User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 196

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    An OK game. Brings little new to the table. Has some very fun objectives and has some interesting characters, but they were largely forgettable. Graphics are OK, nothing special, but the game still hold very smooth and fun gameplay that can be enjoyed for long periods of time
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    An overall decent FPS, that brings little more to the genre than more beautiful graphics and the grappling encounters. Worth getting if you like WWII shooters.
  3. TomG
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    THE best game ever. Lifelife graphics, realism, intense, other words i dont know. Not getting this should be a felony of the highest degree.
  4. Jt
    Nov 11, 2006
    5
    CoD3 just wasn't worth my $60. Recoil makes many of the weapons I enjoyed in CoD2 useless (Example, every single fully automatic weapon except the Thompson and the German sub-machine gun.) Buggy friendly AI and plenty of checkpoint glitches all around. More than once I've only gotten close to beating a battle to be blocked by friendlies while I'm trying to get into/out of a CoD3 just wasn't worth my $60. Recoil makes many of the weapons I enjoyed in CoD2 useless (Example, every single fully automatic weapon except the Thompson and the German sub-machine gun.) Buggy friendly AI and plenty of checkpoint glitches all around. More than once I've only gotten close to beating a battle to be blocked by friendlies while I'm trying to get into/out of a house to heal. If you even get close to a checkpoint, even if you don't clear out all of the enemies and die, you respawn with new friendly soldiers, and skip the area where you were fighting last. Driving was a BIG let-down. You might as well paint a bullseye on your chest, prime a grenade, and run around screaming. Graphics weren't an amazing improvement, and I'm sick and tired of playing through World War II three times in a single series. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    It's gameplay and graphics may not be as revolutionary as Infinity Ward's predecessor, but Treyarch's "Call Of Duty" still represents a memorable WWII shooter that rings a high-note in the franchise's narrative track record.
  6. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    its a good game
    it was fun to play it
    it has a good gameplay and still better
    than modern warfare. i think that the original trilogy
    is better than modern warfare
  7. Daniel
    Jan 16, 2007
    4
    If it aint broke don't fix it! COD2 was probably my favorite game of all time; but this is a buggy, soulless version of it. A lot of the same guns are back but they just feel really different. It's hard to describe, but they're harder to use effectively (especially the snipers) and some are just plain stupidly annoying. Vehicles handle like crap and reek of gimmicky-ness. If it aint broke don't fix it! COD2 was probably my favorite game of all time; but this is a buggy, soulless version of it. A lot of the same guns are back but they just feel really different. It's hard to describe, but they're harder to use effectively (especially the snipers) and some are just plain stupidly annoying. Vehicles handle like crap and reek of gimmicky-ness. Multiplayer (which was insanely addictive in COD2) is a major disappointment. 24 player matches sound cool in theory, until you realize you get shot and killed about every three seconds and have to wait ages to get back in a game where you will probably get killed again really soon. Levels are too damn big and lifeless. Just a major disappointment. Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    Decent game all and all but there are some major problems that hold this game back. For example, all of the quick time events are really repetitive never really that interesting. Once again, this shooter is good but brings nothing new to the table.
  9. Matthewohlsheskie
    Jan 27, 2007
    0
    its unbelivealbe how a game like this causes damage in life....My cousin came ot my house for my dads b-day...my cousin is 8 years old and likes video games....so anyways i went to rent a game with him and he pointed out call of duty 3...we went back to my house and played it and then the party started (i got a blow job) and my cousin came in the room my dad was in and scremed awww thoeseits unbelivealbe how a game like this causes damage in life....My cousin came ot my house for my dads b-day...my cousin is 8 years old and likes video games....so anyways i went to rent a game with him and he pointed out call of duty 3...we went back to my house and played it and then the party started (i got a blow job) and my cousin came in the room my dad was in and scremed awww thoese f***ing natzys...fire in the hole b****s...anyways great gamplay and great graphics Expand
  10. Buddy
    May 22, 2009
    1
    Could have been a good game. But things like: 1. Having the cutscenes start up - no matter where you are in the level - when you first load the game is retarded. 2. Having to watch the cutscenes (no way to click out of them) is retarded. 3. The friendly AI is retarded. 4. Allowing the enemy AI to lean, but not giving the player that option is retarded. 5. Having to completely expose Could have been a good game. But things like: 1. Having the cutscenes start up - no matter where you are in the level - when you first load the game is retarded. 2. Having to watch the cutscenes (no way to click out of them) is retarded. 3. The friendly AI is retarded. 4. Allowing the enemy AI to lean, but not giving the player that option is retarded. 5. Having to completely expose yourself in order to throw a nade is retarded. 6. The friendly AI is REALLY retarded. and finally, 7. The most completely asinine, retarded spacing of checkpoints EVER is completely friggin' retarded. I won't ever buy another Call of Duty game. Expand
  11. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty 3 is probably the best COD game I have played, and still remains that way. MP was very well balanced, with some of the best maps in the series. Once COD 4 came out, the series seemed to take a dive for the worse. The class based system, and vehicular gameplay trumps the close quarter combat, run and gun style of the newer COD games.
  12. Nov 16, 2011
    4
    Nickels? Really? Who would call their child Nickels? I'm come on! That name wrecked the game play for me and I couldn't focus to killing anything because that guy's name was Nickels. And how can you have a good arm if your name is Nickels? I don't like that name very much.
  13. Apr 14, 2012
    4
    It's horrible in my oppinon and I can tell you. The campaign's crap as hell and needed work. And the multiplayer was was even worse with messed up combat and broken guns. Campaign 4/10 Multiplayer 2/10 COD 3 4.2/10
  14. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    This game sucked the tanks are too overpowered the maps sucked ppl can drop shot with their eyes closed this game sucked it was aweful it sucked dont get it
  15. Jan 16, 2014
    2
    I know I have played and completed this game I cannot remember a thing about it, it only earns a 2 because It must have been engaging enough to play through to the end. Overall the only thing I can say is that it's not as memorable as COD 2 or Modern Warfare, the gameplay is same old just without anything that stands out like in the previously mentioned COD titles.
  16. PeterW.
    Nov 6, 2006
    6
    The long awaited sequel to a great Xbox 360 launch game is here. However, it wasn't exactly worth the wait. Game is too short (approx 10 hours of gameplay) and achievements are too easy (although there are a few multiplayer achievements I couldn't get because there aren't many people online yet). Graphics are just a tad better the COD2 which is a HUGE disappointment for me The long awaited sequel to a great Xbox 360 launch game is here. However, it wasn't exactly worth the wait. Game is too short (approx 10 hours of gameplay) and achievements are too easy (although there are a few multiplayer achievements I couldn't get because there aren't many people online yet). Graphics are just a tad better the COD2 which is a HUGE disappointment for me as this was to be believed 1 of the 2 second generation games that were bound to have great graphics... The best innovation is being able to drive vehicles and throw back enemy grenates! Expand
  17. JimmyJ.
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    It
  18. AlejandroR.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    Call of Duty 3 is an excellent game. The single player mode with 14 levels is great, and the achievements to go along with it are entertaining to complete. This game probably has better graphics than any other XBOX 360 game. The reason why I did not give it a ten is because it doesnt have small levels for you and a friend to play split screen. I played my brother in this and it took about Call of Duty 3 is an excellent game. The single player mode with 14 levels is great, and the achievements to go along with it are entertaining to complete. This game probably has better graphics than any other XBOX 360 game. The reason why I did not give it a ten is because it doesnt have small levels for you and a friend to play split screen. I played my brother in this and it took about 10 minutes just to find him in the stage. But still, this game is one of the best XBOX 360 games yet. Expand
  19. samjames
    Jun 22, 2008
    8
    a good solid shooter that delivers everything you'd expect. if you wanna test yourself BIGTIME, finish this game on vetran. i have finished just about every major fps on the market, including Halo 1,2,3 all Call of dutys (this one most recently) Half lifes, metroid primes, rainbow sixs, ghost recons, far crys, unreal tournement s and brothers in arms out there on the hardesta good solid shooter that delivers everything you'd expect. if you wanna test yourself BIGTIME, finish this game on vetran. i have finished just about every major fps on the market, including Halo 1,2,3 all Call of dutys (this one most recently) Half lifes, metroid primes, rainbow sixs, ghost recons, far crys, unreal tournement s and brothers in arms out there on the hardest difficulty, and THIS is the hardest of them all. impossibly hard. just try it and you will see. the game is really a 7, but i gave it and 8 cos i like the challenge Expand
  20. MannyJ.
    Jan 1, 2007
    6
    I gave it a six because the missions are so fricking repetitive and the A.I. Sucks man! My guys block the way everwhere and I always die it gets very annoying. plus the online isnt very good either, too many people. CoD2 was way better treyarch didnt do such a good job if only infinity ward made this game would probably be way better but treyarch just ruined this game lets hope they do I gave it a six because the missions are so fricking repetitive and the A.I. Sucks man! My guys block the way everwhere and I always die it gets very annoying. plus the online isnt very good either, too many people. CoD2 was way better treyarch didnt do such a good job if only infinity ward made this game would probably be way better but treyarch just ruined this game lets hope they do better next time...... if there is one. Expand
  21. KalleP.
    May 9, 2007
    0
    The most fustrating game EVER!!!! the way it's made hard is just stupid!!!
  22. JamesLee
    Nov 10, 2006
    4
    COD 1 10 COD2 10 COD3 4 this game is awful its like a different game under the same name spoils everything infinity ward worked for apalling
  23. MikkoP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    Easily the best online 360 game right now. The 7 classes are in perfect balance, 9 maps are all great. In a game mode called "WAR" the action gets VERY intense compared to other online games around, and people are forced in teamwork. Single player, not so good. It has great moments and graphics, and really annoying moments and ugly graphics here and there. (The magically glowing Lee Easily the best online 360 game right now. The 7 classes are in perfect balance, 9 maps are all great. In a game mode called "WAR" the action gets VERY intense compared to other online games around, and people are forced in teamwork. Single player, not so good. It has great moments and graphics, and really annoying moments and ugly graphics here and there. (The magically glowing Lee Enfield, anyone) As a rule, civilian homes look like crap indoors, all outdoor locations look great. Also, it´s much more restricted than COD2, very corridor-like. Yes you can select routes occasionally: go via corridor 1 or corridor 2. Gameplay is not as polished as in COD2. You get sometimes stuck in small boxes on the floor, you cannot jump over fence, you try to shoot behind a tree, but hit a invisible tree and bulletholes float in the air. Sometimes it feels like the enemy can shoot you, even when they don´t see you. NPC´s animations and movements are twitchier than before. Plus, you cannot skip the long cutscenes, yes, you have to watch them every frickin time you get back to the game! For single player, I still prefer COD2, eventhough COD3 has some improved graphics. Online, it rocks and none of the crticism apply for online play. Expand
  24. JG
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    COD3 is a very magnificent game in the making. The graphics and multiplayer are even better than COD2, but doesn't have the same gameplay as COD2 which was disapointing
  25. FraserD.
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    Killer title. Cool touches in the single player gam,e - like the next gen grass and solid AI. Amazing mulitplay. You have to check out the new "War" mode in multiplay.!!
  26. Devin
    Nov 8, 2006
    1
    Fatally flawed and infuriating. Treyarch has, for some reason, found it fit to handicap every weapon in Call of Duty to the point where every single one of them is rendered nearly completely impotent and useless. Kickback and reload times have been increased to maddening levels, rendering competative splitscreen play almost devoid of fun. Small objects in the terrain now hold soldiers Fatally flawed and infuriating. Treyarch has, for some reason, found it fit to handicap every weapon in Call of Duty to the point where every single one of them is rendered nearly completely impotent and useless. Kickback and reload times have been increased to maddening levels, rendering competative splitscreen play almost devoid of fun. Small objects in the terrain now hold soldiers back to a ridiculous degree: getting out of trenches that are dug less than a foot deep can become very difficult. Additionally, the levels have been made insanely large, leaving no skirmish boards ideal for splitscreen play with one's friends. Lack of variety in the levels leads to boredom, and lack of functionality in the guns (though it may have been for the sake of "realism") makes the task of hunting down an enemy an arduous task. Vehicles are also almost completely worthless in splitscreen competative play. The controls are awkward and clunky to an extent that even stepping behind the wheel is tantamount to suicide. In short, Treyarch has taken my favorite multiplayer party game and systematically destroyed nearly every element that made the game fun. Avoid like the plague if you enjoy playing with your friends. Expand
  27. ArthurO.
    Dec 20, 2006
    3
    With the amount of quality games that recently came out, there truly is no reason for anyone to pick this up. My usual success in buying games failed the worst ever with this purchase. All starts out well as the game impresses with graphics that are the best I have seen on 360. Then the frantic firefight it drops you in the middle of in campaign is something out of a cinamatic With the amount of quality games that recently came out, there truly is no reason for anyone to pick this up. My usual success in buying games failed the worst ever with this purchase. All starts out well as the game impresses with graphics that are the best I have seen on 360. Then the frantic firefight it drops you in the middle of in campaign is something out of a cinamatic masterpiece. The problems start shortly thereafter. Once the pace starts to slow down, it is obvious just how bad the controls are. The control issues seem even worse after you boot up Live. It isn't that the controls are glitchy or unresponsive; it is just that with the way recent shooters have raised the level of detail in controls, you are left expecting so much more. I actually booted up a copy of Halo 2 after trying out the Live combat as realized that it even seemed watered down compared to that. I strongly urge anyone tempted in this title to not waste their money as I admittedly did; look towards other, far better shooters that have been recently released. I would strongly recommend Rainbow Six Vegas and Gears of War is very competent as well. Stay clear of this poorly controlling shooter. Expand
  28. CarcasGalactic
    Aug 27, 2006
    9
    HELLO. you cares if the game isn't out. I went and reserved it the other day at game stop and got the demo disk. As far as i can tell its going to be asome. YOU GET TO BE CANADIANS!!! Is there anything that could be more fun!!! GO ACTIVITION!!! Your rigfht on top next to bungie as far as im concerned
  29. JohnW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    Great game, awesome graphics, gameplay is unbelievable....definitely worth the $59.99......The only thing is that there should have been a co-op mode and the multiplayer (local) has no AI's, so its pretty boring.
  30. gingerman
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    any person who gives this game a grade less than 10 is either blind, deaf or dumb or play viva pinata or something. how can you say anything bad about this game?...it is such a giant leap from COD2 that the idiotic reviews gave me a headache. how is this any similar to the past COD games if this is the only one that uses true physics?...rag doll effects?...dynamic lighting and weather any person who gives this game a grade less than 10 is either blind, deaf or dumb or play viva pinata or something. how can you say anything bad about this game?...it is such a giant leap from COD2 that the idiotic reviews gave me a headache. how is this any similar to the past COD games if this is the only one that uses true physics?...rag doll effects?...dynamic lighting and weather effects?...are you people insane?...you spoiled, squirel brained scruffy nerf hurters!!!!!...show me a better war game, ever...i dare you. just the graphics alone can beat any game in its path, so go home idiots and play pinata if you dont agree. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. While the [single-player] combat is still brilliant and it looks a lot better, the unskippable cutscenes, unvaried locations, irritating characters and mini-games all really grate. However, adding in the much improved multiplayer with a variety of cool vehicles, Treyarch has really rounded off Infinity Ward's vision. [Dec 2006, p.90]
  2. The scope for large online battles and some great fun action in the single-player mode make this a worthwhile purchase. Fans of "Call of Duty 2" will really have a lot of fun with it. But Call of Duty 3 could have and should have, been better than this.
  3. 85
    Treyarch and Activision have done an great job with COD3 and created an experience that is at once much the same, but also better, than its predecessor.