User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1323 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamF.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    An almost perfect FPS experience. I had no problems with the length of the campaign mode, it seemed as long as any other... I think the problem is it is such a good game you don't want it to end! The mission where you take over the guns on the AC130 gunship is one of the best bits of gameplay I've experienced in years. As for the multiplayer, that is awesome. You really have to An almost perfect FPS experience. I had no problems with the length of the campaign mode, it seemed as long as any other... I think the problem is it is such a good game you don't want it to end! The mission where you take over the guns on the AC130 gunship is one of the best bits of gameplay I've experienced in years. As for the multiplayer, that is awesome. You really have to be on your toes, using cover sensibly and picking your weaponry appropriately. I also haven't experienced half as much lag as I have on Halo 3 and overall the multiplayer modes are much better implemented. Only fault for me is the dodgy melee button, but that's changeable! Expand
  2. SimonP.
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    As a single player experience this is arguably second to Halo 3 or Bioshock, but add in the superbly implemented multi-player aspect and it
  3. JacobL.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Call of Duty was a great PC shooter Call of Duty 2 was a great Xbox360 launch title Call of Duty 3 was still good but a disappointment by some a nightmare for others. Call of Duty 4 is an amazing Xbox360 and perhaps one of the best first person shooters out there. The single player campaign is intense. Has a story that is action packed and rarely has a dull moment. One minute your engaged Call of Duty was a great PC shooter Call of Duty 2 was a great Xbox360 launch title Call of Duty 3 was still good but a disappointment by some a nightmare for others. Call of Duty 4 is an amazing Xbox360 and perhaps one of the best first person shooters out there. The single player campaign is intense. Has a story that is action packed and rarely has a dull moment. One minute your engaged in massive battle and next sneaking through enemy territory in gillie suit. The campaign truly takes advantage of the setting being present day. This is shown through the weapons, missions, and vehicles. The campaign may be short but it is truly amazing. The multyplayer is also very fun to play. There is a lot of customizing for your character including weapons, perks, and cameos, oh my! Once you level up all the way you can even enter prestige mode where you start over with a symbol indicating you leved up and gave up everything. Despite all this greatness there are some minor flaws in the campaign. For one thing sometimes your objective is a little unclear and I sometimes found myself restarting the level just so I could hear the important dialouge again. But again this can easily be overlooked. If you can get Call of Duty 4 don't hesitate you'll love it. This is one of the best 360 out there. One thing to note though once you've played this you'll most likely rarely/ever play Halo 3 again. So if you haven't bought it yet (which is very unlikely) or are still not done with it yet be warned. Call of Duty 4 is somehow superior to Halo 3 in every way unimaginable and has fun all over it and personally I wouldn't want it any other way. Expand
  4. SimonM
    Oct 25, 2009
    9
    People complain about this not being a competitive FPS - they are obviously not into customized games. Aside from that flaw, COD4: Modern Warfare has a very memorable campaign with interesting characters (except for maybe the player's) and great voicework. The graphics are top notch for the year that it was released. The first player mode is only flawed because of the enemy spawning People complain about this not being a competitive FPS - they are obviously not into customized games. Aside from that flaw, COD4: Modern Warfare has a very memorable campaign with interesting characters (except for maybe the player's) and great voicework. The graphics are top notch for the year that it was released. The first player mode is only flawed because of the enemy spawning system. Mutliplayer on the other hand has proved its point after years of age - this is absolutely a classic. The leveling system and weapon/class customization through perks changed the game. The maps are all great (a few have some unfortunate choke points). Spawn killing by non-grenade methods is difficult when both teams get used to how spawning works. People don't realize that this game isn't about rampaging. It's about survival and kills. Each match has its own momentum swing. Hopefully the sequel will get rid of the sticky aim and spawning flaws in both first player and multiplayer. Otherwise this is a very memorable game. Expand
  5. JacobM
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    I agree with what some people have said before, the multiplayer is what keeps this game popular almost 2 years after its release. The campaign is average and was not engaging enough for me to want to play through it again, except for getting some achievements. However, the online multiplayer is insanely addicting and fun! i was not a fan of FPSs and was horrible at them until i played I agree with what some people have said before, the multiplayer is what keeps this game popular almost 2 years after its release. The campaign is average and was not engaging enough for me to want to play through it again, except for getting some achievements. However, the online multiplayer is insanely addicting and fun! i was not a fan of FPSs and was horrible at them until i played CoD4 online multiplayer. Yes, some of the maps are taken right from the campaign, but, to me, that doesn't matter. They are still very interesting and make the online game play unpredictable. Both the campaign and the online multiplayer are superior to that of CoD WaW in every aspect. If you don't know which one to buy, certainly buy CoD4. WaW is garbage compared to this game. However, Modern Warfare 2 is coming out in less than 4 months, so you should probably save your money for that game. Expand
  6. GregQuick
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    Based on the 360 multiplayer beta, I have to give this game a 9, only because there were only 3 available maps and at least half of the game was locked. I fully expect to give this game a 10 rating when it is released, because the beta by itself was ridiculously addictive...
  7. PatL.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, amazing!
  8. JohnC.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    The graphics are amazing, Couldn't believe what I was seeing. The gameplay was very fluid and enjoyable, perfected actually. I am not far into the game, maybe two hours, but I am addicted.
  9. MichaelR.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it Its the second best video game behind Rainbow Six Vegas.The graphics are definitely the greatest in video game history.The sound is awesome.There is one glitch but it happens once in a blue moon where the AI stands still while your in front on them and you can shoot them in point blank range.The single player campaign is way too short but thats how it is for most games.Definitely rent it or you could buy it to add it to your collection because its worth keeping.I don't think games can get any better than this game.The start and ending is better then a lot of Hollywood movies. Expand
  10. COD4Nut
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls This game is undoubtedly the greatest game ive played on any console. The graphics have stunning detail, the sounds have so much depth, a modern war game which gives you everything with modern weapons and military squads and scenery's that you can sort of relate to. The only reason it was not given a 10 is because you just want the single player mode to go on and on and on but falls slightly short, but the way that infinity ward has made up for this is the intense online mode with tonnes of different modes and player perks and also the ability to call in airstrikes and choppers. AWESOME! kicks halo 3's butt like shaq would kick kobe's. can wait for the next one. Expand
  11. McdeathO.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    A near faultless games, one of the best looking games on the 360 with one of the best single player campaigns I have played in any game to date. Ok, it was a little short - that's what stops it getting a perfect 10 in my books but the multiplayer mechanic is faultless and addictive and in the 6-8 hours you are actually playing the campaign you are loving every breath-taking minute. A near faultless games, one of the best looking games on the 360 with one of the best single player campaigns I have played in any game to date. Ok, it was a little short - that's what stops it getting a perfect 10 in my books but the multiplayer mechanic is faultless and addictive and in the 6-8 hours you are actually playing the campaign you are loving every breath-taking minute. Well worth a buy and as a diehard halo fan who was thoroughly disappointed by the 3rd in the series, i seriously recommend this game. A serious benchmark in FPS's...[9.8/10]. Expand
  12. Daboy3000
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    Call of Duty2 was by far the best of the trio, untill now! I have only played the multiplayer beta but from that i have decided that COD4 is the new daddy. Cross Rainbow6 with COD2 and you have your man. I have been racking my brains to find something bad about the beta but i can't, the controls are where you want them, fast but smooth, graphics and sound are top notch and theCall of Duty2 was by far the best of the trio, untill now! I have only played the multiplayer beta but from that i have decided that COD4 is the new daddy. Cross Rainbow6 with COD2 and you have your man. I have been racking my brains to find something bad about the beta but i can't, the controls are where you want them, fast but smooth, graphics and sound are top notch and the promotion system is fantastic allowing you to develop yourself with better perks, weapons and upgrades. But one question remains, will the single player kick as much ass as the multi-player and if it doesn't i don't care cause i'll be online, kickin' backside. Expand
  13. EricG.
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    The campaign is nothing special pretty much feels like the other CoD's but online is very involving, you can hold your own with the default classes and weapons but leveling up to unlock more weapons, accessories, and job classes pulls you in this is my new favorite online game.
  14. BadHatHarry
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    (I would give this game a 9.5 but there is no 9.5 in the score rating database thing) This game is an amazing achievement in 360 history. Top-notch graphics, excellent campaign, awesome muliplayer! This game has it all.
  15. KhristianR.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    COD4 is the best in the series so far. The solo story would be a 5* film if it got made into one. Not only does this improve on the previous titles, but the online mode is amazing and plays so great. Its hard to describe into detail with the amount of War Games on the market, but if I could recommended it in one setence it would be this. One of the best war games I've ever played, COD4 is the best in the series so far. The solo story would be a 5* film if it got made into one. Not only does this improve on the previous titles, but the online mode is amazing and plays so great. Its hard to describe into detail with the amount of War Games on the market, but if I could recommended it in one setence it would be this. One of the best war games I've ever played, with one of the best Multiplayer online modes ever. SCORE : 94% Expand
  16. JoshwaR.
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    A great game. The single player is short and the play is generic. But the plot line and the story behind it is as good as if not better than any other FPS out there. That makes up for the lapses in play and in the shortness of the story. Why add fluf to appease gamers who would in turn complain of a generic story. The multiplayer is fantastic. Albeit a little glitchy and kinda hard at the A great game. The single player is short and the play is generic. But the plot line and the story behind it is as good as if not better than any other FPS out there. That makes up for the lapses in play and in the shortness of the story. Why add fluf to appease gamers who would in turn complain of a generic story. The multiplayer is fantastic. Albeit a little glitchy and kinda hard at the start when you get good you will have fun. Most of the complaints about this game are minor bugs or just a bunch of whiners complaining about random crap they dont like. They need to get another game not turn off potential players. Expand
  17. AndyK
    Nov 29, 2009
    9
    The best 1st person shooter ever created. The single player campaign is too short but saved only by the great multiplayer. But as I said about Modern Warfare 2 it's alot of money still to fork out if you haven't got Xbox live.
  18. JasonW.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Excellent game. Very fun. Visually awesome. Definately worth playing.
  19. BillCleveland
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Single player is short, but to say it is a poor effort is asinine. The single player is as captivating as any i have played. And the fact that it only took about 9 hours to beat doesn't matter much to me, because i'm sure i will get 100 hours out of the multiplayer. Buy this game!
  20. MikeHunt
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    This is an awesome game, the graphics, the movement, and the reality. They did a good job on the movement of the characters and surroundings. But not a perfect 10 because of a mission or two that was insanely challenging to beat, but in the end, that's what made it fun. Best Call of Duty
  21. AndrewJ.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    After all the hype for Halo 3, BioShock, Assassin's Creed, and Mass Effect, COD 4 comes out of nowhere and will probably be a multiple Game of the Year award winner, and rightfully so. I've played all of the above games (except Mass Effect, which isn't out yet) and COD 4 easily beats all of them. And I haven't even touched the multiplayer yet. No, seriously. All After all the hype for Halo 3, BioShock, Assassin's Creed, and Mass Effect, COD 4 comes out of nowhere and will probably be a multiple Game of the Year award winner, and rightfully so. I've played all of the above games (except Mass Effect, which isn't out yet) and COD 4 easily beats all of them. And I haven't even touched the multiplayer yet. No, seriously. All I've been playing is the campaign. The single player is that freakin' good. Maybe for everyone else it's short, but I'm having a grand old time with it in 20-30 minute spurts, which is all I can handle anyways, as it's so intense. The sniper mission, the camo mission, the Death From Above mission.....each level is like a work of art. Not BioShock-type art, mind you, but art nonetheless. Probably the greatest FPS I've ever played, although I'm not a huge shooter guy, so I haven't played them all. The fact that I'm not a big FPS fan and am still raving about this game should tell you something. If you don't play this game, you are missing out on one of the best video game experiences you'll ever have. Expand
  22. PaoloJ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    This game was undescribable, and could be found nowhere else. Its online gameplay was fantastic. Though the campaign was kind of short. Other than that everything was wonderful.
  23. FredB.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    The story mode was to quike..... but the online play is amazing!
  24. JackD
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    This game is very overhyped. Its good and the multiplayer is very good aswell but the single player was alright for one play through but far to scripted for even a second play through. the story is your typical war story but its not terrible the single player is about as long as other games in the series and the multiplayer will last you a long time. there is no co-op mode. probably This game is very overhyped. Its good and the multiplayer is very good aswell but the single player was alright for one play through but far to scripted for even a second play through. the story is your typical war story but its not terrible the single player is about as long as other games in the series and the multiplayer will last you a long time. there is no co-op mode. probably because the levels in single player don;t really allow for any tactical situations so throwing even one more player in probably wouldn't help at all. That brings up my biggest problem with the games singleplayer its very scripted meaning the if you play through on the same act again your going to have the excact same expireince as the first. if you enjoy havin g two or more roots to an objective than call of duty is not a game for you there is only one way to complete the game. The enemy AI is also scripted, they will stay the same place the entire time and just shoot at you regardless of you shooting at them. also they throw grenades way to often. you will die way more from grenades then gunfire. another problem is that the gameplay is an excact replica of the prior games in the series, the only difference is that now your in modern day instead of WW2.Alot of people say that call of duty 4 looks like a movie thanks to its graphics but its also alot like playing a movie in that thou really don't feel like you have any freedom at all. The graphics are not quite as amazing as everybody is saying they are They are incredicle but the envirorments may seem big due to the enormous backdrops but the actuall amount of terrain that your aloud to travel across is very little which takes you out of the game when you can't hop over a road block 1 ft tall. Even with these issues going against the graphics its hard to deny that it does have those moments were you might actually think your watching a movie but what takes you out of the expireince somewhat is the sound. the gun sound are pretty good but what really sucks is that they don't cary theselves realistically across the battle field and sounds directly behind you get lost. it would have been great for multiplayer if the sound worked because then the silencer may be actually useful. speaking of the multiplayer its the only reason i bought the game. Its amazing but still not quite as good as Halo's It has a good ranking system byt the fact that you have to earn the game types by ranking up is retarted. the other issue is that the maps are ripped straight from single player locations which doesn't make alot of sences seeing as the game has a very linear progression. If you don't have online then stay away from this game but if you do have online then go ahead and buy this game just don't expect a single player that you will play twice because you will be lucky to play through it once. Expand
  25. DominikJ.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    This is one of my favourite games. When I got this game I couldn't stop playing it until it was done. Great simple controls, cool environments and a really interesting story (but too short). Multiplayer is also the only multiplayer I play because its SICK. I hope call of duty 6 will make enemy killing bloodier, missions more open-ended, make enemy and friendly AI smarter, This is one of my favourite games. When I got this game I couldn't stop playing it until it was done. Great simple controls, cool environments and a really interesting story (but too short). Multiplayer is also the only multiplayer I play because its SICK. I hope call of duty 6 will make enemy killing bloodier, missions more open-ended, make enemy and friendly AI smarter, environments more destructible and flammable and the story longer because call of duty must enter the generation of realistic AI and open ended mission design. Expand
  26. MikeJ.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    The single-player campaign is short but gripping. While it does not have the narrative depth of Bioshock, the story thrusts you into a global conflict while making it very personal. There is one moment, that I won't spoil, that was one of the most effective, gut-wrenching moments of any game I've played. The multi-player game is nothing short of a masterpiece. Combining elements The single-player campaign is short but gripping. While it does not have the narrative depth of Bioshock, the story thrusts you into a global conflict while making it very personal. There is one moment, that I won't spoil, that was one of the most effective, gut-wrenching moments of any game I've played. The multi-player game is nothing short of a masterpiece. Combining elements of a role playing game, you earn experience and equipment the more (and better) you play. It's highly addictive. Expand
  27. Maslab
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    This game has incredible graphics, except that everything is either really gray, really tan, or really green, and not much else. The suits are very well done, and even change depending on your main weapon in multiplayer and the map. Gameplay just feels right. The Controls are right, buttons are right, speed is right. It may either a bit clunky or a bit fast, but play with your sensitivity This game has incredible graphics, except that everything is either really gray, really tan, or really green, and not much else. The suits are very well done, and even change depending on your main weapon in multiplayer and the map. Gameplay just feels right. The Controls are right, buttons are right, speed is right. It may either a bit clunky or a bit fast, but play with your sensitivity setting until it feels right. Very in depth multiplayer. Higher levels are balanced so that they are any more powerful than lower levels, they just have more junk to play with. This is definitely right up there with Halo and Half-Life. Expand
  28. TommyF.
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Kick-ass and must-have game. This game beats Call of Duty 1-3, Halo series, and Bioshock. But so close with Half-Life.
  29. CameronS.
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    One of the most intense and cinematic campaigns ever made, alongside with an incredibly deep multiplayer make this a must have for gamers.
  30. IbrahimD
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    Doesn't disappoint, Multi player and storyline(including game play) are all done in a superb manner.
  31. AndrewM.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    Remember all that talk about a "halo killer"? Well I had played Halo 3 for quite some time and recently beat this game and COD4 truly is that "halo killer." The single player is short, but has excellent quality and atomosphere. The online multiplayer keeps you hooked with unlockable weapons and perks that makes you feel like you fully customizing your game plan. The maps, as compared to Remember all that talk about a "halo killer"? Well I had played Halo 3 for quite some time and recently beat this game and COD4 truly is that "halo killer." The single player is short, but has excellent quality and atomosphere. The online multiplayer keeps you hooked with unlockable weapons and perks that makes you feel like you fully customizing your game plan. The maps, as compared to Halo, are more vast and provide for multiple types of play in headquarters and capture the flag. Now, don't get me wrong. Halo 3 is good, but every second of COD4 is simply a riot to play. Expand
  32. JasonT.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    This is an awesome XBOX LIVE game. The attention to detail has not been lost from single player to multi player. The explosions are heavy, the smoke is thick and the weather is spot on. The feeling of intense battle are as close as you can get it. Without actually knowing what this feels like in real life, in this virtual life you feel the adrenalin pump as you duck and cover as you hear This is an awesome XBOX LIVE game. The attention to detail has not been lost from single player to multi player. The explosions are heavy, the smoke is thick and the weather is spot on. The feeling of intense battle are as close as you can get it. Without actually knowing what this feels like in real life, in this virtual life you feel the adrenalin pump as you duck and cover as you hear the tink tink of a near by grenade landing at your feet. The dust settles and your on your toes again, firing your M16 or others wildly but with intent. A few men taken down by sure shots follows by the shock of being shot down from a sniper through a distant window draws his breath and squeezes the trigger. You know this as a clever kill camera reviews your last moments from your assassins movements are reviewed. its a sucker punch every time! Along with all that and much more including guns galore, clever perks add to your gameplay such as steady aim, ultra conditions so you can sprint longer and an AVU blocker to make you invisible to enemy radar, it makes it a MUST BUY. trade in your Halo 3s. Trade inyour GRAWS and gear's. This is the only FPS shooter you need. Could be even better with a few neat vehicles. Expand
  33. connorK
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    game is quite good very nice story line keeps you on your seat online simply put awesome countless houres spent on this game
  34. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Modern Warfare delivers on the hype. It's a great looking game, has a solid campaign, and great online multi-player. More importantly, it shows that Infinity Ward can break from what they are comfortable with and still deliver a great game. Hopefully this trend continues.
  35. Jul 6, 2012
    9
    Brilliant game, I wish they had simply just released more maps for this game than releasing it's sequels. Where did they go wrong from here to the next game?
  36. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = The standard for online shooters today. No one makes a game PERIOD in todays gaming age without borrowing something from this game. A really amazing fps experience.
  37. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Smack Job here. To be honest I played MW2 but found it to be boring, with a bad campaign and an unbalanced multiplayer, with a crap SpecOps with recycled campaign level mad even more boring. I found this to be WAYYYY better. Fantastic campaign, much more balanced multiplayer. Not the best graphics I've seen and no Co-Op but they'll do and the solid gameplay more than makes up for it. GoodSmack Job here. To be honest I played MW2 but found it to be boring, with a bad campaign and an unbalanced multiplayer, with a crap SpecOps with recycled campaign level mad even more boring. I found this to be WAYYYY better. Fantastic campaign, much more balanced multiplayer. Not the best graphics I've seen and no Co-Op but they'll do and the solid gameplay more than makes up for it. Good game. Good game. Expand
  38. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Just a brilliant game.i don't remember playing better Multiplayer ever and Campaign is also EPIC
  39. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    Very good game. Pretty much the role-model for the rest of the online shooters that came out after it. The multiplayer at the time was like no other and was really fun. I believe this game is the one that got everyone into FPS. I have played all of the call of duties in the series and this one is by far the best for it's time. I had a lot of memories playing this game, and when I play itVery good game. Pretty much the role-model for the rest of the online shooters that came out after it. The multiplayer at the time was like no other and was really fun. I believe this game is the one that got everyone into FPS. I have played all of the call of duties in the series and this one is by far the best for it's time. I had a lot of memories playing this game, and when I play it again I always have fun. Easy 9 in my book. Expand
  40. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    This is the only game FPS game that I can honestly say I loved. The fact that many people still play the multiplayer mode of this game to date shows you how amazingly addictive it is. The graphics and the wide variety of missions keep you wanting to play on. However, what really makes this game stand out for me is its brilliant story and powerful characters, which is rare among modernThis is the only game FPS game that I can honestly say I loved. The fact that many people still play the multiplayer mode of this game to date shows you how amazingly addictive it is. The graphics and the wide variety of missions keep you wanting to play on. However, what really makes this game stand out for me is its brilliant story and powerful characters, which is rare among modern first person shooters. A very good game. Expand
  41. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    Instant classic, and unreal multiplayer. Call of Duty 4 has great weapons and the best online multiplayer to date. The story is a little bland but all is made up cause of the online. This is what pushed online multiplayer shooters to the limit. This game is what got everyone involved with online. This is anyone's kind of shooter, great game all around!
  42. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of the coolest first-person shooters I've ever played. The gameplay is intense, the graphics are some of the best the seventh-generation of consoles can offer, and the online multiplayer is one of the greatest experiences in online gameplay.

    Modern Warfare is the first Call of Duty game I've ever played, and the best thing about it is they bring the
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of the coolest first-person shooters I've ever played. The gameplay is intense, the graphics are some of the best the seventh-generation of consoles can offer, and the online multiplayer is one of the greatest experiences in online gameplay.

    Modern Warfare is the first Call of Duty game I've ever played, and the best thing about it is they bring the series to the modern era with modern weapons, after previously being in the World War II era. The campaign has a lot of missions and varies from intense to stealth. "All Ghillied Up" is the most memorable mission of all and possible one of the greatest moments in video game history. But the "Death from Above" mission, despite being a very unique mission, is the least exciting mission in the game. The gameplay never gets redundant, as no two missions are exactly the same. By default, when zooming in with your gun, it automatically aims straight at the enemy, which may make gameplay a little too easy at times, but it's a good thing that you can switch it off in the options menu. But if using it, it can get annoying when it aims at an enemy in a mission who you're NOT supposed to kill, that results in a mission fail, when you're trying to kill enemies around that enemy. The plot is great, and there are some interesting twists.

    The Arcade mode is basically the campaign mode, but is kind of old-school gameplay, where you pick either a Level challenge (one mission of the campaign) or the Full challenge (play the whole campaign in one go, that can take hours), pick a difficulty, then play the missions, where you try to get a high score by killing enemies and have a limited amount of lives and can earn an extra life at certain checkpoints. So if you lose all your lives, it's Game Over! It is more intense than playing the campaign mode (where you get an infinite amount of lives), and completing the Full challenge in Veteran difficulty may be one of the greatest achievements in video gaming and you'd deserve a pat on the back if you manage to do it.

    The online mode has a lot of different online gameplay modes that you can choose to play, and have fantastic maps. It can be great and all, if you play it fairly with no modifications, but I get very annoyed when I jump into a multiplayer match where everyone can run super-fast, jump 100 feet high, and can use grenade launchers with infinite ammo. There are online gameplay modes that I don't jump in any more, like "Hardcore Team Deathmatch", where you can kill your own teammates. You can get some idiot in your team who kills you instantly for no reason after starting the match. The other hardcore modes are annoying too, but all the other multiplayer modes are brilliant, and you can get into really intense matches where you try to rank #1 when the match is over. Leveling up is addictive, you can mod your weapons, and you can call in airstrikes and helicopters if you get killstreaks.
    Expand
  43. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this game, the SP was really fun and exciting, and the graphics at time of release was quite ground breaking for my 360. Story was a bit plain, but this is a war shooter so that's not too much of a detractor. Liked it? - Yes
  44. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Quite simply, currently this is still the best FPS expirience you can get your hands on. Everything the game dose, dose it brilliantly, introducing groundbreaking multipayer whan it was at its best and a fantastic single player expirience. This is one of the best games ever, and definatley the best Call of Duty.....
  45. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    I hate call of duty so much but this is the exception call of duty modern warfare is and could possibly be the best call of duty game of all time. This game had a great cinematic storyline that kept you on the edge of your seat. The multiplayer is amazing there are no perks just simply 3 killstreaks radar, Airplanes, and helicopter. This was the most balanced fair multiplayer there is inI hate call of duty so much but this is the exception call of duty modern warfare is and could possibly be the best call of duty game of all time. This game had a great cinematic storyline that kept you on the edge of your seat. The multiplayer is amazing there are no perks just simply 3 killstreaks radar, Airplanes, and helicopter. This was the most balanced fair multiplayer there is in any call of duty and its a overall great game Expand
  46. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Best COD of the series so far, clearly a superior game for it's time. This is a retrospective review however, and the groundwork laid by COD4 has yet to be realized and improved upon as of this review. Still, it can't be denied the enormous significance of this game; Halo 2 created online multiplayer; COD4 perfected it.
  47. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Best Cod ever! Campaign is the beat same with the multiplaer and tons of Cods just suck today. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 9.3/10
  48. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    What a game! This being the first of Activision's new Modern Warefare releases, brought so much to the table. I replayed through all the CoD games this past week and its amazing this one still has great replay value after 5 years. Great Game, that will always be a classic.
  49. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    The story of COD 4: In the career mode of Call of Duty 4 you play as 2 characters. You play as soap for the British SAS and Miller for the US Marines. At first you work separately to bring down a terrorist name al-asad. You then start to work together and find out that al-asad is a puppet for another terrorist. Suitability: Age Ratings: COD4 is age rated 16+ and is M rated for blood,The story of COD 4: In the career mode of Call of Duty 4 you play as 2 characters. You play as soap for the British SAS and Miller for the US Marines. At first you work separately to bring down a terrorist name al-asad. You then start to work together and find out that al-asad is a puppet for another terrorist. Suitability: Age Ratings: COD4 is age rated 16+ and is M rated for blood, violence and strong language. I believe myself that COD4 is suitable for anybody over the age of 12. The reason I believe this game is suitable for anyone over the 12 is because now a day Expand
  50. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    The campaign of this and every other Call of Duty title is utterly horrible. It's a series of set pieces without a good story or decent gameplay. The multiplayer, however, is fantastic. It's fast-paced and tactical on the highest levels of play. Every other CoD online isn't worth your time.
  51. May 6, 2013
    9
    FUN AS HELL all that needs to be said about this amazing game
    the campaign is crazy good it tells an interesting story involving what looks like world war 3
    Also even after 5 games have come out modern warfare's multiplayer is still fun to play
  52. Jan 4, 2015
    9
    It was the start of one of the best series of games ever. COD: 1, 2, and 3 were the first games in the series although this game was the first that got people to buy the game. If you didn't ever own it but thought about buying it you probably should of bought it. Then once people heard about MW2 and people bought thought it was the start of one the best game series ever.
  53. Rem
    Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Infinity Ward has now placed themselves among the giants in the first person genre. With Modern Warfare 2, they deliver with a spectacular campaign and a refined multiplayer. Adding cherry to the top is the fun and new spec ops mode. The campaign looks towards a more blockbuster feel this time around as there are clearly more emphasis toward setpieces and explosions. Tying this together isInfinity Ward has now placed themselves among the giants in the first person genre. With Modern Warfare 2, they deliver with a spectacular campaign and a refined multiplayer. Adding cherry to the top is the fun and new spec ops mode. The campaign looks towards a more blockbuster feel this time around as there are clearly more emphasis toward setpieces and explosions. Tying this together is a story, while not living to its full potential, sets up some fantastic segments throughout the whole game. It also has a controversial scene that may turn the media's head. The multiplayer is better than ever. With rebalancing and new killstreak awards, it becomes more addicting to play. Last but not least the new and fun addition Spec Ops mode. It can be played by yourself or cooperatively. It gathers inspiration from the campaign and Call of Duty 4. These are fast and fun bits that are even better with a friend. With all this in mind, my only three major gripes with the game are 1) The story isn't too interesting 2) The AI is lacking and enemies keep respawning. 3) The multiplayer needs a bit of balancing. Other than that, Modern Warfare 2 establishes Call of Duty as a brand that will stick for a long time. Expand
  54. May 29, 2013
    9
    By far the best Call of Duty in the franchise. Campaign was unique for the time and the characters were well developed. The Combat system is well done and the multiplayer is still fun to this day. This is about as good as Call of Duty games are ever going to get when it comes to multiplater as it is the most balanced. Would definitely recommend it.
  55. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    One of the best shooters ever, the best Call of Duty game ever, etc. A lot of good things can be said about this game. I've spent an incredible amount of time enjoying it. The campaign is of course based on scripts and doesn't have much variety, but in 2007 it looked incredible and had a lot of breathtaking scenes and missions. And the best thing about singleplayer is that it's only theOne of the best shooters ever, the best Call of Duty game ever, etc. A lot of good things can be said about this game. I've spent an incredible amount of time enjoying it. The campaign is of course based on scripts and doesn't have much variety, but in 2007 it looked incredible and had a lot of breathtaking scenes and missions. And the best thing about singleplayer is that it's only the warm-up before the jaw dropping multiplayer action. A diversity of customization options introduced in this game became a standard for all modern FPS, the maps were nearly perfect balanced, as well as weapons. The arcade mode is a waste of time, and there are other minor flaws, but this game is still a great experience. Sadly, I can't recommend buying it now since a very small number of players play it's multiplayer on X360 and PS3, and on PC it has this stupid dedicated servers system. But it will always be in my heart as (I repeat) the best shooter I've ever played. Expand
  56. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    this... game... woah, seriously this thing defined the genre of FPS' i still play it today, if anything this game still holds up today, so black ops 2 can suck it.
  57. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Great single player story and probably one of the best shooters of all time make Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare a must have for all game libraries. If one does not own this game, than they do not understand the first person shooter genre.
  58. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    This game, defined the next generation of FPSs with a sharp plot delivered with high octane action. This is how war games are meant to be made, and played. Missions like war pig and game over have crystallized in my mind as some of the greatest missions. Ever. 9/10.
  59. Mar 27, 2015
    9
    This game is a classic. a must-own. The multiplayer is brilliant and addictive. The singleplayer has the best story and most memorable missions in a Call of Duty game. The only reason i'm giving this a 9 is because it may be a little bit outdated from the other Call of duty multiplayers nowadays. But at it's release in 2007 everyone would've have given it a 10. It's still a masterpiece inThis game is a classic. a must-own. The multiplayer is brilliant and addictive. The singleplayer has the best story and most memorable missions in a Call of Duty game. The only reason i'm giving this a 9 is because it may be a little bit outdated from the other Call of duty multiplayers nowadays. But at it's release in 2007 everyone would've have given it a 10. It's still a masterpiece in many others opinion including mine. Expand
  60. Jun 12, 2015
    9
    While not my favorite CoD game, definetly one of my favorites. Campaign is excellent, with a very cool storyline that is CANON (cough cough BO 1 and 2 cough cough) and the only downside is that it´s not very long. (4-7 hrs. long) However, multiplayer is where the game shines! It´s extremely addictive and very enjoyable, maps are great, a variety of weapons, and overall fun. Downsides areWhile not my favorite CoD game, definetly one of my favorites. Campaign is excellent, with a very cool storyline that is CANON (cough cough BO 1 and 2 cough cough) and the only downside is that it´s not very long. (4-7 hrs. long) However, multiplayer is where the game shines! It´s extremely addictive and very enjoyable, maps are great, a variety of weapons, and overall fun. Downsides are that there are too many host migrations and that hosts can do whatever they want. Also, the game is filled with hackers, especially the PS3 version. But in the end, Cod 4- Modern Warfare is one of Infinity Ward´s greatest masterpieces ever! I highly recommend it if you´re starting out CoD or if you haven´t played it yet and are disappointed int he newer CoDs. Expand
  61. Mar 24, 2016
    9
    Though the franchise as a whole may have outstayed its welcome due to it being a money-making machine, there's no escaping the fact that Call of Duty 4 is exceptional in every aspect that it attempts to target. Single-player is by no means a drag, and provides memorable characters that you will care about in the line of duty, as well as some jaw-dropping sequences.

    The real highlight
    Though the franchise as a whole may have outstayed its welcome due to it being a money-making machine, there's no escaping the fact that Call of Duty 4 is exceptional in every aspect that it attempts to target. Single-player is by no means a drag, and provides memorable characters that you will care about in the line of duty, as well as some jaw-dropping sequences.

    The real highlight here however, is the multiplayer. Creating your own classes to suit your style of play, or to suit the map you're going to be playing on if you've planned that far ahead, Modern Warfare will provide you with endless hours of entertainment and fantastic first-person shooting mechanics that is only rivalled by Halo 3. An absolute blast whether you are playing solo or with friends, and a true legend within the multiplayer gaming world.
    Expand
  62. JohnK.
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    I would give it an 8.5 if i could. This is the best looking game I have ever seen. 60 fps and phenomenal graphics make it a visual masterpiece. But there are some issues. With the single player there is no enemy A.I. They will do the exact same thing on every play through. If you are playing a tough part you can literally memorize every enemy's movement and act accordingly. Unlike I would give it an 8.5 if i could. This is the best looking game I have ever seen. 60 fps and phenomenal graphics make it a visual masterpiece. But there are some issues. With the single player there is no enemy A.I. They will do the exact same thing on every play through. If you are playing a tough part you can literally memorize every enemy's movement and act accordingly. Unlike other shooters like gears of war and halo 3, the enemies do not react to you other than ducking. This makes it extremely boring on successive play-throughs. Additionally, on veteran difficulty, you will run into a few particularly frustrating parts that require you to either memorize the enemy movements or get lucky as hell by finding the one place that they don't seem to shoot at. But you're not buying this game for single player are you? The multiplayer is very good, but not very well polished. The level design is not as good as halo 3 and you can use the same strategies for almost every map. Not much variation in that. Spawning is absolute garbage. You will spawn into an airstrike at least once a game and enemies will spawn behind you in your own side of the map. Unlike halo (i feel the need to compare it to this because I feel they nailed the respawn system) in COD 4 it is very easy to get locked in a spawn trap which gets frustrating. Finally with multiplayer, the matchmaking system is very bad. You can be matched with people of any skill/experience which makes a difference when higher levels get better perks (in addition to the likely skill differential). You will also find yourself joining games that are in progress only to spawn and find that you have lost. That is rather annoying. Having said all that about the multiplayer, it is still incredibly fun and I find myself playing it way more than I ever did with halo. Summary: Cons-- Completely scripted enemy movement, unpolished multiplayer which needs improvements in matchmaking system, map design, and respawn system. Pros--Absolutely stunning visuals, High replay value on multiplayer. Multiplayer is very fun and offers enough to compensate for frustrating respawn and matchmaking issues. Expand
  63. MikeyB.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    a good game, but honestly overhyped. for the most part it plays like your standard call of duty game, good graphics, controls, and sound, but weak in alot of areas that probably should've been taken into consideration by developers IW considering how much money and resource capacity they've made from the series so far. the single player is decent, but far too short, and a good game, but honestly overhyped. for the most part it plays like your standard call of duty game, good graphics, controls, and sound, but weak in alot of areas that probably should've been taken into consideration by developers IW considering how much money and resource capacity they've made from the series so far. the single player is decent, but far too short, and depending on the skill of the player will only take about 5-10 hours to beat on their first time through, and on top of that has little replay value, since the paths for completing missions in the single player are fairly linear. additionally the game has a rather confusing storyline, which with effort one can make sense of, but seems very thrown together and many things are left unexplained. as for multiplayer, its fun, but can get very aggravating; its lost a sense of balance since the last call of duty releases, such as a large number of weapons that are either nearly useless or capable of pulling instant kills under any conditions (ask someone you know who plays it about the M1887s). also, as soon as somebody gets a killstreak, they're given special bonuses such as helicopter, aircraft, and drone support that makes life very difficult for other players if they're not fortunate enough to get as many kills in a row first. the game's redeeming feature is the special ops mode, which consists of several mini-missions (some ripped and slightly altered from segments of the campaign mode) which allow players to jump right into the action in a large number of enviroments, and can be played with a friend for assistance. although it is a game you can have quite a bit of fun with, it seems like a step down from its prequels- as it's lost the co-op and extra gore that was seen in call of duty WaW's campaign, alot of realism that the series held as a standard (possible spoilers) for example, the russian soldiers use weapons that are either considered outdated by their military terms in real life (the russians swapped the ak47 for the ak74 and RPD for PK machine gun in real life, yet they use RPDs/ak47s in the game) or are in reality guns used by completely different armies (FAMAS is french, AUG Hbars are Austrian, P90s and FALs are Belgian, and TAR21s are Israeli), and finally- weapons do incorrect amounts of damage (the vector is a .45 and does less damage per shot than the mini uzi or mp5k (only 9mms). combine all that info, and the result is a less than stellar experience when comparing the game to it's predecessors. arguably, it is fun to play, but it has so many bad mechanics you'd think would be ironed out before release its just aggravating. i suggest renting or borrowing the game if by some biblical prophecy theres somebody who didnt buy it yet, or at least wait til you see it on sale before actually buying it. its not as fun as the previous cod titles and wont last as long in entertainment value. Expand
  64. JohnS.
    Nov 10, 2007
    8
    The single player game has extreamly high production values in every regard. That said, it's still Call of Duty with the endless respawning bad guys, "on rails" level design, and super-scripted gameplay. It's great, but offers no replay value, unless you're after achievements. The single player is so damn good because there really isn't much diversity. It's also The single player game has extreamly high production values in every regard. That said, it's still Call of Duty with the endless respawning bad guys, "on rails" level design, and super-scripted gameplay. It's great, but offers no replay value, unless you're after achievements. The single player is so damn good because there really isn't much diversity. It's also really short (5 hours). Multiplayer is fast-paced action. It has a persistent system for unlocks, ranking, etc. It's awesome. If you want to play this game for the single player, rent it. If you want it for multiplayer then buy it. Expand
  65. AnttiP.
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    Great game, with a small but. Some multiplayer maps don´t have that good graphics. To be honest, some maps look pretty crappy. This is shocking, as we know the quality standards Infinity Ward has become famous of. Some maps like Bog and Backlot just don´t look good at all. I think the problem is with the lighting.
  66. MaxM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    8
    Takes a while getting used to but its fun when you get the hang of it. The weapons need balancing, though. For example, the sniper is useless because everyone dies in one or two hits anyways. Plus theres a frikin kill camera when you kill someone with a sniper. It takes the whole point out of it! Still is a great game though.
  67. ElisioS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    First off, I'd highly recommend this to anyone that wants a purely multiplayer based experience and doesn't have qualms about spending $60 on such a game. Now, if you're like me, and you want something that's a bit more of a "complete package" for $60, then Call of Duty 4 may not satisfy you. The anemic campaign makes Halo 3's length seem epic in comparison. To First off, I'd highly recommend this to anyone that wants a purely multiplayer based experience and doesn't have qualms about spending $60 on such a game. Now, if you're like me, and you want something that's a bit more of a "complete package" for $60, then Call of Duty 4 may not satisfy you. The anemic campaign makes Halo 3's length seem epic in comparison. To add insult to this injury, the achievements are all based on the campaign. Sure you get the "arcade" mode, but there aren't any achievements for doing things like getting a high score in said arcade mode. The campaign itself is pretty good, its just too short for its own good. It can also be very repetitive after awhile, but non-standard missions, such as a sniping and gunship one, break this up and create some amazing moments. The enemy AI isn't particularly impressive. What the game does well, is very solid however. The multiplayer is very, very polished and the graphics are nothing short of great. In comparison to other Call of Duty games, this one doesn't feel as "pop n shoot" and this is mostly because of the new modern setting. For example: an M4 equipped with the M203 'nade launcher makes it pretty tempting to run n gun, whereas an M1 Garand in the hedges of 1944 France had the tendency to make you take your time and conserve ammo with precise shooting. Overall, I liked the game just like I liked CoD2 and CoD1, but ultimately it was just too short for me to actually buy it. I simply borrowed it from a friend and beat it in a single midnight to wee hour of the morning sitting. Its a shame that it was so short. It really left me craving for more, but maybe that's a good thing. Otherwise, it might have gotten repetitive to the point where its boring if the developer ran out of ideas to keep it fresh. Buy it used for the XBox Live experience or borrow it for a weekend or two like I did. Its worth a playthrough for sure. Expand
  68. JacobH.
    Jan 5, 2008
    8
    Its a really really great game, and don't forget that, for several reasons. The graphics are brilliant, the single player campaign is compelling, surprising and inspiring, and the multi-player is brilliant. There are also a ton of cool features that other games dont have (like being able to shoot through walls). Only Halo 3 beats it on online play but thats not for now. It loses the Its a really really great game, and don't forget that, for several reasons. The graphics are brilliant, the single player campaign is compelling, surprising and inspiring, and the multi-player is brilliant. There are also a ton of cool features that other games dont have (like being able to shoot through walls). Only Halo 3 beats it on online play but thats not for now. It loses the two points because the single player campaign in very short even on the harder settings, you cant have 2 players on the same Xbox online (like Halo 3), and the AI can be really really retarded sometimes. Also the fact that no matter how many times you're allies die in the campaign another one pops up from behind to "help". Expand
  69. BryanMcCann
    Jan 7, 2008
    8
    Just for the multiplayer this game would have gotten a 7 but its graphics are much better then Orange dumb boxs at least in this game, online is not totally lag paradise where you can not even play the game. if you like multiplayer get this game if you dont have live just rent this because the story is way to short!
  70. J.S.
    Oct 11, 2009
    8
    A pretty decent FPS without a lot of unique single player features. The sniping mission and the AC-130 mission were the best points, but it did have some interesting combat throughout the story. I personally thought World at War was a much better game, especially multiplayer.
  71. MarcS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    This game is one smooth ride. I must admit that I only play this one online, so can't say anything about the offline experience. Anyway, I'm glad that FPShooters are finally getting almost up to par with BATTLEFIELD 1942 and BF2. Almost because there are no vehicles in this one whatsoever!!! inexcusable, especially when considering that COD3 did have them. Second point of This game is one smooth ride. I must admit that I only play this one online, so can't say anything about the offline experience. Anyway, I'm glad that FPShooters are finally getting almost up to par with BATTLEFIELD 1942 and BF2. Almost because there are no vehicles in this one whatsoever!!! inexcusable, especially when considering that COD3 did have them. Second point of complaint is the Shaky DOMINATION/WAR gametype. I hope that one day they'll make a decent copy of BF2's CONQUEST mode. So where does this leave us? This leaves us basically with good old boring DEATHMATCH and his buddy TEAM DEATHMATCH. Think of all the over-the-top mayhem and über fun were missing out on here without vehicles, and understand that I don't understand why everybody is handing out 10's here. Expand
  72. AnonymousMC
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    This is a solid game. The actual gameplay is very basic. Multiplayer feels shallow to me because it is all so basic. You run and point and shoot. Others feel it is amazingly deep because of the perks and customization options. Gameplay wise, this game is just another shooter imo.

    With that said, 16 multiplayer maps, great graphics, fairly smooth networking (on the 360 and PC
    This is a solid game. The actual gameplay is very basic. Multiplayer feels shallow to me because it is all so basic. You run and point and shoot. Others feel it is amazingly deep because of the perks and customization options. Gameplay wise, this game is just another shooter imo.

    With that said, 16 multiplayer maps, great graphics, fairly smooth networking (on the 360 and PC versions), and tons of maps and weapon combinations make this an easy buy and a must have in most game collections.

    But this is not GOTY material to me. I've done all this stuff before. Give that honor to something like Mass Effect or even Galaxy.
    Expand
  73. frankdemor
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    infinity ward has no idea (and this is just a guess) what ragdoll physics mean. they didnt have it in cod 1 and 2 and they dont have it in cod 4 (cod 3 had it...but it was made by another developer...thank god). what pisses me off even further, they SAY they have ragdoll effects. which is a total lie. they say, they "mo-capped ragdolls"...what?...how can you mo-cap a ragdoll?...and stillinfinity ward has no idea (and this is just a guess) what ragdoll physics mean. they didnt have it in cod 1 and 2 and they dont have it in cod 4 (cod 3 had it...but it was made by another developer...thank god). what pisses me off even further, they SAY they have ragdoll effects. which is a total lie. they say, they "mo-capped ragdolls"...what?...how can you mo-cap a ragdoll?...and still have it be a ragdoll? why cant they admit they just dont know how to implement it? a shooter game without ragdoll physics is like a driving game with no
    gas if you ask me. i mean come on, how fun is it to shoot an enemy and see him crumple into the ground "exactly" like the previous enemy. or, not having the enemy tumble down the stairs after you shoot him? they talk about these insane technologie they put in inside the game, yet...they skipped the most important of them all. even my syphon filter game for psp has rag-dolls for humanity sakes! how hard can it be???. the guy with the beard (producer) says...they mixed the ragdoll effects with animations so its more "real". excuse me?...hello?
    have you guys seen the footage of this game yet alone played it?...can you show me one single rag doll death? the bodies just fall animated and do a slight "glitch" a second before laying motionless...looks like a super nintendo death if you ask me.
    what is the satisfaction in this?...let me go around running with my pretty gun in my pretty war torn world with pretty sounds and visuals only to meet another enemy who curls-up and sits on the ground exactly like the 200 guys before him. cant anyone see this?...are you all hyped up and blind folded for the love of god? wow...power of denial this has to be man...or the power in advertising. whatever, we were all robbed.
    Expand
  74. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    The campaign and multiplayer are exceptionally well done, even if the former is occasionally too linear. It's really too bad that Activision felt they had to release 3 more games following this one with almost the exact same formula. But still, COD4 is a stellar title.
  75. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    The game that ignited the massive (and annoying) success of the Call of Duty franchise and the last good Call of Duty game. Great graphics, engaging story, great shooting mechanics and addicting online multi-player. Though the story campaign is short, it is pretty much the best CoD campaign and had no **** moments compared to future installments. Multi-player is pretty much the seller andThe game that ignited the massive (and annoying) success of the Call of Duty franchise and the last good Call of Duty game. Great graphics, engaging story, great shooting mechanics and addicting online multi-player. Though the story campaign is short, it is pretty much the best CoD campaign and had no **** moments compared to future installments. Multi-player is pretty much the seller and it is as solid as Halo's multi-player. Good points aside, it never really innovates the FPS genre and the campaign is not good for replay value and I partly blame this game for the over-saturation of FPS games nowadays and also started many annoying trends that games (mainly FPS) follow. Expand
  76. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    New to the whole franchise COD_MW2 is my first shot at this franchise. Amazing, great game, good re- playability. The multi-player gives tons of things to do, im not a fan of certain maps one is to big the other is just annoying, i don't mind campers if thats how you play then go for it, I don't mind tubers do you. I do mind those that take advantage of glitches however. Overall probablyNew to the whole franchise COD_MW2 is my first shot at this franchise. Amazing, great game, good re- playability. The multi-player gives tons of things to do, im not a fan of certain maps one is to big the other is just annoying, i don't mind campers if thats how you play then go for it, I don't mind tubers do you. I do mind those that take advantage of glitches however. Overall probably the best online experience in an FPS i have had on the console. My suggestion if you haven't played it is rent it, something tells me after you do you'll buy it.Im not giving it a 10 because some of the things mentioned by John P about enemies coming out of a doorway until you reach the spawn point is true. The only thing for me is this is a game they have to program certain things in it. This game is ran off a disk which has limited space not everything can be down in the cloud... If you want to see real spawn points and real enemy movement create a game that does this in a cloud until then you will see weak spawn points like JOHN P mentioned. Expand
  77. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    It's probably the lasty good, or even great Call of Duty Game. From here on, it just got extremely repetitive. It's fun and engrossing. The campaign ain't that bad either.
  78. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Modern Warfare is a great game. Probably the best story mode for a FPS that I've played in a long time, but you play COD for the multiplayer. If you just bought any COD game for the story mode then you're not utilizing the full potential or the maxium level of enjoyment the game has to offer. The only complaint I have about the game is something that I will continue to see in the CODModern Warfare is a great game. Probably the best story mode for a FPS that I've played in a long time, but you play COD for the multiplayer. If you just bought any COD game for the story mode then you're not utilizing the full potential or the maxium level of enjoyment the game has to offer. The only complaint I have about the game is something that I will continue to see in the COD franchise I'm sure; maps feel way to restricted. I understand the game was meant to be more close quarter combat VS a more open map like Battlefield, but even Counter Strike feels like you have more room than the best COD map. MW and MW2 are in my opinion, the best the COD franchise has to offer at this point. Expand
  79. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    It's a great game with a great campaign experience. Although Multiplayer is Call of Duty's strong point, the story mode is an epic battlefield. If you're a fan of shooters, you can always count on Call of Duty to deliver.
  80. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 3
    Characters: 6
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: 10
    Soundtrack: 8
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 9
    Re-Playability Value: 9
    Fun Factor: 7

    Score: 7.8/10 = B+
  81. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    I played this quite a lot back in it's heyday. Singleplayer never held my interest but the multiplayer obviously started a COD chain reaction that may never die. They have made many improvements but also missteps since COD4. I will give this an 8/10 it will always be a classic.
  82. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    I like this call of duty game alot. First off the game pulls you in and never lets go in single player. The first scene on the boat all I have to say is wow. This game even today still looks great and on top of that because activision has saturated the market with call of duty games you can pick it up for under 20 dollars. The multiplayer is what you think is should be for a call of dutyI like this call of duty game alot. First off the game pulls you in and never lets go in single player. The first scene on the boat all I have to say is wow. This game even today still looks great and on top of that because activision has saturated the market with call of duty games you can pick it up for under 20 dollars. The multiplayer is what you think is should be for a call of duty game. This is a must buy even if you are not a call of duty fan. I feel a much better game than modern warfare 3 and at under 20 dollars you won't feel like you wasted your money at the least. Expand
  83. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Call of Duty 4 represents a landmark in modern gaming. The franchise that started in 2003 has finally stepped out of WWII and into the near future. The year is 2012 and the Afghan war has escalated to exponential proportions and the threat of an impending nuclear war and WWIII are looming ever closer. You play as a British S.A.S operative and a US Marine in an attempt to end this conflictCall of Duty 4 represents a landmark in modern gaming. The franchise that started in 2003 has finally stepped out of WWII and into the near future. The year is 2012 and the Afghan war has escalated to exponential proportions and the threat of an impending nuclear war and WWIII are looming ever closer. You play as a British S.A.S operative and a US Marine in an attempt to end this conflict before its too late.
    The gameplay has made several games of the FPS genre follow suit in its innovative design of creating tense battles in small spaces whilst remaining tactical at the same time. The multiplayer has defined console multiplayer and has followed suit a thousand fold. Call of Duty 4 may belong to a tired and tarnished franchise, but there is always a diamond in the rough.
    Expand
  84. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    Not a perfect game but a good one. The graphics for its time were breathtaking. It is the best campaign out of all the call of duty games. Its an elite Fps and will keep you playing for a while. the flaws in this game are not any big ones but a few little ones. first of all there are way to many glitches in the game. also some gun classes have to many guns and some dont have enough. AlsoNot a perfect game but a good one. The graphics for its time were breathtaking. It is the best campaign out of all the call of duty games. Its an elite Fps and will keep you playing for a while. the flaws in this game are not any big ones but a few little ones. first of all there are way to many glitches in the game. also some gun classes have to many guns and some dont have enough. Also like the other call of duty games the game focuses to much on multiplayer and not enough on the campaign. but overall a great game but some flaws that keep it from winning any special awards Expand
  85. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    Astounding at the time, yet it still holds up in the present as a game of pedigree. Call of Duty 4 was revolutionary when released. The story was gripping but it was the time sucking online multiplayer that stole our hearts. If the online servers were still policed today it may still have offered the best multiplayer experience.
  86. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    By far the best CoD game I've played and to say it was released in 2007, is very, very impressive. Thought the storyline was one of the best and the online is great, despite the modders which is the only thing that ruins the multiplayer but that has nothing to do with the game itself. The graphics aren't the best, but don't forget this isn't a new game. Activision really put other gameBy far the best CoD game I've played and to say it was released in 2007, is very, very impressive. Thought the storyline was one of the best and the online is great, despite the modders which is the only thing that ruins the multiplayer but that has nothing to do with the game itself. The graphics aren't the best, but don't forget this isn't a new game. Activision really put other game developers to shame when they brought this out and I thought they let themselves down with the release of Black Ops 1 & 2. Ignore the haters on here, they're clearly just fanboys of Halo or Battlefield that hate this game because it is AMAZING and popular something they will never be. Expand
  87. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    This game is a lot of fun and definitely worth getting. The campaign is fun and keeps you entertained by switching up what you're doing periodically. The down side is that the campaign is full of infinitely spawning enemies making it difficult to move forward at times. The ending wasn't great but the rest the game is excellent.
  88. Dec 15, 2015
    8
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare
    Gameplay is great, story is okay, new fresh idea
    Great levels and fast past action. Check it out, its a pretty dam good game
  89. Dec 8, 2016
    8
    For a 1st person shooter game i think it would be hard to find another title will be bigger than cod mw, like the graphic and the sound, simple outstanding!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.