Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 98
    Alone, the four new competitive maps are almost reason enough to warrant a purchase of the Escalation map pack, but it's the Call of the Dead level that really takes the cake here.
  2. May 6, 2011
    90
    This map pack isn't just the best pack for Black Ops; it's the best pack for Call of Duty yet. With the exception of Hotel, all the MP maps are fantastic and the zombie map is the best so far. Keep up the good work Treyarch.
  3. May 5, 2011
    90
    All in all, I see a lot of classic Treyarch in Escalation (for some people, for good or bad). While people may not have the best things to say about Treyarch's programming ability, when it comes to level design, I think they have first person shooters down pat. Unless you're completely bored of Black Ops, I'd highly recommend picking up this map pack – even over the first one.
  4. May 4, 2011
    90
    The new Escalation Pack is a great addiction for every Black Ops fan. This DLC includes 4 great designed multiplayer maps and a really cool zombie episode. If you are planning to play Black Ops in the next months, buy this as soon as possible.
  5. May 5, 2011
    85
    Despite the high pricing, this DLC is really filled with great content: the four maps are able to offer very different tactical experiences, and Call of the Dead, while not reinventing the gameplay of the zombie mode, will have you laughing while trying to survive. Fans can't miss it.
  6. May 9, 2011
    83
    Escalation demonstrates new content that players want to see: multiplayer maps that clearly distinguish themselves from one another by delivering variety in both gameplay and design.
  7. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    Compared to some of the other DLC's for the Call of Duty series, I think Call of the Dead is far my favourite because of the intricacies of the map that pay homage to all things Romero. With new weapons, enemies and some great team action to be found, Call of the dead is a must have download from XBox Live and really goes above and beyond the current DLC maps.
  8. May 25, 2011
    80
    Everyone that is still playing Black Ops should consider buying this new map pack. The four new multiplayer maps are a lot of fun and the new zombie map is a refreshing bonus.
  9. May 16, 2011
    80
    Even though Escalation doesn't support all multiplayer modes, this package offers tons of entertainment. A must buy for all Black ops fans.
  10. May 7, 2011
    80
    Expensive for sure, but it's worth every single cent. The four new maps are well designed and entertaining. Call of the Dead is a great addiction in the zombie mode.
  11. Escalation feels less like a map pack as a theme park for Vietnam veterans, not just contested territory but an environment you'll want to explore - rooting under the crust for the inevitable Easter eggs. Black Ops has never felt fresher.
  12. May 5, 2011
    80
    There are still a few too many gimmicks in Escalation for my tastes - Stockpile's garage doors are very much Escalation's useless ziplines - but there's plenty of variety on offer, and the quintet of new competitive maps will slot extremely nicely into the broader rotation.
  13. May 5, 2011
    80
    Lot of variety, strong gameplay and great multiplayer options are the main virtues in this Escalation Pack. Four well designed competitive maps and a new and innovative zombie setting for this second DLC for Black Ops.
  14. May 8, 2011
    75
    Clearly Call of the Dead is Treyarch's most ambitious Zombie's outing yet, and they've gone some way to secure the likeness and voices of this cast of legendary characters to wrap them up in Escalation's DLC package. With an excellent cast and rejuvenating gameplay that keeps you on the move, Call of the Dead will certainly keep lovers of the undead coming back for some time in the hopes of outdoing their previous best.
  15. 70
    Escalation is a good additional content and is not exactly cheap, 1200 AM (15 €), but it has its quality.
  16. May 6, 2011
    70
    Another good map pack.
  17. 70
    Neither rip-off nor bargain, but Treyarch and Activision are clearly playing things safe - despite the excesses of Call Of The Dead.
  18. May 11, 2011
    60
    Five maps for 1200 MPS is not a very good deal, especially when you can buy many enjoyable arcade games for the same price. The new zombie map -"Call of the Dead"- is, however, enjoyable and the best Call of Duty zombie map so far.
  19. May 6, 2011
    58
    It's nice to see Escalation showed up to the party, but after its half-hearted song and dance it just kind of throws up on itself and passes out on the couch.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 10 out of 28
  1. May 12, 2011
    4
    F*ck corporation greed! i dont give a flying.. how great the maps are (they are generic cod stuff) The zombie map should be sold for 3,9eF*ck corporation greed! i dont give a flying.. how great the maps are (they are generic cod stuff) The zombie map should be sold for 3,9e alone and the maps for 4,9e or as a bundle 8e or something. CoD keeps its place as the platform where you can charge players quad the amount of contents worth and get away with it. Some corporations *cough* valve *cough* for example have given dozens of FREE maps for TF2, left 4 dead 2 has already gotten 3 free new maps and is waiting for the port of all the rest campaign maps from the first game. Whoa you can do that, give players something for free? Nah treyarch and infinity ward are all about the maximum profit. Wont support their greed by buying any of their add on **** nor wont be buying their newest instalment to the saga of "give us all your money". But hey if you are high on money you can buy this generic map pack with little to nothing new (zombie map is cool) or i think the publishers would also accept (soon they will most likely enforce it, like say pay 2 play) direct money donations to their bank accounts. Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2011
    0
    Not worth the money at all. You would think a game with so much money would actually give what the community wants. I am happily going to sayNot worth the money at all. You would think a game with so much money would actually give what the community wants. I am happily going to say that I will never be buying another CoD product again. Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2011
    6
    While Black Ops is not my favourite FPS and I don't play it too much but with the new map pack I've come to play it again. This is the 2nd mapWhile Black Ops is not my favourite FPS and I don't play it too much but with the new map pack I've come to play it again. This is the 2nd map pack for Black Ops with new multi-player maps and a new zombie map. The maps I have to admit are better then the last ones, the maps have more explorations and more new interesting things. The problem I have with the new maps is new camping spots and one map I think is camping heaven for campers, which you say? you'll know when your on. The new zombie map is the best point of the map pack. With new level designs and interactive environment's and best of all the new boss, George A. Romero. You'll have a fun time with this and good luck killing Georgie, you'll need it. good map pack. Full Review »