User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 67
  2. Negative: 35 out of 67

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    I play a LOT of games and agree with most of the reviews here. But this game is EXCELLENT! Why the reviews are so poor I don't know why. Its addicting too. I die and it was my fault, not some sucker gimmick. The game makes you aggressively get the power-ups before they are stolen, exposing you to danger. Go forward too aggressively you die, play too slow and you don't gain power, so it'sI play a LOT of games and agree with most of the reviews here. But this game is EXCELLENT! Why the reviews are so poor I don't know why. Its addicting too. I die and it was my fault, not some sucker gimmick. The game makes you aggressively get the power-ups before they are stolen, exposing you to danger. Go forward too aggressively you die, play too slow and you don't gain power, so it's INTENSE and plays on your greed. Plus, like Bulletstorm, you gain bonuses for how creative you can kill the enemies so you have to think quickly as well. This is the first game that has cramped my hands from white-knuckling the controller. I'm playing on hard which is plenty hard for me since I die dozens upon dozens of times per level but Impossible mode is available right from the start. If your looking for a new shooter, try this as it is MUCH MUCH better than the score would lead you to believe. My "guess" about the reason why for the low score is how much the reviewer enjoyed their experience of the game rather than reviewing the quality of the game itself. I see too many low FPS scores lately that reflect the bias of the reviewers experience instead of the GAME itself. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This is my first review on here and I was drawn to do this one after seeing other negative reviews. I had read a lot of low scores for this game and that put me off buying it for a long time. But eventually I did and I am glad I did and wish I bought it sooner. So my overall message is DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE. If you want a game with a story, this ain't it, if you want a shooter where youThis is my first review on here and I was drawn to do this one after seeing other negative reviews. I had read a lot of low scores for this game and that put me off buying it for a long time. But eventually I did and I am glad I did and wish I bought it sooner. So my overall message is DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE. If you want a game with a story, this ain't it, if you want a shooter where you get your hand held right down a linear corridor, this ain't it, if you want a game to play online, although you technically can, this ain't really it. What this is is a fun, high octane, old school style FPS that will get your heart pumping and your hands sweating as you take on the warring factions, and the Target, in an environment you can literally shred to pieces.

    Finally, and I mean finally, an FPS that leaves the battleground looking like it's been a battleground. It's the Stranglehold of the FPS genre, and it does what Bad Company and company failed to despite the hype, and that is real time unscripted, unprebaked environmental destruction.

    That's the main thing and what I love about it and I applaud Codemasters for finally giving me what I have wanted ever since I got a 360.

    It is a decent looking game but no Crysis 2 visually, it has great gun sound effects, and the AI is pretty good. Wide open environs, plenty of different routes from A to B, and no load times between dying and restarting at the last checkpoint.

    But the overall maker or breaker in a saturated field of genre, is do you love carnage or pretty graphics and nice stories. If you prefer carnage you should pick this game up. You can literally shoot the plaster off the walls, smash plenty of glass windows, including shooting out the frame, bricks, and make pretty much holes in everything, and there are plenty of explosive containers scattered around for your pleasure.. To me this quality of destruction has been a missing quality even in the famous named games who claim to do it, Bodycount finally gets it right. Real time destruction is finally here.
    Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    I'll start by saying that the problem with this game is the lack of decent story. I love a good story no matter what the game is but this one just doesn't really deliver. What it DOES deliver is everything else. This game was made with a focus on just blowing stuff up and having fun and that's exactly what happens when you play it. There is a whole lot of destruction and quite a few moreI'll start by saying that the problem with this game is the lack of decent story. I love a good story no matter what the game is but this one just doesn't really deliver. What it DOES deliver is everything else. This game was made with a focus on just blowing stuff up and having fun and that's exactly what happens when you play it. There is a whole lot of destruction and quite a few more guns than I expected. The enemy AI is consistently pretty good and will give you a challenge and force you to use cover. There are only two boss fights in the game and they are both against the same enemy but the way you fight them is interesting and makes you think carefully. Furthermore, Bodycount has pretty good graphics with very nice environments. Nothing is more beautiful, however, then when you're blowing these environments up. It's a very frantic, high paced experience and to accomodate for this there are no iron-sights, but instead you zoom your viewpoint in to increase accuracy. Now the interesting thing there is that if you hold the aim button down all the way, your movement stick is used to duck and lean to use cover. If you hold it in partially, you don't get as much accuracy added to your shots but you can move while aiming. All in all, if you like explosions, fast gunplay, destructible environments down to the tiles on the walls, and more explosions, buy this game. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    I do not understand how people hate this game? It is a classic. OH right I forgot, most of the reviews were made by CoD addicted kids, who think that any FPS that isn't CoD is crap.

    This game is old school styled, if you've played Black on Xbox then you will enjoy this game. The game is not supposed to be played tactically, if you do you'll hate the game. The game for me was a lot of fun,
    I do not understand how people hate this game? It is a classic. OH right I forgot, most of the reviews were made by CoD addicted kids, who think that any FPS that isn't CoD is crap.

    This game is old school styled, if you've played Black on Xbox then you will enjoy this game. The game is not supposed to be played tactically, if you do you'll hate the game. The game for me was a lot of fun, now while I do admit it needs a few tweaks here and there, the game is fairly enjoyable. All you have to do is spray bullets everywhere, which is something the modern FPS is missing.

    The graphics are okay, and the sound is awesome.

    Overall worth getting.
    Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Classic, simple and mind-blowing is what defines Bodycount while other games of the same genre strive to become the same. it's what Duke Nukem Forever should've been, and is a great nostalgic ride to get away from other military FPSs of this era, and if you really don't get your mind into it with details and textures and whatnot, this game gives you a huge amount of **** time to spare.Classic, simple and mind-blowing is what defines Bodycount while other games of the same genre strive to become the same. it's what Duke Nukem Forever should've been, and is a great nostalgic ride to get away from other military FPSs of this era, and if you really don't get your mind into it with details and textures and whatnot, this game gives you a huge amount of **** time to spare. that's for me, i chose it to Dead Island after all. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    This is a shooter done right. The guns, visual effects, audio and controls feel perfectly tuned, and the game punches well above its weight. The gameplay, pacing and level design are stronger than other games in the Genre, Gun Porn sums it up well. If you like shooters, you'll finish this one.
  7. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Typical critics. Codemasters didn't take out and ads on their sites or magazines so reviewers didn't get their advertising dollars. They didn't give out exclusive coverage either. It's not a clone of MW so it's no good in their minds. They had zero incentive to give it a good score, so they were intentionally harsh on it.

    Bodycount is a fun game...period!
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 61
  2. Negative: 19 out of 61
  1. Niggly, thoroughly uninspired, and lacking variety, Bodycount is destined to sink without trace in 360's deep pool of generic shooters. [Dec 2011, p.100]
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    55
    Bodycount could have been so much more than the generic FPS that it's turned out to be. It has its moments, but they're too few and far between in a game that's plagued with imperfections and glaring flaws. Bodycount is not a completely terrible game by any means, it just feels dated and doesn't measure up to the high standards set by most of today's shooters. It's Shoddycount.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Bodycount is a bad game. A very bad game. It's overly simple, the setting is dry, and the controls don't even work all that well. There is quite literally nothing good about it.