Battlestations: Midway Xbox 360

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatthewF.
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    Its nice to have a really fun multiplayer game that isn't an FPS. I really love the realism and the online matches are really intense.
  2. AceH.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Very fun game. Slight learning curve. Best enjoyed with Xbox Live, although there are some fun battles on the game itself. Tutorial is a must to play effectively, though. Very original, intellectually stimulating, and a blast all in the same game.
  3. WilliamL.
    Feb 23, 2007
    9
    The overall tactical command of this game is what has grabbed me. I am not after achievements so I like to sit back and watch if my commands can carry a scenario. Visually a 7, but it has me hooked. The only true detractor I have is the online play. Which is not in itself faulted, however for those who want to play online, you must realize that it is a time commitment. Not a 5 minute GOW, The overall tactical command of this game is what has grabbed me. I am not after achievements so I like to sit back and watch if my commands can carry a scenario. Visually a 7, but it has me hooked. The only true detractor I have is the online play. Which is not in itself faulted, however for those who want to play online, you must realize that it is a time commitment. Not a 5 minute GOW, but I have seen 1.5 hour tactical clashes! Expand
  4. Justin
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    This game has made a progressive contribution to computer gaming with its blend of strategy and action. The ability for the player to direct the overall battle and make strategic decisions that swing the outcome, yet get personally involved in individual fights on the battlefield creates a style of gameplay that has not been seen before. A fairly steep learning curve, but leads to immense This game has made a progressive contribution to computer gaming with its blend of strategy and action. The ability for the player to direct the overall battle and make strategic decisions that swing the outcome, yet get personally involved in individual fights on the battlefield creates a style of gameplay that has not been seen before. A fairly steep learning curve, but leads to immense depth of gameplay and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Expand
  5. JeffC.
    Feb 4, 2007
    8
    Online is where this game shines. The epic mulitplayer battles can last an hour or more, and are always diffrent. The graphics howver are not next gen by any means,....if they were , this game could have been an alltime classic. There is a lot going on on screen at any given time, and the controls have a huge learning curve, you'll need to put in some time on this one. In the end, Online is where this game shines. The epic mulitplayer battles can last an hour or more, and are always diffrent. The graphics howver are not next gen by any means,....if they were , this game could have been an alltime classic. There is a lot going on on screen at any given time, and the controls have a huge learning curve, you'll need to put in some time on this one. In the end, its solid, but far from perfect. 8! Collapse
  6. McBain17
    Mar 7, 2007
    8
    This is a solid title with a pretty decent learning curve. The tutorial which is a must will take you over an hour, and you will need to reference it even after you start. Some missions seem easy while others overly difficult. The graphics are fair to above average. The game play? Fun! Who doesn't want to command an entire fleet? The ability to play it as a straight RTS game, but This is a solid title with a pretty decent learning curve. The tutorial which is a must will take you over an hour, and you will need to reference it even after you start. Some missions seem easy while others overly difficult. The graphics are fair to above average. The game play? Fun! Who doesn't want to command an entire fleet? The ability to play it as a straight RTS game, but then take over any specific unit is a shot in the arm for the standard RTS game. Naval battles are challenging as you need to fight and keep your ship afloat. The ability to order your ship to fight/manuvre while you repair systems is a godsend. Dive bombing and torpedo attacks are exciting as you switch between the carrier and squads. I have yet to experience online, but I'm guessing this is where the game really shines. If anyone ever played the old Battleship and Carrier Aces for SNES then this game blends the best aspects of the two and gives it a face lift. Highly recomended. Expand
  7. CharlieA.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    A rare diamond of a game. If you like RTS / vehicle combat style games this is a must. Resurects the Carrier Command / Hostile Waters / Armourgeddon / Battlezone genre. There are imperfections which might make a tiny difference if the gaming world was swamped with this type of game but as it isn't this is simply the best of its breed. A must buy.
  8. ScottW.
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    This Game just had awesome Gameplay and awesome Graphics , not too easy because I like a challenge. Multiplay is just awesome.
  9. Macavity
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    Many people talk about this games online offers and say that it shines on xbox live. Some people don't have xbox live and I wanted to rate this game for solo players, such as me. first of all...there is no game like this on the xbox, or any console ever made, that by itself should make you try it out. secondly, the graphics are not as bad as people say it is...they are very decent. Many people talk about this games online offers and say that it shines on xbox live. Some people don't have xbox live and I wanted to rate this game for solo players, such as me. first of all...there is no game like this on the xbox, or any console ever made, that by itself should make you try it out. secondly, the graphics are not as bad as people say it is...they are very decent. the reason why the graphics are not "next gen" like is because some of the battles are quite crowded, lots of things going on at once and on a large map...having said this, I believe the 360 can handle much more. The game is short, or rather seems like that because there are a handful levels plus the challenge levels. but the idea here, like in the hitman games...is to re-play the levels you unlock, time and time again. because no war is ever the same. since you are using your own strategy, it is possible to totally take on a new approach every time. the training levels are kind of long but they didn't bug me like they did many people...because believe it or not, you really want to learn all the things you can do in the game, and this is the only way...there was a mention about how bad the controls are...this is also not true, every vehicle and action is controlled very well. for a change, this is a game for smart people...not button mashing idiots...so, that will turn some people off, I'm not saying they are idiots but hey...there aren't many people out there who enjoy spending time thinking behind a console. there are many real and cool vehicles in this game, obviously it is a realistic approach...so they will behave realistic. if you pilot your torpedo plane straight into a destroyer, they will shoot you down...you know?...so you better find ways to trick the enemy, create diversions, send multiple planes e.t.c...this is the fun factor of this great game...and it is, no doubt a great game...and on top of this all...if you like japanese zeros and destroyers and subs and all that stuff, you must have it. own it...loooove it!!!! Expand
  10. CliveG.
    Sep 30, 2007
    8
    This is a surprisingly well put together game. The single biggest drawback is that during battles with multiple units you spend most of your time playing on the map screen to coordinate everything. Also, it's often easier to let the CPU control all the units automatically but what's missing is a camera that enables you to look around without interupting the CPU - the moment you This is a surprisingly well put together game. The single biggest drawback is that during battles with multiple units you spend most of your time playing on the map screen to coordinate everything. Also, it's often easier to let the CPU control all the units automatically but what's missing is a camera that enables you to look around without interupting the CPU - the moment you touch the controls, you assume manual control. Other than that, the impressive graphics, balanced gameplay and authentic performance of the different units make this a great option for strategy and WWII buffs. Expand
  11. AnhkhoaN.
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    The game is great. Like Mcbain said," Who doesn't want to control a whole fleet?" You just shoot and shoot. When you get tired let the A.I take care of things, then shoot and shoot. It didn't get a 10 because The campaign is too SHORT.
  12. CraigF.
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    Have been playing the demo online the last week with 4-8 players. Only one scenario and no two battles ever turned out the same. Immense depth and unlimited tactics. Dive bombing a carrier or sneeking in a sub behind him and releasing a salvo of torpedos. Cant wait for the full game 1-30-06,
  13. MichaelG.
    Jan 31, 2007
    8
    Well I got to say this game rocks. Online is where the game shines.worth every dollar. Its everything Star Trek Legacy should have of been.game a blast if you like deno buy. If not rent either way its a must play.
  14. MattBadley
    Dec 27, 2008
    6
    Using 'Reverse' is not a sound Naval tactic. But this game makes it viable, completely destroying the laws of physics being able to stop gaint ships almost on a dime. It makes torpedo's in this game almost impossible to use. Not only that, but your friendly AI walks around like an idiot half the time if you don't keep a leash on them.

    Aside from that, it can be an
    Using 'Reverse' is not a sound Naval tactic. But this game makes it viable, completely destroying the laws of physics being able to stop gaint ships almost on a dime. It makes torpedo's in this game almost impossible to use. Not only that, but your friendly AI walks around like an idiot half the time if you don't keep a leash on them.

    Aside from that, it can be an alright game.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 85
    While so many action games are devoid of strategy and so many strategy games are short on action, Battlestations Midway delivers both.
  2. The seamless integration of a user-friendly tactical map enhances the gameplay, and having the choice to fly, sail or sink to the depths of the ocean whilst taking part in one of history's most influential battles is too much fun to miss. [Issue 21, p.50]
  3. 70
    The mixing of genres is cool, and adds a unique twist to the play mechanics, but honestly, Midway would have been much more user-friendly had it been either an action game or a real-time strategy affair -- not both.