Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    73
    Ultimately, the big contrast in excitement between Origin’s overt craziness and the more ho-hum moments that frequently pop-up throughout the four new multiplayer maps makes Apocalypse an uneven experience.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    73
    Pod is an awful map, but the rest are very enjoyable. It does come off a bit cheap, with two of the maps being remakes of existing ones, but the Zombie-mode is once again original and offers a new piece of game, and the quality the series is known for.
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    72
    It certainly isn’t the most original or innovative DLC drop from the team at Treyarch; however, the new Zombie level “Origins” is as good as it gets when it comes to the Zombie mode and the new (and redone) maps should inject enough life into the multiplayer arena until Ghosts comes out.
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    70
    Are you looking for fresh, new, and exciting multiplayer maps? If so, you won’t find them here. But are you looking for the most complete and sprawling Zombies experience ever to come out of Treyarch? If you answered yes, stop what you’re doing and get it. Now.
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    70
    Same formula as ever: 4 new maps with and a new location for the zombie mode.
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    67
    Although I didn’t have as much fun as I have had with previous map packs, Apocalypse is still a good offering for Call of Duty fans. Treyarch still know how to make fine maps, and Dig shows that they can get mileage out of recycled content. However, after 16 DLC maps, I think it’s time to move on and look towards the next installment of this relentless franchise.
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    But if you are one of those who find the zombie mode better than anything else then you won’t want to miss this part of the long running convoluted story.
  8. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    Sadly, two remakes practically no one asked for, and two maps that do nothing to transcend the typical formula aren't enough to justify the price unless you're a hardcore zombies fanatic.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    6
    Call of Duty: Black Ops II's Apocalypse aims to bring the end of the Black Ops II DLC Season with a blast, but unfortunately, it doesn't quiteCall of Duty: Black Ops II's Apocalypse aims to bring the end of the Black Ops II DLC Season with a blast, but unfortunately, it doesn't quite do so. This DLC provides the same formula for Call of Duty DLC maps: 4 multiplayer maps and the Zombies map. The multiplayer maps include two new maps: Pod, a nice medium sized map located in Taiwan, and Frost, a decent, snowy map located in the Netherlands. Two other maps are included in the DLC, remakes from former Treyarch games: Takeoff, a remake of the Stadium map from the Black Ops First Strike DLC, and Dig, a remake of the Courtyard map from World at War. Although it was nice of Treyarch to remake the Firing Range stage, I didn't want them to get in a habit of simply recycling previous maps from Black Ops and World at War into DLC packs and passing them off as new. It is a disappointment that they did not focus completely on making new, fun, interesting original maps but simply make decent, with few well done maps along with remakes of previous maps for all their DLC packs. Origins, the final Zombies map, is a nice addition to the Zombies saga and ends the game somewhat well done. Although it was cool to see how the original four characters met, I wanted to find out what were to happen to the TranZit survivors after the events of the Buried Easter Egg, or what happened to the original four survivors after the events of the Moon Easter Egg. The map was fun and entertaining to play as, while making it easy to adjust to than other Black Ops II maps, but I wanted to see more about the fate's of the original and TranZit survivors. Overall, Black Ops II's Apocalypse attempts to end the DLC Season with a bang, but merely offers decent and recycled multiplayer maps, and entertaining Zombies map that left me with many questions. Hopefully Treyarch will learn from their mistakes and make better DLC for Call of Duty or other games they develop in the future. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    6
    Basically with this map pack you're paying $15 for 2 maps you probably own (if you've been playing cod since Waw) 2 new maps that are alrightBasically with this map pack you're paying $15 for 2 maps you probably own (if you've been playing cod since Waw) 2 new maps that are alright but not astounding and 1 zombies map that makes up for 2 bad ones. The map pod has it's interesting moments but nothing to really tell your friends about, frost is somewhat small allowing for slightly fast paced matches, Dig is simply Courtyard from World at war a map that was free with the game and the launch pad (the name escapes me) which is a reskinned map from the last game that you guess what? Already paid $15 to obtain. Now Origins the new zombies map makes up for Die Rise and Buried bringing back the 4 characters that fans of zombies loved instead of the new 4 which are bland. The map itself is rather interesting as it brings CoD back to settings of old wars (and not the modern bull) by placing players in WW1 trenches. Overall the features in origins make it well worth your money if your're a fan of Zombies, and if you really need the maps well you've probably already purchased the map pack at this point. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    6
    I have slated this game in the past, but I do feel that this is the best DLC for Black Ops II multiplayer yet. At the very least, this didI have slated this game in the past, but I do feel that this is the best DLC for Black Ops II multiplayer yet. At the very least, this did contain MP maps, and wasn't just a Zombie-only DLC like the last DLC in first Black Ops.
    I especially like POD, which has a good balanced layout like COD maps of old and Dig, which is actually a laugh and suits my style of play. Takeoff seems a bit bigger than I remember Stadium being, but that's not a bad thing and Frost is also a good run and gun map. I do feel that including two remade maps were a bit of a cheat though, after all this is one of two or three top games for the current Xbox and it cheapens the franchise to just repackage old for new. Stadium was DLC itself so technically, Takeoff is a remake of 2 year old DLC. But in Treyarch's defence not everyone gets each and every COD and each and every DLC and Apocalypse is a good one. Now can we have a patch for the network code so that I can just play people in my country and not be grouped in with laggy, annoying, camping, unsporting, thick, retarded Europeans that would be great.
    Full Review »