Bulletstorm Xbox 360

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 436 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 436
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    Serious fun, without taking itself too seriously. I have no idea what the critics are complaining about with regard to the language/vulgarity. You can turn it off in the settings. I haven't had this much fun since Atari tank battle,Galaga and the pin ball table Silver Ball Mania, when I was a kid ;). It reminds me of a video GAME. Again, really, REALLY fun.
  2. MJR
    Sep 12, 2011
    9
    I really enjoy the gore, the perverse, and the curses (some of which are incredibly inventive) that this game employs. Sure it's goofy and over the top but every once in a while it's fun to get creative with how you kill your multitude of enemies! Is it the best looking game I've ever seen? No. There are some texture issues on the character models up close that gives them a sort ofI really enjoy the gore, the perverse, and the curses (some of which are incredibly inventive) that this game employs. Sure it's goofy and over the top but every once in a while it's fun to get creative with how you kill your multitude of enemies! Is it the best looking game I've ever seen? No. There are some texture issues on the character models up close that gives them a sort of blobby(?) look which sort of reminds me of the first Dragon Age. Other than that the game really does look good, just not completely amazing. Gameplay is great. Kicking, shooting, sliding, leashing, sometimes even drinking giving your character blurred vision, unsteady aim, and slower movement for the perk of added points for kills. The points system is really interesting and it certainly adds a new dimension as you need to get as many points as you can to buy upgrades and more importantly more ammo. It's fun trying to complete the various "kill with skill" objectives seeing if you have it in you to do it. Anyway this game is a lot of fun and I'd highly recommend it especially if you can find it for a cheaper price. Totally worth it. Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    Fun game, great concept. I'm not into memorization of combos and such, so I probably missed out on some of the more fantastic kill shots. Having said that though, I had a lot of fun running up to guys or slide kicking them and then wiping them back towards me while scoring blood splattering head shoots. This is just sumer movie fun with very nice visuals and beautiful vistas.
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    Gritty, immature, and down-and-dirty fun. When any other game tries to take itself seriously and ends up with this outcome, you know something is up. When a dirty space rebel, a cyborg comrade with wisdom and struggling rage, and a trash-talking commando chick is tossed up into a blender with mutants, killer plants, and cannibalistic freaks, you get the same outcome, but for a reason. IfGritty, immature, and down-and-dirty fun. When any other game tries to take itself seriously and ends up with this outcome, you know something is up. When a dirty space rebel, a cyborg comrade with wisdom and struggling rage, and a trash-talking commando chick is tossed up into a blender with mutants, killer plants, and cannibalistic freaks, you get the same outcome, but for a reason. If you want mindless fun, with dozens of epic and creative ways to bring a humiliating death to the average low-life, "Bulletstorm" is your game. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This is a bold game that stands out from the litter of war shooters that are seemingly released in batches each year. It has a great story, and great gameplay. The environments are very varied, from beginning to end, and the voice acting and characters are great. However, that is not to say this game is perfect, as no game is. I feel that the story could've been slightly longer, as it tookThis is a bold game that stands out from the litter of war shooters that are seemingly released in batches each year. It has a great story, and great gameplay. The environments are very varied, from beginning to end, and the voice acting and characters are great. However, that is not to say this game is perfect, as no game is. I feel that the story could've been slightly longer, as it took me around 6 hours to complete on normal difficulty. I also think that the game would've benefited from a better and more well thought out multiplayer mode, in order to keep crowds coming back after finishing the story. Never the less, Bulletstorm is a great game, however, it is not on par with what people may've come to expect from Epic Games after Gears Of War and Unreal Tournament. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bulletstorm is a non-conventional FPS, which has some memorable moments, but is just a short-termed pastime, that will be forgotten after an afternoon of maniacal killing, frenziedly slaughtering and listening to some juicy curses, i mean, a bit of swearing is OK, but after playing just one level of Bulletstorm, you get the idea that the game makers goal was to make the game as much repulsive to players. If you don't mind a lot of cursing, and a criminally idiotic story, this game might provide some stress release for you. Your goal is to kill your opponents in the most gruesome and imaginative ways known to man. You can cut, fry, electrocute, behead, snipe, kick, etc. your enemy, thus gaining points, which you spend on upgrades and ammo. All in all, if you beat the game, and see its stupid ending, you'll try to keep it a secret from your friends, because they'll think that you're either insane, or really bored, to have beaten such a horrible game... Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Love the game but the level act 3 chapter 2 keeps glitching on the part when u go down the waterfall..... Plz help me if u know how to do it. now I have to type more cuz this has to be 150 characters long :D
  8. May 10, 2011
    7
    Bulletstorm is as good as i expected. I wish it was better. since demo was good, but it was worth the price when i got it. I like the dialogue and the action and the arcady sounds when i pwn someone. Fan! But wish it was a little bit longer.
  9. May 12, 2011
    6
    I can see why the media machine was working overtime on this game, it was overcompensating for the overall lackluster experience. Squeeze what you can out of this "Not-Quite-Gears" FPS and wait for either the actual Gears 3 or a genuine FPS you can sink some time into to roll out.
  10. May 17, 2011
    10
    I 'd like to start off by saying that this game has something that many games are lacking these days, FUN. It brings a genuinely new and fresh vibe to the first person shooter,It feels great to control and has great graphics and art direction,many huge vistas to behold.Bulletstorm also has great setpieces,controlling a giant mechadinosaur is a great highlight.Coming from epic games andI 'd like to start off by saying that this game has something that many games are lacking these days, FUN. It brings a genuinely new and fresh vibe to the first person shooter,It feels great to control and has great graphics and art direction,many huge vistas to behold.Bulletstorm also has great setpieces,controlling a giant mechadinosaur is a great highlight.Coming from epic games and people can fly I wouldent expect any less,great job guys Expand
  11. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    this game is great i mean fantastic just superb when u combine ultimate gameplay with a great and hilarious campaign plus the replay ability and all the great and creative ways of killing your opponents u cant turn a cornor without seeing a creative way of killing ur opponents but they introduced all the guns way to quick so it deserves this grade
  12. Jun 26, 2011
    4
    Now that this game has been out for awhile I realize like many people already have that this game gets really boring and repetitive after awhile. Even though there are "so many ways to kill your enemies," I found it to all be the same. It's pretty much you either shoot him, kick him into something, or pull him towards you with a leash and then shoot or kick him. The campaign was good but INow that this game has been out for awhile I realize like many people already have that this game gets really boring and repetitive after awhile. Even though there are "so many ways to kill your enemies," I found it to all be the same. It's pretty much you either shoot him, kick him into something, or pull him towards you with a leash and then shoot or kick him. The campaign was good but I thought it was a little bit short, and the multiplayer is one of the most repetitive that I've played on an Xbox 360. This game is worth renting if you want to kill a few hours, but definitely not worth buying. Expand
  13. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    I have to say i really enjoyed this game. If you want to play an arcade style shooter, this is your best bet. Graphic, Audio, Music and environment are all well done and create an immersive atmosphere. Guns could have been done better, particularly the rifle feels a bit underpowered and the enemies are like bullet spongues when using it, but then again you dont play this shooter like anyI have to say i really enjoyed this game. If you want to play an arcade style shooter, this is your best bet. Graphic, Audio, Music and environment are all well done and create an immersive atmosphere. Guns could have been done better, particularly the rifle feels a bit underpowered and the enemies are like bullet spongues when using it, but then again you dont play this shooter like any other. If you play it like its meant to be played, using the whip, boot as well as alternative fire and the environment, its a hell of a lot of fun!

    The levels are gorgeous, large and despite being linear, i never felt boxed in like this is the case with the CoD series. The skill-kill system makes sense and is particularly fun once you start playing the Echo time/score runs. I find myself playing them even now from time to time when i only have 10 or 20 min of game time - trying to beat the score of a friend or just beating my own. The story is a typical run of the mill revenge plot, but with a few nice (if expected) twists. Nothing to write home about, but its told in a fun way. Initially i was not too sure about the over the top and partially very coarse language, but Bulletstorm actually makes fun of itself at times and so it strangely works for me. Definitely a recommendation from me, it is a great fun shooter that should keep you entertained for some time thanks to Echo and MP modes on top of the SP campaign.
    Expand
  14. Sep 21, 2011
    2
    In short: this game is failure, because is for 12 years old, but it has 18 rating...
    Also it seems painkillers guys wanted to make painkiller like game, but Epic said no, make it more like Gears of War... so for example, in game when main reason is you killing for points, you also get two AI sidekicks... wtf? Also BS is very scripted, almost like on rails, with no replayablity. Gameplay is
    In short: this game is failure, because is for 12 years old, but it has 18 rating...
    Also it seems painkillers guys wanted to make painkiller like game, but Epic said no, make it more like Gears of War... so for example, in game when main reason is you killing for points, you also get two AI sidekicks... wtf? Also BS is very scripted, almost like on rails, with no replayablity. Gameplay is boring, AI doesn't exist, monsters are scripted, there unnecessary cutscenes, with unnecessary foul language.
    Expand
  15. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    This game is so epic, It was developed by a company called epic! As of most of EPIC's games, i have enjoyed them, but that's it. With Bulletstorm, Its a different story. The humor, graphics, controls, amazing weapons and challenges are so awesome, its insane.
  16. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Dick **** I loved this game the moment I started playing the demo. The campaign turned out to have a decent engaging story, which surprised me a bit, and was worth the full play-through only to get a cliffhanger. The thing that kept me coming back for more was the Echoes mode. I just loved finding more creative ways to kill. Anyone who said this game has no re-playability just isn'tDick **** I loved this game the moment I started playing the demo. The campaign turned out to have a decent engaging story, which surprised me a bit, and was worth the full play-through only to get a cliffhanger. The thing that kept me coming back for more was the Echoes mode. I just loved finding more creative ways to kill. Anyone who said this game has no re-playability just isn't creative. I'd usually find myself laughing my ass off after finding another fantastic way to kill someone. Shooting someone in the balls then kicking their head in for a Mercy kill? Hell yeah! Thumping a group of enemies into the air and launch one into another with a charged Penetrator for Wing Man? Count me in! This game simply brings a whole new meaning to doing it "for teh lulz". The only draw back was the lack of a real multiplayer experience. All we got was the Anarchy co-op mode. Would have been more fun to team-kill other players instead of A.I. Missed opportunity, IMO. Great graphics, great voice acting, great gameplay, awesome dialog, and the ability to control a mechazoid named Wally P. Tallylicker. What's not to love?! Expand
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Now don't get me wrong, this is a great game. however, after the first few levels, the game lacked enough variety and creativity in its set pieces and levels. However, i do applaud the game for its tense conclusion, which led me to play on until the very end. Next time, Make it more interesting cliffy b?
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I bought this game just cause it had the voice actor Steve Blum in it. What I didn't expect was it to be "fun". This game was a huge refresher from all the first person shooters that we have today. Bulletstorm is a game where the developers and writes just didn't give a **** and had fun. It's hilariously stupid and all around just wacky. If you want a game that you can just mellow out withI bought this game just cause it had the voice actor Steve Blum in it. What I didn't expect was it to be "fun". This game was a huge refresher from all the first person shooters that we have today. Bulletstorm is a game where the developers and writes just didn't give a **** and had fun. It's hilariously stupid and all around just wacky. If you want a game that you can just mellow out with and have some fun bulletstorm is for you. Expand
  19. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Bulletstorm was the most underrated game of 2011. Many slated the game as a disappointment but I loved it. The graphics were great and fully took advantage of the Unreal Engine 3 (3.5 according to some sources) and adds colors that you don
  20. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    I loved this game, fast paced action, silly over-the-top action and one liners. the campaign itself is great and its really fun to pull of some stunning skillshots. the echo mode is also very entertaining, solid 8/10
  21. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    Bulletstorm is a very good game. It will keep you entertaned for hours on end. The campaign was very good and the best thing about it. Multiplayer was good but needs a bit more to it but very fun with friend. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 8/10 Bulletstorm 8.4/10
  22. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Few games are able to deliver an immersive, action-packed and original game concept and still be an excellent experience. Bulletstorm is one of the small selection of games that has managed to pull this off with flying colours. Make no mistake, first person shooters are rapidly reaching their use-by date and it takes a fresh and original concept to make gamers still want to enjoy them.Few games are able to deliver an immersive, action-packed and original game concept and still be an excellent experience. Bulletstorm is one of the small selection of games that has managed to pull this off with flying colours. Make no mistake, first person shooters are rapidly reaching their use-by date and it takes a fresh and original concept to make gamers still want to enjoy them. Bulletstorm does this not by its spectacular graphic or sound design, but by the ability to make a serious game but at the same time, let the player have a ridiculous amount of fun in its world. You play as Grayson Hunt, the leader of a disbanded squad that has crash landed on a foreign planet. You've set yourself the task of killing the ignorant man who used you and your team to murder civilians. You'll have to fight a wide range of enemies through a constantly collapsing world in order to reach him. But don't worry, you'll get plenty of weapons to help you do just that. Though the weapons are far fetched, the amount of fun that they can bring far exceeds that of a current-time based firearm. There is something for everybody, including an accurate assault rifle, a quad-barrelled shotgun and even a remote controlled sniper rifle. There is also your leash, which will instantly become your best friend as its power to devastatingly melee enemies in slow motion possesses you. Combining the power of the leash, melee and weapons is the key to success and is where there is the most fun to be had. The sequences in the middle section of the game can get slightly repetitive but the gameplay quickly regains interest and leads up to a breathtaking climax. Whilst delivering big with fun and action, the storyline is memorable and has a very serious element to it. Aside from the hilarious quotes and humorous, colourful atmosphere, the story of the game remains strong and the acting from each of the characters is to be commended. It is difficult to pull off so much diversity in the average game these days, but Bulletstorm is none of the sort. As if the very lengthy single-player campaign wasn't enough, there is plenty to do elsewhere. There is a very robust "Echoes" challenge mode as well as a well-structured and addictive multiplayer mode. Also, with downloadable content on the way, you'll surely get your money's worth out of this game. Bulletstorm is destined for multiple sequels and serves as a reminder that Epic Games is one of the most powerful, ambitious and successful game developers around today. Collapse
  23. May 27, 2012
    6
    I was looking forward to this game, but it wasn't that good.
  24. Oct 10, 2014
    4
    Bulletstorm's enormous hype and talk somewhat sets high hopes for new players. Although 30 minutes in you soon discover a below average shooter filled with try hard comedy and shocking voice acting. After struggling to complete this game, frustrated with dumb A.I and repetitive game play I was happy to hear the sequel was cancelled for everybody's sack. But I must give the game points forBulletstorm's enormous hype and talk somewhat sets high hopes for new players. Although 30 minutes in you soon discover a below average shooter filled with try hard comedy and shocking voice acting. After struggling to complete this game, frustrated with dumb A.I and repetitive game play I was happy to hear the sequel was cancelled for everybody's sack. But I must give the game points for its excellent weapons and fast pace take on the already full FPS genre. Expand
  25. DME
    Mar 25, 2013
    9
    Apart from some bad dialogue and unfitting drama, Bulletstorm is a great deal of fun. It's very unique and just a blast to play, all due to some very intelligent design decisions. For one, you can reload while you attack or run, which keeps an empty clip from stopping the action. You also have a variety of quirky weapons, similar to weapons found in the Ratchet-&-Clank series. TheApart from some bad dialogue and unfitting drama, Bulletstorm is a great deal of fun. It's very unique and just a blast to play, all due to some very intelligent design decisions. For one, you can reload while you attack or run, which keeps an empty clip from stopping the action. You also have a variety of quirky weapons, similar to weapons found in the Ratchet-&-Clank series. The arcade points you get are used as currency rather than just "score" to be posted on leaderboards. The campaign is varied, environments are interesting, and the game also throws some cool boss battles into the mix, too. Due to the arcade nature of the game, the campaign also has a good amount of replay value. I can see myself going back to play it a second or third time, increasing the difficulty level. Anyway, Bulletstorm won't teach you anything worthwhile and you aren't going to be a smarter individual for playing it, but it sure as hell is FUN. Expand
  26. Jul 12, 2011
    7
    It's nice to see a game that has this much humor, I found myself laughing at just about everything the characters said, not because it was stupid or cheesy but because it was genuinely funny, however the characters themselves while funny aren't really likable, and the story behind this FPS isn't really anything to talk to your friends about and has a lame conclusion, what you can talk toIt's nice to see a game that has this much humor, I found myself laughing at just about everything the characters said, not because it was stupid or cheesy but because it was genuinely funny, however the characters themselves while funny aren't really likable, and the story behind this FPS isn't really anything to talk to your friends about and has a lame conclusion, what you can talk to your friends is the super cool moments like outrunning a giant dinosaur creature, or escaping just seconds before an explosion, or new ways to pull off skill shots, but to get to these epic moments you have to go through a lot of by the book shooting sections, which is a real disappointment because this game was supposed to be a new unique shooter, but it ends up becoming what it was trying to avoid being, just another shooter, while it has a long campaign it mostly just consists of running and gunning and gets repetitive and tedious, and while it tries to shake things up once or twice those sections end up dragging on way to long, and sure the skill shot system is a unique idea and it is satisfying to be rewarded for killing enemies in the most brutal of ways and will have you using your environment in some satisfying ways, but it never really takes off until the Anarchy and Echo modes, and you have access not only to guns (most of which feel extremely under powered) you have a cool "leash" which acts like a whip to bring thing towards you, and a kick attack which shakes things up, but when they through enemies that these wont work on in the mix you have to go back to the boring guns to kill your enemies, and the Anarchy mode is fun for a little while it falls into the same traps as the single player, and the Echo mode will have you running back through campaign levels to bet high scores in a short amount of time is interesting for a little while but then quickly gets boring, but even with these flaws I still enjoyed Bulletstorm for it's sense of humor and unique skill shot system, and I believe it's the perfect rental, I hope the sequel (hinted at the end and after the credits) improves on these good ideas, but as it stands now it's a decent shooter. Expand
  27. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    Badassery (yeah, I just made up a word). This comes through the dialogue and interactions that keep the game fresh and funny at some points, all though the word 'dick' is used excessively throughout which comes across as a little juvenile. Oh yeah and the 4-barrelled shotgun is an awesome gun which I never get tired of juggling crazy locals in the air, because I am a sicko like that.

    But
    Badassery (yeah, I just made up a word). This comes through the dialogue and interactions that keep the game fresh and funny at some points, all though the word 'dick' is used excessively throughout which comes across as a little juvenile. Oh yeah and the 4-barrelled shotgun is an awesome gun which I never get tired of juggling crazy locals in the air, because I am a sicko like that.

    But the main issue of this game is the fact the mechanic, although kinda fresh, feels a little flawed at some points because it only really works best when you are overrun with freaks. The multi-player got boring after the first couple hours because it is only the survival mode which is seen throughout shooters nowadays. I like survival and all that with my friends but the idea of having to make an arbitrary number of points before passing a wave feels really boring, oh and its pretty hard to die on 'Bulletstorm' so it feels like they have taken everything outdated about the wave mode and then taken out all the good bits, this is where the mechanic falls short and ultimately broken.
    Expand
  28. Jul 27, 2011
    7
    Bulletstorm has some good, some bad, and lots of "meh" elements. I'm not gonna write an extensive review of it, just because the game itself doesn't really warrant it, but suffice it to say, if you're looking for a half decent FPS to get you through a lull in the release calendar, find this in a bargain bin for a decent price, or are looking for a decent rental to kill a few evenings, itBulletstorm has some good, some bad, and lots of "meh" elements. I'm not gonna write an extensive review of it, just because the game itself doesn't really warrant it, but suffice it to say, if you're looking for a half decent FPS to get you through a lull in the release calendar, find this in a bargain bin for a decent price, or are looking for a decent rental to kill a few evenings, it will do the trick, but don't expect something as engaging as COD, battlefield, or halo, in terms of story, character development, or overall engagement with the narrative.

    The bad:
    Storyline, storyline, storyline. Every plot device is contrived and predictable, every character is generic and stereotypical of the "hardened space marine" story you've seen in a million different films and games.
    Dialogue. Purile and unfunny, after 30 minutes, you know exactly what to expect. Over the top, vulgar, tongue in cheek, "insert witty vulgar remark here" quips are peppered everywhere in this game, and while they are fine, and are largely in keeping with the tone of the game, they grate on you before you're halfway through it.
    The AI. Seriously annoying and unhelpful, often getting in your line of fire or blocking your view, occasionally forgetting to do something crucial to advancement of the game like opening a door or something after you've cleaned out some enemies, and pretty much permanently being of no use whatsoever in a firefight, leaving you to kill absolutely everything that moves.
    The sniper rifle: I mean seriously, a steerable, high velocity bullet that still allows your enemies time to get out of the way at the last second EVERY time you take a shot at them, leaving you the chore of chasing them around with a bullet in slow-mo? Come on. Sniping is about patience and satisfaction in the payoff for a headshot or picking off an enemy in cover. Worst sniping mechanic EVER, in ANY shooter i've played. The developer hould have just left it out of the game completely.

    The good: Interesting, if a little repetitive skillshot system that rewards you for using the leash (an electro-whip) and the kick ( a "kick" that sends your enemies flying) and the resulting moments of slow-mo to set up kills and multi-kills in interesting ways using different weapons and aspects of the environment such as spikes, killer plants, precarious yet extremely common exposed electrical wiring, 100-foot drops, etc, etc. It's a nice twist on the standard FPS action, and the only thing that saves this game from complete mediocrity.

    High Points [Spoilers]

    -Rampaging around a level with a gigantic radio controlled Dinosaur robot shooting lasers from it's eyes and stomping/obliterating everything that moves. (i kid you not). Ridiculously overpowered and not at all balanced in terms of difficulty, but a nice break from the mid-game monotony that will have set in by the point in the story where it pops up.
    -Firing an explosive chain bomb that wraps around an enemy's neck, then kicking him (in slow mo) into a bunch of his friends and detonating him, blowing the lot of them to pieces, and scoring lots of points to spend on more weapons and ammo.

    Low points [spoilers]
    -The predictable "twist" involving the third protagonist and her connection with the main character.
    -Running around for a good 45 mins to an hour, allied with the guy you just KNOW is going to double cross you and will eventually be the end boss. JUST SHOOT HIM IN THE F*CKING HEAD FFS :-/

    Overall, Bulletstorm isn't bad, it isn't excellent, it's tired, stereotypical, seen it all before FPS game, that's saved from complete mediocrity by some interesting weapon mechanics and the unique if a little repetitive skillshot system that buys it some time. Like that "fill-in" girlfriend you used to have, It's nothing spectacular, but it will pass the time, give you something to do, and keep your skills sharp till something better comes along in a few months.

    Final score 7/10
    Expand
  29. CPB
    Mar 15, 2011
    8
    I actually like this game, at first I didn't but once you get a few guns and you find out more ways to kill people it's a blast. Sure the story is run of the mill but the characters are so balls to the wall that it actually makes the story not boring. It is also very violent, and me likey the violence.
  30. Mar 24, 2011
    7
    If you like FPS games then this is a nice change of pace from the regular military shooters out there. It a nice looking game and the guns all feel meaty and powerful. The story isn't great but the basic idea of being creative with your kills works well - the scoring system harks back to old-skool games and is very welcome. Although the campaign is very short, the game has a good amount ofIf you like FPS games then this is a nice change of pace from the regular military shooters out there. It a nice looking game and the guns all feel meaty and powerful. The story isn't great but the basic idea of being creative with your kills works well - the scoring system harks back to old-skool games and is very welcome. Although the campaign is very short, the game has a good amount of replayability to it, especially if you have friends for online co-op and challenging each others high scores. The Echoes mode is like a score attack mode and is argurably more fun than the campaign because theres no story to get in the way. For a sequel it would be nice to see more of a sandbox environment with a wider variety of environmental kill opportunities. Would also be great to see more weapon customisation ala Borderlands and if balanced right, online deathmatch.

    All in all a fun game but definite room for improvement.
    Expand
  31. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    With a meathead plot, raunchy dialogue, and over-the top gore, Bulletstorm is a fratboy's wet dream. The gameplay is the real star of the game, encouraging a 'Kill with Skill' ideal, forcing gamers to explore their creative sides. Even with minor glitches and a less-than-amazing ending, Bulletstorm is a solid outing.
  32. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    After a dull opening twenty minutes, most of which is filled with cut-scenes explaining the frankly unnecessary ‘plot’, BulletStorm kicks into first gear and remains there for virtually the entire playing time as the creators put the fun back into the FPS genre.

    Having crashed onto an unknown planet the player finds that a once seemingly normal settlement has been taken over by a bunch
    After a dull opening twenty minutes, most of which is filled with cut-scenes explaining the frankly unnecessary ‘plot’, BulletStorm kicks into first gear and remains there for virtually the entire playing time as the creators put the fun back into the FPS genre.

    Having crashed onto an unknown planet the player finds that a once seemingly normal settlement has been taken over by a bunch of crazed psychopaths. As expected all manner of guns are available to dispatch your foes but the biggest aspect that separates BulletStorm from many of the more generic shooters is the energy leash, a sort of electronic whip that you can flick out a considerable distance and grab hold of bad guys with. They are then set hurtling towards you in slow motion allowing you time to put a few bullets in them if you wish. Alternatively, and more interestingly, you can manoeuvre them towards any number of death dealing implements such as explosive barrels, electric gates or even a cactus or two. The game actively encourages you to experiment with different methods of killing in the form of challenges called ‘skillshots’, each of which awards you experience to spend upgrading weapons etc. Although the gameplay doesn’t really evolve from start to finish trying to find new ways to defeat your enemies never gets old.

    In terms of multiplayer there isn’t really much to recommend. There is a four-player Horde co-op mode called Anarchy that’s as boring as Horde mode always is and that’s about it. Those interested in high school leaderboards can replay unlocked stages in a score attack mode named Echoes but this only really offers a short term distraction. Since BulletStorms gameplay doesn’t really lend itself to deathmatches or anything of that ilk it’s not really much of a loss though. It may not reinvent the wheel but I find it hard to believe that anyone who enjoys First Person Shooters could fail to enjoy BulletStorm.
    Expand
  33. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Finally, a game that brings new tools to the FPS table! If you can get through the vulgar language, you will find that Bulletstorm is a gem. I was expecting a soft-of first person Gears of War, but I think I actually like Bulletstorm better. It's uncommon to see this much variety in enemies and weapons anymore in shooters. The leash and kick abilities have to be the icing on the cake,Finally, a game that brings new tools to the FPS table! If you can get through the vulgar language, you will find that Bulletstorm is a gem. I was expecting a soft-of first person Gears of War, but I think I actually like Bulletstorm better. It's uncommon to see this much variety in enemies and weapons anymore in shooters. The leash and kick abilities have to be the icing on the cake, though. Figuring out new ways to disembody your enemies never gets old, and this game certainly gives you plenty of options to keep you busy for many hours. It's beautiful, unique, and flat-out fun. I also loved the story! The only reason I took off a point is because it's a game that I would not feel comfortable playing in front of my parents - mature language is frequent with shooters, but Borderlands is on a level all its own. Expand
  34. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Bulletstorm is (to me at least) another missed opportunity; akin to Brink but with more successes than failures. It is made by the developers of Gears of War, and features similar controls, visual style and gameplay. Being the creators of Unreal Engine, Epic Games have made one of the best looking games on 7th-generation consoles and been able to make it run smoothly and look stunning. TheBulletstorm is (to me at least) another missed opportunity; akin to Brink but with more successes than failures. It is made by the developers of Gears of War, and features similar controls, visual style and gameplay. Being the creators of Unreal Engine, Epic Games have made one of the best looking games on 7th-generation consoles and been able to make it run smoothly and look stunning. The PC system requirements are also very low for a game that looks this vibrant, so credit goes to the flawless optimisation. The same could be said for the controls and gunplay. It's brutal, satisfying and fluent. Great button layout and has got the hip fire and ADS absolutely perfect for all weapons. The game is very easy and simple to pick up and play. Of course, what sets this game apart is its focus on creative kills and using stylish methods to kill your enemies. Furthermore, given the related Duty Calls parody game, one would expect that Bulletstorm would be a revolutionary shooter, bringing a new approach to the tried-and-tested saturation of shooters. However, that's where the good points end, because Bulletstorm fails to deliver and it is very disappointing. First of all, the campaign is horrendous. Not only does it have the most cliché story, characters and level design, but it actually takes itself seriously rather than trying to parody other generic shooters! Luckily however, there is Echoes mode, which allows you to jump straight into the action going for high scores on short levels. Each level adds more weapons, more creative environments, get longer, more enemies etc. so you start out with a basic toolset and work your way up. Unfortunately, the developers seem to have misunderstood the definition of "creativity". Instead of rewarding you for chaining lots of different moves together, there are no combos at all in this game. You cannot juggle enemies because the leash only keeps them up in the air for a few seconds, and the game doesn't encourage innovative combinations. Rather, it rewards simple, dumb and obviously basic attacks such as kicking enemies into prickle bushes and blowing up explosive barrels. The tools are definitely there, but the scoring system is completely broken in terms of rewarding style and creativity. In summary, Bulletstorm is a misleading game and a missed opportunity and being a fresh take on shooters. It nails the technical stuff, but fails to deliver on its promise of style. It doesn't parody other shooters, doesn't have any humour and is therefore a generic shooter with nothing more to show than a measly grapple hook. Expand
  35. Oct 7, 2011
    6
    When the best thing I can say for a game like this is that I found the dialogue entertaining, you know there was a misstep in development. I went into this one expecting a showy piece of shooter action, and that is what I got . . . for a short while. While I would be lying if I said the brainless action that this game flaunts isn't entertaining, I would also be lying if I said it doesn'tWhen the best thing I can say for a game like this is that I found the dialogue entertaining, you know there was a misstep in development. I went into this one expecting a showy piece of shooter action, and that is what I got . . . for a short while. While I would be lying if I said the brainless action that this game flaunts isn't entertaining, I would also be lying if I said it doesn't wear itself out quickly. I went from loving the game, to just wanting it to be over, all in it's short five-hour campaign. It is the type of game that would be fun in short bursts, but it's samey gameplay does not lend itself to extended lengths of play. Rent, if interested. Other than that, I say stay away. Expand
  36. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    If you are looking for a serious, tactical, realistic military simulation...this isn't it. However, this game is brilliant mainly because it isn't all the fore mentioned things. Not just that it isn't, but it goes overboard in celebrating that it isn't. The skill shots are a great feature to a genre that has over the years become rather formulaic in nature. Bulletstorm breaks the moldIf you are looking for a serious, tactical, realistic military simulation...this isn't it. However, this game is brilliant mainly because it isn't all the fore mentioned things. Not just that it isn't, but it goes overboard in celebrating that it isn't. The skill shots are a great feature to a genre that has over the years become rather formulaic in nature. Bulletstorm breaks the mold with a sledge hammer, then shoots it and finally blows it up. If you enjoy fast paced, crazy mayhem filled shooters, this game is for you. If you want to spend you time counting your bullets and working on coordinated attacks with a team of equally serious sims, go play Arma Expand
  37. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    I was not at all impressed with it. There was practically no storyline, the characters did not interest me in the least, and I simply did not find the "humor" in it to be funny, at all. The skillshot system is an interesting concept, but I think it could have been done a whole lot better. If you are looking for something different with a bit of innovation, you may want to give it a rental,I was not at all impressed with it. There was practically no storyline, the characters did not interest me in the least, and I simply did not find the "humor" in it to be funny, at all. The skillshot system is an interesting concept, but I think it could have been done a whole lot better. If you are looking for something different with a bit of innovation, you may want to give it a rental, but do not go into the game with high hopes. I personally think that you are better off with just about any other first-person shooter on the market right now. Expand
  38. Oct 11, 2012
    5
    I was extremely underwhelmed by this game. After seeing it on so many of GAF's top 10 lists for 2011 GOTY's voting thread I really thought I was in for something cool. I'll start with what I liked first. The variety in weapons was actually pretty neat but I found half of them to be absolutely pointless. I really only used the pistol and the rifle and if I ran out of ammo I used whateverI was extremely underwhelmed by this game. After seeing it on so many of GAF's top 10 lists for 2011 GOTY's voting thread I really thought I was in for something cool. I'll start with what I liked first. The variety in weapons was actually pretty neat but I found half of them to be absolutely pointless. I really only used the pistol and the rifle and if I ran out of ammo I used whatever else was equipped. The point system for kills was entertaining but considering I was forced to kill 90% of the enemies the same way it seemed like a BS extra. The variety in AI was actually pretty good and I liked that I was fighting various factions and that there was interesting relationships that surrounded each of them. The level design wasn't all that bad either even if you were forced down corridors and limited to not be able to jump on things. The kicking and leashing mechanisms were cool but after a while I found them to be rather boring. I recall the graphics being praised by other but I did find myself feeling any sort of connection with them. The visuals were not as crisp as I had expected but I attribute that to the fact that it was on a 360 (which is where a majority of my gaming is done) and not a PC which I believe is the fan base from which most of the praise was coming from. The art style was certainly different but again it did not do much for me. The story line was unique and something I have never really experienced before so I appreciated the fresh take but at the time I found it to be devalued through the stupid interactions between characters. I know this was the intended direction and I'm sure there is an audience that really enjoys this but I felt it detracted from the game. I finished the game on hard and don't really plan on picking it back up for a replay or additional content/multiplayer. Interesting and unique feel, but just not for me. Expand
  39. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    I've played a lot of first person shooters (own just about every one of them). To me, this game was a new treat to play and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it has the following combinations of other first person shooters:

    Serious Sam 3 (for the insane # and variety of bad guys which constantly rush at you.) Bioshock (for the well thought out use of the "left hand" as a unique weapon
    I've played a lot of first person shooters (own just about every one of them). To me, this game was a new treat to play and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it has the following combinations of other first person shooters:

    Serious Sam 3 (for the insane # and variety of bad guys which constantly rush at you.)
    Bioshock (for the well thought out use of the "left hand" as a unique weapon and 'ugly' bad guys)
    Sniper (for the really cool sniper shots you can make, controlling the bullet all the way to the target - note: kudos for an AI which will try and dodge the bullet making it a nice challenge even on easy mode.)
    Singularity (for the 'specific' spots on certain enemies that you need to shoot)
    Half-Life (for the 'tiny' bit of puzzle solving you need to do on some levels)

    There's a unique challenge on setting up which weapons you should use for the next rush of bad guys. If you liked Serious Sam 3 and the other games mentioned above, I think you'll find this game a nice blend of new challenges. I especially like the part where you "kick" a bad guy into spikes or off cliffs (which give you more points to buy better weapons/ammo.) I haven't completed the game yet (been playing it for about a week now) but every time I think I've reached the final stage, it keeps going and going throwing more bad guys with new ways they need to be killed or how I need to strategically kill them. It isn't an epic game I'd put into the same level as something like Half-Life or the Call of Duty type games but it's one of the few games I think I may enjoy replaying again once I'm done just to see if I can do it on a more difficult level. Well worth the $ of the game in my opinion.
    Expand
  40. Mar 29, 2013
    5
    While I see the potential this game has, I just found it boring. It's just another generic FPS that is trying too hard to be different to the point that you stop caring. The creative ways to kill approach is a good idea, but the novelty does wear off after a few hours. In fact it gets downright tedious, especially for completionists like myself. The story is bland. The characters areWhile I see the potential this game has, I just found it boring. It's just another generic FPS that is trying too hard to be different to the point that you stop caring. The creative ways to kill approach is a good idea, but the novelty does wear off after a few hours. In fact it gets downright tedious, especially for completionists like myself. The story is bland. The characters are nicely designed but rather flat and one dimensional aside from Trishka Novak, but I think that is perhaps because of Jennifer Hale, I really love her. xoxo Another good point about the game are the visuals. The game is beautiful and the character and enemy designs are fantastically detailed. Overall: Bulletstorm could have been so much better with a bit more time and effort, not trying to follow the norm. A real pity it turned out this way. Expand
  41. May 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The way Bulletstorm fits together results in something cool and memorable. Multiplayer failings notwithstanding, Bulletstorm shines as a single-player shooter. Despite its crass humor and wang-flinging bravado, it's got some real character and heart to it. Expand
  42. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    I gave this game a 10/10 for two reasons. One, it's far and away more original and satisfying than anything the folks at Treyarch and/or Infinity Ward, et. al. can come up with. And second, I had to do something to combat the overabundance of negative reviews on this site by armchair developers who think just because they have an XBOX 360 that automatically makes them an authority on allI gave this game a 10/10 for two reasons. One, it's far and away more original and satisfying than anything the folks at Treyarch and/or Infinity Ward, et. al. can come up with. And second, I had to do something to combat the overabundance of negative reviews on this site by armchair developers who think just because they have an XBOX 360 that automatically makes them an authority on all things video game related. If you haven't played Bulletstorm yet do yourself a favor and do so immediately. It's well worth your time. Oh, and and don't pay attention to the mouth breathers. It's people like them that are ruining this business by perpetuating games like Black Ops 2 and similar mindless Expand
  43. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    I recently picked up this game because it had a huge pricedrop, and I decided to give this game a chance. With the expectations of a no-brain shooter withouth any emotion etc. I started up the game. The first hour of the story mode is a emotional action-packed hour. After that the unique killing mechanics come into play, and all the emotional parts are getting swept aside. The story modeI recently picked up this game because it had a huge pricedrop, and I decided to give this game a chance. With the expectations of a no-brain shooter withouth any emotion etc. I started up the game. The first hour of the story mode is a emotional action-packed hour. After that the unique killing mechanics come into play, and all the emotional parts are getting swept aside. The story mode also is rather short, but absolutely mental when it comes to action.

    The multiplayer was pretty awesome in my opinion. I've played it for a few hours with my friends, and for me, it really introduced something new to the multiplayer of FPS. The multiplayer is Co-op based, but there always is a lot of competition because you want to be that guy that makes the most points every round. It keeps the games competitive while it is co-op. I'd recommend to play this mode with at least one friend though, because it will be a lot easier to make it through the rounds and make some epic combos happen.

    This game definitely is worth giving a try and is a lot of fun to play, especially with a bunch of friends!
    Expand
  44. May 1, 2014
    8
    This game is ridiculously fun. Holy mother of God is it a blast. This may be the best first person shooter I've played on my Xbox 360. It's seriously that good. I love Epic Games, and this game just made my love for them grow deeper.

    The thing that makes Bulletstorm so great is that practically every firefight takes place during a huge set piece, be it a building falling down with you
    This game is ridiculously fun. Holy mother of God is it a blast. This may be the best first person shooter I've played on my Xbox 360. It's seriously that good. I love Epic Games, and this game just made my love for them grow deeper.

    The thing that makes Bulletstorm so great is that practically every firefight takes place during a huge set piece, be it a building falling down with you inside, to being trapped in a museum with a huge monster wreaking havoc, there is no part of this game that is boring.

    Seriously. I was awestruck when I saw what was happening on screen. When one set piece ends, another one is set to begin in less than 10 minutes. Every firefight in this game is equal to the climax of other lesser shooters. And the climax to this game is pretty darn good to boot.

    This game is ridiculous, mindless, macho fun. I love it. It gets an 8 out of 10 for some glitches and a little too short for my tastes. But my God, even though it's on the short side, it had enough action to fill 10 games. What a hell of a ride!
    Expand
  45. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Bulletstorm was a shockingly enjoyable and fun game.. When the game was initially released I had not much interest in giving it a shot, which after now playing it I very much regret. Its has a very unique and fun type of game-play that keeps you wanting to blow up; dismember and kick or throw your enemies into whatever the incredible environments have to offer you to use as a form ofBulletstorm was a shockingly enjoyable and fun game.. When the game was initially released I had not much interest in giving it a shot, which after now playing it I very much regret. Its has a very unique and fun type of game-play that keeps you wanting to blow up; dismember and kick or throw your enemies into whatever the incredible environments have to offer you to use as a form of gorgeous and gruesome impalement... Lots O' Fun here!! Expand
  46. May 3, 2014
    10
    After playing and loving Gears Of War, i bought Bulletstorm. This game offers some nice fresh mechanics like kicking an enemy on to a cactus or blowing his brains out!!! I am reviewing this game in 2014, so the graphics are ok. the storyline was fairly decent, as well. The chain gun is insanely awesome, as it can obliterate anyone in your path! Before i played Bulletstorm, i was thinkingAfter playing and loving Gears Of War, i bought Bulletstorm. This game offers some nice fresh mechanics like kicking an enemy on to a cactus or blowing his brains out!!! I am reviewing this game in 2014, so the graphics are ok. the storyline was fairly decent, as well. The chain gun is insanely awesome, as it can obliterate anyone in your path! Before i played Bulletstorm, i was thinking about a game which lets you control your sniper bullets. Bulletstorm lets you do this!!!! Everything that i want in a game is here: a great shooting mechanic, crazy gun stunts, and insane enemies. I won't be reviewing multiplayer, as i don't have Xbox Live. And this 10/10 game cost me only £2.50! After buying an Xbox 360 in Christmas 2013, i have started to love Epic Games. I can't really think of any bad things to say about Bulletstorm, so that's my review. In short: GO BUY BULLETSTORM! Expand
  47. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    This is a good game. I think on the same level as Halo -- but different. Sure, the story isn't as good, but it's a lot of fun. It's pure action. If you like shooters, and mayhem, this is for you.
  48. May 12, 2014
    9
    bulletstorm is a very good game, it's only a bit underrated. the gameplay is fun and fluent. the humor is funny but sometimes a little bit forced. the action is over the top and there are a lot of ways to kill your enemies, although some of them are just too hard to accomplish. the story is good but not that special, and the ending might be a bit disapointing. i am hoping for a sequel,bulletstorm is a very good game, it's only a bit underrated. the gameplay is fun and fluent. the humor is funny but sometimes a little bit forced. the action is over the top and there are a lot of ways to kill your enemies, although some of them are just too hard to accomplish. the story is good but not that special, and the ending might be a bit disapointing. i am hoping for a sequel, because bulletstorm is still after 3 years worth your time and money Expand
  49. Feb 19, 2015
    10
    Ураганный геймплей, крутой графон, интересный сюжет, харизматичные персонажи - у Буллетшторма почти нет минусов, People Can Fly гении! Требую Bulletstorm 2!!!!!
  50. Apr 13, 2016
    8
    The game does have glitches, but is quite fun nevertheless. With good graphics and unique leashing abilities its a creative game. Its somewhat repetetive and the echoes are more fun than the campaign. Unfortunately i couldn't try out the multiplayer because im poor and prefer to eat well. But overall, i had alot of fun with it. Its very different from star wars battlefront. I find it to beThe game does have glitches, but is quite fun nevertheless. With good graphics and unique leashing abilities its a creative game. Its somewhat repetetive and the echoes are more fun than the campaign. Unfortunately i couldn't try out the multiplayer because im poor and prefer to eat well. But overall, i had alot of fun with it. Its very different from star wars battlefront. I find it to be a hillbily gorefest. If you like gory crazyshot games with good graphics and ok replay value this one is definetly for you. The monsters look cool and the shot combination bonuses to me are like a game of basketball with mutated gun-wielding zombies. Tony hawks pro skater with gun creativity; not as rewarding as the skateboarding franchise though. I was hoping for more skillshot variety and higher scoring head and groin shots. The leash is kinda dissapointing cause you can't quite use it like a jedi knight with fancy tactics and wild combos. I love the graphics. The guns are pretty cool. Just not enough leash power and dexterity. Sometimes i rate the game at 4.5 Expand
  51. Apr 11, 2012
    0
    Few games are able to deliver an immersive, action-packed and original game concept and still be an excellent experience. Bulletstorm is one of the small selection of games that has managed to pull this off with flying colours. Make no mistake, first person shooters are rapidly reaching their use-by date and it takes a fresh and original concept to make gamers still want to enjoy them.Few games are able to deliver an immersive, action-packed and original game concept and still be an excellent experience. Bulletstorm is one of the small selection of games that has managed to pull this off with flying colours. Make no mistake, first person shooters are rapidly reaching their use-by date and it takes a fresh and original concept to make gamers still want to enjoy them. Bulletstorm does this not by its spectacular graphic or sound design, but by the ability to make a serious game but at the same time, let the player have a ridiculous amount of fun in its world. You play as Grayson Hunt, the leader of a disbanded squad that has crash landed on a foreign planet. You've set yourself the task of killing the ignorant man who used you and your team to murder civilians. You'll have to fight a wide range of enemies through a constantly collapsing world in order to reach him. But don't worry, you'll get plenty of weapons to help you do just that. Though the weapons are far fetched, the amount of fun that they can bring far exceeds that of a current-time based firearm. There is something for everybody, including an accurate assault rifle, a quad-barrelled shotgun and even a remote controlled sniper rifle. There is also your leash, which will instantly become your best friend as its power to devastatingly melee enemies in slow motion possesses you. Combining the power of the leash, melee and weapons is the key to success and is where there is the most fun to be had. The sequences in the middle section of the game can get slightly repetitive but the gameplay quickly regains interest and leads up to a breathtaking climax. Whilst delivering big with fun and action, the storyline is memorable and has a very serious element to it. Aside from the hilarious quotes and humorous, colourful atmosphere, the story of the game remains strong and the acting from each of the characters is to be commended. It is difficult to pull off so much diversity in the average game these days, but Bulletstorm is none of the sort. As if the very lengthy single-player campaign wasn't enough, there is plenty to do elsewhere. There is a very robust "Echoes" challenge mode as well as a well-structured and addictive multiplayer mode. Also, with downloadable content on the way, you'll surely get your money's worth out of this game. Bulletstorm is destined for multiple sequels and serves as a reminder that Epic Games is one of the most powerful, ambitious and successful game developers around today. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    75
    Not a bad game, but also not a great one that misses the mark on a few levels, most notably the dialog for this gamer. I am sure there's a target market out there who eats this type of language up, and will be mimicking what they hear for a while, but sadly I am not this market.
  2. May 24, 2011
    85
    Bulletstorm is not only offering a lot of enemies to shoot. We did not expect such good character development and such an entertaining story.
  3. May 10, 2011
    84
    I guess the question really comes down to whether Bulletstorm is worth your hard-earned gaming dollar. If you're a single-player campaign person, there is a fun and engaging story to be found. If you're into the multiplayer scene, I'd highly recommend getting the full version (you may want to calculate your new cost vs. used cost + 800 points). It is definately worth playing ... the question you need to answer for yourself is whether it's worth owning.