BioShock Xbox 360

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2308 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RayH.
    Aug 20, 2007
    3
    Great graphics, implausible storyline...Hard to play (difficulty wise).. The reviewers may be enamored with this title, but if the first thing I do upon entering a strange facility I know nothing about, and I find a hypo needle on the ground...well, I would just shove this needle into my arm? Uh..realism...NOT! And the difficulty ramps up...casual players need not apply!
  2. Liam
    Aug 26, 2007
    6
    Firstly, dont believe all the hype this game is getting. Yeah sure its got a high average meta score, and raving reviews from most game magazines, but seriously...
    With my favourite games been half-life (both 1 and 2) i was sure i was going to enjoy bioshock. I did for the most part, but its simply more of the same. The graphics i grant are good but nothing breathtaking, the story at
    Firstly, dont believe all the hype this game is getting. Yeah sure its got a high average meta score, and raving reviews from most game magazines, but seriously...
    With my favourite games been half-life (both 1 and 2) i was sure i was going to enjoy bioshock. I did for the most part, but its simply more of the same. The graphics i grant are good but nothing breathtaking, the story at times can get a little predictable and for me the gameplay was lacking that real substance. I have given it a lower score of 6 mainly because i dont believe the game deserves the major reviews its been getting. Realisticley the game deserves an 8.8 - 9.0 (or 85-90 using the meta score)
    Expand
  3. AlexB.
    Aug 30, 2007
    3
    It has graphics. When you shoot someone they scream bloody murder like you're actually killing a real person. I found it a little too dark, too "evil" to play. What the hell is with the 7 year old little girls drinking and throwing up blood, that is just sick. This game would probably be fun if i could get past so much evil in it.
  4. PaulM.
    Sep 12, 2007
    6
    This game starts brilliantly! The atmosphere and visuals are impressive and the gameplay is good. Unforunately the beginning of the game is the best part about it. The more you play, the more repetative it gets. Shoot this, hack that, go here, go there... it gets very old, very quickly. Your human enemies are very limited (4 variations i think) and then you get 2 variations of the big This game starts brilliantly! The atmosphere and visuals are impressive and the gameplay is good. Unforunately the beginning of the game is the best part about it. The more you play, the more repetative it gets. Shoot this, hack that, go here, go there... it gets very old, very quickly. Your human enemies are very limited (4 variations i think) and then you get 2 variations of the big daddies. Once you work out a tactic for them (which wont take long) the gameplay is boring! I found this frustating as the game started so well. Even the environments later in the game don't have anywhere near the imagination of the earlier stages. Still a solid title but it has to many flaws to be a real classic in my eyes. Disappointing! Expand
  5. SteveM.
    Sep 13, 2007
    7
    Good effort but not the awesome experience every reviewer is claiming and definitely not a patch on System Shock! Very imaginative interior design but maiming splicers quickly gets dull. The game does start very well but quickly becomes quite ho-hum in terms of gameplay and puzzles. Plasmids are not innovative - they're just weapons!! Narrative techniques are ok but we saw all of Good effort but not the awesome experience every reviewer is claiming and definitely not a patch on System Shock! Very imaginative interior design but maiming splicers quickly gets dull. The game does start very well but quickly becomes quite ho-hum in terms of gameplay and puzzles. Plasmids are not innovative - they're just weapons!! Narrative techniques are ok but we saw all of this in HL years ago. To quote Public Enemy - Don't Believe the Hype. Expand
  6. RicardoC.
    Sep 2, 2007
    7
    Not so hot as they say. Story is a kind of a LSD bad trip. The places are extremely annoying and have repetitive compositions. Not scary at all. Predictive actions. DOOM 3 graphics and textures abuse from bump mapping and loss detail when you came near. The avatar's hand is extremely artificial and removes immersion form the game. A nice game for a weekend, but overhyped at it most. Not so hot as they say. Story is a kind of a LSD bad trip. The places are extremely annoying and have repetitive compositions. Not scary at all. Predictive actions. DOOM 3 graphics and textures abuse from bump mapping and loss detail when you came near. The avatar's hand is extremely artificial and removes immersion form the game. A nice game for a weekend, but overhyped at it most. Definetly a videogame game on a PC. Shoot, shoot, shoot, kill, kill, kill, blood, blood, blood, adam. Shoot, shoot, shoot, kill, kill, kill, blood, blood, blood, more adam. Expand
  7. MattR.
    Sep 24, 2007
    3
    Impressive visuals and a pretty good storyline, but the gameplay is repeditive, linear, and just pretty boring. At times, even with brightness at or above the recommended level, you just can't see anything. It hasn't done anything other games haven't. Although it is pretty satisfying to smack enemies with the wrench. 3 for the graphics and voices, -7 for the gameplay and sounds.
  8. VC
    Sep 3, 2007
    0
    This game is way overhyped. Too linear and too easy. Pretty, but not especially fun.
  9. TopherG.
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    No doubt the graphics and music are stunning. The story, while predictable, is one of the best in video games right now as well. Unfortunately, the gameplay is not as diverse as the artwork or atmosphere. Due to a limited amount of enemies, puzzles involving your abilities, the game's linear level progression and the monotony of the hacking system, the game becomes repetitive very No doubt the graphics and music are stunning. The story, while predictable, is one of the best in video games right now as well. Unfortunately, the gameplay is not as diverse as the artwork or atmosphere. Due to a limited amount of enemies, puzzles involving your abilities, the game's linear level progression and the monotony of the hacking system, the game becomes repetitive very quickly. Additionally, this game is very easy, even on the hardest difficulty, due to you respawning with no reprocussions. Several times you can just fight off enemies with your wrench because when you die everything stays the same. This game's only true boss battle (the end boss) was such a let down. He was so uninspired and easy, just a real let down. More boss battles that were immersive (and if you die you have to start over with the boss at full health) could have made this game great. A decent installment, however, this may be the most overrated game of all time. Expand
  10. MatthewS.
    Sep 5, 2007
    4
    A lot of time went into the the polishing the environment (sound and visuals), not enough in all the other areas that make a game worth playing more than once.
  11. ThatGuy
    Nov 20, 2008
    4
    This was a terrible game for me, boring, repetative, difficult, strange, but not that normal for a game like this strange. This is over the top stupid and creepy strange. This is like, you expect a nice underwater land populated by at least ghosts or something, but no. Its disgusting rotten zombie people who can run and jump and shoot at the speed of light. Then these unexpected twistsThis was a terrible game for me, boring, repetative, difficult, strange, but not that normal for a game like this strange. This is over the top stupid and creepy strange. This is like, you expect a nice underwater land populated by at least ghosts or something, but no. Its disgusting rotten zombie people who can run and jump and shoot at the speed of light. Then these unexpected twists that just annoy you like big daddies and little sisters. This game was a failure, im going back to Nintendo 64 because of this. (The graphics are the same) Expand
  12. Wutung
    Jan 19, 2008
    7
    A good game but didn't really live up the hype.The graphics are great and so is the art design, the atmosphere and inhabitants are also top notch, but its all a very linear corridor affair, there aren't any outdoor or wideopen areas. I really expected an "anything goes" experience, but the use of plasmids and the havok engine driven environments turned out to be a bit shallow. A good game but didn't really live up the hype.The graphics are great and so is the art design, the atmosphere and inhabitants are also top notch, but its all a very linear corridor affair, there aren't any outdoor or wideopen areas. I really expected an "anything goes" experience, but the use of plasmids and the havok engine driven environments turned out to be a bit shallow. The morality angle in the game isn't very sophisticated or thought provoking, and the plot loses its tension mid way through. The end boss is a dissappointment too. A fun ride with an artistic twist, but nothing really new or innovative. Expand
  13. NicholasH.
    Dec 12, 2008
    5
    This game was mediocre, not good and especially not great. Problem is, the hype machine made the game to be much more than it is. If you expect a lot of this game, prepare for disappointment. If you expect little, you will have a "decent" experience.
  14. JoshuaB
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    When I first played the demo for this game, I was unsure when to start playing because the transfer from video to game was seamless. I was amazed and the graphics at first. Then I continued playing and by the end of the demo was so scared that half-way through, i turned my lights on, and so pissed that the demo ended, that i went out and bought it not even 20 minutes later. This is the When I first played the demo for this game, I was unsure when to start playing because the transfer from video to game was seamless. I was amazed and the graphics at first. Then I continued playing and by the end of the demo was so scared that half-way through, i turned my lights on, and so pissed that the demo ended, that i went out and bought it not even 20 minutes later. This is the only game to come close to my I-Know-It's-Cliche Favorite game ever, Final Fantasy VII. This game is by far going to be recognized in the future for its story, and for its overall creepy theme. Can't wait for Bioshock 2 and the Movie! Expand
  15. LegendiusM.
    Mar 5, 2008
    5
    Ok, my friend hated this game, I read the reviews here and thought he must be an idiot so I bought it. AND IT SUCKS! I don't get it, I really don't. The shooting is average at best, the enemies are boring, those stupid hacking puzzles are just plain retarded, and the story? Nothing great in my opinion. I will admit that I only played about 5 hours but how can a game that's Ok, my friend hated this game, I read the reviews here and thought he must be an idiot so I bought it. AND IT SUCKS! I don't get it, I really don't. The shooting is average at best, the enemies are boring, those stupid hacking puzzles are just plain retarded, and the story? Nothing great in my opinion. I will admit that I only played about 5 hours but how can a game that's so fundamentally flawed get such universal praise??? I cannot find a bad review for this game anywhere. Please flame me, please tell me I'm a retard, please tell me WHAT IS SO DAMN GOOD ABOUT THIS GAME! Expand
  16. terriblegame
    Jun 2, 2008
    0
    Couldn't stop hitting my head against the wall.
  17. EricB.
    Jul 22, 2008
    0
    Me no understand to complicated me want smash in halo no multiplayer to me want kill people for no reason.To many character and plot is hard me cant understand.
  18. AnonymousMC
    Jul 7, 2008
    1
    How can the reviewers give this such a good score?! It's got a ridiculous amount of bugs that, well, simply make the game unplayable. After a few hours, this game even gave my 360 a RRoD. Go figure -_-
    That is not the reason for the low score (though I did take a point or two more off), it's the fact this game is just average at best. Go play Halo instead. At least that game did
    How can the reviewers give this such a good score?! It's got a ridiculous amount of bugs that, well, simply make the game unplayable. After a few hours, this game even gave my 360 a RRoD. Go figure -_-
    That is not the reason for the low score (though I did take a point or two more off), it's the fact this game is just average at best. Go play Halo instead. At least that game did something original and it's mostly run-and-gun.
    PC version is probably a lot better, too bad my PC can't run it
    Expand
  19. PeterArmstrong
    Oct 5, 2009
    6
    cant understand the hype behind this game and found it disgraceful that it was given a 96. havent finished yet cos i find it very boring the action is not great. Gene tonic system isnt designed well. the idea of plasmids is very cool. With some tweaks this game could be much more enjoyable think.
  20. IleM
    Oct 9, 2009
    7
    Good visuals, nice story but .. it's boring and repetitive. The combats become boring. Your abilities do change, but the opposition is just so repetitive. A shame really when you consider the effort otherwise.
  21. CoreyN
    Jul 31, 2009
    5
    Gameplay was over complicated and repetitive. AI was very weak, they just rushed at me. Story was predictable, contrived, poorly delivered, and unsatisfying. The world was unbelievable. I could not get immersed in it because there was no way to understand it at all. Hacking was fun the first 3 times. Then it became a miserable grind. It was full of bugs, including at least 4 crashes. I Gameplay was over complicated and repetitive. AI was very weak, they just rushed at me. Story was predictable, contrived, poorly delivered, and unsatisfying. The world was unbelievable. I could not get immersed in it because there was no way to understand it at all. Hacking was fun the first 3 times. Then it became a miserable grind. It was full of bugs, including at least 4 crashes. I was really excited to play this game, given all the great reviews it got. Too bad it was a run of the mill FPS with nothing new to offer. Why is it considered so great? Is it just because its not "Aliens in Space" or WWII? A 96 game should offer more than just a different setting. Expand
  22. GazFlint
    Sep 1, 2009
    4
    I don't get why so many people like this game, its really repetitive, the crontrols are clunky and at times it's so stupidly hard, I died about five times in a minute once. It was just weird, it didn't know whether it wanted to be an RPG or a shooter, and didn't have the finesse of either. Most over rated game ever.
  23. TonyG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    2
    I'm shocked this game has received such acclaim. The graphics are nice and the story charming, but that's all. Gameplay is pathetically awful. Shoot, run out of ammo, & swing wrench. How this even got past playtesting is a mystery to me. Framerate begins to glitch and freeze when things get busy. Ammunition is stupidly scarce, requiring you to search every bit of garbage on the I'm shocked this game has received such acclaim. The graphics are nice and the story charming, but that's all. Gameplay is pathetically awful. Shoot, run out of ammo, & swing wrench. How this even got past playtesting is a mystery to me. Framerate begins to glitch and freeze when things get busy. Ammunition is stupidly scarce, requiring you to search every bit of garbage on the floor. Your primary weapons are zapping somebody with electricity and then clubbing them. You can't even access all the power menus from the standard game interface, these only unlock when you pick up an item. Skip this overhyped nonsense an d buy a real game like Halo 3. Expand
  24. JoshQ.
    Nov 22, 2007
    5
    Note that I love both RPG and FPS genres very much and that i was awaiting bioshock months before release. Bioshock is extremely overrated. There's too many false prelease features to even name. Overall, the game has little if any RPG aspect, its completely linear, the environment is static (which is completely what it was meant not to be), theres only 6 guns and 2 upgrades per which Note that I love both RPG and FPS genres very much and that i was awaiting bioshock months before release. Bioshock is extremely overrated. There's too many false prelease features to even name. Overall, the game has little if any RPG aspect, its completely linear, the environment is static (which is completely what it was meant not to be), theres only 6 guns and 2 upgrades per which dont rlly add much to the game, wen i was goin thru it i didnt really say much to myself but wen i completeled i realized i had no fun and beat it just to satisfy myself rather than leaving a purchased game incomplete, tehre's just too much I could say to make a small comment on it. Expand
  25. RyanM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    I absolutley detest any game that wins the game of the year award when it not only has no multiplayer content but, cant even get the campaign single player mode to be the least bit Non-Linear... Probably the single most boring game I have ever Played, So much for taking the ratings to heart and dropping $60 on something I hated so badly I felt selling it was wrong because I would be I absolutley detest any game that wins the game of the year award when it not only has no multiplayer content but, cant even get the campaign single player mode to be the least bit Non-Linear... Probably the single most boring game I have ever Played, So much for taking the ratings to heart and dropping $60 on something I hated so badly I felt selling it was wrong because I would be putting it back into circulation. Expand
  26. KurtC.
    Dec 28, 2007
    3
    Boring and not very good. Amazing production values (graphics/sound) and an average story, although it was presented well. The problem is the gameplay. It is just so lacking, and it is very sad to hear this compared with the System Shock games. They are in a completely different league to this game. Also, anyone who gives a game 100 out of 100, should not be in the business of reviewing anything.
  27. JayA.
    Oct 23, 2007
    1
    Certainly not worth the scores it has received. The graphics and storytelling are about all that's good - or rather, medicre - in this water-clogged interactive story. Gameplay (shoot once, run out of ammo, then pull out the wrench).
  28. JeremyL.
    Dec 7, 2007
    2
    Great graphics, good storyline, pretty good thriller. Nothing like I expected, no RPG element. Basic horror FPS. Would have been much better on PC, Xbox 360 isn't for FPS', I bought it for the RPG element it was advertised as having, and was disappointed to find that it was nothing like that.
  29. mickeykan
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    bioshock is the worst game i ever played. I almost thought i was nes or probably superman 64. I even think superman 64 is a better game than bioshock. When i played it the person who got his plane crash and went in the lighthouse and said "there is only man no god". I say to myself why did the guy go in if he it is a dangerous place. it didn't have good because how can there robootsbioshock is the worst game i ever played. I almost thought i was nes or probably superman 64. I even think superman 64 is a better game than bioshock. When i played it the person who got his plane crash and went in the lighthouse and said "there is only man no god". I say to myself why did the guy go in if he it is a dangerous place. it didn't have good because how can there roboots and flying mini helicopter back in 1960 like what the hell they have video games that year well there is only few at the time but i bet those video game is better than bioshock for Nintendo 64 opps sorry (bad graphics, crappest storyline of all time, worse shooting game of all times.) It's only for pc and xbox 360. it shouldn't game of the year and it should take superman 64 spot as the worse game of all times. The control is good but the storyline ruins it. When i got to the ending i didn't know atlas the guy who guide you through while holding his radio is the last master. even if you rescue all the girls the game is still crap. when you stab yourself with the needle it really hurts your eye while in a dark place and i can see polygon all over the place as if i thought i was playing nes. shooting are worst games of all time and people who said this is really good game needs to go to hell!!!!!!!! when i beat the game i just throw it away because that game is trash. Expand
  30. TeodorIkonomov
    Aug 17, 2007
    0
    The Best Game Ever
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.