User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1344 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JG
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, the best next gen FPS. The single player is flawless and multiplayer is addicting and fun. A must buy.
  2. EvanG.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is so realistic and so modern in aspect of the weapons except for the perks, but the perks are what makes Call of Duty a game. Overall, its sick and i give it a 10/10.
  3. RyanP.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Best game of 2007 and best FPS in a long time. Single player was a little short, but multiplayer part of the game makes up for it. I don't know why people would rate it a 1 or 3, but it is the best game of 2007 (yes, better than Halo 3).
  4. AnonymousMC
    Sep 20, 2009
    3
    Really don't get the huge ratings for this game. All I see are 8's and 10's, seriously, could this game be more suck?

    Naturally, when I got the game I thought it would be good, I mean, it has two f*cking helpcopters on the front cover, so I was like, "Dude! I get to fly helicopters?!" Sadly, to my dismay, I could not fly around in a simulator like fashion taking off
    Really don't get the huge ratings for this game. All I see are 8's and 10's, seriously, could this game be more suck?

    Naturally, when I got the game I thought it would be good, I mean, it has two f*cking helpcopters on the front cover, so I was like, "Dude! I get to fly helicopters?!"

    Sadly, to my dismay, I could not fly around in a simulator like fashion taking off and landing as I pleased.

    The graphics were about as good as Microsoft Flight Simulator 2000 (Which I play daily), so I guess that's a plus.

    But really, I didn't get the point of all this "First Person Shooter" stuff. I turned on the game and was like, "What is this?" I just don't get why on the front cover you would have helicopters yet not let the player fly them all over.

    Bad Marketing, Bad Game, Bad choice at not having helicopters.
    Expand
  5. TravisM.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    The most solid realistic FPS that I've ever played. I'm active duty Army (US Military) and must say that this game is the closest you can come to actual combat without having to wear the actual equipment and enlist. Might end up replacing Halo 1 as the best multiplayer FPS of all time. Only a few minor complaints with the perks in the game, but if you have a choice of this or The most solid realistic FPS that I've ever played. I'm active duty Army (US Military) and must say that this game is the closest you can come to actual combat without having to wear the actual equipment and enlist. Might end up replacing Halo 1 as the best multiplayer FPS of all time. Only a few minor complaints with the perks in the game, but if you have a choice of this or Halo 3... Buy this twice and give one to a friend. Expand
  6. PatrickA.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    As a Brit in Singapore I had the luck of picking this game up early...and WOW am I impressed.. It's COD so you know what to expect in terms of the intensity of the firefights, but with a modern day timeline which disturbingly echoes the images you see on the news. I guarantee you'll get a feeling of deja-vu, especially in the US marine sections. The quotes from people such as As a Brit in Singapore I had the luck of picking this game up early...and WOW am I impressed.. It's COD so you know what to expect in terms of the intensity of the firefights, but with a modern day timeline which disturbingly echoes the images you see on the news. I guarantee you'll get a feeling of deja-vu, especially in the US marine sections. The quotes from people such as Condi Rice and Vlad Putin really hammers it home that this is not WW2 but a present day "worst-case" scenario. This game is incredibly immersive and entertaining, and combined with the excellent graphics makes me feel this is the best of the FPS's out this year. Expand
  7. RyanP
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    I don't know what the last person was talking about when he mentioned blu ray, I mean, if they made the campaign longer it would've been on both systems no matter what, but in this case, both the PS3 and 360 have the same, short campaign, but this is still a VERY excellent game on it's own. Let's hope the next CoD installment is longer. I mean, look at Halo 3!!
  8. GatorB.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    This is the year of the FPS for the 360. Halo 3, Bioshock, Orange Box, and now COD4! The multiplayer is excellent.
  9. SteveM.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    This is the best FPS I have ever played. The multiplayer rivals the polish and tight execution of even Halo 3. The campaign, which I am currently working on, is filled with some of the most beautiful graphics, sound, level design, and gameplay I have ever witnessed. Other FPS' may offer different innovations and have their own respective advantages, but overall, this is the best game This is the best FPS I have ever played. The multiplayer rivals the polish and tight execution of even Halo 3. The campaign, which I am currently working on, is filled with some of the most beautiful graphics, sound, level design, and gameplay I have ever witnessed. Other FPS' may offer different innovations and have their own respective advantages, but overall, this is the best game of this genre I have ever had the pleasure of playing. Expand
  10. DC
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This game is the one of the best war games ever. Online play is excellent you can actually play with your friends by inviting them to your party and searching for a game together. The action is intense, none stop bullets flying by you head, explosions everywhere, call for air strikes from above, or helicopter support. The developers of COD4 finally figured out how to defeat the art ofThis game is the one of the best war games ever. Online play is excellent you can actually play with your friends by inviting them to your party and searching for a game together. The action is intense, none stop bullets flying by you head, explosions everywhere, call for air strikes from above, or helicopter support. The developers of COD4 finally figured out how to defeat the art of spawn killing, I love the random spawning. Great game a must have, GRAW2 and RAINBOW need to take a back seat to COD4. Expand
  11. NickK.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Best MP game ever made, runs 60 fps on the 360, I have not ever had a drop yet. Game is a beauty and gives reason to keep playing. SP was the most cinematic game I have played for an FPS. Great Job Infinity Ward, 2 thumbs way up
  12. Ultimatetoa
    Jan 8, 2008
    0
    this game is dumb. i mean no aliens or intergalactic travel what kind of halo game is this any way. they said that Halo 4 future tools of warfare was game of the year, and Ano you suck, the orange box sucks, and halo 3 deserved game of the year.
  13. TomS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Even after all the hype and anticipation, Halo 3 and Rainbow Six Vegas (good though they were) were poor compared to this game. It boasts awesome graphics and sound, and with great variety of weapons and maps, this could well be the best online FPS ever.The only thing holding it back from a 10 was the short single player but this is still a must-have 360 and PS3 game.
  14. JAMESV.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It is a great campaign but it is to short. but the best part is it is realy great/emence online. (if you dont have live then you might not like it.)
  15. JamesT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics, Good single player, and absolutely astonishing online play.
  16. JohnK.
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    I would give it an 8.5 if i could. This is the best looking game I have ever seen. 60 fps and phenomenal graphics make it a visual masterpiece. But there are some issues. With the single player there is no enemy A.I. They will do the exact same thing on every play through. If you are playing a tough part you can literally memorize every enemy's movement and act accordingly. Unlike I would give it an 8.5 if i could. This is the best looking game I have ever seen. 60 fps and phenomenal graphics make it a visual masterpiece. But there are some issues. With the single player there is no enemy A.I. They will do the exact same thing on every play through. If you are playing a tough part you can literally memorize every enemy's movement and act accordingly. Unlike other shooters like gears of war and halo 3, the enemies do not react to you other than ducking. This makes it extremely boring on successive play-throughs. Additionally, on veteran difficulty, you will run into a few particularly frustrating parts that require you to either memorize the enemy movements or get lucky as hell by finding the one place that they don't seem to shoot at. But you're not buying this game for single player are you? The multiplayer is very good, but not very well polished. The level design is not as good as halo 3 and you can use the same strategies for almost every map. Not much variation in that. Spawning is absolute garbage. You will spawn into an airstrike at least once a game and enemies will spawn behind you in your own side of the map. Unlike halo (i feel the need to compare it to this because I feel they nailed the respawn system) in COD 4 it is very easy to get locked in a spawn trap which gets frustrating. Finally with multiplayer, the matchmaking system is very bad. You can be matched with people of any skill/experience which makes a difference when higher levels get better perks (in addition to the likely skill differential). You will also find yourself joining games that are in progress only to spawn and find that you have lost. That is rather annoying. Having said all that about the multiplayer, it is still incredibly fun and I find myself playing it way more than I ever did with halo. Summary: Cons-- Completely scripted enemy movement, unpolished multiplayer which needs improvements in matchmaking system, map design, and respawn system. Pros--Absolutely stunning visuals, High replay value on multiplayer. Multiplayer is very fun and offers enough to compensate for frustrating respawn and matchmaking issues. Expand
  17. RowanF
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    I love Halo 3. I also love COD4. Now i think i'm about the only gamer ever to have said that ever. They are both realy good in different ways. COD4 offers a tactical and beautifuly thought out singleplayer experience displayed in beautiful graphics. Needless to say that it completely the reviatalises the Call of Duty experience with all of its revolutionary ideas. It truly is I love Halo 3. I also love COD4. Now i think i'm about the only gamer ever to have said that ever. They are both realy good in different ways. COD4 offers a tactical and beautifuly thought out singleplayer experience displayed in beautiful graphics. Needless to say that it completely the reviatalises the Call of Duty experience with all of its revolutionary ideas. It truly is refreshing to see a game with such scope and imagination. The multiplayer is also a great, if sometimes slightly repetetive, experience. Having said all of this, though, whereas COD4 beats Halo 3 hands down on imagination and original gameplay ideas, it falls just short of Halo 3 when it comes to overall fun factor. That is, once you get past Halo's confusing plot line and complete lack of new ideas. Expand
  18. jh
    Aug 9, 2009
    7
    Fortunately I'm unbiased enough to not mark off a huge load of points just because I don't like the overall userscore. I feel a 7 is representative of the game, unlike the kind of scores it's pulled elsewhere. CoD4, like the many CoDs before it, is extremely linear. Someone actually had taken the position on the Destructoid forums that linearity doesn't make a game Fortunately I'm unbiased enough to not mark off a huge load of points just because I don't like the overall userscore. I feel a 7 is representative of the game, unlike the kind of scores it's pulled elsewhere. CoD4, like the many CoDs before it, is extremely linear. Someone actually had taken the position on the Destructoid forums that linearity doesn't make a game bad. He's wrong and right; non-linearity extends the life a game by presenting the player with multi-faceted decisions, warranting extended playthroughs and evoking the emotion of 'freedom' that you don't get in linear games. Linearity only works if the game is really long, and that's exactly where CoD4 commits its greatest sin. It's short. On default difficulty I completed it in 4 hours, without even trying. Thankfully it was a rent. Haven't gone back to it since. Expand
  19. MikeW.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This was a great FPS game in addition to the Call of Duty series. Before I played MW1, I first played MW2, and upon finding it fun and later stumbled on to Metacritic to discover the high scores its prequel has received, is when I had decided to buy it. I had to give this game a score of 10 in order to make up for some of other people's mistake of accidentally giving MW1 a lower This was a great FPS game in addition to the Call of Duty series. Before I played MW1, I first played MW2, and upon finding it fun and later stumbled on to Metacritic to discover the high scores its prequel has received, is when I had decided to buy it. I had to give this game a score of 10 in order to make up for some of other people's mistake of accidentally giving MW1 a lower score such as zero while the comment was purely praising it. Simple mistake people do, and simple fix that we can do. Expand
  20. PapaDoc
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Is by far one of the best games I have every played for the Xbox 360. I didn't think it would live up to hype so I rented it first. Kept it two weeks over due then went to Gamestop and bought it. I have gotten my $60.00 worth .The graphics are excellent and the controls are tight. The story is good for a war shooter game. I am so glad Infinity Ward Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Is by far one of the best games I have every played for the Xbox 360. I didn't think it would live up to hype so I rented it first. Kept it two weeks over due then went to Gamestop and bought it. I have gotten my $60.00 worth .The graphics are excellent and the controls are tight. The story is good for a war shooter game. I am so glad Infinity Ward made a modern warfare game, instead on another WWII game. I have nothing against them, but I was a big Medal of Honor player when it was on the PS1, so I am kind of getting tired of this concept, and the crappy guns. In Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare it brings in a believe story which is interesting the campaign is good and challenging especially the last final mission (High Mile Club good luck beating it on Veteran) This is also one of the most completive multiplayer game I have every played. Multiplayer is where the game really shines as there is a lot of modes to play in. My personal favorite is Domination (it's a great mode to perfecta your aiming skills.) But there are other modes such as one on one, team death match, and etc. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is a perfect FPS for the Xbox 360, and for someone that has both consoles (PS3 and XBOX 360). If you are deciding which system to get it for, I would suggest getting it for the Xbox 360. I have play the PS3 version, the graphics are the same and the sound is the same, but to me it felt better on the Xbox 360 as FPS shooters typically control better for the 360. Ergo Halo, Halo 2 and Halo 3. But it still a great game for the PS3 just takes a while to handle. Also if you're an achievement hound then the Xbox 360 is the way to go anyway. This is the first time I played a Call of Duty game so I hope the rest are just as good. So to sum this up, just buy this game you won't be mad and the replay value is very high, I bought it last November and I'm still playing it. Now please excuse me I have someone sending me an invite to play COD4. Expand
  21. MikeyB.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    a good game, but honestly overhyped. for the most part it plays like your standard call of duty game, good graphics, controls, and sound, but weak in alot of areas that probably should've been taken into consideration by developers IW considering how much money and resource capacity they've made from the series so far. the single player is decent, but far too short, and a good game, but honestly overhyped. for the most part it plays like your standard call of duty game, good graphics, controls, and sound, but weak in alot of areas that probably should've been taken into consideration by developers IW considering how much money and resource capacity they've made from the series so far. the single player is decent, but far too short, and depending on the skill of the player will only take about 5-10 hours to beat on their first time through, and on top of that has little replay value, since the paths for completing missions in the single player are fairly linear. additionally the game has a rather confusing storyline, which with effort one can make sense of, but seems very thrown together and many things are left unexplained. as for multiplayer, its fun, but can get very aggravating; its lost a sense of balance since the last call of duty releases, such as a large number of weapons that are either nearly useless or capable of pulling instant kills under any conditions (ask someone you know who plays it about the M1887s). also, as soon as somebody gets a killstreak, they're given special bonuses such as helicopter, aircraft, and drone support that makes life very difficult for other players if they're not fortunate enough to get as many kills in a row first. the game's redeeming feature is the special ops mode, which consists of several mini-missions (some ripped and slightly altered from segments of the campaign mode) which allow players to jump right into the action in a large number of enviroments, and can be played with a friend for assistance. although it is a game you can have quite a bit of fun with, it seems like a step down from its prequels- as it's lost the co-op and extra gore that was seen in call of duty WaW's campaign, alot of realism that the series held as a standard (possible spoilers) for example, the russian soldiers use weapons that are either considered outdated by their military terms in real life (the russians swapped the ak47 for the ak74 and RPD for PK machine gun in real life, yet they use RPDs/ak47s in the game) or are in reality guns used by completely different armies (FAMAS is french, AUG Hbars are Austrian, P90s and FALs are Belgian, and TAR21s are Israeli), and finally- weapons do incorrect amounts of damage (the vector is a .45 and does less damage per shot than the mini uzi or mp5k (only 9mms). combine all that info, and the result is a less than stellar experience when comparing the game to it's predecessors. arguably, it is fun to play, but it has so many bad mechanics you'd think would be ironed out before release its just aggravating. i suggest renting or borrowing the game if by some biblical prophecy theres somebody who didnt buy it yet, or at least wait til you see it on sale before actually buying it. its not as fun as the previous cod titles and wont last as long in entertainment value. Expand
  22. MikeT.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 for grownups, this is the next-gen title that Bungie should've made. Great multiplayer, great singleplayer. Not a perfect 10 because in singleplayer, there are some frustrating points where you restart over and over b/c its not clear exactly what you must do.
  23. DavidWorsham
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Best game of the year, hands down.
  24. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Best FPS on the current generation of consoles, hands down.
  25. MikeR.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is so cool, the multiplayer is awesome and the campaign is also awesome. Perfect 10! This game is gaming at its best! YAHHHHHH
  26. EricO.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Best FPS I have ever played.
  27. CalebT.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is FANTASTIC. I was a little disapointed by the last one but this game more than makes up for it with it's overall intensity. From the excelent sneaking missions to the hectic urban battles, this game has it all. Look out Halo, Bioshock, Gears of War and the Orange Box, there is a new champ in town and it's called Call of Duty 4.
  28. ImaC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    If you like fps and tons of action... this game is for you. I've played them all and this sits on top of my list. You cannot go wrong with this game... I've already decided the moment I finish I will start it again. Live is awesome as well...! buy this...
  29. NeilVitro
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    One rare, AWESOME, compelling, realistic, incredible gaming experience. It IS too short, because it is so much fun that you can't bear for it to end. Upon beating it, I immediately started playing through it again.
  30. BjörnH.
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    Totally awsome! I got this great feeling that makes you sit up all night just to play this game. Incredible great multiplayer, and a great single player campaign that feels like you are one of the members in a special force. Only one thing makes it go down one point is the spawning of the enemies. They appear sometimes on places that were impossible for them to get to. So you for example Totally awsome! I got this great feeling that makes you sit up all night just to play this game. Incredible great multiplayer, and a great single player campaign that feels like you are one of the members in a special force. Only one thing makes it go down one point is the spawning of the enemies. They appear sometimes on places that were impossible for them to get to. So you for example cant count on that your allies cover your six. Anyway, it is worth the buy. Expand
  31. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    7
    A good game, all in all, but offline story and online map design hold it back from greatness.
  32. L.D.
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    This game is awesome. The multiplayer kicks ass, but the single player is a little short with not much of a story and a little plot twist, but it's still fun. Co-op would've been nice. But who gives a shit, the mp is frickin fun. I actually liked this game better than hal03.
  33. PaulC.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    The campaign mode is probably not even worth trying, but the online multiplayer is great fun and highly addictive. The only downside is that the online players tend to be a lot more annoying. There's a much higher incidence of racist and homophobic comments playing this game than Halo 3, that's for sure.
  34. StuartD.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    What an amazing game, nothing like it on the 360 that compares to this beauty.
  35. CMode
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutey AMAZING in every aspect except length, but that is made up for with the hours spent playing multiplayer!!!
  36. MatD.
    Jan 2, 2008
    3
    Singleplayer game is very short, and once that is finished the game is pointless. Multiplayer is simply a joke, is no differnt then any other crappy FPS online.
  37. MaxS.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Simply put "the fun never stops" . From the training course, to the end assault at 20000 feet, this game just rocks. Oh yeah the Multiplayer is pretty good too!
  38. TonyG.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    SINGLE PLAYER: Who cares? MULTIPLAYER: 96+ game hours and it's still awesome--CoD 4 is the best FPS available on a console. You can kit out your player for whatever style you want--sniping, run & gun, explosives, heavy support fire, and just about any other bizarre combo that you can dream up. Best of all, you can make these ideas work--no one style is dominant. Graphics are SINGLE PLAYER: Who cares? MULTIPLAYER: 96+ game hours and it's still awesome--CoD 4 is the best FPS available on a console. You can kit out your player for whatever style you want--sniping, run & gun, explosives, heavy support fire, and just about any other bizarre combo that you can dream up. Best of all, you can make these ideas work--no one style is dominant. Graphics are phenomenal, boards are expansive and well thought out, and the sound effects are great. After awhile, you can even pick out the reports of the different types of guns. Buy / rent this title if you're looking for insane multiplayer FPS. Expand
  39. TheDude
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    This game is kind of tough to grade. The single-player mission is the best military game single-player experience I've ever had. It was phenomenal. I wasn't even looking forward to playing it because I thought I was sick of military games. The presentation, the variety of missions, and the immersion and excitement levels were just awesome. They did a great job with it. However, This game is kind of tough to grade. The single-player mission is the best military game single-player experience I've ever had. It was phenomenal. I wasn't even looking forward to playing it because I thought I was sick of military games. The presentation, the variety of missions, and the immersion and excitement levels were just awesome. They did a great job with it. However, the single-player mission is very short. It took me about 8 hours and I kind of took my time. So it was a ten for quality, but the quantity sets it back. That would be made up for by the replay-ability of the multi-player, except for I didn't like the multi-player. Granted, I only tried it for a few hours, so it might just take more getting used to, and I didn't get to try all the modes. But so, since I didn't enjoy the multi-player, and the solo campaign is so short, I can't quite give it a perfect ten, though it seems like a crime to not give it a ten considering how excellent the single-player mode was while it lasted. Expand
  40. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    6
    COD4 has an amazing campaign mode with many jaw dropping moments. But it only lasts for a short while. The multiplayer is great for about a week when you realise that you're doing the same thing everygame. The skill level is not even here. 1 shot and the other guy is dead in most cases. The game needs better custom games to keep the longevity of Halo.
  41. J.D.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    Fantastic single player + multiplayer with gorgeous graphics make this an easy purchase. Forget Halo and buy this game. You'll understand when you are launching bombs from an AC-130 and watching the guys on the screen fly all directions.
  42. JamesP.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    i have finished the game and i thought it had everything it was superb and it was detailed with great first person shooting and cant wait for call of duty 5 to come out
  43. SamF.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    An almost perfect FPS experience. I had no problems with the length of the campaign mode, it seemed as long as any other... I think the problem is it is such a good game you don't want it to end! The mission where you take over the guns on the AC130 gunship is one of the best bits of gameplay I've experienced in years. As for the multiplayer, that is awesome. You really have to An almost perfect FPS experience. I had no problems with the length of the campaign mode, it seemed as long as any other... I think the problem is it is such a good game you don't want it to end! The mission where you take over the guns on the AC130 gunship is one of the best bits of gameplay I've experienced in years. As for the multiplayer, that is awesome. You really have to be on your toes, using cover sensibly and picking your weaponry appropriately. I also haven't experienced half as much lag as I have on Halo 3 and overall the multiplayer modes are much better implemented. Only fault for me is the dodgy melee button, but that's changeable! Expand
  44. JamesB.
    Feb 16, 2008
    5
    The Game essentially consists of 2 different Parts: The Campaign and the Multiplayer Mode. Both parts look awesome at first glance. But a while of testing lets an experienced player look under the hood and what you see there is overly mediocre and obsolete gameplay. First Things first, the Campaign: The presentation of the campaign is top notch. That is of course the reason why this game The Game essentially consists of 2 different Parts: The Campaign and the Multiplayer Mode. Both parts look awesome at first glance. But a while of testing lets an experienced player look under the hood and what you see there is overly mediocre and obsolete gameplay. First Things first, the Campaign: The presentation of the campaign is top notch. That is of course the reason why this game succeeds in most players ratings. The gameplay on the other hand falls off against that beautiful presentation very harsh. You are confronted with the worst thing of modern FPS games: a linear awefully scripted rebirth of COD2. If one can learn from doom3 debacle ist that no one likes scripted shooters. Especially if the are illogical. Just to name one of such an annoyance: One can shoot out of the enemy helicopters that are the most often the most dangerous thread in the campaign the MG gunner. But in the moment you shot him he is replaced by a new one (unlimited times). The multiplayer has a slightly different presentation that does not look so well like the campaign, but the field of depth effect looks in online mode great as well. The problem with online mode is the fact that your success mostly depends on how often you have played multiplayer and how good your connection is to the XBOX that hosts the game. The more often you play the game the better is your weapons arsenal that by default makes you superior to newcomers. That is not a great idea but it is one you can accept. But if you loose your duels against other players although you sawe and shot the first then you get really mad. Even worse is that the engine looses your kills during game. I witnessed with my friends who sat besides me more than once that the in game statistic showed 2 kills on my list and five seconds later my 2 kills were gone and I was again at zero. This happens very frequently and has nothing to do with the score-penalty one gets for killing friendly players. In the end result both parts look really great at first but fall of short very fast if one gets a deeper look at them. Expand
  45. SimonP.
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    As a single player experience this is arguably second to Halo 3 or Bioshock, but add in the superbly implemented multi-player aspect and it
  46. PaulH.
    Feb 8, 2008
    7
    This may be one of the most over-rated games of all time. While the presentation is outstanding the actually gameplay is incredibly frustrating and not particularly interesting. All of the weapons are basically the same, you die by random grenades all the time, there is no real tactical choice in the single player experience. The game developers are forcing you to play the game the way This may be one of the most over-rated games of all time. While the presentation is outstanding the actually gameplay is incredibly frustrating and not particularly interesting. All of the weapons are basically the same, you die by random grenades all the time, there is no real tactical choice in the single player experience. The game developers are forcing you to play the game the way they intended feel is best and do not allow you to express yourself in the least. The only reason my rating is so high is because outside of the gameplay, everything else is fantastic. Expand
  47. Mike
    Feb 8, 2008
    5
    Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat disappointed with it. Apart from the gun recoile I thought that it felt kind of robotic. It would have been nice to have maybe just little things like you can look down and see your body or included different reload processes, I know that doesn't really matter but a few more big additions would have been nice to like a good cover system. One thing that I really did like was the A.I and movement it looked really realistic. the games sound track has also gone down hill. It is alot more basic and less moving and compelling as ALL the other cod games. I personnaly think that they took the wrong path with this game and I hope it will be better next time. I really wanted to love this game Like I loved COD 1 and 2 but right now in my world its just another decent game. Nothing special.If you are reading this review than I would recommend you give it a try you just might like it I know that most people do and chances are you would like it but as for me. No. Just, No I am sorry if I have displeased you in any way. Expand
  48. HughGRection
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Sweet. IMO best game of 2007.
  49. LoganC.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Great story plot, Amazing graphics, Realistic environments, if your looking for experience thats like actual combat this close to it.
  50. SeanC.
    Mar 5, 2008
    7
    While the game play is rather fun overall, there are quite a few very obvious flaws, many of which you'd sincerely hope wouldn't be there. One of these flaws is the physics in the game. While you can shoot a cinder block or a pan around the room with your pistol (which is actually quite fun), that's about all there is to it. You can't break glass (except for on cars), While the game play is rather fun overall, there are quite a few very obvious flaws, many of which you'd sincerely hope wouldn't be there. One of these flaws is the physics in the game. While you can shoot a cinder block or a pan around the room with your pistol (which is actually quite fun), that's about all there is to it. You can't break glass (except for on cars), you can't break wood (all that happens is a cheesy "hole" appears), you can't break much of anything important. Half Life 2 even had better physics than this. Another flaw is some of the level designs. For example, in single player mode, there are a few areas where you can look up, throw a grenade where it's completely open, and the grenade will bounce off an invisible wall in the air and land on your head. In multiplayer mode, the level designs get very repetitive, and it starts feeling dull very quickly. Some people have mentioned how sniping is so realistic because of the wind and gravity effects, but I'd like to point out that the only time those effects come into play is during a three minute part of a level where you take exactly two sniper shots. In reality, the rest of the game is just like any other game with sniping, except that your guy trembles like a mad man when he's using the scope. Aside from these flaws though, and the rather narrowness of the storyline, the game is pretty fun. Killing people never gets boring in multiplayer, and there's a lot more value to using various guns in this game than there is in just sticking to one or two guns. Customizing your player with different weapons, accessories to your weapons, and perks is a nice addition, and the game is relatively balanced so that each class of gun has a scenario on any level where it can be good. Expand
  51. JoeL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game ROCKS. It may have a few flaw, but I can't think of them right now because of how fun and addicting this game is. The multi player aspect of the game is awesome. This is a must have, but it will ruin you because you won't be able to play any of your other FPS games.
  52. DaylandM.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Its the perfect online multiplayer experience. Every fps that came before paved the way for this, the ultimate online experience. It borrows a little from every game that came before it, to our benefit as critical gamers. I sincerely hope that by raising the bar for everyone else, some game company will be motivated to exceed what COD4:MW has achieved.
  53. SamB.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    I've never considered myself a hardcore gamer prior to the release of Call of Duy 4. The single player mode is the perfect length, it throws tons of action at you but without going overborad. The story is predictable, but the game's personality makes it worth while to keep playing. Perks such as the cheats and the epilogue are funny and entertaining. But the meat, in my opinion I've never considered myself a hardcore gamer prior to the release of Call of Duy 4. The single player mode is the perfect length, it throws tons of action at you but without going overborad. The story is predictable, but the game's personality makes it worth while to keep playing. Perks such as the cheats and the epilogue are funny and entertaining. But the meat, in my opinion of the COD sandwich is the multiplayer. Infinity Ward made leveling up and completing challenges feel better than it should. Framerate during online play is great, all the guns are balanced perfectly and each map offers it's own set of pro/cons you must learn at your own discretion. It's the features like a hit icon to let you know your bullets have reached another player and killcams so you know not to make the same mistake twice that well round and polish the multiplayer. I honestly have no complaints about this game, overall, singleplayer is great, multiplayer is great, controls works great and the game is just plain fun. This game is not about art direction or camera angles, it's about fun, the game is f - u - n. Expand
  54. BenC.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    The single greatest game to ever grace my disk drive. This is a near perfect masterpiece of a game. From the intense singleplayer campaign, to the endlessly replayable multiplayer, this title is flawless. Although Co-Op campaign would be nice, I won't fault the game for not having it.
  55. JacobL.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Call of Duty was a great PC shooter Call of Duty 2 was a great Xbox360 launch title Call of Duty 3 was still good but a disappointment by some a nightmare for others. Call of Duty 4 is an amazing Xbox360 and perhaps one of the best first person shooters out there. The single player campaign is intense. Has a story that is action packed and rarely has a dull moment. One minute your engaged Call of Duty was a great PC shooter Call of Duty 2 was a great Xbox360 launch title Call of Duty 3 was still good but a disappointment by some a nightmare for others. Call of Duty 4 is an amazing Xbox360 and perhaps one of the best first person shooters out there. The single player campaign is intense. Has a story that is action packed and rarely has a dull moment. One minute your engaged in massive battle and next sneaking through enemy territory in gillie suit. The campaign truly takes advantage of the setting being present day. This is shown through the weapons, missions, and vehicles. The campaign may be short but it is truly amazing. The multyplayer is also very fun to play. There is a lot of customizing for your character including weapons, perks, and cameos, oh my! Once you level up all the way you can even enter prestige mode where you start over with a symbol indicating you leved up and gave up everything. Despite all this greatness there are some minor flaws in the campaign. For one thing sometimes your objective is a little unclear and I sometimes found myself restarting the level just so I could hear the important dialouge again. But again this can easily be overlooked. If you can get Call of Duty 4 don't hesitate you'll love it. This is one of the best 360 out there. One thing to note though once you've played this you'll most likely rarely/ever play Halo 3 again. So if you haven't bought it yet (which is very unlikely) or are still not done with it yet be warned. Call of Duty 4 is somehow superior to Halo 3 in every way unimaginable and has fun all over it and personally I wouldn't want it any other way. Expand
  56. SawyerC.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    The best xbox 360 game by far I haven't even looked at halo 3 since i bought cod4 when it came out.
  57. HaloLover
    Sep 13, 2008
    1
    This game is steaming munt, compared to Halo 3!
  58. JoeyG.
    Sep 10, 2008
    1
    Pure crap... I urge you to buy Halo 3 its a much better game the campaign is longer and if you play through it its not like COD4 where one play you have seen it all.
  59. kipa
    Sep 4, 2008
    5
    I agree that the single player is very fun and interesting with many characters to keep the story moving and give a sense of realism. I was disappointed with the graphics though, all the guns looked awesome and animations perfect but all the colors seem to be washed out and dull. I would play on line looking at a guy wondering if hes on my team because every character is just a different I agree that the single player is very fun and interesting with many characters to keep the story moving and give a sense of realism. I was disappointed with the graphics though, all the guns looked awesome and animations perfect but all the colors seem to be washed out and dull. I would play on line looking at a guy wondering if hes on my team because every character is just a different shade of gray. I severely hate the online gameplay. I dont know where to start, the perks probably seemed to be a good idea in the production room to give the player a more customizable character. well, the perks just ruin it.... a guy can take a .50 caliber sniper rifle to the chest and just keep on running just because he has juggernaut? in reality that would tear a man in half. i also hated that they didn't make a rate of fire cap on pistols, so if your in last stand just smash right trigger and unload 12 shots in half a second. also from the point when you "kill" a guy and he slide into last stand bullets don't register, so you will shoot him maybe 17 times before they die. I thought this game whas about realism. OK WTF is with the knife, i am used to playing games where you have to pull out the knife and use it by itself and it takes 2-3 hits. but no in this i guess you can whip out a knife instantly and stab a guy in the foot from 3 feet away a get the kill. in conclusion great single-player game with stellar fps mechanics but on the other hand multi-player is one big game of grab ass, no real skill involved, spawning into gunfire, knifes doing 5x more damage than bullets, no team strategy involved in public matches makes it dull and frustrating. Expand
  60. chrisob
    Nov 2, 2009
    3
    The most dull, and boring game I've ever played in my life. The SP is just a dull, boring , linear, cliched story line that is easy to beat even on the hardest difficulty. AI just stand there and enemy AI chuck grenade upon grenade at you. There is nothing original about this storyline. MP is the same way, the gameplay is shallow, and the maps linear and badly designed. Perks make The most dull, and boring game I've ever played in my life. The SP is just a dull, boring , linear, cliched story line that is easy to beat even on the hardest difficulty. AI just stand there and enemy AI chuck grenade upon grenade at you. There is nothing original about this storyline. MP is the same way, the gameplay is shallow, and the maps linear and badly designed. Perks make the game way too easy to be good at, that anyone can pick the game up their first time and go 40-4 on it. Kill streak rewards in combination with the perks just make this one of the most unbalanced games ever. COD 4 is just another generic overhyped game on the consoles. No variety, nothing new, nothing innovative, and nothing spectacular. The sequel will be just the same, just more unbalanced. Expand
  61. SimonM
    Oct 25, 2009
    9
    People complain about this not being a competitive FPS - they are obviously not into customized games. Aside from that flaw, COD4: Modern Warfare has a very memorable campaign with interesting characters (except for maybe the player's) and great voicework. The graphics are top notch for the year that it was released. The first player mode is only flawed because of the enemy spawning People complain about this not being a competitive FPS - they are obviously not into customized games. Aside from that flaw, COD4: Modern Warfare has a very memorable campaign with interesting characters (except for maybe the player's) and great voicework. The graphics are top notch for the year that it was released. The first player mode is only flawed because of the enemy spawning system. Mutliplayer on the other hand has proved its point after years of age - this is absolutely a classic. The leveling system and weapon/class customization through perks changed the game. The maps are all great (a few have some unfortunate choke points). Spawn killing by non-grenade methods is difficult when both teams get used to how spawning works. People don't realize that this game isn't about rampaging. It's about survival and kills. Each match has its own momentum swing. Hopefully the sequel will get rid of the sticky aim and spawning flaws in both first player and multiplayer. Otherwise this is a very memorable game. Expand
  62. JukkaS
    May 23, 2009
    10
    I'm making this review now, May 2009, after many games I waited for a very long flopped, I have always came back to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. This game has that something, that doesnt let go, the singleplayer is just perfectly long that you complete it over a weekend, or faster if playing on easier difficulties. The multiplayer, is something never seen before, near perfect. Yet I'm making this review now, May 2009, after many games I waited for a very long flopped, I have always came back to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. This game has that something, that doesnt let go, the singleplayer is just perfectly long that you complete it over a weekend, or faster if playing on easier difficulties. The multiplayer, is something never seen before, near perfect. Yet CoD4: Modern Warfare has got some minor faults, few bugs still remain and few other small mistakes. But this has absolutelly no effect on the quality of the game, these minor faults do not shatter the strong bulletresisting glass of CoD4. A mustplay for every fps fan, and any other. Expand
  63. ZackM
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    COD 4 is amazing. Although the game was costly, I soon realized it was money well spent once I began to play it. The game defiantly lived up to the hype for me. The graphics, game play, and replay ability factor were all there. BTW, this game is very similar to SOCOM US Navy Seals. So, if you loved SOCOM (as I did) you
  64. michaelk
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Single Player is irrelevant in this game. It's not about that so stop complaining people. Simply put the online play is the best available. It will take days to be able to compete with other players but once you get a prestige under your belt it is just THE best social online experience ever.
  65. JacobM
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    I agree with what some people have said before, the multiplayer is what keeps this game popular almost 2 years after its release. The campaign is average and was not engaging enough for me to want to play through it again, except for getting some achievements. However, the online multiplayer is insanely addicting and fun! i was not a fan of FPSs and was horrible at them until i played I agree with what some people have said before, the multiplayer is what keeps this game popular almost 2 years after its release. The campaign is average and was not engaging enough for me to want to play through it again, except for getting some achievements. However, the online multiplayer is insanely addicting and fun! i was not a fan of FPSs and was horrible at them until i played CoD4 online multiplayer. Yes, some of the maps are taken right from the campaign, but, to me, that doesn't matter. They are still very interesting and make the online game play unpredictable. Both the campaign and the online multiplayer are superior to that of CoD WaW in every aspect. If you don't know which one to buy, certainly buy CoD4. WaW is garbage compared to this game. However, Modern Warfare 2 is coming out in less than 4 months, so you should probably save your money for that game. Expand
  66. NikhilKulkarni
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    This game is just as fun as Halo. Now, I am a huge Halo fan. But when I started playing this game, I shared my love of FPS with this and Halo. I'd say both of these games are equally terrific in terms of both campaign, multiplayer, skill, and strategy. Both COD4 and Halo 3 really deserved a high score.
  67. GarrettL
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    This game is so overrated and isn't even that fun to play online. The story in single player is the most generic story ever, terrorists with nukes. The regenerating health make it so easy to beat it this game could play itself. It is is fun but really just another generic fps on xbox 360 over hyped.
  68. MikeH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Although the campaign is a tad short, it is brilliantly paced and incredibly atmospheric. Without spoiling it for anyone: the sniper mission, in particular, is one of the best single-player shooter levels I've ever played. With all the challenges and unlockables the multiplayer is deep enough, and has enough room for skill, to make this one you'll be playing for months to come.
  69. MikeS.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Single player campaign is a bit short, but it's still the best I've seen on the 360. The multiplayer is basically perfect. I've played Halo 3, and I can't even begin to understand why the scores are comparable.
  70. JohnS.
    Nov 10, 2007
    8
    The single player game has extreamly high production values in every regard. That said, it's still Call of Duty with the endless respawning bad guys, "on rails" level design, and super-scripted gameplay. It's great, but offers no replay value, unless you're after achievements. The single player is so damn good because there really isn't much diversity. It's also The single player game has extreamly high production values in every regard. That said, it's still Call of Duty with the endless respawning bad guys, "on rails" level design, and super-scripted gameplay. It's great, but offers no replay value, unless you're after achievements. The single player is so damn good because there really isn't much diversity. It's also really short (5 hours). Multiplayer is fast-paced action. It has a persistent system for unlocks, ranking, etc. It's awesome. If you want to play this game for the single player, rent it. If you want it for multiplayer then buy it. Expand
  71. EricAtkins
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    The campaign is unlike any campaign I've played. The multiplayer gameplay is innovative with meta games and great graphics. There is a lot of replayability in this game. I am one of the biggest HALO fans, but I won't be playing Halo 3 until I'm tired of CoD4. Unlike Halo 3 (which seems like downloadable content for Halo 2), CoD4 is fresh.
  72. WarGator
    Nov 12, 2007
    7
    BAD POINTS: To few maps; maps are to small; no vehicles; no random map generator; no map making tools included in software; well known bug in program, I had to over right a file to fix it, should have a patch out right now for it; to many grenades leading to nade-spamming; program still rewards bunny hopping; more options in console needed for server to control parameters such as number BAD POINTS: To few maps; maps are to small; no vehicles; no random map generator; no map making tools included in software; well known bug in program, I had to over right a file to fix it, should have a patch out right now for it; to many grenades leading to nade-spamming; program still rewards bunny hopping; more options in console needed for server to control parameters such as number of nades, etc.; more realistic killing, I shoot somebody twice and they do not fall down dead or wounded because of extra +health points; increased ability to move in buildings needed, not enough entrance ways and windows to shoot from. GOOD POINTS: Each game becomes more realistic than the last game; weapons are represented realistically; good graphics; flows well; fighting is realistic; uniforms are realistic. Expand
  73. BDub
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Only one complaint about COD4, no online Co-Op. Other than that this game absolutely blew me away. I bought COD4 as a game to hold me over until Assassins Creed, and it ended up being just so much more. Infinity Ward really upped the bar on the typical war shooter with this game. This game experience is more similar to Rainbow 6 Vegas (also awesome) than the previous COD's (minus the Only one complaint about COD4, no online Co-Op. Other than that this game absolutely blew me away. I bought COD4 as a game to hold me over until Assassins Creed, and it ended up being just so much more. Infinity Ward really upped the bar on the typical war shooter with this game. This game experience is more similar to Rainbow 6 Vegas (also awesome) than the previous COD's (minus the cover system). I'm playing the MP a lot right now, and like it a lot, but the single player was probably the best i've ever played. The graphics and sound on a nice system is amazing. The SP isn't very long, but i don't feel it was short either. If keeping the game shorter is what they needed to do to make the game as intense as it is, then i'm all for it. I'd much rather have 5 hours of bliss than 10 hours of boring sameness. This game is an absolute must buy. I'm a previous Halo fan, and enjoyed H3. It doesn't excite me to say that i liked this game a lot better than H3, but i did. The single player story is gripping and just so well done. Expand
  74. AnttiP.
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    Great game, with a small but. Some multiplayer maps don´t have that good graphics. To be honest, some maps look pretty crappy. This is shocking, as we know the quality standards Infinity Ward has become famous of. Some maps like Bog and Backlot just don´t look good at all. I think the problem is with the lighting.
  75. ApocalypseB.
    Nov 10, 2007
    2
    Don't get this score wrong, it is a very good game, well at least the multiplayer is. But the very bad propaganda against those bad old terrorists in the Arab lands where fighting is an every day thing, according to most reviewers, is very insulting. And seeing a kid pretending to be on the front line playing this, killing 'these stinking Muslims', made me give this 2.
  76. SeanZ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is actually much better than the playstation 3 version. Fanboys of the PS3 still won't admit the 360's superiority in games and online. Call of duty 4 completely proves all that the 360 has already said. Great graphics, no lag whatsoever, and much smoother than the PS3.
  77. ChrisH.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Besides the fact that this game is absolutely beautiful. It delivers the best console FPS action out there today. The single player story is interesting and engrossing, and the multiplayer level system is he definition of addicting.
  78. RayB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as fun as cod 4...not by a long shot. thats a major suprize, considering halo 3 was meant to own xbox live...but cod 4 won that battle hands down. however...the game of the year must goto bioshock. Expand
  79. xbox360master
    Nov 30, 2007
    6
    As most people have said the single player is good fun but short and the online as plenty of depth, but for me i think the shooting lets this game down alot its not they relistic as you just aim and keep your finger on the trigger button and your gun just stays in the same place, so u dont need to tap the shoot button unlike most realistic shooters, this may seem minor but this alone lets As most people have said the single player is good fun but short and the online as plenty of depth, but for me i think the shooting lets this game down alot its not they relistic as you just aim and keep your finger on the trigger button and your gun just stays in the same place, so u dont need to tap the shoot button unlike most realistic shooters, this may seem minor but this alone lets the whole game down for me i would perfer to play Rainbow six or MOH Airbourne.Plus there is no co -op online or off unlike COD2 why?Oh and what makes this different from any other shooter, someone plz tell me. Expand
  80. GregQuick
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    Based on the 360 multiplayer beta, I have to give this game a 9, only because there were only 3 available maps and at least half of the game was locked. I fully expect to give this game a 10 rating when it is released, because the beta by itself was ridiculously addictive...
  81. PatL.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, amazing!
  82. AllanM.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Though short the single player is THRILLING. And the real reason to buy any FPS is the multiplayer which succeeds on EVERY level. A remarkable multiplayer experience that perfectly blends run and gun with Ghost Recon style tactics. Bravo IW.
  83. MichaelE.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing.
  84. ShaneC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    By far the best game of the year. Halo pales in comparison.
  85. JohnC.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    The graphics are amazing, Couldn't believe what I was seeing. The gameplay was very fluid and enjoyable, perfected actually. I am not far into the game, maybe two hours, but I am addicted.
  86. BatMan
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Makes Halo 3 seem like dog vomit.
  87. JasonL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    I haven't been to far into the campaign but what I have played has been as good as an FPS military style game. That being said this game probably has the best multiplayer I have ever played. I'm a huge halo fan, I love Rainbow Six Vegas, I enjoyed lost planet and GRAW 2 and this trounces all of them easily. Aside from the occasional lag the mulitplayer is perfect.
  88. ArthurH.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and detail they put into every mission you'll see why. Buy it now! Expand
  89. RoBoTG.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    CoD4's multiplayer alone warrants a perfect score, but it doesn't stop there. The single player is great and Arcade mode is super cool.
  90. KyleB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect 10 out of 10. Expand
  91. StuW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable game. I wish I can get back to the single player game but I'm hooked on the upgrade-crack system of multiplayer. It's Diablo II all over again, except in a game that keeps your heart racing for hours and blows your ears and eyes away from your head. If you are into FPS you better get this game - now.
  92. JordanW.
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    Its impossible to overlook the impossibly short lifespan of the single player missions. Poor effort! Next time stick with blue ray so you can put in a solid 20 hour campaign.
  93. DavidH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There is so much diversity that this game will make you want to play the single player at least twice (Having an arcade mode is a major plus) The Single player is fantastic, but what makes this game special is the most comprehensive and enjoyable Multiplayer that Call of Duty games are known to have. Playing through Xbox Live I can always find a game. The RPG style of leveling up weapons is such a nice touch. As far as I am concerned if you hate FPS in all forms and don't want to shill out 60 dollars for this game. At least go to your movie rental store and try it out for a week - I promise you that you will not be disappointed! Expand
  94. vz
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Want extra hours of campaign game play? Push the difficulty level on notch higher than the recommended one :) Even getting killed is so sweet in such a wonderful game!
  95. MichaelR.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it or you could buy it to add it to your collection because its worth keeping.I don't think games can get any better than this game.The start and ending is better then a lot of Hollywood movies. Expand
  96. KevinL.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    This game plain and simple, just never gets old. Awesome from the minute you turn it on, until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  97. BrutalThumb
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    If this doesn't get game of the year, it will be a true shame. Yeah, the single player is short, but who cares, I would rather have a short campaign that is wonderful than a long one that is dull. And where it truely shines is online. GOTY!!!!!!
  98. RodanM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    7
    While the game is mediocre at best, those who are fanboys of this game will obviously rate it a 10, I have rated it a 7 for obvious reasons. The first being is that any difficuly above normal will show the glaring flaws in the game such as poor AI. Nothing says rush job like AI that has 100% accuracy and wall hacks, not to mention respawning and moving to where is comrade just fell. While the game is mediocre at best, those who are fanboys of this game will obviously rate it a 10, I have rated it a 7 for obvious reasons. The first being is that any difficuly above normal will show the glaring flaws in the game such as poor AI. Nothing says rush job like AI that has 100% accuracy and wall hacks, not to mention respawning and moving to where is comrade just fell. Multiplayer is available for those who have time to unlock everything. Those who don't will leave the game early due to being able to only select a few beginner weapons at the start. This is especially frustrated when getting gunned down by someone with a better weapon. Expand
  99. COD4Nut
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls slightly short, but the way that infinity ward has made up for this is the intense online mode with tonnes of different modes and player perks and also the ability to call in airstrikes and choppers. AWESOME! kicks halo 3's butt like shaq would kick kobe's. can wait for the next one. Expand
  100. BenK.
    Dec 2, 2007
    1
    Scripted game, very lame.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.