BioShock Infinite Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1707 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thrust into the year 1912, players take on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, who has traveled to the flying city of Columbia on a rescue mission. His target is Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned since her childhood years. During their bold escape, Booker and Elizabeth form aThrust into the year 1912, players take on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, who has traveled to the flying city of Columbia on a rescue mission. His target is Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned since her childhood years. During their bold escape, Booker and Elizabeth form a powerful bond -- one which lets Booker enhance his own abilities with her world-altering control over the environment. As a team, they fight from high-speed Sky-Lines, in the streets and houses of Columbia, on giant Zeppelins and in the clouds, while simultaneously learning to harness an growing arsenal of weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Irrational Games
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
BioShock Infinite: The First Five Minutes
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Infinite is more than a new setting, story, and characters; those elements are seamlessly integrated with complex themes, a mysterious plot, and entertaining combat to create an amazing experience from beginning to end. Familiar threads run through it – a lighthouse, a strange city, a charismatic antagonist – but they are homages to the past rather than attempts to recycle it. The core of Infinite is unlike anything else on land, sea, or air.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    A game you can lose yourself in for hours, only looking away to wonder where the time has gone. It is one of this generations great games, as simple as that.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    100
    BioShock Infinite is an excellent game and will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. Once you finish the game it will make you play the original BioShock all over again, which is truly saying something about this release.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    94
    A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay. It trips over itself in a couple of spots, but not in any way that should keep you from embracing it with your utmost enthusiasm.
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    91
    It’s a well-crafted experience that’s certainly more than the sum of its parts, even if those parts are by and large pretty damn good. It’s a satisfying and intriguing experience from top to bottom, and something that’s well worth checking out.
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    90
    Elizabeth is easily one of the best characters to come out of gaming this generation, and Irrational Games, and her actress(es) did an excellent job bringing her to the small screen.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    Bioshock Infinite attempts an Uncharted style relationship between two characters. It doesn’t work as well as it needs to. Booker DeWitt, ably if not unremarkably acted by Troy Baker, would be a fine figure in a novel or a movie. But in a game driven by his relationship with Elizabeth, Bioshock Infinite snags on the issue of a third-person protagonist in a first-person game. What does Booker look like? How does he feel? How is he reacting to what Elizabeth tells him? What does he do when I press X to “comfort Elizabeth”? Is there any subtext when he makes a choice? How do they look at each other? An actor’s face belongs here. There isn’t one.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 423
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    I loved the original Bioshock when it came out in 2007. That the pace of the plot evaporated after the twist mattered not one jot, the gameI loved the original Bioshock when it came out in 2007. That the pace of the plot evaporated after the twist mattered not one jot, the game delivered deep in something sadly missing from many games today atmosphere. Bioshock 2 I also enjoyed in 2010, with the way that it opened up more, and gave a spin on events in Rapture of its own accord, but it never stunned like the original. After seeing the first trailers for Bioshock Infinite 2 years ago, I was hoping for something that would deliver in all key areas of a great game i was not disappointed!! Presentation is generally excellent for the 360, the loads being minimal and fairly fast. The graphics are beautiful in the way that they are executed and the imagination behind them, and if there is the occasional pop-in of objects or textures, and an odd moment of frame rate stutter, it never affects the gameplay. Sound design is on another level though, completely the voice actors do a sterling job, the sound effects are eerie in their delivery, and coupled with the amazing soundtrack which at times evokes memories of Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, amongst other things. The soundtrack is a loud, cluttered and often blustering bundle of objects that does what its supposed to it fills in the spaces that the graphics depend on to deliver the whole 'feel' so to speak. And so to the gameplay, which is where I have to state that this latest entry in the Bioshock series truly is the best so far. There are a handful of neat gimmicks put into the game at key points (the skyhooks, the tears in time), which when coupled with some familiar aspects (the vigors you may have seen before, and the weaponry), makes for some compulsive First-Person shooter gameplay however, the final ingredient, the one that makes this game truly great, and probably one of this years' best (and probably the decades I'm going to state right now!!) is the plot thundering through on some riffs from Alan Moore (think sparks of League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and Watchmen), and some very clear influences from Terry Gilliam (Brazil, 12 Monkeys), and many more I could mention, the whole thing moves from scene to scene, and never ever detaches the player from the game I've said this before, but if this were a book (the whole thing certainly feels like a graphic novel) you'd be up until 4 in the morning reading it!! The last time I played a game that truly made me want to get to the end, to see the whole thing, and know what was going on so much, was either Shadow of the Colossus or Half Life 2, so I think you can understand how highly I rate this game. i could write more, but alas, I'm on my second playthrough of the cursed game you see, and I want to get back to it, so I'll finish with this it is the best single-player campaign game I have played in years, it threatens to overflow with the wealth of ideas bursting forth, and even if you don't think you'll enjoy it, you have to give it at least a try. One utterly superb game. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    I really liked this game it has a good plot, interesting story and the best graphics that I seen in a game it is a very fun game. I really hadI really liked this game it has a good plot, interesting story and the best graphics that I seen in a game it is a very fun game. I really had a really nice time playing it. There is zero flaws that I had when I playing BioShock and I played all the games I sort of enjoyed BioShock 1 but it looks like it had hard levels and BioShock 2 was a half descent game. This game was very fun I really recommend you buy this game. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2016
    10
    BioShock Infinite has really fun gameplay, incredible aesthetics and scenery to look at, and a mind bending story that will leave youBioShock Infinite has really fun gameplay, incredible aesthetics and scenery to look at, and a mind bending story that will leave you speechless come the credits. With amazing writing, level design, and voice acting, this is a game that must not be missed. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    This is one of the most ambitious and compelling games I have ever played. The nature and complexity of the plot won't be to everyone's tasteThis is one of the most ambitious and compelling games I have ever played. The nature and complexity of the plot won't be to everyone's taste as the story begins by tackling subjects including on racism, slavery and religious fundamentalism and ends by trying to melt your brain out of your ears, but it really is a joy to play through.

    The floating city of Columbia is beautifully designed and it's busy streets and hidden corners make it both fun to explore and a welcome change to the catastrophic aftermath of Rapture from the original Bioshock. Combat plays similarly to Bioshock 2 with the familiar mix of vigors (formerly plasmids) and firearms of various size. While combat might not be as slick as a hardcore FPS it's still a lot of fun, although you might want to look to the harder difficulties if you want to be really challenged on that front.

    The real star of the show though is your (nearly) constant companion, Elizabeth. Usually, an AI controlled NPC is little more than a running commentary with a knack for being in the wrong place at the wrong time, but the AI behind Elizabeth is pretty much on the money. In combat, she helps by providing ammo and health, but I found the parts outside of combat the real revelation. While exploring Colombia, Elizabeth will mill about interacting and commenting on your surroundings. The conversations she shares with your character add real context to the story and make her character all the more engaging.

    I don't want to go into any more detail than I already have as the little discoveries you make along the way are a big part of what makes this game so great. Suffice to say that aside from a few glitches and a slight loss of pace in the middle third this is a terrific game and I absolutely recommend you go play it now.
    Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    One of the best games I have played, and I have never played the first 2 Bioshock's. The game is beautiful, characters are fully developed andOne of the best games I have played, and I have never played the first 2 Bioshock's. The game is beautiful, characters are fully developed and able to connect with the player, and the plot is excellent. Despite the very complicated time travelling storyline, this game still pulls off one of the best endings to a video game in my opinion.

    The only drawback is the sometimes repetitive combat gameplay. And also the ridiculously difficult ghost boss!

    I picked this game up for free on Games with Gold, but would pay for it in hindsight. Fully recommend.
    Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    I love the Bioshock series and Bioshock Infinite is a great game that contains a great story but what it lacks is the multiple endings thatI love the Bioshock series and Bioshock Infinite is a great game that contains a great story but what it lacks is the multiple endings that could be obtained by doing something differently in the game like in Bioshock 2. It also would have been nice if they had included the multiplayer side of things as well that way we could see a variety of game modes played on maps that consist of ground and rails. Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is what appears to be three or more groups of people working on different stories/plots, then coming together at a whole team meeting and going, "oh ****! These ideas are all good but they have nothing to do with each other! What do we do???

    Then one guy says, "I know! Multiple universes! That way all of our different plots can be put in!"

    The game has no consistency and has at least three plots going on at once. It starts off being about a really racist utopia, which is an interesting idea. Then suddenly it changes to a damsel-in-distress (but why did they include a depiction of her first menstrual pad????). And yet she's NOT technically a damsel in distress because she has these superpowers to travel between worlds. But somehow she isn't able to use that power to leave her world/prison (even though she uses her ability to change worlds later in the game). In any case Booker, a relatively young, attractive man has to come release her from this prison and help her learn her true power! Not a cliche at all!!

    So then they go after her father, cause he's bad for making this racist utopia and for locking her up. You kill her mom because she was mean or something, I can't remember, and since I played this 4 times you'd think I would but apparently it was so insignificant I can't remember it why her mom was bad.

    SO, then you do a complete plot shift to working with some poverty-stricken people who need help, and want to revolt. Then, for some reason, ("different dimension!") these people are now EVIL and trying to kill you!

    Then there's some part about a guy who made a museum that rewrote American history to include himself as the hero general in all the USA wars. I don't even know what that was other than filler material.

    Oh and those creepy twins (who were cool characters). Their story is they learned to travel between worlds, which is how they stole the baby (Elizabeth) and took her into another world, which was Columbia... But in the beginning of the game Booker's world IS in the same world as Columbia, so.....???

    And the ending. Oh god the ending. Walking around numerous lighthouses saying "we are all different worlds in some worlds you are Comstock and in others you are dead." But at some point it turns out that in truth you are Comstock no matter what? So you are him in all worlds? And my most hated part of the ending is when they go down to the sea as if to suck up to players who loved Bioshock 1/2 to prove that this game is just as cool as Bioshock 1/2!!! It just seems so forced and pandering to get people to associate positive feelings from 1/2 with this crappy game.

    I'm just going to end saying I played this thing 4 times and I literally stayed up all night last night, couldn't fall asleep, because I couldn't figure out what the **** is going on in this game. So I had to write this out. My conclusion is in the first paragraph but:

    tl;dr:
    This game appears to be three or more groups of people working on different stories/plots, then coming together at a whole team meeting and going, "oh ****! These ideas are all good but they have nothing to do with each other! What do we do???

    Then one guy says, "I know! Multiple universes! That way all of our different plots can be put in!"
    Expand

See all 423 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.