Bomberman: Act Zero Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Aug 29, 2006
User Score
2.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 44
  2. Negative: 34 out of 44
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    2
    As a game and system collector I never wanted to buy this game. I went to a used games store and I saw the game for 50 cents.lol. That is the only time I have ever seen a game priced so low at this place. You only have 1 life and no save points and there are 99 levels (I think) So I wanted to see how far I could get, after retrying countless times, I finally started getting the hang ofAs a game and system collector I never wanted to buy this game. I went to a used games store and I saw the game for 50 cents.lol. That is the only time I have ever seen a game priced so low at this place. You only have 1 life and no save points and there are 99 levels (I think) So I wanted to see how far I could get, after retrying countless times, I finally started getting the hang of it.. Most of the time the AI will blow itself up. After getting to level 52 I messed up and I died. There is nothing more frustrating than dieing that far in the game. You will then get a "you lose" (or something like that) robotic voice and it sends you back to the main menu. When did Bomberman turn into a BDSM look a like game? They should of just called this game BDSM robots because this game sure does like to torture you. They tried to take a more mature route with this game and it wasn't a good idea at all. Even if you didhave save points in this game it doesn't save it. The camera doesn't work either when you are in that First person perspective mode. The game should of never been created, but I'm still glade that I bought it for 50 cents and this will go into my vault of one of the worse games to ever be created along with superman 64,Bubsy 3d and Action 52 ( I don't have Action 52) but played the rom. Expand
  2. TomasB
    Oct 13, 2009
    3
    They...raped Bomberman. Why did they rape bomberman. Potentially one of the best platformers of all time... raped. He is no longer a totally awesome little guy with a cool sword and kickass, unrealistic bombs. He is a extreme guy with chains who kills just about anything that moves, and even so... He got raped, by his own creators.
  3. Andyman
    Sep 3, 2006
    1
    Whoever decided Bomberman: Act Zero was a good idea should be locked in a wet basement with no Internet connection, and with nothing but this game to play. Hudson Soft: We want the real deal... genuine old-school Bomberman, complete with the classic cartoony graphics. We want it on Live Arcade, we want 8+ player battle royales online and offline, and we want downloadable arena add-ons. We Whoever decided Bomberman: Act Zero was a good idea should be locked in a wet basement with no Internet connection, and with nothing but this game to play. Hudson Soft: We want the real deal... genuine old-school Bomberman, complete with the classic cartoony graphics. We want it on Live Arcade, we want 8+ player battle royales online and offline, and we want downloadable arena add-ons. We DO NOT want some festering pile of filth substituted for our favorite party game. Thank God I only borrowed this nauseatingly bad game. Expand
  4. BenG.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    There is no conspiracy, market ploy, or outstanding flaw with Bomberman Act Zero. It's just a Bomberman game that you can play online. (and with an optional new mode) I'm not really sure what's so hard to understand about that. This really hit the spot for me. In this game, there are two modes, 1) the standard mode which is top-down perspective like classic Bomberman, and There is no conspiracy, market ploy, or outstanding flaw with Bomberman Act Zero. It's just a Bomberman game that you can play online. (and with an optional new mode) I'm not really sure what's so hard to understand about that. This really hit the spot for me. In this game, there are two modes, 1) the standard mode which is top-down perspective like classic Bomberman, and 2) "FPB" mode in which the camera is third person. In FPB mode everyone has a life bar so FPB mode is actually more fun and has more depth. The only thing wrong with this game is that you can't play on the same screen -- you have to go online to play. Expand
  5. ChadeW.
    Sep 27, 2007
    0
    Ben G.... This is NEXT Gen gaming, we're talking about here. If this were a gamecube title, I would understand a little better (Gamecube+few online games= crap). But... simply saying this is a COMPLETE game is an insult to all the truly complete games out there. When you get a beefier bomberman for a character, I expect a beefier bomberman game.
  6. JordanH.
    Dec 17, 2007
    6
    This game isn't as bad as people say. The new FPB mode is pretty good. It adds a new style of gameplay to the series. Sadly, you can't save your progress, so you'll have to try and do all 100 stages in one sitting, which is very time-consuming and difficult. I haven't got past Stage 15 myself. The online multiplayer would be good if people actually played it online, This game isn't as bad as people say. The new FPB mode is pretty good. It adds a new style of gameplay to the series. Sadly, you can't save your progress, so you'll have to try and do all 100 stages in one sitting, which is very time-consuming and difficult. I haven't got past Stage 15 myself. The online multiplayer would be good if people actually played it online, but no one does, so I've never tried it. Overall, the game isn't that bad. It's just repetitive, time-consuming, and the online servers are always empty. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Bomberman Act Zero is wholly a Pure Unoriginal,uninspired,boring,ugly,and yet,the most horrible Bomberman Title Ever,Seriously.Why? THIS IS NOT A BOMBERMAN THAT I KNOW!!!!
  8. Spartan
    Sep 4, 2006
    0
    Bomberman: Act Zero is yet another failed attempt at resurrecting a classic arcade title into the next generation of gaming. Instead of the classic "top-down" view of Bomberman that the game was clearly designed for, the developers have instead thrown in an abysmal "first-person" perspective. It isn't even first-person -- it's actually a close-up third-person view with a camera Bomberman: Act Zero is yet another failed attempt at resurrecting a classic arcade title into the next generation of gaming. Instead of the classic "top-down" view of Bomberman that the game was clearly designed for, the developers have instead thrown in an abysmal "first-person" perspective. It isn't even first-person -- it's actually a close-up third-person view with a camera that must be controlled MANUALLY by the player! With a whole bunch of stuff going on in the game world, this gets extremely frustrating. As a failed attempt to remedy the situation, Bomberman is now allowed to absorb multiple bomb blasts before dying -- a departure from the original arcade version. The lack of any kind of save game feature -- which means that you start over from level 1 if you die -- further adds to the already extreme frustration. Throw in the lack of offline multiplayer (which is absolutely inexcusable for a Bomberman game), and you've got one of the worst games of 2006. Even if you're a hardcore Bomberman fan, whatever you do, avoid this game at all costs! Expand
  9. TomG.
    Nov 8, 2006
    0
    What the hell is this? This is the worst game ever! No save features, no offline MP, and a manual camera? I can go on and on. Save your money.
  10. Aug 3, 2016
    2
    What in the world? I have been tricked because I didn't pay for this.
    The gameplay is terrible and I was surprised there wasn't any multiplayer.
    2 out of 10
  11. Jun 23, 2016
    5
    bomberman act zero did forgot multiplayer offline and checkpoints, yet it features 99 levels, bomberman act zero for 360 is a mess, while sonic 06 for ps3 and 360 is awesome so is gundam crosfire, no matter what. my suggestion is to stay far away from bomberman act zero, if you want bomberman. this game should be cancelled.
  12. Jan 14, 2017
    0
    Why this exist? WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?
  13. Mar 8, 2017
    6
    Bomberman Act Zero, when played online, is by far the most fun online bomberman game in recent memory. Having said that, online mode is the only enjoyable mode. With a campaign which forces you to repeat the exact same loading screen on the same map up to 100 times and a missing local multiplayer, this unfortunately is also the most lackluster Bomberman game of all time also. Bomberman ActBomberman Act Zero, when played online, is by far the most fun online bomberman game in recent memory. Having said that, online mode is the only enjoyable mode. With a campaign which forces you to repeat the exact same loading screen on the same map up to 100 times and a missing local multiplayer, this unfortunately is also the most lackluster Bomberman game of all time also. Bomberman Act Zero attempted to take a more mature look by changing the character design to this cyborg looking bombermen, and changing the look of the maps to a much darker theme as well as the bomb design to a futuristic looking orb. None of it feels like bomberman. However the main reason I cannot score the game high is due to a missing local multiplayer, a staple of all bomberman games. This is the worst move I've seen by a developer, and there was no reason at all to remove the most important element of any bomberman game. Now to the online, the game features an online ranking system adding depth and skill to the online play. Bomberman also has new and improved powerups such as bomb through and block through as well as an infinite bomb powerup, used perfectly with line bomb. The FPB mode allows you to get a close up view of bomberman, also adding a health bar to the character, however the classic bomberman view is still the best. Overall Bomberman was a great online game around the time of release but as of now there are no redeeming qualities that warrant a purchase of a game that removed the most important element - the local play. Expand
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 41
  2. Negative: 36 out of 41
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    40
    We never thought the day would come where we'd so dislike a Bomberman game, but by being needlessly lacking in the most crucial areas, Act Zero is impossible to love. [Sept 2006, p.78]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    27
    Sorry, B-Man, you went from hero to a big zero. [Sept. 2006, p.97]
  3. The lack of stage types and offline multiplayer hinder the game's longevity a bit, but overall, Act: Zero plays well, the new FPB mode is fun, and the Standard mode still offers classic Bomberman fun. [JPN Import]