 and the audio blows you away. There are no looped sound effects in the game, all the gunfire and explosions you hear are from players firing at that moment. It's as close to a living battlefield you can come at this moment. Buy it, it's digital crack! Expand
  38. AppleBees
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    This is probably 15 times better than CoD4.
  39. AaronFields
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    I think its a good game and very realistic. I just want to say apocalypse brown that accuracy is actually how it is in real life.
  40. Mack
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Bad Company has to be one of the best multiplayer experiences possible. The multiplayer has persistent stats and rankings that will keep you playing. Although, once you reach level 25, there's not much more incentive, besides your skill level. But every other time you level up, you earn 1 credit used to unlock new weapons/equipment. For each class there are 2 weapons to unlock, 1 Bad Company has to be one of the best multiplayer experiences possible. The multiplayer has persistent stats and rankings that will keep you playing. Although, once you reach level 25, there's not much more incentive, besides your skill level. But every other time you level up, you earn 1 credit used to unlock new weapons/equipment. For each class there are 2 weapons to unlock, 1 equipment (such as a tracer gun, etc.), 1 special weapon per class (for doing different things like subscribing to the newsletter or registering another BF game), and 1 extra weapon per class that you unlock for reaching level 25. Oh, and did I mention you can blow S*** up? Enemy hiding behind a wall? No problem, blow that wall open and mow 'em down. Multiplayer: 10 There's not much to say about singleplayer but here goes. This is the first time that a BF game has actually had a good singleplayer(no more bot matches). And I have to say they did quite good. The story is interesting, there's funny dialogue(if sometimes annoying), and destructable enviroments. Singleplayer: 9.5. Expand
  41. Kyle
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I still play this games multiplayer to this day. It's a great game just like the battlfield series. Online multiplayer is so fun when you have four friends defending the objective tactical style. And the sound is just fanatic. Destruction is also great too. Instead of going through doors, just say "fuck it" and blow a hole in the wall! :)
  42. SpencerN.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Amazing, Hard to realize what's going on at first, but once you do are immediately sucked in. The Campaign provides some good laughs for some very serious missions. Top Notch game.
  43. RichardL.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Played the demo today, it is incredible that you can drive vehicles such as tanks, humvees and boats as well as choosing from 5 classes or soldier. on the demo you are restricted to only a few weapons but these are still good enough to show off the effort put into Bad Company. I found the realism most important, in other games you could stand behind a wall as tanks fired shell after shell Played the demo today, it is incredible that you can drive vehicles such as tanks, humvees and boats as well as choosing from 5 classes or soldier. on the demo you are restricted to only a few weapons but these are still good enough to show off the effort put into Bad Company. I found the realism most important, in other games you could stand behind a wall as tanks fired shell after shell into it and not be harmed. in this game however, if you are fired at when behind a wall, the wall will be destroyed along with you! Certainly one of best games for Xbox 360 so far. Buy! Expand
  44. BarryB
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    This game takes everything currently available in a FPS and pushes it further. This is most evident in the sound effects and the impressively destructible environments. The controls are solid and responsive, the graphics are outstanding, the audio/sfx are especially noteworthy, and the replay value is immense. The demo's available for free download over Xbox Live and includes 1 This game takes everything currently available in a FPS and pushes it further. This is most evident in the sound effects and the impressively destructible environments. The controls are solid and responsive, the graphics are outstanding, the audio/sfx are especially noteworthy, and the replay value is immense. The demo's available for free download over Xbox Live and includes 1 mission and 1 multiplayer map. This game is very highly recommended. Expand
  45. JesusChrist
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Anyone who gives this lower than an 8 just doesn't know how to play fps and therefore should suck a dick
  46. ThomasW
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    A very solid game, anyone that says they have problems with the controls just hasn't spend enough time to become good with them. The head bob you soon get over, especially when things are blowing up all around you. Some may say that the buildings blow up in the same places, they do...but at least this is one of the very few games that has tried it...and it is a blast. The single A very solid game, anyone that says they have problems with the controls just hasn't spend enough time to become good with them. The head bob you soon get over, especially when things are blowing up all around you. Some may say that the buildings blow up in the same places, they do...but at least this is one of the very few games that has tried it...and it is a blast. The single player is is funny at times and quite enjoyable, but the true gem is the online play. Your really missing part of the game if you don't try that out. Expand
  47. jeffk
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    I just picked this up today, and I am really enjoying it. Its a great addition to the battlefield series, and fans of the franchise should be MORE then pleased. (not to mention the huge letdown that was BF: modern warefare). Despite the game being launched with only one multiplayer mode (there will be more added for free later, as spoken by the devs) It is a very well produced style, and I just picked this up today, and I am really enjoying it. Its a great addition to the battlefield series, and fans of the franchise should be MORE then pleased. (not to mention the huge letdown that was BF: modern warefare). Despite the game being launched with only one multiplayer mode (there will be more added for free later, as spoken by the devs) It is a very well produced style, and a welcome addition to any gamers collection. Dice also did a great job of making an enjoyable console shooter, and any FPS fan should pick this up, or if all else at least give it a rent. Expand
  48. IanC
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    My favourite game of all time, that's having played video games for over 20 years now. Battlefield was always special for me, old school gaming with a modern face, guns and vehicles, what could be better? Great offline, unbeatable offline (even CoD4 doesn't match the FUN of this), I may never need to buy a game ever again. DICE, I love you.
  49. AaronB
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    10 for an EA game, from me. I've blasted them in the past but quite frankly they hit the sweet spot with this title. DICE should be applauded for what they have achieved with this game. It looks incredible, plays beautifully, the single player is great, giving you a good grounding in all the classes and special weapon uses. Online is definately were its at though....and wait for 10 for an EA game, from me. I've blasted them in the past but quite frankly they hit the sweet spot with this title. DICE should be applauded for what they have achieved with this game. It looks incredible, plays beautifully, the single player is great, giving you a good grounding in all the classes and special weapon uses. Online is definately were its at though....and wait for it....wait for it...theres NO lag. Congrats EA - it would appear that after all these years of milking franchises till there is nothing left, ripping off the gaming community and generally producing shit quality games you have come to your senses. I'm sold again on EA after this. Army of Two still sucked though. Oh and to Kevin F. below, that was the EA of past- and 2 months ago I would have agreed with your comments. Conquest is available to download free, and its superb. They have even updated the maps and lighting/weather effects on 4 of them specifically for conquest mode..yes there is no prone but the game is well balanced without it- don't let that put you off thats for sure. EA has regained some respect from me and that really is a bloody surprise to me I can tell you. Pick this one up for sure. Expand
  50. DavisS
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    This is easily one of my most favorite games ever. While the single player may have some AI issues with your squadmates, it still has a cool story and fun missions. Where this game really shines is its multiplayer, its simply addicting. With the addition of the conquest game mode on the xbox live marketplace as a free download, former battlefield fans like me can play this game just like This is easily one of my most favorite games ever. While the single player may have some AI issues with your squadmates, it still has a cool story and fun missions. Where this game really shines is its multiplayer, its simply addicting. With the addition of the conquest game mode on the xbox live marketplace as a free download, former battlefield fans like me can play this game just like the old battlefields. The new gold rush mode, while different, is still loads of fun. Its basically attack and defend, but your defending/attacking gold crates instead of something like a base. All in all id give the singleplayer probably a 9/10, but the multiplayer gives this game a 10. Id definitely recommend it to anyone who likes semi-realistic shooters. Expand
  51. PabloR
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    "More Criticism than it Actually Deserves" Everysingle bad reviewer looked at the game, and then looked at the most realistic game on the market, and compared it to that other game, they're comparing it as if it were supposed to be super realistic but the game was designed to be more fun than realistic, but maintain a bit of reality into it. Weapons are fun as hell to use, the "More Criticism than it Actually Deserves" Everysingle bad reviewer looked at the game, and then looked at the most realistic game on the market, and compared it to that other game, they're comparing it as if it were supposed to be super realistic but the game was designed to be more fun than realistic, but maintain a bit of reality into it. Weapons are fun as hell to use, the campaign could be made into a movie, and the graphics are awesome. The grainy textures were meant to be put into the game. When you look around and stuff it's too quick though, even though this can be changed, most games keep it at a more realistic level, but then again, as a soldier fighting this is how quick you might move your gun most of the times, but other than this it deserves a 9.5. Controls weren't too good, realism was average but the game wasn't designed or made to be perfect 10/10 realistic. Graphics were superb, and the campaign was also superb. But, one thing that probably confused a lot of people that it seemed more of a multiplayer match, you kill 30 people, die, then respawn and still those 30 people are gone. But, the game was designed to be difficult and plus in a map you probably face more enemies than you would in a simlilar game. Every aspect of this game was meant to be made in a certain way, the controls were the only problem. There are too many reviews where people are complaining as if they are reviewing a game and expecting it to be 100 percent realistic. Play the game, think, than rate. Since I can't give it a 9.5, I'm gonna give it a 10/10. Expand
  52. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    worlds greatest game even better than the ps3 version if i could rate it higher i so would
  53. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Let's say you created a new battlefield game. Your focus is, as it always was, multiplayer. You've finished making that and put your time into a time-wasting campaign, but somewhere along the line you ruined that plan and made the best singleplayer campaign that any FPS game will ever have. That is Bad Company.
  54. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    The best Battlefield game for consoles, the best single player campaign in the series, alongside the addition of a new and entertaining game mode called Gold Rush, Bad Company is a must have.
  55. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    battlefield rocks and it is a good game with great graphics but the story wasn't much great as in 2008 there was a game knows call of duty modern warfare which was having great story great action and best characters i know it tried to beat modern warfare but so sad i will give modern warfare 10 and bad company 9
  56. May 23, 2015
    10
    Amazing game for its price! Very good story! Good graphics! Good Vehicles and Weapons too! I found this game amazing for its price. It is based on four US Army guys who go AWOL in Russia to get the gold bars which the Legionnaire, commander of the "Deadliest Army in the World" pays his men with. Then the US Army use them to find out about a neutral country that the four guys invaded for the gold.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 70
    While not a complete success, Battlefield: Bad Company has many plus points, and provides a limited but fun single-player campaign that, while not wholly original, does have some memorable moments.
  2. The extreme polish evident in the final product makes it all worthwhile. Both single- and multiplayer shine - at long last redeeming DICE for the crappy bot-fests offline players had to endure in previous games in the series. [July 2008, p.82]
  3. It may lack the finesse in the single-player that some similar titles have, but it does a great job of making you feel the part as you roll into combat with guns blazing, your squad hooting and bellowing behind you. Add to this the multiplayer which is well rounded and realistic, yet big on the fun, and you have a great experience which could ultimately have you playing for months and months.