Burnout Paradise Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 277
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MonsieurSansH
    Oct 3, 2009
    7
    With the average price of a game being 40 GBP, I have a rule of only buying games with an average review score of 8/10 and above. Paradise got a lot of good reviews and the demo was great. But none of that really mattered. I have every version of Burnout except Dominator (I already had Revenge, so no point going backwards, right?). I even bought PoI twice (Gamecube and XBox). I bought With the average price of a game being 40 GBP, I have a rule of only buying games with an average review score of 8/10 and above. Paradise got a lot of good reviews and the demo was great. But none of that really mattered. I have every version of Burnout except Dominator (I already had Revenge, so no point going backwards, right?). I even bought PoI twice (Gamecube and XBox). I bought Revenge for XBox and bought it again for 360. I'd always loved Burnout ofline, but playing multiplayer on 360 was the absolute best Burnout experience. All my racing crew, the large group of friends that used to race together from the UK, US and Canada all bought Paradise, looking for more of the same fun we had. It was fun doing all the challenges and road rules, and the open world style of the game is fine. We've always loved the fact that there were multiple routes to each course in Burnout races, but the fact that it's to easy to get lost and completely lose a race is very frustrating. It would not have been hard to 'lock' a number of roads during a race (or even give the option to), prevent this. Whatever the general consensus may be, the fact is none of the group of my friends that loved to play Revenge so much even play Paradise anymore. Sorry to say we had more fun playing Flatout U.C. while we were waiting for Paradise. Not being able to race the bikes was the last straw for the few guys that hung on. I'm the only one of the group that even bought the new island DLC, and I drive around it on my own when we're not all playing CoD or L4D. It's still a good game and you have to appreciate the massive effort Criterion put into it, but I'm happier playing Ridge Racer. Thanks for being a shoulder. /Rant. Expand
  2. DieterA.
    Jan 26, 2008
    7
    While it is a technically impressive, there are some genuine gameplay flaws under Paradise City's glossy 60fps experience. The lack of a "retry" capability for a event is worse than it sounds. If you have the wrong vehicle, you'll lose that race and have to drive back to a Junk Yard to select a different car, then drive back to the start. While there are no shortage of events on While it is a technically impressive, there are some genuine gameplay flaws under Paradise City's glossy 60fps experience. The lack of a "retry" capability for a event is worse than it sounds. If you have the wrong vehicle, you'll lose that race and have to drive back to a Junk Yard to select a different car, then drive back to the start. While there are no shortage of events on the first couple of license levels, you'll quickly find this to be a real annoyance as the event you need to re-attempt is half-way across the map. Sound like fun? It gets worse. When you manage to get the car stuck on scenery and not wrecked, you're going to have to do a K-turn the car to get out. At that time, you've already failed the event. It's about as much fun and driving the kids back and forth to school. The skill level is all over the place. Road Rage and Marked Man events are painfully easy if you've played any prior Burnout title -- to the point of not being rewarding or fun. Races and Burning events will be frustrating until you learn the city and will prove diabolical in the mountain routes. Crash mode and Crash party? NOPE. Local Multiplayer Split Screen? NOPE. I played Burnout Revenge on the 360 more/less non-stop until I unlocked all the cars and races -- then, I kept playing it online and with friends. I'm 3 days in to Paradise City and it's probably going to back to GameFly tomorrow. I am a huge fan of the series, but Paradise City is a disappointment. It looks great, controls are tight, excellent sense of speed, and is polished to a shimmer, but the gameplay just isn't there yet. Expand
  3. EdW.
    Apr 27, 2008
    7
    The open world concept is compelling but the execution is poor. The best thing about the previous Burnout games- the awesome sensation of speed - is absent in this game. The turn signals and indicators are completely useless. The cars aren't as good as in Revenge. One good thing is the integration of elements from the past Burnout titles: You can crash cars from behind to gain boost The open world concept is compelling but the execution is poor. The best thing about the previous Burnout games- the awesome sensation of speed - is absent in this game. The turn signals and indicators are completely useless. The cars aren't as good as in Revenge. One good thing is the integration of elements from the past Burnout titles: You can crash cars from behind to gain boost with some of the aggressive boost cars, and you can do burnouts ala Dominator with the speed cars. But this game could have been so much better. The reason the experts are rating it so highly is due to the Grand Theft Auto effect. Just for the record, I hate GTA. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    This is different from the excellent burnout games that came before it. The change to the open city design is not fun. It ruins races, in my opinion. If you make one wrong turn, it could ruin a race. So rather than drive balls to the wall every second like in previous games, this one is all about going 75% so you don't miss your turns and don't waste your time in a race. That's not fun.This is different from the excellent burnout games that came before it. The change to the open city design is not fun. It ruins races, in my opinion. If you make one wrong turn, it could ruin a race. So rather than drive balls to the wall every second like in previous games, this one is all about going 75% so you don't miss your turns and don't waste your time in a race. That's not fun. You want to put me in a city with shortcuts? Fine. Just block off the unnecessary roads so I still have an opportunity to do something in each race. The open world objectives to complete with other drivers online can be fun, but only if everyone is on the same page, which is never the case. Some challenges require a lot of players to complete, and it's near impossible to get that many people willing to participate in whatever you want to do. So this means many of this games achievements are impossible. All in all this game just isn't fun to play. Sure, the mechanics are the same, and the sense of speed is exhilarating, but the open world is more frustrating than fun. I'll take a more linear, focused experience over this any day. Collapse
  5. Kayc
    Feb 2, 2008
    5
    For me, Burnout games were too good to bother changing the whole style, the gameplay mechanics were nearly flawless. It seems to have lost that edge now. Instead of jumping straight into Crash mode or a Race, you have to find one, which slows down the progress of the game. Some reviewers say driving around looking at the scenery is amazing. I for one do not care of the scenery, I want toFor me, Burnout games were too good to bother changing the whole style, the gameplay mechanics were nearly flawless. It seems to have lost that edge now. Instead of jumping straight into Crash mode or a Race, you have to find one, which slows down the progress of the game. Some reviewers say driving around looking at the scenery is amazing. I for one do not care of the scenery, I want to race and crash, not look for billboards to jump into. Crash mode was much better than showtime because in crash mode they set out crashes on a plate ready for you to gorge. That brings me to another point... WHERE IS SPLIT SCREEN!!!! Am I one of the few guys who still have friends to come over and play video games? Am I the only one who still remembers how fun multiplayer on one screen is? The online is great but when friends come over you don't want to play 1 by 1, games like this and Motorstorm are set-up for split screen, but it isn't there. The gameplay itself isn't rubbish but the game doesn't know what it wants to be, Midnight Club? Need for Speed? or Burnout? Though the gameplay is quite good, it is missing out on some things that would make the game universal. Such as, having the option of choosing a level on the menu screen, restarting a race, split screen. Good, but there was no need to change it so much, the game was close to perfect, not a big step back, but a step back nethertheless. Expand
  6. ParchikP.
    Jan 22, 2008
    6
    No crash is bad. Showtime is poor. No instant restarts bad. Nav system bad. Open worlds in race game a mistake.
  7. RicOldroyd
    Dec 16, 2009
    6
    In a word, Overrated. This game was penned by critics as the best open-world racer to date. However, what the game fails at is being a Burnout game. I've been a fan of the Burnout series since number 1, and this attempt at bringing something new to the franchise quite frankly disappoints. Get Burnout Revenge for half the price, or if you want a decent open-world racer, try Midnight Club: LA.
  8. IainS.
    Feb 4, 2008
    6
    If you're a Burnout fan like I was then I'd suggest giving this one a miss.. doesn't quite know what it is and has staggered into territories best left untouched. Why can't you restart immediately for the love of God??? Design flaws aplently. After the almost perfect earlier incarnations this is quite a feat!
  9. AndyB.
    Feb 7, 2008
    5
    The races are great fun, it's just too much of a chore driving between them. One of the best things for Burnout is that it is instant fun, the free roaming, though very impressive, removes this totally.
  10. JamesOne
    Jul 1, 2008
    5
    This game is fun to start wit but becomes tedious due to the fact that there is NO RESTART OPTION, this was a huge over sight by criterion, its 2 pity because this game had to much potential, the other problem is the map, while it sounds fun to choose your own route in every race it gets annoying having to always look at the mini-map and if you make a single wrong turn it screws up your This game is fun to start wit but becomes tedious due to the fact that there is NO RESTART OPTION, this was a huge over sight by criterion, its 2 pity because this game had to much potential, the other problem is the map, while it sounds fun to choose your own route in every race it gets annoying having to always look at the mini-map and if you make a single wrong turn it screws up your whole race and now because theres no restart option you now hav to drive to the other side of the mas again to try the race again. The other feature they seem to hav forgoten to put in is the crash junction, instead they replaced it with an option to barrel roll your car when ever you feel like it, basically this feature sucks and they must bring back crash junction, overall this is a poor attempt at a burnout game, its supposed to be fun...not tedious. Nice graphics and damage physics dont make a good game Expand
  11. AlbertoV.
    Jan 10, 2008
    6
    Open world + bad navigation system = ahhhhhh! What a shame the makers fell into the trap all other race game developers fall into when trying to reinvent their overmilked franchise. Open worlds is such a bad idea it should never have left the initial planning meetings! Bit tired of the whole Burnout thing now tbh. The hit a peak with no.3 and have been slipping since.
  12. GregH.
    Jan 24, 2008
    5
    Since B3 there has been a steady decline in the series with an unecessary addition of new things for the sake of it, rather than perfection of what was already there. This one, whilst next-gen, really is clutching at straws and some very weird things have gone in or been omitted. Crash has vanished and has been 'superceeded' with the feeble Showtime. Open plan racing is one of Since B3 there has been a steady decline in the series with an unecessary addition of new things for the sake of it, rather than perfection of what was already there. This one, whilst next-gen, really is clutching at straws and some very weird things have gone in or been omitted. Crash has vanished and has been 'superceeded' with the feeble Showtime. Open plan racing is one of the things you don't do.. particulary with the speeds involved here.. and if you are going to do it make damned sure the navigation system is up to the job.. which it's not. Full of disappointments for me personally. I expected a lot more after waiting so long.. and you have to drive back to the start to restart a race!! eurgh. Expand
  13. MartkA.
    Jan 26, 2008
    6
    I originally bought the 360 version, but after seeing my mates PS3 version of the game, I took it back and swapped it for the PS3 version. The lighting and textures seem so much better. It's obvious the PS3 lead platform benefited from this release, so if you have both consoles, go with the PS3 version.
  14. SteveA
    Feb 2, 2008
    6
    Open world was bound to be contravercial and rightly so. It requires so many comprimises that I'm amazed it was even seriously suggested let alone implemented. I've been playing this for quite a while now and have always been a Burnout fan but this one just isn't Burnout and I can't really say that it's probably time Burnout put itself to bed before it getsOpen world was bound to be contravercial and rightly so. It requires so many comprimises that I'm amazed it was even seriously suggested let alone implemented. I've been playing this for quite a while now and have always been a Burnout fan but this one just isn't Burnout and I can't really say that it's probably time Burnout put itself to bed before it gets evenmore confused. Expand
  15. DesM.
    Feb 29, 2008
    5
    The perfection of earlier Burnouts has started to fade, almost completely in this latest iteration. Burnout 4 was a little dissapointing after number 3 and Paradise continues this downward slide unfortunately. Franchises are overmilked these days and the games inevitably suffer as a consequence. Here is a perfect example of that in action.
  16. TedS.
    Feb 4, 2008
    5
    Burnout 3, was one of my favorite games of all time, and although I didn't like Revenge nearly as much, I much prefer it to the sloppy mess of a game that Paradise is. My biggest complaint is the fact that you can no longer control you're car after being taken down, a trick that evened up the gameplay in the older games, instead all you can do now is watch the same crashes over Burnout 3, was one of my favorite games of all time, and although I didn't like Revenge nearly as much, I much prefer it to the sloppy mess of a game that Paradise is. My biggest complaint is the fact that you can no longer control you're car after being taken down, a trick that evened up the gameplay in the older games, instead all you can do now is watch the same crashes over and over and over again. Aside from this, the open ended world seems fun at first, but it also completely ruins the racing. There are so many routes open, it is incredibly easy to get lost and lose the race. But what's even worse is the fact that when you do get lost and you know you've lost the race you cannot simply restart the race. No, you have to either finish the race and be taunted by the DJ or enter Showtime mode, which you cannot quit out of either! This isn't burnout, it's simply a former shell of what it once was. Save you're money and just download Burnout 3 on Xbox Live. Expand
  17. Daz
    Apr 20, 2008
    6
    I loved the earlier burnouts especially 3 and 4 but I can't say this is anywhere near as good. I REALLY hope that the developers go back to the level up system of previous games where you could not take a wrong turn in a race and you don't have to keep looking at a map. You've tried the new system - please go back to the older systems. Start by looking at what made revenge I loved the earlier burnouts especially 3 and 4 but I can't say this is anywhere near as good. I REALLY hope that the developers go back to the level up system of previous games where you could not take a wrong turn in a race and you don't have to keep looking at a map. You've tried the new system - please go back to the older systems. Start by looking at what made revenge so bloody good. Expand
  18. JoelR.
    Feb 22, 2008
    5
    I saw the previews and I had a gutteral reaction: buy this game!! I played the demo, and it's sooo amazing. The cars are fantastic, the car sounds are great, the handling is perfect (for Burnout), the crashes are cool. But... where's the offline multiplayer? I was going to buy this game for my son and I, because we love playing Burnout 3 road rage and co-op crash mode on the old I saw the previews and I had a gutteral reaction: buy this game!! I played the demo, and it's sooo amazing. The cars are fantastic, the car sounds are great, the handling is perfect (for Burnout), the crashes are cool. But... where's the offline multiplayer? I was going to buy this game for my son and I, because we love playing Burnout 3 road rage and co-op crash mode on the old Xbox together. But that's gone now. Also, the free driving should be a mode, not the default. Works great for GTA, not so great for racing. I won't be buying this game. Really really sad. :-( The developers obviously didn't talk or listen to Burnout fans when they designed this game. Expand
  19. CarmineReynolds
    Jan 17, 2008
    6
    Burnout Revenge was an excelent game, and instantly after playing the demo of Paradise i was hugely disapointed, theyve made it like Need for Speed in the travelling around sense which is awfull, there is no need for it, Burnout was good enough the way it was.
  20. MattS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    6
    It's not a bad game, it's just not Burnout. I should be focusing on a takedown, not looking at the map to see if I need to turn yet. No crash mode = Epic Fail.
  21. SteveD.
    Jan 25, 2008
    5
    This ain't Burnout no more - identity lost. Crash gone - what idiot decided that! It's been pushed into new territory that wasn't needed. Don't do an open plan racer for goodness sake, it's never woked before and it doesn't work here. Worst Burnout yet.
  22. BenS.
    Jan 25, 2008
    6
    Many of my favourite Burnout things have gone in this latest version. It's still a reasonable racer but some strange things have happened this time around that aren't my cup of tea at all. Looks nice and sounds great but ultimately falls short of what we're used to.
  23. PatrickS.
    Jan 27, 2008
    5
    A ok game, but i would prefer a good old fashioned burnout game. The open world is a little overwhelming at times.
  24. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    In theory taking Burnout into an open world was a great idea and Paradise certainly gives gamers more freedom than ever in which to race and generally cause chaos. Unfortunately however this freedom comes at a price. Having to drive across the map to activate events very quickly becomes a chore and it is also very easy to take a wrong turning leaving you with no hope of winning, somethingIn theory taking Burnout into an open world was a great idea and Paradise certainly gives gamers more freedom than ever in which to race and generally cause chaos. Unfortunately however this freedom comes at a price. Having to drive across the map to activate events very quickly becomes a chore and it is also very easy to take a wrong turning leaving you with no hope of winning, something that is even more frustrating thanks to the strange decision not to allow races to simply be restarted.

    There is certainly a lot to admire about Burnout Paradise, and some will get many hours of enjoyment from it, but for me the open world is more detrimental than beneficial.
    Expand
  25. D.R.
    Jan 24, 2008
    6
    So far this game is a big disappointment. The last Burnout is my favorite racing game ever because of the simple, fun gameplay and the joyful bashing of cars. By trying to make B:Paradise more "realistic" they've lost a lot of the fun of the previous game. Specifically, deciding to remove the use of "pedestrian" cars as items you can bash into and push into other cars, etc. I guess So far this game is a big disappointment. The last Burnout is my favorite racing game ever because of the simple, fun gameplay and the joyful bashing of cars. By trying to make B:Paradise more "realistic" they've lost a lot of the fun of the previous game. Specifically, deciding to remove the use of "pedestrian" cars as items you can bash into and push into other cars, etc. I guess I'll just go back to playing the other game, once I finish this one. Maybe this one will grow on me. It's got great graphics, a huge world to play in... too bad they lost the arcade flying-by-the-seat-of-your-pants feel. Expand
  26. StephenM.
    Jan 24, 2008
    6
    NO OFFLINE MULTIPLAYER?? WTF? This game LOOKS great, handles fine and plays fine, but I bought this JUST for the offline multiplayer. C'mon, a racing game without offline multiplayer? How ridiculous is that? Imagine they released Street Fighter II or Super Mario Kart without multiplayer, I'm sure those games would have faded into oblivion instead of being classics. One big issue NO OFFLINE MULTIPLAYER?? WTF? This game LOOKS great, handles fine and plays fine, but I bought this JUST for the offline multiplayer. C'mon, a racing game without offline multiplayer? How ridiculous is that? Imagine they released Street Fighter II or Super Mario Kart without multiplayer, I'm sure those games would have faded into oblivion instead of being classics. One big issue I have with the 360 is the lack of co-op and vs in offline mode in MANY games. I REALLY don't get WHY they would decide not to include it. A complete mystery and that's why it doesnt deserve a higher rating. All previous Burnuts had it too, so before you go bashing, take that into consideration. Expand
  27. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    If I have to listen to Paradise City by Guns N' Roses one more time......Burnout Paradise should be a great game. It has a lot of things going for it: addictive gameplay, an open world, different game modes. Unfortunately these aspects don't get to shine because of the clunky way the game was designed. Findings the kind of race you want is difficult and the map isn't much help. Making yourIf I have to listen to Paradise City by Guns N' Roses one more time......Burnout Paradise should be a great game. It has a lot of things going for it: addictive gameplay, an open world, different game modes. Unfortunately these aspects don't get to shine because of the clunky way the game was designed. Findings the kind of race you want is difficult and the map isn't much help. Making your own route to the objective is a good idea but is implemented poorly. The sign telling you which way to turn is hard to notice in an adrenaline fueled car-off with more crashes than the annual Crash Bandicoot convention that I just made up. With no running narrative, the only encouragement to keep playing is to upgrade your license. Somehow this does not set my shins alight with excitement. And that DJ is annoying. Expand
  28. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    Burnout Paradise was a brave move from Criterion. The familiar destruction-oriented gameplay in an open-world environment was fresh and innovative, but riddled with problems. For example, crash a few times and fall too far behind early in a race? You're given the option of riding out the event, or quitting and driving back to the starting line. A restart feature was present in the previousBurnout Paradise was a brave move from Criterion. The familiar destruction-oriented gameplay in an open-world environment was fresh and innovative, but riddled with problems. For example, crash a few times and fall too far behind early in a race? You're given the option of riding out the event, or quitting and driving back to the starting line. A restart feature was present in the previous Burnout games, so why not this one? The progression is tedious and EXTREMELY repetitive. Complete x number of events to unlock the next stage of your license, before doing the same events again to achieve the next level, and so on. The game features some amazing graphics, and driving around in the mountains offers you some beautiful views. There's a ton of collectibles to find, and this adds a bit more substance to the free-roam gameplay. Overall, Burnout Paradise is a fun game, sure - but lacking the same level of finesse and polish as the previous titles. Expand
  29. May 27, 2013
    6
    The modern-day equivalent of Paradise is a mix between NFS Most Wanted (2012) and DiRT Showdown. With unrealistic cars, variety in car classes, emphasis on free-roam and exploration, Burnout Paradise is possibly one of the best racing games to just hop on and hop off. You can play it for hours and hours, or just for a few minutes. It's very straightforward, and you feel you know the gameThe modern-day equivalent of Paradise is a mix between NFS Most Wanted (2012) and DiRT Showdown. With unrealistic cars, variety in car classes, emphasis on free-roam and exploration, Burnout Paradise is possibly one of the best racing games to just hop on and hop off. You can play it for hours and hours, or just for a few minutes. It's very straightforward, and you feel you know the game right from the start. There are a lot of vehicles in the game, all of which do have distinct traits. For a game with such simplistic driving mechanics, it's remarkable how different each vehicle feels. And with a free update, there's even more content. The events include races, time trials, stunt runs and a takedown mode. The number of billboards and gates to smash through also give reason for free-roaming. The game is very fast-paced and intense, especially as the events don't have a set route with checkpoints just start & finish. The game is possibly the easiest pick-up-and play racing game available, and yet it's still exciting and satisfying. Indeed, the city has been well-designed to accommodate for all sorts of crazy stuff. There is very little wrong with this game to be honest. The graphics could have been much worse given that it's running on RenderWare, which was developed in the late 1990s. If you're looking for a hardcore driving experience this is the polar opposite. Paradise is a game for everyone, regardless of their experience or tastes. In a way, it's the more arcadey sister of NFS Undercover. The problem with this game isn't the lack of content there's plenty to see and do with good variety. It's just that despite all this, Paradise is still quite boring to play not engaging and not something you look forward to playing just a game to pass the time. Expand
  30. Aug 11, 2016
    6
    Burnout Paradise,was for me personally,the most disappointing game of the 360/PS3 generation.

    The idea sounds great,mix Burnout with a open-world. The gameplay is still solid Burnout handling with big wrecks,but you have to drive back to race starts to restart,plus the fact that there is no Crash mode in the game,is a major disappointment. The graphics are good,and the framerate
    Burnout Paradise,was for me personally,the most disappointing game of the 360/PS3 generation.

    The idea sounds great,mix Burnout with a open-world.

    The gameplay is still solid Burnout handling with big wrecks,but you have to drive back to race starts to restart,plus the fact that there is no Crash mode in the game,is a major disappointment.

    The graphics are good,and the framerate never hitches at a blazing 60 fps.

    The sound effects are good,with good engine and boost noises,but the soundtrack is AWFUL,by far the worst in the series.

    Overall,Burnout Paradise is a huge disappointment,and pretty much buried the franchise as a result.
    Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2012
    0
    This is different from the excellent burnout games that came before it. The change to the open city design is not fun. It ruins races, in my opinion. If you make one wrong turn, it could ruin a race. So rather than drive balls to the wall every second like in previous games, this one is all about going 75% so you don't miss your turns and don't waste your time in a race. That's not fun.This is different from the excellent burnout games that came before it. The change to the open city design is not fun. It ruins races, in my opinion. If you make one wrong turn, it could ruin a race. So rather than drive balls to the wall every second like in previous games, this one is all about going 75% so you don't miss your turns and don't waste your time in a race. That's not fun. You want to put me in a city with shortcuts? Fine. Just block off the unnecessary roads so I still have an opportunity to do something in each race. The open world objectives to complete with other drivers online can be fun, but only if everyone is on the same page, which is never the case. Some challenges require a lot of players to complete, and it's near impossible to get that many people willing to participate in whatever you want to do. So this means many of this games achievements are impossible. All in all this game just isn't fun to play. Sure, the mechanics are the same, and the sense of speed is exhilarating, but the open world is more frustrating than fun. I'll take a more linear, focused experience over this any day. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    85
    With its new and open structure, it can be a shock at the beginning. But the gameplay is as addictive as ever and with its vertiginous speed, excellent framerate and, mainly, the new online multiplayer, the new Burnout is still a great game for any arcade racing fan. [Jan 2008]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    As someone who's closely followed Criterion's racing series for the last seven years, it warms my heart to see it evolve into something as innovative, satisfying, and polished as Paradise. [Feb 2008, p.74]
  3. What's here is nothing short of amazing, but I can't help but wonder what could have been. [Feb 2008, p.94]