BioShock Infinite Xbox 360

Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1547 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thrust into the year 1912, players take on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, who has traveled to the flying city of Columbia on a rescue mission. His target is Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned since her childhood years. During their bold escape, Booker and Elizabeth form aThrust into the year 1912, players take on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, who has traveled to the flying city of Columbia on a rescue mission. His target is Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned since her childhood years. During their bold escape, Booker and Elizabeth form a powerful bond -- one which lets Booker enhance his own abilities with her world-altering control over the environment. As a team, they fight from high-speed Sky-Lines, in the streets and houses of Columbia, on giant Zeppelins and in the clouds, while simultaneously learning to harness an growing arsenal of weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Infinite is more than a new setting, story, and characters; those elements are seamlessly integrated with complex themes, a mysterious plot, and entertaining combat to create an amazing experience from beginning to end. Familiar threads run through it – a lighthouse, a strange city, a charismatic antagonist – but they are homages to the past rather than attempts to recycle it. The core of Infinite is unlike anything else on land, sea, or air.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    A game you can lose yourself in for hours, only looking away to wonder where the time has gone. It is one of this generations great games, as simple as that.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    100
    BioShock Infinite is an excellent game and will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. Once you finish the game it will make you play the original BioShock all over again, which is truly saying something about this release.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    94
    A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay. It trips over itself in a couple of spots, but not in any way that should keep you from embracing it with your utmost enthusiasm.
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    91
    It’s a well-crafted experience that’s certainly more than the sum of its parts, even if those parts are by and large pretty damn good. It’s a satisfying and intriguing experience from top to bottom, and something that’s well worth checking out.
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    90
    Elizabeth is easily one of the best characters to come out of gaming this generation, and Irrational Games, and her actress(es) did an excellent job bringing her to the small screen.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    Bioshock Infinite attempts an Uncharted style relationship between two characters. It doesn’t work as well as it needs to. Booker DeWitt, ably if not unremarkably acted by Troy Baker, would be a fine figure in a novel or a movie. But in a game driven by his relationship with Elizabeth, Bioshock Infinite snags on the issue of a third-person protagonist in a first-person game. What does Booker look like? How does he feel? How is he reacting to what Elizabeth tells him? What does he do when I press X to “comfort Elizabeth”? Is there any subtext when he makes a choice? How do they look at each other? An actor’s face belongs here. There isn’t one.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 415
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    I loved the original Bioshock when it came out in 2007. That the pace of the plot evaporated after the twist mattered not one jot, the gameI loved the original Bioshock when it came out in 2007. That the pace of the plot evaporated after the twist mattered not one jot, the game delivered deep in something sadly missing from many games today atmosphere. Bioshock 2 I also enjoyed in 2010, with the way that it opened up more, and gave a spin on events in Rapture of its own accord, but it never stunned like the original. After seeing the first trailers for Bioshock Infinite 2 years ago, I was hoping for something that would deliver in all key areas of a great game i was not disappointed!! Presentation is generally excellent for the 360, the loads being minimal and fairly fast. The graphics are beautiful in the way that they are executed and the imagination behind them, and if there is the occasional pop-in of objects or textures, and an odd moment of frame rate stutter, it never affects the gameplay. Sound design is on another level though, completely the voice actors do a sterling job, the sound effects are eerie in their delivery, and coupled with the amazing soundtrack which at times evokes memories of Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, amongst other things. The soundtrack is a loud, cluttered and often blustering bundle of objects that does what its supposed to it fills in the spaces that the graphics depend on to deliver the whole 'feel' so to speak. And so to the gameplay, which is where I have to state that this latest entry in the Bioshock series truly is the best so far. There are a handful of neat gimmicks put into the game at key points (the skyhooks, the tears in time), which when coupled with some familiar aspects (the vigors you may have seen before, and the weaponry), makes for some compulsive First-Person shooter gameplay however, the final ingredient, the one that makes this game truly great, and probably one of this years' best (and probably the decades I'm going to state right now!!) is the plot thundering through on some riffs from Alan Moore (think sparks of League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and Watchmen), and some very clear influences from Terry Gilliam (Brazil, 12 Monkeys), and many more I could mention, the whole thing moves from scene to scene, and never ever detaches the player from the game I've said this before, but if this were a book (the whole thing certainly feels like a graphic novel) you'd be up until 4 in the morning reading it!! The last time I played a game that truly made me want to get to the end, to see the whole thing, and know what was going on so much, was either Shadow of the Colossus or Half Life 2, so I think you can understand how highly I rate this game. i could write more, but alas, I'm on my second playthrough of the cursed game you see, and I want to get back to it, so I'll finish with this it is the best single-player campaign game I have played in years, it threatens to overflow with the wealth of ideas bursting forth, and even if you don't think you'll enjoy it, you have to give it at least a try. One utterly superb game. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinte is such a fantastic game, story wise it is full of twists, turns and great characters with great voice actors. Gameplay wiseBioshock Infinte is such a fantastic game, story wise it is full of twists, turns and great characters with great voice actors. Gameplay wise it is full of great combat with challenging enemy types keeping you on your toes. Bioshock is an amazing game, it is the full package. 10/10 Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    It is 1912, and the player is to embark on a mission – a rather simple mission. You are Booker DeWitt, a former Pinkerton who has fallenIt is 1912, and the player is to embark on a mission – a rather simple mission. You are Booker DeWitt, a former Pinkerton who has fallen victim of depression and debt and must now find a way to repay them by extracting a girl, Elizabeth, from the floating city of Columbia. Columbia, a city that floats high among the clouds representing all that’s American - true to even the darkest values that were held back in the day – where racism roars and discrimination is present. The mission for Mr. DeWitt, however, soon turns out to be far more complicated than was ever thought to be.
    Columbia is a beautiful place. It’s full of color, life, and gorgeous visuals. At every turn there is something pretty to look at. It’s nice that throughout the game you do not feel like you are at the same place twice. Level design is varied, as it has been with every Bioshock game in the past. In comparison to the other two Bioshocks, however, this one feels a lot more open. Bioshock 1 and 2 had an emphasis on claustrophobic, dark halls. Rapture had a horror-theme. In Infinite, though, Columbia feels more exposed. It shows that developers wanted to portray something completely different from Rapture. Bioshock Infinite is immersive and it’s truly relaxing to just walk through the city; that is, when there are no baddies shooting at you. The paintings on the walls, statues, and the beautiful architecture of the city capture the eye. The setting of the game is crafted in a way that it would be considered forbidden to rush through it. Don’t rush. Take it all in slowly and experience this game the way it should be – admiring it.
    Gameplay in Bioshock Infinite is fun. This isn’t your generic shooter where you cover and shoot. Infinite grants you, besides guns, powers called vigors that can be used in nice combinations against enemies. These powers can be upgraded and in addition to them the player can find garments throughout the game that offer bonuses such as greater resistance and damage. Elizabeth’s powers play an important part in the game. She opens up (quite literally) new possibilities as to how to approach a situation, she’s also great at helping the player out during tough encounters, i.e. providing health, ammo and salts – salts being the “fuel” that lets you use powers. Another nice implementation is the skylines. These rails placed throughout the game add adrenaline and a whole new level of fun to the combat, making it fast-paced and hectic. While the whole game may look as a tedious escort mission – it is not. One does not have to be continuously taking care of Elizabeth; in fact, to an extent it almost feels like she is the one taking care of the player every time death is imminent.

    This is, for the most part, a story driven game, and the player will realize that even more so by the end of the game. The voice acting in Bioshock Infinite is top notch. Courtney Draper delivers a capturing and beautiful performance as Elizabeth and makes of her character one of the most lovable in the medium. Not to mention Troy Baker’s great performance as Booker DeWitt who, in comparison to Bioshock 1 and 2, makes of the protagonist a talking one.
    Bioshock Infinite, as one of the best titles of 2013 and arguably among the best of this generation, gives to the player an adventure that is rarely come across with. There are no spoilers within this review, but let it be known that the narrative in Bioshock Infinite is one of the best that could ever be experienced. It brings perfect, satisfactory closure in the end, and it could well enough surpass most of what Hollywood has contributed in the recent years. At the end of the journey, it leaves lots to think about, making it one of the most memorable experiences in any medium. A game that is beautiful, well detailed, and well performed that will be remembered and talked about for years to come.
    Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Simply amazing game, everything about it is just so polished and refined. only complaint is the some of the gun battles in the middle feel aSimply amazing game, everything about it is just so polished and refined. only complaint is the some of the gun battles in the middle feel a bit forced, overall though a fantastic experience. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    This game is better than i thought. Although i thought it was way over rated at first i was wrong. Very very wrong in so many ways. Although iThis game is better than i thought. Although i thought it was way over rated at first i was wrong. Very very wrong in so many ways. Although i will still say that the gameplay isnt the greatest. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    Empezando a jugarlo, hasta el momento es un juego muy bello e imaginativo, pero siento ke le falta mucho de lo siniestro de las anterioresEmpezando a jugarlo, hasta el momento es un juego muy bello e imaginativo, pero siento ke le falta mucho de lo siniestro de las anteriores entregas, parece por momentos a nivel shooter una especie de bulletstorm clone, y el eve se gasta de boleto sobre todo al princiopio del juego, flojera de ke haya poco dinero y todo caro... la solución? Ponte a revisar hasta el último cajón de los muebles de este enorme mundo por unas moneditas, este juego le perdono todo esto por ser parte de una de las sagas mas legendarias en el mundo de los juegos aparte de la estupenda dirección artistica que se trae. Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is what appears to be three or more groups of people working on different stories/plots, then coming together at a whole team meeting and going, "oh ****! These ideas are all good but they have nothing to do with each other! What do we do???

    Then one guy says, "I know! Multiple universes! That way all of our different plots can be put in!"

    The game has no consistency and has at least three plots going on at once. It starts off being about a really racist utopia, which is an interesting idea. Then suddenly it changes to a damsel-in-distress (but why did they include a depiction of her first menstrual pad????). And yet she's NOT technically a damsel in distress because she has these superpowers to travel between worlds. But somehow she isn't able to use that power to leave her world/prison (even though she uses her ability to change worlds later in the game). In any case Booker, a relatively young, attractive man has to come release her from this prison and help her learn her true power! Not a cliche at all!!

    So then they go after her father, cause he's bad for making this racist utopia and for locking her up. You kill her mom because she was mean or something, I can't remember, and since I played this 4 times you'd think I would but apparently it was so insignificant I can't remember it why her mom was bad.

    SO, then you do a complete plot shift to working with some poverty-stricken people who need help, and want to revolt. Then, for some reason, ("different dimension!") these people are now EVIL and trying to kill you!

    Then there's some part about a guy who made a museum that rewrote American history to include himself as the hero general in all the USA wars. I don't even know what that was other than filler material.

    Oh and those creepy twins (who were cool characters). Their story is they learned to travel between worlds, which is how they stole the baby (Elizabeth) and took her into another world, which was Columbia... But in the beginning of the game Booker's world IS in the same world as Columbia, so.....???

    And the ending. Oh god the ending. Walking around numerous lighthouses saying "we are all different worlds in some worlds you are Comstock and in others you are dead." But at some point it turns out that in truth you are Comstock no matter what? So you are him in all worlds? And my most hated part of the ending is when they go down to the sea as if to suck up to players who loved Bioshock 1/2 to prove that this game is just as cool as Bioshock 1/2!!! It just seems so forced and pandering to get people to associate positive feelings from 1/2 with this crappy game.

    I'm just going to end saying I played this thing 4 times and I literally stayed up all night last night, couldn't fall asleep, because I couldn't figure out what the **** is going on in this game. So I had to write this out. My conclusion is in the first paragraph but:

    tl;dr:
    This game appears to be three or more groups of people working on different stories/plots, then coming together at a whole team meeting and going, "oh ****! These ideas are all good but they have nothing to do with each other! What do we do???

    Then one guy says, "I know! Multiple universes! That way all of our different plots can be put in!"
    Expand

See all 415 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.