User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 139

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 25, 2013
    6
    A game worth playing it has interesting shooter mechanics and plays better as a tactical shooter than the early ghost recon offerings on this console. Story is dull but the game itself is very entertaining.
  2. Jun 17, 2013
    1
    This title was pretty awful my FPS standards, it should be categorized as a strategy title. Gearbox was attempting to bridge so many concepts from other genres such a covering from third-person shooters, squad commanding, and FPS that the entire package just comes across as a mess.

    Poor frame rates and visuals that wouldn't have cut it in 2008 It plays and feels like a second tier
    This title was pretty awful my FPS standards, it should be categorized as a strategy title. Gearbox was attempting to bridge so many concepts from other genres such a covering from third-person shooters, squad commanding, and FPS that the entire package just comes across as a mess.

    Poor frame rates and visuals that wouldn't have cut it in 2008 It plays and feels like a second tier game from the early 2000's. Avoid.
    Expand
  3. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While many of the franchise's traditional gameplay elements return, such as the tactical controls of squads, so do the issues associated with those controls. Tie in some questionable visuals and AI issues, and you have a title that's good, but not great. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2013
    0
    wow this is a horrible game. a good story can't make up for some of the worst controls on an fps or stupid AI that will run out and get shot, or how the guns just dont seem to shoot where you aim them. come on cod4 was before this and it looks better and plays better. if you want a wwII game get something else anything, a bag of hot sick will do but save your coin for anything else
  5. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    I've never played a BiA game, because i thought it is just another cheap war game. My friend lend my his Hells highway for xbox360 a week ago and i was amazed. I really like war games like Medal of honor, Cod, Bf, but this game really is special. The story, combat, soundtrack and graphics are good and controls are easy to learn. The only thing that isn't that good is multiplayer mode.I've never played a BiA game, because i thought it is just another cheap war game. My friend lend my his Hells highway for xbox360 a week ago and i was amazed. I really like war games like Medal of honor, Cod, Bf, but this game really is special. The story, combat, soundtrack and graphics are good and controls are easy to learn. The only thing that isn't that good is multiplayer mode. Great game. Collapse
  6. Feb 18, 2012
    6
    When I got this game it took a bit of getting used to everything (the commands to the squad etc). The campaign is lengthy enough and has a good replayability factor in my opinion. The online is nothing special and barely anyone even goes on it nowadays. The campaign has good graphics and is a fun FPS and stands firm against opponents Medal of Honor, Call of Duty. Story wise I think it isWhen I got this game it took a bit of getting used to everything (the commands to the squad etc). The campaign is lengthy enough and has a good replayability factor in my opinion. The online is nothing special and barely anyone even goes on it nowadays. The campaign has good graphics and is a fun FPS and stands firm against opponents Medal of Honor, Call of Duty. Story wise I think it is on top but multiplayer wise it really needs to improve which it hopefully will for the next Brothers in Arms game. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2011
    7
    It's got faults.The enemy AI can be dumb sometime... but... it's emotionally involving. The hospital level is genuinely creepy, and all in all it's a really solid tactical shooter that has good squad mechanics which took me back to playing Full Spectrum Warrior on the old xbox.
  8. Feb 28, 2011
    8
    A great game that is overshadowed by the colossus that is Call of Duty, Hells Highway does not get the attention and praise it deserves. While not a perfect war shooter, i found myself continually wanting to keep playing even with its flaws. Great game.
  9. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    (Written by AnotherSociety, Editing and comedic quotes by x Joelene x)

    THE STORY SO FAR
    I have been looking forward to playing this installment of â
  10. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    Un juego diferente, una diversión diferente para por fin tener acción en primera persona realmente divertida y entretenida. Se acabó el ir en plan Rambo, ahora debes estudiar al contrario y tener mucho cuidado de dónde pones a tus compañeros de batallón. Mejorable en el apartado gráfico,Un juego diferente, una diversión diferente para por fin tener acción en primera persona realmente divertida y entretenida. Se acabó el ir en plan Rambo, ahora debes estudiar al contrario y tener mucho cuidado de dónde pones a tus compañeros de batallón. Mejorable en el apartado gráfico, inmejorable en la sensación de estar verdaderamente en la II Guerra Mundial. Expand
  11. Jul 17, 2012
    0
    I've never played a BiA game, because i thought it is just another cheap war game. My friend lend my his Hells highway for xbox360 a week ago and i was amazed. I really like war games like Medal of honor, Cod, Bf, but this game really is special. The story, combat, soundtrack and graphics are good and controls are easy to learn. The only thing that isn't that good is multiplayer mode.I've never played a BiA game, because i thought it is just another cheap war game. My friend lend my his Hells highway for xbox360 a week ago and i was amazed. I really like war games like Medal of honor, Cod, Bf, but this game really is special. The story, combat, soundtrack and graphics are good and controls are easy to learn. The only thing that isn't that good is multiplayer mode. Great game. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. To continually repackage the same hackneyed take on real pain, real suffering, and real people in the mane of entertainment is a sure road to exploitation. [Nov 2008, p.112]
  2. The game offers so much, from an engaging emotional story to showing the brutal face of war. Easily one of the best WWII based shooters.
  3. Gearbox has made a game that is stable and complete, if hugely unrefined in places, with an under-exploited but sound core of tactical squad combat. [Nov 2008, p.93]