Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 286 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Help guide a couple of brothers on a fairy tale journey from Swedish film director, Josef Fares and developer Starbreeze Studios. Control both brothers at the same time as you experience co-op play in single player mode. Solve puzzles, explore varied locations and fight boss battles, controlling one brother with each thumb stick. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    The resulting journey is so singularly devoted to creating a specific tone and atmosphere that you won't likely be able to stop thinking about it until long after you've seen it through to the end.
  2. May 30, 2013
    91
    Short but immensely satisfying, it's Ico meets Limbo in Fable's world. In a word: spellbinding. [July 2013, p.80]
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    An an usual game, with a mature and touching plot in a fantastic and dangerous world. You'll need some time to get used to the unique double-character control system, but that's a tiny gem you shouldn't miss.
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    86
    Brothers is a beautiful tale of love and loss, a great way to kick off the Summer of Arcade.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    82
    It’s a unique twin-stick adventure brimming with imagination that shows in its art and dual-action puzzles.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    An ambitious, emotionally affecting adventure that's short, but oh so sweet.
  7. Aug 7, 2013
    60
    While Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons occasionally succeeds in tugging at the heartstrings, there’s a heavy-handedness that runs through a good portion of the drama—and that’s off-putting. The unique controls take too long to get used to (considering this is only a three-hour experience), and the puzzles are simple and repetitive. The aesthetics are definitely pleasing, however.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Different in a good way: great aesthetics, innovative controls, a both cosy and scary feeling of fairytale far away from Hollywood. Simply a great game! Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Simply put, one of the best stories I've experienced in a video game. Beautiful music, pretty visuals, and interesting/unique gameplay made Brothers an absolute delight. A definite must-play. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Wonderfully inventive game with stunning graphics and a breathtaking atmosphere. Follow the two brothers on an epic journey to find a cure for their sick father. The game feels almost like an interactive story book and brings you back to childhood mysteries and adventures. Although quite short, this is a game that will completely overtake you for a good three/four hours and leave an imprint lasting a lot longer than that. Buy it and discover just how fantastic a video game can be! Collapse
  4. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    No homo but i really like cryin first time in my life its was incredeplide .
    I have newer playd a game like this woooooow this was a really
    good expreaince Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderful game full of passion and a fantastic history. Every now and then a game comes out of nowhere to show everyone else how it’s done. Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is one of those games.

    I cant wait to get a Brothers 2 hope so much it will come one dag.
    Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    I would call this game whimsical if I could remember the last time a game 'whimsically' stomped on my emotions.

    It is without a doubt worth
    your money. Buy it. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2013
    5
    I want to start out with saying I played this game from beginning to end. I was so upset at the ending that I created an account just to write this review. And it is a very good game so hear me out. When I heard of this game I thought I have to buy this. I started playing and I was very impressed. Some of the scenes are some of the best I've seen in a game. As far as game play it suits the game well. I think it should be easy to tell an epic story. If you say this game has puzzles then you must consider matching shapes in the correct holes a puzzle game. But still, I think the game play suits this game very well. The sound is fantastic, story leading up to the end is fantastic, visuals are absolutely amazing and only get better the further you travel through this game. But that brings me to why I would still give it a poor review the ending. I can't say exactly why I couldn't stand it without spoiling it. I'm sure I'm in the minority here so chances are if you like what you hear so far you will love the ending. If that's the case, disregard my review and buy the game now. After this point is possibly very mild spoiler. So here it goes. To me the ending is much like ones in popular Chinese movies. Tell a great story and leave you feeling defeated. But what I disliked the most about this ending is not only did it make me feel like I ultimately lost the game, it rubbed my nose in it to remind me. I know this sounds hard to believe but usually I like a story where things could turn out either good or bad and it isn't a cliché Cinderella story. It makes it feel more real. I even knew this game wouldn't end up all roses and was looking forward to it. This game left me staring at the screen saying to myself, what was the point of that. To me, you can't go full negative. Give me a major lesson or some silver lining or a word or two of wisdom so I can walk away with something. The ending was so bitter that the only positive thing that happens actually seems painful. Now I know some people enjoy misery and that's fine. Maybe I'm in left field and the true meaning of this game was lost on me. I just don't like walking away from a story with emptiness. Maybe that was the point. It is just my opinion that the ending didn't match the game well at all. Ultimately I have to say I'm didn't like the game. I know negative reviews are seldom helpful, but hopefully this helps some. Thank you for your time. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews