User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 243

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome. The voice acting is amazing. The graphics are really good as well. The soundtrack is probably one of the best soundtracks to a game ever. The main character Eddie Riggs is voiced by Jack Black. You also have voice overs done by Lita Ford, Ozzy Osbourne, Brian Posehn, Lemmy Kilmister and Rob Halford. I always spend hours just driving around blasting Judas Priest, Slayer or whatever. If you are a metalhead this game is a must . Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Remélem valaki előbb-utóbb belefullad abba a pipába. Mert, hogy az minden egyes ilyen videóhoz kell az undoritó. nlykocka youtube csatorna. Egyik haverommal kezdtük el csinálni a cél ,hogy minél több feliratkozót gyűjtsünk. Természetesen ezek mellé el kezdtünk a nagyobb minecraft fanoknak videókat csinálni (de későbbiekben lesznek más gameplayek illetve fun videók is, kérdezz felelek , illetve amiket ti kértetek hogy milyen videót szeretnétek nézni akkor ,hogyha elakarjátok ütni az időt és lehet még tetszik is ! Naponta friss videók. Stb...stb..Ha meg tennéd azt ,hogy feliratkozol esetleg meg is nézed a videókat , likeolod azokat , vagy még pluszba extra ként meg is osztod őket, vagy hírdeted , az nagyon nagy segítség lenne számunkra kicsit feldobni a csatornát és elismerni ezt a munkát. Természetesen a videókon naponta 7-9 óra között dolgozunk szóval , várjuk a munka gyümölcsét :) Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    amazing game , if you are lokinng for good music ,humor and a great story how will make you sit down at the sofa and play till the end !!
  4. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    I'd say there is only one flaw about this game...that nearly nobody knows this...Superb mix of action and real-time strategy, top notch soundtrack, exceptional screenplay, lots of fun and Jack Black as a main protagonist. For me it's definitely 10/10.
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This is a truly Amazing game jack black is the man! great deep story the seriousness of it is severely underrated its a perfect game i hope they make a 2nd
  6. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    This game seems tailor-made for a very niche audience. If you like hack-and-slashing, open-world driving, RTS, metal, comedy and Jack Black I can pretty much guarantee that you will love this game, but if any of those qualities aren't your thing, then you may want to give this game second thoughts. If they are, then while maybe not game of the year material, it's definitely worth your time. The only real disappointment is the length of the single-player campaign, which took me just over 6 hours to complete. 6 great hours, but still.
    If you're still unsure I'd recommend looking up Jack Black's Brutal Thoughts series on YouTube. If you like those, you have no excuse to not get this game.
    Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    A fantastic, funny, epic game that makes the rocker in me air guitar and dig out my Dio t-shirt.. Graphics are a touch cartoony for my taste, but easily forgivable due to the originality of this game. Music of course, rocks. enviroments are varied, and the whole expeiance its very good. its cheap and eaisly better than alot of junk out there, so pick it up and write a letter to Ea demanding Brutal Legend 2!!!! Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    A must-have for any metal fan, the best soundtrack ever for heavy music. Gameplay is fun and offers more variety than most AAA games out there. The art is incredible, even if graphics has a simple, WoW style. Humour is excellent as to expect from double fine. Jack Black, Halford, Ozzy and Lemmy are awesome on voice talent and characterisation.
  9. Sep 3, 2012
    8
    molto molto bello con tanta avventura e azione la storia non è troppo coinvolgente per me . Una bella cosa è anche il fatto della guerra tra palchi . le missioni brevi, ma la fantasia di mostri e personaggi è molto creativa
  10. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    This is a game that is just an ode to old school rock. Anyone who lived in the late 80s to early 90s should love this game. The humor is great, the characters a great and overall gameplay is just awesome. But, if I had to be critical, I would say that the main story's pacing gets too fast once you're half way through. Almost feels like the last two acts of the game are incomplete/rushed. I actually loved the RTS segments of the game, really something different. It was just a real shame they feel a bit underdone. With some more polish and attention they could have been the star of the game, but instead come off as an interesting side activity. Jack Black was just born for this role. Perfect casting of him and Tim Curry. A real shame how little we see of the main villain in the game. Nice little plot twist with the leading lady, a shame that story wasn't given as much attention as the first act. Overall: A great, but not perfect game that tried to add something new. Expand
  11. Oct 7, 2011
    7
    Brutal Legend serves as sort of the "Jack of all trades; master of none" of video games. The game is an enjoyable and funny creation from Tim Schafer and his team at Double Fine, and it incorporates several elements from other games into a single package. The problem is that it doesn't seem like any of those elements drawn from other genres are incredibly well-refined or utilized to their fullest. It's got the combat of an action game without the fluidity, elements of an RTS without the needed ability for precision and management, and a sandbox-like open world that's only full of the same three or four mission types. With all that being said the game isn't necessarily "bad," but rather too ambitious for it's own good. As unrealized as many of the game's elements are, each one is tolerable to solid at what it does. The game is also quite hilarious in it's writing and contains top notch voice talent from Jack Black and Co. to really bring the world to life. There's an inherent lack of side-mission variety (like I said before) and the game's story missions are usually placed right next to the completion area of your last objective, so it doesn't do a great job of encouraging exploration. However, if you do take the time to get out there and see a bit more of the game's world, you'll find an adequate amount of enjoyment can be pulled out of the game in the long run. Expand
  12. Nov 24, 2014
    6
    I really would like to give this more, but I have to admit the combat in this game, a mixture of button mashing and tower defense, leaves a lot to be desired. The story is written very smart, humorous and somewhat engrossing. The extra love they give this game in its nostalgic look, sound, and heavy metal references didn't go unnoticed. The animation was good, the voice acting great with special congratulations for the more than satisfactory voice work by rock stars Ozzy Osborne and Lemmy Kilmister. Jack Black really sells the story most of all with his timed delivery. So, Enjoyed the story and nostalgic music, but the fighting and battles wasn't fun. Expand
  13. Mar 4, 2013
    5
    Such a tragedy. I can understand all ratings between 0 and 7, but the 8-10 is just plain wrong. The game itself is bad. The Action parts are few and not outstanding, but still the best the game has to offer gamewise. The driving parts are horrible because the driving physics are the worst i have seen in ages. The strategy parts are a nice idea but the controls are Who wants to play a RTS where he cant control his units fluently? No one. Still the game has something that makes up for all the failures: The setting. Yes, I love Metal. And this game is such a great tribute to Metal, and it even does it in an intelligent way. On Top of that the Characters are the best i have seen in Games for a while. A lovely bunch of Metalheads all around. I would give this a 10 out of 10 if it was a movie, but the actual playing part sucks so hard that it gets down to 5. And much difference to a movie isnt there anyway, since the game is only about 4-5 hours long. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    Brutal Legend is a tour de force that wraps up humor, music, and clever gameplay into one highly polished package. You haven't played a game quite like this before and won't want to miss it.
  2. 93
    Charming and clever in equal portions, Brütal Legend is a classic example of cohesive game design...In an age of ever-increasing monotony and creative stagnation, a game like Brütal Legend is brash, proud, subversive and triumphant - and it deserves to succeed. Get on board, crank it up and make it so. Two horns up.
  3. There are very, very few games which truly make me sit back and go “wow”. Among the slew of games that I’ve reviewed this year, there are only a couple that I really enjoyed playing, and continue to do so. Brutal Legend is one such game – even though I aced my Public Speaking and English Literature classes, words only slur together when I try to describe this game. Truth be told, I only heard about the game in the last month or so, but after spending a good amount of time with it, I was transformed from a mere gamer into a rocking, die-hard fan.