BioShock Xbox 360

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2271 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Bio
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Intense, breathtaking, and original. If you don't like this game, take a break and detox from the Halo hype, and try again later. Ahh, isn't that better? I thought so.
  2. Brandon
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    The only way to describe this game is brilliant. Simply brilliant, vibrant world that just goes so smoothly. I absolutely love the Art direction of this game along as the music and theme of this game. Above it all, it's fun to play. It's a nice mix of FPS, and RPG. I really hope people pay attention to all the reviews about this game, because nothing below a 9/10 or 90% just The only way to describe this game is brilliant. Simply brilliant, vibrant world that just goes so smoothly. I absolutely love the Art direction of this game along as the music and theme of this game. Above it all, it's fun to play. It's a nice mix of FPS, and RPG. I really hope people pay attention to all the reviews about this game, because nothing below a 9/10 or 90% just proves how well made and brilliant this peice of art that we call a game is. They just raised the bars for every game. Expand
  3. ToddN.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game. Great story, great visuals, unique gameplay. Fun and rewarding experience. A masterpiece.
  4. Andyman
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Condemned meets Doom, and better than both combined (and I absolutely love those 2 games!). Anyone who rates this game below a 9 needs to play it again on a large HDTV, in the dark, with the volume cranked. Anything less than that does a disservice to this absolutely breathtaking game. BioShock isn't a run-n-gun fragfest (although it has its moments)... if you're playing it like Condemned meets Doom, and better than both combined (and I absolutely love those 2 games!). Anyone who rates this game below a 9 needs to play it again on a large HDTV, in the dark, with the volume cranked. Anything less than that does a disservice to this absolutely breathtaking game. BioShock isn't a run-n-gun fragfest (although it has its moments)... if you're playing it like Halo, you're going about it all wrong. This is about taking your time and letting the ruined splendor of Rapture truly sink in. BioShock gets better with every passing minute and I can't wait to play through it at least a couple more times. I can't wait to see the Live Marketplace download add-ons. Expand
  5. HobagS.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    A pure masterpiece, visually stunning in every way, the most interesting game i have ever played
  6. HWNDarkside
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    I'm sorry but the best story/best graphics in the world do not compensate for another premium not offering user definable/southpaw controllers. I rushed out and bought a copy without thinking and have wasted another £40 on a game I cannot play using a control system I am comfortable with. Shame on you. File alongside Gears Of War and GRAW - and the upcoming Stranglehold.
  7. AlexanderD.
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    This game was simply an amazing experience to say the least. Everything about it was unique from the weapon upgrades to the underwater utopia that the game takes place in. You can hack turrets, set traps, or go in head on to fight the Big Daddy in order to collect the ADAM from the Little Sister. Watch out for those Splicers as you make your way through the city or Rapture!
  8. NickM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    This game is a masterpeice. Everything about it is fun. It graphics are amazing, its gameplay, amazing, and its storytelling, double amazing! there are no cutscenes where you cant play. it really marks that this year is the year when sick games are gunna come out. it makes up for that overrated pile of $#@! gears of war.
  9. Kevin
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    While this review is only on the Xbox Live demo, This game is flawless. The action is intense and it really is a thinking mans FPS. If you think you are Rambo this game will soon prove you wrong. Use your head stay alive and if you don't have this game you are missing out on the greatest game of 2007! Hands down Game of the Year.
  10. KyrpäK.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    This is the one of the greatest game of all time. Bioshock deserver full 10 points.
  11. Feartrain
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    The most imaginative, dark and twisted piece of fantasy gaming ever! This post-apocalyptic, dystopian, semi-RPG survival-horror shooter, will trap you miles beneath the surface, giving you the sense of hopelessness and the desperation of no escape.
  12. DanielW.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Freakin' awesome game, great story, great game mechanics, there is no equal!!
  13. MattL.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    This is a revolution in gaming with amazing graphics, gameplay, and storyline. Possibly every bit as good Half-Life 2 was in 2004. I only wish my friends would stop complaining about it not having online already.
  14. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Bioshock has to be the most immersive game ever made. Bioshock is a masterpiece of narrative story telling and graphical atmosphere. The inhabitants of Rapture are freaky but oh so real and crazy. The presentation is amongst the best on 360 let alone the PS3. There is absolutely no denying that this is visually and narritively one of the best games ever created on this generation of consoles.
  15. ChristofferBS
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Most people who give this game a bad score is because they did not beat it or they find it to challenging. At first the story is very basic but there are many twist that make the basics complicated. Many people compare this to HL 2. Why? there are only a couple things that are similar. Crowbar and Wrench. Deep story. that is pretty much it. I never saw Gordon Freeman use Plasmids. Most people who give this game a bad score is because they did not beat it or they find it to challenging. At first the story is very basic but there are many twist that make the basics complicated. Many people compare this to HL 2. Why? there are only a couple things that are similar. Crowbar and Wrench. Deep story. that is pretty much it. I never saw Gordon Freeman use Plasmids. Plasmids, shoot electricity and fire. Make enemys, their cameras and turrents fight against eachother and many more. Plus the moral choices. Little Sisters give u adam that let u buy more plasmids and plasmid upgrades. Know u can kill them and take more adam or change them back to normal girls and get less adam. Kill a little girl for more or save her for less. I got my TV in like 2002. It is like 2 1/2 feet by 2 1/2 feet and it looks like hd on a lcd. Expand
  16. MichaelB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Puts a different twist on the also fantastic game system shock 2.
  17. Teli
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Unique and exquisite. The moral choices, the atmosphere the art combined into an unforgetable experience. The were so many ocasions where I would run out of an area through an interconnecting tunnel that displays the underwater city and realise that I completely forgot that I was under water. Very engaging. A must have title.
  18. JustinB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    along with "future wars" on amiga back in 1990, Bioshock is the most artistically inspiring game I have ever played. half life 2 comes close but bioshock is a different animal in every aspect. the amount of freedom is mind blowing, even though it takes place indoors. The freedom to exploit those havok physics in a full and modified unreal engine such as this never gets old. especially along with "future wars" on amiga back in 1990, Bioshock is the most artistically inspiring game I have ever played. half life 2 comes close but bioshock is a different animal in every aspect. the amount of freedom is mind blowing, even though it takes place indoors. The freedom to exploit those havok physics in a full and modified unreal engine such as this never gets old. especially when you throw in all the bio upgrades such as telekinesis (mind over matter) and things like freezing, burning and sending electric shocks at your enemies. the art direction is academy award worthy,a world set in a decayed art deco city built underwater, you feel like you are playing a french sci-fi movie; mainly reminiscent of "city of the lost children". whichever way you look at this, this is sophistication in video game design. people who play games to so called "pwn-or own" or whatever might gripe about this being too dark and slow and not being online...but thats okay, i have played games with these people and frankly dont understand how they get any enjoyment out of games when they run around like roaches and shooting enemies like products rolling on a factory band, yelling and screaming through the process...living a virtual self-indulgent pre-adolescence orgasm. if you are however a grown up and intelligent gamer who despise hypes and mindless commercial traps to steal your hard earned money, Bioshock comes as a fresh option to adress your next-gen kicks and satisfy all the same...and a lot more. buy it now, you will miss out if you don't. Expand
  19. JayK.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Easily the best game I ever played, and I've played a lot of games. Atmosphere, creativity, and gameplay are incredible. Mechanics, art, sound, levels, and immersion are incredible. The only fault I can find is that the game IS too easy, and I don't like my games hard. But if you don't save and reload too often, and if you play on hard, you are guaranteed one of the best Easily the best game I ever played, and I've played a lot of games. Atmosphere, creativity, and gameplay are incredible. Mechanics, art, sound, levels, and immersion are incredible. The only fault I can find is that the game IS too easy, and I don't like my games hard. But if you don't save and reload too often, and if you play on hard, you are guaranteed one of the best experiences in gaming. Expand
  20. LarsB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Best game experience since resident evil 4! Excellent storytelling.
  21. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    I try to avoid superlatives in my life, and even more so in my game reviews. That being said, this game is the single best game ever made. This is true art, poetry in motion, a triumph of, and tribute to, the beginning of art in gaming. Gameplay is flawless, storyline is engaging, graphics are glorious. However, the true joy of it is in a few things you wouldn't usually look for at I try to avoid superlatives in my life, and even more so in my game reviews. That being said, this game is the single best game ever made. This is true art, poetry in motion, a triumph of, and tribute to, the beginning of art in gaming. Gameplay is flawless, storyline is engaging, graphics are glorious. However, the true joy of it is in a few things you wouldn't usually look for at all, let alone expect to change a game. First, philosophy. It truly makes the intelligent mind wonder at the possibilities of mankind, to all the little what-ifs hidden in the human psyche. It allows one a glimpse into mankind, and into our future. Second, and this is going to surprise you, sound design. The musical accompaniment adds a depth to the horror you see around you by simply ignoring it. The innocence of what you are hearing combined with the horror of what you are seeing adds a remarkable amount to the already unfathomable depth of the experience. All in all, if this isn't the perfect gaming experience, then I am left to wonder if we will ever see it. Expand
  22. TrevorM.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best games that I have ever played. The story is immersive and has numerous twists and turns. The graphics, music and gameplay all exceptionally well done and really draw you into the story. This game rasises the bar for what a video game can be. A must have.
  23. JonH.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    This game does everthing right from the superb visuals to the rollercoaster of a story. its halo meets prey meets oblivion meets system shock2 meeets ...... its everhing a firstperson shooter should be and more.The guns are thought out and feel genuine and the relationship between the little sister and the big daddys is haunting in its innocence. there are downfalls to the game such as This game does everthing right from the superb visuals to the rollercoaster of a story. its halo meets prey meets oblivion meets system shock2 meeets ...... its everhing a firstperson shooter should be and more.The guns are thought out and feel genuine and the relationship between the little sister and the big daddys is haunting in its innocence. there are downfalls to the game such as backtracking to collect ammo or pieces of anything to make ammuntion but it makes the game last longer. overall this is going to be a bigger summer hit than that weird song about 'umbrellas.' Expand
  24. AxelD.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    I recently played the demo to this game several times.I absolutely love this game,the controlls are perfect,the game looks beautiful to say the least you can.I love just messing around with the crazies in rapture using my infero o' doom and hack every machine i can find esspecially the turret near the end...If you have the cash and even if you dont buy this game...It is no longer a choice...
  25. JoelC.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Its just INSANE how good this game is. It really really sucks you in, and doesn't let go. Theres so much stuff to do, this isn't your usual blast level to level. Its almost too intense, all these customizations, battles with Big Daddy's that only ultimately lead to death. Just insanity. Get this game. You will not regret it.
  26. SethH.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    Beautiful. Amazing. Spectacular. Intriguing. The superlatives could go on and on. The main point is, THIS is the reason games should be played. Intricate and unique weapon system, creepy as hell atmosphere, indescribably well-written story. It may only be single player, but to me, a great experience once or twice is better than the same experience over and over again online.
  27. Brent
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is absolutely amazing...in my opinion it is one of the best games of all time. The game is incredible in every aspect. Great graphics, gameplay, storyline, etc. This game will definitely be a contender for game of the year. If you own a 360 and are old enough, then pick this game up....you won't regret it.
  28. WaltG.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    The game is a masterpiece of design, atmosphere, and gripping storytelling. I have to say, when you see "Aesthetics are a moral imperative," written in blood in the floor of a surgery ward, I had to turn the lights back on.
  29. CodyB.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    PERFECTION! 20 OUT OF 10. This game was well worth the wait. When it kept getting pushed back, I thought, " it better be worth it!" It is. The gameplay is perfect, the graphics (with a few glitches here and there) are beautiful. The best part about this game is the story and the decisions to make. When they give you the decision to kill or save the little sisters, you realize just how deepPERFECTION! 20 OUT OF 10. This game was well worth the wait. When it kept getting pushed back, I thought, " it better be worth it!" It is. The gameplay is perfect, the graphics (with a few glitches here and there) are beautiful. The best part about this game is the story and the decisions to make. When they give you the decision to kill or save the little sisters, you realize just how deep this can get. I chose to save the first little sister. The cutscene is full of emotion. Try it once. It doesnt reward you as much, but just ty it. You will see what I am talking about. Its about time that there is a quality FPS on the 360. The best game so far. Expand
  30. JulianosT.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    I read a review of someone who gave this game a zero. He gave it that score because of the realistic gore, what you do to the people in the game, and the fact he thought it was inappropirate for all ages. I believe that actually caring about what you do to people in a game is a mark about how good a game is. When you feel guilty about what you do to someone, even in a game, it makes you I read a review of someone who gave this game a zero. He gave it that score because of the realistic gore, what you do to the people in the game, and the fact he thought it was inappropirate for all ages. I believe that actually caring about what you do to people in a game is a mark about how good a game is. When you feel guilty about what you do to someone, even in a game, it makes you look into who you really are. Bioshock is the only game I have ever played that has made me do that. I admit that I am not very far in the game, but I am already hooked. I have never seen a game with such good water graphics before. The enemies are intelligent enough to jump into the water when they catch on fire. The gameplay is emmersive and almost magical. You really feel you are in the game. For moments I forgot that I was playing a game. When you play this game, your adrenaline starts pumping off the wall. When the ligths go out, you really are afraid. Even though you have much superior fire power and abilities, you're scared for your life. Just like in Half-Life 2, every object in the game can be interacted with. This game takes the leap from a fantasy into real life. You make the choice of whether to save children for little reward, or kill them for a huge reward. You have a choice to be good or evil. You choose how to dispatch your enemies. Hack a turret bot and have that fight them, freeze them then blow them into a thousand pieces, stun them and dispact them instandly, EVERYTHING! I have never seen this games equal. Bioshock is the game that every game to come should be judged on. If it is not as good as Bioshock, it is not worth buying. Expand
  31. AndersH.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    This game, quite simply put, blows most others in its genre straight out of the water. The story is beautifully crafted, and is definitely the games most compelling aspect. Kevin Levine's BioShock is to video game evolution as Welles' Citizen Kane was to cinema's. Aside from being interactive fiction, the game play can be quite satisfying if the user is creative enough to This game, quite simply put, blows most others in its genre straight out of the water. The story is beautifully crafted, and is definitely the games most compelling aspect. Kevin Levine's BioShock is to video game evolution as Welles' Citizen Kane was to cinema's. Aside from being interactive fiction, the game play can be quite satisfying if the user is creative enough to play with all the possibilities. However, as many have said, the way it handles death makes BioShock not quite challenging enough for most shooter eficiandos - but don't let that deter you from enjoying the new generation's most compelling masterpiece. BioShock is a must play for anyone with the slightest interest in gaming. Expand
  32. TheSalt
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    Easily the best Single Player game of this genration so far...
    I have been gaming for 25 years and can look back to games that broke new benchmarks of excellence.
    Space Invaders, Pacman, Asteroids, Donkey Kong, Track N Field, Star Wars, Dragons Lair, Ghost N Goblins, Guantlet, Archon, BardsTale, Elite, Pirates, Super Punch Out, Ultima, Speed Ball, NBA Jam, Super Mario Brothers,
    Easily the best Single Player game of this genration so far...
    I have been gaming for 25 years and can look back to games that broke new benchmarks of excellence.
    Space Invaders, Pacman, Asteroids, Donkey Kong, Track N Field, Star Wars, Dragons Lair, Ghost N Goblins, Guantlet, Archon, BardsTale, Elite, Pirates, Super Punch Out, Ultima, Speed Ball, NBA Jam, Super Mario Brothers, Tetris, Test Drive, Mortal Kombat, Street Fighter, Sonic, Legend of Zelda, Virtua Fighter, Virtua Racing, DOOM, Myst, Sega Rally Championship, SimCity, Sonic the Hedgehog, , MechWarrior, Civilisation, Command & Conquer, Quake, Diablo, Age of Empires, Golden Eye, Castlevania, Worms, NBA Live, Tekken, Tony Hawk, Tomb Raider, Resident Evil, Final Fantasy, Colony Wars, Grand Turismo, Shane Warne Cricket, SoulBlade, MetalGearSolid,WarCraft, StarCraft,OddWorld, Need for Speed, Colin McCrae, Driver, Baldurs Gate,Pro Evolution Soccer, Medal of Honour, Music 2000, MS Flight Simulator, Counter Strike, Halo, Madden, GTA, Splinter Cell, Morrowind, Prince of Persia, Devil May Cry, SSx, KOTOR, Battlefield, Fight Night, , Ninja Gaiden, Forza, SingStar, Half Life, World of War Craft, , Oblivion, Gears of War, Rainbow 6 Vegas, Guitar Hero...

    ...and now BioShock!
    Expand
  33. johnathansiders
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    This game is great. the big daddy fights are amazing you get to fight these guys and if your lucky enough to beat them you got to make a choice to harvest or save the little sisters and what ever pick changes the outlook on the game and the story and plot twist in this game are incredible throw in weapon upgrades crazy super powers and crazy boss fights and sander cohen and i was amazedThis game is great. the big daddy fights are amazing you get to fight these guys and if your lucky enough to beat them you got to make a choice to harvest or save the little sisters and what ever pick changes the outlook on the game and the story and plot twist in this game are incredible throw in weapon upgrades crazy super powers and crazy boss fights and sander cohen and i was amazed start to finish and when i finished i started a new game. just amazing ! Expand
  34. KDep
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made. I've played through about half of the retail game so far and I've never been more impressed with graphics, gameplay, strategy, AI and storyline - never mind all in ONE game. This game is an absolute must-own. It doesn't really matter if you're a huge FPS fan or not - this game is an experience. People will be re-playing and Easily one of the best games ever made. I've played through about half of the retail game so far and I've never been more impressed with graphics, gameplay, strategy, AI and storyline - never mind all in ONE game. This game is an absolute must-own. It doesn't really matter if you're a huge FPS fan or not - this game is an experience. People will be re-playing and arguing about the deeper plot concepts for years to come. Expand
  35. NathanK.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Seriously, this game shows a level of care, attention, and quality that surpasses pretty much everything else on the market. This the definitive next gen FPS game for the 360, and all games that come here after should be judged by this standard. Just say no to stale, unimaginative FPS's, and say YES to Bioshock.
  36. JuddHall
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    I was lucky enough to pick this game up last Wednesday due to some friendly game store employees. The hype is well justified in this instance. The graphics are fantastic, the controls are spot on. It is a linear adventure, but rarely feels like it's linear.
    It does give you a lot of help if you are stuck mid-game with hints along the way that you can easily access.
    I thought
    I was lucky enough to pick this game up last Wednesday due to some friendly game store employees. The hype is well justified in this instance. The graphics are fantastic, the controls are spot on. It is a linear adventure, but rarely feels like it's linear.
    It does give you a lot of help if you are stuck mid-game with hints along the way that you can easily access.
    I thought that the achievements were alarmingly easy to get.
    Good game though.
    Expand
  37. IanC.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    I'm a REALLY fussy gamer. There's not much I like these days, it all feels like the same old same old. Every now and again something I really like catches my attention, and then I play it for years. I love my games though, and try new stuff all the time. I'm just disappointed a lot. What I like isn't often running with the popular opinion either. I just like it. I like I'm a REALLY fussy gamer. There's not much I like these days, it all feels like the same old same old. Every now and again something I really like catches my attention, and then I play it for years. I love my games though, and try new stuff all the time. I'm just disappointed a lot. What I like isn't often running with the popular opinion either. I just like it. I like Tony Hawks games. I love Battlefield. I adore Guitar Hero. I enjoy Rainbow Six. And that's my game collection. I got back from holiday on Sunday after two weeks in the Polish wilderness, game free. Browsing the local store, I see Bioshock. I'm a big fan of Jean Pierre Jeunet films and straight away the screenshots on the box catch my eye. 1950s, art deco surroundings, deep story, murky colours, looks and sounds good. So I buy, I go home, and I start to play. And I can't believe what I'm seeing, or hearing, or doing. I LOVE this game. It's by far and away the most impressive title I've had my hands on for years and years, and I mean in terms of the impact it's had on me. The visuals are eye-popping, the sound is incredible, the story is engaging, the gameplay is fun and interesting, and just the plain old exploration of a new world has captured my heart. I simply can't recommend this enough to anyone who likes video games. It's fabulous. Expand
  38. JordanL.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    "Bioshock" is beautifully crafted both visually and narratively. Ease of gameplay, a compelling story and amazing environments make this a "must own" title.
  39. BuddyR.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. It seems like a first person shooter that you've done before, which in fact, i've done almost all this stuff before. But it's the atmosphere, setting, music, lighting, characters, spectacular voice acting, level of interaction with the environment, and mystery that make this an incredible experience that must be played.
  40. DylanNelson
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    I give this game a ten... wait, it isn't even out yet. How can there possibly be this many user reviews, when none of them have played it? Oh well. I personally have been following this game since '06 and I will most likely (99% sure) agree with OXM UK and the PCG review that are currently out. Go Bioshock!
  41. JonM.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    If you think too hard about it, limited enemies, linear story, constant hacking and photographing then maybe you could knock down a few points. Look it as a whole and its clearly the best FPS experience, easily more enjoyable than the likes of Half Life and Halo.
  42. JamesP.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is a game that only comes around once in a long while. This game is a sure contender for the game of the year title and would certainly win if not for another first person heavy weight just on the horizon. The contols are flawless and the interface a joy to behold. The story is deep with enough for both the casual and hardcore gamers alike. The only drawback is the lack of Bioshock is a game that only comes around once in a long while. This game is a sure contender for the game of the year title and would certainly win if not for another first person heavy weight just on the horizon. The contols are flawless and the interface a joy to behold. The story is deep with enough for both the casual and hardcore gamers alike. The only drawback is the lack of multiplayer. The idea of playing a BIG DADDY against other players is a dream we could only hope for in a possilble sequel. Fantastic game, this is our first true glimps into the NEXT-GEN of gaming. May it carry on as strong from here on out. Expand
  43. JoeM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    An incredibly atmospheric game, with a perfect sense of pace.
  44. BruzzleElzzurb
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Best Games of All time. 1. Zelda: Ocarina of Time 2. Bioshock And for all those prudes who think the repetitative mutilation of genetically inferior sub-humans is a moral outrage, welcome to the twenty-first century.
  45. FerandoG.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Best single player game since resident evil 4. If multiplayer satisfies you get gow or halo 3 but if you want a good old fashioned single player game with an awesome story and what not then you will agree this is the best game on the 360.
  46. LukeV.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    This game is a great game its story is fun its gameplay is awsome the graphics are superb the level design is just freakin insane. i just cant believe that this game is so good. i just loved the little sisters in the game and the 'quests' it sends you on, the AI is spectacular and overall its just the greatest game of 2007.
  47. MattA.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Awsome...awsome game. One of the most engaging experiences with the first person shooter. It doesn't reinvent the genre...however...it nearly perfects it, and every detail seemed to be addressed with a stellar production value. The music...atmosphere, and graphics may be one of the best out there. Highly recommended for those looking for a beautiful and engaging experience.
  48. AlbertN.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    I think that this is one of the best games ever to be made and is very scary but at the same time fun.
  49. JoshuaB
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    When I first played the demo for this game, I was unsure when to start playing because the transfer from video to game was seamless. I was amazed and the graphics at first. Then I continued playing and by the end of the demo was so scared that half-way through, i turned my lights on, and so pissed that the demo ended, that i went out and bought it not even 20 minutes later. This is the When I first played the demo for this game, I was unsure when to start playing because the transfer from video to game was seamless. I was amazed and the graphics at first. Then I continued playing and by the end of the demo was so scared that half-way through, i turned my lights on, and so pissed that the demo ended, that i went out and bought it not even 20 minutes later. This is the only game to come close to my I-Know-It's-Cliche Favorite game ever, Final Fantasy VII. This game is by far going to be recognized in the future for its story, and for its overall creepy theme. Can't wait for Bioshock 2 and the Movie! Expand
  50. MarkD.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    When reading through all these user reviews, one can easily tell the age of the reviewer in question, or the style of game the person likes to play. To put it simply: This game is not, in any way, like any FPS or RPG or action game you've ever played. It's a .... mature game, full of themes and concepts that, quite frankly, are more easily understood if one has more life When reading through all these user reviews, one can easily tell the age of the reviewer in question, or the style of game the person likes to play. To put it simply: This game is not, in any way, like any FPS or RPG or action game you've ever played. It's a .... mature game, full of themes and concepts that, quite frankly, are more easily understood if one has more life experience. This is not an insult in anyway -- it's just that this game is so remarkably different. It's not for those who want huge explosions and tons of different enemies to kill. Those are fine things in a game (I enjoy them also), but that's not this game's purpose. This game's goal is to immerse you into a new, yet familiar world ... one that's been ravaged not by aliens or invaders but by our own hubris ... and that allows a person to play the game the way they want. As another reviewer pointed out, it's only linear if you allow it to be ... it's only repetitive if you go in playing it like every other game you've played. It's not -- in terms of graphics (stunning), music (best I've ever heard), voice acting (award-worthy), and story (incredibly thought provoking), it's unlike anything ever made. I've never been so wowed by a game since Grand Theft Auto III, and while it's not everyone's style, I'd have to say it'll be a long time before I'm wowed again. Expand
  51. TARGET1058
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    One of the best games on the 360! There are not many games that have this style and so many ways to defeat your enemies. Once you play it you will understand why it won so many game of the year awards.
  52. AndrewRyab
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Possibley the best game of the last decade! It has it all to the classic 60's music, to one of the best stories in a video game with plot twists galore. This game is the complete package, no other game has produced what Bioshock has achieved and could be considerd one of the best FPS ever created. To me this is not only the best FPS of the decade but it's also the best game IPossibley the best game of the last decade! It has it all to the classic 60's music, to one of the best stories in a video game with plot twists galore. This game is the complete package, no other game has produced what Bioshock has achieved and could be considerd one of the best FPS ever created. To me this is not only the best FPS of the decade but it's also the best game I have ever played!

    Bioshock puts games like Halo to shame and proves what true greatness really is. But unfortantley this game will be forgotten and generic games like Halo and Gears of War will still reighn suprieme.
    Expand
  53. JacobM
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome, none come close to its brilliance and uniqueness THIS IS A MUST HAVE
  54. KyleB.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    This game screams epic. The Smart AI and the interesting twists and turns just make it so demented and fun! I highly suggest that you get this game. The world down there is fun, and you will be grinding your teeth as you go down dark corridors waiting for something to pop out at you!
  55. DomS
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    this game is easily one of the best games on the 360. The story line is epic keeping you hooked right to the end aswell as the actuall gameplay and twisted characters. Although the actual horror element of the game wears off after a while it is still a fantastic game to play even if you are a hardcore horror fan who wants the scariest game possible.
  56. NickB
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing the visuals, the weapons, the PLASMIDS which is also a cool addition to this game. Bioshock is definitely on my top 3 list
  57. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    Ill sum up for starters, this game is my favourate game of all time. Sooooo much atmosphere, so much effort and so much variety in how you can handle a combat scenario. The story I absolutly love! and the characters and immersive and sympathetic. Call me biased but FPS are by far the most superior of camera modeling when it comes to atmosphere, the limit of vision immerses you into the Ill sum up for starters, this game is my favourate game of all time. Sooooo much atmosphere, so much effort and so much variety in how you can handle a combat scenario. The story I absolutly love! and the characters and immersive and sympathetic. Call me biased but FPS are by far the most superior of camera modeling when it comes to atmosphere, the limit of vision immerses you into the feeling that your actually there. The upgrades are cool and the weapons themselves.....actually this is the only downfall, he 1st set of weapons i.e. Pistol and Machine Gun are quite frankly nonsence for the start of the game, if your playing it for the 1st time you realise your actually better off with the wrench, or if your me, you realise the wrench is THE best weapon in the game. It feels unbalanced in other ways. All I hope is the next one is equally as good, even if its not I will still appretiate it. Expand
  58. DanL
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    Sigh...everyone just wants another Halo. This game was fantastic. The environment was tense, the enemies were creepy and on normal and hard, NOT EASY, are very difficult to overcome. The healing stations can be used by enemies, not just the player which also makes them difficult. As the difficulty goes up, the more energy your plasmids consume, and the less damage your weapons do. There Sigh...everyone just wants another Halo. This game was fantastic. The environment was tense, the enemies were creepy and on normal and hard, NOT EASY, are very difficult to overcome. The healing stations can be used by enemies, not just the player which also makes them difficult. As the difficulty goes up, the more energy your plasmids consume, and the less damage your weapons do. There were times in the game I was fighting off 3 or 4 enemies with a wrench. The plasmids are an interesting way to deal with enemies such as freezing them and shattering them, stunning turrets and spy cameras with electricity, distracting them with a decoy of yourself, slowing them down with a swarm of hornets, or bursting them into flames and shooting them in the face, they are all options you may take. The tonics you get to upgrade your character range from gaining health everytime you hack to having the ability to find more items. They also provide a different style of combat and playing for every person's preference. The story is very gripping because you have no idea where you are, what happened to the place, or how to get out and as you play, more and more things are learned, but some are from your own assumptions. If you want a shooter where all you gotta do is blast things, this isn't for you. This game and CoD 4 that people keep mentioning are undeniably and completely incomparable. Expand
  59. MichaelK.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Great game all around. When it came out, it had the most unbelievable graphic technology seen on a console gaming system to date. The water effects were amazing and the rest wasn't too far behind. Beyond all that, it had an incredibly engrossing narrative. It threw you into chaos and the story unfolded a piece at a time to finally reveal one of the crowning achievements in all of Great game all around. When it came out, it had the most unbelievable graphic technology seen on a console gaming system to date. The water effects were amazing and the rest wasn't too far behind. Beyond all that, it had an incredibly engrossing narrative. It threw you into chaos and the story unfolded a piece at a time to finally reveal one of the crowning achievements in all of gaming in my mind. Expand
  60. PeterG.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Artistically deep and emotionally engaging. Superb graphics, fun and excellent gameplay, amazing and ambient sound to boot. Pretty much perfect.
  61. DavidG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Even though I recently bought Halo 3, I still find myself coming back to this game. I think it's the game's overall uniqueness. The story is captivating, the visuals are breathtaking, the AI is challenging, and the combat itself is rewarding. The game had me hooked from the very first moment when the plane crashed and you find yourself/your character desperately swimming in the Even though I recently bought Halo 3, I still find myself coming back to this game. I think it's the game's overall uniqueness. The story is captivating, the visuals are breathtaking, the AI is challenging, and the combat itself is rewarding. The game had me hooked from the very first moment when the plane crashed and you find yourself/your character desperately swimming in the ocean. I have played other titles that have allowed you to choose between right and wrong, but about midway through this game I felt an uncommon "gaming" emotion: guilt. Right then and there I decided to amend my evil ways and do the righteous thing. Basically, this is an extremely polished game, and I would recommend it to anybody of the appropriate age. Expand
  62. JohnD.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    HOLY [poop]!!! This game is a must own game, If you don't have it, go buy it. If you don't have xo, go buy it, then buy this!!!. The story was awesome, graphics were excellent and the atmosphere was superb. This is a perfect game.
  63. BenR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This only has one failing but the single player experience is so strong that a lack of multiplayer can be disregarded. Buy this game - it is the best thing since sliced bread.
  64. mikemorrison
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is truely the way video games story lines shoud be told, i read all the review before playing and all the poeple that gave this game a 8 or a 10 are correct, ive played cod4 and halo 3 and let me tell you that bioshock is the best game of 2007 and that says alot.
  65. WyattG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is NOT a perfect game, there are some small things wrong with it, but what it does have to offer is just so good that it would be cruel not to give it a 10 out of 10. It is very rare for hype in a game not to lead to disappointment, but it is even rarer for a game that was hyped as much as Bioshock to not only match the hype but indeed exceed it by delivering on the promise of Bioshock is NOT a perfect game, there are some small things wrong with it, but what it does have to offer is just so good that it would be cruel not to give it a 10 out of 10. It is very rare for hype in a game not to lead to disappointment, but it is even rarer for a game that was hyped as much as Bioshock to not only match the hype but indeed exceed it by delivering on the promise of providing a unique gaming experience that will floor you in every way possible. The central reason for why this game is so good is the story. Unlike many action games where you can skip past the story and not feel like you have missed anything, in Bioshock you will find yourself searching every last room just to make sure you don't skip any parts of the story ! The story is then backed up by a fantastic underwater setting, creepy lighting and sound effects, superb characters and voice acting, and sensational gameplay. Make sure you find room in your wallet to buy this game because you will not be disappointed in your purchase. Expand
  66. CharlesB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game, worth all the praise. GOTY material. A few VERY MINOR flaws, but the good overshadows any of them. Story, Graphics, Gameplay. all 3 are just amazing. A few posters seem to think that ammo is too hard to find. Well I"ve played he entire game with plenty of ammo, towards the end i had my pick of whatever weapon i wanted, theres always a machine to hack and purchase ammo and Fantastic game, worth all the praise. GOTY material. A few VERY MINOR flaws, but the good overshadows any of them. Story, Graphics, Gameplay. all 3 are just amazing. A few posters seem to think that ammo is too hard to find. Well I"ve played he entire game with plenty of ammo, towards the end i had my pick of whatever weapon i wanted, theres always a machine to hack and purchase ammo and supplies nearby. Either you need to work on your aim, or use plasmids more. as theres always tons of ammo to find.. infact i felt there was a bit TOO MUCH... Others complained about some plasmids being too exploitable. Yes, some are VERY powerful (electrobolt) and if you wanted, you could tear through the game using only 1 or 2 plasmids. But what fun is that? The game gives you choices.. if you want to be "cheap" and just blast through the game as easily as possible than you can. But if you wish to have a little more fun, you can use some of the less powerful plasmids and set up elaborite ways to vanquish your foes. Finally the most ridicioulous criticizem of the game, its too "scary" or "evil" or "bloody". Are you kidding me? If Violence, blood, or other adult themes are not your cup of tea, then DONT PLAY THE GAME. Go play mario or the BEE MOVIE game or something. The level with the deranged doctor has to be one of the scariest levels in any game. I was tense and anxious during the entire level, it was very eerie and disturbing. THATS WHAT I PAID FOR!! i was expecting a scary, disturbing expirence. Just like a horror movie or psych thriller. This isint candy land or bible camp. People are appaled by violence in gaming, yet its perfectly fine in movies, TV, or real life... ive seen much worse in the nightly NEWS. Heres a tip for parents... MONITER WHAT YOUR KIDS ARE DOING. be PARENTS. dont expect TV or games to replace proper parenting. The games are not to blame, YOU ARE. You should be spending time with your kids and not expecting games to do it. These games are made for adults, the gamer generation is in their 30s now, and guess what our tastes have changed. i want to be scared, suprised, and challenged by my games. There is a picture of a guy with a friggin drill for a hand on the cover, what do you expect from the game? Unless its an underwater mining simulator, then guess what, its gonna be violent! This game is a mature title for adults, dont expect HALO type juvenile fun. Its dark, atmospheric, and requires thought on a higher level. This game is a piece of art. -c Expand
  67. NelsonP.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    What bugs me the most about all these negative reviews is the fact that the game is too 'evil' for them. WTF? The game is based on CHOICE! Choose to kill or choose to avoid; Choose to harvest or choose to rescue; Choose to live or choose to die. Those mutated people want to kill you for your ADAM!!! Do you have to play for awhile to know why it's so violent? Yes. Is it What bugs me the most about all these negative reviews is the fact that the game is too 'evil' for them. WTF? The game is based on CHOICE! Choose to kill or choose to avoid; Choose to harvest or choose to rescue; Choose to live or choose to die. Those mutated people want to kill you for your ADAM!!! Do you have to play for awhile to know why it's so violent? Yes. Is it really violent? Absolutely. Does it say on the back of the box where the mature rating is placed? You bet! All in all, gaming wise, this really is an achievement. Halo cannot provide a story like this!!! And the graphics are top notch, and the game play is different, which is refreshing b/c the same thing gets old so new ways to play and control your character are welcome. And come on, it is really easy to play. If you're the type of gamer that's all about the kill w/out having to question why you do it, then this is NOT the game for you. This really is a mature game b/c it makes you question even you're own nature... are you prepared to sacrifice another for your own benefit? Or are you going to save lives? Halo3 still rocks, I even own the legendary edition of the damn thing... but until I get a story like that on a Halo game, BioShock deserves the title of Game of the Year. 10/10 1 Expand
  68. JimmyJ.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    From the moment you come up for air after the plane crash, you know you're playing an unbelievable game. This game lived up to every expectation that I had for it. The one thing I would have changed is the Vita-Chamber checkpoint system, and now a recent update has addressed that. This game is genius. Sure it borrowed elements from other games, but what game doesn't these From the moment you come up for air after the plane crash, you know you're playing an unbelievable game. This game lived up to every expectation that I had for it. The one thing I would have changed is the Vita-Chamber checkpoint system, and now a recent update has addressed that. This game is genius. Sure it borrowed elements from other games, but what game doesn't these days??? Any person giving this a 0 is a complete loser and should be put to sleep. This game has so many jaw dropping moments that it'll make you happy you're a gamer. Buy it if you haven't already! Expand
  69. SeanF.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Probally better than sliced bread, this game is the best fps I have ever played. The games strays away from the all to familiar Halo 3 combat style where you get to slice through enemies like a hot knife through butter. Now i'm not going to criticize halo, it's a great franchise, but the third one left me feeling a bit empty inside. Bioshock is an amazing game, because of how Probally better than sliced bread, this game is the best fps I have ever played. The games strays away from the all to familiar Halo 3 combat style where you get to slice through enemies like a hot knife through butter. Now i'm not going to criticize halo, it's a great franchise, but the third one left me feeling a bit empty inside. Bioshock is an amazing game, because of how much strategy and complexity is involved in ever fight you get into. Not only is the gameplay some of the most fun I've had on a game since halo 1, but it also has the most well-developed plot of any game I've played in years. I reccomend that you all buy it, because you will never look back. Expand
  70. AlexP.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This is a great game. The ending is a little short, but face it this game is a overachiever. I would play this any day and dump Halo 3.
  71. JoshS.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    I would suggest ignoring the previously two reviews since it doesnt even seem like they played the game. They probably were not around when video games didnt have multiplayer. I dont know if they know this but Super Mario 64 and Zelda: OoT didnt have multiplayer and they are two of the highest rated games of all-time. Now, to BioShock. It is easily one of the best games that has come out I would suggest ignoring the previously two reviews since it doesnt even seem like they played the game. They probably were not around when video games didnt have multiplayer. I dont know if they know this but Super Mario 64 and Zelda: OoT didnt have multiplayer and they are two of the highest rated games of all-time. Now, to BioShock. It is easily one of the best games that has come out in the past couple of years. The environment is simply stunning and combined with the storyline makes this one of the best single player games ever. This is one of the only games I have ever payed the full retail price for and believed it was worth it. Easily GOTY for me, and I bet quite a few other people aswell. Expand
  72. JesseM.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    A scary twist of a game filled with many plot twists and great grahics the best part thought is the game play a true masterpiece that origentis from the System Shock series. All of the rooms look differnt a lot of work was put in level design. Weapons are fun but it is truly the plasmids that stand out. No other game lets you eletrcute your opponents or set them on fire. The best plasmedr A scary twist of a game filled with many plot twists and great grahics the best part thought is the game play a true masterpiece that origentis from the System Shock series. All of the rooms look differnt a lot of work was put in level design. Weapons are fun but it is truly the plasmids that stand out. No other game lets you eletrcute your opponents or set them on fire. The best plasmedr is telekesis anything is a weapon. Overall I recoment this title to any FPS fan RPG fan or Art fan. Expand
  73. BillG.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    Just amazing ! I feel like l have been transported to another world and time. No other game has this feel to it. Well done ! It deserves to be 'game of the year' easily ! Others who have given it a low score just don't get it, and they never will.
  74. Warmonger
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    A marvelous art deco adventure from begining to end,Bioshock keeps you immersed "literally" and never quite lets you come up for air. It certainly beats anything else that has come out this year.....destined to become game of the year.
  75. DavidL.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Great game that deserves its high score. Graphicly its amazing and the atmosphere and gameplay is top notch.
  76. JohnH.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Great storyline with amazing graphics. Challenging and fun.
  77. RyanJ.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Only an 8.9 average rating among users?! How can that be? I've tried to understand some of the negative things a few peers have said about this game, and I just don't get it. I'm a very tough critic, but this game still managed to floor me in almost every possible way. There are a few minor quibbles I won't get into because they're easily overshadowed by the Only an 8.9 average rating among users?! How can that be? I've tried to understand some of the negative things a few peers have said about this game, and I just don't get it. I'm a very tough critic, but this game still managed to floor me in almost every possible way. There are a few minor quibbles I won't get into because they're easily overshadowed by the unpredictable plot and the beautifully conceived world of Rapture. This game doesn't exactly redefine what a first-person shooter is, but it takes the innovations other games have made in recent years and takes them to an even higher standard. In the end, BioShock doesn't have much real competition in the FPS genre outside Half-Life 2. I like Halo 3, but this game easily overshadows it, at least as far as single-player experience is concerned. Expand
  78. Ben
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Great story, Great gameplay, Great Graphics. What more can you ask for?
  79. BrandonG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Game of the year.
  80. BuckyR.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    This game is simply awesome. It oozes style and atmosphere like no other game I have played. The game forces you to make difficult mature decisions, such as whether to save one of the Little Sisters, or put her out of her misery and harvest the precious resource Adam for yourself. You can play to suit your style, modify your weapons and go in guns blazing, hack a security console or use This game is simply awesome. It oozes style and atmosphere like no other game I have played. The game forces you to make difficult mature decisions, such as whether to save one of the Little Sisters, or put her out of her misery and harvest the precious resource Adam for yourself. You can play to suit your style, modify your weapons and go in guns blazing, hack a security console or use your stealth skills. The game is more RPG than FPS, and has many similarities to Deus Ex in the scale and freedom it offers you. Definitely going to be the Game of the Year! Expand
  81. BillD.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The storyline is incredibly solid, the graphics are immersive, and the in-game events are perfectly scripted. This game is a must have - hands down.
  82. dangcucu
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    From the DEMO i played i got caught up in the game's world. I found myself hinding as if i would get hurt in real life. i cared for the character & the situation he's in. Not like other games where you just want to run and shoot to get in the groove of things. This thing brought me into its groove.
  83. PhilipB.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    Brilliant game - best FPS I've ever played. The best thing to come out in this generation of gaming. Finally, the next gen has started - not when Sony said but when BioShock came out. This game is full of new ideas - amazing atmosphere and superb graphics. I can't believe anyone sane person could give this game a poor review..
  84. JoeD.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome game, it feels like you're watching a movie you can control, and the entire world of Rapture is so detailed and realistic, it makes you believe an underwater city could actually exist. Not to mention it throws out traditional FPS gameplay for a style that's new and innovative.
  85. SteveD.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Seriously head and shoulders above pretty much everything else. I agree with the gamespot review in that the combat is not particularly challenging, but then this is not what it's about. It's about finding as many different unique combinations to dispatch your foe. It plays out as a kind of arcadey Deus Ex. One of the best games ever made in my opinion. Not necessarily Seriously head and shoulders above pretty much everything else. I agree with the gamespot review in that the combat is not particularly challenging, but then this is not what it's about. It's about finding as many different unique combinations to dispatch your foe. It plays out as a kind of arcadey Deus Ex. One of the best games ever made in my opinion. Not necessarily revolutionary, but every aspect is so polished they must have bought out Mr Sheen. Special mention must go to the sound design. With a decent surround sound setup, you'll be using your ears as much as your eyes to get your bearings and plan how to tackle what's around the next corner. Expand
  86. ChieN.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    You've never played a game quite like 'BioShock'. When PC Gamer said that Doom 3 was a 'masterpiece of the art form', they didn't realize that Doom 3 would be nothing for the art form. BioShock is the first true 'masterpiece of the art form' as it engulfs you, mesmerizes you, and shocks you till the end. And then when you play through, it truly WILL You've never played a game quite like 'BioShock'. When PC Gamer said that Doom 3 was a 'masterpiece of the art form', they didn't realize that Doom 3 would be nothing for the art form. BioShock is the first true 'masterpiece of the art form' as it engulfs you, mesmerizes you, and shocks you till the end. And then when you play through, it truly WILL be different. BioShock lives up to ALL the hype. If a game ever deserved a perfect score, it would be BioShock. 10+ hours to defeat it, 10+ more to go through it again, and it's not feeling stale at all. Expand
  87. BellinoP.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    This is a rare Gem. It is what I have been waiting for all my life. From the graphics to the story, from beginning to the end. This is one of the best games I have ever played Hand Down.
  88. RonD.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    In a word... WOW.. this game is amazing, the atmosphere, the graphics, the gameplay.. it is the best game I have the pleasure of playing in 20 years of gaming... Half-Life 2, Halo, and MGS series are all amazing, along with Zelda. This game just oozes quality, the sound effects are off the chart, the AI is very well done, the way the game makes the experience real (limited weapons, In a word... WOW.. this game is amazing, the atmosphere, the graphics, the gameplay.. it is the best game I have the pleasure of playing in 20 years of gaming... Half-Life 2, Halo, and MGS series are all amazing, along with Zelda. This game just oozes quality, the sound effects are off the chart, the AI is very well done, the way the game makes the experience real (limited weapons, limited ammo, etc is perfect... just like it should be... I mean, where in the world do you unlimited everything... this game nails it, and every playthrough is different, Rapture is ALIVE and you will agree once you go there, you won't want to leave. Expand
  89. KarlG.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is an amazing game. Amazing graphics, great voice acting and an incredible story make it one of the best games around. I honestly can
  90. PeterH.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    The most innovative and genereally DIFFERENT game brought out in years. It isn't just a shooter, it isn't just survival horror, it isn't just an adventure game, its all of those and more. Bioshock is like being in an incredibly detailed novel, something by Neal Stephenson or William Gibson. But it's more than that too. Bioshock will (hopefully) change the way games are made.
  91. ChrisOsgood
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    There may be a few tenths of a point you can take away from this game, but from the very beginning you can tell that there is something inherantly great about the structure of this title. There is obviously too much that went into this game for the development studio to not receive full credit for their amazing work. If a title is a must have, it's a 10. This one must be experiencedThere may be a few tenths of a point you can take away from this game, but from the very beginning you can tell that there is something inherantly great about the structure of this title. There is obviously too much that went into this game for the development studio to not receive full credit for their amazing work. If a title is a must have, it's a 10. This one must be experienced by all x360 owners and PC gamers. Expand
  92. TylerG.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    After games like Gears Of War, I didn't think I could ever be blown away. Then I put in the heavily hyped Bioshock. And was blown away once more. But be warned, this isn't your Halo run n' gun shoot em' up. This game is deeply involved on all aspects. I don't know what genre to place this game is, because it's too broad for just one. If you have just enough After games like Gears Of War, I didn't think I could ever be blown away. Then I put in the heavily hyped Bioshock. And was blown away once more. But be warned, this isn't your Halo run n' gun shoot em' up. This game is deeply involved on all aspects. I don't know what genre to place this game is, because it's too broad for just one. If you have just enough money to buy a game this summer, or this year, buy Bioshock, it's a safe purchase. Expand
  93. PaulC.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    What can I say that hasn't already been said. One of the BEST games I have ever played and I have played thousands of games over the past 35 years. Seriously, this is the reason you bought a XBOX 360 in the first place.
  94. MatthewC.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    This is my personal favorite game of all time.
  95. JohnN.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    I love it. Playing now. The creepy ballroom dancing music reminds me of The Shining. Love the exploration and story. A must own. Right up there with Gears of War, F.E.A.R., and Lost Planet as the best of 360.
  96. Steve-O
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    This IS the most amazing game I have played on the 360 and is set to be one of the all time greatest games ever played! The exerience is more thrilling than the first time I played Resident Evil about ten years ago. It is even more exiting than that, but that is all I can compare it to. The game is so nerve wracking, spooky, fun, clever, twisted, and just plain awsome to play. I had to This IS the most amazing game I have played on the 360 and is set to be one of the all time greatest games ever played! The exerience is more thrilling than the first time I played Resident Evil about ten years ago. It is even more exiting than that, but that is all I can compare it to. The game is so nerve wracking, spooky, fun, clever, twisted, and just plain awsome to play. I had to tear my self away from it last night. Bioshock is a true example of a marqee game that must be played. This title has GOTY written all over it. If you have been on the fence about buying it...you're crazy..go get a copy NOW and prepare to experience Rapture. Expand
  97. DanielP.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Incredible!
  98. AtlasisFontaineF.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    This game is mind blowing. Its like a mad circus. Never boring. High replay value (playing through everytime is different). READ THIS: IF you look at the reviews, only FANBOYS give it a low score and this is obvious because its a "1" or "0". Hardly any game deserves that. So the rest is perfect scores nothing in between. That should tell you something. If not, your not smart enough to This game is mind blowing. Its like a mad circus. Never boring. High replay value (playing through everytime is different). READ THIS: IF you look at the reviews, only FANBOYS give it a low score and this is obvious because its a "1" or "0". Hardly any game deserves that. So the rest is perfect scores nothing in between. That should tell you something. If not, your not smart enough to play this game as its for older smarter folks. Expand
  99. MattW.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    In my 23 years of life, and thousands of games, this is the best.
  100. BrandonG.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Game of the year.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.