User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 248 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 248

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2013
    0
    After playing the original games on Ps2, I was so excited to try the new generation Burnout game...and wow what a downgrade! And the problems aren't many...but those few are so gigantic I just have no idea how they could have let it slip. For starters, this game is more open ended...which is so and so. The original games were just challenges that weren't on a big map and you had to choose them from a menu; in here, you have to go on parts on your own, which is both cool and frustrating since you have to go "physically" there. There are secrets and stuff, but this is "NOT" GTA and if they really wanted to put something like that, at least give us some more "teleports". Second, the cars now are splitted into categories, which means they'll gather more boost in different ways, and also means different type of cars for each categories (duh!), which was something also in the original...in a way, because cars were restricted to the challenge. I don't think you'd wanna choose a truck into a speed race, and use a Formula 1 car in a crash challenge, so in the end the "freedom" of choosing is rather limited. But in reality, I could have passed all of this if it wasn't for the biggest flaw of all...the race itself. Burnout is basically an arcade racing game with basically a lot of speed and crash...but they completely destroyed this by removing the holographic rails, which means you'll OFTEN, if not ALWAYS, lose position because of a bad way!!! That means you HAVE to actually look at the street and actually "slow down" in order to win a race (or do it all over again a thousands time, so you know the way). In a Burnout game, "look at the street" and "slow down" weren't ever a big deal because it was always about speed and avoiding/destroying cars, and possibly check the roads if you could. Evolution is unavoidable, but this is a flatout downgrade since it basically removes all of the arcade elements of Burnout. And I have no idea if they can be added somehow or not, but I literally ragequitted before then, because I just couldn't win any race! Probably I suck at this game, but I definitely didn't back on the PS2 Burnout (especially Revenge). And so, I suggest to pick any of the older Burnout Franchise instead of this and enjoy maybe I'm not exactly clear on this game since I literally hate most of racing games and only Burnout managed to keep me interesting. But, considering that Burnout was my most favourite because of how fun it is, it was so sad to see the new generation Burnout being such a downgrade from a full arcade racing game based on accidents, to a semi-simulation and free roaming hybrid. At least for me. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    3
    I loved the old burnout series but then Criterion decided to go and make a need for speed clone instead of create another burnout 3 style game. The game in itself is not a bad game but they ruined the series for me taking it in this direction, hence the score from a disappointed former fan of the series.
  3. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    This is different from the excellent burnout games that came before it. The change to the open city design is not fun. It ruins races, in my opinion. If you make one wrong turn, it could ruin a race. So rather than drive balls to the wall every second like in previous games, this one is all about going 75% so you don't miss your turns and don't waste your time in a race. That's not fun. You want to put me in a city with shortcuts? Fine. Just block off the unnecessary roads so I still have an opportunity to do something in each race. The open world objectives to complete with other drivers online can be fun, but only if everyone is on the same page, which is never the case. Some challenges require a lot of players to complete, and it's near impossible to get that many people willing to participate in whatever you want to do. So this means many of this games achievements are impossible. All in all this game just isn't fun to play. Sure, the mechanics are the same, and the sense of speed is exhilarating, but the open world is more frustrating than fun. I'll take a more linear, focused experience over this any day. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Criterion Games are back with another installment of the Burnout series, and it is certainly the best title yet. With gorgeous graphics and many new features, Burnout Paradise offers an incredible amount of replay value and will keep you entertained for many an hour. Whether you aim to complete all 350 online challenges, free-roam with your friends, enter ranked and player matches via Xbox Live, or just try and conquer hundreds of single player events and gain your coveted Burnout licence is up to you; but whatever you decide, I am sure you will have fun doing it. The game Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    This game is frustrating!All the other burnout games from the first one were incredible.Especially Burnout 3 and burnout revenge.I still will give this game a high score cause it is great but ea needs to fix the wrongs in this game.I still play burnout revenge because that game is a true example of perfection.I have to say that I like midnight club:Los Angeles better by a little bit.I give this game an 8. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Oh my word, this is a frightfully exciting game, isn't it, chaps? I say. I'm afraid to say that being a distinguished gentleman in the twilight years of his life, and dare I say it, "born with a silver spoon in his mouth", I had yet to encounter one of these new fangled "xbox 360" devices, but I was cajoled into having a "go" by my great-grandson and I'll say it was jolly good fun indeed! Unfortunately the opportunity for learning to drive an automobile never presented itself to me in life, as I've always enjoyed the benefit of having a chauffeur, so it took an awfully long time to become acquainted with the steering wheel "controller", but gosh the automobiles in this game do travel at some fair speed, I should hasten to add! If I were to be so rude as to fault the game at all, I should point out that it did not appear to feature the Rolls Royce Silver Shadow, as I would very much have liked to see how the game designers would have portrayed the automobile that ferries me around in real life. However that is a triviality that barely warrants a mention. This game appears to be sterling stuff, and well deserved of the 10 that I have thus awarded to it. Good night. Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    If I have to listen to Paradise City by Guns N' Roses one more time......Burnout Paradise should be a great game. It has a lot of things going for it: addictive gameplay, an open world, different game modes. Unfortunately these aspects don't get to shine because of the clunky way the game was designed. Findings the kind of race you want is difficult and the map isn't much help. Making your own route to the objective is a good idea but is implemented poorly. The sign telling you which way to turn is hard to notice in an adrenaline fueled car-off with more crashes than the annual Crash Bandicoot convention that I just made up. With no running narrative, the only encouragement to keep playing is to upgrade your license. Somehow this does not set my shins alight with excitement. And that DJ is annoying. Expand
  8. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    In theory taking Burnout into an open world was a great idea and Paradise certainly gives gamers more freedom than ever in which to race and generally cause chaos. Unfortunately however this freedom comes at a price. Having to drive across the map to activate events very quickly becomes a chore and it is also very easy to take a wrong turning leaving you with no hope of winning, something that is even more frustrating thanks to the strange decision not to allow races to simply be restarted.

    There is certainly a lot to admire about Burnout Paradise, and some will get many hours of enjoyment from it, but for me the open world is more detrimental than beneficial.
    Expand
  9. May 9, 2011
    8
    As a Burnout game, I WAS mildly disappointed with the lack of an explicit crash mode with the chained explosion effect of the previous games, overall, it's a gorgeous, well-designed, and fun game. Just taking a drive through the miles of the city's open roads is a nice experience, and the cars perform (and deform) as they should. Showtime can't completely fill Crash's shoes, but it does a damn good job trying, and online is a completely engrossing experience that can hook you for days. Overall, a spectacular game that Criterion should be proud of and maintain. Oh, hey, look, I'm not getting paid off by the company! I actually just like this game! Expand
  10. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    It reminds me a bit of GTA except you don't have to bother feeding yourself or hopping from vehicle to vehicle on foot. Now you can just do the rooftop shuffle from the safety of your car! With dozens of fun little stunt spots, plenty of raced out toys to drive, hundreds of shortcuts & jumps, a time trial on every road, and a healthy variety of events (race & other)..there is enough to keep even the shortest of attention spans occupied. Plus, with an open map and no defined circuits, you're left planning your own race routes and improvising the path along the way...pure genius! Expand
  11. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    Burnout Paradise was a brave move from Criterion. The familiar destruction-oriented gameplay in an open-world environment was fresh and innovative, but riddled with problems. For example, crash a few times and fall too far behind early in a race? You're given the option of riding out the event, or quitting and driving back to the starting line. A restart feature was present in the previous Burnout games, so why not this one? The progression is tedious and EXTREMELY repetitive. Complete x number of events to unlock the next stage of your license, before doing the same events again to achieve the next level, and so on. The game features some amazing graphics, and driving around in the mountains offers you some beautiful views. There's a ton of collectibles to find, and this adds a bit more substance to the free-roam gameplay. Overall, Burnout Paradise is a fun game, sure - but lacking the same level of finesse and polish as the previous titles. Expand
  12. May 27, 2013
    6
    The modern-day equivalent of Paradise is a mix between NFS Most Wanted (2012) and DiRT Showdown. With unrealistic cars, variety in car classes, emphasis on free-roam and exploration, Burnout Paradise is possibly one of the best racing games to just hop on and hop off. You can play it for hours and hours, or just for a few minutes. It's very straightforward, and you feel you know the game right from the start. There are a lot of vehicles in the game, all of which do have distinct traits. For a game with such simplistic driving mechanics, it's remarkable how different each vehicle feels. And with a free update, there's even more content. The events include races, time trials, stunt runs and a takedown mode. The number of billboards and gates to smash through also give reason for free-roaming. The game is very fast-paced and intense, especially as the events don't have a set route with checkpoints just start & finish. The game is possibly the easiest pick-up-and play racing game available, and yet it's still exciting and satisfying. Indeed, the city has been well-designed to accommodate for all sorts of crazy stuff. There is very little wrong with this game to be honest. The graphics could have been much worse given that it's running on RenderWare, which was developed in the late 1990s. If you're looking for a hardcore driving experience this is the polar opposite. Paradise is a game for everyone, regardless of their experience or tastes. In a way, it's the more arcadey sister of NFS Undercover. The problem with this game isn't the lack of content there's plenty to see and do with good variety. It's just that despite all this, Paradise is still quite boring to play not engaging and not something you look forward to playing just a game to pass the time. Expand
  13. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    This is a Good game with lots of adrenalin but It is don't have story and And I can't customize the cars BUT this is a very good game with a little miss.
  14. Dec 10, 2011
    1
    This is how i will point flaws: The good: Graphics. The bad: Everything else. Why: Ok first, this game is nothing like what the past games where. This one went all "racing" on us, instead of burnouts trademark crashes and takedowns. Second, while your driving, the game freezes at random spots so an imbred narrator can talk to you about the obvious. such as: "jump the ramps for points!". OK CAPTAIN OBVIOUS. This game is junk. I want my money back. Burnout 1-3 was good. The rest, nope. Did i mention the game is lifeless? Its so unreal its not even funny! So, you look into your car or others, and noone is there. Ghost car? And nobody walks on the street. This game is horrible. Expand
  15. Dec 20, 2011
    0
    This used to be a good game, i liked all of the previous series but after paradise i said goodbye to the series. Probably everyone did, considered the fact they're now doing Need for speed.. If you like burnout, you might not like paradise.
  16. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    This game isnt even burnout its just some stupid sh1t that tries to be a game but isn't there arent many things good about this game and its too different then the other burnouts
  17. Apr 21, 2014
    0
    It would have been a good game if they took the irritating crash cams out. They're not pretty, nobody likes them, they just stop me from playing the game. It doesn't handle jumps good, how the hell can my car be perfectly straight, when two of my wheels definetly went on the higher part of the ramp, and 4 of my wheels don't fit on it? You can't retry events easily, would it have been that hard to put a retry button in there. Annyoing piece of **** Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. With its new and open structure, it can be a shock at the beginning. But the gameplay is as addictive as ever and with its vertiginous speed, excellent framerate and, mainly, the new online multiplayer, the new Burnout is still a great game for any arcade racing fan. [Jan 2008]
  2. As someone who's closely followed Criterion's racing series for the last seven years, it warms my heart to see it evolve into something as innovative, satisfying, and polished as Paradise. [Feb 2008, p.74]
  3. What's here is nothing short of amazing, but I can't help but wonder what could have been. [Feb 2008, p.94]