User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1161 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch ofCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch of rooms of houses cluttered with boxes and junk, voice acting is great and the music is pretty good and gunfire is good, the controls are AMAZING some of the best out there, multiplayer is what you should buy this game for, it's deep fun and amazing, just buy this game for the multiplayer Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    It seems to have become very popular to criticize the Call of Duty franchise recently but it is easy to forget how influential Call of Duty 4, the first of the Modern Warfare games has been. The single player mode took in a huge variety of locations putting the player in control of both a U.S Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story, that while still lightIt seems to have become very popular to criticize the Call of Duty franchise recently but it is easy to forget how influential Call of Duty 4, the first of the Modern Warfare games has been. The single player mode took in a huge variety of locations putting the player in control of both a U.S Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story, that while still light years behind the best movies, was full of twists and turns that kept the player guessing. At the time the game play was a huge leap forward for console shooters coupling rock solid controls with fantastic set pieces in which too test your skills. For me, although each of the sequels other than World at War were also very good, this first Modern Warfare title remains the pinnacle of the franchise in this regard.

    It was of course the multi-player however that truly made Modern Warfare stand out from the crowd. I had never been interested in any on-line shooter before but spent weeks playing on this. The fantastic gunplay from the single-player was coupled with an excellent selection of maps and the all important perk system, now a standard for any on-line FPS. Allowing players the chance to customise their characters weapon set, special ability and appearance was a masterstroke and has helped make Call of Duty the most valuable franchise in gaming today.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    From its classically intriguing story, its fascinating characters, its perfectly revolutionary multiplayer, and its absolutely gorgeous breadth of graphical milestones, "Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare" easily lifts the shooter genre above its head and carries it to new heights.
  4. May 27, 2012
    6
    This game is probably the best modern war shooter game ive played, but still not that special to me.
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    4
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare can sometimes be a fun game to play, but with an incoherent plot and a dull and repetitive gameplay, the game will soon become quite boring. The game's plot lacks cohesion and can confuse players with it's poorly connected storyline and the graphics are quite mediocre in which sometimes it can be good and sometimes it can be ugly. All the followingCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare can sometimes be a fun game to play, but with an incoherent plot and a dull and repetitive gameplay, the game will soon become quite boring. The game's plot lacks cohesion and can confuse players with it's poorly connected storyline and the graphics are quite mediocre in which sometimes it can be good and sometimes it can be ugly. All the following instalments in the Modern Warfare franchise blatantly copy this game in all it's nothingness. If you are a Call of Duty fan you will surely like this, but everybody else will call it a bore. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This is arguably one of the most revolutionary shooters of all time. The single player campaign, the story, arcade mode and especially the online. CoD4 gave birth to the new generation of shooters. Everything feels lively and full of epic, intense action. Arcade mode adds replay value to the campaign and makes it very addictive to replay and get a higher score and move up the leaderboards.This is arguably one of the most revolutionary shooters of all time. The single player campaign, the story, arcade mode and especially the online. CoD4 gave birth to the new generation of shooters. Everything feels lively and full of epic, intense action. Arcade mode adds replay value to the campaign and makes it very addictive to replay and get a higher score and move up the leaderboards. What's even more incredible is how all of the online maps are based off ones in single player, but you don't actually notice the variety in map design until you see the familiar places you went through in the story online. This game is why CoD is successful. It added customisation as well as challenges and the great ranking system, including prestige mode. There's just no point in even going through the additions this has made to multiplayer shooters. As single player experience alone, this is 10/10, let alone the multiplayer counterpart. And for those of you who think it's short, well guess what? It isn't. It's compact, not short. You get so much variety and epicness in so little time and you don't want it to end so that's why it feels short- because it's soooooooooo good. The difficulty level is done perfectly. Veteran is Veteran, and not just easy. I doubt that any time in the future a campaign will ome along that has more variety, is more engaing and has a better story and characters. In every way, CoD4's single player is by far one of the all-time greats. It may be fairly short, but the amount of content it holds, the outstanding level design, the intense gameplay, the distinctive characters, the excellent plot and the beautiful soundtrack. This has it all. And when you're finished, the awesome Arcade Mode allows you to play for high scores per level. "Short and epic", in the words of Battlefield 3's lead designer Patrick Bach, is better than long and boring. In CoD4 there are no fillers, no boring points. Every single second of every mission is put to good use. It is so well scripted. The multiplayer, of course, is what this game has received most credit for. And it deserves all merits too. The variety in level design from the campaign has lead to some of the best, if not THE best collection of multiplayer maps ever, with a great variety in environments and layouts. The multiplayer really is a complete package and can be enjoyed by all gamer of all skill levels with all sorts of playstyles. The different game modes, weapons, maps and challenges accomodate for everyone, and private matches are great fun to play organised games/set rules. Not only does CoD4 ooze revolution, but it is genuinely the best FPS of all time. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Call of Duty 4 represents a landmark in modern gaming. The franchise that started in 2003 has finally stepped out of WWII and into the near future. The year is 2012 and the Afghan war has escalated to exponential proportions and the threat of an impending nuclear war and WWIII are looming ever closer. You play as a British S.A.S operative and a US Marine in an attempt to end this conflictCall of Duty 4 represents a landmark in modern gaming. The franchise that started in 2003 has finally stepped out of WWII and into the near future. The year is 2012 and the Afghan war has escalated to exponential proportions and the threat of an impending nuclear war and WWIII are looming ever closer. You play as a British S.A.S operative and a US Marine in an attempt to end this conflict before its too late.
    The gameplay has made several games of the FPS genre follow suit in its innovative design of creating tense battles in small spaces whilst remaining tactical at the same time. The multiplayer has defined console multiplayer and has followed suit a thousand fold. Call of Duty 4 may belong to a tired and tarnished franchise, but there is always a diamond in the rough.
    Expand
  8. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Best Cod ever! Campaign is the beat same with the multiplaer and tons of Cods just suck today. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 9.3/10
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    It's probably the lasty good, or even great Call of Duty Game. From here on, it just got extremely repetitive. It's fun and engrossing. The campaign ain't that bad either.
  10. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    The game that ignited the massive (and annoying) success of the Call of Duty franchise and the last good Call of Duty game. Great graphics, engaging story, great shooting mechanics and addicting online multi-player. Though the story campaign is short, it is pretty much the best CoD campaign and had no **** moments compared to future installments. Multi-player is pretty much the seller andThe game that ignited the massive (and annoying) success of the Call of Duty franchise and the last good Call of Duty game. Great graphics, engaging story, great shooting mechanics and addicting online multi-player. Though the story campaign is short, it is pretty much the best CoD campaign and had no **** moments compared to future installments. Multi-player is pretty much the seller and it is as solid as Halo's multi-player. Good points aside, it never really innovates the FPS genre and the campaign is not good for replay value and I partly blame this game for the over-saturation of FPS games nowadays and also started many annoying trends that games (mainly FPS) follow. Expand
  11. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    This game was absolutely great, it revolutionized FPS games, the minor connection problems aren't game-breaking like they are for the later call of duty games, and I still have a great time playing this game on multiplayer. The introduction for the campaign was also great, I greatly enjoyed all aspects of this game.
  12. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    This is my second favorite game of the Call of Duty series. The story is pretty good and this game handles and feels better than any game before. It came out in 2007 and it's still among the most played XBOX Live games. Multiplayer is extremely balanced, except for juggernaut, but it's easily reversed with stopping power. The graphics are good for it's time and the IW engine was at it'sThis is my second favorite game of the Call of Duty series. The story is pretty good and this game handles and feels better than any game before. It came out in 2007 and it's still among the most played XBOX Live games. Multiplayer is extremely balanced, except for juggernaut, but it's easily reversed with stopping power. The graphics are good for it's time and the IW engine was at it's best for this game. It's extremely fun. Expand
  13. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Best COD of the series so far, clearly a superior game for it's time. This is a retrospective review however, and the groundwork laid by COD4 has yet to be realized and improved upon as of this review. Still, it can't be denied the enormous significance of this game; Halo 2 created online multiplayer; COD4 perfected it.
  14. May 29, 2013
    9
    By far the best Call of Duty in the franchise. Campaign was unique for the time and the characters were well developed. The Combat system is well done and the multiplayer is still fun to this day. This is about as good as Call of Duty games are ever going to get when it comes to multiplater as it is the most balanced. Would definitely recommend it.
  15. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    I hate call of duty so much but this is the exception call of duty modern warfare is and could possibly be the best call of duty game of all time. This game had a great cinematic storyline that kept you on the edge of your seat. The multiplayer is amazing there are no perks just simply 3 killstreaks radar, Airplanes, and helicopter. This was the most balanced fair multiplayer there is inI hate call of duty so much but this is the exception call of duty modern warfare is and could possibly be the best call of duty game of all time. This game had a great cinematic storyline that kept you on the edge of your seat. The multiplayer is amazing there are no perks just simply 3 killstreaks radar, Airplanes, and helicopter. This was the most balanced fair multiplayer there is in any call of duty and its a overall great game Expand
  16. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Great single player story and probably one of the best shooters of all time make Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare a must have for all game libraries. If one does not own this game, than they do not understand the first person shooter genre.
  17. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    The campaign and multiplayer are exceptionally well done, even if the former is occasionally too linear. It's really too bad that Activision felt they had to release 3 more games following this one with almost the exact same formula. But still, COD4 is a stellar title.
  18. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    Astounding at the time, yet it still holds up in the present as a game of pedigree. Call of Duty 4 was revolutionary when released. The story was gripping but it was the time sucking online multiplayer that stole our hearts. If the online servers were still policed today it may still have offered the best multiplayer experience.
  19. May 7, 2013
    7
    My review is biased, since my first call of duty game on console is modern warfare 2 and tbh I had more fun with that game than this one. I just beat this game on veteran last week, yeah, my first and only playthrough and i think I only spent less than one hour play MP. I heard all most everyone said this game is better than all following cod games, for me I just missed its gloriousMy review is biased, since my first call of duty game on console is modern warfare 2 and tbh I had more fun with that game than this one. I just beat this game on veteran last week, yeah, my first and only playthrough and i think I only spent less than one hour play MP. I heard all most everyone said this game is better than all following cod games, for me I just missed its glorious moment and cannot feel how great of this game. Regarding SP, fun! Expand
  20. Rem
    Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Infinity Ward has now placed themselves among the giants in the first person genre. With Modern Warfare 2, they deliver with a spectacular campaign and a refined multiplayer. Adding cherry to the top is the fun and new spec ops mode. The campaign looks towards a more blockbuster feel this time around as there are clearly more emphasis toward setpieces and explosions. Tying this together isInfinity Ward has now placed themselves among the giants in the first person genre. With Modern Warfare 2, they deliver with a spectacular campaign and a refined multiplayer. Adding cherry to the top is the fun and new spec ops mode. The campaign looks towards a more blockbuster feel this time around as there are clearly more emphasis toward setpieces and explosions. Tying this together is a story, while not living to its full potential, sets up some fantastic segments throughout the whole game. It also has a controversial scene that may turn the media's head. The multiplayer is better than ever. With rebalancing and new killstreak awards, it becomes more addicting to play. Last but not least the new and fun addition Spec Ops mode. It can be played by yourself or cooperatively. It gathers inspiration from the campaign and Call of Duty 4. These are fast and fun bits that are even better with a friend. With all this in mind, my only three major gripes with the game are 1) The story isn't too interesting 2) The AI is lacking and enemies keep respawning. 3) The multiplayer needs a bit of balancing. Other than that, Modern Warfare 2 establishes Call of Duty as a brand that will stick for a long time. Expand
  21. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Its an OK game in my opinion, but I do agree it is rightfully successful and there's a reason so many people like it and also it was new and not recycled content from its previous games. The single players interesting story, characters and great pacing makes it great, but its only worth 1 play through. Multiplayer is good I wouldn't really play it.
  22. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best FPS's ever made it was so innovative in the multiplayer and there is still a large multiplayer community. the story is well done and the voice acting is great and the characters are well-written and the graphics might not look so good today it still runs at 60 FPS so don't listen to the naysayers a must buy
  23. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    A solid and entertaining experience, I came to the game too late to get anything from the multiplayer experience but the campaign itself was very entertaining and the story arc plays well across the three MW games. Graphics, gunplay and immersion still hold strong even today whilst many games of this period have quickly aged and flagged.
  24. Jan 18, 2014
    4
    This is one of the hardest games to review this generation for many reasons. Let me start by saying I get my competitive online multiplayer shooter itch scratched by Halo and my co-op/modern military multiplayer shooter needs filled by Rainbow 6, so I found COD's online offerings a little dull and the community full of pricks so that wins it no points. The first time I played through COD IThis is one of the hardest games to review this generation for many reasons. Let me start by saying I get my competitive online multiplayer shooter itch scratched by Halo and my co-op/modern military multiplayer shooter needs filled by Rainbow 6, so I found COD's online offerings a little dull and the community full of pricks so that wins it no points. The first time I played through COD I found it very entertaining but the forced set pieces and crap AI made it feel like an expensive ghost train with no ghosts, the characters where rubbish and the story pointless. However this game started the trend of the shock moment in COD games and in this one it was executed perfectly, the part where the player is caught in an atomic blast is one of the best and most memorable moments in gaming history, the blast was so great it managed to kill COD as the series has gone downhill since that very moment, even this game couldn't be arsed to compete with it as it just kind of ended a little bit later when I believe the atomic blast would have been a perfect ending to the game. With all this in account the game scored a 6 but the price it was, compared to the length of the game, knocks a point off to 5. I mean the game is less than 6 hours long which no one should be paying full price for. Which gets me to the point where Modern Warfare gains a 4, just like gears of war I have to look at the legacy that COD left us, it's a giant seller and because of this other games try to copy it's selling points so this is another game that helped flood the market with generic brown cover based shooters. COD also saw the raise in sales of **** DLC and micro transactions off the success of this game. Expand
  25. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = The standard for online shooters today. No one makes a game PERIOD in todays gaming age without borrowing something from this game. A really amazing fps experience.
  26. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    Honestly I couldn't even pick this one out of the billion entries of this series if they were in a line-up, and I only played 2 of the series. Smooth controls.... it's a shooter with a bunch of pricks playing online and some kind of ridiculous story for the 40 minute, linear campaign. I guess it was fun enough.
  27. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Modern Warfare delivers on the hype. It's a great looking game, has a solid campaign, and great online multi-player. More importantly, it shows that Infinity Ward can break from what they are comfortable with and still deliver a great game. Hopefully this trend continues.
  28. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    It's a great game with a great campaign experience. Although Multiplayer is Call of Duty's strong point, the story mode is an epic battlefield. If you're a fan of shooters, you can always count on Call of Duty to deliver.
  29. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    This is the only game FPS game that I can honestly say I loved. The fact that many people still play the multiplayer mode of this game to date shows you how amazingly addictive it is. The graphics and the wide variety of missions keep you wanting to play on. However, what really makes this game stand out for me is its brilliant story and powerful characters, which is rare among modernThis is the only game FPS game that I can honestly say I loved. The fact that many people still play the multiplayer mode of this game to date shows you how amazingly addictive it is. The graphics and the wide variety of missions keep you wanting to play on. However, what really makes this game stand out for me is its brilliant story and powerful characters, which is rare among modern first person shooters. A very good game. Expand
  30. May 12, 2011
    10
    The best game of 2007, hands down. Infinity Ward has revived the franchise to it's true potential. With an interesting story with memorable environments and locations, and extremely fun, intense, and addicting mulitplayer, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, is the reason why Call of Duty, is where it is at today.
  31. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    The best game ever made. My favorite franchise overall is halo, but this game is my all time favorite game. I had a boner for many hours a day and i didn't even take Viagra. I did horrible in school for the longest time and was addicted to this game forever. Modern warfare was a great idea **** the WW2 ****
  32. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty 4 was one of the first games of this generation that I played, and I enjoyed the campaign. It is an action-packed, explosion-filled thrill ride from start to finish. The missions are varied and I didn't get bored. The way the game makes you sympathise for the characters is amicable, and there are twists along the way. The multiplayer is where this game rules; it kickstartedCall of Duty 4 was one of the first games of this generation that I played, and I enjoyed the campaign. It is an action-packed, explosion-filled thrill ride from start to finish. The missions are varied and I didn't get bored. The way the game makes you sympathise for the characters is amicable, and there are twists along the way. The multiplayer is where this game rules; it kickstarted the franchise into what it is now, and if you go back and play this game you'll notice few differences between it and Black Ops, bar killed streaks, guns, perks and maps. If you haven't played Call of Duty 4, it's worth a rent at least, but you can get it quite cheap now and there are still thousands playing it online every day. 3/5. Expand
  33. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, this is by far the best call of duty. The story is great, along with the characters. The multiplayer is also great, with a great variety of guns. The only negative that you could possibly find about this game, is, the glitches that occur later on in the game. so if you are looking for a game with a great story, and a spectacular ending, then you should pick up call of duty 4.
  34. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 3
    Characters: 6
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: 10
    Soundtrack: 8
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 9
    Re-Playability Value: 9
    Fun Factor: 7

    Score: 7.8/10 = B+
  35. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I still play this after 5 years. It has gotten pretty bad online in the last year and a half because mods don't regulate, but you can still sometimes find good matches. Single players was awesome and compelling and almost flawless if not for the slap in the face ending. Multiplayer was very balanced except for juggernaut and painkiller. Otherwise one of the best FPS's ever made.
  36. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This game revolutionized the world of first-person shooters. The advanced gameplay, mechanics, and graphics were the first of its kind for the FPS. The elements of the game still inspire developers to this day. Some say this game was inspired by Half-Life 2 in some ways, for me it's a great game in general. There were so low and hard points to the main story. For the most part, theThis game revolutionized the world of first-person shooters. The advanced gameplay, mechanics, and graphics were the first of its kind for the FPS. The elements of the game still inspire developers to this day. Some say this game was inspired by Half-Life 2 in some ways, for me it's a great game in general. There were so low and hard points to the main story. For the most part, the campaign was designed with exceeding epicness, and had some moments of glory other video games will never be able to take. Even better then the campaign as the multiplayer. The multiplayer is now the godfather to all FPS this generation. The multiplayer sets standards that will always be praised. 2007 may be the Year of the Shooter for many years to come, yet the biggest shooter of that year was Modern Warfare, whose glories will last a long time. Expand
  37. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare is by far one of the best games i've ever played. It has the funnest campaign ever and an amazing story with it. 2007 was a great year for gaming with halo 3 and bioshock and super mario galazy, but this is by far the best of the best. Graphics are now 3 years old and they are still the best of the best. Multiplayer is something that people are still playingCall of duty modern warfare is by far one of the best games i've ever played. It has the funnest campaign ever and an amazing story with it. 2007 was a great year for gaming with halo 3 and bioshock and super mario galazy, but this is by far the best of the best. Graphics are now 3 years old and they are still the best of the best. Multiplayer is something that people are still playing today and will continue to for many years to come. With a crap load of weapons including some of the best snipers in COD history. Multiplayer maps were so good that they brought 4 of them into the sequel. Modern warfare gets a 10 out of 10.

    Review9
    Expand
  38. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Smack Job here. To be honest I played MW2 but found it to be boring, with a bad campaign and an unbalanced multiplayer, with a crap SpecOps with recycled campaign level mad even more boring. I found this to be WAYYYY better. Fantastic campaign, much more balanced multiplayer. Not the best graphics I've seen and no Co-Op but they'll do and the solid gameplay more than makes up for it. GoodSmack Job here. To be honest I played MW2 but found it to be boring, with a bad campaign and an unbalanced multiplayer, with a crap SpecOps with recycled campaign level mad even more boring. I found this to be WAYYYY better. Fantastic campaign, much more balanced multiplayer. Not the best graphics I've seen and no Co-Op but they'll do and the solid gameplay more than makes up for it. Good game. Good game. Expand
  39. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of my most favourite shooters. This is the first Call of Duty to depart from the World War II era and now takes place in "Modern Warfare." The campaign is very fun with exhilarating missions, the story is compelling, the characters have great personalities, and the environment is excellent. And then the multiplayer is absolutely amazing. I've spent soCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of my most favourite shooters. This is the first Call of Duty to depart from the World War II era and now takes place in "Modern Warfare." The campaign is very fun with exhilarating missions, the story is compelling, the characters have great personalities, and the environment is excellent. And then the multiplayer is absolutely amazing. I've spent so many hours just on the online part. The leveling system works really well, the maps are all fantastic, and the game modes are really fun to play. Call of Duty 4 is a must play shooter and it's a must play. Expand
  40. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 9.5 out of 10 (rounded up to 10).

    Call of Duty is the definitive videogame cash cow. It is basically the Micheal Bay of gaming. There are plenty of explosions, the budgets are gigantic, they make a tonne of revenue and most importantly, they haven't really innovated in 2 years. Most of these claims can be laid at the feet of the game that started it all: Modern Warfare. In all fairness, I doubt Infinity Ward even thought about the large amount of sequels that could potentially follow this game. After all, everybody thought that a modern shooter wouldn't work- that it would fall apart after so many games spent in WWII. That never happened.

    The single player campaign of MW popularised the approach to turn FPS narratives into globe trotting linear levels, that go through dozens of set pieces in less than 6 hours. Off course, this is the real negative of the game. The plot can't sustain pace all too well and so you'll have this wrapped up in one really long session. But that doesn't mean it sucks. The bombastic campaign is set piece after set piece, with an epic ship infiltration, a tank driving sequence and a kinetic car chase all making the cut. Of course there is also the iconic "All Ghillied Up" Sniper level which sees you sneaking through an abandoned city with one ally and plenty of soldiers after you. It is still the greatest FPS level of all time. The levels aren't open at all with funnelled corridors making for the most interesting environnments, but this linearity suits the game. It has been criticised for this in more recent entries.

    The story is one of the best in COD history, as a mysterious Russian villain begins to cause widespread havoc, even though the instantly likeable Captain Price thought he had assassinated him years ago. You take the role of John "Soap" Mactavish, a new recruit who just wants to prove himself. Multiple twists and turns are taken and the use of multiple roles (even if Soap is the main character), helps to flesh out the story. A particular level uses the first-person perspective in a genuinely disturbing way. The killing of certain characters also helps the player to develop a strong emotional feeling, even if this is the first installment.

    The game is designed with a high level of replayability in mind. There are multiple difficulty levels and an addictive Arcade mode. In fact, the epilogue level of the game that comes after the credits is probably one of the most replayable levels in gaming history. The campaign is so inviting that you will want to go back and play through it again. The short length is certainly a detractor, but collectibles and achievements certainly add more time to the experience. But enough about single player, because multiplayer is the main attraction of Modern Warfare.

    The modes are excellent. From Team Deathmatch to Capture the Flag, there is a wide range of variety on offer. This means that investing hours into the mode won't get repetitive like it does in other shooters. The maps are fairly large, but certain ones are designed to be tiny. The close quarters feel is what makes the COD MP so unique and that is firmly established here. The ship map that is ripped from the campaign is a particular campaign, but most of them are instant classics and the DLC helps to increase the amount of environments on offer. It may not be as dynamic as Battlefield, but it certainly is more polished and more approachable. The slick gunplay and easy control scheme are perfectly suited to the game. This is further advanced by the quick use of gadgets and the fast switching- this may seem like a small compliment in these days, but back 7 years ago, it was revolutionary. So was the levelling system and the constant influx of new weapons and gear. It plays out like an RPG online and that is truly an amazing advancement. THe scoresteaks and perks are fairly outlandish in such a grounded setting, but they still work to make this an unpredictable and exhilarating experience.

    So Modern Warfare is responsible for plenty of annoying things. Short campaign. Check. Lack of open choice and environments. Check. Campers. Check. Twelve-year olds with screechy voices. Check. Yep, this popularised pretty much what everyone hates about the genre. If you look past its damaging legacy and embrace it for what it is, you'll get the third best Call of Duty out, just behind BLOPSII and MW2- but that's my opinion.
    Expand
  41. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best multiplayer online shooter ever made. The single player is there, and it's cool, but that's not the point of this game. The class system and unlockables make this the most engaging, interesting game in the series. There's not so much stuff that it's annoying like its current version (Black Ops), and it just feels right. The maps are paced correctly and there's more than aThis is the best multiplayer online shooter ever made. The single player is there, and it's cool, but that's not the point of this game. The class system and unlockables make this the most engaging, interesting game in the series. There's not so much stuff that it's annoying like its current version (Black Ops), and it just feels right. The maps are paced correctly and there's more than a few interesting choke points and mission modes that keep it varied. I'm not sure what the negative reviews for this game are going for -- this game was nothing short of a multiplayer revolution. Finally a game that mixes realism, twitch FPS gaming, and an engaging leveling system. Expand
  42. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Call of duty 4 is truly the best shooter i have ever played. It set new standards gameplay wise and visual wise. The single player campaign has an intense storyline and excellent gameplay that will keep you hooked till the very end. Now that is just half of this amazing experience as this game also has a great multiplayer that you put hours after hours days after days of gameplay into andCall of duty 4 is truly the best shooter i have ever played. It set new standards gameplay wise and visual wise. The single player campaign has an intense storyline and excellent gameplay that will keep you hooked till the very end. Now that is just half of this amazing experience as this game also has a great multiplayer that you put hours after hours days after days of gameplay into and it will never get old. Expand
  43. Mar 18, 2012
    0
    Why does anyone like this game? It looks like crap, it plays like crap, the maps are crap, the story is crap, everything is crap. This has to be the most overrated game in history.
  44. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    best multiplayer game of all times, it was an instant classic. the only thing thats really **** is that everyone cheats nowdays, you cant play a game in public without 3-4 players are floating in the air and stuff. however the first 2 years with this game was amazing
  45. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This was amazing game, and STILL is. This game beats Mw3, Blops 1 and 2. This game started Montages for COD and went even further by making it Modern and fast pace. I really wished they made more DLC but over I STILL love it and STILL an awesome game.
  46. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    This game, defined the next generation of FPSs with a sharp plot delivered with high octane action. This is how war games are meant to be made, and played. Missions like war pig and game over have crystallized in my mind as some of the greatest missions. Ever. 9/10.
  47. Jul 6, 2012
    9
    Brilliant game, I wish they had simply just released more maps for this game than releasing it's sequels. Where did they go wrong from here to the next game?
  48. Dec 12, 2014
    4
    This game is insanely overrated. I'm only focusing on the single-player as I generally don't care for multiplayer. The mission structure was boring. The format, after finishing the first three games, has grown repetitive. But the most infuriatingly over-praised aspect is the story. Maybe if had not been executed in such a bland way with absolutely no personality there could have beenThis game is insanely overrated. I'm only focusing on the single-player as I generally don't care for multiplayer. The mission structure was boring. The format, after finishing the first three games, has grown repetitive. But the most infuriatingly over-praised aspect is the story. Maybe if had not been executed in such a bland way with absolutely no personality there could have been something memorable. But, sadly we were left with this trash Expand
  49. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Please, do yourselves a favour and ignore the bad reviews given by users on Metacritic. In my eyes, this is one of the best multi-player games on the Xbox 360 today, and is still highly populated after four years of release. If you do not own it, do yourself a favour and BUY IT.

    Also notice that the vast majority of negative reviews on this website are given by either Battlefield or Halo
    Please, do yourselves a favour and ignore the bad reviews given by users on Metacritic. In my eyes, this is one of the best multi-player games on the Xbox 360 today, and is still highly populated after four years of release. If you do not own it, do yourself a favour and BUY IT.

    Also notice that the vast majority of negative reviews on this website are given by either Battlefield or Halo marks, noticeable by their names of their suggestions of "HALO is better!" etc.
    Expand
  50. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    I played this quite a lot back in it's heyday. Singleplayer never held my interest but the multiplayer obviously started a COD chain reaction that may never die. They have made many improvements but also missteps since COD4. I will give this an 8/10 it will always be a classic.
  51. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    I like this call of duty game alot. First off the game pulls you in and never lets go in single player. The first scene on the boat all I have to say is wow. This game even today still looks great and on top of that because activision has saturated the market with call of duty games you can pick it up for under 20 dollars. The multiplayer is what you think is should be for a call of dutyI like this call of duty game alot. First off the game pulls you in and never lets go in single player. The first scene on the boat all I have to say is wow. This game even today still looks great and on top of that because activision has saturated the market with call of duty games you can pick it up for under 20 dollars. The multiplayer is what you think is should be for a call of duty game. This is a must buy even if you are not a call of duty fan. I feel a much better game than modern warfare 3 and at under 20 dollars you won't feel like you wasted your money at the least. Expand
  52. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite FPS's of all time, the singleplayer was short but extremely rewarding, has its fair share of OMG moments. But where this game really shined was the multiplayer, this game really did it right, and I guess this sounds weird in retrospect of playing some of the newer Call of Duty titles like Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops, but I strongly feel this had the most balancedOne of my favorite FPS's of all time, the singleplayer was short but extremely rewarding, has its fair share of OMG moments. But where this game really shined was the multiplayer, this game really did it right, and I guess this sounds weird in retrospect of playing some of the newer Call of Duty titles like Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops, but I strongly feel this had the most balanced multiplayer maps, killstreaks, gun setups, hit registry out of any of the COD4 or later COD games, if you don't believe me try it out, I strongly recommend anyone who was a fan of MW2 and or Black Ops or just wants an excellent FPS game for their library. Expand
  53. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This game was a masterpiece for its time. It made me get off the Halo series and it set the standard for FPS. This game easily one of my favorite games of all time.
  54. May 24, 2011
    10
    Ah. I bought this game after trading in Black Ops, which I didn't overly enjoy, and I was impressed. This is where Call of Duty turned into what it is today. And it's never been done better. The campaign had a good story, good set-pieces, and interesting little tid-bits for the pro-player. The multiplayer is simply, in my view, perfection. I can't see any other game ever beating what CoD 4Ah. I bought this game after trading in Black Ops, which I didn't overly enjoy, and I was impressed. This is where Call of Duty turned into what it is today. And it's never been done better. The campaign had a good story, good set-pieces, and interesting little tid-bits for the pro-player. The multiplayer is simply, in my view, perfection. I can't see any other game ever beating what CoD 4 accomplished with it's online mode. Pick up the GOTY if you've somehow missed this. Expand
  55. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this game, the SP was really fun and exciting, and the graphics at time of release was quite ground breaking for my 360. Story was a bit plain, but this is a war shooter so that's not too much of a detractor. Liked it? - Yes
  56. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Quite simply, currently this is still the best FPS expirience you can get your hands on. Everything the game dose, dose it brilliantly, introducing groundbreaking multipayer whan it was at its best and a fantastic single player expirience. This is one of the best games ever, and definatley the best Call of Duty.....
  57. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    The campaign of this and every other Call of Duty title is utterly horrible. It's a series of set pieces without a good story or decent gameplay. The multiplayer, however, is fantastic. It's fast-paced and tactical on the highest levels of play. Every other CoD online isn't worth your time.
  58. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This was an amazing game. It's a shame things went downhill after MW2 when they started adding unnecessary crap that over-complicated the game and made it really rage-inducing. The simplicity of this game is really what makes it phenomenal. It is almost entirely free of bull$hit. The only thing about this game that pisses me off, other than the technical issues, is Martyrdom. But otherThis was an amazing game. It's a shame things went downhill after MW2 when they started adding unnecessary crap that over-complicated the game and made it really rage-inducing. The simplicity of this game is really what makes it phenomenal. It is almost entirely free of bull$hit. The only thing about this game that pisses me off, other than the technical issues, is Martyrdom. But other than that, it is close to flawless. The maps are great, the gameplay is nice and fast-paced, the weapon balance is as close to perfection as any CoD game has ever been, and it is just overall a joy to play. Second to World at War as my favourite Call of Duty game. Expand
  59. May 14, 2013
    10
    For me, this game will always stand out for being the best game to come out of the franchise. I absolutely loved it with a passion and upon release I struggled to put the game down. I will explain why, this game holds the highest rating out of all the games in the series next to it's successor (Modern Warfare 2) for a reason. It was addictive.

    This game stole at least 25 days of my life
    For me, this game will always stand out for being the best game to come out of the franchise. I absolutely loved it with a passion and upon release I struggled to put the game down. I will explain why, this game holds the highest rating out of all the games in the series next to it's successor (Modern Warfare 2) for a reason. It was addictive.

    This game stole at least 25 days of my life away from me and I didn't have a problem with that, this was due to how unique the multiplayer was. This game brought out a serious competitive streak when it comes down to the multiplayer. I wanted to reach the maximum prestige and have that awesome looking emblem, unlock all the guns over and over again and keep progressing ahead of my pals. It was a fun experience and for another key factor which has ruined the Xbox 360's social sector. Party chat. It wasn't around then so you were constantly in game chat, meeting new people and having a laugh with complete randoms. Let me tell you this, you were considered a badass if you gained two helicopters in one TDM. Now? I couldn't really care if some kid got a nuke or MOAB in the later games.

    Now though, the COD franchise is becoming nothing more than recycled goods. In my opinion, what I experienced through this games multiplayer I will not be able to experience again on any of the new games in the series. I no longer have the desire to grind it out to max prestige, especially now as game chat is usually out of the window as party chat has turned people into unsociable recluses. This will remain my #1 FPS of all time. Not for graphics, not for gameplay, not for the maps or the guns. Just the social experience that came with it.
    Expand
  60. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This game was literally the best Call of Duty because it changed Call of Duty forever. Finally where a game evolves into the modern day instead of WWII. Don't get me wrong I love WWII, but this game separates itself from everyone because it is the first modern call of duty obviously. The campaign is phenomenal, multiplayer was fantastic. Never had a problem with servers until like 5 yearsThis game was literally the best Call of Duty because it changed Call of Duty forever. Finally where a game evolves into the modern day instead of WWII. Don't get me wrong I love WWII, but this game separates itself from everyone because it is the first modern call of duty obviously. The campaign is phenomenal, multiplayer was fantastic. Never had a problem with servers until like 5 years later because of hackers, but this game is just amazing. Expand
  61. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game! Brings a formula for gameplay better than any other fps ive played. The game flows great and gameplay is amazing. The characters are not very interesting, but the story itself is good. It carries a typical soldier's story, and gives it some interesting and shocking twists. Some points I would just drop my jaw in shock of what had happened. The multiplayer is also one of theFantastic game! Brings a formula for gameplay better than any other fps ive played. The game flows great and gameplay is amazing. The characters are not very interesting, but the story itself is good. It carries a typical soldier's story, and gives it some interesting and shocking twists. Some points I would just drop my jaw in shock of what had happened. The multiplayer is also one of the best. The pace is fast and exciting and the simplicity of the kill streak rewards are very well balanced. It gives you a great feeling of pride when you get the 7 streak helicopter which can rack up 5 or so kills, but the killstreaks are not too strong, so the multiplayer is not focused simply around them. The game modes are great and the game all around is the greatest in the historic series. Expand
  62. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    What a game! This being the first of Activision's new Modern Warefare releases, brought so much to the table. I replayed through all the CoD games this past week and its amazing this one still has great replay value after 5 years. Great Game, that will always be a classic.
  63. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    I like to limit what shooters I get, so Modern Warfare is a good game if I'm actually getting it. The campaign is not as strong as the other games, but still has value. The real fun is in the multiplayer. It's really tight and fast paced as finding matches is easy and quick.
  64. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    classic joint. this call of duty set the bar for the rest. every new call of duty uses this one as the standard. my favorite call of duty. many good memories on this one.
  65. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is the best game in the series. The campaign is fast paced and really fun and emotional, the graphics are great and the sound effects and music create a great atmosphere. The multiplayer is extremely fun and you will spend days playing this mode, here is where the game has its replay value due to the 4 hour campaign mode which is a shame but it is a perfect game for me and it deservesThis is the best game in the series. The campaign is fast paced and really fun and emotional, the graphics are great and the sound effects and music create a great atmosphere. The multiplayer is extremely fun and you will spend days playing this mode, here is where the game has its replay value due to the 4 hour campaign mode which is a shame but it is a perfect game for me and it deserves the score I am giving it. 10/10 (don't worry no other call of duty game after this one will receive this score) Expand
  66. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Yeah I gave it a ten. DEAL WITH IT!
    I LOVE this game every couple of months I'll replay the story mode (Which thank God doesn't het as DARK AND GRITTY as the other games do later on) just because I love it that much. Whilst it does have respawning enemies, a few (But not too many) scripted moments and quite a weak main antagonist I can see past all of this because I love this game SO
    Yeah I gave it a ten. DEAL WITH IT!
    I LOVE this game every couple of months I'll replay the story mode (Which thank God doesn't het as DARK AND GRITTY as the other games do later on) just because I love it that much. Whilst it does have respawning enemies, a few (But not too many) scripted moments and quite a weak main antagonist I can see past all of this because I love this game SO MUCH! The pacing is superb, the story is actually interesting and the dialogue between characters is amusing with quite a sad ending. And oh my God this was the first game to truly shock me (Pun intended) with that mission and it's aftermath anyone who's played this game will know which one.
    Sadly however the multiplayer is in a bit of a state with hackers and modders (Although not as many anymore) running rampant through games.
    So basically this game definitely gets a recommendation!
    Expand
  67. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    Very good game. Pretty much the role-model for the rest of the online shooters that came out after it. The multiplayer at the time was like no other and was really fun. I believe this game is the one that got everyone into FPS. I have played all of the call of duties in the series and this one is by far the best for it's time. I had a lot of memories playing this game, and when I play itVery good game. Pretty much the role-model for the rest of the online shooters that came out after it. The multiplayer at the time was like no other and was really fun. I believe this game is the one that got everyone into FPS. I have played all of the call of duties in the series and this one is by far the best for it's time. I had a lot of memories playing this game, and when I play it again I always have fun. Easy 9 in my book. Expand
  68. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Intriguing story, actually fun multiplayer (and I don't like very many multiplayer games), and great visuals for its time, this is a game that is not to be missed. One of the best of the generation.
  69. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Game was the original! The best of all the FPS of its time. First shooter I ever played and still one of the best. Haha. All I have to say is that....This game was the Legend. Mw2 the Prodigy. Mw3 the failure.
  70. May 19, 2012
    7
    In terms of Call of Duties, this is the best one. Game wise it's decent, but nothing worthy of greatest game status. If you want to try Call of Duty, which I don't reccomend, try this one. Otherwise play a good game series.
  71. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The standard that all FPS games have to live up to. even mw2 and 3 aren't as good as this. Simply amazing game that blew me away in 2007 and still does today. without a doubt the best fps game of the last 10 years
  72. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    The new face of war. I was uninterested in playing this sort of action war games and rather sick of the Call of Duty series until this entry came along and completely blew me away. Very tight narrative coupled with intense combat and some truly amazing moments makes for one real hell of a game.
  73. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of the coolest first-person shooters I've ever played. The gameplay is intense, the graphics are some of the best the seventh-generation of consoles can offer, and the online multiplayer is one of the greatest experiences in online gameplay.

    Modern Warfare is the first Call of Duty game I've ever played, and the best thing about it is they bring the
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of the coolest first-person shooters I've ever played. The gameplay is intense, the graphics are some of the best the seventh-generation of consoles can offer, and the online multiplayer is one of the greatest experiences in online gameplay.

    Modern Warfare is the first Call of Duty game I've ever played, and the best thing about it is they bring the series to the modern era with modern weapons, after previously being in the World War II era. The campaign has a lot of missions and varies from intense to stealth. "All Ghillied Up" is the most memorable mission of all and possible one of the greatest moments in video game history. But the "Death from Above" mission, despite being a very unique mission, is the least exciting mission in the game. The gameplay never gets redundant, as no two missions are exactly the same. By default, when zooming in with your gun, it automatically aims straight at the enemy, which may make gameplay a little too easy at times, but it's a good thing that you can switch it off in the options menu. But if using it, it can get annoying when it aims at an enemy in a mission who you're NOT supposed to kill, that results in a mission fail, when you're trying to kill enemies around that enemy. The plot is great, and there are some interesting twists.

    The Arcade mode is basically the campaign mode, but is kind of old-school gameplay, where you pick either a Level challenge (one mission of the campaign) or the Full challenge (play the whole campaign in one go, that can take hours), pick a difficulty, then play the missions, where you try to get a high score by killing enemies and have a limited amount of lives and can earn an extra life at certain checkpoints. So if you lose all your lives, it's Game Over! It is more intense than playing the campaign mode (where you get an infinite amount of lives), and completing the Full challenge in Veteran difficulty may be one of the greatest achievements in video gaming and you'd deserve a pat on the back if you manage to do it.

    The online mode has a lot of different online gameplay modes that you can choose to play, and have fantastic maps. It can be great and all, if you play it fairly with no modifications, but I get very annoyed when I jump into a multiplayer match where everyone can run super-fast, jump 100 feet high, and can use grenade launchers with infinite ammo. There are online gameplay modes that I don't jump in any more, like "Hardcore Team Deathmatch", where you can kill your own teammates. You can get some idiot in your team who kills you instantly for no reason after starting the match. The other hardcore modes are annoying too, but all the other multiplayer modes are brilliant, and you can get into really intense matches where you try to rank #1 when the match is over. Leveling up is addictive, you can mod your weapons, and you can call in airstrikes and helicopters if you get killstreaks.
    Expand
  74. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this is the best call of duty game and nothing can beat this game. Campaign is really fun with and without cheat codes. It's short but it's multiplayer makes up for the short campaign. Multiplayer has a variety of weapons and perks to choose from.
  75. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Multiplayer mode - unbeatable to say the least. The online of COD4 has NO match. The greatest online game ever to be released. Now this is a shooter. If you just bough an Xbox this is the game to get. MW2 and all other Call of Duty game are lame, this is what Started it all, this is what pushed call of duty to a new level, this is evolution and innovation. This is Call of Duty 4Multiplayer mode - unbeatable to say the least. The online of COD4 has NO match. The greatest online game ever to be released. Now this is a shooter. If you just bough an Xbox this is the game to get. MW2 and all other Call of Duty game are lame, this is what Started it all, this is what pushed call of duty to a new level, this is evolution and innovation. This is Call of Duty 4 Modern Warefare!! Back in the day I could play online for hours sometimes days non stop. 11/10 for online, 7/10 for story.!!!!!! No compare!!!!!! Expand
  76. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    Now, it's been a long time since I have played this game, but it's still my personal favorite in the Call of Duty franchise. But then again, I have little to compare it two, as 'i haven't played very much of the first three games. So this review will not be a comparison to the previous games, rather a review of the game itself. The plot is pretty straightforward, terrorists obtain aNow, it's been a long time since I have played this game, but it's still my personal favorite in the Call of Duty franchise. But then again, I have little to compare it two, as 'i haven't played very much of the first three games. So this review will not be a comparison to the previous games, rather a review of the game itself. The plot is pretty straightforward, terrorists obtain a nuclear device and plan to detonate it, you have to recover it, and eliminate the terrorists. What makes it worthwhile is the delivery. The missions are fun, and there are quite a few interesting and spectacular moments. the weapons and attachments are fun to use, and add a nice edge to multiplayer. The multiplayer, though, is where the game shines. The maps are well designed, and the perks add yet another interesting element to the gameplay. I also enjoyed being able to customize my weapons. Overall, the game has an enjoyable campaign, and a stellar multiplayer. Definitely one of my favorite shooters. Expand
  77. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    this... game... woah, seriously this thing defined the genre of FPS' i still play it today, if anything this game still holds up today, so black ops 2 can suck it.
  78. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    The good old times of CoD. Has a nice Multiplayer and the Campaign is just wonderful. I can totally recommend this game to everyone who likes CoD. This is one of the best Parts.
  79. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game. I think the single player campaign could have been a bit longer, but altogether I did enjoy the story. This is definitely a neat look inside of the technology that our military uses to keep up safe. The graphics look great, and they are very smooth. The voice acting is stellar, and the missions are creative. Overall, I think Infinity Ward took their time andI thoroughly enjoyed this game. I think the single player campaign could have been a bit longer, but altogether I did enjoy the story. This is definitely a neat look inside of the technology that our military uses to keep up safe. The graphics look great, and they are very smooth. The voice acting is stellar, and the missions are creative. Overall, I think Infinity Ward took their time and really tired to make a great game, not necessarily a game that would make them an insane amount of money. The only places Modern Warfare is lacking are the length of the campaign and the multiplayer. Although it is a lot of fun to play this game with your buddies, there are very few options to make the multiplayer interesting. There are something like 10 multiplayer maps, 10 or so preset "classes" of warrior, and very few game types. I just wish it would've been upgraded with a few more options. All that said, this game is definitely worth the time, and the story alone is worth the money. Expand
  80. May 22, 2011
    6
    It's really quite mediocre, as far as gameplay is concerned (and I'm only concerned with gameplay).

    The single player campaign's gameplay is entirely uninspired; it's mostly just shooting down hundreds of generic dumb-as-rocks terrorists or whatnot, which is made effortless and pointless by the autoaim feature, with an occasional minigame-like event. In any case, it's entirely scripted --
    It's really quite mediocre, as far as gameplay is concerned (and I'm only concerned with gameplay).

    The single player campaign's gameplay is entirely uninspired; it's mostly just shooting down hundreds of generic dumb-as-rocks terrorists or whatnot, which is made effortless and pointless by the autoaim feature, with an occasional minigame-like event. In any case, it's entirely scripted -- at no point does the SP require any skill but following directions (except pressing the right button at the right time, in the case of the dogs and grenades, which are both instant kills and can be hard to avoid). The whole SP campaign really ends up being a skeleton on which to hang a bad action movie on. 1/5.

    As for multiplayer, it's better than the PC version, if only for the ability to play split-screen. I actually had quite a bit of fun after disabling the horribly overpowered killstreak gimmicks and enabling Old-School mode for the item collection skill (the default MP has a spawn-with-items system). They give you the tools to remove much of the dumbed-down FPS gameplay that's so ridiculously popular nowadays, and so it earns a solid 4/5 in my book.
    Expand
  81. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    My 3rd Call of Duty after COD 5 and COD 3. The graphics are better than COD 3 but not 5 which is a let down. However the main selling point is that it's modern which it does well. However for me the campaign was too unrealistic with the linear progression. A major let down for all games like COD is the regenerating health. Though it helps in real life your health doesn't regenerate. ThatMy 3rd Call of Duty after COD 5 and COD 3. The graphics are better than COD 3 but not 5 which is a let down. However the main selling point is that it's modern which it does well. However for me the campaign was too unrealistic with the linear progression. A major let down for all games like COD is the regenerating health. Though it helps in real life your health doesn't regenerate. That aside the multiplayer fares better with the Old School mode especially. The amount of glitches exploited for the brilliant game Mike Myers is unreal yet fun. The campaign is the real let down for me and thats why it can't get a high mark. Expand
  82. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I believe that this is the high water mark of this generation's first person shooters. The story mode is a blast and the online MP is nonstop fun. Loving this game might make me a "fanboy", but I'll be damned if I care.
  83. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    In my opinion the last truly innovative Call of Duty. Great multiplayer and jaw dropping campaign that I played for days, literally days, and I still play now. I just wish that the rest of the COD games were as original as this one.
  84. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    There has not been a better cod since this. This was the start of the cod franchise because this game was just way too good. This was when Infinity Ward was actually good
  85. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    This game is a lot of fun and definitely worth getting. The campaign is fun and keeps you entertained by switching up what you're doing periodically. The down side is that the campaign is full of infinitely spawning enemies making it difficult to move forward at times. The ending wasn't great but the rest the game is excellent.
  86. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    This Cod is the best cod because it is balanced enough and it is fun. SIngle player was great. I don't like playing arcade mode because it doesn't really change the game much but this is the awesome thing you would want to buy.
  87. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Modern Warfare is a great game. Probably the best story mode for a FPS that I've played in a long time, but you play COD for the multiplayer. If you just bought any COD game for the story mode then you're not utilizing the full potential or the maxium level of enjoyment the game has to offer. The only complaint I have about the game is something that I will continue to see in the CODModern Warfare is a great game. Probably the best story mode for a FPS that I've played in a long time, but you play COD for the multiplayer. If you just bought any COD game for the story mode then you're not utilizing the full potential or the maxium level of enjoyment the game has to offer. The only complaint I have about the game is something that I will continue to see in the COD franchise I'm sure; maps feel way to restricted. I understand the game was meant to be more close quarter combat VS a more open map like Battlefield, but even Counter Strike feels like you have more room than the best COD map. MW and MW2 are in my opinion, the best the COD franchise has to offer at this point. Expand
  88. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    A Complete and total FPS innovation. If you played this game then you know the deal. The greatest Call of Duty that ever was. Truly no other compares.
  89. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    One of the best shooters ever, the best Call of Duty game ever, etc. A lot of good things can be said about this game. I've spent an incredible amount of time enjoying it. The campaign is of course based on scripts and doesn't have much variety, but in 2007 it looked incredible and had a lot of breathtaking scenes and missions. And the best thing about singleplayer is that it's only theOne of the best shooters ever, the best Call of Duty game ever, etc. A lot of good things can be said about this game. I've spent an incredible amount of time enjoying it. The campaign is of course based on scripts and doesn't have much variety, but in 2007 it looked incredible and had a lot of breathtaking scenes and missions. And the best thing about singleplayer is that it's only the warm-up before the jaw dropping multiplayer action. A diversity of customization options introduced in this game became a standard for all modern FPS, the maps were nearly perfect balanced, as well as weapons. The arcade mode is a waste of time, and there are other minor flaws, but this game is still a great experience. Sadly, I can't recommend buying it now since a very small number of players play it's multiplayer on X360 and PS3, and on PC it has this stupid dedicated servers system. But it will always be in my heart as (I repeat) the best shooter I've ever played. Expand
  90. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    The CoD game that launched the franchise into the stratosphere. The campaign was incredible - better than some summer blockbusters. What else can be said about the multiplayer? This was lightning in a bottle, and has been the standard by which we judge all future CoD games. CoD4 was the best game of the Xbox 360/PS3/Wii generation, and I will cherish the memories I have and the friends IThe CoD game that launched the franchise into the stratosphere. The campaign was incredible - better than some summer blockbusters. What else can be said about the multiplayer? This was lightning in a bottle, and has been the standard by which we judge all future CoD games. CoD4 was the best game of the Xbox 360/PS3/Wii generation, and I will cherish the memories I have and the friends I made playing that game. It is the gold standard, and it is missed. Expand
  91. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Just a brilliant game.i don't remember playing better Multiplayer ever and Campaign is also EPIC
  92. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    Instant classic, and unreal multiplayer. Call of Duty 4 has great weapons and the best online multiplayer to date. The story is a little bland but all is made up cause of the online. This is what pushed online multiplayer shooters to the limit. This game is what got everyone involved with online. This is anyone's kind of shooter, great game all around!
  93. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    Not a perfect game but a good one. The graphics for its time were breathtaking. It is the best campaign out of all the call of duty games. Its an elite Fps and will keep you playing for a while. the flaws in this game are not any big ones but a few little ones. first of all there are way to many glitches in the game. also some gun classes have to many guns and some dont have enough. AlsoNot a perfect game but a good one. The graphics for its time were breathtaking. It is the best campaign out of all the call of duty games. Its an elite Fps and will keep you playing for a while. the flaws in this game are not any big ones but a few little ones. first of all there are way to many glitches in the game. also some gun classes have to many guns and some dont have enough. Also like the other call of duty games the game focuses to much on multiplayer and not enough on the campaign. but overall a great game but some flaws that keep it from winning any special awards Expand
  94. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    By far the best CoD game I've played and to say it was released in 2007, is very, very impressive. Thought the storyline was one of the best and the online is great, despite the modders which is the only thing that ruins the multiplayer but that has nothing to do with the game itself. The graphics aren't the best, but don't forget this isn't a new game. Activision really put other gameBy far the best CoD game I've played and to say it was released in 2007, is very, very impressive. Thought the storyline was one of the best and the online is great, despite the modders which is the only thing that ruins the multiplayer but that has nothing to do with the game itself. The graphics aren't the best, but don't forget this isn't a new game. Activision really put other game developers to shame when they brought this out and I thought they let themselves down with the release of Black Ops 1 & 2. Ignore the haters on here, they're clearly just fanboys of Halo or Battlefield that hate this game because it is AMAZING and popular something they will never be. Expand
  95. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Call of Duty 4 is an excellent shooter with a memorable story and a multiplayer that has an incredible replay value. CoD 4 was the first game I've played in the series back in 2010 and I've been playing CoD ever since.The story is great along with awesome and in depth characters. Today, most CoD players don't even play the game for its story. But, I highly recommend playing CoD 4 'sCall of Duty 4 is an excellent shooter with a memorable story and a multiplayer that has an incredible replay value. CoD 4 was the first game I've played in the series back in 2010 and I've been playing CoD ever since.The story is great along with awesome and in depth characters. Today, most CoD players don't even play the game for its story. But, I highly recommend playing CoD 4 's campaign as it's unforgettable experience coming from a first person shooter. As for the multiplayer, it's addicting as any other CoD except this CoD will more simpler in terms of perks, kill streaks, etc. But it still has the CoD formula that we all love to play. S , I give this game a 10 out of 10 and highly recommend it to any COD or fps players. Expand
  96. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    New to the whole franchise COD_MW2 is my first shot at this franchise. Amazing, great game, good re- playability. The multi-player gives tons of things to do, im not a fan of certain maps one is to big the other is just annoying, i don't mind campers if thats how you play then go for it, I don't mind tubers do you. I do mind those that take advantage of glitches however. Overall probablyNew to the whole franchise COD_MW2 is my first shot at this franchise. Amazing, great game, good re- playability. The multi-player gives tons of things to do, im not a fan of certain maps one is to big the other is just annoying, i don't mind campers if thats how you play then go for it, I don't mind tubers do you. I do mind those that take advantage of glitches however. Overall probably the best online experience in an FPS i have had on the console. My suggestion if you haven't played it is rent it, something tells me after you do you'll buy it.Im not giving it a 10 because some of the things mentioned by John P about enemies coming out of a doorway until you reach the spawn point is true. The only thing for me is this is a game they have to program certain things in it. This game is ran off a disk which has limited space not everything can be down in the cloud... If you want to see real spawn points and real enemy movement create a game that does this in a cloud until then you will see weak spawn points like JOHN P mentioned. Expand
  97. Jul 16, 2011
    0
    The single player sucks and is incredibly short and the online is the definition of repetitive. i don't understand what people like about this,if you want a good shooter play Bioshock, Half-life 2,gears of war or crysis
  98. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The only good Call of Duty besides 3 2 and 1. This game is the epitome of solid gunplay, tight controls and great hit detection. Even today its a blast to play. Way better than crappy warfare 3
  99. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Ok this is old I know, but this game used to be amazing, this game has gone downhill ever since, now its just people hacking... this game used to be made of gold... now the only thing made of gold in this game is some of the cammo... and hackers, if your going to hack, dont boast about it... it makes you look like a ****
  100. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    (Multiplayer review) This game paved the way for all fps releases in the last 5 years. Not only was this game tight, responsive, and extremely addicting for 2007, but here in 2012 it hasn't lost it's appeal. The ability to create-a-class with so many good options gave gamers a sense of personalization and customization that separated MW from other fps'. Killstreaks were also as addictive(Multiplayer review) This game paved the way for all fps releases in the last 5 years. Not only was this game tight, responsive, and extremely addicting for 2007, but here in 2012 it hasn't lost it's appeal. The ability to create-a-class with so many good options gave gamers a sense of personalization and customization that separated MW from other fps'. Killstreaks were also as addictive as crack when you are calling in airstrikes and choppers on the enemy. Many pros, few cons. My favorite fps to date. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.