User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1314 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SeanZ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is actually much better than the playstation 3 version. Fanboys of the PS3 still won't admit the 360's superiority in games and online. Call of duty 4 completely proves all that the 360 has already said. Great graphics, no lag whatsoever, and much smoother than the PS3.
  2. ChrisH.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Besides the fact that this game is absolutely beautiful. It delivers the best console FPS action out there today. The single player story is interesting and engrossing, and the multiplayer level system is he definition of addicting.
  3. RayB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as fun as cod 4...not by a long shot. thats a major suprize, considering halo 3 was meant to own xbox live...but cod 4 won that battle hands down. however...the game of the year must goto bioshock. Expand
  4. GregQuick
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    Based on the 360 multiplayer beta, I have to give this game a 9, only because there were only 3 available maps and at least half of the game was locked. I fully expect to give this game a 10 rating when it is released, because the beta by itself was ridiculously addictive...
  5. PatL.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, amazing!
  6. AllanM.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Though short the single player is THRILLING. And the real reason to buy any FPS is the multiplayer which succeeds on EVERY level. A remarkable multiplayer experience that perfectly blends run and gun with Ghost Recon style tactics. Bravo IW.
  7. MichaelE.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing.
  8. ShaneC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    By far the best game of the year. Halo pales in comparison.
  9. JohnC.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    The graphics are amazing, Couldn't believe what I was seeing. The gameplay was very fluid and enjoyable, perfected actually. I am not far into the game, maybe two hours, but I am addicted.
  10. JasonL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    I haven't been to far into the campaign but what I have played has been as good as an FPS military style game. That being said this game probably has the best multiplayer I have ever played. I'm a huge halo fan, I love Rainbow Six Vegas, I enjoyed lost planet and GRAW 2 and this trounces all of them easily. Aside from the occasional lag the mulitplayer is perfect.
  11. ArthurH.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and detail they put into every mission you'll see why. Buy it now! Expand
  12. RoBoTG.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    CoD4's multiplayer alone warrants a perfect score, but it doesn't stop there. The single player is great and Arcade mode is super cool.
  13. KyleB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect 10 out of 10. Expand
  14. StuW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable game. I wish I can get back to the single player game but I'm hooked on the upgrade-crack system of multiplayer. It's Diablo II all over again, except in a game that keeps your heart racing for hours and blows your ears and eyes away from your head. If you are into FPS you better get this game - now.
  15. DavidH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There is so much diversity that this game will make you want to play the single player at least twice (Having an arcade mode is a major plus) The Single player is fantastic, but what makes this game special is the most comprehensive and enjoyable Multiplayer that Call of Duty games are known to have. Playing through Xbox Live I can always find a game. The RPG style of leveling up weapons is such a nice touch. As far as I am concerned if you hate FPS in all forms and don't want to shill out 60 dollars for this game. At least go to your movie rental store and try it out for a week - I promise you that you will not be disappointed! Expand
  16. vz
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Want extra hours of campaign game play? Push the difficulty level on notch higher than the recommended one :) Even getting killed is so sweet in such a wonderful game!
  17. MichaelR.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it or you could buy it to add it to your collection because its worth keeping.I don't think games can get any better than this game.The start and ending is better then a lot of Hollywood movies. Expand
  18. KevinL.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    This game plain and simple, just never gets old. Awesome from the minute you turn it on, until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  19. BrutalThumb
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    If this doesn't get game of the year, it will be a true shame. Yeah, the single player is short, but who cares, I would rather have a short campaign that is wonderful than a long one that is dull. And where it truely shines is online. GOTY!!!!!!
  20. COD4Nut
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls slightly short, but the way that infinity ward has made up for this is the intense online mode with tonnes of different modes and player perks and also the ability to call in airstrikes and choppers. AWESOME! kicks halo 3's butt like shaq would kick kobe's. can wait for the next one. Expand
  21. AdamM.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Great single player pretty short but best online game ever made, i loved halo3 and the orange box (not so much team fortress2) but this is the best online fps by a country mile.
  22. MaxM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    8
    Takes a while getting used to but its fun when you get the hang of it. The weapons need balancing, though. For example, the sniper is useless because everyone dies in one or two hits anyways. Plus theres a frikin kill camera when you kill someone with a sniper. It takes the whole point out of it! Still is a great game though.
  23. MattM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Perfect, in every detail. Perfect online, perfect campaign, perfect controls. Perfect.
  24. McdeathO.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    A near faultless games, one of the best looking games on the 360 with one of the best single player campaigns I have played in any game to date. Ok, it was a little short - that's what stops it getting a perfect 10 in my books but the multiplayer mechanic is faultless and addictive and in the 6-8 hours you are actually playing the campaign you are loving every breath-taking minute. A near faultless games, one of the best looking games on the 360 with one of the best single player campaigns I have played in any game to date. Ok, it was a little short - that's what stops it getting a perfect 10 in my books but the multiplayer mechanic is faultless and addictive and in the 6-8 hours you are actually playing the campaign you are loving every breath-taking minute. Well worth a buy and as a diehard halo fan who was thoroughly disappointed by the 3rd in the series, i seriously recommend this game. A serious benchmark in FPS's...[9.8/10]. Expand
  25. Shadowstorm
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    The recently released PC demo and the multiplayer BETA on the Xbox 360 platform has convinced me to purchase this title. Multiplayer gaming was smooth, graphically impressive, and the gameplay mechanics were, I felt, very balanced. So far I have been impressed with this and I can't wait to get my hands on it again on November 5th, when this title is released.
  26. Daboy3000
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    Call of Duty2 was by far the best of the trio, untill now! I have only played the multiplayer beta but from that i have decided that COD4 is the new daddy. Cross Rainbow6 with COD2 and you have your man. I have been racking my brains to find something bad about the beta but i can't, the controls are where you want them, fast but smooth, graphics and sound are top notch and theCall of Duty2 was by far the best of the trio, untill now! I have only played the multiplayer beta but from that i have decided that COD4 is the new daddy. Cross Rainbow6 with COD2 and you have your man. I have been racking my brains to find something bad about the beta but i can't, the controls are where you want them, fast but smooth, graphics and sound are top notch and the promotion system is fantastic allowing you to develop yourself with better perks, weapons and upgrades. But one question remains, will the single player kick as much ass as the multi-player and if it doesn't i don't care cause i'll be online, kickin' backside. Expand
  27. PvtCastle
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because i have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, Im actually in the Army and the Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because i have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, Im actually in the Army and the weapons like the M16 A-4 and the AK are very realistic. I would recommend to everyone. Expand
  28. ElisioS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    First off, I'd highly recommend this to anyone that wants a purely multiplayer based experience and doesn't have qualms about spending $60 on such a game. Now, if you're like me, and you want something that's a bit more of a "complete package" for $60, then Call of Duty 4 may not satisfy you. The anemic campaign makes Halo 3's length seem epic in comparison. To First off, I'd highly recommend this to anyone that wants a purely multiplayer based experience and doesn't have qualms about spending $60 on such a game. Now, if you're like me, and you want something that's a bit more of a "complete package" for $60, then Call of Duty 4 may not satisfy you. The anemic campaign makes Halo 3's length seem epic in comparison. To add insult to this injury, the achievements are all based on the campaign. Sure you get the "arcade" mode, but there aren't any achievements for doing things like getting a high score in said arcade mode. The campaign itself is pretty good, its just too short for its own good. It can also be very repetitive after awhile, but non-standard missions, such as a sniping and gunship one, break this up and create some amazing moments. The enemy AI isn't particularly impressive. What the game does well, is very solid however. The multiplayer is very, very polished and the graphics are nothing short of great. In comparison to other Call of Duty games, this one doesn't feel as "pop n shoot" and this is mostly because of the new modern setting. For example: an M4 equipped with the M203 'nade launcher makes it pretty tempting to run n gun, whereas an M1 Garand in the hedges of 1944 France had the tendency to make you take your time and conserve ammo with precise shooting. Overall, I liked the game just like I liked CoD2 and CoD1, but ultimately it was just too short for me to actually buy it. I simply borrowed it from a friend and beat it in a single midnight to wee hour of the morning sitting. Its a shame that it was so short. It really left me craving for more, but maybe that's a good thing. Otherwise, it might have gotten repetitive to the point where its boring if the developer ran out of ideas to keep it fresh. Buy it used for the XBox Live experience or borrow it for a weekend or two like I did. Its worth a playthrough for sure. Expand
  29. Colin
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    What else can I say! After playing nearly all of the xbox360 'killer-aps' of the last year, inluding, Halo 3, Mass Effect, The Orange Box and Bioshock I can confidently conclude that COD4 is the best of the lot. The single-player is short, but every single minute is exihillarating, and so compressed with quality that it's comparative to playing five 'alright' What else can I say! After playing nearly all of the xbox360 'killer-aps' of the last year, inluding, Halo 3, Mass Effect, The Orange Box and Bioshock I can confidently conclude that COD4 is the best of the lot. The single-player is short, but every single minute is exihillarating, and so compressed with quality that it's comparative to playing five 'alright' games. Then the multiplayer is also in a league of its own, I don't understand why so many people bang on about Halo 3's multiplayer, this game leaves it K.I.A in the Live battlefield. If you like games then you owe it to yourself to play this. An instant classic. Expand
  30. BM.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    This game Is just SICK! One of the best all-around games I've played. Made me say Halo what? But I am sick of all these people complaining about the campaign being too short- Turn up the difficulty and I promise you that it will take you a lot longer to beat. It will borderline piss you off.
  31. Adrisn
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Pretty much perfect game. Now everyone thinks they wanna be in the military.
  32. EricG.
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    The campaign is nothing special pretty much feels like the other CoD's but online is very involving, you can hold your own with the default classes and weapons but leveling up to unlock more weapons, accessories, and job classes pulls you in this is my new favorite online game.
  33. JacobH.
    Jan 5, 2008
    8
    Its a really really great game, and don't forget that, for several reasons. The graphics are brilliant, the single player campaign is compelling, surprising and inspiring, and the multi-player is brilliant. There are also a ton of cool features that other games dont have (like being able to shoot through walls). Only Halo 3 beats it on online play but thats not for now. It loses the Its a really really great game, and don't forget that, for several reasons. The graphics are brilliant, the single player campaign is compelling, surprising and inspiring, and the multi-player is brilliant. There are also a ton of cool features that other games dont have (like being able to shoot through walls). Only Halo 3 beats it on online play but thats not for now. It loses the two points because the single player campaign in very short even on the harder settings, you cant have 2 players on the same Xbox online (like Halo 3), and the AI can be really really retarded sometimes. Also the fact that no matter how many times you're allies die in the campaign another one pops up from behind to "help". Expand
  34. MattC.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. Multiplayer alone worth the price.
  35. BryanMcCann
    Jan 7, 2008
    8
    Just for the multiplayer this game would have gotten a 7 but its graphics are much better then Orange dumb boxs at least in this game, online is not totally lag paradise where you can not even play the game. if you like multiplayer get this game if you dont have live just rent this because the story is way to short!
  36. AndrewA.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    This game is intense. Love it. This is why i play video games.
  37. NickJ.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    This game was an all around best. I have friends that LOVE Halo and when they bought CoD:4 they were amazed by it. One problem is the headshots. You have to shoot them twice. Also the online cage-match is not good because people "boost" their rank. I hope they know this is against the Code of Conduct for Xbox Live.
  38. DanielC.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    The best FPS on any console so far, Single player may be short but it has arcade mode which will give at least 4-6 hours ontop,If you play online then the gaming goodness will never end i have played online for over 250 hours and am only now starting to play other games,So if that is not good value what is. thank you COD4!
  39. DewaldH.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Simply the best multiplayer out there! Single player is incredible, I enjoyed finishing it on veteran!
  40. Ryencoke
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    No questions asked, this was the best shooter of 07' (Since RB6: Vegas was released in 06'.). Anybody who gives this game below a 6 is a moron.. Or they're not so big into the FPS shooters. This game is far far far better than Halo in so many aspects. People are saying how it requires no skill to be good at this game, when it most certainly does. The online play for this No questions asked, this was the best shooter of 07' (Since RB6: Vegas was released in 06'.). Anybody who gives this game below a 6 is a moron.. Or they're not so big into the FPS shooters. This game is far far far better than Halo in so many aspects. People are saying how it requires no skill to be good at this game, when it most certainly does. The online play for this game is some of the best I have seen in a long time. Runs perfect, and is better than the PS3 version (I have played both online and offline). Best game on the market until Rainbow Six Vegas 2. Expand
  41. ChrisB.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    the games amazing... yea the singleplayer is pretty short... but the online definately makes up for that... halo 3 is a bunch of crap compared to this COD4... a must have game... for people with good taste
  42. JustinE.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. The campaign is relatively short, but if you have any sense at all, you'd know that this game is about multiplayer. The progression system keeps the game fun forever. I got this and Halo 3 at the same time, and I have to say that Halo is completely lacking in most areas compared to CoD4. The multiplayer is amazing and seldom gets old. Halo, on the other hand, This game is amazing. The campaign is relatively short, but if you have any sense at all, you'd know that this game is about multiplayer. The progression system keeps the game fun forever. I got this and Halo 3 at the same time, and I have to say that Halo is completely lacking in most areas compared to CoD4. The multiplayer is amazing and seldom gets old. Halo, on the other hand, gets old extremely quick, and it doesn't help that everyone that plays Halo is a complete A HOLE. Seriously. Everyone. CoD4 is also much more balanced. Overall way better. Expand
  43. KevinN.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    The best Online game that I've played yet. The Campaign is amazing and the action never stops.
  44. DavidG.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    I never played a war game in my life until I play Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and it changed my perspective on first-person shooter games completely. This is a must have game for any gamer who owns a PlayStation 3, xbox 360, or PC. Online for call of duty 4 is the greatest. The game play is also incredibly realistic.
  45. DavidGagen
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    I never played a war game in my life until I played Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and let me tell you this game changed my perspective on First-Person Shooters completly. Its single player might be a little short but the online most certainly makes up for it. This game encouraged me to buy more First and Third-person shooters. Any gamer who owns a PS3, Xbox 360, or even a PC shouldI never played a war game in my life until I played Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and let me tell you this game changed my perspective on First-Person Shooters completly. Its single player might be a little short but the online most certainly makes up for it. This game encouraged me to buy more First and Third-person shooters. Any gamer who owns a PS3, Xbox 360, or even a PC should definatley purchase this award winning game. Expand
  46. JeremyA.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing between the campaign and the online play one of the greatest games of all time.
  47. BadHatHarry
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    (I would give this game a 9.5 but there is no 9.5 in the score rating database thing) This game is an amazing achievement in 360 history. Top-notch graphics, excellent campaign, awesome muliplayer! This game has it all.
  48. BenW.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    This is without a doubt the best FPS ever made, and I highly doubt that there will be anything that comes remotely close to surpassing COD4 in the genre for years to come.
  49. GilsT
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best shotters i have played in a long time even if the physics are not the best it is kind of funny that if you are in oldschool mode if you shoot someone with a pistol that they take a backfilp and they twist their waist in a circle
  50. SamM.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    This game gats a 10, Just for the online mode, with lots of modes available, Excellent maps. this game just keeps you coming back for more. Offline it is a solid shooter which will please all fps fans and would be an 8/10.but online this game rocks.
  51. TedB.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    The online experience is ideal for a highly competitive superfreak like myself. Modern Combat is absolutely the best first person shooter ever made. Thank you Infinity Ward and please continue building more maps for us to enjoy!
  52. KhristianR.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    COD4 is the best in the series so far. The solo story would be a 5* film if it got made into one. Not only does this improve on the previous titles, but the online mode is amazing and plays so great. Its hard to describe into detail with the amount of War Games on the market, but if I could recommended it in one setence it would be this. One of the best war games I've ever played, COD4 is the best in the series so far. The solo story would be a 5* film if it got made into one. Not only does this improve on the previous titles, but the online mode is amazing and plays so great. Its hard to describe into detail with the amount of War Games on the market, but if I could recommended it in one setence it would be this. One of the best war games I've ever played, with one of the best Multiplayer online modes ever. SCORE : 94% Expand
  53. J.S.
    Oct 11, 2009
    8
    A pretty decent FPS without a lot of unique single player features. The sniping mission and the AC-130 mission were the best points, but it did have some interesting combat throughout the story. I personally thought World at War was a much better game, especially multiplayer.
  54. JoshwaR.
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    A great game. The single player is short and the play is generic. But the plot line and the story behind it is as good as if not better than any other FPS out there. That makes up for the lapses in play and in the shortness of the story. Why add fluf to appease gamers who would in turn complain of a generic story. The multiplayer is fantastic. Albeit a little glitchy and kinda hard at the A great game. The single player is short and the play is generic. But the plot line and the story behind it is as good as if not better than any other FPS out there. That makes up for the lapses in play and in the shortness of the story. Why add fluf to appease gamers who would in turn complain of a generic story. The multiplayer is fantastic. Albeit a little glitchy and kinda hard at the start when you get good you will have fun. Most of the complaints about this game are minor bugs or just a bunch of whiners complaining about random crap they dont like. They need to get another game not turn off potential players. Expand
  55. AndyK
    Nov 29, 2009
    9
    The best 1st person shooter ever created. The single player campaign is too short but saved only by the great multiplayer. But as I said about Modern Warfare 2 it's alot of money still to fork out if you haven't got Xbox live.
  56. kriswalker
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    this game is by far the best first person shooter out. i am sort of confused by how gears of war 2 has a better score as its a shocking game.
    call of duty 4 on the other hand has 1 or 2 negative things about it, eerything else is brilliant
  57. MikeL
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Wow... all the hate is amazing. The story mode was linear, but sometimes you need linearity to achieve a focused story. There are plenty of sandbox type games and 'freedom' games out there, yet most are only played through once anyways. The default mode is somewhat easy, but that's why there's a hard mode. The veteran challenge will definitely test your skills, as well Wow... all the hate is amazing. The story mode was linear, but sometimes you need linearity to achieve a focused story. There are plenty of sandbox type games and 'freedom' games out there, yet most are only played through once anyways. The default mode is somewhat easy, but that's why there's a hard mode. The veteran challenge will definitely test your skills, as well as having you throw the controller at some parts. (It's almost as cheap as the endless flying bat respawns from the old NES Ninja Gaiden series.) Anyone who rates this below 5 is, in my mind, just trolling. Expand
  58. Jon
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Definitely a must have. It might even be the single, greatest first person shooter to date. The campaign, while short, is nothing short of amazing. It never lets up on your journey from the beautiful deserts of the Middle East to the abandoned buildings of Pripyat, Ukraine and beyond. For people going at a leisure pace, it might clock in around 10 hours. The multiplayer is what sets it Definitely a must have. It might even be the single, greatest first person shooter to date. The campaign, while short, is nothing short of amazing. It never lets up on your journey from the beautiful deserts of the Middle East to the abandoned buildings of Pripyat, Ukraine and beyond. For people going at a leisure pace, it might clock in around 10 hours. The multiplayer is what sets it apart. As much as I do love Halo, CoD multiplayer is in my opinion better. I can only hope that Modern Warfare 2 can deliver, since there's massive hype on it. Expand
  59. NickO.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    The overall length of the single player was short but one of the more enjoyable campaigns I have ever played. Then theres the multiplayer, which takes all other shooter games, such as halo and battlefield 2. Combines them all plus more to make an amazing gaming experience.
  60. AnonymousMC
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Although short campaign, it is incredibly well done (especially the British SAS missions). Large variety of different match types for multilayer.
  61. lucas38
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Without question, Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS out there! I like Halo 3, but the sheer grittiness and realism of the MP battles in CoD4 make Halo 3 MP feel like a walk through the park. In fact, after a particularly gut wrenching battle in CoD4, I hopped into a MP battle in Halo 3 and it felt downright relaxing! Call of Duty 4 is a white knuckle ride of a game and being a Black male Without question, Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS out there! I like Halo 3, but the sheer grittiness and realism of the MP battles in CoD4 make Halo 3 MP feel like a walk through the park. In fact, after a particularly gut wrenching battle in CoD4, I hopped into a MP battle in Halo 3 and it felt downright relaxing! Call of Duty 4 is a white knuckle ride of a game and being a Black male that's saying a lot! LOL! Expand
  62. DaveH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    This game is pure excellence. It is far worth the 50-60$ spent to buy it. Phenominal graphics, AI, and story make this for a great game. And I'm tired of everyone complaining about a "short single player" because it lasts much longer than 5 hours IF you dont play it on the Easiest difficulties. Buy it.
  63. JasonW.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Excellent game. Very fun. Visually awesome. Definately worth playing.
  64. BillCleveland
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Single player is short, but to say it is a poor effort is asinine. The single player is as captivating as any i have played. And the fact that it only took about 9 hours to beat doesn't matter much to me, because i'm sure i will get 100 hours out of the multiplayer. Buy this game!
  65. MikeM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Although the single player does feel short, the leveling up through multi player, and the over all level playing feel more than makes up for it.
  66. LiefS.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Amazing game, it makes halo look like a current gen game. and it took a way less time to make, it shows what game makers can do when they dont just rely on a name and online play, and the online play is realistic which i prefer reather than shooting, gun butting and then grenading to kill someone.
  67. MikeD.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    The single player action is short but very well done leaving wanting much more, But the real value is in the deep level up multiplayer that reawards you for playing well and often, but at the same time keeps the playing feild level that your rank doesnt matter its all about skill. Not to mention that leveling is just about how many kills or games you've won, but more about specific The single player action is short but very well done leaving wanting much more, But the real value is in the deep level up multiplayer that reawards you for playing well and often, but at the same time keeps the playing feild level that your rank doesnt matter its all about skill. Not to mention that leveling is just about how many kills or games you've won, but more about specific tasks and activities that you most accomplish. Multiplayer also has some many option of game play that all fps fans of any type will have something they love. Expand
  68. MarcS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    This game is one smooth ride. I must admit that I only play this one online, so can't say anything about the offline experience. Anyway, I'm glad that FPShooters are finally getting almost up to par with BATTLEFIELD 1942 and BF2. Almost because there are no vehicles in this one whatsoever!!! inexcusable, especially when considering that COD3 did have them. Second point of This game is one smooth ride. I must admit that I only play this one online, so can't say anything about the offline experience. Anyway, I'm glad that FPShooters are finally getting almost up to par with BATTLEFIELD 1942 and BF2. Almost because there are no vehicles in this one whatsoever!!! inexcusable, especially when considering that COD3 did have them. Second point of complaint is the Shaky DOMINATION/WAR gametype. I hope that one day they'll make a decent copy of BF2's CONQUEST mode. So where does this leave us? This leaves us basically with good old boring DEATHMATCH and his buddy TEAM DEATHMATCH. Think of all the over-the-top mayhem and über fun were missing out on here without vehicles, and understand that I don't understand why everybody is handing out 10's here. Expand
  69. MikeHunt
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    This is an awesome game, the graphics, the movement, and the reality. They did a good job on the movement of the characters and surroundings. But not a perfect 10 because of a mission or two that was insanely challenging to beat, but in the end, that's what made it fun. Best Call of Duty
  70. AndrewJ.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    After all the hype for Halo 3, BioShock, Assassin's Creed, and Mass Effect, COD 4 comes out of nowhere and will probably be a multiple Game of the Year award winner, and rightfully so. I've played all of the above games (except Mass Effect, which isn't out yet) and COD 4 easily beats all of them. And I haven't even touched the multiplayer yet. No, seriously. All After all the hype for Halo 3, BioShock, Assassin's Creed, and Mass Effect, COD 4 comes out of nowhere and will probably be a multiple Game of the Year award winner, and rightfully so. I've played all of the above games (except Mass Effect, which isn't out yet) and COD 4 easily beats all of them. And I haven't even touched the multiplayer yet. No, seriously. All I've been playing is the campaign. The single player is that freakin' good. Maybe for everyone else it's short, but I'm having a grand old time with it in 20-30 minute spurts, which is all I can handle anyways, as it's so intense. The sniper mission, the camo mission, the Death From Above mission.....each level is like a work of art. Not BioShock-type art, mind you, but art nonetheless. Probably the greatest FPS I've ever played, although I'm not a huge shooter guy, so I haven't played them all. The fact that I'm not a big FPS fan and am still raving about this game should tell you something. If you don't play this game, you are missing out on one of the best video game experiences you'll ever have. Expand
  71. PaoloJ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    This game was undescribable, and could be found nowhere else. Its online gameplay was fantastic. Though the campaign was kind of short. Other than that everything was wonderful.
  72. DanyT.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    I've played many fps games, CoD 1, 2, bioshock, half-life 1, 2, Battlefield 1942, BF2, to name just a few, and none of them can compare to CoD 4 for the sensation of being right into the action in both, solo campaine and multi-players.
    It's the best of both world ;o)
  73. ChrisS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    I have to laugh at the sony fanboy who keeps posting under a different name but using the same language. Get over it. PS3 is last in the console wars for now and this is a great game on the 360. I haven't played a combat shooter this good since the old Socom2 days. This is by far a better game than Halo3 and should be shooter of the year if not game of the year. You can't go I have to laugh at the sony fanboy who keeps posting under a different name but using the same language. Get over it. PS3 is last in the console wars for now and this is a great game on the 360. I haven't played a combat shooter this good since the old Socom2 days. This is by far a better game than Halo3 and should be shooter of the year if not game of the year. You can't go wrong with this one. Condolences PS3 fanboy. I'm sure sony will try harder next time. Expand
  74. FredB.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    The story mode was to quike..... but the online play is amazing!
  75. Steve
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    This game redefines on-line multiplayer. Amazing graphics, depth, and gameplay makes this a top contender for game of the year. For those who complain about the enemy infinitely respawning (which I despise as well) you apparently never have played a COD before because that's what they all do. The game forces you to be good at it. And if you hear anyone complain about the single This game redefines on-line multiplayer. Amazing graphics, depth, and gameplay makes this a top contender for game of the year. For those who complain about the enemy infinitely respawning (which I despise as well) you apparently never have played a COD before because that's what they all do. The game forces you to be good at it. And if you hear anyone complain about the single player campaign's length, tell them to play on veteran like a real player ought to. Expand
  76. RossF.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Best Call of Duty to date. Even with the game built to run at 60 fps constantly, the game looks great. Animations are second to none (I'll never get tired of watching someone in a ghillie suit sprint) Single player has a very nice variety of missions that don't grow old. Besides some very very minor issues (most of which, no lean on the console) this game is perfect. The Best Call of Duty to date. Even with the game built to run at 60 fps constantly, the game looks great. Animations are second to none (I'll never get tired of watching someone in a ghillie suit sprint) Single player has a very nice variety of missions that don't grow old. Besides some very very minor issues (most of which, no lean on the console) this game is perfect. The multiplayer is the best on the 360 and contains a wealth of game types. Expand
  77. AlejandroR.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This game is easily one of the top five games of the year. This game is awesome. The campaign has great missions. Online is great, and it has you playing frequently because the more experience you earn, the more weapons and "perks" you unlock. I loved the story and the ending to the campaign. It even includes a bonus mission after the game is beat. One of the reasons the user score is This game is easily one of the top five games of the year. This game is awesome. The campaign has great missions. Online is great, and it has you playing frequently because the more experience you earn, the more weapons and "perks" you unlock. I loved the story and the ending to the campaign. It even includes a bonus mission after the game is beat. One of the reasons the user score is currently an 8.4 is because three people gave this game a 0 because it is not as good as the PS3 version supposedly. You cannot give a game a 0 because it is not as good as the PS3 version. Anyways its a great game, especially since its in Modern times (Hence the name Modern Warfare), as opposed to early-mid 20th century like the other games in the Call of Duty series. Expand
  78. AnonymousMC
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    This is a solid game. The actual gameplay is very basic. Multiplayer feels shallow to me because it is all so basic. You run and point and shoot. Others feel it is amazingly deep because of the perks and customization options. Gameplay wise, this game is just another shooter imo.

    With that said, 16 multiplayer maps, great graphics, fairly smooth networking (on the 360 and PC
    This is a solid game. The actual gameplay is very basic. Multiplayer feels shallow to me because it is all so basic. You run and point and shoot. Others feel it is amazingly deep because of the perks and customization options. Gameplay wise, this game is just another shooter imo.

    With that said, 16 multiplayer maps, great graphics, fairly smooth networking (on the 360 and PC versions), and tons of maps and weapon combinations make this an easy buy and a must have in most game collections.

    But this is not GOTY material to me. I've done all this stuff before. Give that honor to something like Mass Effect or even Galaxy.
    Expand
  79. TJC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable! Modern Warfare unreal.
  80. ShawnS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Game of the year 2007 Guaranteed.
  81. frankdemor
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    infinity ward has no idea (and this is just a guess) what ragdoll physics mean. they didnt have it in cod 1 and 2 and they dont have it in cod 4 (cod 3 had it...but it was made by another developer...thank god). what pisses me off even further, they SAY they have ragdoll effects. which is a total lie. they say, they "mo-capped ragdolls"...what?...how can you mo-cap a ragdoll?...and stillinfinity ward has no idea (and this is just a guess) what ragdoll physics mean. they didnt have it in cod 1 and 2 and they dont have it in cod 4 (cod 3 had it...but it was made by another developer...thank god). what pisses me off even further, they SAY they have ragdoll effects. which is a total lie. they say, they "mo-capped ragdolls"...what?...how can you mo-cap a ragdoll?...and still have it be a ragdoll? why cant they admit they just dont know how to implement it? a shooter game without ragdoll physics is like a driving game with no
    gas if you ask me. i mean come on, how fun is it to shoot an enemy and see him crumple into the ground "exactly" like the previous enemy. or, not having the enemy tumble down the stairs after you shoot him? they talk about these insane technologie they put in inside the game, yet...they skipped the most important of them all. even my syphon filter game for psp has rag-dolls for humanity sakes! how hard can it be???. the guy with the beard (producer) says...they mixed the ragdoll effects with animations so its more "real". excuse me?...hello?
    have you guys seen the footage of this game yet alone played it?...can you show me one single rag doll death? the bodies just fall animated and do a slight "glitch" a second before laying motionless...looks like a super nintendo death if you ask me.
    what is the satisfaction in this?...let me go around running with my pretty gun in my pretty war torn world with pretty sounds and visuals only to meet another enemy who curls-up and sits on the ground exactly like the 200 guys before him. cant anyone see this?...are you all hyped up and blind folded for the love of god? wow...power of denial this has to be man...or the power in advertising. whatever, we were all robbed.
    Expand
  82. SidC.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is instantly replayable, and beats Halo 3 by a milestone.
  83. InigoM.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    AWESOME! Blows away Halo 3!
  84. MikeC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Game of the year by a good margin. Halo 3 is now nothing more than a very expensive coaster after playing COD 4: MW. Purely spectacular and completely addicting, the Halo fanboys may hate to here it, but all facets of COD 4 not only surpass Halo 3, but do so by a healthy margin.
  85. MichaelS.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Wow. By far the best game I have played on the 360. This game is legendary. The amount of detail and care in crafting this masterpiece is dumbfounding. So what if the the single player is a little short. The true beauty of this game lies in it's multiplayer. 16 maps. Fun game types. Rewards out the wazoo. Halo isn't half of what this game is. Beg borrow or steal but get your Wow. By far the best game I have played on the 360. This game is legendary. The amount of detail and care in crafting this masterpiece is dumbfounding. So what if the the single player is a little short. The true beauty of this game lies in it's multiplayer. 16 maps. Fun game types. Rewards out the wazoo. Halo isn't half of what this game is. Beg borrow or steal but get your hands on this game asap. Any time spent playing another 360 game is wasted. Expand
  86. MikeP.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    "Halo 3"...what's that? This game is amazing, intense...and the multiplayer is insanely fun, as is the campaign. Graphics are jawdropping, and the physics spot on. The guy who voted 5 out of 10 doesn't deserve to share the same airspace as the rest of us. COD4 is at the top of the FPS heap, and never lets go of your senses.
  87. CodyM.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    This game was like going to every other game company and just telling them they suck strait to there face. Online is amazing while i will agree that single player is short but if you play it on veteran it is extremely difficult which is better but this game is a must have if you like First Person Shooters.
  88. PaulB.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Ok - so the single player is short but it is oh so sweet. It is absolutely stunning in every level. The chernobyl level in particular is probably one of the best in videogame history. Add to that a multiplayer experience that possibly even eclipses that of Halo 3 and you're onto a surefire winner.
  89. TimC.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    This game is awseome. Those who call this game mediocre or bad are completely wrong. This game is the perfect FPS. Single player is short and fun, but the multiplayer is ridiculous with an unmatched and incredible depth. I was not a huge fan of FPS or the COD franchise, but this game is perfection. Never have I played a game sooo intense and with 55 levels and prestige mode you could play This game is awseome. Those who call this game mediocre or bad are completely wrong. This game is the perfect FPS. Single player is short and fun, but the multiplayer is ridiculous with an unmatched and incredible depth. I was not a huge fan of FPS or the COD franchise, but this game is perfection. Never have I played a game sooo intense and with 55 levels and prestige mode you could play multiplayer forever. Expand
  90. NigelT.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    I don't think Max D. knows what he's talking about at all. The graphics are probably the most stunning I have seen on the system so far. Then as for people saying the campaign was too short. Maybe you don't get it. The campaign is basically just an introduction to get you ready for what the game is all about, which is the online multiplayer. To those of you out there I don't think Max D. knows what he's talking about at all. The graphics are probably the most stunning I have seen on the system so far. Then as for people saying the campaign was too short. Maybe you don't get it. The campaign is basically just an introduction to get you ready for what the game is all about, which is the online multiplayer. To those of you out there without Xbox Live, I truely feel sorry for you, because the online modes are what makes this game epic and something you will be playing long after you're done with the singleplayer mode. Expand
  91. SimonC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Yo, xbox 360 "master". What kind of magical gun are you playing with that doesn't have recoil? I certainly can't just point and hold down the trigger for a kill unless I am two feet from the guy. Idiots aside, this is a great game that has to be the most photo realistic game on the 360. Strategy and skill come into play on every online match. Not to mention a little luck. This Yo, xbox 360 "master". What kind of magical gun are you playing with that doesn't have recoil? I certainly can't just point and hold down the trigger for a kill unless I am two feet from the guy. Idiots aside, this is a great game that has to be the most photo realistic game on the 360. Strategy and skill come into play on every online match. Not to mention a little luck. This IS the best shooter if not the best game to be released on the 360. Eat that Halo3. Expand
  92. CodyB.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    The single player is the most intense FPS ever. The gameplay and flow are not as good as Halo 3 but the real part that sucks you in is the multiplayer! It blows Halo 2 and 3 out of the water. PERIOD!
  93. JackD
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    This game is very overhyped. Its good and the multiplayer is very good aswell but the single player was alright for one play through but far to scripted for even a second play through. the story is your typical war story but its not terrible the single player is about as long as other games in the series and the multiplayer will last you a long time. there is no co-op mode. probably This game is very overhyped. Its good and the multiplayer is very good aswell but the single player was alright for one play through but far to scripted for even a second play through. the story is your typical war story but its not terrible the single player is about as long as other games in the series and the multiplayer will last you a long time. there is no co-op mode. probably because the levels in single player don;t really allow for any tactical situations so throwing even one more player in probably wouldn't help at all. That brings up my biggest problem with the games singleplayer its very scripted meaning the if you play through on the same act again your going to have the excact same expireince as the first. if you enjoy havin g two or more roots to an objective than call of duty is not a game for you there is only one way to complete the game. The enemy AI is also scripted, they will stay the same place the entire time and just shoot at you regardless of you shooting at them. also they throw grenades way to often. you will die way more from grenades then gunfire. another problem is that the gameplay is an excact replica of the prior games in the series, the only difference is that now your in modern day instead of WW2.Alot of people say that call of duty 4 looks like a movie thanks to its graphics but its also alot like playing a movie in that thou really don't feel like you have any freedom at all. The graphics are not quite as amazing as everybody is saying they are They are incredicle but the envirorments may seem big due to the enormous backdrops but the actuall amount of terrain that your aloud to travel across is very little which takes you out of the game when you can't hop over a road block 1 ft tall. Even with these issues going against the graphics its hard to deny that it does have those moments were you might actually think your watching a movie but what takes you out of the expireince somewhat is the sound. the gun sound are pretty good but what really sucks is that they don't cary theselves realistically across the battle field and sounds directly behind you get lost. it would have been great for multiplayer if the sound worked because then the silencer may be actually useful. speaking of the multiplayer its the only reason i bought the game. Its amazing but still not quite as good as Halo's It has a good ranking system byt the fact that you have to earn the game types by ranking up is retarted. the other issue is that the maps are ripped straight from single player locations which doesn't make alot of sences seeing as the game has a very linear progression. If you don't have online then stay away from this game but if you do have online then go ahead and buy this game just don't expect a single player that you will play twice because you will be lucky to play through it once. Expand
  94. EddieE.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Story mode might be short, but it was well put together and i wouldnt change a thing! Multi-player is so much fun, you can get addicted very easily! best game there is!
  95. MikeJ.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    The single-player campaign is short but gripping. While it does not have the narrative depth of Bioshock, the story thrusts you into a global conflict while making it very personal. There is one moment, that I won't spoil, that was one of the most effective, gut-wrenching moments of any game I've played. The multi-player game is nothing short of a masterpiece. Combining elements The single-player campaign is short but gripping. While it does not have the narrative depth of Bioshock, the story thrusts you into a global conflict while making it very personal. There is one moment, that I won't spoil, that was one of the most effective, gut-wrenching moments of any game I've played. The multi-player game is nothing short of a masterpiece. Combining elements of a role playing game, you earn experience and equipment the more (and better) you play. It's highly addictive. Expand
  96. ShayP.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    I loved this game! When sniping, you have to have everything right or the shot will miss, such as if the wind is blowing! I say everyone will love this game from the first 10 minutes to the last 10 seconds.
  97. MLambrecht
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Call of Duty 4 has the best online game play for the 360. Create your class is one of the greatest things put into a game. I hate having to shoot someone 50 times before they die (Halo3). This is a must have game.
  98. Maslab
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    This game has incredible graphics, except that everything is either really gray, really tan, or really green, and not much else. The suits are very well done, and even change depending on your main weapon in multiplayer and the map. Gameplay just feels right. The Controls are right, buttons are right, speed is right. It may either a bit clunky or a bit fast, but play with your sensitivity This game has incredible graphics, except that everything is either really gray, really tan, or really green, and not much else. The suits are very well done, and even change depending on your main weapon in multiplayer and the map. Gameplay just feels right. The Controls are right, buttons are right, speed is right. It may either a bit clunky or a bit fast, but play with your sensitivity setting until it feels right. Very in depth multiplayer. Higher levels are balanced so that they are any more powerful than lower levels, they just have more junk to play with. This is definitely right up there with Halo and Half-Life. Expand
  99. TommyF.
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Kick-ass and must-have game. This game beats Call of Duty 1-3, Halo series, and Bioshock. But so close with Half-Life.
  100. JG
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Anywhere between 9 and 10 in my view, went with 10 because some are giving very low scores for a short (6 hour) single player campaign. If you only play single player with this game then you are missing the point. That being said, the single player is still enthralling and despite its length is very fun.

    This is one of the best if not the best multiplayer games for the 360. It is the
    Anywhere between 9 and 10 in my view, went with 10 because some are giving very low scores for a short (6 hour) single player campaign. If you only play single player with this game then you are missing the point. That being said, the single player is still enthralling and despite its length is very fun.

    This is one of the best if not the best multiplayer games for the 360. It is the best multiplayer game I have ever played. If you have a gold xbox live account, get this game. If not, get one, then get this game.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.