Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Help guide a couple of brothers on a fairy tale journey from Swedish film director, Josef Fares and developer Starbreeze Studios. Control both brothers at the same time as you experience co-op play in single player mode. Solve puzzles, explore varied locations and fight boss battles,Help guide a couple of brothers on a fairy tale journey from Swedish film director, Josef Fares and developer Starbreeze Studios. Control both brothers at the same time as you experience co-op play in single player mode. Solve puzzles, explore varied locations and fight boss battles, controlling one brother with each thumb stick. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    The resulting journey is so singularly devoted to creating a specific tone and atmosphere that you won't likely be able to stop thinking about it until long after you've seen it through to the end.
  2. May 30, 2013
    91
    Short but immensely satisfying, it's Ico meets Limbo in Fable's world. In a word: spellbinding. [July 2013, p.80]
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    An an usual game, with a mature and touching plot in a fantastic and dangerous world. You'll need some time to get used to the unique double-character control system, but that's a tiny gem you shouldn't miss.
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    86
    Brothers is a beautiful tale of love and loss, a great way to kick off the Summer of Arcade.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    82
    It’s a unique twin-stick adventure brimming with imagination that shows in its art and dual-action puzzles.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    An ambitious, emotionally affecting adventure that's short, but oh so sweet.
  7. Aug 7, 2013
    60
    While Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons occasionally succeeds in tugging at the heartstrings, there’s a heavy-handedness that runs through a good portion of the drama—and that’s off-putting. The unique controls take too long to get used to (considering this is only a three-hour experience), and the puzzles are simple and repetitive. The aesthetics are definitely pleasing, however.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 72
  2. Negative: 2 out of 72
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    This game is incredible!!!! The controls were a bit hard to get used to but it was totally worth it! Controlling multiple charactersThis game is incredible!!!! The controls were a bit hard to get used to but it was totally worth it! Controlling multiple characters simultaneously makes for some great puzzles and I really appreciate developers who take risks and break rules! The level design was stunning and the story line was captivating. I couldn't stop playing! Buy this game it is totally worth it! Please make a sequel immediately!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Wonderfully inventive game with stunning graphics and a breathtaking atmosphere. Follow the two brothers on an epic journey to find a cure forWonderfully inventive game with stunning graphics and a breathtaking atmosphere. Follow the two brothers on an epic journey to find a cure for their sick father. The game feels almost like an interactive story book and brings you back to childhood mysteries and adventures. Although quite short, this is a game that will completely overtake you for a good three/four hours and leave an imprint lasting a lot longer than that. Buy it and discover just how fantastic a video game can be! Collapse
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    A genuinely beautiful game that just takes your breath away many times. Great atmosphere, inventive control scheme (each thumbstick controls aA genuinely beautiful game that just takes your breath away many times. Great atmosphere, inventive control scheme (each thumbstick controls a brother), some amazing set piece moments, clever puzzles, touching music, decent graphics for an arcade title and it is incredibly emotional at times. The story is simple but it hits home. We need more titles like this one. Starbreeze and Josef Fares, congrats on creating a unique little gem and I hope you have more in the bag! Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is perhaps the most memorable game you'll play for some time.
    The interesting and sometimes quirky dual-stick
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is perhaps the most memorable game you'll play for some time.
    The interesting and sometimes quirky dual-stick control for the individual brothers is a unique and fun approach that can take some getting used to, sure. But it's the winning combination of characters, music, environments, involuntary emotionally involvement and the art direction as a whole that separates this masterpiece from mediocrity.

    The landscapes are beautifully realised and varied, with context sensitive "benches" available in key locations to merely "appreciate the view" in most cases. I'd be proud of my work too ;)
    The musical score is superb and the dialog (for lack of a better word, as no written or real spoken words are ever used) conveys surprisingly ample emotion that when coupled with character animations is more than sufficient to continually propel the narrative forward.

    One thing that isn't entirely evident at first is the pervasive theme of death in this game. Approximately midway through you'll come across an area that has more than a couple of morbid puzzles to solve. I like my horror and action, don't get me wrong, but something about this zone was just.. eerie. Again, the quality musical score may be to blame here ;)

    I don't want to give anything at all away as this game simply has to be experienced in full. While the game itself can be finished in a few hours (a little over 3 myself) all of the achievements are for non-essential tasks which can quite easily be overlooked on your first play through.

    I put off reviewing this game until I'd completed it. Now, looking back, I'm struggling to find any reason to fault it!
    Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Probably first game I ever played that made me cried and not from raging! They need to make more games that have you ready to tear up andProbably first game I ever played that made me cried and not from raging! They need to make more games that have you ready to tear up and emotionly upset you. Best game I have played in awhile and I cannot say o like the ending but it was a great game Thank you for making this game Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    A great game offers hours of game play. It reminds me in terms of atmosphere at "Journey".
    The controls are weird at first but you get used
    A great game offers hours of game play. It reminds me in terms of atmosphere at "Journey".
    The controls are weird at first but you get used to everything.
    The graphics are fully sufficient for an indie game (Unreal Engine 3).
    Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2015
    5
    Cute, but ultimately a bit pointless. For all its arty cell shading and quirky dual controls there isn't really much here to speak of. TheCute, but ultimately a bit pointless. For all its arty cell shading and quirky dual controls there isn't really much here to speak of. The story is rather redundant and the opportunity to introduce any engaging puzzles is missed. The ultimate effect is somewhat similar to watching an arty manga film whilst twiddling your thumbs. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews