Bubble Bobble Neo Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] The action game classic Bubble Bobble returns as an Xbox LIVE Arcade game in BUBBLE BOBBLE Neo! Encase your enemies in bubbles with the bubble-spitting dragon Bub! Learn the various techniques of the game and clear all the rounds in multiple game modes, including offline[Xbox Live Arcade] The action game classic Bubble Bobble returns as an Xbox LIVE Arcade game in BUBBLE BOBBLE Neo! Encase your enemies in bubbles with the bubble-spitting dragon Bub! Learn the various techniques of the game and clear all the rounds in multiple game modes, including offline co-op play. Classic Mode: Enjoy a full-on recreation of the arcade version of the original game with 100 rounds in Classic Mode. Multiplayer: Try competitive play in VS mode, or invite your friends over for offline co-op play for up to 4 players in Arrange Mode. Achievements: Master your bubble bobbling skills to earn new achievements and Gamerscore. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 79
    Bubble Bobble is a classic arcade game and it remains fun today. The updated visuals aren't so hot, but they don't get in the way of one of the most fun co-op experiences around.
  2. In conclusion, Bubble Bobble Neo brings the franchise into the modern world of gaming with classic arcade gaming, albeit frustrating at times, colourful graphics, great music and a fun time to be had by all.
  3. Some games simply last the test of time, and twenty years later, Bubble Bobble is still a great, fun way to spend time – alone, or with friends.
  4. 70
    If you're looking for updated gameplay, you'll find nothing here to satisfy you. It's still very hard (the modus operandi of arcade games in the 80s) and little gameplay niggles (like the oddly backwards-feeling button layout or enemies getting trapped places you can't get at) keep twitching at you as you play.
  5. Pretty standard old-school conversion territory. [Issue#52, p.105]
  6. There's fun to be had in the update, and if nothing else, you'll be whistling that tune for a couple of weeks.
  7. Because the co-op mode adapts the same structure for its 100 new levels, rather than implementing new ideas, this redux feels pretty out of touch. [Oct 2009, p.73]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Peterb
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Wow... this game is awesome. My wife and kids played this with me all weekend. It is a perfect update from the original 2 NES games. If you Wow... this game is awesome. My wife and kids played this with me all weekend. It is a perfect update from the original 2 NES games. If you loved Bubble Bobble games then, you will love this one now. Collapse
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    The average metacritic and user score is shocking for this game. Bubble Bobble is a perfect distraction from reality, and you focus onThe average metacritic and user score is shocking for this game. Bubble Bobble is a perfect distraction from reality, and you focus on nothing but the game. It is as if playing the game takes you to a whole other world. Expand
  3. May 14, 2014
    10
    This is about as close to perfection as a game gets. All 100 arcade stages, 100 arranged stages, 100 dlc stages and vs mode. I only have 2This is about as close to perfection as a game gets. All 100 arcade stages, 100 arranged stages, 100 dlc stages and vs mode. I only have 2 minor gripes. No way to play with original graphics and the jump feels a little soft. The default controls are backwards, but can switched in the options. Like Tetris, this game is universally appealing and a steal at $10. Expand
  4. BrandynP
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    What else is Bubble Bobble really supposed to be? This new release from Taito is definitely worth it if you are a retro gamer who popped many What else is Bubble Bobble really supposed to be? This new release from Taito is definitely worth it if you are a retro gamer who popped many a quarter into this Gem back in the 90's and 90's. The first thing to mention is this is a basic package. The game comes with the original 100 levels of play re-created in 2d/3d graphics plus co-op multiplayer with up to 4 people. So all in all, Bubble Bobble Neo is basically an updated version of a game we all love with some extra friend play tacked on the side. Lets not forget that memorable music from the first game, lovingly recreated in synth a long with similar recognizable sound effects. Enjoy Bubbleheads! Expand
  5. AlexH
    Jan 26, 2010
    4
    An embarassment: the controls are unresponsive, the collision detection all over the place, the enemies are crazy fast while your poor dino An embarassment: the controls are unresponsive, the collision detection all over the place, the enemies are crazy fast while your poor dino seems to move in slow motion. The Bubble Bobble gameplay is still there but this is far inferior to practically every other version (most of which were programmed 20 years ago and are freely available on the internet) Expand
  6. NeilP
    Sep 17, 2009
    4
    I have so many versions of this. This one is the woesr IMO. It doesn't feel anywhere near as fluid as the original, the controls feel I have so many versions of this. This one is the woesr IMO. It doesn't feel anywhere near as fluid as the original, the controls feel sluggish, some of the enemy placements are badly chosen and you are waiting on powerups to finish levels. Jump doesn't feel right etc. I like some of Taito's recent retro releases but sadly, I can't recommend this. I fell a bit ripped off at 800 points and iof you want Taito retro on the 460, get Space Invaders extreme. Namco's Pac-Man CE is what remakes should be - not this poor attempt. I hope there is a patch for the poor controls and colliision detection. Only hope when Rainbow Islands (enevitably) comes, it is truer to the original while utilising the HD capabilities of the 360. Damn you Taito....I so wanted this game to be great ! Expand
  7. Erin
    Oct 1, 2009
    1
    Can I have my 800 Microsoft point back please? Taito have ruined this beloved classic game. Claiming this Bubble Bobble package to contain Can I have my 800 Microsoft point back please? Taito have ruined this beloved classic game. Claiming this Bubble Bobble package to contain the classic version, when it has been changed so dramatically. All the physics and controls felt horrible and tampered with, many collision dectection issues and bugs. Adding horrid 3d models in place of the simple 2D style, followed by ugly animations. Was this game even tested before being released? I was completely shattered and would not recommend this remake to anyone who was a fan of the REAL classic version. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews