Burnout Revenge Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 138
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    I'll tell you something right now,Criterion as a company are brilliant in every way possible.It's 2011 now and I just pop this game in still after all this time and LOVE IT!I'm deeply involved in there new game Hot pusuit but still play Burnout Paradise on a regular basis too.I'm a game junkie so I'll still play burnout 2 and 3 also but not as much but I'll tell you that Burnout RevengeI'll tell you something right now,Criterion as a company are brilliant in every way possible.It's 2011 now and I just pop this game in still after all this time and LOVE IT!I'm deeply involved in there new game Hot pusuit but still play Burnout Paradise on a regular basis too.I'm a game junkie so I'll still play burnout 2 and 3 also but not as much but I'll tell you that Burnout Revenge xbox version or 360 version rocks.I prefer the 360 version in a heart beat because it has more speed,better graphics and took everything amazing about the game and left the small irritation out.A definate 10 Expand
  2. 360bob
    Jan 10, 2006
    8
    great game except graphically there is very little diffrence between this version and the PS2 version except the 360 version is £15 more.
  3. JoelC.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    I seriously don't usually give out tens that easily. But this game is tons of fun, and once you play it it's very hard to put the controller down. And that what videogames are all about so this gets a deffinate ten. Also, it's much more than a simple upgrade from current gen versions. Amazing.
  4. SteveT.
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    What can I say. It's Burnout on the 360. Nuff said. I do have one complaint although it is minor. I noticed that if I play the game in 1080 i, it is too dark in some places and you end up crashing because you can't see. I ended up having to switch back to 480p. This deminishes the graphical wow factor only slightly. It still looks next gen, but just not quite as sharp. I What can I say. It's Burnout on the 360. Nuff said. I do have one complaint although it is minor. I noticed that if I play the game in 1080 i, it is too dark in some places and you end up crashing because you can't see. I ended up having to switch back to 480p. This deminishes the graphical wow factor only slightly. It still looks next gen, but just not quite as sharp. I don't know if it is just my TV or if this is something people should look out for. Just passing along the info. Besides that BURNOUT rules the road baby! The online is as fun as it gets. Check this one out for sure! Expand
  5. AnthonyVolpe
    Jun 9, 2006
    8
    SIngle-player mode is incredible - I have never had such a gleefully fun time playing a videogame, even when I crash my car and have to start over. The graphics are fantastic, but the improvements over the XBox version aren't very pronounced - the original XBox version ran at 60 FPS and looked just fine, especially when there was too much mayhem taking place to remotely CARE aboutSIngle-player mode is incredible - I have never had such a gleefully fun time playing a videogame, even when I crash my car and have to start over. The graphics are fantastic, but the improvements over the XBox version aren't very pronounced - the original XBox version ran at 60 FPS and looked just fine, especially when there was too much mayhem taking place to remotely CARE about how good the lighting effects anfd motion blur are. The XBox 360 version's Crash Mode was dumbed down from the regular XBox version's as a result of the exclusion of EA's familiar launch meter, but it's still fun, and having A CAMERA THAT I CAN MOVE is a very welcome improvement from Burnout 3. My only complaint about Burnout Revenge for the 360 is a tragic one: once again, EA's online implementation is an atrocity. Upon this game's release you couldn't go online with more than four people and despite advertising that you can have 6-player matches, there are STILL problems with the 5th and 6th contenders getting booted off within seconds of merely JOINING A LOBBY! Hey EA: there are other games out there that support 24 players on XBox Live (you make one or two of them) and that number could grow to about 50 in the not-too-distant future. Is there really any excuse for this? Expand
  6. TonyL.
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    Everyone wants to play this game at my house. Even non-gamers love it play it. Now that said.. I too have issues where my brand new HD TV 'CRT' is too dark in some areas either in 720p or 1080i. I had to move back to 480 and it's cleared up. I'm not finding this a real problem because gameplay is the same but screen is slightly fuzzier after seeing both. No one would Everyone wants to play this game at my house. Even non-gamers love it play it. Now that said.. I too have issues where my brand new HD TV 'CRT' is too dark in some areas either in 720p or 1080i. I had to move back to 480 and it's cleared up. I'm not finding this a real problem because gameplay is the same but screen is slightly fuzzier after seeing both. No one would notice unless they watched 720 for a while but as soon as the dark areas spoil your game then 480 is the only place to play. Expand
  7. MiguelG.
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    Every jealous man keeps bashing the best console arround, and its amazing games! PS2 a XB could never, ever do something like this. Technically impressive and most of all, FUN!
  8. MattT.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Best game on Xbox 360! Why play anything else?
  9. JohnK.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This is a really fun game! Great graphics, great gameplay, and LOTS of stuff to do both in single player and online. If you have any interest in racing games, or just enjoy crashing cars and making huge explosions, then this game is for you! Lots of fun maps to race through, with interesting shortcuts to be found (and plowed through). The first time you come flying off a jump and land on This is a really fun game! Great graphics, great gameplay, and LOTS of stuff to do both in single player and online. If you have any interest in racing games, or just enjoy crashing cars and making huge explosions, then this game is for you! Lots of fun maps to race through, with interesting shortcuts to be found (and plowed through). The first time you come flying off a jump and land on another car for a takedown, you will be truly amazed and it will keep you coming back for more! It is also quite satisfying when you finally take out an online rival that smashed you before (and who shows up with a red indicator so you know who you need to go after). The only downside to this game would be if you have the X-Box or PS2 version. If you do, I would only buy this game if you are really into the Burnout series because it is very similar to the prior version of the game, but it is graphically MUCH more beautiful to look at (and watch the cars smash apart)! Expand
  10. Xtreme$niper
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    Very addictive game that will last you for a long time. The single player is mindblowingly fast paced and fairly lengthy. Has great replay value due to the rating system. Multiplayer is also very fun and will last you a long time. I highly recommend this game!
  11. TheColonial
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Josh is quite clearly deranged. Give a game a '0' because "the graphics haven't improved enough"?? Idiot. Sounds like an angry little boy throwing his toys out of his pram. The game is great. I personally feel that it's a fun, replayable game that flexes the muscle of the console well enough considering the console is new. How long does it take a company to master Josh is quite clearly deranged. Give a game a '0' because "the graphics haven't improved enough"?? Idiot. Sounds like an angry little boy throwing his toys out of his pram. The game is great. I personally feel that it's a fun, replayable game that flexes the muscle of the console well enough considering the console is new. How long does it take a company to master building games for a platform?? In the case of the Xbox and PS2, it took ages. Games such as this, PGR3, and COD2 deserve a lot of credit for being this good so soon in the lifetime of the console. Expand
  12. CiaranG.
    Apr 29, 2006
    9
    A brilliant game. The graphics are brilliant and the gameplay is amazing. Online and offline multiplayer is LOTS of fun. There's lots to do in the game. The career mode is long and doesn't get boring. There seems to be an endless amount of crash junctions, tracks, cars and cities to play with. The crashes and car-pile ups are fantastic to see. - some of the pile-ups are A brilliant game. The graphics are brilliant and the gameplay is amazing. Online and offline multiplayer is LOTS of fun. There's lots to do in the game. The career mode is long and doesn't get boring. There seems to be an endless amount of crash junctions, tracks, cars and cities to play with. The crashes and car-pile ups are fantastic to see. - some of the pile-ups are incredible. You get to drive a car into the middle of a busy road, then watch as cars, bused and tracks explode and crash into each other, then you can use your "Crashbreaker" which is simply just detonating a bomb and sending cars flying.... lots of fun. There are loads of crash junctions so you never ever seem to get bored. Unless you repeatedly did the same crash juction over and over again you might get bored. There is a pretty good replay mode too so you can re-live the entire crash sequence or race over and over. My only critiscism is that you can't move the camera yourself when watching Crash Mode replays... but that dosen't ruin the fun at all. You can do revenge races, grand prix's, crash modes and new this time around for burnout revenge is Traffic Attack in which you have to hit as much traffic as you possibly can. The sound in the game is good and the in-game music is fine. Although I've found that sometimes during the replay mode I can't hear the engine of the car or there will be no music for some reason. Even if you are pretty crap at racing games you'll still find Burnout Revenge lots of fun and the game is still passable at a bronze level etc. Or for those more experienced gamers you can try to get the more challenging gold medals at races. If you like arcade games and destruction or just racing games I'd recommend this. This is a must-have game for those who have Xbox 360's. Expand
  13. Andyman
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Burnout Revenge is what it is... a pure shot of adrenaline, and nowhere is the adrenaline rush better than on the 360. Oh, and anyone who says that the graphics aren't a large improvement over the Xbox and PS2 versions really should see an optometrist, or maybe just upgrade to a television set worthy of this fine game.
  14. BryanM.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best racing games out there today. If you like smashing things up or just having fun get this game.
  15. MattB.
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    I have a very selective games collection, and generally only have the top 4-5 games at any one time on 360, but Burnout Revenge is never leaving my shelf (except maybe to be replaced with the forthcoming 'Burnout: Paradise'). - This is Burnout at it's best... fast, frantic fun at a constant 60 frames per second, with far greater detail than any other available version of I have a very selective games collection, and generally only have the top 4-5 games at any one time on 360, but Burnout Revenge is never leaving my shelf (except maybe to be replaced with the forthcoming 'Burnout: Paradise'). - This is Burnout at it's best... fast, frantic fun at a constant 60 frames per second, with far greater detail than any other available version of Burnout, plus far superior sound and extra content (more crash junctions) when compared with the Xbox/PS2 versions. You'll laugh yourself silly the first time you max out a crashbreaker... your screen briefly goes completely white with the intensity of the explosion while your subwoofer rattles the room.... Also has great online play. Buy it! Expand
  16. Syc
    Nov 9, 2006
    8
    An excellent arcade racer that suffers simply because it's the exact same game released a year previously on the last console generation, just prettier making a purchase redundant to those who played it then. Those new to the game should check it out.
  17. SharbazR.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    HOLY CRAP!!! This game rocks! I played through the Xbox version and was reluctant to pick up the 360 version, but seeing the downloadable cars at Circuit City did it for me....and boy am I glad I did. If you haven't, you MUST play this on Xbox Live. It's the best Live game I've ever played (and I own GRAW).
  18. Daz
    Mar 17, 2006
    10
    I played burnout 3 on the old xbox to death and although i didn't buy burnout 4 on the old xbox i did try it at a friends and it seemed OK. I never played it online. Now i have my new xbox 360 and burnout revenge is released for it. Do i buy it just for the online play (since i like playing with others over xbox live)? After quite a bit of thought i bought it and am i glad i did!! I played burnout 3 on the old xbox to death and although i didn't buy burnout 4 on the old xbox i did try it at a friends and it seemed OK. I never played it online. Now i have my new xbox 360 and burnout revenge is released for it. Do i buy it just for the online play (since i like playing with others over xbox live)? After quite a bit of thought i bought it and am i glad i did!! The online part of this game is AMAZING with very little (if any at all) lag. The graphics are a step up from the old xbox although not outstanding. I particularly like the way that onscreen you can see how far ahead (or behind) the other players are. When one is catching you up you have a great urge to put your foot down. I had heard about the new online revenge element before buying and thought it would be quite lame but actually it's very good. When you take out another player (or are taken out) this is remembered by xbox live and so either later that same game or at anypoint in the future, the game will remind you that you took that player out before (or will remind you to get revenge if YOU were taken out). It's a very nice touch and i did find myself trying to get revenge on other players while partially ignoring others. Offline the single player seems to be pretty much as it was on the old xbox except for the nicer graphics. If you bought this on the old one and played it to death offline you probably won't want to spend your cash on this. However if you play on xbox live and want a great game which is good looking, exciting and lots of fun i'd recommend this to you. Expand
  19. GrahamB.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Hats off to the Criterion team you've done it again :)
  20. Halo
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Frankly it's the best driving game on the 360. Visually stunning, Live Revenge rocks and I got my clip into the top 20 :P
  21. Rich
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    My friend showed me his game, now I want a 360! I wasn't convinced before but now I am.
  22. ChrisC.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    It rocks! No other description of this game is neccessary. I own the previous version and still love this game. Online is the best by far, no other racing game has this sort of rivalry or just plain fun!
  23. ZaneM.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Played the xbox version, and now played this, amazing. If you have the cash then get this, i was amazed by the sense of speed, the cars deforming and mashing up all over the place, the blur looked like what i saw out of the window of a tokyo bullet train with all the colours smearing together. Played this on a mates 360 live, i don't have an account yet, and loved the fact it kept Played the xbox version, and now played this, amazing. If you have the cash then get this, i was amazed by the sense of speed, the cars deforming and mashing up all over the place, the blur looked like what i saw out of the window of a tokyo bullet train with all the colours smearing together. Played this on a mates 360 live, i don't have an account yet, and loved the fact it kept track of what i was doing to other people... i think it keeps track of what other people were doing to me too, but i didn't see it, i was just too damn good! Loved the game, will be playing this rather than GRAW or PGR3. Expand
  24. JB
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Fastest, best looking 360 game out there. Nuff said!
  25. RogerG.
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    This game rocks. Was unsure about the difference between the xbox and 360 version but this is as good as it gets. I knew there was a reason to fork out for HD! Worth every penny.
  26. WilliamE.
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    Awesome game! what more needs to be said?
  27. JobAdkins
    Apr 27, 2006
    8
    The sense of speed is mind blowing!I think this game is absolutely amazing.I haven't played it on the original x-box version but I can only imagine and asume that this version is definetly better.I'm giving this a 8.5 cause even though there is a bit more to this game then burnout 3,I think that game is better.
  28. JonnyBoy
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    Burnout is the best racing game ever made. Masterpiece!
  29. RyanC
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    this game is one of the best racing games that i have ever played, especially when you can use a traffic car and taking out a rival. I would recommend this game to someone that has never played a game that deals with choosing a car and just obliterating it until you win.
  30. AlexL.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    A mindless but amazingly fun arcade racer. The various gameplay modes give a lot of replay value, the graphics and crash physics are stunning, and the online play is a blast. Top notch overall, even if, like myself, you're not a real fan of racing games.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Some purists may still be turned off by the confusing tracks and the "traffic-check" carnage, and there probably isn't enough new here to warrant a buy for those who have already played through Revenge last year, but the engine is running more smoothly than ever, adding another solid racer to the growing 360 garage.
  2. Burnout Revenge is the best arcade racer to date. Welcome to next-gen.
  3. An outstanding next-gen racer and one of the best games for the 360 to date.