User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 665 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 665

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2012
    10
    I've had this game for a long time now but never got around to review it so now I'm doing my review in 2012.Borderlands in simple words to describe it is AWESOME!!!the combat,rpg elements,graphics and multiplayer are Fantastic.I can not wait till borderlands 2 comes out in a few short months.either way if you like rpgs and shooters then you're gonna love this masterpiece.plus the dlc isI've had this game for a long time now but never got around to review it so now I'm doing my review in 2012.Borderlands in simple words to describe it is AWESOME!!!the combat,rpg elements,graphics and multiplayer are Fantastic.I can not wait till borderlands 2 comes out in a few short months.either way if you like rpgs and shooters then you're gonna love this masterpiece.plus the dlc is amazing.get this game . Expand
  2. RyanS
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    This game is excellent and a blast to play co-op with friends. There is no other experience like it on any console and the gameplay will keep you riveted for hours on end. If you don't give this game a try you really are missing out on a unique experience and one of the best console games to date. I'm putting it in my Xbox all time top five games to play.
  3. MichaelW
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This is not an RPG. It is comedy with a great plot watched through gun sights. While the game is big and pretty it's not interactive outside of interacting your bullets with badguys and shaping your character into a better bullet. This game is also not really for me. It is however for everyone. I don't need a lot of tutorials, I preferr more interaction with a game and I like This is not an RPG. It is comedy with a great plot watched through gun sights. While the game is big and pretty it's not interactive outside of interacting your bullets with badguys and shaping your character into a better bullet. This game is also not really for me. It is however for everyone. I don't need a lot of tutorials, I preferr more interaction with a game and I like complexity. However I realize not everyone deals with my level of obsession with gaming. Everyone however likes having fun, everyone prefers to play than to figure out how to play and people who play action games generally like action. this game is remarkably well designed to appeal to most people, it's fun, it's not hard to figure out how to do things and there's a lot of action. I continue to be astounded by how easy it is to turn on the 360, go into this game and reliably have fun playing it online or alone. Expand
  4. HagenM.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Phenomenal title. Extremely immersive, deep role playing elements, and fantastically addictive co-op. I have nothing but love for this game. However, I wish that the world was entirely open and not limited to zones, and that there was a house or a trunk to store items.
  5. ElliotI
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most fun games I've played this year. The only comparison to fallout is that they both take place in a wasteland type environment -- similarities stop there. This feels and plays like a shooter, with a few added skills. The shooter mechanics are fun and the coop is amazing. Fallout 3 always felt like a turn based rpg with a shooter skin over it. If you enjoyed This is one of the most fun games I've played this year. The only comparison to fallout is that they both take place in a wasteland type environment -- similarities stop there. This feels and plays like a shooter, with a few added skills. The shooter mechanics are fun and the coop is amazing. Fallout 3 always felt like a turn based rpg with a shooter skin over it. If you enjoyed Diablo 2 style looting and like shooters this is the game for you. Expand
  6. JackR
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Brilliant game. I believe penny arcade said it best when they called the game a first person looter. It has many of the elements that made diablo 2 one of my all time favorite games, hunting for the next best weapon/shield. There are also multiple classes with unique features. This doesn't take away from the actual gameplay at all. The cel-shading is absolutely beautiful. There are Brilliant game. I believe penny arcade said it best when they called the game a first person looter. It has many of the elements that made diablo 2 one of my all time favorite games, hunting for the next best weapon/shield. There are also multiple classes with unique features. This doesn't take away from the actual gameplay at all. The cel-shading is absolutely beautiful. There are so many more little things i could rant about for days, you owe it to yourself to buy this game. My only real complaint would be that the skills don't really offer enough customization. even the hardest tier of skill to access doesn't change the gameplay very much. I hope to see that changed in borderlands 2, but for now, all I can say is buy this game. Expand
  7. AlexN
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    Fantastic! I've played a lot of RPGs and a lot of FPSs and this one may not be the best of either, but its phenomenal fusion of the two. With tons of hilarious pop-culture references great online co-op thrown into the average gameplay as well as coveted weapon crates as rewards for exploration, Borderlands is the best gaming experience I've had this year. A great leveling system Fantastic! I've played a lot of RPGs and a lot of FPSs and this one may not be the best of either, but its phenomenal fusion of the two. With tons of hilarious pop-culture references great online co-op thrown into the average gameplay as well as coveted weapon crates as rewards for exploration, Borderlands is the best gaming experience I've had this year. A great leveling system makes the RPG aspect great combined with the FPS aspect makes a memorable fusion superior to that of Fallout 3. There are certain 'types' of quests repeated, but the experience never gets boring and keeps the player coming back for more and more. Expand
  8. AdamM.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    I really think the only people won't like it are people who take games and themselves too seriously. It's a fun and addicting game that never takes it's self too serious to keep anything fun out of it no matter how ridiculous it might be. Play it. You'll see what I mean.
  9. JimG.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Awesome multiplayer experience. Story is a lacking. But that doesn't seem to be the focal point. AI and boss battles are lacking as well. A few class skills seem to be broken at the moment, but its a multiplayer experience that should not be missed. This game is gorgeous and all about co-op fun. Please try it out.
  10. BernardR.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    This game delivers on everything it promises: millions of fantastic guns, tons of loot, lots of crazy bad guys, an interesting world filled with personality, skill trees, vehicles, and the best multiplayer experience I've had in a long time.
  11. AP
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game is pretty much like playing a comic book version of Fallout with COD4 mask. Faster than FO3 and slower than COD4. It is fun to play solo and even better with a friend. I'm glad I picked it up.
  12. Lance
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    The game is everything it promised it would be. The multiplayer co-op is fabulous, the quests while simple keep you wanting more. If you're a hard core gamer, or love looting style games this is right up your alley. The game's ability to deliver simple, straight forward fun only increases the more players join together.
  13. JamesG
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    A real surprise. Graphics are brilliantly stylized. Guns are a joy to shoot, and constantly upgraded. Death animations are great.... legs and arms fly off as people explode. Reached level 11 as a soldier and am loving it so far. Have only played it single player, and I give it a solid 9. So expect my 9 to rise once ive sampled some co-op. Its got Fallout's wastelands, call of A real surprise. Graphics are brilliantly stylized. Guns are a joy to shoot, and constantly upgraded. Death animations are great.... legs and arms fly off as people explode. Reached level 11 as a soldier and am loving it so far. Have only played it single player, and I give it a solid 9. So expect my 9 to rise once ive sampled some co-op. Its got Fallout's wastelands, call of duty's shooting mechanics, and mass effects leveling and gun system. I really don't think you will be disappointed. Expand
  14. AndrewM.
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    the only problem I have with this game is that there isn't anyplace to store any items you want for the future, but don't want in you backpack. for example, after you complete a mission where you have to slay a skagzilla, u get a gun called the elephant gun that does 308 damage, has 98.5 accuracy, but only has a fire rate of .7, so I was forced to sell it to free up backpack the only problem I have with this game is that there isn't anyplace to store any items you want for the future, but don't want in you backpack. for example, after you complete a mission where you have to slay a skagzilla, u get a gun called the elephant gun that does 308 damage, has 98.5 accuracy, but only has a fire rate of .7, so I was forced to sell it to free up backpack space, when it could have proved very useful later on. Expand
  15. JesseC
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    I've played just about every 360 game and this is one of the best. I just dont see how it only got a rating of 85.... The lowest "Critic" review was a 70/100 and their review sounds like they should have given it a 10/10.... "Borderline brilliant".. "Minor Flaw".... that doesnt sound like a 70/100!!! especially when the next highest score is a 79, that 70 brings it down alot. This I've played just about every 360 game and this is one of the best. I just dont see how it only got a rating of 85.... The lowest "Critic" review was a 70/100 and their review sounds like they should have given it a 10/10.... "Borderline brilliant".. "Minor Flaw".... that doesnt sound like a 70/100!!! especially when the next highest score is a 79, that 70 brings it down alot. This games overall rating should be at LEAST 90/100 so it can be up there with the other 90's like... Tom clancy's ghost recon advanced war fighter lol??? and portal? are you joking?... geometry wars? forza 2? this game is 10x better than those Expand
  16. Jason
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Great shooter gameplay, RPG elements, tons of loot all combined with online co-op make it one of the best co-op games ever made. The awesome art style is just a bonus.
  17. KevinC
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Awesome retro cartoon-style artwork, randomly generated weaponry and well-thought out characters makes this game a good purchase and hours of fun!
  18. Matthew
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    It's that old Shadowrun game on SNES meets Metroid Prime with elements of Myst. What's not to like? While not totally original in some aspects, the art style is interesting at first but totally a gimmick to get you to keep playing. I agree with most reviewers, though. The short-comings of the game are overshadowed by the intensely addictive qualities of this game. It is wholly It's that old Shadowrun game on SNES meets Metroid Prime with elements of Myst. What's not to like? While not totally original in some aspects, the art style is interesting at first but totally a gimmick to get you to keep playing. I agree with most reviewers, though. The short-comings of the game are overshadowed by the intensely addictive qualities of this game. It is wholly satisfying to shoot acid out of a submachine gun or to turn invisible and run up to a baddie only to karate chop him in the back of the head. There's so much to like about this game. Only the most anal retentive reviewer who doesn't like fun would rate this game below 8.5 / 10. Thumbs up all the way. Expand
  19. BimmyV
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    First off, Borderlands is the first game I've seen to actually achieve the look of a 3D comic book. Unlike other games that aim for that look, Borderlands was not touted as being "comic bookie", but it does it brilliantly. The hand-drawn textures and hatched shadows are absolutely genius, so huge props to Gearbox for that alone. Now, would I have liked a tad more character First off, Borderlands is the first game I've seen to actually achieve the look of a 3D comic book. Unlike other games that aim for that look, Borderlands was not touted as being "comic bookie", but it does it brilliantly. The hand-drawn textures and hatched shadows are absolutely genius, so huge props to Gearbox for that alone. Now, would I have liked a tad more character customization? Of course, but I'm just a sucker for that kinda dress-up crap anyway. Does it detract from the game experience? No, not really. But going online and seeing other people's wacky creations is always fun, so maybe in the sequel we could get some sliders and bigger color palettes. Ok, so the characters Gearbox provided are pretty awesome, and the movie-style intro for them is sweet, but still, I like to tweak my looks, it just makes me feel that much more invested in my character. However, the ability to alter your color scheme and name whenever you want is really nifty, even if the options are limited. As for the gameplay, anyone who's familiar with COD 4 will be right at home in Pandora, because Borderlands' controls are identical. Modern Warfare completely trumps even Halo as the greatest console FPS control scheme ever, and Gearbox wisely followed suit. And the "bazillions" of guns you'll be finding for the next umpteen hours are exquisitely satisfying to fire. The tactility of the firearms combined with the excellent enemy animations make for the most exhilarating and frantic level grinding you'll ever experience. I hesitate to even call leveling in this game a "grind", since the only grinding you'll be doing is your enemies into mooshy red chunks. Mmmm. I know lots of people are comparing Borderlands to Fallout 3, but really, this is an entirely different beast. Aside from the wasteland setting (which isn't even post-apocalyptic, by the way), the two games are almost nothing alike. Ok, and there's a Vault, too, so what? The absence of any real deep or compelling narrative in Borderlands really doesn't bother me at all. The hilarious characters and Bio Shock-esque tape recorder diaries are enough to keep me interested in Gearbox's universe. And though there is little environmental or character interaction, it only serves to give the game an even more simple and streamlined feel. After all, Borderlands is not about sifting through seas of useless odds and ends, or navigating dialogue trees, or choosing between being good or evil. It's about the loot. And in the wasteland that is Pandora, Loot > All. If you like Diablo, and you like first person shooters, you will love Borderlands, because that is basically what it is. Now go buy it. And tell all your friends to buy it, so you can play together. It is that much fun. Expand
  20. DanielC
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. It is as fun as any other game i have ever played. True for the co-op you have to be the same level, but you can go back to the arid badlands or whatever to level up and just have fun. The number of weapons is extraordinary and some thought definitly went into them, rarely do i find two weapons that just have different damages or fire rates. "No weapon trading among This game is amazing. It is as fun as any other game i have ever played. True for the co-op you have to be the same level, but you can go back to the arid badlands or whatever to level up and just have fun. The number of weapons is extraordinary and some thought definitly went into them, rarely do i find two weapons that just have different damages or fire rates. "No weapon trading among players" whoopdy do, you can drop a weapon, it wont hurt your soul. The gameplay is so fluent and easy to learn. It makes shooting 20 bandits in a row fun and different than your last battle. I love how they just left out armor, it makes the focus more on your weapon where it needs to be. The saving system is absent, but that is part of the game, and respawning takes NO LOADING TIME. Yeah the story is lackluster and the npc's somewhat lifeless, but the point of the game is to be a shooter with rpg elements, not an rpg with shooter elements, get over it Expand
  21. DavidH
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    One of the best multiplayer games I've ever played. It's fun on so many levels, and does so many things well that it's a difficult game experience to describe. What matters is that the gameplay is rewarding, challenging and fun as hell.
  22. PerryC
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This game is great. Anyone can pick it up and have fun, pro or newbie. The graphics are great, the animations are perfect, and the game play is smooth. I'd say it will be looked back on as revolutionary in retrospect. My only gripe is the inability to trade ammo and non-scaling menus, but those are pretty easily forgivable. Ammo is plentiful enough for it to not be a very big gripe, This game is great. Anyone can pick it up and have fun, pro or newbie. The graphics are great, the animations are perfect, and the game play is smooth. I'd say it will be looked back on as revolutionary in retrospect. My only gripe is the inability to trade ammo and non-scaling menus, but those are pretty easily forgivable. Ammo is plentiful enough for it to not be a very big gripe, and you can scroll the menus pretty easily. Go pick up a copy! Expand
  23. mandudebro
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    This game is addictive. Easily a 50-70 hour fun fest. The more you level up the more awesome your skills and weapons are. I thought i was wasing my time the first 2 or 3 hours, but now i'm a level 27 ( 25 hours of gameplay later ) Soldier and my one shot one kills are entertaining. Millions of guns and there's loot galore. Fun co-op. I'd give it a 10 if DLC was free or at This game is addictive. Easily a 50-70 hour fun fest. The more you level up the more awesome your skills and weapons are. I thought i was wasing my time the first 2 or 3 hours, but now i'm a level 27 ( 25 hours of gameplay later ) Soldier and my one shot one kills are entertaining. Millions of guns and there's loot galore. Fun co-op. I'd give it a 10 if DLC was free or at least cheaper. Expand
  24. ClarkG.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. Beyond all the hype and such, it's a truly FUN game, especially with friends. And it takes a fair amount of time to finish, which you don't see a lot of these days. While it has it's flaws (and what game doesn't), it was a blast, and I would recommend everyone who reads this to buy this game, right now! PS /v/, enough with the HERP DERP I really enjoyed this game. Beyond all the hype and such, it's a truly FUN game, especially with friends. And it takes a fair amount of time to finish, which you don't see a lot of these days. While it has it's flaws (and what game doesn't), it was a blast, and I would recommend everyone who reads this to buy this game, right now! PS /v/, enough with the HERP DERP VIRAL MARKETING! It's getting old. Expand
  25. DustinW
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    I hesitated to purhase this title, but after playing, I am glad I did. In a market that is full of great, but very short, games - this one delivers where others fail. Some glitches prompted me to give it a 9, but after careful conideration I think this one deserves a 10. I greatly enjoyed Fallout 3, but wanted more of a "shooter" - I am glad I found this game.
  26. JonathonT.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing this is like fallout 3 with co-op. It is literally a dream type of game that gives adventurers the chance to be the ultimate gunslinging wasteland survivor. It doesn't take itself seriously graphically. Even so, the environments are welldone and open enough to give roaming and grinding a sense of relaxation; and to give battles a sense of epic brilliance when won.
  27. AD
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Like so many others have said, this game is just a blast to play. I also have to agree that it's a lot like the original Diablo as well, not only in the way the weapons drop with random bonuses, effects, etc, but with how the world itself works. The only thing that holds the game back to me is how lonely single player is. I went in expecting that team mates I didn't choose would Like so many others have said, this game is just a blast to play. I also have to agree that it's a lot like the original Diablo as well, not only in the way the weapons drop with random bonuses, effects, etc, but with how the world itself works. The only thing that holds the game back to me is how lonely single player is. I went in expecting that team mates I didn't choose would be controlled by AI ala Left 4 Dead, but it's only you out there. All of the character classes are capable of surviving on their own without a doubt, but with little NPC interaction, the whole place feels a bit desolate. In any case it's a refreshing break from games that take themselves way too seriously and the grim darkness of grimdark warfare that's everywhere these days. Collapse
  28. TravisK
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    What an incredibly addicting game. It's a blast to play online, and I'll definitely play through it again. My only gripe, which really isn't a huge gripe, is that for a game so addicting, the experience is over really quickly. It feels like an MMO when you play online, and you kind of wish the experience was endless - but it isn't. I recommend for everyone who loves a What an incredibly addicting game. It's a blast to play online, and I'll definitely play through it again. My only gripe, which really isn't a huge gripe, is that for a game so addicting, the experience is over really quickly. It feels like an MMO when you play online, and you kind of wish the experience was endless - but it isn't. I recommend for everyone who loves a good RPG/Shooter or a good online Co-op experience! Expand
  29. ALL242
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This is definitely one of the best online, co-op games you can buy. The art direction, role playing elements, tons of weapons, constant flow, and ability to play a role playing game online is phenomenal. This is a great game, and it's worth every penny.
  30. JJJ
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    I'm not sure what drugs the "professional" reviewers were on, but this thing rocks. As someone who HATES RPG's, I am actually having a blast at the grinding, AND the missions. The humor helps too - from death spasms to the creatures expressions, to your co-op buddy saying " I'm just too good at this" after a good kill. An "84" rating does not do this game justice.
  31. JesseH
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    This game is simply brilliant. It's like Fallout 3 turned comic, with some great humor and awesome, fast-paced action wrapped up with absolutely fantastic co-op play with no limitations like spread distance between players. This game is a must-buy.
  32. JakC
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    So this is what I had to wait an extra year for ?? Well, that was a year well spent imho. Its pretty funny now remembering all the "Its just going to be a Fallout clone" talk. Because with all due respect to Fallout which was an outstanding game too, after about 10 minutes it was completely obvious to me that I'll never go back to Fallout again. This game is obviously the culmination So this is what I had to wait an extra year for ?? Well, that was a year well spent imho. Its pretty funny now remembering all the "Its just going to be a Fallout clone" talk. Because with all due respect to Fallout which was an outstanding game too, after about 10 minutes it was completely obvious to me that I'll never go back to Fallout again. This game is obviously the culmination of many games, over many years, to take so many good ideas of what worked in so many different games, and take each of those ideas to perfection like they have done here, is just almost to much to have asked for, but that is whats been done in this game. Everything thing works to perfection. From the gunplay, with the endlessly awesome supply of guns, that ALL feel different and act different, to all the enemy types, Starting with the skags, with their bloodthirsty roar, and crazy flying leaps from every angle, to the funky personalities of the human characters, to the very well done vehicular combat, to the fallout like class building and menu system. At every turn this game does what it does better. And did I mention the voice work, how totally well the whole cell shading thing works here, and just how perfectly the musical score fits the mood at every turn. I just don't know how this game could have been any better, and quite honestly I don't believe this game should have scored any lower then a 10. Its completely original and easily the best game I've EVER played !! Expand
  33. TB
    Oct 24, 2009
    8
    This game is great, but is only fun to play with friends because of the boredom the quests generate.
  34. GC
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Love this game. Reminds me of Sacred 2 from an RPG standpoint (straightforward questing w/ lots of inventory management)... it reminds me of Crackdown from the action standpoint (leveling to wipe out enemies)... the FPS aspect reminds me of Fallout 3 (lots to explore with danger around every corner). When one game genre gets old, the others keep you engrossed. I love it. And a billion Love this game. Reminds me of Sacred 2 from an RPG standpoint (straightforward questing w/ lots of inventory management)... it reminds me of Crackdown from the action standpoint (leveling to wipe out enemies)... the FPS aspect reminds me of Fallout 3 (lots to explore with danger around every corner). When one game genre gets old, the others keep you engrossed. I love it. And a billion weapons. No kidding. It's almost too much to choose from. Playing mostling solo and I'm shocked at how much fun I'm having. Have yet to try the multiplayer/online aspects. Expand
  35. killswitch1968
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    I'd give this a steaming hot 9.9 This game is simply fantastic. I wont be trading this game in - Its a keeper!
  36. SiNwYrM
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    A great blend of many genres this game is both visually stunning and fun. Whether solo or with friends you can never quite put it down because you always want to run just one more mission or find that one better gun. This game will appeal to RPG aficionados, action fans and all walks of gamers in between. A must have for this holiday season and beyond!
  37. JustinE
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This game is will one day be a classic! Excellent game play, intuitive gun play and a great mix of types of quests. The variety of weapons and statistical attributes is outstanding and will keep you playing the game well past the first play through. I admit when I first heard they were switching the art style mid development to cell shading I was rather scared. I don't really care This game is will one day be a classic! Excellent game play, intuitive gun play and a great mix of types of quests. The variety of weapons and statistical attributes is outstanding and will keep you playing the game well past the first play through. I admit when I first heard they were switching the art style mid development to cell shading I was rather scared. I don't really care for cell shading and doing something that major to a game right in the middle of development can and usually does spell disaster for the game because from that point on they focus too much on the artistic side and not enough on the gameplay and story. However, the cell shading looks wonderful and really helps place a unique atmosphere to the game to separate it the game graphically from other games that may be comparative to Borderlands. While the storyline is not the best I have ever seen it still delivers a solid experience although I do wish they would have added more voice acting instead of text based mission description. That would have helped the story immersion a bit more. The only other complaint I have with the game is its frame rate at times during the intense combat this game delivers. However those minor complaints aside I believe the game comes very close to perfection. Unfortunately there is not a 9.5 rating available for reviews by players so I will give it a 10. Had the story line been a bit more deeper and if they would have added voice acting and vocal descriptions to the missions rather than text I believe this game would have been a perfect 10! Expand
  38. GerryH
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    Gearbox took great features from great games (regardless of genre) and fused them into an amazing experience, solo or co-op: Call of Duty: Much of the control (except going prone, BL only lets you crouch), achievements with multiple levels for increasing xp, the feeling that you "own" your loadouts. Halo: Shields, driving-style Drop-in multiplayer is much like Left 4 Dead. Comparing and Gearbox took great features from great games (regardless of genre) and fused them into an amazing experience, solo or co-op: Call of Duty: Much of the control (except going prone, BL only lets you crouch), achievements with multiple levels for increasing xp, the feeling that you "own" your loadouts. Halo: Shields, driving-style Drop-in multiplayer is much like Left 4 Dead. Comparing and collecting loot for use, sale, or to give to your buddy is a lot like Diablo. The most distinct and gratifying experience in this game is finding a rare beast of a gun and taking it with you through several levels, until it is just too weak for the newer enemies. I have never played a game where I became emotionally attached to my weapon. Great work. Expand
  39. JamminJones
    Oct 31, 2009
    8
    I am now three hours into the co-op campaign and I am pleased so far. I may be the only one in this forum to think so but the cell shaded graphics are an uninviting distraction and give the environment an elementary, comic book feel. I understand the makers wanted to differentiate themselves from Bethesda's Fallout 3 but there is no shame in borrowing the some of the strengths of I am now three hours into the co-op campaign and I am pleased so far. I may be the only one in this forum to think so but the cell shaded graphics are an uninviting distraction and give the environment an elementary, comic book feel. I understand the makers wanted to differentiate themselves from Bethesda's Fallout 3 but there is no shame in borrowing the some of the strengths of other games. All in all, this game is shaping up to be a solid title but do not delve into it expecting a great RPG experience. It also helps a lot to play with trusted friends. Expand
  40. NickP
    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    FANTASTIC game. Got it in Canada for $40 after seeing a video review that looked interesting. I am not disapointed. I've been playing this game non-stop since it was released and I'm still not tired of it. YES, there are bugs right now and they're annoying bugs, but I never find the game getting old. I've put easily 30ish hours into it and I'll be playing through FANTASTIC game. Got it in Canada for $40 after seeing a video review that looked interesting. I am not disapointed. I've been playing this game non-stop since it was released and I'm still not tired of it. YES, there are bugs right now and they're annoying bugs, but I never find the game getting old. I've put easily 30ish hours into it and I'll be playing through it again with another friend once I'm done. There's something amazing about it, I liked it more than Fallout 3/Oblivion, which I just did not connect to. With Fallout/Oblivion, I think the poor character interactions are what killed my connection to the story. This story... eh, it's mostly terrible and throw-away. To me, that is the saddest part, because a great story would have made this an AMAZING, AMAZING game. Expand
  41. BX
    Nov 17, 2009
    8
    It's a very fun game, but if you're like me, you'll spend a lot of time lamenting the vast amount of untapped potential in this game. If the devs spent maybe 2-3 more months on this game, it would be epic. The game combines the best elements from a lot of games (think Diablo meets Call of Duty while doing World of Warcraft quests), but implements the borrowed elements in a It's a very fun game, but if you're like me, you'll spend a lot of time lamenting the vast amount of untapped potential in this game. If the devs spent maybe 2-3 more months on this game, it would be epic. The game combines the best elements from a lot of games (think Diablo meets Call of Duty while doing World of Warcraft quests), but implements the borrowed elements in a very shallow way. There isn't enough differentiation between the four classes, they play pretty similarly because every class can become competently proficient in every weapon class. The skill trees do not do enough to differentiate the classes from each other, or to even differentiate your build for a single class vs. a different player's build for the same class. If I'm doing my calculations correctly, by the time you reach the level cap, you'll have enough skill points to descend 2 of the 3 skill trees (compare that to World of Warcraft, where you only get enough skill points to descend one skill tree, with a few extra points to spread between the other two). The result is a lack of custimization in builds, which is disappointing. There is also a lack of variety in the quests. The quests are either collect x items, or kill x enemies. There is a lack of variety in the enemies. There is a lack of variety in the weapons and equipment. Hopefully, DLC will expand the content of this game because it is on the verge of epic. Gearbox would do well to add more skills, weapons, quest-types, enemies, and maybe even character classes. Expand
  42. JohnS
    Nov 18, 2009
    8
    I don't even like FPS but this game is fun and I forget I am playing one. Leveling up your character is kind of addicting.
  43. JohnF.
    Nov 3, 2009
    8
    Borderlands falls just short of hitting a home run, but Gearbox is probably onto something here. The day may come when an MMORPG hits it big on a console, which hasn't quite happened yet. But Borderlands takes something that is very popular on consoles -- FPS play -- and combines it with two of the things that makes MMO play so addicting (loot hunting and questing with others) to Borderlands falls just short of hitting a home run, but Gearbox is probably onto something here. The day may come when an MMORPG hits it big on a console, which hasn't quite happened yet. But Borderlands takes something that is very popular on consoles -- FPS play -- and combines it with two of the things that makes MMO play so addicting (loot hunting and questing with others) to come up with a successful premise. There are a lot of possibilities in this combination that Borderlands does not quite reach, but a future sequel very well could. As it is, Borderlands is still fun to play -- a bit rough around the edges, but once you get started on a Borderlands session, it's tough to stop. Expand
  44. AndrewZ
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    The game is beautifully done. This is a unique blend of gameplay done the right way. The controls are great, the art is fantastic and the dialogue is well written. An absolute blast to play with friends. I only wished they put more emphasis on story and quest like fallout, but i'm sure that will all fit into the sequel!
  45. GuyG
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing!!! I have been looking for a game like this all my life. Co-op and split screen in the same game is something that is never done anymore. I would recommend this game to anyone who has a pulse. I am going to go play more right now.
  46. JasperW
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    This was definitely a solid game. The RPG elements made it addictive and thus worth the money by a long shot. An inventive world with an incredible amount of replayability.
  47. PatrickR
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    I'm really surprised that this game is getting high marks from so many people, i see a lot of people getting this game thinking its like fallout, or even just another FPS. I Absolutely love this game. I disagree that this is like fallout at all really, other than the fact that they are both first person RPGs and both feature guns. Really this is best described as Halo (shields) + COD I'm really surprised that this game is getting high marks from so many people, i see a lot of people getting this game thinking its like fallout, or even just another FPS. I Absolutely love this game. I disagree that this is like fallout at all really, other than the fact that they are both first person RPGs and both feature guns. Really this is best described as Halo (shields) + COD (more tactical shooting) + WOW (from graphics, grinding, quest layouts/objectives to randomized weapon attributes). Honestly this is the game i've always wanted to see tried, but never thought it'd be done so well. You will spend hours simply finding the gun that fits your play style best, and loving every second of it, if that's what you are in to. Expand
  48. JamesR
    Oct 24, 2009
    8
    It's a fun game! I wish there were an option to switch to 3rd person view though (like in fallout, either 1st or 3rd person), there are some times that I prefer that view, like when I'm wandering and need to see more of what's around me. But overall, it's really fun so far!
  49. s1lverFoXiMoF
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    This game is the Game of the Year so far. Best xbox 360 game I have played since modern warfare. Do yourself a service and buy this game. Best experience you can have with 4 people over the internet right now. This hybrid game has something for everyone. Mix halo-cod4-diablo in a blender and you get borderlands except with a world bigger than that of fallout 3.
  50. JorgeC
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best multipler experiences I have ever had with my brother. Its addicting and fun.
  51. NateC.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Excellent shooter gameplay, fantastic rpg system, amazing art style, and great fun with friends. The only thing not to like is the story, but it's not a deal breaker. This is one of the coolest and most original games to come out in a long time. Do yourself a favor and check it out.
  52. Aug 12, 2010
    8
    I'd give this game more than an 8, but frame rate issues and confusing/lack of story bring it down in my books. Fantastic outing, bring on Borderlands 2!!
  53. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This game is a perfect combination of violence, humor, adventure, and role- playing, but not the **** Fallout role- playing; bad graphics, predictable story, and customize-your-own-character feature, which never ends well. This game does include the "level- up" feature that didn't make other role- playing games, there are better rewards other than just power- ups. Like weapons, andThis game is a perfect combination of violence, humor, adventure, and role- playing, but not the **** Fallout role- playing; bad graphics, predictable story, and customize-your-own-character feature, which never ends well. This game does include the "level- up" feature that didn't make other role- playing games, there are better rewards other than just power- ups. Like weapons, and upgrades for the weapons. This is the best role- playing game I've ever played. Haters can eat me. Expand
  54. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    an excellent game, marred by some problematic flaws.
    Pro's: Cell shading makes a difference for a change, involving story, decent multiplayer. intelligent ai (on the whole)
    Con's: Repetitive generic Tasks, Poor Waypoints at times etc

    but on the whole a very good game
  55. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    My absolute favorite game for 360. I've played this through at least six times, in single player, 2 player split screen coop, and 4 player online coop. The game is fun, and addictive. It's a first person shooter with minimal tactics. (If I switch back to Rainbow Six: Las Vegas after a lengthy BL run, I end up getting killed over and over again because I've forgotten how use cover.) It'sMy absolute favorite game for 360. I've played this through at least six times, in single player, 2 player split screen coop, and 4 player online coop. The game is fun, and addictive. It's a first person shooter with minimal tactics. (If I switch back to Rainbow Six: Las Vegas after a lengthy BL run, I end up getting killed over and over again because I've forgotten how use cover.) It's more along the lines of Halo in that regard than Rainbow Six: Vegas. You run around the environment and get missions for the area. Often they are "go kill so and so" or "turn on these generators" or "collect these parts." Generally speaking, the missions are a lot of fun, but there are a few that are frustrating. There is a HUGE variety of weapons, unfortunately most of the weapon drops will not be as good as what you already have. Still, I can't help but get a little chill of anticipation every time I check out the vending machines. I don't know what bugs people are complaining about. It's not flawless, but generally speaking, it's a well-designed and well-crafted game. Expand
  56. Jan 20, 2015
    7
    This game is worth checking out when on sale, but gets surprisingly boring after a while.

    PROS
    -The best graphics
    -So much to do
    -So many guns
    -Fun unrealistic abilities
    -Funny story

    CONS
    -Boring from time to time
  57. MordecaiHunter
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Borderlands retains the best elements of Fallout 3, leveling, skills, open RPG environment, and the first person shooter behavior and ridiculous weapons variety of Modern Warfare, all wrapped up in an orignal and creative style. The opportunities for developing a unique character based on the choices you make in the game are nearly infinite. I love this game, a must buy!
  58. PrestonW
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    I've waited for this game for some time and all i can say is that.....It's Brilliant! The combat is addictive. I've just started playing and i wasconsidering skiping school to keep playing. I played for four hours straight and it honestly seemed like i was only playing for an hour; It's that fun. There are so many guns and soo mucg loot. The first boss fight is I've waited for this game for some time and all i can say is that.....It's Brilliant! The combat is addictive. I've just started playing and i wasconsidering skiping school to keep playing. I played for four hours straight and it honestly seemed like i was only playing for an hour; It's that fun. There are so many guns and soo mucg loot. The first boss fight is hillarious. It perplexes me that people hated it. Expand
  59. Vanimal
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    I don't give 10s lightly. I actually grade it 9.5, rounding up to 10. This game strips everything down to the basic core of gaming. All the quests are built the same, yes. But really, all game quests are just fetch quests disguised as something else. This game just doesn't try to fool you. This game is light on a fully immersive story, yes. So what. Since when have stories made I don't give 10s lightly. I actually grade it 9.5, rounding up to 10. This game strips everything down to the basic core of gaming. All the quests are built the same, yes. But really, all game quests are just fetch quests disguised as something else. This game just doesn't try to fool you. This game is light on a fully immersive story, yes. So what. Since when have stories made a game fun? A story adds to the total package, but can never change the gameplay underneath. This game is just a reason to go shoot and collect stuff while completing humorous simple quests. This game at it's core is absolutely fun and addicting. The controls are on par with COD (minus crawl), and it takes the best parts of an rpg and combines them well. I have been wondering why this game hadn't come out 10 years ago. If you want a boring, linear, scripted, and uncustomizable game, play the Halo or COD campaign. If you want to play the same multiplayer maps over and over and over again, play those same games. If you want to play a campaign or multilayer game with rewards around every corner and an unlimited amount of guns and a humorous tone with none of the unneeded crap, play this game. Expand
  60. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    So far one of my favorite games for the 360. Played through the game multiple times with different characters, and this is one of the few games that my wife loves to play with me. The NPCs add to it by being absolutely hilarious, and the missions they send you on are often just as funny. Though it gets harder and harder to find the better guns and upgrades as the game progresses, it'sSo far one of my favorite games for the 360. Played through the game multiple times with different characters, and this is one of the few games that my wife loves to play with me. The NPCs add to it by being absolutely hilarious, and the missions they send you on are often just as funny. Though it gets harder and harder to find the better guns and upgrades as the game progresses, it's still fun finding and using them just to try them. Can't wait for a sequel. Expand
  61. ShaneC.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    This game is incredible! If you loved Fallout 3 but hated the stilted combat, then this is the game for you. Don't hesitate-go buy this game right now!
  62. JamesL
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    Brilliant. More of a shooter than a RPG. Better than Fallout 3 for my money due to better game play and less arsing about clicking through tedious dialogue scripts. Addictive and emersive.
  63. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game was a blast. It was a unique experience, from the graphics, to the guns, to the world. I seriously couldn't get enough, and have actually gone back and played through it from the start again.
  64. Jul 11, 2011
    6
    A mediocre game. At first the experience is a bit new and seems fun, but the game quickly drags on. The original campaign is very short and anti-climatic. The online co-op is a joke, riddled with shameless cheaters and bugs that still exist from release. Instead of fixing the bugs, Gearbox decided it was a better idea to release 4 DLC add-ons. I only paid 10 bucks for the game and all theA mediocre game. At first the experience is a bit new and seems fun, but the game quickly drags on. The original campaign is very short and anti-climatic. The online co-op is a joke, riddled with shameless cheaters and bugs that still exist from release. Instead of fixing the bugs, Gearbox decided it was a better idea to release 4 DLC add-ons. I only paid 10 bucks for the game and all the DLC and I still feel cheated. Expand
  65. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    This game plays like a buggy and empty world of warcraft with guns. There is no
  66. JoshuaF
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    I've just made it into my second playthrough with Roland (tho Soldier) and I won't likely be putting down the controller soon. What I will do is respond to various negative comments I have seen about this game: "Copy/paste of CoD4 controls" - It's a shooter. There are only so many ways to set up the controls. "no story" - Diablo 2 had no story. Look how popular that was... I've just made it into my second playthrough with Roland (tho Soldier) and I won't likely be putting down the controller soon. What I will do is respond to various negative comments I have seen about this game: "Copy/paste of CoD4 controls" - It's a shooter. There are only so many ways to set up the controls. "no story" - Diablo 2 had no story. Look how popular that was... I could go on, but it would get boring and repetitive. On the subject of Diablo 2, however, has anyone else noticed the similarities? Instead of Deckard Cain, we have Claptrap. Instead of Griswold, we have a Russian arms dealer. (ok, so that's Diablo 1...) And, if you downloaded Zombie Island, you have an NPC that went bad and has to be dealt with (Nihalathak in Diablo 2) except that Ned is TOTALLY not Zed from the main story. Back on track, get the game. When you start to get bored with it, get some friends. You'll be playing for a while. Expand
  67. LucasN
    Oct 23, 2009
    9
    Borderlands is an incredible game. It delivers on all it's promises, and for the amount of hype that Pitchford and his crew tossed around, that's not only saying something, it's downright amazing. Co-op is definitely it's strong point - single player is fun, but the game really shines with friends. The story is quirky, fun, and totally not required; if you want to Borderlands is an incredible game. It delivers on all it's promises, and for the amount of hype that Pitchford and his crew tossed around, that's not only saying something, it's downright amazing. Co-op is definitely it's strong point - single player is fun, but the game really shines with friends. The story is quirky, fun, and totally not required; if you want to blast through without reading or listening to anything, the game will let you do so with no penalties whatsoever. If stories are your thing, you have to pay attention and do a little reading in quest text, but there's enough detail and humor to hold your attention. With four classes to experiment with and multiple play-throughs that reward you with better exp and loot, there is a ton of replayability in this package. If you like shooters, RPG's, and loot (or any combination of the 3 =P), do yourself a favor and pick up this game. If you're anything like me, you'll be playing it well into the new year, and enjoying every minute. Expand
  68. DM
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    This is what happens when you mix gun porn and WoW together! I have to say this game is beyond outstanding. It is very addictive as well. In one sitting I made it all the way to Level 15. Everyone keeps referencing Fallout 3...I honestly don't see any correlation. The games graphics are pretty amazing. I was surprised at how much they could do with cell shading and how awesome it This is what happens when you mix gun porn and WoW together! I have to say this game is beyond outstanding. It is very addictive as well. In one sitting I made it all the way to Level 15. Everyone keeps referencing Fallout 3...I honestly don't see any correlation. The games graphics are pretty amazing. I was surprised at how much they could do with cell shading and how awesome it looks. The controls also make sense and are very easy to fall right in to. Expand
  69. josem
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Borderlands is one of the best games i have played this year, even the frame rate and texture loading couldnt effect the 9 ni gave it.
  70. XpectResistance
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Wicked good FPS! Hints of Fallout3 and old skewl Diablo but is very much its own flavor. A good buy and hours of game play make it a very well rounded game. Warning! You will get hooked. Killer weapons and almost endless mods.
  71. ChrisS
    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    I have only played this game through 1 time with 1 friend (2 people playing) and I gotta say it is pretty underwhelming. The idea is there, SOME guns are cool (the fact that their are "bazillions" of them is lame considering many are the same), but I never really felt involved in any way. Its just "go here, do this go back, repeat and none of it is particularly fun. Bottom Line: Fun if I have only played this game through 1 time with 1 friend (2 people playing) and I gotta say it is pretty underwhelming. The idea is there, SOME guns are cool (the fact that their are "bazillions" of them is lame considering many are the same), but I never really felt involved in any way. Its just "go here, do this go back, repeat and none of it is particularly fun. Bottom Line: Fun if you have friends to play with and dont mind doing mindless (and imo pointless) quests killing things and backtracking. If you want substance from a game, look elsewhere. Expand
  72. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    One of the most addicting and thoroughly enjoyable RPGs available. Honestly, I'm having a hell of a time playing this game, more so than Fallout 3. The interaction with NPCs would be the game's biggest flaw, but everything else is brilliant. Questing is always entertaining and the game easily touts gaming's biggest roster of weaponry. Borderlands is a sleek game sporting some very humorousOne of the most addicting and thoroughly enjoyable RPGs available. Honestly, I'm having a hell of a time playing this game, more so than Fallout 3. The interaction with NPCs would be the game's biggest flaw, but everything else is brilliant. Questing is always entertaining and the game easily touts gaming's biggest roster of weaponry. Borderlands is a sleek game sporting some very humorous moments. Simply put, this game is badass. Expand
  73. Sep 20, 2010
    7
    Borderlands is an extremely fun and interesting, new experience... for a few hours. I've had friends that have played it until they've maxed out their levels, and I don't honestly understand how that's possible. It's another game where the first play through can actually be quite amusing and contain things that no one else has had the mind to create yet, but at a certain point, youBorderlands is an extremely fun and interesting, new experience... for a few hours. I've had friends that have played it until they've maxed out their levels, and I don't honestly understand how that's possible. It's another game where the first play through can actually be quite amusing and contain things that no one else has had the mind to create yet, but at a certain point, you realize that you just wanna put the controller down. It's also far from lag-free, and unless you're willing to shell out the money for the many DLC's, I'd suggest a rental. Expand
  74. Aug 28, 2012
    3
    Easily one of the most over-rated games I have ever played. A Fallout clone meets uninspired WoW RPG interface that lacks serious polish. I didn't mind the cell shading but question it's effectiveness in a post apocalyptic-like setting. Everything is just brown and bland including the enemies.

    The clunky and erratic aiming controls on the console make over-powered general mobs
    Easily one of the most over-rated games I have ever played. A Fallout clone meets uninspired WoW RPG interface that lacks serious polish. I didn't mind the cell shading but question it's effectiveness in a post apocalyptic-like setting. Everything is just brown and bland including the enemies.

    The clunky and erratic aiming controls on the console make over-powered general mobs incredibly frustrating. Enemy AI seems to exploit these poor controls by straffing and sprinting all over while they posses near perfect aim. Axe wielding mobs are insanely ridiculous as they can heave axes from miles away with dead on accuracy (even over huge boulders or cover) all while you struggle with the aim of a sniper rifle.

    As an FPS this game is pretty weak compared to other offerings out there. Even with sensitivity turned way up the aim is always poor. Weapons have erratic aim. Some shots will land crits while other perfectly aimed shots miss or register next to no damage. Explosives can go off at enemy or even your own feet dealing little to no damage then a grenade 10 feet away can kill you or a mob. Weapons are also pretty bland with just different stats.

    As an RPG this game is a joke. Leveling your toon takes forever and the WoW inspired talent tree offers no real character enhancement. Just small health or shield regen boosts. Too many skills are aimed at improving your limited specialty weapon, the turret which has a very small time limit to use and a long cooldown. Also the games emphasis is huge on Co-op which explains why so many pro critics loved this title. As a single player game this is a frustrating experience and major time suck. Leveling your character is almost worthless as it's all about getting more powerful guns. Healing is a drag. Your inventory is extremely limited. Only a dozen slots at first and increases slowly. Health packs are small heal over time boosts so you really have to go with shields that offer health regen. These rates are terribly slow. By early lvl 20's you will have 450-500 health and if you get banged up in a fight it can take 10 minutes to regen all health. If you opt to avoid health regen shields you have to carry a lot of health packs which is hard to do and prohibits you from picking up weapons to sell. because ammo is limited you also have to carry a lot of different styles of guns to get by. Paying for health is also expensive. Several hundred just for small amounts of heal. If you die forget it. The game punishes you big time by charging you thousands of dollars to respawn. In the early 20's I had to shell out over 8,000 for one death. Thats more money than you may gain in one dungeon crawl which essentially sets you way back. Beyond healing and respawning though money is pretty useless. The guns at the vending machines never are better than what you find. Still though the game has you open thousands of small boxes with tiny amounts of cash. 10 bucks here, 20 bucks there. Adding to the frustration is that enemy respawn rates are way too fast. Almost as soon as you leave an area all the enemies return. This is a pain in dungeons because you may want to return to the vending machines to sell off loot to free up your pack or recharge health. You often have to fight your way back there wasting more ammo and then when you return you have to fight back to your last point often rendering the trip worthless. Insult to injury is that ammo you uncover in areas but don't pick up because you are full will disappear after a short time even though the enemies return.

    Basically I never felt like I was progressing in this game. Most RPGs allow players to reach a point where they develop their stats enough to manipulate the game engine and make playthrough either easier or more enjoyable. Borderlands always has the player feeling like he is horribly underpowered and no amount of leveling really matters. It's all luck based on which weapons you find. The sotry is kind of vague and most quests are just random fetch quests or bounty missions. I never really had a full understanding of what I was doing. I gather the single player story is short but after 8 hours of just monotonous grinding I won't be finishing this title. There are way better games to play and the release of Borderlands 2 will not be seeing me as a customer. Even as a budget title I would give this a miss.
    Expand
  75. Apr 14, 2011
    5
    I was very disappointed when i first played this and I got my game of the year addition and sold it 2 days later. This has to be the most difficult game i have played in my life, the only way to acually win is to have a mod. The game design is good and looks like a cartoon (which isnt bad) crap load of guns, cool upgrade system but overall if there is another one im not gonna waste moreI was very disappointed when i first played this and I got my game of the year addition and sold it 2 days later. This has to be the most difficult game i have played in my life, the only way to acually win is to have a mod. The game design is good and looks like a cartoon (which isnt bad) crap load of guns, cool upgrade system but overall if there is another one im not gonna waste more money unless they make the AI less difficult. Expand
  76. JarredB
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Id say to be exact i'd give this game a 9.7 i have never played a game so much for so long. The beginning of the game felt a little drab with a lame story but the more i went on the more that i cared about my character. I first beat it with about 20 hours of gameplay which i thought was very solid not bad. the whole way through i played single player just because i thought it would Id say to be exact i'd give this game a 9.7 i have never played a game so much for so long. The beginning of the game felt a little drab with a lame story but the more i went on the more that i cared about my character. I first beat it with about 20 hours of gameplay which i thought was very solid not bad. the whole way through i played single player just because i thought it would be better to beat it alone then to play it co-op. But when i beat it i put it back on the shelf for a day and thought i wouldnt go through again for who knows how many weeks. But i still had this urge to play it so the next day i picked it up and started playing co-op and now leveling up has become an addiction just needing to get to level 50 with my siren and im already thinking about beating it with a new character. this is easily a game with a lot of replay ability. ill compare it to fallout a bit because everyone does. Yes its an open world yes there are quest but i dont see that being very related to fallout the quest all felt completely different and leveling up means so much more in Borderlands, New gear you can equip new abilities and overall just being stronger. I beat fallout put in my 30 hours and havnt touched it since broken steel. I was considering getting the game of the year edition just to have all of the DLC but then i got borderlands and i havn't even thought about that recently. I had minor glitches were i had to either let myself die because i got stuck some where or a very VERY minor frame rate issue here or there when there was too much going on on the screen.This was more of my input on the game and less of a review my review would be a sentence long. This game is freaking awesome and i cant get enough go out buy it now play it with your friends you wont regret it. Expand
  77. DH.
    Oct 29, 2009
    5
    While not a bad game, it gets boring as all you are doing are basic "go get this item" or "go kill this number of bad guys/monsters" for the bulk of the game. The result of many of those quests is simply a boss battle and then you repeat. Like some others have said, I would not compare this to Fallout 3 or Oblivion because the world is simply not there. It is not "open world" in my While not a bad game, it gets boring as all you are doing are basic "go get this item" or "go kill this number of bad guys/monsters" for the bulk of the game. The result of many of those quests is simply a boss battle and then you repeat. Like some others have said, I would not compare this to Fallout 3 or Oblivion because the world is simply not there. It is not "open world" in my opinion, but a series of small maps that you will travel to. You don't really get involved in any kind of story or atmosphere and there are no NPC's to interact with to make the game feel alive. There is no real atmosphere to the game either like there was with Fallout 3 or Oblivion. The game is also somewhat frustratingly difficult in the beginning if you are playing solo and at times, I almost stopped playing due to the initial difficulty. The enemy respawn system is also annoying when you are lower level because you will often find yourself out of ammo and low on health just to have to face the same enemies you killed a minute ago. The zenith of this game is co-op play and unfortunately for me, I can't play too much online. If you can readily get online to play with friends, it is a much more enjoyable game. If you are playing it solo (like I am), it's a very basic FPS game that gets overly repetitive (again the "quests" - go here, get that, kill him, etc.). It also begins to get a bit easy once you level up and having to endlessly fight lower level bandits over and over again (that you've already killed 5 times) gets old and detracts from the game. Expand
  78. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    This is one fun, addictive game, to say the least. The art style is great, and the sense of humor adds a nice personality to the game that is lacking in so many others similar to Borderlands. The combination of elements from FPS games, action RPGS, and games like Fallout 3 all add up to a fun experience, even if the game is affected by a lot of minor flaws (they are all easily overlookableThis is one fun, addictive game, to say the least. The art style is great, and the sense of humor adds a nice personality to the game that is lacking in so many others similar to Borderlands. The combination of elements from FPS games, action RPGS, and games like Fallout 3 all add up to a fun experience, even if the game is affected by a lot of minor flaws (they are all easily overlookable through the fun that is to be had though). This is truly fun multiplayer, but unfortunately the single player experience can be a little bit lacking, as the missions, dialogue, and driving combat are often obviously geared towards a team and not a sole vigilante. Setting this fact aside, if you have friends to play with, this is a great way to kill lots and lots of hours. Expand
  79. WillB
    Dec 7, 2009
    3
    I've never been more disappointed by a game. Glitchy (misplaced markers, corrupted my savegame on xbox) annoying (millions of weapons, but they're all the same and you can only carry so many) no replay (quests aren't repeatable) and the ending is a flat-out disappointment after which you're left with no reason to do anything but throw down the controller. I want to I've never been more disappointed by a game. Glitchy (misplaced markers, corrupted my savegame on xbox) annoying (millions of weapons, but they're all the same and you can only carry so many) no replay (quests aren't repeatable) and the ending is a flat-out disappointment after which you're left with no reason to do anything but throw down the controller. I want to like Borderlands, but my deleted character and complete lack of reward make the rest of the fun I had feel not worth it. Expand
  80. TimH
    Dec 6, 2009
    4
    While this game is touted as a high quality game, I strongly disagree. The visuals are pretty poor (cell-shading is very last-generation), their "bazillions of guns" is limited to a few types of guns with modifiers ("cheap", "simple", etc. to denote the stats), and sadly it relies on "go here and get that" or "kill this repeatedly" missions that climax at a weak (or excessively difficult) While this game is touted as a high quality game, I strongly disagree. The visuals are pretty poor (cell-shading is very last-generation), their "bazillions of guns" is limited to a few types of guns with modifiers ("cheap", "simple", etc. to denote the stats), and sadly it relies on "go here and get that" or "kill this repeatedly" missions that climax at a weak (or excessively difficult) boss battle. This game misses the mark in a realm with such heavy hitters as Fallout 3 and Oblivion on the sales floor. I don't recommend this game to anyone, to be honest. I'd say go for a much more interesting game like Oblivion or Fallout 3, or if you're looking for more of a shooter, go for a Halo or Call of Duty game. Expand
  81. Jan 18, 2012
    2
    I tried to like this game. I really did. In fact, I wasted 8 hours of my life playing this game in hopes of playing some fun out of it. But no. In the end, I found myself having more fun watching the grass grow. The game gave me an overwhelming sense of pointlessness. During those 8 hours, I did not care at all for what I was doing, or why I was doing it. I just sat there in a trance,I tried to like this game. I really did. In fact, I wasted 8 hours of my life playing this game in hopes of playing some fun out of it. But no. In the end, I found myself having more fun watching the grass grow. The game gave me an overwhelming sense of pointlessness. During those 8 hours, I did not care at all for what I was doing, or why I was doing it. I just sat there in a trance, going through the motions, almost dozing off, while my friend (who is a fan of Borderlands) enthusiastically lead me all over the map, from checkpoint to checkpoint. I might have had more fun if the combat system was better. I understand it's an RPG, and it's mostly about leveling up and getting certain items and weapons. But all the combat sections felt like a back and forth of trading blows and bullets. There was no sense of tactics or urgency. After all, if your life gets depleted, you can still "fight for your life" where if you kill someone during this phase, you get brought back to life. But even if you die, all you do is lose alittle bit of money and get respawned about 10 yards back from where you died. So I ask again folks....WHAT'S THE POINT? If you like RPG games such as this, I recommend Dead Island. I had much more fun with this game. When I played Dead Island, I felt a sense of purpose and a sense of urgency. During combat, I was able to use tactics. I could dodge. I could time the attacks. I could take cover. Most of all, I cared. So I say again. You want an RPG first person game? Get Dead Island. Expand
  82. JohnH.
    Oct 23, 2009
    2
    Seems fun at first, but the lesser enemies start to get annoying to the point whaere i don't even want to play it anymore. I also had trouble with gunshots not affecting creatures like they were lagging.
  83. Nov 16, 2011
    4
    From what I've played, this game is incredibly tedious, looks pretty damn ugly, and isn't any fun at all. It has NONE of the finesse, story, or range of interesting NPCs that Fallout has, and it doesn't look nearly as good.

    You basically run around and kill various enemies, some of whom turn out to have more armour than others. There are a bunch of animals called "skags" which are
    From what I've played, this game is incredibly tedious, looks pretty damn ugly, and isn't any fun at all. It has NONE of the finesse, story, or range of interesting NPCs that Fallout has, and it doesn't look nearly as good.

    You basically run around and kill various enemies, some of whom turn out to have more armour than others. There are a bunch of animals called "skags" which are essentially wild pigs that you keep coming across; fighting them seems to make up at least 50% of the start of the game, and consists of holding down the trigger whilst running backwards, until the seemingly infinite horde of them is dead. Rinse, repeat. I killed a "Boss" bandit as part of a mission; later, I went back to the area for another mission, and he had just gone and MAGICALLY respawned. Oh hello again, I'm fairly sure I killed you, having emptied at least 100 bullets into your sponge-like armour. Whats that, the game has decided you're just going to respawn? Oh ok then. Another time, I fought my way through a very well guarded hideout, to recover a particular item. The fight was long and tedious, and I was glad it was over. I turned around to go out back the way I came, and lo and behold, a whole multitude of enemies is shooting at me. Where exactly did they come from... I killed everyone on my way in. But thats the type of game this is... it just generates enemies for you to shoot at, without rhyme or reason, and calls it gameplay.

    Oh, and did I mention the plot is non-existent, the characters you talk to are all ridiculous (I have no idea why they haven't been killed by all the people and animals who seem intent on killing me) and are less than one-dimensional.

    So please, you can like this game if you want, just stop comparing it to Fallout... its like comparing a bowel movement to a 5-course meal.
    Expand
  84. DerekM
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    The gameplay was pretty fun overall,except some repeativeness. All you had to do was aim and pull the trigger. Also aiming down the sights for most weapons was terrible. Other than some bad voice acting,a dull story, short game, and a disapointing ending, the game was pretty good. The bad ending gave players the "Aww damn, I did allt hat for nothing?" feeling. Has some room for The gameplay was pretty fun overall,except some repeativeness. All you had to do was aim and pull the trigger. Also aiming down the sights for most weapons was terrible. Other than some bad voice acting,a dull story, short game, and a disapointing ending, the game was pretty good. The bad ending gave players the "Aww damn, I did allt hat for nothing?" feeling. Has some room for improvement but overall it's a fine game that most games would like to play through. Expand
  85. Les
    Nov 2, 2009
    7
    For single player the difficulty is often frustratingly high and respawned enemies (including bosses) make it worse - Lost Cave anyone. I'm all for respawning, so you don't constantly traipse through large, empty landscapes, but lets be reasonable. There is no expansive open feel, as with Fallout 3, and the failure to have any sort of interaction with NCPs means there is For single player the difficulty is often frustratingly high and respawned enemies (including bosses) make it worse - Lost Cave anyone. I'm all for respawning, so you don't constantly traipse through large, empty landscapes, but lets be reasonable. There is no expansive open feel, as with Fallout 3, and the failure to have any sort of interaction with NCPs means there is absolutely no emotional content to make you feel more immersed in the story (very old fashioned in that respect. Think of Doom etc when you just killed hordes of enemies until you worked through the level). With F3 you had the father/daughter relationship as well as the moral decisions and, even better, with Mass Effect you developed personal realtionships with your crew. On a postitive, driving is easy and intuitative (unlike say Drake's fortune where it's a chore), the weapons are mostly fun, though in single player you are forced to rely heavily on sniping as rushing in with machine guns and shotguns will get you killed faster than roadrunner delivers pizzas. Graphically the cell shading is lush and the soundtrack great. All in all this is a good shooter that will fill the time before Bioshock 2 and Mass Effect 2 come out in 2010 Expand
  86. MrC
    Oct 21, 2009
    7
    Awesome art, the world wasn't logistically created, so it felt more like an arena. Wish I could customize my avatar beyond colors, UI was difficult to read. Where are all the people, even for a desolate game, pockets of humanity always exist. Lost of run and gun, not so much strategy or rpg elements.
  87. AdamB.
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    For a game that prides itself on its multiplayer, the matchmaking is slow and buggy, and it's difficult to find players matching your level. Games and duels are incredibly mismatched if players have different levels. Powerful enemies sometimes spawn-camp, creating situations where you cannot move from a single spot, as you die over and over. Weapons and enemies are largely similar For a game that prides itself on its multiplayer, the matchmaking is slow and buggy, and it's difficult to find players matching your level. Games and duels are incredibly mismatched if players have different levels. Powerful enemies sometimes spawn-camp, creating situations where you cannot move from a single spot, as you die over and over. Weapons and enemies are largely similar and there's no real character customization. Most of the environments are linear and bland, and cutscenes cannot be skipped. On the plus side, vehicles and special attacks are fun, the controls are responsive, and the graphics and sound are unique. Borderlands is a solid rental, but after a few months the initial hype will die down as hardcore players realize (and become disappointed in) the game's numerous shortcomings. Borderlands is a game in the style of Diablo or Phantasy Star Online, but with none of the charm. Expand
  88. JimmyB.
    Oct 28, 2009
    5
    The only thing cool about this game is the cell shading. and thats not even a big deal anymore. it is so repetitive. every enemy looks the same. every gun, is virtually the same. to have a 40 minute shootout, where you will be killed over and over, just isn't any fun. head shots rarely matter if at all. i played this game for at least six hours straight and felt like i completely The only thing cool about this game is the cell shading. and thats not even a big deal anymore. it is so repetitive. every enemy looks the same. every gun, is virtually the same. to have a 40 minute shootout, where you will be killed over and over, just isn't any fun. head shots rarely matter if at all. i played this game for at least six hours straight and felt like i completely wasted my time. sure i leveled up, but so what. thats exactly what it feels like after every mission is completed, SO WHAT!! the co-op is only worth playing if the people you play with are the exact same level you are, and haven't done any missions you haven't done. if not, the enemies will totally overwhelm you or you'll wind up doing the same missions over again and again. the enemies re-spawn every time you walk past where you just killed them. which will be a lot since you always have to backtrack. i think this game SUCKS!!!! a lot of horse crap in a pretty bag. there is NO WAY this game even comes close to fallout. trust me, i have nothing to gain from telling you to play it or not to play it. don't buy it. rent it first. i don't think i'll even put it back in the console. FAIL!! Expand
  89. JamesF
    Oct 29, 2009
    6
    I was very disappointed. Co-op is good, but this games is FULL of bugs! Co-op causes even more bugs. RPG, with no roll playing, no RPG style choices, but lots of guns and equipment to trade and fiddle with. Its the worst of MMORPG thrown into a 4 player MORPG. Cars limited. NPC limited, Cut scenes limited, ending BAD.
  90. DanielS
    Oct 31, 2009
    7
    It seems that the developers lost interest as the game went on. The first area is good; it's large and there is allot to do. By the time you have finished there you will know the area inside out and feel slightly sad to leave. However, this NEVER happens again. Each progressive area gets shorter and shorter, until you barely even look at the scenery on your way to kill/collect the It seems that the developers lost interest as the game went on. The first area is good; it's large and there is allot to do. By the time you have finished there you will know the area inside out and feel slightly sad to leave. However, this NEVER happens again. Each progressive area gets shorter and shorter, until you barely even look at the scenery on your way to kill/collect the next thing. This all builds up to the ending. Ooooh the ending. It's like they left the intern in charge of that bit and he hadn't bothered reading the story up until that point and just decided he liked squid. Of course, it is still a good game, strangely enough. The gun play is fun, the co-op is wonderful. It's just that the good bits are so good that the bad bits are unforgivable. Expand
  91. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    Was it "OK?" Yes. Was it "good?" Maybe. Was it as good as the magazine reviewers said? Absolutely not. This game might have several hundred thousand weapons, but that's been done before, I can think of Diablo II right off the bat. Mildly creative, but heavily lacking, with little replay value and a poor online component. Funny at times, downright annoying at others, I give this game aWas it "OK?" Yes. Was it "good?" Maybe. Was it as good as the magazine reviewers said? Absolutely not. This game might have several hundred thousand weapons, but that's been done before, I can think of Diablo II right off the bat. Mildly creative, but heavily lacking, with little replay value and a poor online component. Funny at times, downright annoying at others, I give this game a solid 5 out of 10. Expand
  92. Apr 11, 2012
    1
    Borderlands is one of the worst games I've played. Extremely repetitive lifeless world with no story or characters except a robot with lame humour. Yes you get thousands of guns and only one of them is useful. Indeed of the worst games i have played on this gen.
  93. Oct 2, 2012
    0
    An awful sad, boring to the teeth game. Even worst than the ridiculous first installment, this train wreck of a game is dull, predictable and generic to the extreme. Same old same old mediocre FPS game disguised as a very bad written RPG. Avoid at all costs.
  94. SFN
    Jan 9, 2011
    7
    the first few missions of this game were extremely boring and it was just repetitive combat over and over again but after awhile the game became so much fun that i found myself playing it for 4-5 hrs. a day, the graphics to me coud've beeen alittle better and the storyline was confusing but all and all this game to me was one of the best games of 2009 and it should be given more credit
  95. Oct 24, 2012
    6
    Been a long time since I played this and never got a chance to do a review. I hate the art stlye in this game, I find it's horrible. Others may like it. Although I did not like this game what so ever and Borderlands 2 aswell. I wont give it a low score just because of that because I do believe that there is fun to be had in this game for most people, but it definatly isn't my cup of tea.
  96. Jan 2, 2012
    8
    I purchased this game via XBL marketplace and so far I'm really enjoying it. It uses a unique form of art style that makes the game look very interesting to look at and overall stylish in an otherwise boring and bland enviroment. The combat is well designed and the core mechanics have been really well thought of. My only problem is that when starting a co-op your buddy starts off at lv1I purchased this game via XBL marketplace and so far I'm really enjoying it. It uses a unique form of art style that makes the game look very interesting to look at and overall stylish in an otherwise boring and bland enviroment. The combat is well designed and the core mechanics have been really well thought of. My only problem is that when starting a co-op your buddy starts off at lv1 unless you have another character you've played. this makes the co-op experience very infuriating in that your lv1 buddy is getting wrecked by a bunch of lv20 enemies. Expand
  97. Oct 8, 2011
    6
    Story: 3
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 3
    Multiplayer: 6
    Technical: 5
    Audio: 7
    Gameplay: 6
    Re-Playability Value: 7
    Fun Factor: 6

    Score: 5.8/10 = D+
  98. Sep 5, 2012
    3
    I bought this game because of the thick black cartoon like art style, and the idea that I would be doing more than wandering around a desolate wasteland. I got the art style, and the wandering around. The majority of what you will be doing in Borderlands is fighting off waves of repetitive enemies, finding a gun, fighting more enemies, wander around and find another gun, and fight off moreI bought this game because of the thick black cartoon like art style, and the idea that I would be doing more than wandering around a desolate wasteland. I got the art style, and the wandering around. The majority of what you will be doing in Borderlands is fighting off waves of repetitive enemies, finding a gun, fighting more enemies, wander around and find another gun, and fight off more enemies. Not to mention the fact that they only have 8 different types of guns, Gearbox just gave them a different name and damage rating. I got it for $20 dollars on amazon.com. Only worth $15 which is what probably what I'll get for it when I sell it. Expand
  99. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    The poor reviews for this game by users is a disgrace.. People saying the AI is to hard? Are you serious? If its to hard you go back and level up, it's a RPG game for Christ sake. Or if you still find it to hard then just turn down the difficulty. I personally thought this game was amazing, I played it with my brother ho is 21 and we'd get into arguments about swapping guns because itThe poor reviews for this game by users is a disgrace.. People saying the AI is to hard? Are you serious? If its to hard you go back and level up, it's a RPG game for Christ sake. Or if you still find it to hard then just turn down the difficulty. I personally thought this game was amazing, I played it with my brother ho is 21 and we'd get into arguments about swapping guns because it suits his class etc. but we both found it incredibly fun witty and also the DLC was great and added more to a already great game. You can probably buy for like a fiver now so I would 100% recommend buying before the release of Borderlands 2 in a couple weeks. I rate it a 9 because minor bugs in the game not because of gameplay. And also the characters are great even if the story is a little lacking. Cheers. Expand
  100. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (1/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. 87
    In short, Borderlands is a top-quality shooter and grind-fest.
  2. A furiously successful RPG and FPS combination that doesn't fall short on either front. [Issue#52, p.86]
  3. When a game has such vicious combat, an intriguing skill system, and full co-op capability, a mediocre story can be overlooked. Borderlands is a necessity for any fan of the FPS and RPG genres, or just down-right looting fun.