User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 633 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 633

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    6
    A mediocre game. At first the experience is a bit new and seems fun, but the game quickly drags on. The original campaign is very short and anti-climatic. The online co-op is a joke, riddled with shameless cheaters and bugs that still exist from release. Instead of fixing the bugs, Gearbox decided it was a better idea to release 4 DLC add-ons. I only paid 10 bucks for the game and all the DLC and I still feel cheated. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    3
    Easily one of the most over-rated games I have ever played. A Fallout clone meets uninspired WoW RPG interface that lacks serious polish. I didn't mind the cell shading but question it's effectiveness in a post apocalyptic-like setting. Everything is just brown and bland including the enemies.

    The clunky and erratic aiming controls on the console make over-powered general mobs
    incredibly frustrating. Enemy AI seems to exploit these poor controls by straffing and sprinting all over while they posses near perfect aim. Axe wielding mobs are insanely ridiculous as they can heave axes from miles away with dead on accuracy (even over huge boulders or cover) all while you struggle with the aim of a sniper rifle.

    As an FPS this game is pretty weak compared to other offerings out there. Even with sensitivity turned way up the aim is always poor. Weapons have erratic aim. Some shots will land crits while other perfectly aimed shots miss or register next to no damage. Explosives can go off at enemy or even your own feet dealing little to no damage then a grenade 10 feet away can kill you or a mob. Weapons are also pretty bland with just different stats.

    As an RPG this game is a joke. Leveling your toon takes forever and the WoW inspired talent tree offers no real character enhancement. Just small health or shield regen boosts. Too many skills are aimed at improving your limited specialty weapon, the turret which has a very small time limit to use and a long cooldown. Also the games emphasis is huge on Co-op which explains why so many pro critics loved this title. As a single player game this is a frustrating experience and major time suck. Leveling your character is almost worthless as it's all about getting more powerful guns. Healing is a drag. Your inventory is extremely limited. Only a dozen slots at first and increases slowly. Health packs are small heal over time boosts so you really have to go with shields that offer health regen. These rates are terribly slow. By early lvl 20's you will have 450-500 health and if you get banged up in a fight it can take 10 minutes to regen all health. If you opt to avoid health regen shields you have to carry a lot of health packs which is hard to do and prohibits you from picking up weapons to sell. because ammo is limited you also have to carry a lot of different styles of guns to get by. Paying for health is also expensive. Several hundred just for small amounts of heal. If you die forget it. The game punishes you big time by charging you thousands of dollars to respawn. In the early 20's I had to shell out over 8,000 for one death. Thats more money than you may gain in one dungeon crawl which essentially sets you way back. Beyond healing and respawning though money is pretty useless. The guns at the vending machines never are better than what you find. Still though the game has you open thousands of small boxes with tiny amounts of cash. 10 bucks here, 20 bucks there. Adding to the frustration is that enemy respawn rates are way too fast. Almost as soon as you leave an area all the enemies return. This is a pain in dungeons because you may want to return to the vending machines to sell off loot to free up your pack or recharge health. You often have to fight your way back there wasting more ammo and then when you return you have to fight back to your last point often rendering the trip worthless. Insult to injury is that ammo you uncover in areas but don't pick up because you are full will disappear after a short time even though the enemies return.

    Basically I never felt like I was progressing in this game. Most RPGs allow players to reach a point where they develop their stats enough to manipulate the game engine and make playthrough either easier or more enjoyable. Borderlands always has the player feeling like he is horribly underpowered and no amount of leveling really matters. It's all luck based on which weapons you find. The sotry is kind of vague and most quests are just random fetch quests or bounty missions. I never really had a full understanding of what I was doing. I gather the single player story is short but after 8 hours of just monotonous grinding I won't be finishing this title. There are way better games to play and the release of Borderlands 2 will not be seeing me as a customer. Even as a budget title I would give this a miss.
    Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    So far one of my favorite games for the 360. Played through the game multiple times with different characters, and this is one of the few games that my wife loves to play with me. The NPCs add to it by being absolutely hilarious, and the missions they send you on are often just as funny. Though it gets harder and harder to find the better guns and upgrades as the game progresses, it's still fun finding and using them just to try them. Can't wait for a sequel. Expand
  4. May 31, 2012
    10
    I've had this game for a long time now but never got around to review it so now I'm doing my review in 2012.Borderlands in simple words to describe it is AWESOME!!!the combat,rpg elements,graphics and multiplayer are Fantastic.I can not wait till borderlands 2 comes out in a few short months.either way if you like rpgs and shooters then you're gonna love this masterpiece.plus the dlc is amazing.get this game . Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game was a blast. It was a unique experience, from the graphics, to the guns, to the world. I seriously couldn't get enough, and have actually gone back and played through it from the start again.
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    5
    I was very disappointed when i first played this and I got my game of the year addition and sold it 2 days later. This has to be the most difficult game i have played in my life, the only way to acually win is to have a mod. The game design is good and looks like a cartoon (which isnt bad) crap load of guns, cool upgrade system but overall if there is another one im not gonna waste more money unless they make the AI less difficult. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    This game plays like a buggy and empty world of warcraft with guns. There is no
  8. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    One of the most addicting and thoroughly enjoyable RPGs available. Honestly, I'm having a hell of a time playing this game, more so than Fallout 3. The interaction with NPCs would be the game's biggest flaw, but everything else is brilliant. Questing is always entertaining and the game easily touts gaming's biggest roster of weaponry. Borderlands is a sleek game sporting some very humorous moments. Simply put, this game is badass. Expand
  9. Aug 12, 2010
    8
    I'd give this game more than an 8, but frame rate issues and confusing/lack of story bring it down in my books. Fantastic outing, bring on Borderlands 2!!
  10. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This game is a perfect combination of violence, humor, adventure, and role- playing, but not the **** Fallout role- playing; bad graphics, predictable story, and customize-your-own-character feature, which never ends well. This game does include the "level- up" feature that didn't make other role- playing games, there are better rewards other than just power- ups. Like weapons, and upgrades for the weapons. This is the best role- playing game I've ever played. Haters can eat me. Expand
  11. Sep 20, 2010
    7
    Borderlands is an extremely fun and interesting, new experience... for a few hours. I've had friends that have played it until they've maxed out their levels, and I don't honestly understand how that's possible. It's another game where the first play through can actually be quite amusing and contain things that no one else has had the mind to create yet, but at a certain point, you realize that you just wanna put the controller down. It's also far from lag-free, and unless you're willing to shell out the money for the many DLC's, I'd suggest a rental. Expand
  12. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    an excellent game, marred by some problematic flaws.
    Pro's: Cell shading makes a difference for a change, involving story, decent multiplayer. intelligent ai (on the whole)
    Con's: Repetitive generic Tasks, Poor Waypoints at times etc

    but on the whole a very good game
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    4
    From what I've played, this game is incredibly tedious, looks pretty damn ugly, and isn't any fun at all. It has NONE of the finesse, story, or range of interesting NPCs that Fallout has, and it doesn't look nearly as good.

    You basically run around and kill various enemies, some of whom turn out to have more armour than others. There are a bunch of animals called "skags" which are
    essentially wild pigs that you keep coming across; fighting them seems to make up at least 50% of the start of the game, and consists of holding down the trigger whilst running backwards, until the seemingly infinite horde of them is dead. Rinse, repeat. I killed a "Boss" bandit as part of a mission; later, I went back to the area for another mission, and he had just gone and MAGICALLY respawned. Oh hello again, I'm fairly sure I killed you, having emptied at least 100 bullets into your sponge-like armour. Whats that, the game has decided you're just going to respawn? Oh ok then. Another time, I fought my way through a very well guarded hideout, to recover a particular item. The fight was long and tedious, and I was glad it was over. I turned around to go out back the way I came, and lo and behold, a whole multitude of enemies is shooting at me. Where exactly did they come from... I killed everyone on my way in. But thats the type of game this is... it just generates enemies for you to shoot at, without rhyme or reason, and calls it gameplay.

    Oh, and did I mention the plot is non-existent, the characters you talk to are all ridiculous (I have no idea why they haven't been killed by all the people and animals who seem intent on killing me) and are less than one-dimensional.

    So please, you can like this game if you want, just stop comparing it to Fallout... its like comparing a bowel movement to a 5-course meal.
    Expand
  14. Jan 18, 2012
    2
    I tried to like this game. I really did. In fact, I wasted 8 hours of my life playing this game in hopes of playing some fun out of it. But no. In the end, I found myself having more fun watching the grass grow. The game gave me an overwhelming sense of pointlessness. During those 8 hours, I did not care at all for what I was doing, or why I was doing it. I just sat there in a trance, going through the motions, almost dozing off, while my friend (who is a fan of Borderlands) enthusiastically lead me all over the map, from checkpoint to checkpoint. I might have had more fun if the combat system was better. I understand it's an RPG, and it's mostly about leveling up and getting certain items and weapons. But all the combat sections felt like a back and forth of trading blows and bullets. There was no sense of tactics or urgency. After all, if your life gets depleted, you can still "fight for your life" where if you kill someone during this phase, you get brought back to life. But even if you die, all you do is lose alittle bit of money and get respawned about 10 yards back from where you died. So I ask again folks....WHAT'S THE POINT? If you like RPG games such as this, I recommend Dead Island. I had much more fun with this game. When I played Dead Island, I felt a sense of purpose and a sense of urgency. During combat, I was able to use tactics. I could dodge. I could time the attacks. I could take cover. Most of all, I cared. So I say again. You want an RPG first person game? Get Dead Island. Expand
  15. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    Was it "OK?" Yes. Was it "good?" Maybe. Was it as good as the magazine reviewers said? Absolutely not. This game might have several hundred thousand weapons, but that's been done before, I can think of Diablo II right off the bat. Mildly creative, but heavily lacking, with little replay value and a poor online component. Funny at times, downright annoying at others, I give this game a solid 5 out of 10. Expand
  16. Apr 11, 2012
    1
    Borderlands is one of the worst games I've played. Extremely repetitive lifeless world with no story or characters except a robot with lame humour. Yes you get thousands of guns and only one of them is useful. Indeed of the worst games i have played on this gen.
  17. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is great. Really great. But it contains bullet sponges. Lots of them. These enemies soak up a lot of bullets, even if your using a ROCKET LAUNCHER. But that's fine, because it's a first person loot 'em up, and that's how they should work....right? Right. Borderlands does also feature more weapons than any other game ever, but that's not what keeps you playing. Apart from it being nectar to loot 'em up fans, the world is engaging and brilliantly created, and the cel-shaded styling is used to great effect. The constant tease of a new, more badass weapon (or grenade, or power up, or shield) is incentive enough to stay with Borderlands, which is all it ever needed to do anyway. Expand
  18. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    I know this review is waaaay late but I had to give in my 2 cents on this Amazing No......Epic Game named Borderlands.this game has kept me playing through some long nights and alot of coffee and pizza.All I can say is if you love Shooters and RPG's then this game is up your ally.from beginning to end I was amazed.it's a must play for any gamer.
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    Probably one of the most unique games you will ever play. Borderlands has that creativity to it that you know will keep you coming back for more, However - an uneven difficulty, poor and repetitive mission objectives, countless back tracking, and a poor multiplayer ruin the overall value. Its enjoyable but not as good as it could have been.
  20. Jan 17, 2013
    1
    Unless you like a seemingly story-free, monotonous, overly repetitive display of how many different guns a developer can put on one disk, don't waste your money.
  21. Oct 2, 2012
    0
    An awful sad, boring to the teeth game. Even worst than the ridiculous first installment, this train wreck of a game is dull, predictable and generic to the extreme. Same old same old mediocre FPS game disguised as a very bad written RPG. Avoid at all costs.
  22. May 7, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a fantastic game, it takes the best from games like Fallout 3, Halo, and Call of Duty, and adds in it's own unique gameplay elements and sense of humor, the graphical style is unique and fantastic, and the sound is great, and it's just so much fun to play, my only complaints are that it has some bugs, long load times, and all the quests are just fetch quests, but these flaws are easy to overlook because it's just so much fun, and has high replay value do too tons of side quests, and the fact that it offers a second play through that makes it more challenging next time around, and it has really fun co-op, all in all this is a game I highly recommend, and is just shy of perfection. Expand
  23. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    I don't ever buy games that have bad ratings on here but I liked the sound of the premise of this game and the rating is pretty good so I bought it, Never have I regretted something more. There is no plot, it is just an awful attempt at a plot. The gameplay basically comprises of FAR too many of the same enemies being spammed at you in pretty annoying large areas. There seems to be a lack of purpose with this game. I spent around an hour trying to fight my way through about 1000 enemies just to collect cans of food. Ridiculous. The vehicle combat is some of the worst gameplay I've ever had the misfortune to play as well. Awful AWFUL game. Would not inflict on anyone. Expand
  24. Dec 2, 2011
    9
    This is one of those rare games that is so good that you will find yourself putting it back in your console until the sequel comes out. Literally millions of guns and fairly differentiated game play styles with the different classes and skill tree paths you can use. The cooperative play is excellent. It's a joy to play and I've gained probably 100+ hours of fun from this one game. I can hardly wait for the sequel! Expand
  25. SFN
    Jan 9, 2011
    7
    the first few missions of this game were extremely boring and it was just repetitive combat over and over again but after awhile the game became so much fun that i found myself playing it for 4-5 hrs. a day, the graphics to me coud've beeen alittle better and the storyline was confusing but all and all this game to me was one of the best games of 2009 and it should be given more credit
  26. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    I keep coming back to this game and playing it again and again. When I'm not sure what I want to play and don't feel inspired, Borderlands is the one that comes to mind as the most fun. I love that it's a first person shooter rpg. Developing my character, leveling up, getting better and better guns... Awesome! The fps action is very well done. I like the cell shading and style too. I haven't ever purchased downloadable content for a game before... that is until now. I just bought some DLC and am waiting for it to download so that I can enjoy this game even more! Expand
  27. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of my favourite games ever.Fun Fun Fun,the entire way.Excellent visuals and sound,the weapons are fantastic and numerous.The characters you meet,while not really fleshed out,are awesome.I would have liked CL4PTP to narrate throughout the entire game though.
    The only annoying thing about this game are the mediocre vehicles,while good for transport and a few
    missions,could have been much better.The only other complaint would be the Mad Moxxi DLC.Skip it if you can.
    Buy this!
    Expand
  28. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is pure fun. It doesn't have a particularly well-developed story (or much of a story at all) and the RPG elements aren't all that intricate, but the game is extremely well-paced and the complexity is just enough to keep the experience constantly fresh. Throughout, you will have a solid mix of easier, normal and challenging missions to embark upon. The combat elements work exceptionally well, requiring you to effectively utilize your unique character skill, as well as find, use and master the appropriate weapon for your character build. There are a few points in the game where it seems to get a little bit ahead of the player, in terms of difficulty, but generally the experience is very well balanced. The game world, Pandora, is surprisingly humorous, in a somewhat twisted way, for such a desolate, miserable place. The game does have a few shortcomings, though. Principally, there is almost no storyline to speak of. The game all feels a little bit random, although you'll probably never really care because it's so fun to play. Also, the unique abilities of two of the characters - Lilith and Brick - are far less useful than those of Roland and Mordecai. Similarly, melee combat is not nearly as viable a combat option as it should be to make Brick a true equal to the others. Even playing as Lilith or Brick, however, is still a ton of fun. Expand
  29. May 8, 2011
    8
    Borderlands brilliantly blends FPS and RPG elements with neither side feeling underdeveloped. The story is swiftly dispensed with but this game is not about a compelling narrative. Its about lots of loot and plenty of grinding. Borderlands really shines when played with friends where items and experience are shared, emphasising teamwork and co-operation. Given the sheer number of weapons, its an achievement that each one feels unique meaning that each player will have their own favorite gun. Environments do become quite dull and repetitive as do the missions. There is also a disappointing lack of customization available for vehicles, surprising considering how customizable characters are. This game won't appeal to every gamer but if you and some pals want an entertaining co-op game, look no further than Borderlands. Expand
  30. Apr 8, 2011
    8
    It's a good game and all but the ending really was SOOOO BAD. What the hell? How could you end something so horribly? What is wrong with 2K Games? Anyway, I really enjoyed it otherwise.
  31. Oct 24, 2012
    6
    Been a long time since I played this and never got a chance to do a review. I hate the art stlye in this game, I find it's horrible. Others may like it. Although I did not like this game what so ever and Borderlands 2 aswell. I wont give it a low score just because of that because I do believe that there is fun to be had in this game for most people, but it definatly isn't my cup of tea.
  32. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    "Borderlands" is indeed flawless by blending in hardcore FPS action, and gritty RPG elements, to create a gun-loaded, definitive odyssey through the harsh and strangely humorous world of Pandora, full of psychotic...well, psychos, mindless bandits, mutant plasma worms, feral skags, and legendary bosses. Literally thousands, even millions, of guns are at your disposal, along with the specialties of each of the characters to choose from, ranging from a fatal bird of prey, a rage-filled knuckle barrage of fury, a supportive turret of aid and destruction, or even a stealthy, and mysterious power of seductiveness and death. Cooperative play also provides tons of fun with three other players, and with this masterpiece, you'll enjoy every bad*** moment of it. Expand
  33. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. Although fun on singleplayer, it's insanely fun on multiplayer. Playing this game with friends was one of the best gaming experiences I ever had. Although the game had some bugs, that's to be expected because of the mass amount of things to do. Fun the first time around, but the replay value for me wasn't enjoyable. But the replay value is good, I just didn't like it. Definitely a buy. Expand
  34. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    This is one fun, addictive game, to say the least. The art style is great, and the sense of humor adds a nice personality to the game that is lacking in so many others similar to Borderlands. The combination of elements from FPS games, action RPGS, and games like Fallout 3 all add up to a fun experience, even if the game is affected by a lot of minor flaws (they are all easily overlookable through the fun that is to be had though). This is truly fun multiplayer, but unfortunately the single player experience can be a little bit lacking, as the missions, dialogue, and driving combat are often obviously geared towards a team and not a sole vigilante. Setting this fact aside, if you have friends to play with, this is a great way to kill lots and lots of hours. Expand
  35. Jul 7, 2013
    6
    A strangely addictive first person shooter that gets a lot right, but a lot wrong. The diverse wide spectrum of guns in this game is mind boggling, and the looting that can be done is extensive and very fun, but as far as story goes, only a few wacky characters stand in the way of this being one of the most mundane stories to trudge through in gaming. I found it hard to keep going in the game, and in my opinion, the combat isn't all that so it doesn't grip you that much. However, its worth a buy simply for the fun that can be had with your friends online. Expand
  36. Feb 27, 2013
    6
    Playing as a hybrid between an RPG and a First Person Shooter Borderlands, much like the Left 4 Dead games, only really comes to life when played on XBox Live with Friends.

    If you've ever play an MMORPG such as World of Warcraft you will be familiar with the games structure. Missions are given out by computer controlled characters, once completed you return to that character to receive
    experience with which to level up your character as you see fit (improve the power of your weapons, increase the amount of life you have etc) and sometimes receive an extra reward. Unlike any MMORPG however the first person shooter element means that there is actually some level of skill to the combat, although you will not be able to defeat certain enemies until you reach the required level. In this respect the game is very helpful as it will always suggest a recommended level for each mission.

    The game allows you to choose from four different classes, each with their own special abilities, as well as featuring a huge range of weapons with which to survive the wastelands. Your ability with each weapon type increases as you use them allowing each you to customise your character as you wish. The only criticism that can be levelled at the game is the lack of variety as the game progresses. Running in excess of twenty hours my interest did begin to wane before the final few missions. If you are looking for a single-player FPS there are far better alternatives available, if on the other hand you are looking for a multiplayer experience with a far amount of depth then for under twenty quid Borderlands could be the game for you.
    Expand
  37. May 27, 2011
    10
    This could quite easily be THE greatest game i have ever played. I used to be obsessed with videogames until the next-gen consoles came out, then everything that made games fun was thrown out the window and replaced by "impressive graphics". Frankly I don't care how my game looks, if it's entertaining and incredibly fun to play. Borderlands is all of that and more!

    In a time when
    videogames cost 50-60 dollars a piece, I have a EXTREMELY HIGH priority on a games replay value. there's no way in hell that i'm going to shell out 50 bucks for a game i'm only going to play once, there's yet to be a game introduced that i'd pay that much for a one time experience.

    Not only would Borderlands be worth 50+ dollars for a one time experience, it basically prides itself on the fact that the game is so good the creators implented a "playthrough counter" which was one of the first things i noticed and immediately thought....oh this is going to be good.

    I know this review is just one giant opinion on my impression of the game, but there's literally so much about it that makes it a phenomenal game that the 5000 character max on metacritic is simply not enough space to write about all of it.

    here's the kicker:

    I bought this game at GameStop about 3 weeks ago for.....13 **** yea
    Expand
  38. Jan 2, 2012
    8
    I purchased this game via XBL marketplace and so far I'm really enjoying it. It uses a unique form of art style that makes the game look very interesting to look at and overall stylish in an otherwise boring and bland enviroment. The combat is well designed and the core mechanics have been really well thought of. My only problem is that when starting a co-op your buddy starts off at lv1 unless you have another character you've played. this makes the co-op experience very infuriating in that your lv1 buddy is getting wrecked by a bunch of lv20 enemies. Expand
  39. Jun 8, 2011
    7
    Borderlands is definitely a first person shooter with RPG elements. It is focused on the massive amount of guns, powers, and enemies you can fight. While it does have a lack of captivating events in the main story, the DLC and side quests make up for that in some ways. This is a game for those who like a lot of guns, not for those who like a lot of storyline.
  40. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    This games have really nice graphics, millions of weapon all different with elemental power and an amazing game play.But it is a little bit repetitive and enemy are not intelligent.
  41. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    Borderlands so far has been an interesting RPG with many, many, fun guns. There are countless amount of guns, and each one are really fun to shoot. Definitely a game you should get.
  42. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    This game is simply awesome and a must buy for video game lovers. Its fairly long(about 35hrs),extremely fun and addicting , some very awesome weapons,and cool graphics,also it has claptraps,which are incredibly epic
  43. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    A fantastic game, for real. I had more fun with this than the first. The two games are very similar but I feel this one just improves on every part of the old game to make it a bit better. The villain is fantastic, and you'll love to hate him, and the story is a million times better. But it also suffers from the same problem I had with the first; the story missions are always a few levels apart, which is fine, but I often found myself only doing side-quests to get to the next story mission, not because it was fun, so it failed to have enough awesome story in a short enough time to keep me engaged enough to finish it, they just kind of put the exciting things on hold until my level was high enough and if I hadn't been playing with a friend I doubt I would have even got as far as I did. Expand
  44. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a very unique RPG/FPS that I really enjoyed it and had alot of fun with it, I quite like the leveling system where you choose your skills as whatever character you are and the open environments where great to, but what i think they could of improved on is better customization of the characters and not just the color of there armor and hair, but still overall a great game and must buy! Expand
  45. Aug 5, 2013
    5
    This game could've been so much more, but as a solo player the game was fairly boring,with the exception of a couple boss fights, and the story was just god awful.....so much wasted potential.
  46. Oct 8, 2011
    6
    Story: 3
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 3
    Multiplayer: 6
    Technical: 5
    Audio: 7
    Gameplay: 6
    Re-Playability Value: 7
    Fun Factor: 6

    Score: 5.8/10 = D+
  47. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    99% Perfectly made. A spot on game for any player of any genre. Outstanding gameplay, beautiful landscape, the creatures and bandits are very, very well thought through, and playable space is unbeilvably massive. A must have game for gamers who like Fallout or Call of duty. The choice of weapons can be detailed right down to your favorite color, and the skill building can be tweaked to your standards. Even the mods are fun, not those kind where people try to screw up the game on purpose but the kind where its fun to play with them on. All around, one of the first games you should have for the Xbox 360 Expand
  48. Sep 22, 2012
    5
    I reviewed this game too harshly last time I gave it a 0! Because of a stupid glitch at the beginning that caused me to lose my level. So I tried again and this score is more honest. It's boring. Its glitchy, it really is samey! It's fun for the 4 person co-op but when I'm playing by myself I can't really be bothered! It's just like Borderlands!
  49. Jul 13, 2012
    7
    I give this a 7 because it is far from perfect. Online co-op is miserable unless you're playing with 3 other people you know you can trust, as most random players run around with "modded" items that make them invincible, kill everything in 1-shot, and just ruin the game in general. Some of these random players also glitch your characters. I found myself learning all of this the hard way, and had to delete my first character at level 26 because of a glitch that put one of the first quests back into my checklist, unfinished, without any way of completing it. Another con is that the game is very grindy, usually sending the same enemies at you in droves. Skags, raiders, midgets, spiderants and the occasional rakk will be the only noteworthy foes you face for the first 8 hours of the game. The variation is paltry. Final con is that the ENTIRE game is set in a brown wasteland that gets incredibly boring to look at rather quickly.

    All of this being said, the pros far outweigh the cons. The gameplay/gunplay is solid, and the looting and constant improving is incredibly addicting as you're constantly finding new guns that are slightly better than the ones you have and toying with those weapons and their wide variety of attributes. The graphic style is perfect for this game, and the audio, including the voice acting, is very satisfying in both humor and vulgarity.

    Overall, this game accomplishes its top 3 goals of gunplay, looting and humor very well. The online component, occasional feeling of grinding, and the drab landscape are detractors, but very minor. This is a buy if you like RPG-FPS hybrids, and if you're a fan of the Diablo games, especially now since it's been out for a few years.
    Expand
  50. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    Borderlands has a lovely art direction and a solid FPS focus. That's it. Tales of RPG elements are complete lies, the story is nonexistent, the mission structure is repetitive as are the character diversification. Multiplayer is useless as all players need to be off the same levels to play together. Of course you can play online with people who are the same level, but multiplayer really only comes together playing with people you are farmilar with, and the chances of you and a friend picking this up at the same time are slim unless you were waiting for it in anticipation.
    Borderlands does some things right, but a lot of things wrong.
    Expand
  51. Jan 19, 2012
    7
    Its an original and insanely addictive shooter game. However it features a lot of flaws - An insanely long and boring campaign. Pathetic multiplayer. No replay value. Takes too long to get anything decent (weapons) in the game. Also there are more then a few annoying glitches. Its a fun but flawed shooter.
  52. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Shooters have reached a time where they are all the same, Borderlands breaks that formula and brings a free-roam solid action-RPG game. It's just surprising the amount of guns, skills, enemies, and more you will find in Borderlands. Despite of what people say, the graphics and art-style are just epic and the sound is great also. This game is clearly an amazing game, I really was doubting buying it but I completely fell in love, buy it now. Expand
  53. MW3
    Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Great game but needs more Achievements and i like how you get to level up and theres alot of dogs (or whatever they are ) so you can level up thats all i gotta say
  54. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    The best game in years, me mantuvo atrapado por meses, y mas por el componente cooperativo, sumarle a eso los DLC´s el juego se extiende muchisimo, me encanto por el sentido del humor de los personajes, la traduccion al español ,los graficos (cell shading)...
  55. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Really good game, the gunplay is just as solid as what you find in call of duty, the looting is extremly addicte and the fact that you can do this with 3 buddys in a superb co-op campaign is just amazing. i dont know why i dont give this game a 10. ill give this game a 9 but its not far from a 10, play it now
  56. Jun 22, 2013
    6
    Borderlands is a different kind of FPS known as a RPS (Role-Playing Shooter). I can definitely understand the merit of such a game and it had a very solid base in XP, leveling up and such. Personally I didn't enjoy this game, possibly due to the fact that I'm not really good at gaming, but I can totally understand the love of the gameplay style and the overall presentation-based flair.
  57. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Borderlands is a fantastic ride through the cut-throat planet Pandora. Whether its blowing midgets faces of with a shotgun that launches rockets, or that awesome gitty feeling of opening a weapon chest, Borderlands always keep you battling for the next great loot. First off, I love the cell-shaded art style. It fits nicely. At times, it seems wasted on some of the more barren landscapes in the beginning of the game, but later on it really shines in both landscape and character design. Second, the level based RPG style works great as well. The skill trees arent too involved, though its not a deal-breaker by any means, its something I hope is fixed in future installments. The only reason, as a fan, I dont want to give it a 10, is that the story is flimsy at best; no more than an excuse to shuffle you to new locations with new enemies and bosses. All of which can be accomplished by the numerous side-quests that, at times, outshine the main story. Tack on a cop-out ending, and the narrative suffers a bit. But honestly, you didnt come to Pandora for the story, you came for the carnage, and of course the bajillions of GUNS!! ------->additionally, I would highly recommend the DLC packs. They really develope the atmosphere of Borderlands, and as with a game that consistantly brushes the hilariously outrageous, it doesnt take itself too seriously. I cannot stress enough that you must play the Dr. Zed, Mad Moxxi, or Robo-lution DLC's Expand
  58. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This game is simply amazing! i can continuously play this game over and over and not get tired of it. would give it a 11/10! Cant wait for the second one!
  59. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    When i bought this game i didnt even know what it was about or what it gonna turn out to be,to my suprise it turned out to be kick-ass. I like rpg's even though i dont play alot of them because i rarely find one that really speaks to me like the kingdom hearts francise etc. But i love this game too. You get all of the rpg aspects you'd expect. A big ass Open World. You level up from killing enemies and completing quests and challenges. Looting,and character progession. All of this mixed with Call of Duty/Doom/Halo/f*cking awesome combat. Its so addictive like i cant even explain it. You can easily squeeze about 30 hours of the game itself but now they have the GOTY edition that includes all of the DLC so if you pay like three extra bucks you get another 30 hours of play and this game is only like twenty buck now,and the second one released a few days ago so if you got a little money burning a whole in your pocket and you want a new game look no further,you'll love this game. Expand
  60. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    My absolute favorite game for 360. I've played this through at least six times, in single player, 2 player split screen coop, and 4 player online coop. The game is fun, and addictive. It's a first person shooter with minimal tactics. (If I switch back to Rainbow Six: Las Vegas after a lengthy BL run, I end up getting killed over and over again because I've forgotten how use cover.) It's more along the lines of Halo in that regard than Rainbow Six: Vegas. You run around the environment and get missions for the area. Often they are "go kill so and so" or "turn on these generators" or "collect these parts." Generally speaking, the missions are a lot of fun, but there are a few that are frustrating. There is a HUGE variety of weapons, unfortunately most of the weapon drops will not be as good as what you already have. Still, I can't help but get a little chill of anticipation every time I check out the vending machines. I don't know what bugs people are complaining about. It's not flawless, but generally speaking, it's a well-designed and well-crafted game. Expand
  61. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    This game is just great, first person shooter meets rpg and works much better then I thought it would. And borderlands 2 is coming out and it will be better then ever. Borderlands 8.7/10
  62. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    The game is a different spin on the post apocalyptic world schematic. owever, it manages to create it's own mythos and fully developed niche environment.
    It's an open world with 4 different classes to choose from. All with their own different skill sets and special abilities. Each character has 3 different skill sets to build upon (and can even mix and match) to suit the main playstyles.
    Very long game with well made expanded content that gives alot for the money as well. Lots of side quests and a well made main quest chain. Tons and tons and TONS of different weapons. Vehilce traveling is fun as hell too and the game is challenging for sure.
    The only slight drawback may be that the graphics have a unique style. They may not be for everyone.
    Expand
  63. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    I have never put more hours into a game or have been more addicted to one (150+ hours). I have no idea why I found it so absurdly addicting. I hadn't even played co-op which is the game's crown jewel. The DLC for it was awesome and extended the life of the game by a large margin. My favorite game this gen and looking at the cover, I would have never thought.

    Also, I loved the ending. It
    was such a slap in the face. Definitely Borderland's style. Expand
  64. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Borderlands remains one of the few FPS to throw a massive variety of interesting enemies at you that all suit the world they live in. You'll be fighting large flying reptilian bats, burrowing insects, mutated wild dogs, a variety of crazy bandits, long legged war of the worlds style creatures, and mad mini robots to name just a few off the top of my head. You also get big awesome boss fights providing you with ample opportunity to use different tactics to overcome them either by yourself or with a party of friends. The world of Pandora is a sparsely populated wasteland but still has interesting geography features and you'll be visiting a variety of locations from junkyards, to military installations, to wide open sandscapes requiring buggy style vehicles with weapons to negotiate their girth. Borderlands deserves all the praise it gets for its unique and witty take on a post apocalyptic world with massive depth and an awesome level of RPG style character customisation not seen in usual FPS fare. Unique. Expand
  65. Jun 18, 2012
    8
    This is probably one of the best co-op games on the Xbox. There are dozens of hours of gameplay and quite a few guns to pick up. However, there isnt much of a story and most of the areas look the same. I liked the leveling system and the different classes. If you love going around killing things and picking up loot, Borderlands is for you
  66. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    This game is witty and addictive. I have been known to be glued to this game until the early hours. The combat and levelling system is great and the quests themselves are good too, although some of them can feel a little bit same-y. The first few missions are a little tedious too, but after that the game is well worth sinking your teeth into. Truly one of my favourite games.
  67. Sep 5, 2012
    3
    I bought this game because of the thick black cartoon like art style, and the idea that I would be doing more than wandering around a desolate wasteland. I got the art style, and the wandering around. The majority of what you will be doing in Borderlands is fighting off waves of repetitive enemies, finding a gun, fighting more enemies, wander around and find another gun, and fight off more enemies. Not to mention the fact that they only have 8 different types of guns, Gearbox just gave them a different name and damage rating. I got it for $20 dollars on amazon.com. Only worth $15 which is what probably what I'll get for it when I sell it. Expand
  68. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    To me, Borderlands was an insanely fun RPG that managed to hold my attention all the way through to the end, with interesting settings, weapons and characters. The cartoon-like graphic style is not for everyone, but I personally liked it. It made the game seem vibrant and colourful, a stark contrast to many other recent shooters. As an RPG it is fantastic. There are only 4 characters, but each can be played in a variety of different ways, meaning multiple playthroughs are possible. There are so many customisation options, from abilities to guns to armour that the game can feel overwhelming, but once you get into it you will love fiddling with items to get the best stats. As an FPS it is pretty fun; the controls are maybe not as tight as other titles but it is solid and never feels difficult or frustrating to play. It must be noted that this game is much better played in co-op with friends as this will make the experience even more enjoyable. The only downsides are a few bugs and glitches here and there (most of the ones I encountered were minor but I know others who weren't so lucky), and some repetitive and grind-y quests that can be tedious. Otherwise, Borderlands is great fun and I would highly recommend it. Expand
  69. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    This game could be a 10 if the quest log didn't get so gunked up with pointless busy-work that was only there for the sake of going back over the same terrain a few more times to level up. There are times you have to traverse the same area 4, if not 5, times just to be done with a quest-tree and keep moving. That said, the game is fun to play. I like looting and shooting and looting some more just as much as the next guy. If I could make one recommendation it would be for there to be some way to upgrade a weapon you already have and like. Also, why not make the cars upgradable too? More room for character customization would also have been nice. This game amounts to being an arcade shooter with platformer-scape and a very fun time sink but at times gets repetitive as you endlessly drop unworthy foes or pick off the more formidable opponents one at a time in a slow process of fire-then-retreat. It can be beaten with as much or as little care as you'd like to take and you'll probably have the same success rate as the next guy as long as you keep an eye out for rare weapons with different colored titles. The odd thing about a game like this is, depending on the loot you acquire, the final boss can be easier than the first boss--as was the case in my experience. The game just needed a little bit of refinement and it could've been a 9 or better. Expand
  70. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Borderlands is a great game, a fun shoot-em-up style with cool funky graphics and a good comedy ring to it, it is definitely more fun to play with your friends, trade weapons and help eachother out with the many quests.
  71. Nov 27, 2012
    4
    I played this game for 8 hours and completely lost interest. I am a big fan of RPG and 3D-shooters, I love Fallout 3 & Counterstrike. Borderlands is actually much worse. It is very repetitive, you have to kill the same enemies again and again - they respawn like crazy. And they have less artificial intelligence than the enemies in 1992 Wolfenstein. Just running towards you. It is no fun at all. This is about the shooter part. The RPG part is even worse. There is almost no interaction, story or character development. Its even less than Diablo 1. Go there kill them or collect that. The good thing about this game are the visuals and the animations. I also liked the weapons. But this is just not enough. Expand
  72. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    The poor reviews for this game by users is a disgrace.. People saying the AI is to hard? Are you serious? If its to hard you go back and level up, it's a RPG game for Christ sake. Or if you still find it to hard then just turn down the difficulty. I personally thought this game was amazing, I played it with my brother ho is 21 and we'd get into arguments about swapping guns because it suits his class etc. but we both found it incredibly fun witty and also the DLC was great and added more to a already great game. You can probably buy for like a fiver now so I would 100% recommend buying before the release of Borderlands 2 in a couple weeks. I rate it a 9 because minor bugs in the game not because of gameplay. And also the characters are great even if the story is a little lacking. Cheers. Expand
  73. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    Borderlands is the the ultimate four-player Role-Playing Shooter loot fest. Combining invention and evolution, Borderlands features characters, skills, environments, enemies, weapons and equipment, which come together to one of the best games I have played in a while.

    Let's start out with the story. The story is is one of the worst stories I've ever seen. Luckily, Borderlands doesn't
    need a story to be awesome.
    The story is this: you heard stories of The Vault, which has infinite power, weapons, and wealth. You decide that you'd like to be a Vault Hunter, someone who searches for the vault. No other information is given, except they do tell you that the Vault was made by aliens. Borderlands does a superb job with the side-quests. The missions are hilarious, usually. The silliness of the missions is presented in a way that most people didn't notice, which is a shame. In one of the side- missions that Crazy Earl (a NPC in th game) gives you, you must find his friend, a level 20 Skag that is tiny and wears a spiky collar. The missions get repetitive after a while, and their is a seamlessly endless amount of loading screens. But I guess it can be hard to keep the formula fresh after +30 hours.

    Enough about the story. Let's get to what everyone is waiting for... the gameplay. Borderlands has somewhere around 18,000,000 guns (at least Gearbox said so), each gun is different, which allows for creativity. You can have a shotgun that shoots rockets (if you're lucky enough to find one). The amount of awesomeness that can unfold is amazing.
    Borderlands is fast-paced action that almost never gets old. As I said earlier, their are to many loading screens, althought that is a minor complaint. The menus are clunky and meant for single player only. Coop is a blast, although thir us only enough loot for one person.

    The RPG part of this game, is disappointing. Their are four characters to choose from, Brick, the Berserker, Mordecai, the Hunter, Roland, the Soldier, and Maya, the Siren. All of them are exactly how they sound, well except the Siren, of course. Each of them have underwhelming skills that aren't exciting. The only character that is if different is the Siren, which does magic type stuff.

    The graphics aren't terrible, just they aren't very good, either. The landscape gets boring very quickly, it would help if the environment was different every once and a while.

    Borderlands has its notable flaws, but in the end, it's worth the investment.
    Expand
  74. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    No story to speak of, but the action is awesome and the variation of guns is stagering, Each kill or chest holds the hope of a better gun or artifact. The multiplayer is also great finishing a quest in your friends game completes it in yours as well. The car is nothing special just a good way to get around so don't expect any great vehicular battles but as I said the solo or team combat is just too good to miss. I recommend choosing the soldier if you are unsure tossing out a turret to distract and pick off enemies while you finish off the rest is great. The upgrade system is fun but not super deep, although I was always super excited to spend my upgrade point each time I levelled up. Expand
  75. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    Though story and character are definitely sacrificed in favor of savory visuals and gameplay, the latter elements bolster "Borderlands" to a fairly enjoyable level.
  76. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    Borderlands é um ótimo game,uma mistura boa de FPS e RPG,o único contra é o fato da ambientação ser repetitiva,mas mesmo assim,quem procura um game de tiro frenético,borderlands é a melhor opção.
  77. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    A very fun, highly stylized shooter with rpg elements, Borderlands is destined to become some sort of minor classic. It can't stand up to games like Fallout 3 or Halo however, because its story is too thin, and its pacing is very laid back, even for an open world game. I did like how the game had its own unique and quirky sense of humor though. The myriad of cool weapons is impressive and leveling-up and looting is very addictive. The comic book styled graphics were a good design choice also. It's not a deep game that'll completely change your life, but it's a very entertaining and memorable one. I recommend it. Expand
  78. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Borderlands is an original, open world first person shooter that includes some elements from modern MMORPG games, such as the quest, loot and leveling system. It has a unique, hand drawn graphics style, which I think looks nice, and adds to the originality if the game. The game takes place on the planet of Pandora. Legend has it that somewhere amongst this dangerous wasteland, lies a hidden alien vault, containing countless treasures. You play as one of four ‘vault hunters’, each with their own skill set and perks. Your goal is to find this Vault on the harsh planet of Pandora, and whatever treasures lie within. Many enemies and loot lies along the way. The game features many interesting and funny characters throughout the story line, resulting in some great dialogue.

    Many of the games concepts are based on those found in modern MMORPGs. Throughout Pandora, rewarding chests, enemies and quests will yield loot; this can consist of weapons, shields, class mods, grenade mods, and relics. The game’s random weapon generator ensures that there is actually well over a million different weapons in the game, all with varying statistics. Players can receive quests from different characters and bounty boards throughout the game. You can take on many quests at once, from many different zones within Pandora, and you can then choose which quest to take on next, based on the location, objective and rewards. As players gain experience from defeating enemies and completing quests, they will level up. As players level up, new quests and weapons will become available. Another important feature of Borderlands is the skill system; each of the four player classes has three unique skill trees in which they can choose to specialize in, plus a unique ability available to that class. The player gains one skill point per level, and can choose to allocate this point how they please within the desired skill tree. Players should try to allocate their points to different skills based on their desired play style.

    Borderlands is not only incredibly fun and addictive to play by yourself, but you can also play cooperatively with other players, either split screen or over the internet. Exploring the world of Pandora, collecting loot with 3 other players is a whole new experience. You can choose to stick closely together to assist each other in combat against a great number of enemies, or you can choose to split up and tackle separate quests at the same time, while remaining together in the same world. The more players in the game, the harder the enemies are to face, and the more loot you shall receive. Each of the four classes in the game are balanced well and can each contribute to the combat in their own way.

    Borderlands is not without its flaws, otherwise it would have received a ten out of ten rating; the same brown, dusty wasteland environment can get boring after spending so long traveling the wastes. The enemies can also become repetitive toward the end of the game, once you have faced each type of opponent countless times. Despite the story being gripping, I never really found myself truly hooked to the story.

    The game may have an 18 certificate, but I believe most 15 year olds, and even mature 13 year olds would be able to play through Borderland without any trouble. Profanity is rare, and the violence is more ‘cartoony’ than anything else. Players must think about which skills to specialize in, and compare the stats of weapons, it is not just a simple action-shooter about shooting people.

    Overall I think Borderlands is truly a great game. I found myself hooked at different points throughout the game; I enjoyed getting progressively more powerful as I collected new weapons and developed my characters skills to fit my play style well. I would give this game a nine out of ten.
    Expand
  79. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Borderlands was a wonderful surprise when I bought it...the cel-shaded graphics were appealing to the eye, gunplay was awesome, the mix of RPG and FPS worked perfectly together, colourful environments, characters and villains, and also I had such a blast playing this with my friends, if your going to okay this game, play it with friends. Also some really good DLC aswell...my only gripes with it is that I feel the game didnt really focus on the story all to much and the ending was a massive anti-climax...but if you are fan of RPG, FPS or Co-Op games, then this is the game for you Expand
  80. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    fps rpg great game. But hackers and save problems. were i couldnt play thourgh 2nd time it killed xp for me but is still a great game. cool art style. CLAPTRAP!
  81. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    Borderlands is a lot like Cell Damage, it's undoubtedly fun despite not having the appearance of a quality game. Numerous side missions so even the non-DLC gamer can enjoy it, along with a great premise and plot leaves you wanting to play Borderlands more and more.
  82. Mar 4, 2014
    1
    It's basically World of Warcraft but a shooter. You travel really far, you grind a lot, you hope for a good drop. The game was much worst than mediocre.
  83. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    I would give this game an 88 but I must round up. Initially, I thought of it as a tongue in cheek Fallout 3 game, which made me dislike it. However, after playing through it, I loved it. There is great replay value in this game because you can go with different skill trees for all four characters. The world is immense and there is tons of loot to be had. If you like FPS with RPG elements that is geared towards collecting loot, you will thoroughly enjoy this game. It is also one of the most charming games to come out in a very long time. The characters will have you laughing out loud all throughout the game. I actually like Borderlands more than Borderlands 2 because the assault rifles are so much better and the sniping isn't so wobbly. In all, this game is well worth buying. Expand
  84. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  85. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Awesome game. Story might be a bit short, a few bugs here and there, but overall I had a blast. From an artsy-fartsy standpoint, it's fresh! Neat sense of humor, likable characters, staggering customization if that's something important to you. You might not love it as much as some others, but I don't think you'd lose much either if you decide to give it a go.
  86. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    The first RPS (Role Playing Shooter), and a giant success. Borderlands has a unique and gorgeous artistic style, tons and tons of loot, and it's insanely addicting and rewarding especially with friends. The story is weak but in a game like this it doesn't matter too much.

    Borderlands gets a 9.1/10
  87. May 31, 2014
    8
    This game is very OCD. What I mean by that is that it entices you to do mission after mission nonstop until you realize how much time you've invested in a day! So you can get a whole bunch of missions at once and you're free to go about which one you want to do. The fact that you have to level up is very unique although I can't say it is much different from any other open world games like Far Cry. I hear a lot of comparision between this and Fallout but I've never played it so I can't say for sure. Another OCD factor about this game is the amount of items you can carry is limited. You can upgrade to bigger inventory but they give you soo many variation of guns, shields, grenades, etc. that you really have to figure out what you like best. Overall I like it cause it's addicting but I don't know why. I can understand why some like it and some don't. The graphics are not the best and the developers seemed very lacking on creativity with enemies. However, they make this up by incorporating humor into the game. Overall, the gameplay and sidequest will keep you playing and this is a pretty interesting 'weird' game. Expand
  88. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    It reminds me of why I love games in the first place. It shows that sandboxes aren't limited to shocking games like GTA, but can be decent, entertaining games on their own merit. Guns,loot, and a hilarious cast and comic art style make this entertaining to no limit.
  89. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    Borderlands is a diamond in the rough. It is an MMO RPG meets FPS with a unique art style. Borderlands has SO, SO, SO, SO, SO, SO, SO, SO many guns and almost all of them are useful, even if only for a sort time. The character skill trees are well built, but the world is very brown and there isn't much enemy variety. Borderlands is still an exceptional game that shouldn't be missed.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. 87
    In short, Borderlands is a top-quality shooter and grind-fest.
  2. A furiously successful RPG and FPS combination that doesn't fall short on either front. [Issue#52, p.86]
  3. When a game has such vicious combat, an intriguing skill system, and full co-op capability, a mediocre story can be overlooked. Borderlands is a necessity for any fan of the FPS and RPG genres, or just down-right looting fun.